Anti-Muslim protests in PyeongChang get Winter Olympics prayer room scrapped

AssassinatedDevil

Local Club Star
By and large, PyeongChang has gone out of its way to welcome the world for the 2018 Winter Olympics. But not everyone in the South Korean host city is feeling the Olympic spirit.

The Korea Tourism Organization (KTO) has announced that it will no longer go forward with plans to set up a mobile multi-faith prayer room for spectators in Gangneung, where all of the Games’ indoor events are taking place, following “strong opposition” from anti-Muslim protestors, according to Al Jazeera’s Haeyoon Kim and Faras Ghani.

“We sat down with them for talks, but in the end, we had to cancel the plans,” Gangneung city government tourism division chief Kang Suk-ho told Al Jazeera.

The KTO’s Kim Yeong-ju told Korea Exposé’s Ho Kyeong Jang that opposition to the prayer rooms was so strong that local officials “could no longer do their jobs.”

Much of the hostility has flowed from the PyeongChang Olympics Gangwon Citizens’ Islam Countermeasure Association, a relatively new group that pushed a petition against the prayer room via Google. The petition — which stoked fear about radical Islam in the South Korean province of Gangwon — has collected more than 56,000 digital signatures.

“The government has already spent too much of the taxpayers’ money on the Games, and we shouldn’t spend more building a prayer room,” Seo Ji-hyun, the director of operations at the Islam Countermeasure Association, told Al Jazeera. He also suggested that Muslims should refrain from prayer at the Olympic Games as they supposedly would while flying or driving.

Islamophobia is nothing new in South Korea, where Muslims comprise just 0.2 percent of an overall population of 51 million. The Citizens’ Association for a Proper Country, a civic group led by Jeong Hyeong-man, has advocated against halal-friendly establishments and warned against “the increase of Muslim terrorist bases in Korea.”

Muslim athletes in PyeongChang still have access to a cafeteria serving certified halal food. And all visitors to the Winter Games who adhere to the faith can count on vociferous support from the Korean Muslim Federation.

“This decision demonstrates that we, as a host country, lack thoughtful understanding,” Lee Ju-hwa, a KMF representative, told Al Jazeera in a statement, before adding, “Instead of claiming that the installation of a prayer room is preferential treatment given to a certain religion, we need to raise awareness that it was to consider others with different faith and beliefs.”

The move comes as another blow to the host country’s attempts to bolster its image as a “Muslim-friendly Korea.” According to the KTO, South Korea saw a 33-percent year-over-year increase in Muslim tourists between 2015 and 2016, and welcomed 1.7 million members of the faith as visitors in 2017.

https://sports.yahoo.com/anti-musli...-olympics-prayer-room-scrapped-141802474.html

I didn't knew there was this kind of Islamophy in South Korea. Also considering the fact there are almost no muslims there.

Well Well... This just makes me root for Kim Bhai hehe

I didn't knew there was this kind of Islamophy in South Korea. Also considering the fact there are almost no muslims there.

I didn't even know there was a place called PyeongChang, but I guess that is the benefit of being on this site, you learn something every day.

A bit rich coming from a people whose nation is split in half with one of them being ruled by an absolute nutter, second only to Trump.

One of the most successful nations on the face of the planet. 50 million of them export more tech than 57 Muslim majority countries with ~1.6 billion people, making the world a better, more connected place while the greatest contribution Pakistan, Saudi Arabia and Iran have made to the world is a million odd corpses courtesy their "assets" spread all over their region.

a perfect example to show that doesn't matter how rich, tech advanced, scientifically genius a nation become it can still be intolerant.

The world is an intolerant place in general and especially towards Muslims, not entirely unjustifiably though not entirely justifiably either, so as far as I'm concerned, I respect an advanced but intolerant civilization far more than I do a bunch of even more intolerant people whose greatest achievements in the last 300 years are dropping bodies and playing victim. Besides, it's beyond hypocritical for any Muslim to throw around accusations of intolerance given what happens in places where Muslims are a majority. Korean intolerance at its worst doesn't even come close to Pakistan, Iran or Saudi on their best day.

Not many nations you can classify as tolerant by that yardstick, especially if you're looking through a Muslim lens. With nations like South Korea joining the bandwagon, it is tempting to state that the common denominator in all these sentiments be looked at more closely, with all politically correct opinions left at the door.

No matter how advanced a people become, a jahil is a jahil anywhere in the world.

