Asad Umar steps down as Finance Minister

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">As part of a cabinet reshuffle PM desired that I take the energy minister portfolio instead of finance. However, I have obtained his consent to not take any cabinet position. I strongly believe <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> is the best hope for Pakistan and inshallah will make a naya pakistan</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1118803642314842112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote>

The so called brain of pti is gone so does that mean pti is brainless now.

Cabinet reshuffle already only nine months into the term ?

Why ? This guy should've been allowed to complete his economic programme. The economic fundamentals won't change for the new minister.

Good decision by IK. This shows national interst comes first for IK. Great leader

This is a massive blow and IK has made big a mistake. Asad Umar cannot change the fundamentals of an economy and the next guy will have all the same problems. Poor decision by IK

Bad move by PTI and IK. Mafia wasn't happy with Asad's decisions and they wanted him to go.

Asad was in talks with IMF and almost secured the deal why remove him now and that too just a month before budget?

Mafia 1
Govt 0

PTI and it's leader already crumbling under pressure.

What it shows is that it's easier to pass judgements while sitting in the opposition but difficult to fix things when given the responsibility.

Bad decision. He was taking the tough but good-in-the-long term decisions but obviously the Country doesn't see the long-term picture.

He has been a failure so far, especially because of rising inflation, but who will question the performance of the PM, who has been a failure as well?

People are getting fed up over the rising prices of essential commodities and overall life being difficult after the New Government came to power. At this rate, good luck to PTI supporters who thought they will be in government for 2 terms straight.

It’s a mistake and it will hurt politically.
Hopefully we get him back once we go presidential

Bilal Lakhani should now write an article giving Asad Umar a tribute for his great services to Pakistan’s Economy in only 9 months after all he was greatest Finance Minister of Pakistan’s history.

PTI & Asad Umar’s salient economic achievements :

1. Inflation 9.35 % from 3.2 % a year ago.

2. Dollar 141.40 from 105 before

3. Interest rate 10.75 % from 5.75 % before

4. Stock market 52872 before Panama leaks exploitation to 38022

5. Industrial growth 2.30 % from 3.45 % before

6. Circular Debt 1409 billion from 800 billion before

7. GDP down to 2.7 % from 5.8 % before

8. FBR shortfall 400 billion

9. Foreign reserves 3 billion dollars low

10. Pakistan’s history record internal and external loans taken in first 9 months.

Post Panama Leaks fake accountability drive, Political destabilisation in which PTI was aider and abettor and played perfect role of stooge for those exposed in Dawn Leaks. Result is this. From being amongst top 3 fastest growing GDP’s in the world, joining G20, to becoming Asian Tiger now we are the slowest growing economy in whole South Asia and country is in absolute mess.

History won’t forget and won’t forgive either and architects and abettors of this Naya Pakistan will have to pay. Unfortunately poor nation is going to suffer.

Bilal Lakhani should now write an article giving Asad Umar a tribute for his great services to Pakistan’s Economy in only 9 months after all he was greatest Finance Minister of Pakistan’s history.

10. Pakistan’s history record internal and external loans taken in first 9 months.

Post Panama Leaks fake accountability drive, Political destabilisation in which PTI was aider and abettor and played perfect role of stooge for those exposed in Dawn Leaks. Result is this. From being amongst top 3 fastest growing GDP’s in the world, joining G20, to becoming Asian Tiger now we are the slowest growing economy in whole South Asia and country is in absolute mess.

History won’t forget and won’t forgive either and architects and abettors of this Naya Pakistan will have to pay. Unfortunately poor nation is going to suffer.

hadd karty ho,,theek ha PTI is not good but PMLN and asian tiger and....................

This is a massive blow and IK has made big a mistake. Asad Umar cannot change the fundamentals of an economy and the next guy will have all the same problems. Poor decision by IK

Please accept my humble condolences. Stay strong, these tough times will not last forever.

Also, we must observe a moment of silence for you and all the other PTI supporters who were adamant that this is "fake news".

Please accept my humble condolences. Stay strong, these tough times will not last forever.

Also, we must observe a moment of silence for you and all the other PTI supporters who were adamant that this is "fake news".

