"As representatives of the nation, we must accept that we failed to meet expectations": Mohammad Rizwan

FearlessRoar

Mohammad Rizwan in the post-match presentation:

[Reporter:]

"How disappointed are you that the match was abandoned?"

[Mohammad Rizwan:]

"Naturally, we're very disappointed with the results of the past few weeks. We were hoping to play today and give a strong performance for our fans. We deeply appreciate the high expectations our nation has for us, but we haven't met them, and that's very disappointing."

"Looking ahead, every loss prompts reflection. What are your thoughts on how to move this team forward?"

"We must learn from our mistakes, and we've identified many from the recent tri-series and major events. We'll work on these issues, and hopefully, we can improve during our upcoming tour to New Zealand. We aim to rectify the mistakes we made against them here in Pakistan."

"There's been discussion about team composition, particularly with the injuries to Saim Ayub and Fakhar Zaman. How difficult was it to finalize the playing eleven under those circumstances?"

"When key players who performed well in previous series against Australia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe are suddenly injured, it disrupts the team's balance. As a captain and leader, you have to adapt. We have a deep pool of talent in Pakistan. While injuries are disruptive, we can't use them as an excuse. We had limited time, and losing Fakhar and Saim was a significant setback, but we’ll learn from it."

"Are you satisfied with the depth of the bench, considering the need for replacements during a long season?"

"That's a challenging question. If we look at the Champions Trophy and the top five teams, we need significant improvement across various areas. To compete at the highest level, we need greater awareness and professionalism. We aspire to do well in the Champions Trophy, but we still need to improve, even after this tournament."

"And finally, how are you personally holding up?"

"I'd rather not comment on that."

"No, I understand, but it's been a tough campaign, especially for you as a leader. How difficult has this campaign been for you?"

"Yes, it's been very disappointing. We play for our nation, and Pakistan is our priority. The expectations are high, and when we fail to meet them, we understand the disappointment of our fans, and we share it. But this chapter is closed. We ask our nation to understand that we acknowledge our poor performance. We'll work harder, learn from our mistakes, and strive to perform better in future tournaments."

"It is a tough question, but we have seen some bench strength in the 5-team Champions Cup. If we want to see ourselves among the top teams, we need to improve in various aspects like professionalism, game awareness, etc."

"As representatives of the nation, we must accept that we didn’t meet expectation. They are upset, we are too. InshaAllah we will learn from these mistakes and improve in the next tournaments."

"When a player who has performed in the last 2-3 series in Australia and South Africa, and he gets injured, so the team will get disturbed.

As a leader, you have to look forward, as there are other players in the Pakistan team. This is not an excuse, and we will learn from them."

"You can learn from your mistakes, and we have looked at our mistakes in this tournament and the Tri-Nation series and InshaAllah we will look to work on them. Our next tour is of New Zealand, hopefully, we will perform there since we have made a lot of mistakes against them here."
Come back stronger captain 💪

"It is a tough question, but we have seen some bench strength in the 5-team Champions Cup. If we want to see ourselves among the top teams, we need to improve in various aspects like professionalism, game awareness, etc."

"As representatives of the nation, we must accept that we didn’t meet expectation. They are upset, we are too.
InshaAllah we will learn from these mistakes and improve in the next tournaments."

"When a player who has performed in the last 2-3 series in Australia and South Africa, and he gets injured, so the team will get disturbed.

As a leader, you have to look forward, as there are other players in the Pakistan team. This is not an excuse, and we will learn from them."

"You can learn from your mistakes, and we have looked at our mistakes in this tournament and the Tri-Nation series and InshaAllah we will look to work on them. Our next tour is of New Zealand, hopefully, we will perform there since we have made a lot of mistakes against them here."
oh bhai kitna learn karna hai. @Rana he is still learning, no winning.

"As representatives of the nation, we must accept that we didn’t meet expectation. They are upset, we are too. InshaAllah we will learn from these mistakes and improve in the next tournaments."

3 Learns today!

Once again there is zero acknowledgment of the fact that they are playing sub-standard, pathetic and meek cricket. Neutrals are laying into them, forget just about their own fans.

Rizwan needs to have a good, hard look at himself first then figure out how to move forward and which players he should select. I know we don't have the players England do, but you can atleast have a positive mindset even if you are looking for singles and doubles.

Hopefully they don't select a single player from this pathetic loser team for New Zealand tour.

All of them should be benched for their pathetic performance.

Don't give such a lame excuse, since the beginning of the tournament they have started finding this excuse in Saim's injury and now repeating again. They have created a narrative that Saim is some kind of saviour and only he is capable of winning the games, this is what they did for Fakhar in 2023 WC.

Rizwan just accept the fact that you, Babar, Shaheen, Naseem, Haris are playing nonstop since 7-8 years and these five deserve full blame for this humiliation and must be dropped forever

Imagine hosting the ICC event after 29 years and still ending up with 0 wins. This is Pakistan Cricket Heritage

oh bhai if you don't have game awareness after playing for 10 years of international cricket then lanaat upon you

so the whole team depends on saim then what are you babar imam shaheen rauf and naseem for you might aswell resign and we can play cricket when saim is fit since you 6 have no impact

oh bhai agar 10 saal mein kuch nahi seekha ab kya seekho ge go back to domestic cricket learn and then come back

oh bhai if you don't have game awareness after playing for 10 years of international cricket then lanaat upon you

so the whole team depends on saim then what are you babar imam shaheen rauf and naseem for you might aswell resign and we can play cricket when saim is fit since you 6 have no impact

oh bhai agar 10 saal mein kuch nahi seekha ab kya seekho ge go back to domestic cricket learn and then come back

Exactly, were they relying on a kid to save them?

