[AUDIO #47] "We felt that if we attacked them, England is the most darpok (scared?) team" : Sarfraz

DHONI183

A departed friend who will live in our memories fo
[AUDIO #47] "We felt that if we attacked them, England is the most darpok (scared?) team" : Sarfraz

Sarfraz Ahmed speaking on TV about the semi-final against England:

"Before the England match, we didn't see any video clips of their batting or bowling. We played against them last year so it was almost the same team."

"We didn't do any planning, we tried to keep things simple."

"Our plan was to chase against them. People were saying that if England bats, they'll make a huge score like 350 and we won't be able to chase it."

"We said to keep all this talk aside. We felt that if we do attacking bowling and fielding against them, they are the most darpok (scared) team. That is what happened."

"Amir became unfit with a back spasm but our morale didn't drop. Rumman came in and bowled as brilliantly as Amir. He gave us two wickets and in the middle Shadab attacked. Then Hasan and Junaid were superb."

"After the South Africa match, everything started improving for us. By the time we got to the SF against England, our bowling, fielding and batting were all extraordinary."

Immature comments from the captain of a national team. Poor stuff from sarfaraz.

Mashallah he has a decent voice and great to know he is a Hafiz and values that..

Babaji bahut news main hai aaj kal,go Sarfaraz rip the England team apart!(verbally)

"England is the most darpok (coward?) team" - Sarfraz Ahmed

Mashallah he has a decent voice and great to know he is a Hafiz and values that..

His voice is brilliant, just brilliant! I seriously recommend everyone to listen to a Naat recited by him.

Sarfraz Bhai

I don't think England is darpok I just felt they needed to be put in their place.

Tastless comments. This is pathetic from a man who is captain of our national team.

To the contrary i like this, aggressive and blunt stuff from the captain. Sick and tired of the timid politically correct stuff from Misbah and Azhar Ali.

Keep it classy Sarfraz.

He is the least classy player you will find in this team. He gives imad good competition. Does anybody remember his furious look at Umar Akmal when he played few boundaries to win Pakistan when sarfraz was into his late 90s?

What the heck is going on, we won and should be gracious winners and not gloat and issue statements like Indians did.

This is a bad sign. Stay humble. Next time we lose, people are going to do the same to us our media did to the Indians.

Show some sense! The media is goading our naive players into this crap. PCB should caution and guide the players through this tricky period.

Tastless comments. This is pathetic from a man who is captain of our national team.

If you watch the video, he was being not disrespectful at all. This was just a passing comment when he was trying to explain that england get under pressure quickly.

Much ado about nothing.

Funny comment.

He's not wrong though, the strategy clearly worked. He could have phrased it better perhaps.

He is the least classy player you will find in this team. He gives imad good competition. Does anybody remember his furious look at Umar Akmal when he played few boundaries to win Pakistan when sarfraz was into his late 90s?

Do you by any chance have an agenda here?

By the way, i'd be over the moon if Umar Akmal never represented the national side again. He has proven himself to be someone who is completely devoid of class over the 8 years he has represented Pakistan.

Our fans are the real darpoks. Good on Sarfaraz for not giving the same cliche answers. England played scared against us, prime example is the way their much touted all rounder batted.

What the heck is going on, we won and should be gracious winners and not gloat and issue statements like Indians did.

This is a bad sign. Stay humble. Next time we lose, people are going to do the same to us our media did to the Indians.

Show some sense! The media is goading our naive players into this crap. PCB should caution and guide the players through this tricky period.

You have got to be some world beaters to gloat like this and we know we are far from it.

Get outta here with your agendas. I don't agree if this is what Sarfraz said however it's possible his words are being taken out of context. People like you will be the first ones to take advantage though despite him being an absolutely amazing captain.

as usual PPers fail miserably in basic analysis. Watch the video again and this probably because most of you lot dont speak very good Urdu. Sarfraz said "if we bowl aggressively, and go at them we will rattle them"

in urdu he said agar hum agrression dhekain or un kay khilaaf achi bowling karain to yeah sub say darpok team hay"

and he was proven right, they crumbled..

Very Indian-esque comments by Kaptaan.

Next time England give us Phainta*, they (and their ex-players / pundits) will have all the bragging rights!