Shuld have been persisted with,,,very poor from IK.

There are two possibilities:

(1) The higher powers (i.e. the military) are behind this move. They were not happy and their subordinate Imran Khan had no choice but to oblige.

(2) If this is Imran's decision, then all this talk of Asad Umar being an economic genius who is taking tough but fruitful long-term decisions has been flushed down the toilet. It is clear that Imran believed that he is simply making matters worse instead of steering the economy in the right direction.

All in all, this is utterly humiliating for PTI supporters, but I believe that the humiliation is well-deserved because this is what you get for being a cult follower.

Nevertheless, if this is Imran's call, we must give credit to him for acting swiftly because Asad Umar was simply incompetent to the core. However, this also proves that PTI is a reckless party with no long-term vision and strategy and simply taking impulsive decisions as they move along.

Sacking your Finance Minister in less than a year as well as reshuffling several bureaucratic positions clearly indicate that they are immature with poor decision-making. Such a party cannot be trusted to with running the country. PTI is a failed experiment and I hope they are put out of their misery in the next election.

Imran Khan is one of the greatest figures in history of Pakistan and his lasting legacy should not be a Prime Minister who was all talk but badly failed to deliver in the end.

It sucks to be a PTI supporter.

A good section of the crowd were defending Asad Umar's performance till yesterday, but now the same people have taken a U-turn and are praising for Imran for making the right call.

Not surprising though, because this is how cults works.

Shuld have been persisted with,,,very poor from IK.

He was not good enough and perhaps we should credit Imran for taking a swift call, if he is the one who made the decision that is.

This has to be one of most stupid decisions by Imran Khan and a complete overreaction. What on earth did he expect anyone to do within 8 months given economy was in shambles. It's much more than performance of the government because PTI has lost one of most sincere, honest and competent leaders.

Decisions weren't taken by Asad Umar in isolation either, there was whole Economic advisory Committee and team behind these decisions. Who is possible replacement?

Extremely disappointed with decision and decision that will upset PTI supporters much more than any previous decisions.

After building a decade long propaganda campaign cantered on how Asad Umar will transform Pakistan’s economy, he has been booted out in less than a year.

This government is an embarrassing farce.

Imran has no spine and cannot withstand any sort of criticism. For the second time since taking over as PM, he has buckled under pressure. The first instance was the Atif Mian saga.

After building a decade long propaganda campaign cantered on how Asad Umar will transform Pakistan’s economy, he has been booted out in less than a year.

A great decision by IK. He has preferred national interest even if it means embarrassment. This proves that he is loyal to the country just like he was in 1992 WC when he promoted himself to one down position.

hadd karty ho,,theek ha PTI is not good but PMLN and asian tiger and....................

Hadd kertay ho yaar

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">GDP growth, 2018.<br><br>India: 7.3%<br>China: 6.6%<br>Pakistan: 5.8%<br>Egypt: 5.3%<br>Indonesia: 5.1%<br>Turkey: 3.5%<br>Australia: 3.2%<br>US: 2.9%<br>Saudi: 2.2%<br>Mexico: 2.2%<br>Canada: 2.1%<br>Germany: 1.9%<br>Nigeria: 1.9%<br>Russia: 1.7%<br>France: 1.6%<br>UK: 1.4%<br>Brazil: 1.4%<br>Italy: 1.2%<br>Japan: 1.1%<br>Iran: -1.5%</p>— The Spectator Index (@spectatorindex) <a href="https://twitter.com/spectatorindex/status/1055002788214829058?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Atleast today one needs to support Imran Khan the Prime Minister of Pakistan. He has seen Pakistan’s economy drowning infront of his eyes and He as PM could not afford Asad to stay on and let Pakistan drown completely. Although the national hero & super star Imran Khan is said to very arrogant person but thankfully yahan Imran Khan ne Asad Umar ko apni zidd aor Anna ka masla naheen banaya.

Even if one is not member of Cult section of Imran followers and supporters he needs to back his today’s decision because it is indeed one in national interest.

Do follow news of what happened in Yesterday’s Cabinet meeting.

