As Pakistan election looms, Imran Khan is on the verge of his greatest victory : Mike Atherton

Mian

In Kotli, a city in Kashmir under the shadow of the Himalayas, Imran Khan walked to the front of the stage. The 20,000-strong crowd had already surged forward as one, crushing the wooden fence before them, shouting “Imran Khan, Zindabad!”— “Long Live Imran Khan!” Imran stood there looking out over the multitude, right arm raised in defiance, red and green silk ribbons on his wrist, set against his black shalwar kameez fluttering in the breeze. It was an arresting image of a proud, strong and determined man.

That was a scene witnessed during a week spent on the road, as Imran began the long campaign leading to next week’s general election. I followed him to Kashmir and the tribal heartlands of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, watching him drum up support for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the political party he founded 22 years ago. Now that fervour could be about to make Pakistan’s former cricket captain its new prime minister.

Elements of his story are very well known. We remember the great all-rounder, the playboy, the marriage to Jemima Goldsmith and the triumphant captain, who lifted the World Cup against England on a balmy night in Melbourne 26 years ago. Unlike many great sportsmen, though, he has put the past completely behind him, devoting himself initially to a philanthropic drive to set up a cancer hospital in memory of his mother, and then to a long struggle in the political wilderness.

He will discover next week whether his moment has come at last. His populist, nationalist and anti-corruption message — a Pakistan version of draining the swamp — attracts a disparate, and many feel irreconcilable, army of voters, appealing to young, urban Pakistanis as well as religious conservatives. The message is of its time, mirroring the rise of many current outsider politicians.

The most recent polls suggest a tight contest between Imran’s party and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), which has been destabilised by the ousting of the former prime minister Nawaz Sharif on corruption charges after the publication of the Panama Papers and pressure from the military and judiciary combined. Recently Sharif, his daughter and son-in-law were given jail sentences, a vindication of Imran’s anti-corruption message. Imran has never been closer to the political power he craves.

Not many great sportsmen are successful in their second lives, especially in politics where the need to compromise goes against a sportsman’s natural, individualist tendencies. Imran was no ordinary sportsman, though. As well as being a great all-rounder, he was a charismatic leader who inspired fierce loyalty. Great sport requires an absolute dedication, which means that many struggle to adapt to an existence beyond it, but for Imran the key was shutting the door firmly on his life in cricket and moving on.

“My philosophy of life is never to look back. I never have nostalgia. The day I left cricket it was over for me. I believe that if you look back, you can’t move forward. My life now is far more interesting than it was in the past, that’s why I don’t remember it,” he said, when I pressed him to reflect on his playboy days in county cricket. Nevertheless, you cannot understand Imran without looking back: to his Pashtun bloodlines, to his upbringing in Lahore, and to his life as a leader in cricket.

The house where he now lives, a villa in 40 acres in the hills above Islamabad, reeks of masculinity and is filled with reminders of his Pashtun heritage. The atmosphere is also one of quiet contemplation, with tropical-like gardens surrounding the property, providing seclusion and privacy away from the bustle of city life and daily politics. The villa is only really visible from the air.

Three old hunting rifles lined the fireplace. There were pictures of him hunting with northern tribesmen and there was a huge jagged-edged, curved ceremonial dagger from supporters in Waziristan. There was little cricket memorabilia other than a framed picture of him in full flow as a bowler — an inscribed gift — and a black and white photograph of a team from the 1930s in Jullundur, the family’s ancestral home, with 11 players named Khan, all relatives, including Jahangir, who played for India and fathered Majid, the great Pakistan batsman who was Imran’s uncle.

These Pashtun tribal bloodlines are the key to understanding Imran’s character. His father’s family, the Niazi clan, were Pashtun, as were his mother’s, the Burkis. Pride, integrity, honour, independence and revenge, if necessary, are deeply ingrained.

“Yes, honour and pride, and secondly this idea of revenge which is also upholding your pride and your honour. So it’s actually in the code of honour of Pashtuns and even though our families had settled in India, they still lived the Pashtun way.” His father was a patriot with a strong work ethic, but Imran’s sporting genes came from his mother’s side, which produced countless first-class cricketers and three captains
of Pakistan.

Imran was born just five years after independence and in the same month that Pakistan became a Test-playing nation. “I remember growing up with this great feeling of optimism. My mother used to tell me, ‘you don’t know what it’s like not to be born in a free country. We grew up in a colonial India.’ So we were constantly reminded of this. Any little achievement that happened, the whole country took pride in. For instance, we won our first Test match in England and it was the sense of pride, a country looking for its identity.

