Asim Saleem Bajwa quits as chairman of CPEC Authority (update #254)

So you are basing the success/ accuracy of the data as the criteria for spying, not the intention of the traitors. As i said no wonder, you have spent so much energy evading the question. As you and your fellow traitors have shown over FATF, there isnt any limits to the lengths you will go to, to damage PK. You really are a piece of work

Again you are not answering a simple question.
You can call me a traitor o what you want, but i asked you a simple question.

If you claim a data to be incorrect, than whoever recieves it doesnt matter. Its incorrect data. Its like posting a news article with a fake source, thus news is fake.

You would be right if the data leaked was correct.

Yet you cant answer or admit to either side :)),

Again you are not answering a simple question.
You can call me a traitor o what you want, but i asked you a simple question.

If you claim a data to be incorrect, than whoever recieves it doesnt matter. Its incorrect data. Its like posting a news article with a fake source, thus news is fake.

You would be right if the data leaked was correct.

Yet you cant answer or admit to either side :)),

And once again you have avoided a simple question at whose behest was his private data breached and why? As this data was beached and given to a RAW agent, you can see which side you are on. As far as guilt or not, what's stopping the Nooras or the PPP going to court, what are they waiting for. You have avoided the same question over and over again, stop running and answer it.

So you are basing the success/ accuracy of the data as the criteria for spying, not the intention of the traitors. As i said no wonder, you have spent so much energy evading the question. As you and your fellow traitors have shown over FATF, there isnt any limits to the lengths you will go to, to damage PK. You really are a piece of work

Why are you opposed to transparency in the finanical deallings of a public servant? Any right thinking tax-paying citizen would welcome these revelations about the people in power who rule over them.

I am opposed to anything that would give Ind what it wants, which is to stop or at least disrupt CPEC. Bajwa must be doing something right if so much propaganda from our enemies within and outside PK is aimed at him. And I have said to [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] its time for these losers to file a case.

And once again you have avoided a simple question at whose behest was his private data breached and why? As this data was beached and given to a RAW agent, you can see which side you are on. As far as guilt or not, what's stopping the Nooras or the PPP going to court, what are they waiting for. You have avoided the same question over and over again, stop running and answer it.

but bhai is the data fake or not really simple question you're deflecting the question !?
than we can move on with your question of was it provided by RAW,MOSSAD, CIA or whoever

are you saying that the data was correct?

but bhai is the data fake or not really simple question you're deflecting the question !?
than we can move on with your question of was it provided by RAW,MOSSAD, CIA or whoever

Isnt that the job of a court like with NS and Panama. Is social media the place to decide. When is the case being filed? Maybe you can tell me at whose behest the data was released and why?

ISLAMABAD: The Islam*abad High Court (IHC) on Saturday restrained the Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP) from proceeding against one of its additional directors in a matter pertaining to the leak of data related to the family business of Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information retired Lt Gen Asim Saleem Bajwa.

The court also expressed displeasure over the presence of SECP officials during the hearing of a petition challenging the issuance of show-cause notices to eight staffers over the leak of data related to the SAPM’s family.

IHC Chief Justice Athar Minallah had taken up the petition filed by SECP’s additional director of market surveillance department Arslan Zafar.

Contrary to routine practice, the SECP counsel, Shahid Anwar Bajwa, was also present in the courtroom despite the fact that it was a preliminary hearing and no notice had been issued to the commission.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

Justice Minallah remarked that the court had yet to decide maintainability of the petition and the presence of SECP’s lawyer was not required at this point. He asked the counsel the reason behind the ‘special treatment’.

Advocate Bajwa replied that his client had instructed him to attend the proceeding and receive the court notice.

“How could you expect that we would issue a notice to SECP at this stage?” Justice Minallah asked.

“This conduct confirms the apprehensions expressed by the petitioner,” remarked the chief justice.

The counsel stated that the case was related to leak of confidential data of shareholding of private companies.