Imran has no spine and cannot withstand any sort of criticism. For the second time since taking over as PM, he has buckled under pressure. The first instance was the Atif Mian saga.

The first decision was wrong, to be honest. This one looks right as AU did look out of the place so it is good that IK got rid of him.

On a serious note, IK and PTI would have realised that it is a different ball game when you are in the government. It is easy to criticise when you're in the opposition but you are accountable when you hold an important position. For IK and PTI, everything including the economy was an easy fix. It was their narration that whatever others were doing was because they had vested interested but the steps taken by this government are no different from them. The PTI govt is learning the reality in a hard way that government of Pakistan is not a piece of cake.

Unfortunately, it is Pakistan's loss ultimately as PTI will need a lot of time to learn before it can actually deliver. Anyways, whoever becomes the next FM. All the best to him and hope he focuses only on the task at his end and delivery.

The first decision was wrong, to be honest. This one looks right as AU did look out of the place so it is good that IK got rid of him.

On a serious note, IK and PTI would have realised that it is a different ball game when you are in the government. It is easy to criticise when you're in the opposition but you are accountable when you hold an important position. For IK and PTI, everything including the economy was an easy fix. It was their narration that whatever others were doing was because they had vested interested but the steps taken by this government are no different from them. The PTI govt is learning the reality in a hard way that government of Pakistan is not a piece of cake.

Unfortunately, it is Pakistan's loss ultimately as PTI will need a lot of time to learn before it can actually deliver. Anyways, whoever becomes the next FM. All the best to him and hope he focuses only on the task at his end and delivery.

PTI is nothing more than an excellent opposition party who can run their mouths and gather the masses in rallies and long marches to put the government under pressure. Dharna politics is their speciality, but unfortunately you need more than a big mouth and crass language to run the country.

PTI needs to go back the drawing board and reconsider their priorities. The time of obsessing with PMLN and PPP has come to an end. Accusations and criticism has helped them come into power, but it will not help them take the country to new heights.

If things continue like this, it will be curtains for them in the next election. It is time for them to bring some maturity and sensibility in their politics, because the period of dramaybaazi is over.

PTI is nothing more than an excellent opposition party who can run their mouths and gather the masses in rallies and long marches to put the government under pressure. Dharna politics is their speciality, but unfortunately you need more than a big mouth and crass language to run the country.

PTI needs to go back the drawing board and reconsider their priorities. The time of obsessing with PMLN and PPP has come to an end. Accusations and criticism has helped them come into power, but it will not help them take the country to new heights.

If things continue like this, it will be curtains for them in the next election. It is time for them to bring some maturity and sensibility in their politics, because the period of dramaybaazi is over.

The one point that is pertinent to mention that only Asad Umar's portfolio was confirmed before the elections. There was nothing guaranted about the others. He was their most competent person i.e. this is what we were told.

If he didn't do any homework i.e. wasn't aware of the situation or ground realities then God can help us as he should be more aware of about everything and should have done his homework since he was guaranted Finance Minister.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">1. Asad Umar<br>2. Babar Awan<br>3. Azam Sawati<br>4. Aleem Khan<br>5. Fayyaz ul Hassan Chohan<br><br>5 resignations in 8 months. Talk about selecting a team.</p>— Mansoor Ali Khan (@_Mansoor_Ali) <a href="https://twitter.com/_Mansoor_Ali/status/1118828274308849664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Imran Khan needs how to run a tight ship. He thinks just because he is not corrupt all problems will go away.

He needs his team to stay away from Twitter and TV and media and just work on installing confidence in the market. THey are too concerned about social media and image.

Work more talk less should be their new motto

It sucks to be a PTI supporter.

A good section of the crowd were defending Asad Umar's performance till yesterday, but now the same people have taken a U-turn and are praising for Imran for making the right call.

Not surprising though, because this is how cults works.

Don't know how you came to this conclusion but my timeline is full of die hard PTI supporters bashing IK decision (including me) right now to remove Asad very few are backing this decision like only 2 out of 10. Sorry Mamoon but PTI supporters are very different from Jiyalas and Noonis we do know when and where to criticize the leadership instead of following them blindly.