*A good old-school beating, a term used by the GOAT :ik

as usual PPers fail miserably in basic analysis. Watch the video again and this probably because most of you lot dont speak very good Urdu. Sarfraz said "if we bowl aggressively, and go at them we will rattle them"

in urdu he said agar hum agrression dhekain or un kay khilaaf achi bowling karain to yeah sub say darpok team hay"

Thank you but somehow I feel that some people will either choose to ignore this and continue with their biased rants or just disappear completely from this thread until they see another opportunity to attack.

Very Indian-esque comments by Kaptaan.

Next time England give us Phainta*, they (and their ex-players / pundits) will have all the bragging rights!

*A good old-school beating, a term used by the GOAT :ik

Which Indian playing captain has given such comments?

Do you by any chance have an agenda here?

By the way, i'd be over the moon if Umar Akmal never represented the national side again. He has proven himself to be someone who is completely devoid of class over the 8 years he has represented Pakistan.

When you become captain of your team there is lot of responsibility on your shoulders. You have to be very careful what you say in the media. His embarrasing whole nation with his comments and antics.

Have you listened to his interview?

I haven't but I'm always willing to give the benefit of the doubt and I think i'm right if what TGK says is correct. I am inclined to believe The Great Khan as his posts do not come across as being biased.

Bad translation...i would loosely translate darpok to nervous in this context.

He could have worded it better but at the end his strategy worked.

Agree with Sarfaraz, England team easily folds when put under pressure. Since they were playing at home and were favorites to win, the pressure on them was even more.

This is a classic case of making a mountain out of molehill when you look at the context he was talking in.

I watched this video to find out why he said that and I found that he wasn't disrespectful all.Maybe the word "darpok" he choose shouldn't have been used maybe it is a cultural thing but I repeat he wasn't disrespectful at all.

He just meant that if you get a head start against England they are a team that can crumble under pressure.He never meant to call them cowards as some people are calling here.Again,the word he used isn't appropriate but will give him the benifit of doubt.

oye paindoo :broad English is PC language unlike what Pakistanis speak in their own languages. But I'm sure he meant that England were timid in semi-final? They didn't go for big shots.

when did indians captain say anything ??your team always always say something even before the match.Can give countless examples.Sarfraz also said india is afraid probably to play against pakistan.
you guys are just..... i just cant explain now. Fed up.

You don't call the vanquished cowards. That's bad sportsman spirit. Besides you can generalize such things about sports teams... except maybe South Africa. They are proven chokers 😜

Erm that reflects bad on umar akmal. Most in that situation would let their partner score a hundred. You rotate strike and give your partner the chance to. Especially when it was going to be his first hundred. Umar however didn't care. I'm sure umar wouldn't have done that if say his brother was at the opposite end or someone he got on with.

Sarfraz had to strike a deal with umar to let him get his century, and umar akmal would have the privilege of scoring the winning runs. Selfish by umar akmal. Pretty disgraceful that Sarfraz would have to even offer this to let him get his hundred, when most team mates would have done it without asking.

It then led to the silly situation in the 90s where Sarfraz didn't want to win and not get his hundred, hence rotating strike/refusing runs etc. Which Sarfraz wouldn't have had to worry about in the first place if umar hadn't acted stupid.

I'm not the biggest hater of umar akmal, he has talent and has been of use to us. But think it's not fair turning something which umar did wrong onto Sarfraz.

Comments do seem a little poor from Sarfraz.

You don't call the vanquished cowards. That's bad sportsman spirit. Besides you cannot generalize such things about sports teams... except maybe South Africa. They are proven chokers 😜

Fixed

English national teams in general are well known for consistently failing when under heavy expectation.

"England is the most darpok (scared?) team" : Sarfraz Ahmed

Dhoni183 was looking for headline to draw attention, stupid thing to do really. Don't misinterpret people words and try to translate in language alien to them.

Haha! Nah, I actually shared the video in the opening post itself, but as you can see below my post, it was removed by the moderators due to a forum policy. I wouldn´t have shared the video if I intentions to misinterpret it. I gave people a fair opportunity to draw their own conclusions.

As it is anyway, the thread title itself has the original Urdu word, and next to that is its English translation with a question mark. I was leaning towards 'coward?' (again, with a question mark), but a moderator instead put it as 'scared?', which wasn´t the wrong thing to do either.

