As an Indian supporter, I never thought I would ever see these fast bowling stats

Aus in India in the last 20 years, which includes great Aus team run as well.

Aus did not win any test after losing a toss.

Aus did win 4 test and all of them came after winning the toss.

Clearly, winning toss plays a huge part in result if other teams can play well in certain conditions. It's an overlooked factor by many.

Any team that claims to be the best in the world will win against the odds. For all the hype from Ind fans, they are not the best in the world even with all the talent at their disposal.

Then who is the best?

There has to be a best. And best means, better than the rest. The degree of how much better one team is does not matter.

Well the best team doesn't lose 4-1 to any team, whether home or away.

The best team simply means that they are better than others. You can lose 4-1 and still can be the best if others are below you in performance. It's a simple concept. The best doesn't mean that they will at ATG Aus or WI or even SA level.

Well the best team doesn't lose 4-1 to any team, whether home or away.

Eng lost 4-0 in India and Aus. Aus lost 3-0 in SL and similarly in SA. SA lost 3-0 in India. Unless you think Pak is the best, there has to be a best from any of the above teams. And logically it should be India.

We will get the ICC mace for the 3rd consecutive year for being no.1 in ICC test ranking. That is no mean feat.

We destroyed opposition at home for fun in 2016 and 2017.

India passed the overseas cycle test by winning tests in SA, Eng and Aus and even after playing 11 overseas test in 2018, India is still no. 1 and no team could dethrone us.

We are not perfect. We still made mistakes. We let pass the golden opportunity to win both in Eng and SA.

But we are better than any other team for past 3 years in test cricket. We made history.

If we have next 2 year as home cycle then we will continue to be at top for 2 more year at least until the next overseas cycle.

Eng lost 4-0 in India and Aus. Aus lost 3-0 in SL and similarly in SA. SA lost 3-0 in India. Unless you think Pak is the best, there has to be a best from any of the above teams. And logically it should be India.

Well if they lose 4-0,they are not the best. There are many teams competing for the best team accolade but in reality they are all pretty average.

Even If all teams are crap, there still has to be a best among them. That is India for me.

here is the list of most wkts in a year for all teams ... quite surprising to see Pakistan so low in that list.

WI(237 - 1984) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=wickets;team=4;template=results;type=bowling

11,735/237 = 49.51

SA(228 - 1998 ) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=wickets;team=3;template=results;type=bowling

12,619/228 = 55.34

ENG(197 - 2005 ) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...pby=year;team=1;template=results;type=bowling

9,877/197 = 50.13

AUS(189 - 1981 ) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=wickets;team=2;template=results;type=bowling

9,609/189 = 50.84

IND(177 - 2018) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=wickets;team=6;template=results;type=bowling

8,509/179 = 47.54

NZ(142 - 2013 ) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=wickets;team=5;template=results;type=bowling

8,542/142 = 60.15

PAK(128 - 1995) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=wickets;team=7;template=results;type=bowling

7,525/128 = 58.79

SL(103 - 2015 ) - Link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...pby=year;team=8;template=results;type=bowling

5,951/103 = 57.7

India 2018 is quite a bit ahead of WI 1984 in terms of S/R. Basically WI bowled 37.9% more balls than India, but got only 32.4% more wickets.

This team is now at 26 months consecutive at #1.

If they can get to 48 months plus, then they can genuinely be called a great team.

India 2018 is quite a bit ahead of WI 1984 in terms of S/R. Basically WI bowled 37.9% more balls than India, but got only 32.4% more wickets.

Good spot that. And most importantly they didnt have quality spinners like India have that could eat into the tally of wkts which is always limited to max 20 per test.

PS: watching re-play of Day3 on Willow ... the best day of Test cricket for Indian fast bowling by far.

As I have said Very good teams win when they are faced with adversity.

Only great teams win overseas after losing toss and good teams win overseas after winning the toss.

Below average teams like Pakistan, win the toss in SA and still lose the match

Only great teams win overseas after losing toss and good teams win overseas after winning the toss.

Below average teams like Pakistan, win the toss in SA and still lose the match

Very good observation and totally agreed. Its the plain truth.

Bro as someone pointed out, even the great Aussie team won 4 matches in India after winning the toss. Is toss really that important or is this a coincidence?

Now i can understand toss being important on a green mamba or dusty spitting cobra, but what about normal pitches?

Or is it simply down to pitch deteoriation on day 4 and 5?

Bro as someone pointed out, even the great Aussie team won 4 matches in India after winning the toss. Is toss really that important or is this a coincidence?

Now i can understand toss being important on a green mamba or dusty spitting cobra, but what about normal pitches?