I have no dog in this hunt but there's a problem with taking numbers at face value and not doing any deeper analysis.

1) The inflation rise under PTI is not as severe when you put it in historical context. Firstly they inherited inflation at 6% not 3% when you look at State Bank figures. In the first six months of PPP government, inflation skyrocketed from 11 to 25% while under PMLN inflation climbed from 5% to 11%.

Necessary currency devaluation and international oil price rises has also contributed to inflation.

2) The rupee was being overvalued by PMLN to fund imports and burned up your foreign exchange reserves. The rupee is now much closer to the real exchange rate.

Circular debt was Rs1.4trn when PTI took office. It has increased, but the rate of increase has slowed compared to PMLN's last year. As for slower GDP growth, one of the reasons is that foreign investment has slowed down due to CPEC transitioning from Phase 1 to Phase 2. However when you exclude China, FDI inflows have increased by nearly 20%. I don't know enough about the causes of the other issues you raise.

I have no dog in this hunt but there's a problem with taking numbers at face value and not doing any deeper analysis.

1) The inflation rise under PTI is not as severe when you put it in historical context. Firstly they inherited inflation at 6% not 3% when you look at State Bank figures. In the first six months of PPP government, inflation skyrocketed from 11 to 25% while under PMLN inflation climbed from 5% to 11%.

Necessary currency devaluation and international oil price rises has also contributed to inflation.

2) The rupee was being overvalued by PMLN to fund imports and burned up your foreign exchange reserves. The rupee is now much closer to the real exchange rate.

Circular debt was Rs1.4trn when PTI took office. It has increased, but the rate of increase has slowed compared to PMLN's last year. As for slower GDP growth, one of the reasons is that foreign investment has slowed down due to CPEC transitioning from Phase 1 to Phase 2. However when you exclude China, FDI inflows have increased by nearly 20%. I don't know enough about the causes of the other issues you raise.

Your post is useless for blind nooras who will take every opportunity to blame PTI for all the mess of 70 years.

Don't know how you came to this conclusion but my timeline is full of die hard PTI supporters bashing IK decision (including me) right now to remove Asad very few are backing this decision like only 2 out of 10. Sorry Mamoon but PTI supporters are very different from Jiyalas and Noonis we do know when and where to criticize the leadership instead of following them blindly.

Absolutely, kind of madness PMLN/PPP supporters have defended is unbelievable. I have seen so much opposition to Imran Khan's decision that it would take some extra ordinary news in next few days to convince PTI supporters otherwise many have decided not to support the party on this decision alone.

Bad news but who can possibly replace him :s Pakistans economy is a hard task. Loonys and jiyalas destroyed the economy; there is no way that anyone can fix in a short period of time. The next person will have the same issue. I would recommend of getting foreign advisors. We need the current Friedmans for advisory purposes to get back on track.

PTI and IK thought we would be good enough. He wasn't. I dont see the big deal?

Now ??? will say that Asad Umar resigning was because of what PMLN and PPP did. THey created this mess.

9 months into govt, and we are seeing reshuffling. :))

Just early struggles of a struggling economy. It will be on track sooner or later. We finally have an honest man at the helm so no matter what it will be light years better than the choor dakoos we had in the past.

No matter who comes and goes, Imran don't let the choors of PPP and PMLN get away! Drag them behind bar for the rest of their lives.

Same here, IK is getting a lot of stick.

Agreed. Im a staunch PTI supporter for the last 6 years, however, this decision really does seem nonsensical.
Tough decisions had to be taken by the Finance Minister, he took those and obviously became unpopular among the masses, however, he needed his PM to stand by him and was let down.

Well, we need to see things in perspective.

1. Inflation in March 2018 was 3.2 %. We need to see where it stands today.

We also need to see that what was inflation when PML N took over from PPP and how inflation panned out in next 5 years.

2. Devaluation of Rupee has crashed the economy with it. Hence, this proves that Dar was right. After all what you got from this massive devaluation of Rupee ? All the dips I mentioned.