“Economically, it was one of the fastest growing countries in the third world. There was a book written in the mid-Sixties by a Swedish Nobel prize winner, Gunnar Myrdal. He made out that Pakistan could become the California of Asia. Our universities were international standard and our hospitals were good. So yes, we had this real feeling of confidence, until things started going wrong in the Seventies and Eighties.”

As the country turned inwards, the fortunes of the cricket team improved under Imran. Three moments could sum up his leadership qualities. First, he dropped Majid Khan, his cousin and hero, in one of his early Tests in charge, sending a message that patronage would play no part in selection, only merit. Second, he declared on Javed Miandad in a Test match in 1983, when the batsman was 20 runs shy of a triple hundred, showing that the team and the not the individual was paramount. Third was his uncompromising message on the eve of a final in Sharjah when he was told that the bookies were active. He warned his players that any underperformance would see them not only banished from the team, but also jailed.

He is still regarded as the finest captain of Pakistan, someone who was born to lead. “I can’t say whether leaders are born or made but I do think that some people do well under responsibility, while others collapse. A leader should be able to take pressure, because when the chips are down the team looks at the leader. Cricket is the only sport that needs such leadership, as in other sports the coach is the main thing. In cricket, a coach can never replace a captain.

“Integrity is important. You don’t get respect from your team if they don’t trust you. Passion is what really lifts you above the others. Two people with equivalent talent, the one with passion will go higher than the other one, because passion makes hard work easy. And courage: the ability to withstand pressure, to take big decisions.”

The team looked to him at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on March 25, 1992, and standing on the podium afterwards with the World Cup in his hands represented the high point of a great career. His speech that night, when he dedicated his winnings to the cancer hospital that would carry his mother’s name, gave a clue that his post-playing career would be anything but typical.

It was during the process of fundraising in the years following his mother’s death in 1985 that his political ambitions and spiritual awareness were aroused. He discovered the disadvantages in healthcare treatment for ordinary Pakistanis, the endemic corruption in public life, and the unwillingness of the elite to donate to his cause.

“I thought of all these rich people I knew, the school I went to, the elite of Pakistan, and I got no response from them. In the end, I was forced to go to the streets, and I did a six-week campaign in the bazaars with a box collecting money and it was the common people who helped me.

“I think a crisis in your life leads to going inside yourself, soul-searching as they call it. I was going from success to success, and suddenly had this big crisis, because I was very close to my mother, and it was seeing the pain she suffered in the last six weeks of her existence. It was this feeling of helplessness, that was the idea behind the hospital.”

The achievement of the Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital and Research Centre, which opened in 1994, and his subsequent political journey, give an insight into a side of Imran’s character that has not always been appreciated. As a result of his upbringing in the plush surrounds of Zaman Park, his attending Aitchison College, the Eton of Pakistan, and his time in county cricket when he became tabloid fodder in Tramp nightclub with a host of high society girlfriends, the image painted of him in England was of a rich dilettante.

The resilience required of a top-class sportsman was ignored. Since his playing days, it is this characteristic that has been to the fore. Nineteen of the 20 leading doctors he gathered in Lahore to discuss the proposals for his hospital said he couldn’t do it. After it was built, they said it couldn’t offer free healthcare. More than two decades on, it remains the foremost cancer hospital and research centre in Pakistan, welcoming 11,000 new cancer patients in 2015, three-quarters of whom received free treatment. It is a remarkable institution and a testament to Imran’s vision, leadership and perseverance.

Politics was harder still. With limited funds and little organisation, he aimed to break what was essentially a two-party system, and he was dismissed as a joker for a long time. Elections came and went, as did military and civilian governments, and Imran struggled on, his party’s sole representative in parliament after winning the seat of Mianwali in 2002. The war on terror, and the misery that resulted, meant Imran’s anti-American and anti-corruption rhetoric finally began to be heard.

The turning point came on October 30, 2011, when more than 100,000 people turned up to an election rally in Lahore. Two years later, in an election he claimed was deeply rigged, his party returned 35 seats, polled over seven million votes and landed a governing coalition role in the northerly province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. After years of struggle and ridicule, the perseverance had begun to pay off: Imran the politician had arrived.

His greatest triumph now is that when he is on the road, his supporters see a politician bringing hope rather than a World Cup-winning captain living off past achievements. His political movement has been a bottom-up effort, helped by social rather than traditional media: his party has three and a half million followers on Twitter (Imran’s personal account has more than twice as many), and close to six million on Facebook.