You won't find me defending the evil people in Muslim countries do to each other.

However, you won't find me licking the boots of a nation simply because it ships technology and makes money.

The dilemma that many "progressive" nations find is that it's all well and good claiming to have a superior perspective of life and society, however, when it comes down to it, their base thoughts and feelings are no different to anyone else in the world.

If the Muslims are so backward, then it is the duty of these nations to uphold the values which keeps the Muslims looking like plebs, is it not? They should not be stooping to their level.

All you've really said is that South Korea is rich and isn't as bad as the Muslim countries. Yet they have clearly partaken in an act that you abhor about certain Muslim countries.

Hypocrisy, no?

Goes to show even if you are a rich, advanced country it is not a given that you will be a tolerant society. Not many countries are like Canada.

The sad part is this was meant to be a multi-faith room which accommodates all religions not just Muslims. Because the accommodation included Muslims, it became an issue. While I don't believe Islamophobia is rampant in South Korean society, the organizers don't have much spine for doing something which is a fairly staple part of all Olympic games (multi faith rooms).

No matter how advanced a people become, a jahil is a jahil anywhere in the world.

You won't find me defending the evil people in Muslim countries do to each other.

However, you won't find me licking the boots of a nation simply because it ships technology and makes money.

The dilemma that many "progressive" nations find is that it's all well and good claiming to have a superior perspective of life and society, however, when it comes down to it, their base thoughts and feelings are no different to anyone else in the world.

If the Muslims are so backward, then it is the duty of these nations to uphold the values which keeps the Muslims looking like plebs, is it not? They should not be stooping to their level.

All you've really said is that South Korea is rich and isn't as bad as the Muslim countries. Yet they have clearly partaken in an act that you abhor about certain Muslim countries.

Hypocrisy, no?
Hypocrisy? Hardly. I don't support the use of taxpayer money for funding religious activity and that is precisely what's happening here. As for your compare and contrast exercise, let's put it this way: granted human nature remains the same regardless of how advanced or backward a nation is, what sets the two groups apart is how they respond to their base urges and lets not pretend that there's no difference there. The Koreans used a petition and the organizers responded to it. At no point was a stone cast or blood shed. Since this was taxpayer money, it stands to reason that a petition signed by 56'000 taxpayers would be taken seriously.

For the most part, advanced nations do uphold values which make Muslim nations look worse by comparison, that is why its so easy for us to do a compare and contrast of our own. That said, no nation is perfect and intolerance is an unavoidable part of modern life. What sets us and them apart is the extent of our intolerance and how we let it manifest itself. On either of those two measures, there's no comparison and if people complain about something like the incident mentioned in OP, there will always be those who have faced the other side's intolerance ready to set the record straight and call out the hypocrisy of those crying victim. The world is not perfect, never was and never will be, and moral high ground will always be subjective, not absolute.

Hypocrisy? Hardly. I don't support the use of taxpayer money for funding religious activity and that is precisely what's happening here. As for your compare and contrast exercise, let's put it this way: granted human nature remains the same regardless of how advanced or backward a nation is, what sets the two groups apart is how they respond to their base urges and lets not pretend that there's no difference there. The Koreans used a petition and the organizers responded to it. At no point was a stone cast or blood shed. Since this was taxpayer money, it stands to reason that a petition signed by 56'000 taxpayers would be taken seriously.

For the most part, advanced nations do uphold values which make Muslim nations look worse by comparison, that is why its so easy for us to do a compare and contrast of our own. That said, no nation is perfect and intolerance is an unavoidable part of modern life. What sets us and them apart is the extent of our intolerance and how we let it manifest itself. On either of those two measures, there's no comparison and if people complain about something like the incident mentioned in OP, there will always be those who have faced the other side's intolerance ready to set the record straight and call out the hypocrisy of those crying victim. The world is not perfect, never was and never will be, and moral high ground will always be subjective, not absolute.

I'm sure had a Muslim country removed prayer areas for other religions you would be singing a completely different tune. We know your reality quite well by now. Keep your hate to yourself.

This is a garbage move by South Korea and you have to be utterly biased to not call a spade a spade. Being a "liberal" does not mean that you irrationally hate everything Muslim. Infact it means you have an open mind towards all ideas and ideologies, hardly a trait you seem to possess. You were even justifying this pathetic move by SK because apparently it is a rich, advanced country which provides technology that the world uses :facepalm:

The Olympics are meant to be a unifying event for the whole world and the onus is on the host country to provide and accommodate people from all races, religions and cultures. If South Korea cannot provide these basic facilities to their guests then they have no right holding a world event.