PTI and it’s thinktank (if any) thought that this would curtail imports massively and would give huge kick to Exports. This theory has died its natural death. There is only a minimum decrease in import bill and Exports just rose around 1 %

3. As far as foreign exchange reserves is concerned before Panama debacle it was during PML N tenure that we raised it upto 24 Billion Dollars (Pakistan’s record). Now compare these to PPP tenure.

Still post exploitation Panama Leaks by State arms Political aswell as economic instability had its toll on foreign exchange reserves aswell. Still they were 19.4 billion Dollars when PML N left and now after borrowing of 11 billion dollars by PTI they stand at 15 billion dollars.

4. GDP

When PML N took over from PPP in 2008 Pakistan’s GDP was 3.7 %. After 5 years effort PML N government picked it upto 5.8 %

Now IMF has projected GDP to be 2.9 % in 2019, 2.7 % in 2020 and by 2023 it would barely reach 4 %

5. Lastly, FDI

Increase of FDI by 20 % in a given month does not cover up the complete picture.

Total foreign investments have decreased by a whooping 77 % since PTI has taken over reigns.

• 28117FFE-5F15-4933-B616-39B099851A5A.jpg
    28117FFE-5F15-4933-B616-39B099851A5A.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 299

Now ??? will say that Asad Umar resigning was because of what PMLN and PPP did. THey created this mess.

9 months into govt, and we are seeing reshuffling. :))

And you dont have the guts to debate about what they. You, like your mate [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] supports crooks and thugs and when challenged you run.

Well, we need to see things in perspective.

1. Inflation in March 2018 was 3.2 %. We need to see where it stands today.

We also need to see that what was inflation when PML N took over from PPP and how inflation panned out in next 5 years.

2. Devaluation of Rupee has crashed the economy with it. Hence, this proves that Dar was right. After all what you got from this massive devaluation of Rupee ? All the dips I mentioned.

PTI and it’s thinktank (if any) thought that this would curtail imports massively and would give huge kick to Exports. This theory has died its natural death. There is only a minimum decrease in import bill and Exports just rose around 1 %

3. As far as foreign exchange reserves is concerned before Panama debacle it was during PML N tenure that we raised it upto 24 Billion Dollars (Pakistan’s record). Now compare these to PPP tenure.

Still post exploitation Panama Leaks by State arms Political aswell as economic instability had its toll on foreign exchange reserves aswell. Still they were 19.4 billion Dollars when PML N left and now after borrowing of 11 billion dollars by PTI they stand at 15 billion dollars.

4. GDP

When PML N took over from PPP in 2008 Pakistan’s GDP was 3.7 %. After 5 years effort PML N government picked it upto 5.8 %

Now IMF has projected GDP to be 2.9 % in 2019, 2.7 % in 2020 and by 2023 it would barely reach 4 %

5. Lastly, FDI

Increase of FDI by 20 % in a given month does not cover up the complete picture.

Total foreign investments have decreased by a whooping 77 % since PTI has taken over reigns.

Liar in chief is back, what happened to your defence of SS? Did the little son let the cat out of the bag with the billions stolen? What happened to your conspiracies. Where is Isahq Dar? tell him to comeback!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">1. Asad Umar<br>2. Babar Awan<br>3. Azam Sawati<br>4. Aleem Khan<br>5. Fayyaz ul Hassan Chohan<br><br>5 resignations in 8 months. Talk about selecting a team.</p>— Mansoor Ali Khan (@_Mansoor_Ali) <a href="https://twitter.com/_Mansoor_Ali/status/1118828274308849664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Next in line is Wasim Akram + ie Usman Buzdar.

“ The ‘I’ in the PTI is less ‘Insaf’ and more ‘Incompetence’ if perceptions are to be believed. This is a dangerously slippery slope for the party that claims to represent change and hope. Worse, no effort seems to be visible to halt this slide down the perception slope. ”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1945005/2-captain-marvels-team/

Disaster for PTI

Its time Imran takes the blame as well for this fiasco

Some of IK decision making in his tenure has been questionable. The appointments of the CM's for KPK and Punjab were very dissapointing.