I don’t know whether he will win this time or whether a PTI victory would be good for Pakistan. Since I spent time with him in 2016, concerns have been expressed that he has become too close to the military establishment (“I will carry the army with me,” he has said) and that he has compromised his values by courting the support of the influential dynastic families, who carry votes with them almost along feudal lines. Nor has he spoken out against the recent crackdown on dissent and on the freedom of the press. There is a worry that the disparate factions of his support base, the young, urban Pakistanis and religious conservatives, will be impossible to reconcile if he wins power.

Nevertheless, given the literacy rates (only 58 per cent), the fact that a third of the population live below the poverty line, and the $30 billion trade deficit, it is hard to see how things could get much worse. One thing is certain: a man close to power in one of the world’s most strategically important and fragile countries cannot be ignored.

In any case, my interest is in observing something that you rarely see in former sportsmen: someone who is totally engaged and committed to a new life. I asked how long he would continue: “A mission has no time frame. It’s a struggle and actually there is a lot of satisfaction in the struggle. In cricketing terms, you struggle, you train, you work hard and then you win a tournament, you know, there’s a special feeling of satisfaction. Similarly, when I saw these crowds after 15 years of struggle, it gave me the greatest satisfaction.”

With political ambition comes danger, too. Up on the border with Afghanistan I had cause to wonder about our safety; did he? “My children not being with me has been probably my greatest pain, but at the same time it has liberated me from fear, because I basically don’t care. There are so many different ways of dying. Years ago I sat in the cancer hospital when it opened and I saw healthy people, three of my friends, walk in, six months later they were gone, so I think I’ve lost the fear of dying.”

A final image comes to mind. Hours before his speech in Kotli, I had turned up to his villa in the early morning and had to sit and wait while he rehearsed his speech. As the morning sun warmed the air, up and down the garden he marched, repeating his lines as he went. He still looked in magnificent shape and, while he has long put his sporting career behind him, it was impossible not to still see some of the characteristics — the physical prowess and the determination — that made him such a great cricketer.

After he had finished his rehearsal, he suggested that total belief, a characteristic common to every great sportsman, remains. “In anything you do in life, you have to believe that you’re going to win. You can’t think, what if I don’t win? My mind doesn’t work that way, I believe I’m going to win and it’s a matter of time. One day I’m going to win.”

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/...?shareToken=5f4cf309f5107fd4814134e88c9d6389#

As Pakistan election looms, Imran Khan is on the verge of his greatest victory......greatest victory by compromising his manifesto and throwing his ideology for a toss.

This is not called a victory. It is using any means necessary to come into power. His legacy is of a man who challenged the status quo but failed, and thus decided to become part of the status quo.

He has failed as a leader and as a visionary - he is a shell of a man he once was.

From 1996 to 2013, he fought for change, he fought for revolution and he fought for the people. Today, he is fighting for power and glory.

As Pakistan election looms, Imran Khan is on the verge of his greatest victory......greatest victory by compromising his manifesto and throwing his ideology for a toss.

This is not called a victory. It is using any means necessary to come into power. His legacy is of a man who challenged the status quo but failed, and thus decided to become part of the status quo.

He has failed as a leader and as a visionary - he is a shell of a man he once was.

From 1996 to 2013, he fought for change, he fought for revolution and he fought for the people. Today, he is fighting for power and glory.

Because in 2013 he learned his lesson this nation loves TTFs in govt offices just like PCB love them in our team.

He is hired by the GHQ. Roping him in for the saazish remains their greatest achievement yet.

Imran is using his Goldsmith connection to get these articles written and published by UK media :yk

Because in 2013 he learned his lesson this nation loves TTFs in govt offices just like PCB love them in our team.

A true leader never compromises on his ideology. They spend their entire lives fighting for what they believe in, but our savior gave up one after one setback.

What a great leader indeed. Now the excuse is that once he comes into power, he will ensure that these crooks that he has gathered would work for the betterment of Pakistan, because if the leader is honest, everything falls in place.

Whose to say that he won’t settle for further compromises? How do we know that this is it?

Five years ago, his supporters claimed that he will never welcome crooks and TTFs in his party, but now, his supporters are clutching at straws to defend his decision to walk back on his manifesto.

This is only the start of his u-turns and compromises, wait till he comes into power. I hope you will be prepared to defend him at every step.

A true leader never compromises on his ideology. They spend their entire lives fighting for what they believe in, but our savior gave up one after one setback.

What a great leader indeed. Now the excuse is that once he comes into power, he will ensure that these crooks that he has gathered would work for the betterment of Pakistan, because if the leader is honest, everything falls in place.

