"An incompetent white man has been made our Head Coach": Abdul Qadir

Like Javed Miandad, Qadir has truly sullied his playing career by his antics since retirement. Both are reduced to being bitter, grudge wielding, irrelevances with a sense of self-entitlement that knows no bounds.

Qadir had a chance to make a contribution to Pak cricket as Chief Selector but he flounced off after he spat his dummy out not for the first time.

None of the names he mentions have had any injustice done to them by Arthur. If Qadir was any role model for his young relatives and spent less time crying in TV studios, he'd tell Umar and Kamran to improve their embarrassing fitness levels.

A racist comment here.

Imagine " an incompetent brown man made coach ....." in certain countries.

"What's that Abdul? I can't hear you over the CT trophy and No 1 T20 ranking" :ma

But but but he destroyed ATG players like Shehzad and Akmal and is hell bent on destroying the best cricketer to ever grace God's green earth, Mohammad Hafeez. :sree

Qadir has lost it... such shameful comments about someone's race that's just pure ignorance.
I wonder if he plays a major role in UA downfall.

And isn't his son moving to a "White" country to try and gain citizenship to play for them. Man, this guy is so hypocritical

In the past decade amongst all the coaches we have had I can't think of anyone who did a better job than what Mickey is doing. Amongst the number of positive things the ones I like the most is the clear communication with both the public and the players while a tendency to favor youngsters over non-performing "seniors". As a fan the thought process of the team management and coaching staff is out in the open and we know what is the road map of the team.

At times though and bold decisions have been made like sending the Don Akmal Jr back to Pakistan ahead of CT or dropping Shehzad and debuting the newbie Fakhar Zaman in the middle of a tournament. The results of such decisions have been very positive and justify my trust and confidence in Mickey, the team management, their approach and their plan for team Pakistan.

Considering these points Qadir's comments seem to be void of any rationale and highly biased with a personal agenda behind them.

Thanks to CT win there is a general support and positivity amongst the common fan towards the team and coaching staff, just imagine how much harm such comments would have done if we hadn't won CT. Considering how he can say such vile things despite us winning a major tournament against the arch-rival not even a year ago gives you an idea of how biased, bitter and power-hungry some of these ex-cricketers can be.

The remark from Abdul Qadir were what they were but do not underestimate the role of the interviewer in making sure Qadir continued talking like that.

At one point, Qadir called Najam Sethi illiterate and the interviewer jumped in to correct Qadir saying that Najam Sethi is not illiterate and then Qadir qualified that by saying 'cricket illiterate'.

The remark from Abdul Qadir were what they were but do not underestimate the role of the interviewer in making sure Qadir continued talking like that.

At one point, Qadir called Najam Sethi illiterate and the interviewer jumped in to correct Qadir saying that Najam Sethi is not illiterate and then Qadir qualified that by saying 'cricket illiterate'.

I'm not sure what obsession ex-Pakistani players have with having played cricket to run the board. No BCCI executive is a test player yet it's the most successful board...same goes with Giles Clark or the guys running CA.

He got us to the top of the T20 rankings, thanks to him we won the champions trophy our LOI is going fantastically thanks to him. best thing that ever happened to Pakistan cricket

Why is it that some of our greatest player have turned into absolute trolls!!!! Sarfraz Nawaz & MoYo that make up my top 3...
The youngsta beauties Fauji & Nazir & I believe YK will join them
Always guaranteed a clown as the head of pcb & along with his circus

What an absolute disgrace this guy is.What he said was racist no doubt.TV channels should refrain from calling him and other clowns like Sarfraz Nawaz and Javed Miandad.

He got us to the top of the T20 rankings, thanks to him we won the champions trophy our LOI is going fantastically thanks to him. best thing that ever happened to Pakistan cricket

And most importantly recommendation slip culture is dead. Qadir was just a player, Mickey is the reformer and absolutely vital for our cricket future.

Never mind Abdul Qadir, this shows the quality of the media that actually published this interview and the clip about Mickey Arthur.