“How can data, already available on the website, be termed confidential?” asked Justice Minallah.

By the way, who is the owner of these companies, the learned judge further inquired.

“These companies belong to the family of Gen Asim Saleem Bajwa,” replied the counsel, Shahid Bajwa.

Justice Minallah posed another question to the counsel, asking, “Don’t you believe in across-the-board accountability of every citizen? I am sure the prime minister was not aware of this since he believes in accountability.”

The judge remarked that prima facie these companies were related to Asim Bajwa which was why the SECP started the probe.

He then asked the counsel who had ordered it, to which he replied, the SECP board.

The court observed that it was beyond comprehension as to why a regulator was taking interest in this matter. To ensure transparency, the regulator makes such information public, which is a pre-requisite of accountability, it added.

The IHC chief justice restrained the SECP from proceeding against Arslan Zafar, but asked him to submit a reply to the show-cause notice by Oct 12.

The court also issued notice to the commission and sought a detailed report before adjourning the hearing till Oct 12.

The SECP had issued show-cause notices to eight officials and warning letters to two others on Sept 22 over the leak of data.

The petitioner has challenged the composition of the inquiry committee and its report, saying an officer junior to him was assigned to probe the matter.

The petition said the committee did not allow Arslan Zafar to reply to the allegations within the mandatory time frame and proceeded in the matter in haste.

It said the allegations levelled against him were baseless and based on mere assumptions.

SECP chairman Amir Khan reportedly informed the prime minister that show-cause notices had been issued on the basis of a report prepared by a fact-finding committee headed by SECP commissioner Sadia Khan.

He said complete report would be submitted officially after the SECP commission hears the case against the persons issued notices.

According to the notice, Mr Zafar is reported to have made unauthorised access to personal information of Special Assistant to Prime Minister Asim Bajwa and his family members, including details of their CNICs, in the last week of July.

He is accused of violating the SECP HR manual and has been asked to provide reasons for his act and satisfy the commission over the allegations levelled against him.

Published in Dawn, September 27th, 2020

Retired Lt Gen Asim Saleem Bajwa on Monday announced his resignation as Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting.

In a tweet, he said: "I requested the honourable prime minister to relinquish me from the additional portfolio of SAPM on Info & broadcasting. He very kindly approved my request."

He will continue to work as chairman of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor Authority.

Bajwa had submitted his resignation from the post of SAPM to the premier last month, in the wake of allegations levelled regarding his family’s assets. However, the premier had refused to accept his resignation.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1584668/a...-as-sapm-after-pm-finally-accepts-resignation

Not been following much news recently, but just curious has there been an update to this?
Did NAB, Supreme Court, or any other body pick this up? Are there any investigations underway? Surely, just stepping down from (one of your lesser lucrative) post is not enough. Please point me to the relevant inquiry so I can bring myself up to speed on this case. Thanks!

CPEC Authority Chairman Lt Gen (retd) Asim Saleem Bajwa said on Monday that the Gwadar Port and Gwadar Free Zone would generate economic activities of around $10 billion per annum, besides creating thousands of new jobs.

Talking to media after reviewing the Gwadar Port and other projects under CPEC, the chairman said that, "soon after the completion of the Gwadar Free Zone, a host of manufacturing and trading activities will kick off, cargoes will move, and transshipment activities will increase".

"We will continue to monitor the development work in Gwadar till all the projects become fully operational," he said.

Bajwa said the port's infrastructural work had been completed by the China Port Holding Company at the cost of around $300 million, and all four berths were fully operational.

He said during the last few months, over 67,000 metric tons of cargo had been handled at the port, comprising consignments mostly under the Afghan Transit Trade Agreement, which were later transported to Afghanistan.

A vessel carrying 8,000 cubic feet liquefied petroleum gas is due at the port on Tuesday, while another ship with 24,000 MT of DAP (diammonium phosphate) fertiliser and feed cargo for Afghanistan would arrive here from Australia, he noted.