Whose to say that he won’t settle for further compromises? How do we know that this is it?

Five years ago, his supporters claimed that he will never welcome crooks and TTFs in his party, but now, his supporters are clutching at straws to defend his decision to walk back on his manifesto.

This is only the start of his u-turns and compromises, wait till he comes into power. I hope you will be prepared to defend him at every step.

Not really i am not like you to defend every act of ruling class. I bashed PTI and IK blunders even when they were in opposition and i will do it more if they come into power. I hated it and my dislike is well documented here when ALH joined PTI and on other issues too but you never criticized PMLN givings tickets to murderers like Abid Raza or rapists like that family of Faisalabad.

Is Athers on the ISI payroll?

^^Lolz, some might go into chronic depression when, Insha'Allah, Imran becomes PM.

IK is a winner. Losers always hate winners. That's how it is. Ying to da yang.

You trott out very confused lines. You keep telling us that you are angry with IK for compromising his principles on the corrupt and letting in "criminals" but you support a party with the criminal ex PM who is behind bars, you support his daughter who not only hid assets but forged documents she submitted to the SC and is behind bars, you support a party that has its candidate for PM a guy that stole 400crore from the poorest people needing clean water, you support a party with Rana the Qatil who helped to kill 14 people in broad daylight. As i said you are a confused individual who lies so much these days that you have no moral compass and is humiliated on any topic you comment on.

When Imran Khan did not bring some of these TTFs into his party frauds like Mamoon used to say how he is very naive. Seems like he can't win either way.

You trott out very confused lines. You keep telling us that you are angry with IK for compromising his principles on the corrupt and letting in "criminals" but you support a party with the criminal ex PM who is behind bars, you support his daughter who not only hid assets but forged documents she submitted to the SC and is behind bars, you support a party that has its candidate for PM a guy that stole 400crore from the poorest people needing clean water, you support a party with Rana the Qatil who helped to kill 14 people in broad daylight. As i said you are a confused individual who lies so much these days that you have no moral compass and is humiliated on any topic you comment on.

I don't support PML-N and neither do I defend their corruption. As I have stated many times before, I will side with anyone who is anti-establishment/anti-military. Pakistan's biggest problem is not corruption, every party is corrupt. Pakistan's biggest problem is military supremacy, and even the apex court in the country is dancing to their tunes.

Nothing will change as long as civil institutions are weak. Imran gave hope to the nation for many years, but he failed to walk the talk and got into bed with the GHQ honchos.

I don't support PML-N and neither do I defend their corruption. As I have stated many times before, I will side with anyone who is anti-establishment/anti-military. Pakistan's biggest problem is not corruption, every party is corrupt. Pakistan's biggest problem is military supremacy, and even the apex court in the country is dancing to their tunes.

Nothing will change as long as civil institutions are weak. Imran gave hope to the nation for many years, but he failed to walk the talk and got into bed with the GHQ honchos.

Nawaz Sharif has a habit of becoming Anti and Pro Establishment and history tells us that, I am certain he will become Pro again and Jump ships. You can bookmark this post for future reference.

When that happens, I will stop supporting him. If Imran takes a u-turn and stops licking military boots, I will support him again.

I see another desperate attempt to pull back. As you are in PK, vote for the mafia, i dare you.

What makes you think that he needs the support of Noora culties like you?

He needs the support of every educated person in the country who is willing to play a part rather than certain folks whose support is limited to their couches somewhere in the UK.

When that happens, I will stop supporting him. If Imran takes a u-turn and stops licking military boots, I will support him again.

Politics is a confusing subject it seems :)

He needs the support of every educated person in the country who is willing to play a part rather than certain folks whose support is limited to their couches somewhere in the UK.

He needs every educated person not Noora culties, who see Maryam as a leader for forging documents.

People like me that give thorough sending foreign currency and investment, which your Nooras then launder back to London.

But you've been supporting him for quite some time now, even when everything was all rosy between NS and the military establishment. This just sounds like a poor attempt at a cop-out tbh.

People like me that give thorough sending foreign currency and investment, which your Nooras then launder back to London.

Yes, Pakistan will become as poor as Congo without your remittance, and that is the reason why you are permanently settled in England. Your goal is to help Pakistan by sending your sterling.

But you've been supporting him for quite some time now, even when everything was all rosy between NS and the military establishment. This just sounds like a poor attempt at a cop-out tbh.

No I haven't. I was more critical of PTI and Imran Khan because of their hypocrisy and double-faced politics. I stopped supporting PTI in 2014 because I did not agree with their dharna politics. However, the tipping point was when Imran Khan welcomed crooks and frauds into the fold, proving that he will go to any length to gain power.