There are hardly any " normal pitches " these days, one gets " drawn matches " over those normal pitches but look around every other test is getting a result and hence whoever gets the advantage via a toss has a great chance of winning...

Plus almost all teams are close these dats, there is no ATG team around that can buck this trend and win even after losing the toss

Not always true. If your batting is truly world class, and provided the pitch is not a dustbowl or day 5 MCG (like today) any good team can chase 250-300 to win the match. India did against an ATG Aussie team at Adelaide in 2003, Aussies did many times world over during 2000-7

‘Na kabhi dekha, na socha,’ Kapil Dev on Indian fast bowlers

The legendary Kapil Dev on Thursday heaped praise on India’s current pace battery, saying the fast bowlers have changed the face of Indian cricket in the last four-five years.

Asked whether the current pace attack is the best, Kapil said, “Do I have to say that? “Aisa pace attack humne dekha nahi tha, socha bhi nahi tha (we have not seen such a pace attack and never thought about it). So one does not have to say anything and yes without any doubt, in the last four-five years the fast bowlers have changed the face of Indian cricket,” he said.

India currently boast of a lethal pace attack in Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini.

In the absence of Bumrah, who has been ruled out of the ongoing Test series against South Africa due to a stress fracture in his back, Shami stood up and ran through the visiting team’s batting line up in the first match in Visakhapatnam.

“No issues about that (not being in the top 10 bowlers). How effective he (Shami) has been for the team is more important. You have seen him. Great to see him doing well and that’s the bottom line,” Kapil said during a promotional event.

Kapil said it was heartening to see India producing such world-class fast bowlers. “Today it is about their life. I am proud of the quality of Indian fast bowlers. They have come in numbers,” he said.

Kapil credited IPL for providing young pacers a platform to showcase their talent.

“It takes time to develop a pace attack. It feels good to witness the amount of cricket that is being played now. Because of IPL so many fast bowlers have got an opportunity,” he said.

“When you play more cricket, more players will come up. It is important to give youngsters opportunity to show their talent.” The former World Cup-winning skipper also praised India’s bench strength. The former all-rounder said it was pleasing to see Rohit Sharma finally making his mark in Test cricket.

“It is good to see he (Rohit) getting runs,” he said.

Kapil also feels that it should be left to MS Dhoni to take a call on his future in consultation with the national selectors.

“That is his (Dhoni’s) call. How can we say anything about his future? He has to take a call or the selectors have to take a call. He is a such a great cricketer,” he concluded.
https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ast-bowlers/story-Sry9bB9LatxRMmFhlVlR5L.html

26/3

Once again good opening by Indian pacers.

Pink or Red Ball, form continues

All 10 wickets taken by fast bowler

Has India ever achieved this feat on Indian soil? Or Asia?

We will need a fresh influx of pacers in a couple of years, and I hope that all those exciting U19 guys are being groomed to fill the shoes. For now, Bumrah, Shami and Ishant are sensational.

The trio of Ishant v2.0, Shami and Bumrah have ensured that India remain of top in terms of their fast bowling resources across all formats of the game.

We will need a fresh influx of pacers in a couple of years, and I hope that all those exciting U19 guys are being groomed to fill the shoes. For now, Bumrah, Shami and Ishant are sensational.

yes definitely. bumrah is there for another 10 years.

shami maybe 4?
ishant another 4 or 5.

saini is ready to step up.
avesh khan is ready to step up
siraj is ready.

once saini and avesh develop more skills particularly bouncers then I am sure they will be drafted in within a year or so.

Never saw Indian fast bowlers smashing batsmens helmet with vicious bouncers so often as i saw in last 1 year.

3-4 times already this test match.

Now Ishant hits Mithun

Shami has already retired 2

Karsan Ghavri belongs to an era when India were yet to develop fast bowlers, banking primarily on spinners to win matches. At a time when Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Erapalli Prasanna, Bishan Singh Bedi and S Venkataraghavan were ruling world cricket, spinning out match-winning spells for India between 1950 and 1970, Ghavri, a nippy left-arm quick, emerged as the first real fast bowler produced by India. Ghavri assisted and shared the new ball with the legendary Kapil Dev when the Haryana Hurricane was a newcomer.

So when Ghavri speaks about something, you listen, especially if it’s about India’s current fast stock. Immensely impressed by what he sees, Ghavri admits that India’s fast bowlers going around the world and dominating batting line-ups is a sight he never imagined he’d see.

“India has the best fast bowling attack in the world, which is extraordinary,” Ghavri told Hindustan Times during an exclusive conversation. “Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar... you cannot go wrong with these guys. They’ve been performing extremely well. To win a Test match, you need to take 20 wickets and due to these bowlers, India have been able to do so regularly and effectively.”