They had built the port handling capacity, while the customs system is also in place to facilitate the investors and traders, he added.

"Now our full emphasis is to increase the port traffic for which we are pursuing the logistic companies to establish their offices in the city."

Expanding further on the Gwadar Port Free Zone, Bajwa said its first phase spreading over 60 acres of land had already been completed, with 47 enterprises registered.

Six factories have been completed of which three are fully operational now, while six others are under construction, he said.

The second phase of Gwadar Port Free Zone would spread over 2,221 acres of land and Prime Minister Imran Khan would perform its ground breaking, he added.

For the last three years, he said, both the port and free zone had created some 1,200 direct jobs, while 12,000 more people were hired for building the support infrastructure.

He said the China Port Holding Company had already lined up an investor for the second phase, who would need some1,600 acres of land. The investor had pledged a direct investment of $3 billion in the single industry that would create 30,000 jobs.

The CPEC Authority chairman pointed out that the Eastbay Expressway would directly take the cargo from port to M-8 for onward shipment to Karachi and the rest of the country.

Some 94% of work on the expressway has been completed, which would hopefully be inaugurated in September, he said.

Similarly, he observed that the work on Gwadar Airport was going on at a fast pace while the technical and vocational institutes in the city would also be completed in October.
He said the premier had specifically directed to create maximum job opportunities in the area with the capacity building of the local youth by imparting them skill training.

The CPEC Authority chairman said a 150-bed hospital was under construction in the Gwadar City, which was a gift from the Chinese president for the local residents.
He said the master plan of Gwadar City had also been approved, and it was now at the implementation stage.

Rejecting misconceptions about the Gwadar Port, he said it was now a reality, with lot of development work completed, while handling of cargo was underway. He said the development of agriculture sector was a key area of focus under the CPEC.

In that regard, Bajwa said, he held a meeting with the farming community from Mirani and other areas of the province. Six Chinese companies are ready to sign lease agreements for 32,500 acres of land, on which they would develop a unique model of corporate farming, he added.

The CPEC Authority chairman maintained that it would be the first agriculture model farm in Balochistan as similar models were being implemented in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh provinces as well.

About the reservations of fishermen after the development of Eastbay Expressway, he said three bridges were under construction to address their concerns.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2302799/gwadar-to-generate-10b-economic-activity-annually-asim-bajwa

CPEC Authority Chairman Lt Gen (retd) Asim Saleem Bajwa said on Monday that the Gwadar Port and Gwadar Free Zone would generate economic activities of around $10 billion per annum, besides creating thousands of new jobs.

Talking to media after reviewing the Gwadar Port and other projects under CPEC, the chairman said that, "soon after the completion of the Gwadar Free Zone, a host of manufacturing and trading activities will kick off, cargoes will move, and transshipment activities will increase".

"We will continue to monitor the development work in Gwadar till all the projects become fully operational," he said.

Bajwa said the port's infrastructural work had been completed by the China Port Holding Company at the cost of around $300 million, and all four berths were fully operational.

He said during the last few months, over 67,000 metric tons of cargo had been handled at the port, comprising consignments mostly under the Afghan Transit Trade Agreement, which were later transported to Afghanistan.

A vessel carrying 8,000 cubic feet liquefied petroleum gas is due at the port on Tuesday, while another ship with 24,000 MT of DAP (diammonium phosphate) fertiliser and feed cargo for Afghanistan would arrive here from Australia, he noted.

They had built the port handling capacity, while the customs system is also in place to facilitate the investors and traders, he added.

"Now our full emphasis is to increase the port traffic for which we are pursuing the logistic companies to establish their offices in the city."

Expanding further on the Gwadar Port Free Zone, Bajwa said its first phase spreading over 60 acres of land had already been completed, with 47 enterprises registered.

Six factories have been completed of which three are fully operational now, while six others are under construction, he said.