No one is asking them to build a Faisal Mosque in the heart of Pyeongchang, providing a room where people can pray is hardly a "burden on taxpayers" as you put it.

I'm sure had a Muslim country removed prayer areas for other religions you would be singing a completely different tune. We know your reality quite well by now. Keep your hate to yourself.

This is a garbage move by South Korea and you have to be utterly biased to not call a spade a spade. Being a "liberal" does not mean that you irrationally hate everything Muslim. Infact it means you have an open mind towards all ideas and ideologies, hardly a trait you seem to possess. You were even justifying this pathetic move by SK because apparently it is a rich, advanced country which provides technology that the world uses :facepalm:

The Olympics are meant to be a unifying event for the whole world and the onus is on the host country to provide and accommodate people from all races, religions and cultures. If South Korea cannot provide these basic facilities to their guests then they have no right holding a world event.

No one is asking them to build a Faisal Mosque in the heart of Pyeongchang, providing a room where people can pray is hardly a "burden on taxpayers" as you put it.

Don't need lessons in morality from you of all people. First, this was a prayer room for all religions, not Muslims, so you don't get to play the Islamophobe card here. Second, don't assume what I would do in X situation or Y, talk about it when I actually do so. Third, it was not a garbage move by any stretch of the imagination. Had it targeted a particular religion, it would have been but the prayer room that was scrapped was multi faith. Fourth, you don't get to define what they should or shouldn't have done, especially as someone with a history of supporting people and institutions that foster actual intolerance (as opposed to this nonissue) that has resulted in the deaths of tens of thousands.

Whether or not its a burden on taxpayers, the taxpayers demanded that their money not be spent on it. In a responsible nation, taxpayer demands are taken seriously. You don't get to decide whether or not Korea deserves to hold the olympics. If it's a big deal, take it up with the IOC, I'm sure they'll be very receptive to a Pakistani complaining about religious discrimination.

Don't need lessons in morality from you of all people. First, this was a prayer room for all religions, not Muslims, so you don't get to play the Islamophobe card here. Second, don't assume what I would do in X situation or Y, talk about it when I actually do so. Third, it was not a garbage move by any stretch of the imagination. Had it targeted a particular religion, it would have been but the prayer room that was scrapped was multi faith. Fourth, you don't get to define what they should or shouldn't have done, especially as someone with a history of supporting people and institutions that foster actual intolerance (as opposed to this nonissue) that has resulted in the deaths of tens of thousands.

Whether or not its a burden on taxpayers, the taxpayers demanded that their money not be spent on it. In a responsible nation, taxpayer demands are taken seriously. You don't get to decide whether or not Korea deserves to hold the olympics. If it's a big deal, take it up with the IOC, I'm sure they'll be very receptive to a Pakistani complaining about religious discrimination.

In that vein German taxpayers were fully on board with the concentration camps and killing of Jews. I'm sure you would be in favour of that as well since "that is what the taxpayers want"

Garbage decisions will remain garbage no matter how you try to spin it.

No answer on the fact that you initially justified this move because apparently SK is rich advanced country that produces more than 57 Muslim countries. :facepalm:

Atleast remain consistent

In that vein German taxpayers were fully on board with the concentration camps and killing of Jews. I'm sure you would be in favour of that as well since "that is what the taxpayers want"
They were? Source? Last I checked the third reich was a dictatorship with its own agenda, not a democracy that followed the voters' agenda.

Garbage decisions will remain garbage no matter how you try to spin it.
Like the decision to grant $3 million to Taliban University, or teaching school children how great Ghazi Ilam Deen was and then wondering why alleged blasphemers are getting lynched, or propping up dozens of terrorist organization.

No answer on the fact that you initially justified this move because apparently SK is rich advanced country that produces more than 57 Muslim countries. :facepalm:
Justified? Did you actually read the exchange? A poster called SK a bunch of things and I pointed out that those in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. Please highlight the bit where I justified it in that particular post. I do however agree with the decision not to spend taxpayer money on religious activity. If people want to pray, they can do so in their hotels.

Atleast remain consistent
Always. You'll never see me disappear if proof of my claims being invalid is presented. I consider that to be beneath me.