I don't support PML-N for what they stand for; I support them for their anti-establishment stance.

Again contradiction.

Even if its a single reason, you support them.

We are nearing tea on the 5th day now, the end is nigh for the anti-establishment heros. They will remain anti-establishment for many years now but from jails or opposition benches only.

Great write up by Athers btw.

Again contradiction.

Even if its a single reason, you support them.

We are nearing tea on the 5th day now, the end is nigh for the anti-establishment heros. They will remain anti-establishment for many years now but from jails or opposition benches only.

Great write up by Athers btw.

You can call it whatever you want, but there is a difference between supporting an ideology and supporting a stance.

Yes, Pakistan will become as poor as Congo without your remittance, and that is the reason why you are permanently settled in England. Your goal is to help Pakistan by sending your sterling.

It wont but we do our bit. It will certainly become one if your anointed ones keep stealing like they have done.

You can call it whatever you want, but there is a difference between supporting an ideology and supporting a stance.

Do remember when you told us that you switched support because IK was complaining about rigging after the 2013 elections? When you tell one lie, you need to remember all the other ones.

I stopped supporting PTI in 2014 because his actions were undemocratic. I did not agree with the dharnas and how he tried to make the 2013 elections a giant conspiracy against him, even though, PTI members were also guilty of rigging which he swept under the carpet.

I did not support any party until it became clear the military have strategically planned to depose Nawaz Sharif and engage in pre-poll rigging to ensure that their new puppet (Imran) because the PM. Hence, I decided to support PML-N because of their anti-establishment stance.

I stopped supporting PTI in 2014 because his actions were undemocratic. I did not agree with the dharnas and how he tried to make the 2013 elections a giant conspiracy against him, even though, PTI members were also guilty of rigging which he swept under the carpet.

I did not support any party until it became clear the military have strategically planned to depose Nawaz Sharif and engage in pre-poll rigging to ensure that their new puppet (Imran) because the PM. Hence, I decided to support PML-N because of their anti-establishment stance.

Stop making logic on the fly and cut to the chase. You support corrupt politicians because it suits you.

You can support whoever you want but don't give us stupid logic and think it'll stick. This isn't your typical patwari circle where every argument is met with shaair aek vari firr..

Look back at your posts and you had stopped "supporting" them before the dharna. And even on that score IK was right and both the army and Punjab bureaucracy riggged the elections( Zaeem Qadri confirmed it). If i get a chance i will bring up that thread. You are a liar, who joins bandwagons but the only thing consistent is your support of the corrupt Noora family.

Stop making logic on the fly and cut to the chase. You support corrupt politicians because it suits you.

You can support whoever you want but don't give us stupid logic and think it'll stick. This isn't your typical patwari circle where every argument is met with shaair aek vari firr..

Great post, he thinks he can wing it.

I understand where you are coming from about no longer supporting PTI but from where our country is standing economically after 10 years of ppp and pmln. I don't get your support for pmln. I also don't like the direction where PTI and IK have gone but still think he is the best option out of all the bad options. I am afraid that if to many people like you abandon PTI we will probably get a PTI coalition government where Ik makes more compromises to stay in power and Pakistan will go nowhere. If PTI comes to power without other parties support I hope IK is able to wrestle some power away from army and the agencies. Even if he and army want to do the same thing him doing it himself as a elected leader without army involvement is better for Pakistan and democracy. I know I am being too optimistic but hope is all we have left as PTI is the best option but still a bitter pill to swallow.

So rigging elections is fine? If theres injustice, should he not speak up?? How is it undemocratic? He wanted him to resign, thats not undemocratic. Imran wants civil military relations to be positive, and does want either to undermine the either. A leader commands respect, and clearly a weak leader, like NS doesn't get it. And mind you, NS was brought up by the military.

I don't support PML-N for what they stand for; I support them for their anti-establishment stance.

So be a pawn and brought up in the lap of Zia Ul Haq, and now to cover over a billion dollars worth of corruption, speak out against the military. Good logic. Your political posts are as crap as your cricket comments.

Ideology is to make Pakistan a better nation for all, how you get there, is and should not be an issue, especially in a country like Pakistan.

It is not that hard to understand. Stop pretending to not like IK and his politics, since it isn't genuine dislike for the man, it has started to show in your comment's quality.

Ideology is to make Pakistan a better nation for all, how you get there, is and should not be an issue, especially in a country like Pakistan.

