Albion NXT Helmet Review

Cover Drive

After seeing the helmet on sale at Kingsgrove (thanks to askmoi) I thought this would be best time to own one. I always wanted to buy Albion NXT but since it had hefty price tag I was not able to afford one so I couldn't buy one for a while.

Anyways, I bought the helmet along my clubmate, brother, friend etc (whatever you want to call him) [one and only...........cricketer13....:D] so I got my helmet yesterday. Got it and came home, when I got home I saw the helmet and examined it for a while.

When I first took the helmet out of the box I noticed how light the helmet was and how beautiful it looked (to me at least). Currently I am using Masuri with Steel helmet and the weight difference between these two helmets is easily noticeable.

So when I first wore the helmet (without even adjusting it) I saw the sweatband and it was not the best one as I think it was cheaply made but I would say it is better than Masuri sweat band. After wearing I feel the comfort, it is very comfortable and I would say it is much more comfy than my Masuri which hurts my head from sides but the seller promises that the size I have is the right one for me. Anyways so NXT is very and much more comfy than my Masuri. The chin strap on NXT is unique and different from others but very nice one I must say, it is so soft and feels great on chin!

The helmet comes with a 'key' which is to adjust the grill and helmet. Rather than straps which adjust the size of helmet, NXT has a slot where you insert the key and turn it clockwise and it will tighten and loosen the helmet [See red triangle in pictures]. For grill there are 2 'screws' on each side and if you lose them off and take them out then you can move the grill back and forth.

Not sure what else to write but overall if I was to rate this helmet then it would be 10 out of 10 and at the price Kingsgrove are selling it, this makes helmet more special!

Customer service of Kingsgrove people was brilliant as well, I spoke with JN1301 of this forum and Stuart and both of them were very helpful so great lads are at Kingsgrive as well!

So if anyone has any question please don't hesitate to ask :)

Enjoy the pictures :)

DSC05754.jpg

DSC05756.jpg

DSC05757.jpg

Impressive!
I had my GM Hero helmet in mind when reading your review, and i was very curious about the strap at the back that i have to adjust the size with the hero. But this helmet seems more efficient in that regard. No need for strap to adjust the fit. Set it up once and you're good to go. Probably the reason why i'll get me one too when my pockets fill up with some hard earned cash.
In terms of looks.. the color combo looks amazing. Green with a shade of darker green! sweet :D The build looks nice and solid too.
Bring it over in the nets. You wanted to try the hero too. so we'll trade the helmets for one session and see how it goes.

InshAllah, your pockets will be filled soon, don't worry about that :)

For sure I'll bring it to nets so you can try this and I'll try Hero, might have to bring my GM stuff along so I am all GM man that day :))

Good thing about back strap is that in this helmet I don't think it can be broken easily, I mean if you don't have the key one can not easily change the size so it is unlikely to break easily :D

Exactly!
Thats the reason i had to end up buying another Gm helmet. The strap broke and no one could fix/replace it. Had to end up buying another one. As good as the helmet is, its not worth shelling out another 100 bucks just because the strap broke. Thats why i'll get the albion in the future.

p.s: GM man! I am looking forward to bowling to you! Make the GM man dance to my tunes of vicious legspinners :D

:pissed: Your legspinners are brilliant I must say, I'm always deceived by them.

You better hope I don't come with MB LE and you know with Bubber Sher/MB LE my mode changes and if I am able to middle well that day then you're at my mercy!!! :D

woo! glad you like your helmet CD!

Cheers mate!

I see you guys are running out of them very quickly :))

What is the weight like? To me that's the biggest thing in a helmet, second to vision.

Hows the cooling?

Bigfan, I haven't used it yet but when I compare the weight to my Masuri it is definitely much lighter.

Since I haven't used it yet so don't know about cooling.

Adil Bhai, thanks! :)

Bigfan, I haven't used it yet but when I compare the weight to my Masuri it is definitely much lighter.

Since I haven't used it yet so don't know about cooling.

Adil Bhai, thanks! :)
aoa cd bhai:)
beauty of a helmet, i must say... same as what andre nel used to wear at the end of his career...... or was his the "gm" one with same design??

Nel and Vernon Philander are the only international cricketers I can recall wearing the NXT, and that was in the ODI series where they got a drubbing by England in 2008.

OUt of 10 how would you rate Masuri and Albion on a scale of 10? Are these the top models in both brands?

The top models for the two are the Elite 98 for Albion (released recently) and Masuri's features a titanium grill.

THe shell of titanium and steel Masuri is same though.

I would rate Albion NXT 9 while Masuri 8.5

Actually what I meant was that the lid of Masuri Steel Grill helmet and Masuri Titanium Grill helmet is same, both have same lid, the only difference is the grill.

Oh thats kl I still want to buy one but they still haven't replied yet and also how do you know which size to get?

Save the coppers and get an Ultimate 98 or something, maybe even an Ayrtek.

Assalam o alaikum all ,

Nice looking helmet CD , just a question as i am also going to buy a helmet soon , prodirect have some nice offers on helmets but i am little bit confused when i select size coz there is only one option of size ( one size UK) why is this ? have meaured my head its round about 58 but than again i have no idea what does ( one size UK) means , i dont want to end up purchasing a watermelon size helmet for my head :D

Do i have to call them and tell them about my problem or what ? Any ideas will be much appriciated or if someone have any better suggestion will be much much appriciated :)

Jazakallah Khair

I do not know about you but I have found online helmet buying to be really treacherous specially if you have as odd a head shape that I have; that is why I have been using the same helmet for the last 5-6 years; if time permits I will post some pictures of that one---the old and battered one; hopefully you guys will not laugh. The closest comparison would be Manny Ramirez's helmet-- if you follow baseball you would know what I mean :)

no my head is not odd shape :D

Its just normal , my only concern is what does ( one size UK ) on prodirect stands for ?

Assalam o alaikum all ,

Nice looking helmet CD , just a question as i am also going to buy a helmet soon , prodirect have some nice offers on helmets but i am little bit confused when i select size coz there is only one option of size ( one size UK) why is this ? have meaured my head its round about 58 but than again i have no idea what does ( one size UK) means , i dont want to end up purchasing a watermelon size helmet for my head :D

Do i have to call them and tell them about my problem or what ? Any ideas will be much appriciated or if someone have any better suggestion will be much much appriciated :)

Jazakallah Khair

Walkiumasalam,

Yaar actually I think it would be better if you can post links of those helmets then I can help you with the size.

Thanks

Yeah thats what i was also thinking before , sure will call them Thanks :)