Rizwan, Babar, Shaheen,Rauf,Naseem bloc needs to be dealt with. If it was up to Rizwan, Shadab would have made a return.

They wait for PSL money every year and internationals is a side gig for them.

We need to start fresh and give the new players 2 years to come good and hope they have professional pride to care more about their performance than just the money.

What a pathetic press conference if these five (Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Naseem and Rauf) are anywhere near the team for next 12 months in any format then I am done with this sport get a new team with a new coach and give them 12 months

@Rana I'm sorry brother. I used to think you had an agenda against Rizwan. But this CT has really opened my eyes.

I've realised you were right all along. "Kaptaan" will come into bat chew up deliveries, have some cramps and do some acting Infront of the sight screen and then look confused after getting bowled out on a straight delivery and stare at the pitch.

@Rana I'm sorry brother. I used to think you had an agenda against Rizwan. But this CT has really opened my eyes.

I've realised you were right all along. "Kaptaan" will come into bat chew up deliveries, have some cramps and do some acting Infront of the sight screen and then look confused after getting bowled out on a straight delivery and stare at the pitch.
agneepath hai yeh Sher khan

Do not let random innings against Sri Lanka or some other teams in bilaterals fool you now. Learn from the mistakes, do not allow them to repeat.

Rizwan need to man up and make strong decisions , this friendship dramas won’t work . 15 captain hai team mein that mentality needs to go and stop calling Babar kaptaana. If Rizwan doesn’t change his attitude he will be shamed again

He should be dropped from white ball team along with his buddy babar

Pakistan captains and their famous lines

Imran Khan: We will rise again
Wasim Akram: Every match is important
Inzamam-ul-Haq: We will fight till the end
Younis Khan: We will play with our hearts
Sarfraz Ahmed: Boys played well
Babar Azam: Jee, definitely
Muhammad Rizwan: We'll learn

Any changes or corrections?

@Rana

"We must learn from our mistakes..."

Yes, but what mistakes? Do you know your mistakes? What did you "learn"?

Sounds like uninspiring empty words to get through the press conference.

"We must learn from our mistakes..."

Yes, but what mistakes? Do you know your mistakes? What did you "learn"?

Sounds like uninspiring empty words to get through the press conference.
Exactly

will Babar and Rizwan start batting at run a ball or close to it in a crunch game against SENAI?

Will Rauf, Shaheen, Naseem start playing 4 day cricket to work on their skills and stamina so they don’t get hammered at death due to being knackered ?

Will the likes of Faheem and Khusdil stop getting selected randomly on BPL performances ?

I don’t think they have intention to do any of the above three so why they be allowed to get away with this

I don't know what Rizwan is talking about... they certainly met my expectations

What a mature statement by Legside...

Well done.

Once again there is zero acknowledgment of the fact that they are playing sub-standard, pathetic and meek cricket. Neutrals are laying into them, forget just about their own fans.

Rizwan needs to have a good, hard look at himself first then figure out how to move forward and which players he should select. I know we don't have the players England do, but you can atleast have a positive mindset even if you are looking for singles and doubles.
Exactly , he has played such slow inns in every single game even when chasing 350 against SA , it was all Agha that day otherwise this maulvi would have buried the inns then there...

With captaincy his slow paced inns has escalated to another level.. Had we known that if he will diverge in such a way , then would have kept Babar as captain forever...

Also he is the one who asked for Khushdil Shah , his peshawari buddy...

please send him out forever, this guy is another trouble in the making who will play the cards as no talent , religion card , learn from mistake , blah blah forever...

Exactly

will Babar and Rizwan start batting at run a ball or close to it in a crunch game against SENAI?

Will Rauf, Shaheen, Naseem start playing 4 day cricket to work on their skills and stamina so they don’t get hammered at death due to being knackered ?

Will the likes of Faheem and Khusdil stop getting selected randomly on BPL performances ?

I don’t think they have intention to do any of the above three so why they be allowed to get away with this
rightly said , discard them and replace them for good... they have reached a saturation point in terms of performance , a kick in their back and a long absence will see them want to improve and play for the green jersey again if they still have the passion for it or else would go playing in league cricket and get rot there.. good for Pak to not waste time with them..

They had a performing Abbas Afridi and Jahandad Khan who did well in Aus and SA series, dropped them for Faheem..

A pool that was available to select a pace bowling allrounder [Abbas Afridi, Aamer Jamal, Jahandad Khan, Wasim Jr] , how come Faheem leap frog them playing his last ODI 2 years ago..

The pool of fast bowlers to add Akif Javed, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mir Hamza , Zaman Khan, Khurram Shehzad, Ali Raza , Zeeshan Zameer and even Hasan ali and so on... Pak can definitely do without these non-performing superstars , they will need to play domestic cricket , improve and earn their place back..

Spin bowling there is a good pool Arafat minhas, Sufyan Muqeem , Faisal Akram , Abrar Ahmed , Sajid khan , noman ali, shadab khan , Usama mir and mohammed Nawaz.

for a spin bowling allrounder Rizwan asked for Khushdil Shah (didnt we see how he dropped Shubman Gill , a sitter even before his fielding was atrocious , i rmb once Imad Wasim was so angry on him for his poor fielding )..

Batting wise - Saim , Fakhar , Abdullah , Haider Ali, Agha , Kamran Ghulam , Hasan Nawaz , Khawaja Nafay, Irfan Niazi, Haris, Umair bin Yusuf, Rohail Nazir, Abdul Samad..

There is a good pool of players to replace the non-performing seniors Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Naseem , Haris rauf

How is he better than Shadab ( better fielder, batsman and bowler , then again Nawaz ( better fielder , batsman and bowler ) or the youngster Arafat Minhas who is also a good fielder..