Is there video of the statement? not doubting it, just wanted to see the context he used it in

Sing along
Hay Yaayi Yo Yaa, Waay Yaayi Yo Yaa
Hay Yaayi Yo Yaa, Mein Abdul Qadir Hoon
Hay Yaayi Yo Yaa, Waay Yaayi Yo Yaa
Hay Yaayi Yo Yaa, Mein Abdul Qadir Hoon

Strange thing is that the PCB would have barred the media outlet if others had done and published this interview, yet they seem terrified of some media outlets.

https://nation.com.pk/07-May-2018/n...wad-ahmed-umar-for-ireland-england-tour-qadir

ISLAMABAD: Former leg-spinner Abdul Qadir believes dropping Fawad Alam, Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal for Ireland, England tour had no justification saying if performance in domestic cricket is no criteria then why to have such tournaments.

Talking to APP, Qadir said if coach and selectors had picked players for tests from performance in Pakistan Super League (PSL) then what is the use of holding Quaid-e-Azam Trophy?

“Best performing players in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy must be picked for tests same as PSL performing players should be picked for Twenty20s,” he said.

He said there is no say of selection committee in selecting the national team. “Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq himself had confessed that his nephew Imam-ul-Haq was picked by head coach Mickey Arthur.

If the coaching staff had to pick the players then is there is no need of the selection committee,” he said.

Speaking about Pakistan-India’s bilateral cricket series, he said Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) must push for the resumption of Pak-India bilateral series. “The issue of the bilateral series must be resolved now,” he said.

Qadir said we can go to India or any neutral venue to play the bilateral series. “The people of both the nations are crazy for cricket as Pak-India series is greater than the Ashes and the Indian government must not mix politics with sports,” he said.

Never liked this guy as a person.. so much bakwas comes out of his mouth 🤦🏽*♂️... I blame our media for giving guys like him the air time to be an embarrassment... for god sake source some fat free water for your son in law & pleeeese stay away from media you tool

I think, most posters are missing the trick here. I didn't comment on this at first, because I could sniff something else, which [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] in post no. 19 had given a clue. But, Saj is a known face, therefore needs to be politically correct, I don't. I had to respond after 2nd attempt.

In the first interview, there are some critical information given by AQ, regarding Mickey Arthur - from that, I can safely say, AQ is being used as a bait here, clearly he was supplied those info - the guy who doesn't know which players were part of PSL & who are not (in the squad), can't be so sharp. People are bashing AQ, but sadly the guy is used for a purpose and he is foolish enough to be used like this trash.

I am sure, by now everyone knows the term "model town boy" and I can name all 5 - not required, I believe. If we carefully notice, in latest UK squad all 5 model town boys are left out and someone triggered pet media to settle some score. I can safely say, that someone isn't Umar Akmal - he is too thick for that. "Test squad based on T20" is absolute rubbish allegation - only Rahat was the player who might had been picked on PSL; but I also would have picked him for UK tour and he is proving that it's not the worst pick. In the mix, these Fawad, Sohail are just distractions, to give it a holistic picture.

It started with Ul Haq - once he announced the squad "few people" found their names missing. Once Ul Haq was charged, he categorically said - "Mai kuch nahin kar pauo, uski (Micky) tiki mujhse uper bandhi hai. Waise, Imam ki dekh bhal hamehi ....." so, Nazam Sethi comes in the loop as well, for his share. In last 2 years, ever if I was happy with Ul Haq's squad, this was the time and I can't find much fault here.

From the first post (In OP), information like Watson's career, Andy Flower ... these are too classified for AQ's IQ level - he was well rehearsed before coming to live telecast. He gave an extremely odd figure (29, no 25 or 30 or 25-30), for players leaving QeA to T10 - people can say whatever against my kanspiracy theory but I can bet my house - that exact figure was given to him for his rant. This guy was dumb enough to lose an ODI by attempting an impossible run, when standing at the crease would have won the game for PAK (And he was told the equation by 12th man prior to that ball) - that was in is 30s, now the guy is in his 60s and he counted exact 29 !!!!!!!!!!!!! Come on people ......

The amount of unprofessional and gross words used for Arthur in the OP (not O Poster - he/she is the messenger) and was allowed to be telecast, actually confirms me that Qadir was framed - just used as a dummy to sprout rubbish against Arthur, so that there is a negative public sentiment against him and he is forced to give Ul Haq more space ........... ZIM series is in the corner. AND, I'll say again - it's not Umar Akmal, he is too thick for such politics. Posters should be well aware of which is/are the players now trying to prolong career through back door.

