Are Pakistan in danger of a 0-9 drubbing during the 2019 World Cup?

Bleedgreen4ever

Local Club Regular
Seems extremely likely

Pakistani fans must mentally embrace the fact and be ready for the toughest and worst world cup in Pakistan's history...at best we might get 6-3

The Patriot and the optimist inside me says Sarfraz and co can pull a Kapil Dev 1983 Comeback but mind and stats suggest otherwise.

Even if they can win 1 or 2 matches this is going to be the most embarrasing WC ever

Lol at it being extremely likely.
We'll probably beat Sri lanka and at the very least one out of bd and afg

So the winnable games are:

SL
AFG
Bang
- - - - -

Bangladesh is a far superior side than Pakistan. We have to accept this.

Sri Lanka have individual match winners who will definitely have an impact like all big names usually do when playing Pakistan.

Afghanistan are counting their wins, they will consider Pakistan one of the beatable sides.

I am afraid, SL might end this illustrious streak. Other teams have absolutely no chance of ending it.

We'll definitely pull off an upset against a top team. I'm hoping it's India.

Lol, relax its not even probable let alone extremely likely. We have the ability to come back strong from here.

Never thought of a day you would be the optimist among us :))

I don't see this team winning a game. Sarfraz looks mentally shot, and so does the rest of the team.

We will win games. No team is going to win 9 out of 9. I think Australia and England should be clear of the rest. I think Sri Lanka will upset someone.

Sri Lanka and Afghanistan can be beaten. I know they lost in the warmups vs them but I back them to bounce back.

Bangladesh and Srilanka should commit suicide if this Pakistan team manage to beat them, actually any team will get beaten by this Pakistani team should jump from London Bridge.

I'll throw a party if we win 1 game. Even Zimbabwe would put up more of a fight than us at this point. This was THE game for me where we could pick ourselves up and really make a statement. I truly thought we were going to win too. This team just ruined my whole day.

Enough with the wrist slitting, it's a long tournament and Pakistan have always been slow starters. We were competitive against England on those flat decks, and we were often on top against South Africa at their home, in more lively conditions. This team is good enough, and better than the 2015 team by quite a stretch. We will bounce back, whether it's the next game or the one after that.

The only 2 players playing with heart & for the team are Fakhar & Wahab.

Rest are thieving a living seen some selfish century's by imam baba rizwan haris

Imad took things to a new level the guy was on 47* v aus needed 20 of 6 balls got 3 singles & relaxed at the non striker end.

Fully expect Pakistan to smash England on Monday inshAllah. Its an embarrassing loss no doubt about it but I feel we will make a strong comeback.

Even associate/minnow teams won't end up like that! (Zimbabwe beat England in 1992 to register 1 win) I don't think Pakistanis should go to this extreme, I guess they will win at least 3 matches (including 1 against top 5 teams!) Also Pakistanis will go to other extreme once they start winning (like reminding CT triumph forever!)

If it’s 0-9 we might as well never play the sport again and finish off all our domestic cricket and start playing gili danda in gullies only

I think we will win one from somewhere or a rained out game. Don't think it be 0-9 despite our team's best efforts.

I think Pakistan will win 2 or 3 games. They are one of the worse sides, but they still have players who can do well against the less fancied sides. Could easily win games against SL, BD or AFG. Those teams won't have the bowlers to hurt us apart from maybe AFG, and their batting is crap, regardless of the result in the warm up game.

Might beat Afghanistan. Sri Lanka will certainly beat Pakistan.

I think Pakistan will win 2 or 3 games. They are one of the worse sides, but they still have players who can do well against the less fancied sides. Could easily win games against SL, BD or AFG. Those teams won't have the bowlers to hurt us apart from maybe AFG, and their batting is crap, regardless of the result in the warm up game.

LOL. BD have 7-2 records against WI, and 4-0 against PAK in the last couple of years. Based on this, without any bias BD should start as favorite against AFG, SL, WI, and PAK.