Asad Umar was eye marked as PTI's finance minister for years even before PTI came to power. The way he has been treated is disgraceful. Which honest Pakistani person will want to work for such a government where people are treated like this and where the PM terminates them rather than take ownership for his own decision making? No wonder Shaukat Tareen refused the govt's offer to become Finance Minister.

It was IK who delayed going to the IMF when Pakistan's FX reserves were higher therefore the opportunity to bargain with the IMF for favorable terms was lost. Secondly the PTI has employed an economic council of the top notch minds therefore Asad Umar alone is not to blame.

Where does Asad Umar go from here? He wished to contribute to the nation's economic direction which is why he quit his high paid Engro Job to joint PTI. What is his role in the PTI now, his background is all about Economics and Finance.

I feel for Asad Umar, guy has a golden heart.

PTI lost an honest minister today.

How has Ishaq Dar been proven right ? How's it sustainable to keep artificially propping up a currency and burning up your foreign exchange reserves ?

As for imports and exports, the current account deficit has been reduced from $18 billion to $14 billion.

He was not good enough and perhaps we should credit Imran for taking a swift call, if he is the one who made the decision that is.

Two ironic posts tbh

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This tweet is the final word on the issue. 10/10 for pun-value, precision, and pithiness. <a href="https://t.co/OmfcJb92EG">https://t.co/OmfcJb92EG</a></p>— Umair Javed (@umairjav) <a href="https://twitter.com/umairjav/status/1118820635130716160?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

On the contrary, even after decades of poor performace by PPP and PML-N, they are still rubbish. Great consistency by them.

From a positive pov, for a change cabinet change shows Ministers won't hold on to such positions like they did in previous corrupt governments where they took advantage of such seats as baap ki jageer, looted every dime out of it and left without much benefiting Pakistan. Asad Umar wouldn't have done that regardless, but there is a positive angle to this.

Some guys here used to bring out their writing pads and take notes when Asad Umar used to give lectures on the economy on TV or parliament.

Two ironic posts tbh

I think I have a balanced view. He does deserve credit for sacking him, but we should not fail to look at the bigger picture.

In just over 8 months, 5 members of his team have resigned. His decision-making has clearly been disastrous and he has no idea what he is doing.

PTI championed Asad Umar for years and this is the result. Where do they go from here? This has been a massive reality-check for PTI supporters.

I doubt Imran understands nuances of national exchequer, he will be taking advice from other trusted advisors. All he can do is make a final call which he has done. In first post you are acknowledging that, in the next you are cussing him for buckling under pressure.

PTI supporters who are mourning this decision are yet to explain why he was sacked.

For months, we were led to believe that he is doing a stellar job. The government was fully behind him and the Minister of Propaganda (Fawad Chaudhry) was also publicly enforcing his decision-making.

So what really happened? There are two possibilities:

(1) All the talk of Asad Umar doing a fine job has turned out to be rubbish. Perhaps PTI supporters need a lesson in finance and economics.

OR

(2) Imran believes that Asad Umar was doing a fine job but he buckled under pressure once again. The first instance was the Atif Mian fiasco.

OR

(3) Asad Umar was doing a fine job but Imran was wrong in getting rid of him. Looks like our PM and the savior of Pakistan doesn’t understand economics and doesn’t realize that things cannot be improved in only 8 months.

What hope does the country have when the PM is so clueless?

So which one was it? Now that you have had your time to mourn, pick one of the three options.

Unfortunately, every option is humiliating for PTI supporters. This is what you get for following a cult.

I doubt Imran understands nuances of national exchequer, he will be taking advice from other trusted advisors. All he can do is make a final call which he has done. In first post you are acknowledging that, in the next you are cussing him for buckling under pressure.

If he doesn’t understand the nuances he should go home. Running the country is not captaining a cricket team and his trusted advisors are the same people who served under Musharraf and faced his wrath of his criticism back then.

As I explained in my previous post, Imran deserves praise in some capacity because he took (assuming that it was his decision) a swift call.

However, the pertinent point is that why has his tenure reached a point where we have had 5 resignations in 8 months.

If clearly illustrates his poor decision-making and adds fuel to the fire that he and his party have no idea what they are doing, and are simply taking random decisions as they move along.