Safraz: England were scared (probably taken out of context) = Bad Captain. Pathetic statement from a National captain etc etc...

Morgan: The wicket was used and we hadn't played on a used wicket. Conditions suited Pakistan. moan moan moan = Brilliant Captain, so gracious in defeat.

Safraz: England were scared (probably taken out of context) = Bad Captain. Pathetic statement from a National captain etc etc...

Morgan: The wicket was used and we hadn't played on a used wicket. Conditions suited Pakistan. moan moan moan = Brilliant Captain, so gracious in defeat.
Excuse is different. To say other team was scared is really pathetic.

To see who truly was scared one only needs to watch SL game highlights during his stay at the crease. Sarfraz looked like a 15 years old kid who was playing his first game. Or when he was hiding in the dressing room sending Hafeez and Imad ahead of himself when he was expected to come ahead?

which about "probably taken out of context" did you not understand?

England is big darpok and chokers

Don't ever deserve a cup

Sledging Austrailia,the nation that has 5 world cups and are half dead of boredom of whitewashing you,

England were so happy they sent Austrailia home but they don't realise how much phainteeaustralia have given them,well done now that you can make 300,goes to show that even 300 was such a big deal of excitement for them.

I'm not gonna lie to you yeah but I do like the new aggressive attitude we have. Seriously had enough of this meek persona employed by Misbah and Azhar, it doesn't really suit us. I'm not saying we downright disrespect the other team or become arrogant but obviously you've got to show you're an Alpha-male in the sport, showing that you're the one wearing the trousers :))) I don't think he was disrespecting England at all here.

lol...umar akmal fans have lost their minds. Remembering how their failed super star got a stare from sarfraz in 2015. Get over it, Umar has no future and Sarfraz just led your underachieving side to the biggest success in the last 5 years. I'm surprised you can notice how nervous Sarfraz was but can't see the chronic failure that is Umar Akmal. You can do better at pushing your agenda, right now you sound like a 12 yr old who has lost all their marbles..

Erm that reflects bad on umar akmal. Most in that situation would let their partner score a hundred. You rotate strike and give your partner the chance to. Especially when it was going to be his first hundred. Umar however didn't care. I'm sure umar wouldn't have done that if say his brother was at the opposite end or someone he got on with.

Sarfraz had to strike a deal with umar to let him get his century, and umar akmal would have the privilege of scoring the winning runs. Selfish by umar akmal. Pretty disgraceful that Sarfraz would have to even offer this to let him get his hundred, when most team mates would have done it without asking.

It then led to the silly situation in the 90s where Sarfraz didn't want to win and not get his hundred, hence rotating strike/refusing runs etc. Which Sarfraz wouldn't have had to worry about in the first place if umar hadn't acted stupid.

I'm not the biggest hater of umar akmal, he has talent and has been of use to us. But think it's not fair turning something which umar did wrong onto Sarfraz.

Comments do seem a little poor from Sarfraz.

Team first ahead of milestones.

Also I have seen him plenty of times to expose tailenders to go as a not out to boost his average in tests. Sarfraz lacks class. There is no doubt about that.

Come on Sarfraz, keep it classy! This can be described as way 'below the belt', England were very gracious in defeat (barring Eoin). I don't think such statements need to be made.. Not happy about this.

I agree with him arrogant and overrated english team will never win a 50 over trophy some cheerleaders are quiet too in this forum since they lost haha.

Guys listen to the audio and get over it.

He was explaining the game plan and reported the dressing room talk. It's obvious he meant that if you bowl tight lines and keep the pressure on then they become the most scared team. It's literally what he said. And on top of that he was recounting what he told the players before the match. In the dressing room talk you do want to increase the confidence of the players and take the fear of the opposition out of their head. He made the above statement after there was a lot of chat going on about England being able to set a target of over 300 if they bat first.

It was not as if he come to a talk show and was asked about the semi-final game and he replied in a bragging tone ''yeah England are the most scared team. We thrashed them real good,didnt we. We are awesome... yeah.''

He is just a candid guy and candidly shared his expirence with us without any sugarcoating. His statement is not even politically incorrect.

Come on Sarfraz, keep it classy! This can be described as way 'below the belt', England were very gracious in defeat (barring Eoin). I don't think such statements need to be made.. Not happy about this.