I hope, Arthur reads this and be stronger than ever - he is doing exactly what was needed and that's why it has gone to personal level - people are now calling his names as last resort, an a shadow war. AQ is just a fool - lending his persona for someone else's battle.

There is no place for name calling or racist comments but a number of players have been picked with first class averages in the 30s and have been deemed good enough to beat England away the test team might go further into decline.

Whenever I have to throw up in a hurry, YH lecturing on the merits and demerits of what is fair in Pak cricket always does the trick...AQ and Co. are just pawns he and his cronnies use to push out their own agendas

What we really need is Abdul Qadir as Coach and Umar Akmal as Captain.

Dream team.
Sikandar Bakht as bowling coach, Salman Butt as batting consultant, and that will be icing on the cake.

What we really need is Abdul Qadir as Coach and Umar Akmal as Captain.

Dream team.

And Alastair Cook as fielding coach. Also get Kamran Akmal back as wicket-keeper.

On a serious note, what a stupid comment this was by Abdul Qadir and Mickey Arthur has proved him wrong. You can see how delighted Arthur was by watching his interviews on sky sports etc.

lol at this quote

Arthur is on his way to be remembered in the same light as Bob Woolmer. A legendary coach for Pakistan

Thora Ziyada bol gayay Abdul Qadir bhai it seems....

Overrated bowler and now a useless pundit. Just a crusty old bigot.

He is an idiot, I don't pay heed to what he says. For him every match is fixed post his retirement.

ISLAMABAD, July 5 (APP):Former leg-spinner Abdul Qadir Thursday said Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) must focus on preparing green-shirts for 2019 World Cup instead of playing Pakistan against below-par teams.

Talking to APP, Qadir, who was also former PCB chief selector, said 2019 World Cup is scheduled to take place in England and Wales and we must prepare our players according to the pitches there.

“The Tri Nation series between Pakistan, Zimbabwe and Australia won’t benefit Pakistan as Zimbabwe is a low ranked team whereas Australia has played a young team in the series which is inexperienced as compared to Pakistan,” he said.

Qadir, who appeared in 67 Tests and 104 ODIs between 1977 and 1993, said Pakistan need to play against tough teams in order to improve their skills and to prepare for next year’s World Cup.

“PCB gets all the praise when Pakistan team wins against low ranked teams but this won’t help the players’ performance,” he said.
Qadir, who captained the Pakistan cricket team in five Test matches during 1987–88 and 1988–89, said PCB must build an A team which can be a replacement for national team.

“If in case any of our players from the national team gets injured or hurt, then his replacement will be present in the A team,” he said and added PCB must also hunt for talent from all over the country and groom them for future.

http://www.app.com.pk/pcb-must-focus-on-2019-wc-qadir/

I do not think Mickey deserves to be blamed for this mess, although he does not seem to understand how to win Tests in Asia. Moreover, he has been too fascinated with forcing mediocre players into defined roles when they are clearly not good enough for the job, e.g. Asif Ali as a lower-order hitter and Shadab and Faheem as all-rounders.

However, I think he has now reached a point where he is being overruled by Inzamam and to an extent Sarfraz. Considering his fascination with all-rounders, I find it hard to believe that he wanted the UAE bully Yasir in his lineup for South Africa. The combination of not having enough quality in the ranks, getting vetoed by Inzamam and Sarfraz and the existing players not responding has left him with no choice but to fend for excuses, some of which are frankly embarrassing and routinely backfire.

Asian Tests might be his Achilles' heel, but I think overall he is a wonderful coach. He has invested a lot of emotions and passion in Pakistan cricket and wants to create a winning culture, but the players are simply not good enough to respond.

I think his cycle is complete now and there is no minnow bashing in sight for him to hide behind some cheap wins. Some of our major assignments include:

ODI series vs South Africa and England
World Cup
Tour of Australia at the end of the year

I don't see how he can survive this. In fact, he would be lucky to keep his job after the World Cup. We are inevitably heading for an early exit and the media will be all over him.