The second phase of Gwadar Port Free Zone would spread over 2,221 acres of land and Prime Minister Imran Khan would perform its ground breaking, he added.

For the last three years, he said, both the port and free zone had created some 1,200 direct jobs, while 12,000 more people were hired for building the support infrastructure.

He said the China Port Holding Company had already lined up an investor for the second phase, who would need some1,600 acres of land. The investor had pledged a direct investment of $3 billion in the single industry that would create 30,000 jobs.

The CPEC Authority chairman pointed out that the Eastbay Expressway would directly take the cargo from port to M-8 for onward shipment to Karachi and the rest of the country.

Some 94% of work on the expressway has been completed, which would hopefully be inaugurated in September, he said.

Similarly, he observed that the work on Gwadar Airport was going on at a fast pace while the technical and vocational institutes in the city would also be completed in October.
He said the premier had specifically directed to create maximum job opportunities in the area with the capacity building of the local youth by imparting them skill training.

The CPEC Authority chairman said a 150-bed hospital was under construction in the Gwadar City, which was a gift from the Chinese president for the local residents.
He said the master plan of Gwadar City had also been approved, and it was now at the implementation stage.

Rejecting misconceptions about the Gwadar Port, he said it was now a reality, with lot of development work completed, while handling of cargo was underway. He said the development of agriculture sector was a key area of focus under the CPEC.

In that regard, Bajwa said, he held a meeting with the farming community from Mirani and other areas of the province. Six Chinese companies are ready to sign lease agreements for 32,500 acres of land, on which they would develop a unique model of corporate farming, he added.

The CPEC Authority chairman maintained that it would be the first agriculture model farm in Balochistan as similar models were being implemented in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh provinces as well.

About the reservations of fishermen after the development of Eastbay Expressway, he said three bridges were under construction to address their concerns.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2302799/gwadar-to-generate-10b-economic-activity-annually-asim-bajwa

Bajwa is doing an excellent job. We know that because of the propaganda from Ind media and crooked Nooras is incessant. Keep up the good work.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2313674/asim-saleem-bajwa-steps-down-as-cpec-authority-chairman

Lt-Gen (retd) Asim Saleem Bajwa has stepped down from the post of China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) Authority chairman.

“I bow my head before Allah Almighty for giving me an opportunity to raise & steer the important institution of CPEC Authority as one window for all CPEC projects, charting the future direction. Wouldn’t have been possible without full confidence and support of the PM & his Govt,” he said in a tweet from his official handle.

He also expressed best wishes for Kahlid Mansoor, who has been appoineted as the new CPEC Authority chief by the PTI government.

“Khalid Mansoor sb is fully equipped to take it forward. CPEC is life line for Pakistan, it will transform us into a progressive and fully developed country InshaAllah,” Bajwa wrote.

Federal Minister for Planning Asad Umar thanked Bajwa for his services in moving CPEC forward and playing a vital role in broadening the scope of the multi-billion dollar project.

“His dedication and commitment was a source of great strength and support,” said the minister in a tweet.

In another tweet, Umar said newly-appointed SAPM Mansoor’s vast corporate experience along with extensive work with Chinese companies and his direct involvement in leading some of the mega Chinese projects “makes him an ideal person to lead the next phase of CPEC”.

The federal government in November 2019 notified the appointment of Bajwa as the first chairman of the CPEC Authority.

The authority was established through a presidential ordinance in 2019 for coordination, monitoring and evaluation to ensure implementation of CPEC-related activities.

The former DG ISPR, who also served as commander Southern Command, was appointed for a period of four years.

A true patriot. You can he was doing a good job because look at the losers that were desperate for him to fail.

He was removed after orders came from China due to his US business and his close relations with the US. Didn’t Imran Khan give him a clean chit to continue? What happened now?

Bro, you are too innocent.:jaya

In PK anyone is capable of corruption and the Generals aren't averse either but if you are going to make allegations than the best place to test the validity is the court which are run by Noora judges