As a traveler you can pray 3 times a day. And 2 out of 3 are dawn and dusk so out of competition timings so I don't think it inconveniences anyone apart from those that might want to show off their piousness. I can't blame the organisers for this they planned to provide the facilities but their main aim was holding a good event if providing such facilities results in disruption of the event by protestors they are better of not providing the facilities.

Muslims are suffering because their leaders failed.

Their ineptness has brought ridicule and discrimination to their people when they are looked at with suspicion and hatred. They are seen as a threat everywhere.

Also, You get what you give to others. Its always give and take.

Koreans are one of the most nationalistic and racist people in the world, they think they're a superior race so not surprised.

Koreans still have a problem with hyper nationalism and an obsession with fair skin and double eyelid surgery, white people that have been there will tell you this.

But all of that negates as long as they are making tech advanced cellular phone.

Korea's entire economy was bankrolled by America, they're literally a colony of ours which benefited from American influence, korea also had an authoritarian dictator for decades which is why they had so much stability, the same people wouldn't want the same for Pakistan.

The world is an intolerant place in general and especially towards Muslims, not entirely unjustifiably though not entirely justifiably either, so as far as I'm concerned, I respect an advanced but intolerant civilization far more than I do a bunch of even more intolerant people whose greatest achievements in the last 300 years are dropping bodies and playing victim. Besides, it's beyond hypocritical for any Muslim to throw around accusations of intolerance given what happens in places where Muslims are a majority. Korean intolerance at its worst doesn't even come close to Pakistan, Iran or Saudi on their best day.

From Pakistanis I have interacted would never claim Pakistan to be a tolerant country, if they were to, it would be consider as hypocrisy. But, from my interaction with Pakistani extremist atheist that they would tolerate intolerance of any kind as long as they are a tech advanced nation, certainly a hypocrisy.

I concur with dw44
What South Qorae want to do is their business

SK have hosted a football World Cup so they know what to do

Muslims need to stop being selfish and see the bigger picture which is rapport and reproachment between two neighbouring countries destroyed by an imperial war

That S korea has a problem
Holy crap, really? Even successful countries have problems? Whod've thunk it. That is brand new information.

From Pakistanis I have interacted would never claim Pakistan to be a tolerant country, if they were to, it would be consider as hypocrisy. But, from my interaction with Pakistani extremist atheist that they would tolerate intolerance of any kind as long as they are a tech advanced nation, certainly a hypocrisy.
That probably means three things: One, your interactions with Pakistanis have been extremely limited because even the most right wing Pakistanis would almost never go so far as to admit that Pakistan is intolerant as a rule. The best you'd get is something along the lines of "but what about India/Israel/*insert unrelated human rights issue here*. Two, you have almost certainly never met a Pakistani atheist, extremist or otherwise , never mind interacting with one.

Holy crap, really? Even successful countries have problems? Whod've thunk it. That is brand new information.

That probably means three things: One, your interactions with Pakistanis have been extremely limited because even the most right wing Pakistanis would almost never go so far as to admit that Pakistan is intolerant as a rule. The best you'd get is something along the lines of "but what about India/Israel/*insert unrelated human rights issue here*. Two, you have almost certainly never met a Pakistani atheist, extremist or otherwise , never mind interacting with one.

That sounds scarily like North Korea who probably never get chance to chat to atheist reporters either

Thank God or is it Confucius in South Korea? for their openness

my interaction with Pakistani, "Pakistan is not a tolerant country", and nothing wrong with comparing to other intolerant nations, everyone does it, that does not mean none of them have acknowledged the fact.

I am interacting with you, from what i know, you claimed to be atheist, and as i have said, you are okay with intolerance as long as the nation is a tech advanced nation, form of extremist atheism.

Whatever you gave to the world, it come back to you again. It's harsh but truth.

There will always be intolerance and the feeling of intolerance towards Muslims is an international phenomena and nothing new.. But it is also generally restricted to a small minority of population in all countries. But the contribution of a country is much more than that.. Korea is a technological super power more so than China

That S korea has a problem

right, every one in the world has a problem except muslims.. have you every stopped to think why a country which hardly has any muslims has anti islam sentiments.. same in China which hardly has any muslims still harbors anti islam sentiments. may be it is time Muslims did some introspection rather than pointing finger at the whole world

Was this prayer room supposed to be for all religions or just muslims?