As has been the case since the late 90's, we tend to alternate between a white coach and a brown coach. After failing with a white coach, we go to a brown coach in the hope that he will understand our culture better, there will be no communication barrier and the players will be comfortable.

When the brown coach fails because the team is not good enough, we turn back to the white man in the hope that he will create a winning culture and make the lazy players work hard. The cycle continues.

Pakistan cricket has reached a point where it has become futile to discuss who should be the coach. The players are simply not good enough. However, you have to appoint someone and hope for marginal improvements. My number one candidate for replacing the "incompetent white man" is Younis Khan. I think he has the right amount of ego and pride to keep the players on their toes, and will throw a tantrum if the selectors or the captain(s) overrule him. Moreover, in spite of his arrogance, he has always worked well with up and coming players.

More importantly, he will keep the Karachi lobby quiet as well.

Mickey does not deserve to be blamed, agree - but at the same time given all the perks he will be getting over local coaches, has the performances and visible progress of Pakistani players in his tenure shown that Mickey has added any signicant value ??

Not questioning the calibre of the coaches but has the Pakistan team ever looked any more professional or polished under a foreign coach than a local coach?

Mickey does not deserve to be blamed, agree - but at the same time given all the perks he will be getting over local coaches, has the performances and visible progress of Pakistani players in his tenure shown that Mickey has added any signicant value ??

Not questioning the calibre of the coaches but has the Pakistan team ever looked any more professional or polished under a foreign coach than a local coach?

This is relative (visible progress), we can only tell that if we could compare the progress in those 2.5 years under a Deshi Buzurg instead of Arthur.

My hunch is, Arthur is over deliverying than the money he is paid. WY was the highest paid PCB employee (he himself said that in live telecast), and if that amount is around even 25% of Arthur’s package, I would take Mickey with both hands.

I think, PAK team is totally different under a pro coach - that’s my observation of last 20 years. First, Pybas took PAK to AUS against that ATG team and still in last 2 decades that was most competitive PAK side there, both in Test & ODI. During his short time ARazzak became true world class, but didn’t last long as Pybas left. PCB sacked him for Javed and we have seen his time.

Then Bob took charge for 4 years - collectively PAK underachieved, one main reason was the dumb on field Captaincy, but individually players improved significantly. YK & MoYo became world class, at his last age (as cricketer), Inzi became world’s top batsman, Shoaib kept running and most importantly-Woolmar unleshed PAK’s last ATG potential : Mo Asif. Besides, the improved Malik, Gul, Butt’s game, realised the true potential of MoHa (slotted him at 6-7), and I am sure by now posters can understand that Kanetis wasn’t that bad, just didn’t get enough UAE Tests.

For a short period, Henry was PAK’s coach and he was on his way to build a very good young team without the stalwarts like Inzi, MoYo, Shoaib - got sacked suddenly. What more was made coach when he should have retired, but PCB decided to pay him pension - never found him engaged much, but still during his time PAK had success in SAF, WIN. Finally Arthur & Rixon / since Rixon left, Sarfraz is proving what SR did with the team.

Anyway, I don’t think Arthur will remain PAK’s coach after WC, particularly if PCB sends the team under Sarfraz, Arthur probably won’t be able to keep his job - after that, may be we’ll see the impact under Mohsin Khan or Haroon Rashid.

I do not think Mickey deserves to be blamed for this mess, although he does not seem to understand how to win Tests in Asia. Moreover, he has been too fascinated with forcing mediocre players into defined roles when they are clearly not good enough for the job, e.g. Asif Ali as a lower-order hitter and Shadab and Faheem as all-rounders.

However, I think he has now reached a point where he is being overruled by Inzamam and to an extent Sarfraz. Considering his fascination with all-rounders, I find it hard to believe that he wanted the UAE bully Yasir in his lineup for South Africa. The combination of not having enough quality in the ranks, getting vetoed by Inzamam and Sarfraz and the existing players not responding has left him with no choice but to fend for excuses, some of which are frankly embarrassing and routinely backfire.

Asian Tests might be his Achilles' heel, but I think overall he is a wonderful coach. He has invested a lot of emotions and passion in Pakistan cricket and wants to create a winning culture, but the players are simply not good enough to respond.