It is not that hard to understand. Stop pretending to not like IK and his politics, since it isn't genuine dislike for the man, it has started to show in your comment's quality.

Remember I am emphasizing on the word 'Better', we do not expect him to be messiah unlike you.

Your love for IK is so pure that you can't tolerate any short coming of his, You want him to be perfect but he is a human being, he will make mistake on his journey to become one of the best PM in the history of Pakistan so far.

You need to look at him as human being, not a messiah, he will make mistake.

Love so pure, you want IK to be totally pure in politician

Stop pretending to be naive. This is politics.

Without a single shadow of doubt if PTI pulls off a win here and Imran Khan becomes the Prime Minister of Pakistan it would be a historic feat. In a country where you are either a military man or inherit political power from your family otherwise you have no say in it, to come and conquer it all is something unheard of.

The man has been on this mission for past two decades and the efforts are due their worthy reward. I might hate the fact that he accepted some crooks but I am willing to ignore them for now, since the alternatives are none.

Without a single shadow of doubt if PTI pulls off a win here and Imran Khan becomes the Prime Minister of Pakistan it would be a historic feat. In a country where you are either a military man or inherit political power from your family otherwise you have no say in it, to come and conquer it all is something unheard of.

The man has been on this mission for past two decades and the efforts are due their worthy reward. I might hate the fact that he accepted some crooks but I am willing to ignore them for now, since the alternatives are none.

Bhutto did it already

Well said.

About time, we need an end to this Monarchial setup. Good thing is after Imran, we have Asad Umar who is well equipped to lead and then more young leaders can be groomed, steadily this should help us to remove the roots of Dynastic Politics.

Imran is doing whatever it takes to come into power, yes. But why does he want to come into power? For the betterment of the nation and its 200 million+ population.

He could've not accepted crooks into his party and "stuck true to his manifesto", but how would that help anything? He would've gone down as a greater "leader", with the entire nation struggling under a corrupt leader, as has been the case for years now. What a good leader he would've been, eh. Not to mention the fact that he would've continued to get stick for the same old Nooras for petty reasons.

It's a case of the ends justifying the means.

My PA vote will go to ANP, and my NA vote will go to PML-N.

I'm pretty sure you said a few days ago that you'd support PTI over ANP because anyone is better than ANP.

You're a straight up liar.

Lol. Not his greatest victory...just becoming the PM is not his mission. His mission is to make Pakistan a just and welfare state.

Let’s not get sidetracked by our in-house clown and appreciate a wonderful article highlighting a man who has always proven his critics wrong and achieved what others termed impossible.

Atherton bhai keeping an eye on Pak politics is making me tearful:yk I see Zaid Hamid is totally against PTI and Imran Khan in his belief that their victory will be disastrous for the country. I partly agree that we need a caretaker government for a few years. PTI will not be able to clear up all the corruption when they have many corrupt politicians within their party.

A struggle of over 2 decades comes to its finnal over on wednesday, regardless of the outcome Imran has awoken a nation. He shall truely be remembered in our history as the one who stood up against the tyrants and gangsters for his nation. Hes made mistakens along the way but wow has he done what he promised !

Living legend

A struggle of over 2 decades comes to its finnal over on wednesday, regardless of the outcome Imran has awoken a nation. He shall truely be remembered in our history as the one who stood up against the tyrants and gangsters for his nation. Hes made mistakens along the way but wow has he done what he promised !

Living legend

Absolutely.

Bro feel free to post in the general elections thread at the top. Just two days to go let's get the party started :)

Really want Imran to win to end the utopian myth of Tabdeeli forever.

It stinks and reeks of naivety and hopelessness.

No, you stick to criminals in jail and their families. They are much more saner. And here i was thinking Serfdom had ended. Just for you.

I wont shame you by showing PTI and its party doing such antics as well.

But I do think you are getting off track.

I want Imran to win and you want Imran to win.

We both want the same thing.

Don't understand where the difference lies.

You want Imran to win yet you insult every person who has had enough of the corruption.
Nice!

You want Imran to win yet you insult every person who has had enough of the corruption.
Nice!

If people have their heads in the mud about a supposedly brilliant visionary, it is my duty to show them the light.

If that feels like an insult, I apologize.

I am confused and i am not the only one.

Dr_Bassim
So if i am reading you right, you want him to win the election so that he fails to bring change.

Dr_Bassim
So if i am reading you right, you want him to win the election so that he fails to bring change.

Dear Bewal,

You got almost 80 percent of it right.

I want him to win the election so people can see that he is not the change they thought he is.