Ghavri is particularly impressed with Bumrah, who he feels in four years since his India debut, has transformed into the best in the world. And it’s hard to argue why. Earlier this year, Bumrah won the Polly Umrigar Award, for being at the forefront of India’s fast bowling contingent’s rise, playing a pivotal role in all three formats. Since making his Test debut in January 2018, Bumrah has played 14 Tests and already taken 68 wickets at an average of 20.33 including five five-wicket hauls. He scalped 21 wickets during the 2018-19 Border-Gavaskar trophy, a series in which India made history by beating Australia on their soil for the first time in 71 years.

In August last year, Bumrah became only the third Indian bowler to pick up a Test hat-trick and picked up 13 wickets as India steamrolled West Indies 2-0. Bumrah has recorded a five-wicket-haul in England, Australia, South Africa and West Indies becoming the first and only Asian bowler to achieve the feat. Ghavri remembers spotting a young Bumrah years ago, and believes his rise is almost second to none.

“In the beginning, when he started playing Ranji Trophy for Gujarat. No one thought he would scale the peak he has because he had this unconventional action like Malinga,” He says. “He’s an extremely different bowler; he is no Dennis Lille or a Michael Holding. He’s worked extremely hard to reach where he has because with that sort of action, for Bumrah to maintain the kind of accuracy he has, is commendable. I never thought a fast bowler could have the kind of variety Bumrah has.”

“Initially, people thought he could only bowl inswingers, but today he can make the ball go away. Besides, he can bowl the best yorkers. He executes it nine out of ten times, which is something I thought I’d never see from an Indian bowler. He’s got a threatening bouncer and at the same time, an excellent slower bouncer. He’s the perfect all-round fast-bowling package.”

That said, Ghavri feels his Saurashtra captain Jaydev Unadkat could be a valuable addition in the list. After Ashish Nehra, Irfan Pathan and Zaheer Khan retired, India have been on the lookout for a potent left-arm pacer. Khaleel Ahmed was given a go in 2018, but his expensive returns have pushed him out of contention. Ghavri feels Unadkat, who made his India debut in 2010, should be tried at least once more – given his record haul of 65 wickets in the 2019-20 Ranji Trophy.

“Age might be a factor in his selection but I think Jaydev Unadkat deserves a shot. He’s been quite consistent in the last few years. The way he bowled last season, each and every game he was among the wickets. I feel he should be given one more chance, if not in Test cricket then definitely in ODIs and T20Is,” Ghavri says.

Having played most of his cricket in an era dominated by spinners, Ghavri reckons the process of India becoming a fast bowling powerhouse that it is today could be traced back to the late 1970s, when the Indian captaincy was given to Sunil Gavaskar, a move that he believes opened gates for fast bowlers.

“Traditionally, we’ve had a great history of spin bowling in the 60s and 70s. The fast bowlers never had much scope, because the four spinners we had (Chandrasekhar, Prasanna, Bedi, Venkataraghavan) were best in the world against all the teams,” Ghavri explains.

“Slowly and steadily, the trend started to change. When Sunil Gavaskar became captain of the Indian team, fast bowlers such as myself, Kapil Dev, Madan Lal, started getting more opportunities. There onward, we had some good allrounders, and even though we lacked a genuine fast bowler, our medium-pacers were accurate - Balwinder Sandhu, Roger Binny, Mohinder Amarnath. Once we won the 1983 world cup, India never looked back.”

Reflecting upon his playing days, Ghavri says the 1978 series against West Indies, where he grabbed 27 wickets, remains one of the favourite moments.

“The West Indies team during that particular period, wasn’t a powerhouse. Most of their top players had left to join Kerry Packer for his World Series Cricket. Barring Alvin Kallicharran, their captain, most players were youngsters with not many matches behind them. Many of them were making their debuts and were fairly new to international cricket. But a Test wicket is a Test wicket,” he says.

“From that team, Malcom Marshall emerged. Then there was Sylvester Clarke. Alvin Kallicharran himself was such an amazing batsman. I cherish one particular wicket which was of Kallicharran, whom I dismissed four times in the series, including bowling him after a century he had scored against us in the first Test. That was the best I’ve bowled.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...rsan-ghavri/story-Z1j5UwowmLKjRQFyaJ0ELI.html

k2jvu4v5pw621.jpg

After the pic was taken, India has already reached 2nd place and has a big chance of going to first place in 2nd innings of this test
It really is no big deal.

It’s because they played 11 Tests that year in Australia, England and South Africa.