I think his cycle is complete now and there is no minnow bashing in sight for him to hide behind some cheap wins. Some of our major assignments include:

ODI series vs South Africa and England
World Cup
Tour of Australia at the end of the year

I don't see how he can survive this. In fact, he would be lucky to keep his job after the World Cup. We are inevitably heading for an early exit and the media will be all over him.

As has been the case since the late 90's, we tend to alternate between a white coach and a brown coach. After failing with a white coach, we go to a brown coach in the hope that he will understand our culture better, there will be no communication barrier and the players will be comfortable.

When the brown coach fails because the team is not good enough, we turn back to the white man in the hope that he will create a winning culture and make the lazy players work hard. The cycle continues.

Pakistan cricket has reached a point where it has become futile to discuss who should be the coach. The players are simply not good enough. However, you have to appoint someone and hope for marginal improvements. My number one candidate for replacing the "incompetent white man" is Younis Khan. I think he has the right amount of ego and pride to keep the players on their toes, and will throw a tantrum if the selectors or the captain(s) overrule him. Moreover, in spite of his arrogance, he has always worked well with up and coming players.

More importantly, he will keep the Karachi lobby quiet as well.

you missed his love for fakhar .
its baffles to me to see him play in south africa with this technique .

Qadir: Arthur should make way for others to take Pakistan cricket forward

Spin legend Abdul Qadir doesn’t want South African Mickey Arthur to continue as Pakistan’s head coach, saying it’s time others should be given a chance to take the national team forward.

Qadir said he differs with former captain Wasim Akram’s view that Arthur should be given a fresh contract by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

“I know Wasim Akram has told the Board (PCB) that they should give another contract to Arthur but to me, this is like doing injustice with others. Others too need to be given a chance to take the national team forward,” Qadir said in an interview.

The former chief selector said if Akram had so much concern about Pakistan cricket than he should become the bowling coach of the national team.

Akram is one of the members of the PCB’s cricket committee which will meet on August 2 to review the national team’s performance in the last three years and prepare recommendations for the future.

“To me, Mickey Arthur has contributed nothing to the Pakistan team. He has damaged it with his clear bias towards some players including Sohail Khan, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Imran Khan who could have done a lot for the Pakistan team with their experience,” Qadir said.

“No one thought how much investment has already been made in these players and how much it would hurt Pakistan cricket by sidelining them at their peak.”

Qadir said Arthur used the excuses of fitness, discipline and attitude to keep the deserving players out.

“We have spent millions of rupees on his fees and expenses and got nothing in return. He didn’t even want Wahab Riaz in the team and sidelined him for two years but was forced to eat humble pie and accept him for the World Cup at the last moment,” he said.

Qadir said he didn’t see any sense in having a head coach in the team, and instead preferred specialist coaches in batting, bowling and fielding departments.

The outspoken leg-spinner, who played 67 Tests and 104 ODIs, said whatever decision the PCB takes now, must be made keeping in mind the next four years not just next year’s World T20.

Qadir backed Sarfaraz Ahmed to continue as captain particularly in the limited over formats.

“I think he has done enough and shown he is a fighter to be given an extended run at the captaincy.”

Arthur, former chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq and Sarfaraz have all been called for the cricket committee meeting to make presentations on the team’s performances in the last three years.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...hur-coach-wasim-akram-pcb/article28737191.ece

Qadir: Arthur should make way for others to take Pakistan cricket forward

“I know Wasim Akram has told the Board (PCB) that they should give another contract to Arthur but to me, this is like doing injustice with others. Others too need to be given a chance to take the national team forward,” Qadir said in an interview

:)) He considers it a game of musical chairs? What’s up with giving others a chance? It’s about selecting the best person for the job.

“To me, Mickey Arthur has contributed nothing to the Pakistan team. He has damaged it with his clear bias towards some players including Sohail Khan, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Imran Khan who could have done a lot for the Pakistan team with their experience,” Qadir said.

:moyo2 :inzi2 :genius :ua

If his son-in-law (Umar Akmal) was playing, I'm sure that would have been suffice to have kept quiet.

Also, if he's really sincere in regards to the exclusion of Kamran Akmal, why hasn't he been a vocal critic of Sarfraz?