This again proves that corruption is not the biggest issue - the biggest issue is incompetence. What good is honesty when you are clueless?

Unfortunately Imran lives in a world of his own where everything will magically fall in place because he is not corrupt, although if he had nothing to hide, he wouldn't be running from the foreign funding case for 4 years.

If he doesn’t understand the nuances he should go home. Running the country is not captaining a cricket team and his trusted advisors are the same people who served under Musharraf and faced his wrath of his criticism back then.

As I explained in my previous post, Imran deserves praise in some capacity because he took (assuming that it was his decision) a swift call.

However, the pertinent point is that why has his tenure reached a point where we have had 5 resignations in 8 months.

If clearly illustrates his poor decision-making and adds fuel to the fire that he and his party have no idea what they are doing, and are simply taking random decisions as they move along.

This again proves that corruption is not the biggest issue - the biggest issue is incompetence. What good is honesty when you are clueless?

Unfortunately Imran lives in a world of his own where everything will magically fall in place because he is not corrupt, although if he had nothing to hide, he wouldn't be running from the foreign funding case for 4 years.

A PM isn't going to be a specialist in every field. Do you honestly think a former actor like US President Ronnie Reagan understood macro economics? Or maybe you think Nawaz Sharif was a wiz in the banking and finance sector? Perhaps Zardari was a city planning or transport genius?

I don't know the ins and outs of the Asad resignation, but there will be a lot more going on behind the scenes, IK is only one factor as the head of the state.

He was not sacked, he stepped down, known as, resigned.

Get your facts right.

You are out of touch as usual.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">As part of a cabinet reshuffle PM desired that I take the energy minister portfolio instead of finance. However, I have obtained his consent to not take any cabinet position. I strongly believe <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> is the best hope for Pakistan and inshallah will make a naya pakistan</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1118803642314842112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This reshuffle was brought up with me for the first time last night. You should be hearing the new announcements soon.<a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Asad_Umar</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1118827652348043266?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I came here to work. I came here to contribute. I didn’t come for any positions. I don’t know if there’s been a conspiracy. My Kaptaan didn’t see me fit for the role, we had the discussion and that’s that.<a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Asad_Umar</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1118826682482331651?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 18, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

When your leader tells you that he would prefer if you take a different ministry and that he does not see you fit for the role of Finance Minister, he is effectively sacking you.

Asad Umar has not been sacked from PTI but he has been sacked as Finance Minister. Resignation is only a face-saving technicality - Asad Umar has "resigned" as Finance Minister as much as Azhar Ali "resigned" as ODI captain in 2017.

So in summary:

Asad Umar has been sacked as Finance Minister, but he has resigned as member of the cabinet.

A PM isn't going to be a specialist in every field. Do you honestly think a former actor like US President Ronnie Reagan understood macro economics? Or maybe you think Nawaz Sharif was a wiz in the banking and finance sector? Perhaps Zardari was a city planning or transport genius?

I don't know the ins and outs of the Asad resignation, but there will be a lot more going on behind the scenes, IK is only one factor as the head of the state.

Perhaps you should tell that to Imran Khan who thought that he would transform the country with his magic wand when he comes into power. All the rhetoric of tabdeeli was rubbish because he had surrounded himself with the same tried and tested failures who failed to deliver in their previous tenures under different governments, but Imran and his supporters peddled the narrative that when the leader is honest, everything falls in place. We are seeing the results now.

When your leader tells you that he would prefer if you take a different ministry and that he does not see you fit for the role of Finance Minister, he is effectively sacking you.

Effectively is not the same as officially.

Try again.

Effectively is not the same as officially.

Try again.

As I said in the other thread, your are redefining straw-clutching.

When the PM tells his minister to vacate his post and that you are not cut for the job anymore, that is a sacking.

This is my biggest frustration with the West Minister Parliamentary System and why i feel Pakistan needs the US Presidential System, i.e. you cant appoint someone who is not a member of the National or Provincial Assembly as a Minister, the US Presidential System has no such restrictions. Pakistan suffers when you don't have the best person for the job as a result because of stupid restrictions like this

#WeStandWithKhan is trending on Twitter now. I did not reply to your post initially because you wouldn't take my word for it, but as time passes, the same people who praised Asad Umar's performance will slowly start to criticise him because they have to defend Imran at all costs.