Of which they won 4 (2 of them against Australia’s reserve batsmen) and lost 7.

Honestly. Big deal!

Former India fast bowler Venkatesh Prasad likes what he sees of the current Indian pace attack, calling it the best in the world. However, Prasad, who along with Javagal Srinath, formed one of India’s most successful fast bowling pairs, feels unlike today, India’s fast bowling contingent did not have a camaraderie between the year 2000 and 2015.

“The present set of fast bowling is one of the best in the world. With (Jasprit) Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, and a couple of other guys as well. The current Indian bowling attack under Virat is amazing, talented, and best in the world,” Prasad told Times of India.

“Zaheer Khan was the one guy who was extremely successful. But he didn’t have good partners. They came and went. Ashish Nehra was there for some time, Ajit Agarkar continued for a while, then there was RP Singh who came in, Praveen Kumar was there.”

However, unlike the early and 2000s, when there was a burst of left-arm seamers playing for India, the current attack does not have anyone potent. The likes of Khaleel Ahmed and Jaydev Unadkat have been tried in the last couple of years but neither could solidify his place in any of the formats. That said, Prasad warned against the temptation of bringing in a left-armer just to have that variation in the bowling attack.

“Look, just because you want to have a variation in fast bowling doesn’t mean that you bring in some left-arm seamer. They have to be good in their skills and in executing their skills, like Zaheer Khan, RP Singh and Ashish Nehra,” he said.

“If you don’t have, means you don’t have. If you have got somebody, for example Khaleel Ahmed, because he’s a left-armer, you’ve got to encourage a youngster like him, of course; but just to have a variation in your bowling attack doesn’t mean that you bring in a left-arm pacer even if the skill is not up to the international standard. So those are the things one has to keep in mind.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...umesh-yadav/story-8QEC7kZjT9UJw0jazLYPsO.html

Mohammad Shami is the Malcolm Marshal of this group

Ishant Sharma Big Joel Garner

Jasprit Bumrah has no comparison. He's a freak of nature (no offense or racism intended)

It really is no big deal.

It’s because they played 11 Tests that year in Australia, England and South Africa.

Of which they won 4 (2 of them against Australia’s reserve batsmen) and lost 7.

Honestly. Big deal!

lol it is a massive deal. Pakistan bowlers would never such feats.

Infact, had india played more games at home, the figures would actually be even better. So this is actually an amazing achievement.

lol it is a massive deal. Pakistan bowlers would never such feats.

Infact, had india played more games at home, the figures would actually be even better. So this is actually an amazing achievement.
Pakistan bowlers did a lot better than this a long time ago.

It's tricky to the point of impossible to find a year for Pakistan as favourable for fast bowling as 2018 was for India, who had 10 Tests in English, Australian and South African conditions plus one home Test......against Afghanistan.

But if you look at the 10 Tests that Pakistan played in series which began or ended in 1993, you can compare the figures directly:

Jasprit Bumrah: 48 wickets in 9 Tests at 21.02
Mohammad Shami: 49 wickets in 12 Tests at 26.12
Ishant Sharma: 41 wickets in 11 Tests at 21.68
Wasim Akram: 53 wickets in 10 Tests at 20.81
Waqar Younis: 73 wickets in 10 Tests at 17.07

It's decent progress for India, and they did well against an Aussie team without Smith and Warner.

But they are hardly in the class of Wasim and Waqar. Not even close!

Pakistan bowlers did a lot better than this a long time ago.

It's tricky to the point of impossible to find a year for Pakistan as favourable for fast bowling as 2018 was for India, who had 10 Tests in English, Australian and South African conditions plus one home Test......against Afghanistan.

But if you look at the 10 Tests that Pakistan played in series which began or ended in 1993, you can compare the figures directly:

Jasprit Bumrah: 48 wickets in 9 Tests at 21.02
Mohammad Shami: 49 wickets in 12 Tests at 26.12
Ishant Sharma: 41 wickets in 11 Tests at 21.68
Wasim Akram: 53 wickets in 10 Tests at 20.81
Waqar Younis: 73 wickets in 10 Tests at 17.07

It's decent progress for India, and they did well against an Aussie team without Smith and Warner.

But they are hardly in the class of Wasim and Waqar. Not even close!

waqar took wickets vs fodders. Absolute cans. So no.

India is actually better in home conditions. So the figures would favour india even more had they played those test series' in india.

waqar took wickets vs fodders. Absolute cans. So no.

India is actually better in home conditions. So the figures would favour india even more had they played those test series' in india.

All your dellusions will come to an end if you see stats of indians bowlers vs top batsmen of this era

same can be said about it so called greats vs the batsmen who dominated in their era buddy.