Of course, if he somehow performs miracles by changing an extremist and struggling country I would be deeply appreciative of it and excited as well.

But forgive me for not sharing the exciting sentiment of his loyal followers.

I dont WANT him to fail.

I just KNOW he will and in time people will see it to.

Hence the need for his victory.

Dear Bewal,

I want him to win the election so people can see that he is not the change they thought he is.

Of course, if he somehow performs miracles by changing an extremist and struggling country I would be deeply appreciative of it and excited as well.

I dont WANT him to fail.

Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.

Good one.

And just for you my friend

Staring at a weed all day, watering it and keeping it safe from insects and grass and animals will not convert the weed into a flower nor convert the weedhouse into a garden.

Bhutto did it already

Bhutto was the lesser evil between letting a Bengali take control over Pakistan, and more importantly, Punjab, or letting someone who had some differences with the previous Army Chief take over.

Bhutto never won that election anyway, it was only because we refused to give Mujeeb power.

IK will be the first.

Anyway, Imran will iA support Khatum-e-Nabuwat laws and finally take action against those who try to deny it

Good one.

Staring at a weed all day, watering it and keeping it safe from insects and grass and animals will not convert the weed into a flower nor convert the weedhouse into a garden.

Rather than staring at the weed all day, dig it up and plant some flowers.

I'm pretty sure you said a few days ago that you'd support PTI over ANP because anyone is better than ANP.

You're a straight up liar.

I didn't say that. What I said was that I would vote for PTI because anyone is better than MMA, but since PTI have been marginally better than ANP (in spite of the BRT disaster) I would vote for them.

However, after the death of Bilour and keeping in light the fact that no party has suffered more at the hands of terrorism than ANP, I have decided to give them my (sympathy) vote.

[MENTION=147221]slipcatch[/MENTION] [MENTION=145453]asha15[/MENTION]

Sorry for the late reply. I just bumped into this thread - I don't post from my computer, so I don't get to check my notifications.

We need to understand that this is not about corruption anymore; it is a power struggle between establishment and anti-establishment, and after using Nawaz for years, the establishment has found a new puppet in Imran Khan.

If it was about corruption, the Sharif family wouldn't have been the only one in the firing line.

I don't have any issues with Imran Khan. I greatly admire his commitment and what he has achieved in life. It takes an extraordinary man to live the life that he has, but I simply don't but into his Naya Pakistan rhetoric because he has proved to be a weak and temperamental leader, who entered politics for the people, but over time, his desire for power has got the better of him. Today, he is a shell of a man he once was.

In 2013, he was naive because he thought he could bring a revolution with new faces and people will vote for his party. That was his Plan A. However, apart from KP, he got a reality check and his Plan A failed. As a result, he took a u-turn and threw his manifesto into the garbage by welcoming all kinds of filth in his party - he gave tickets to the kind of people that represent everything that PTI stands against, but that is okay because they know the "science of winning elections" (his words).

People are justifying his decision to redefine the term "electables" because they argue that once he comes into power, he will ensure that these crooks and frauds will not revert to their old ways.

This "change of strategy" is his Plan B. However, what will happen if Plan B fails as well? What if he fails to win the election, or what if he wins the election and becomes the PM, but is not able to stop the crooks and frauds from reverting to their old ways? What if he fails in preventing Sheikh Rasheed from being Sheikh Rasheed, Amir Liaquat from being Amir Liaquat, Aleem Khan from being Aleem Khan, Murad Saeed from being Murad Saeed, Firdous Awan from being Firdous Awan, Ch. Farrukh Altaf from being Ch. Farrukh Altaf?

What will happen in that case? Will he go back to Plan A? Or will he pull off a Plan C from the hat?

All this talk of he will ensure that these people change etc. is utter nonsense. We need to understand that politics is a bottom-up process and not a top-down process. Imran Khan can do nothing at the top of the perch when the lower politicians are playing their dirty games, and we have seen that in KP in the last five years.

For years, Imran and PTI criticized PML-N government by stating that you cannot build a country with roads, bridges and metros. That it is indeed true, but these things also require expertise and experience. However, karma has its way, and PTI's attempt at making a metro bus has been a disaster.

Billions and billions of rupees have been wasted, and now NAB is going to investigate it. Who is responsible for this mismanagement and corruption? On October 19, 2017, Pervez Khattak (CM KP) claimed that the metro bus project is a challenge for PTI, and they will complete it within 6 months and within the specified budget.

Here we are 9 months later, and the project is nowhere near completion and the budget has been doubled. Is PTI government not responsible for it? Pervez Khattak is now claiming that PTI has nothing to do with this project, it is all up to the Asian Development Bank.