Just coz you upset us in 2018 doesn't have any effect on us being favourites now.
If you were favourites, the odds wpuld reflect that. But they don't and odds are the most reliable way of knowing these kind of stuff.

^^This. I think we Pakistani fans conveniently forget the fact that Bangladesh has been utterly demolishing us for past 5 ODIs. In fact the last time we ever beat them in 50 over cricket was way back in 2014.
Times have so changed.

Will in sha Allah win at least 6 of the remaining matches. No worries at all. Even SA lost and today two more teams will lose so that is the part of the game. Stay positive!

^^This. I think we Pakistani fans conveniently forget the fact that Bangladesh has been utterly demolishing us for past 5 ODIs. In fact the last time we ever beat them in 50 over cricket was way back in 2014.
Times have so changed.

I think we conveniently also forget that 3 out of the 4 odis were in 2015. And we've only played them once (asia cup) since.

Bhai ye kambakht kuchh bhi karein, but india se jeet jaayein. I will accept 8-1 if they win against India, personal choice and opinion of course.
But honestly, I think this is just one match. However, what will hurt the team throughout this world Cup is the fact that the batting weakness got exposed. Bowl short get wickets. Let's hope they find a way out.
I believe this is not a bad team, but with 11 continuous losses, they how forgotten how to win matches. I don't expect a lot, but am hoping against hope that they prove me wrong

Why did Hafeez not ball at all to Chris Gayle... No one questions our dumb Captain that... His Captaincy Sucks and so does the rest of the boat

We would have still lost the match, but a valid question, as hafeez has a very good record against gayle. I question why hafeez didnt ask safaraz if he could bowl? Is it becos he is trying to avoid bowling?

Enough with the wrist slitting, it's a long tournament and Pakistan have always been slow starters. We were competitive against England on those flat decks, and we were often on top against South Africa at their home, in more lively conditions. This team is good enough, and better than the 2015 team by quite a stretch. We will bounce back, whether it's the next game or the one after that.

No ‘slow starters’ this time mate. This is their 12th straight loss. They’re done.

I can't see them winning any game. Maybe against Afghanistan only. But that'll be tough

We will win 5 games and lose 4.

At best I see a 6-3 which will lead us to the semis.

Individual brilliance can inspire confidence. We don’t have mentally strong players especially the so called “seniors “.
Some one needs to really stand up on Monday and take the game full on . Everything that could go wrong went wrong . Few of the dismissals were unlucky and a few just nonsensical.

To have a chance to qualify I always felt we need to win 2 of our first 4 games going in to the India game . Then finish strongly at the back end . Stay positive guys .

Not happening. That would mean 20 consecutive defeats for Pakistan, and surely Law of Averages will lend a helping hand at some point.

Sooner or later, we will catch a team on a bad day, get a bit of luck or simply play good cricket for a change.

We should win at least two out of the three matches against Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, so a 2-7 or a 3-6 is a genuine possibility.

Fluking a win against one of the major teams would be wonderful though.

I am quite happy for BD to start favourites, Pakistan might perform better if their is less expectation to win.

The worst thing is that the INDO-PAK match may be a dead rubber for Pakistan. It's the 5th match and we might go into that 4-0 down hence end of our campaign already.

Highly possible with their team selection, batting order and bowling line up.

Since they have been thrashed and pushed to the corner by WI.. now there is a high chance they will keep shuffling the team line up, batting order and bowling changes etc. Until they manage a win.

No one will know what role they will play except the top 3 batsman and Amir.

These are the best they and I back this team can win, but it is up to the management and seniors to lift the morale

Even associate/minnow teams won't end up like that! (Zimbabwe beat England in 1992 to register 1 win) I don't think Pakistanis should go to this extreme, I guess they will win at least 3 matches (including 1 against top 5 teams!) Also Pakistanis will go to other extreme once they start winning (like reminding CT triumph forever!)

As I said Pakistani fans need not had to be so dramatic! They are looking like winning against 1 of the Top 5 teams (In fact the No.1 team!) But at the same time they need to stay on ground and take the other matches also seriously and keep planning accordingly!