There are only 2 GOAT tier bowlers and that's mcgrath and Marshall. They are They only two bowlers with no known weaknesses. Even then sacchhu bhai averaged 45 vs mcgrath.

One of the biggest reasons for India’s dominance in Test cricket over the past four years has been the performance of its fast bowlers. Virat Kohli’s aggressive policy of going with five bowlers ever since taking over as Test captain in 2015 has reaped rich rewards for the team. The fast bowlers too have risen to the occasion and have performed at their best in all conditions. Even when India has lost away from home, it has been because the bowlers were not backed by a strong batting performance.

Former India captain Rahul Dravid was asked about his views on India’s pace battery during his live chat on Sony Ten Pit Stop. Dravid said that India has in the past had good pacers but never had the kind of depth in their fast bowling cupboard as they have now.

“As a collection of fast bowlers I think this is the best fast bowling attack we have had. We have got great fast bowlers like Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan.

“But as a group and in fact even outside the main group, the likes of Navdeep Saini, Siraj, Shardul Thakur have been doing well at the A team level. What’s different is that you don’t have to worry about which three bowlers you will put in the park. They are all doing well,” the former India Test number 3 said.

Also read: Virat Kohli can be the best after Sir Don Bradman: Sri Lankan great’s bold praise for India captain

Dravid said that the Indian team today has fast bowlers who are all different from each other and that makes them a potent combination.

“India has developed depth in fast bowling and they are all peaking right now. Also they are all different. Bumrah with his angle, Ishant has height, Shami is skiddy and swings the ball more, Umesh is slingy so they are all unique in their own way,” Dravid said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ling-attack/story-xryygW6bmzFCtsPBj0GPvL.html

Virat Kohli is lousy captain but to his credit he backed genuine pace bowlers & results are there to be seen

Dhoni always had special affection for trundlers - Praveen Kumar , Vinay Kumar , Mohit Sharma

It's a decent improvement for us. But we are still looking for our first true ATG fast bowler. The best we have produced till now are Bumrah, Kapil, Shami, Zaheer and Srinath.

How Are India's Pacers Able to Bowl 140 Kmph Consistently? Bharath Arun Reveals

Workload management is the reason India's pacers are able to bowl at speeds more than 140 kmph consistently

Workload management is the reason India's pacers are able to bowl at speeds more than 140 kmph consistently, bowling coach Bharath Arun has said.

Arun said the support staff constantly track the bowlers' movements on the field during match days using a GPS tracker, which helps them decide the workload at training sessions. The likes of Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav have shown tremendous consistency and pace in the last two years, and Arun explained the reason for the success.

"When we talk about workload management, we are looking at the number of overs a bowler has bowled. But then a bowler can over-exert himself in a game and that is not under your control. So we use the GPS tracker to monitor all his movements on the field," Arun said on episode three of Inside Out, a show hosted by India women coach WV Raman.

"For example, a bowler runs around 20 km on the field. And the tracker gives us a lot of data and information about the bowler concerned. By analysing those data, you can manage the workload at training sessions. Basically, you need to find the right balance. And the Indian bowlers have managed to do that so far.

"This is the reason why we are successful as a bowling unit and the bowlers can bowl at 140 kmph regularly."

Earlier in the month, Arun had said it would take at least six-eight weeks for pacers to be ready to play an international match.

"It'd take us at least 6-8 weeks for us to play international matches, whereby we'd be first working on the skill, and fitness in the camps and then we'll progress onto match simulations, and hopefully the BCCI can organise a tournament just before we play the international matches, that would be great for us," he told Fancode.

"I'm not worried about the bowlers because they've had ample time in the last 2 months, to work on strength and their fitness. Very rarely does an international cricketer, especially our bowlers, would get this kind of time to work on their fitness. Also, it is a wonderful opportunity for them to get over the little niggles, that they may have got over the long season."

Link: https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/...onsistently-bharath-arun-reveals-2673617.html

He has been a top coach for India. Workload management and using technology to monitor that is something Pak's domestic and international coaches can adapt as well if they arent already especially now with our new gen bowlers.

Its good to have fitness tests to select someone but its equally important to have data and criteria when someone shouldnt be selected and instead rested to get optimal performances on the field.

Fast bowlers showing their class once again in WTC final.

Turning things around like champs.

This is well deserved after years of ridicule. Hard work and a will to change the perception.
It is Pakistan now who are producing pace bowlers that matched the fast bowlers of India over a decade ago

India choose to work hard, Pakistan choose to eat parathas and biriyani. #sabaash chalo beta #Sarfraz