If it was for all religions, and they are not building prayer rooms for everyone, then its a fairly secular move and absolutely nothing wrong in it. The idea might be anti-muslim, but the end result is not islamophobic. If anything, its secular.

If they are keeping prayer rooms for other religions and only not building one for muslims, then its intolerant.

Korea's entire economy was bankrolled by America, they're literally a colony of ours which benefited from American influence, korea also had an authoritarian dictator for decades which is why they had so much stability, the same people wouldn't want the same for Pakistan.

Maybe big brother China can do the same by turning Pakistan into a Chinese colony Inshallah.

Mashallah we are important in Korea too. Good to see Koreans wasting their time on important issues, seems like they are catching up with rest of the world.

right, every one in the world has a problem except muslims.. have you every stopped to think why a country which hardly has any muslims has anti islam sentiments.. same in China which hardly has any muslims still harbors anti islam sentiments. may be it is time Muslims did some introspection rather than pointing finger at the whole world

Going by that argument, the Jews, blacks, Romas, etc. should all do "some introspection" because they have been looked down upon for large periods of history.

Not many nations you can classify as tolerant by that yardstick, especially if you're looking through a Muslim lens. With nations like South Korea joining the bandwagon, it is tempting to state that the common denominator in all these sentiments be looked at more closely, with all politically correct opinions left at the door.

this will continue and eventually world will be polarized in muslims and non-muslims in the times of Anti-Christ. I think only muslims will fight against Anti-Christ.

56,000 signatures is a strong sign that they don’t want the prayer room. Think it sends the wrong message especially for a global event like the Olympics but if the citizens want it that way than the government has no choice.

If it was for all religions, and they are not building prayer rooms for everyone, then its a fairly secular move and absolutely nothing wrong in it. The idea might be anti-muslim, but the end result is not islamophobic. If anything, its secular.

If they are keeping prayer rooms for other religions and only not building one for muslims, then its intolerant.

from the article it appears that the opposition was mainly from an Anti-Islam organization. Not surprised at all though. Another nation having issues with Muslims but fingers being pointed at only non-Muslims. Basically the entire Non-Muslim world is wrong!

Koreans are one of the most nationalistic and racist people in the world, they think they're a superior race so not surprised.
Except when it comes to their looks. There they have an inferiority complex. And they'll do virtually anything to change that, including resorting to all sorts of measures, from eyelid and facial surgery, to anglicising their names in order to look 'Western'.

Not dissimilar to another group of people. :))

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/aKc9EXo_CoU" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Is this true? If yes, why are only Muslims feeling offended?

Good to see that the others don't care - probably focused on winning medals.

Except when it comes to their looks. There they have an inferiority complex. And they'll do virtually anything to change that, including resorting to all sorts of measures, from eyelid and facial surgery, to anglicising their names in order to look 'Western'.

Not dissimilar to another group of people. :))

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/aKc9EXo_CoU" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

That's how I imagine [MENTION=48620]Cpt. Rishwat[/MENTION] is :91:

Why? Kim bhai is a communist. At least South Korea is democracy and people will be allowed to discuss different religions. We should hope that these protests happen more often so average Korean tries to learn more about Islam. Even if few hundred of them revert as a result it would be a great thing.

this will continue and eventually world will be polarized in muslims and non-muslims in the times of Anti-Christ. I think only muslims will fight against Anti-Christ.

That is already the case. The only ones hardcore about religion are Muslims. Doubly proven by the fact that this was supposed to be a prayer room for all religions, not just Muslims. Have a look at the desperate potshots thrown at the Koreans on this thread. What have the Koreans got to lose by doing this anyway? Absolutely zero.

The rest of us are fairly ambivalent when it comes to religion even if we are Hindus / Christians / Buddhists on paper. I don't know what "times of Anti-Christ means" - likely another cock and bull story that you are force fed in your youth.

Muslims are their own worst enemies in these situations. Its better to not say anything and let it go mainly because if the South Koreans dont want to spend money on prayer rooms then that is up to them and no one else. By objecting and labeling them islamophobes portrays a bit of extremist behavior by muslims. Everytime muslims label someone or a group islamophobes they are creating friction against themselves. Dont react to these incidents and it will show that muslims are prepared to accept others for what they are and not make demands.

No one made demands.

Multi-faith prayer rooms have been a part and parcel of the Olympics for a long time.