Having said that England is of those crazy sides which can chase such big totals AND also it is one of those worst bowling sides which can leak so many runs to any kind of opposition (Pakistan have to be careful about the quality of bowling in other Top 5 teams!)

I follow a general rule of thumb. After a drastic result i dont post much, keep patience and therefore save myself from knee jerk reactions that usually turn out to be super embarrassing later on. This thread is a good lesson for all knee jerkers.

Said it, this was stuff capable of happening only in dreams.

Pakistan have beaten the best team of the tournament and have gained serious confidence, let's see how many matches we lose, I am sure they won't be many and possibly none.

I follow a general rule of thumb. After a drastic result i dont post much, keep patience and therefore save myself from knee jerk reactions that usually turn out to be super embarrassing later on. This thread is a good lesson for all knee jerkers.

You weren't a fan of Wahab being brought back, do you feel you might have been a bit harsh in hindsight?

I was one of the naysayers, and I'm ecstatic to say that Wahab's passion was through the roof throughout that final spell. Absolutely loved it. Reminded us a bit about the 90s, albeit with less skill level.

His attitude today was the perfect represenation of Akhtar's words "Larr Jao"

I might have been harsh but im still holding on my opinion being wrong/right considering Wahab still leaked runs today and in the match against WI.

But yes, i would agree that he was crucial for today's victory and if he consistently shows good performance i would happily eat a big serving of humble pie.

I might have been harsh but im still holding on my opinion being wrong/right considering Wahab still leaked runs today and in the match against WI.

But yes, i would agree that he was crucial for today's victory and if he consistently shows good performance i would happily eat a big serving of humble pie.

On flat wickets in the death he is the go to man. On green wickets you dont even need to play him, Shaheen can use the conditions better.

Same here .

This is clearly a jinx thread lol Even the pessimistic Pak fan would not think they would lose all 9. He went to the extreme. It has worked lol

Fair enough. I always maintained that Wahab is not necessarily a good bowler, but he has the heart of a champ, and big match temperament is a crucial ingredient when it comes to world cup tournament.

On topic, I won't get carried away about this team winning anything, but they can at least show they are to be taken seriously by everyone, a few days ago that didn't look to be the case.

This is clearly a jinx thread lol Even the pessimistic Pak fan would not think they would lose all 9. He went to the extreme. It has worked lol

yes, team's results are decided based on match threads - spoken like a true indian, no wonder you lot have been creating jinx threads even before the WC started.

Fair enough. I always maintained that Wahab is not necessarily a good bowler, but he has the heart of a champ, and big match temperament is a crucial ingredient when it comes to world cup tournament.

On topic, I won't get carried away about this team winning anything, but they can at least show they are to be taken seriously by everyone, a few days ago that didn't look to be the case.

I am in agreement with whatever you say. Let's hope this win gives the boys the necessary confidence to do something substantial this WC.

Posts like this is why I stayed away until this game was done...

So much wrist-slitting...it's cringeworthy...I think the worst of these reactionary posts was the one about who should we drop after the World Cup...and this after the completion of one game...well it made me chuckle...

0-9 cos of one defeat...evidently someone who hasn't watched Pakistan play in previous tournaments...not saying this is our best team...but talk about hyperbole in overdrive...

There are some really good posters in this section...but then you get drivel like this...

No doubt next time Hafeez fails in an inning then there will be 'the drop Hafeez' thread...

Next time a bowler fails...then lets bring in Gohar, Rauf etc...

What I did find particularly amusing is the calling for Wahab and then when he was recalled the 'why did we call up Wahab' after one game...

It would truly be hilarious if some posters were selectors...a new 11 every game :) ...

Let's keep the momentum going. Today's match should be over launching pad. Aim for the stars... aim for the trophy brothers.

yes, team's results are decided based on match threads - spoken like a true indian, no wonder you lot have been creating jinx threads even before the WC started.

Which lot you are talking about. Most of the comical negative threads are from Pak fans. I find it hard to believe that they actually believe what they say in their thread.