These people will also defend the appointment of Hafeez Shaikh as Finance Minister if the rumours are true. Same Abdul Hafeez Shaikh was who PPP's Finance Minister and helped increase the debt from 12 trillion to 30 trillion. What happened to Imran's criticism of PPP now?

This is turning into an absolute circus. Naya Pakistan is turning out to be a bad joke.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Naya Pakistan is shattering us common people. :'(

It really is sickening to see people write so much crap on stuff they have no friggin clue about.

#WeStandWithKhan is trending on Twitter now. I did not reply to your post initially because you wouldn't take my word for it, but as time passes, the same people who praised Asad Umar's performance will slowly start to criticise him because they have to defend Imran at all costs.

These people will also defend the appointment of Hafeez Shaikh as Finance Minister if the rumours are true. Same Abdul Hafeez Shaikh was who PPP's Finance Minister and helped increase the debt from 12 trillion to 30 trillion. What happened to Imran's criticism of PPP now?

This is turning into an absolute circus. Naya Pakistan is turning out to be a bad joke.

#WeLoveAsadUmer and other trends about Asad were also on top earlier. I can show you my timeline screenshots if you don't believe me without editing. Most of tweet are against IK decision and in support of Asad. Asad is actually the is second only to IK in PTI when it comes to popularity.

Let's see if Hafeez Shaikh deliver this time or not because same Hafeez Shaikh was very successful under Musharraf but failed to deliver under Zardari/Gillani.

You can call it a circus but let them complete 5 years and thn compare it with the 35 years mess of PMLN and PPP

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Naya Pakistan is shattering us common people. :'(

It's not Naya Pakistan that's shattering you, it's the billions stolen and borrowed that is doing to you. I see Showbiz and family are knee deep in theft and their turn like all crooks is coming. Just watch the car crash interview with Showbiz son and you will see why PK is bankrupt.

So your great wisdom is that people disagree in the PTI and amongst it's support base. Get used we are not a crooked family party that is passed down like a family heirloom and backed by people waiting for crumbs to fall down from Maryams, Hamza and Billos table.

#WeLoveAsadUmer and other trends about Asad were also on top earlier. I can show you my timeline screenshots if you don't believe me without editing. Most of tweet are against IK decision and in support of Asad. Asad is actually the is second only to IK in PTI when it comes to popularity.

Let's see if Hafeez Shaikh deliver this time or not because same Hafeez Shaikh was very successful under Musharraf but failed to deliver under Zardari/Gillani.

You can call it a circus but let them complete 5 years and thn compare it with the 35 years mess of PMLN and PPP

This guy who criticises the PTI cannot comment on one of the millions of crimes committed by his masters.

PPP had like 5 or 6 finance ministers/advisers replaced during their 5 years period. Ishaq Dar remained absconder in last 1 year of PMLN govt and in first 4 he played with fake numbers and tried to control dollar rate by throwing $7 billion to keep rupee overvalued and he was exposed many times but well let's not talk about that instead bash IK and PTI because they are the evils.

Here is the link for all the PP economists (news is from Apr 2018 when PMLN was still in govt) https://tribune.com.pk/story/1691123/2-govt-injected-7b-keep-rupee-overvalued-recent-years/

The PML-N government has pumped $7 billion into defending the overvalued rupee against the US dollar in recent years, claimed a member of the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) while seeking action against the people responsible for the spending.

Neither State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) Governor Tariq Bajwa nor Adviser to Prime Minister on Finance Dr Miftah Ismail contested the claim made by Dr Abid Hasan during an EAC meeting held early this month, a member of the EAC confided to The Express Tribune. Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi chaired the meeting.

I am not disputing that, there are plenty of people who are still supporting Asad Umar. However, there are people on the #WeStandWithKhan bandwagon (both on Twitter/social media and real life) who were defending Asad Umar's performance until now.

Basically the message is that we are blindly devoted to our leader Imran Khan and we will support whatever decision he makes. This is a very dangerous mentality indeed.