The only demands made were by the "Islam Countermeasure Association" and its supporters.

Lol Muslims never demanded these prayer rooms, our faith isn't relegated to a mere room, we'll even pray on crimeridden streets, on the beach during a hurricane, in the mountains during an avalanche, on a volcanoe while it erupts. Our faith isn't so weak!!! :misbah3

Why the hullabaloo on this thread then? Why do the poor Koreans have to suffer your wrath against their lifestyle choices of double eyelid surgeries and preferences of skin colour?

Sorry, but you are trying to pass off an image of ambivalence even though it's eating you up inside - for reasons best known to you.

So after Myanmar buddhist, now it's turn of Koreans to get burn in hell fire by muslims. I don't know who is next to have problem with but there is already less religion/civilization left on earth which do not have problem with them.

now it's turn of Koreans to get burn in hell fire by muslims
So how does that work? Do Muslims own Hell's gate and decide who gets in and out? Or do 2.5+billion Muslims vote for that?

already less religion/civilization left on earth which do not have problem with them
Can't say anything about others but every room I walk in people respect me :afridi
PS: I am a Muslim :)

[MENTION=139649]WhenSultansBowled[/MENTION] That's the feature of being non muslim that we will go to hell definitely according to my muslims friends😉 it doesn't depend on whether we did good or bad here, we will surely go to hell. They own it.

And it's nice to hear that you got respect everywhere 😊

[MENTION=139649]WhenSultansBowled[/MENTION] That's the feature of being non muslim that we will go to hell definitely according to my muslims friends�� it doesn't depend on whether we did good or bad here, we will surely go to hell. They own it.

And it's nice to hear that you got respect everywhere ��

God owns it. No Muslim has a divine right to get into Heaven. Any Muslim who believes that is an idiot.

Coming onto the argument above, I thought the Olympics was about tolerance and unity etc. I guess those things dont apply if the word Muslim suddenly appears. Why? I don't see any Muslims making a big fuss about this. We can pray anywhere and Muslim athletes will do so. Yes its nice if organisers show tolerance for all religions and provide facilities especially if its an Olympics games that promotes peace and tolerance.

If rightwing nutjob koreans want to make a fuss, let them, it only reflects badly on them. Muslims will simply pray in the open or in another area if they have to. This only shows how intolerant others are when they are reminded of a groups piety and eagerness to engage with the almighty. How sad.

That is already the case. The only ones hardcore about religion are Muslims. Doubly proven by the fact that this was supposed to be a prayer room for all religions, not just Muslims. Have a look at the desperate potshots thrown at the Koreans on this thread. What have the Koreans got to lose by doing this anyway? Absolutely zero.

The rest of us are fairly ambivalent when it comes to religion even if we are Hindus / Christians / Buddhists on paper. I don't know what "times of Anti-Christ means" - likely another cock and bull story that you are force fed in your youth.

CHotay bhai kyon garam ho rahay ho..this is PP so expect some hot heads with silly remarks.
Coming onto the issue at hand, it simply shows how hypocritical the whole "we welcome everyone at the olymipcs slogans" can be in Korea. Clearly this will only reflect poorly on them and nobody else. For Muslims a prayer area is a great convenience but we are adept at finding ways and places to pray if there are no facilities.

What’s so bad about a multi-faith prayer room? If you don’t like it, don’t use the room - if you want to use the room, go ahead.

so you want everyone to bend over and say thank you and do not criticize anything that required criticism. Spoken like a true "Master"

What’s so bad about a multi-faith prayer room? If you don’t like it, don’t use the room - if you want to use the room, go ahead.

Thank you James. A voice of sanity.
People forget that multi faith prayer rooms are common in pretty much every Olympics and were going to be a part of this until the anti-Muslim objected only to the Muslim prayer portion (not to the multi faith room entirely). I see this as a failure of the organizers to do something which every Olympics has done before. I don't believe the South Koreans are Islamophobic but it still doesn't reflect well upon them.

As for those on this board highlighting there is something wrong with Muslims which is why "everyone has problems" with them. I hope you say the same thing to the Jews, blacks, Romas, and every other group which has been looked down upon in recent times.

That's how I imagine [MENTION=48620]Cpt. Rishwat[/MENTION] is :91:

It's my favourite video, I actually requested Yossarian to post it in the Tikktakka thread about perception about India and Pakistan in the outside world, but some sensitive soul probably complained.