However, if they would have been successful in completing the project in due time and within the specified budget, PTI would have taken credit for it and now they would have ran tv ads showcasing their successful metro project, and how they have managed to make it for less cost than the Punjab government.

Moreover, in KP House Islamabad, the refreshments bill over the last 3 years is 20 crore rupees. Is this not corruption? It is convenient to call it a propaganda, so why doesn't Pervez Khattak come forward with the actual bill and show the world that they are not guilty?

The only reason why the corruption of the KP government is not being investigated is because they have the backing of the establishment whose interests lie in ensuring that Imran Khan becomes the new PM of Pakistan. A so-called great leader who walked back on his manifesto after one defeat (2013 elections), and has sided with an institution that has never allowed democracy to flourish in Pakistan.

I am not interested in PML-N or any party in particular. I am only interested in a democratic Pakistan where we have strong institutions and the military does not interfere in politics. I would much rather have a corrupt government than a military back government, because military interference has hurt Pakistan more than corruption.

India is a great example. They also have corruption problem, but their democracy is extremely strong because the military has never interfered in their politics.These Sharifs and Zardaris will eventually be filtered out if we keep our faith in democracy. It has been 71 years now and we are still struggling to sustain democracy, and that is the result of the military poking its nose where it does not belong.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], I am much more willing to give Imran Khan a chance and find out for myself how big of a love affair he really has with the military. Rather then sticking with the corrupt and failed joke of politicians just because now they are supposedly anti-establishment. I have listened to a handful of Imran Khan's interviews and he talks sense. Much more than I have ever heard from the likes of Nawaz and Zardari.

If we were to go with the narrative then in past few decades we never had any government which was free of army influence. Even now the supposedly hero of the hour, Nawaz Sharif has gone to jail and yet I have to hear him openly and clearly criticize the army. He prefers to use words like "khalai mahlook" then be a man and directly spill the beans about the army or even say the army is helping Imran.

One of the reasons why I am willing to give Imran a chance is his take on the FATA issue. He has much better understanding of the problem and his solutions for the region are positive.

While with people like Shabaz I don't think they even spend two seconds on urgent matters like rebuilding FATA and regaining the trust of its youth. They are more worried about turning their beloved city into Paris by covering it up with artifical decorational pieces worth billions. No piece of modern meteros buses are going to turn a city into Paris without fulfilling basic humatarian needs first.

More than fighting army influence in politics it is necessary we have leaders who are able to bridge the gap between people. Imran Khan in my eyes is the only one capable of doing it. Since he is the only one who I have heard address issues which are potentially causing differences amongst the population. It is time we had a leader who is concerned about the whole country than someone concerned only with making life better for his family and throwing a bone to his loyal supporters once in a while.

He is the only one amongst our politician with a backbone. It is time to test him out. For years he has been against cooperation with the Americans in their war on terror. Now is the time to test how he will walk the talk and stand against them when asked the USA order us "to do more" and neglect our sacrifices in their war. He has been against drone strikes for years now it's time to test how he will handle such issues.

I am willing to wager Imran Khan and give him the chance to prove himself. He might not be the messiah we would like to believe but at least he is the only one speaking the right words. Other politicians aren't even capable of that.

It is much more likely that Imran Khan might end up fullfiling most of his promises than it is likely that fools like Shabaz come to power and completely get rid of the "hidden states" meddling in the politics. They might be bad mouthing the "establishment" right now but it is obvious as the blue sky they don't have the guts to go all the way and bring down the establishment. If you think they can then you are only fooling yourself.

It is telling how much of a sad state of affairs we have in our country when the most compelling argument in support of Imran Khan is "let's try him out, how bad could he be". Still we can't runaway from reality.

Desperate times require desperate actions. There is no doubt we are in a state of desperation.

Hopefully IK triumphs, but I suspect a hung parliament.

Really want Imran to win to end the utopian myth of Tabdeeli forever.

It stinks and reeks of naivety and hopelessness.

I am very positive.

Just don't share utopian thoughts related to a crazy leader.

If people have their heads in the mud about a supposedly brilliant visionary, it is my duty to show them the light.

If that feels like an insult, I apologize.

Dear Bewal,

I dont WANT him to fail.

Good one.

Arrogance is quite nauseating.

It is one thing to have confidence but this is, i don't even know what this is. This isn't even negativity. It is something else.

Sound like a teenage girl who is always hoping for the worse so she lock herself in room and consume tubs of ice cream in fear of change.