Dude he was recounting what he told the players before the match. It was a quote from his pep talk. Not a general statement. It was meant to boast up players moral.

You can't just pick a random quote from a conversation without any context and make your own context out of it and then pass along casual judgments.

Again understand Urdu. Unlike English Urdu words can have multiple meanings depending on context and tone. In this context the word darpok is used like we use the word "rattle" or "timid" etc..

Also I have seen him plenty of times to expose tailenders to go as a not out to boost his average in tests. Sarfraz lacks class. There is no doubt about that.

Are you sure this is not you projecting your thoughts on him?

Everyone has flaws okaybe this is one of his flaws. Let's back the captain and hope he works on them.

sounds immature mean in English....

But in Urdu, it's normal banter....

Bhai, wo angreziyoon ko dar pook banjaye geh jab hum pressure pe leaingay ....

I'm glad Sarfraz is a confident aggressive attacking captain unlike someone else..
:misbah3

Again understand Urdu. Unlike English Urdu words can have multiple meanings depending on context and tone. In this context the word darpok is used like we use the word "rattle" or "timid" etc..

Yes.

Additionally I also find in general you can't just translate urdu quotes directly into English. Since sometimes the original urdu quote is very formal and the verb used is the one for respect and this gets lost in English.

For example;

"woh short ball per out ho jatain hain "

vs

"he gets out on the short ball"

The translation is indistinguishable from

"woh short ball per out ho jata hai"

Or

" un ko apni kamzorion per kam Karna ho ga"

=/= "us ko apni kamzorion per kam Karna ho ga"

But bith would then be translated as

"he has to work on his weakness"

you don't see the respect tense which the original speaker used and which then doesn't sound as harsh as the translation. These small details do make a big difference, especially in our culture.

I have seen this happen often in the past where what an ex player said in urdu would get posted here in English and it would sound inappropriate and rude.

Idiotic comment. Winning the Champions Trophy does not give anyone the opportunity to talk garbage, expecially the captain. Look at Dohni, Misbah and how dignified they are. Sarfraz needs grooming to face the media. England have always had a soft spot for Pakistan.

Context matters,what he said does sound bad if taken in isolation but look at the way he said it.Also,it's better to listen to what he said in Urdu.

Darpok = Coward.

Nice to see apologists trying to extract a different meaning to Darpok.

sarfaraz said if put under pressure, English team are the biggest cowards.

Darpok = Coward.

Nice to see apologists trying to extract a different meaning to Darpok.

sarfaraz said if put under pressure, English team are the biggest cowards.

How would you say "scared" in the context he was saying it.

Would it better if he had used the word "buzdil" instead?

Whats the difference between "buzdil" and "darpook"? Do you really want to get literal and find out the exact semantics to be used?

Do you realize he was narrating parts of pep talk he gave to the players before the match?

Come on stop looking for controversy where there isn't one. Stop making a mountain out of a molehill.

Perhaps it would have been better if had not used the exact words to recount his experience to avoid sensitive people from jumping on his word and starting character assassination.

Terrible choice of words which may well come back to haunt him if they are picked up by the English press. Then the victim card will be played by the same people now praising him. If you are aggressive and bowl well, most teams struggle under pressure batting 2nd.

How would you say "scared" in the context he was saying it.

Would it better if he had used the word "buzdil" instead?

Whats the difference between "buzdil" and "darpook"? Do you really want to get literal and find out the exact semantics to be used?

Do you realize he was narrating parts of pep talk he gave to the players before the match?

Come on stop looking for controversy where there isn't one. Stop making a mountain out of a molehill.

Perhaps it would have been better if had not used the exact words to recount his experience to avoid sensitive people from jumping on his word and starting character assassination.

First of all you never share things like that in the public especially when you are still the captain. Won't be surprised if it makes the headlines in newspapers and he has given fuel to anti-Pakistani media to make fire of.

How would you feel if tomorrow newspapers read "England most scared": Pak captain? I would be quite embarrassed to be honest.

There was nothing to gain as a team. Game was already won. Umar put himself above his team mates, think he wanted to show an exhibition against Ireland himself instead of helping out his team mate.

If he was truly just putting his team mate first, why did he agree to help Sarfraz out as long as he was hitting the winning runs?

Basically umar didn't care about Sarfraz and wasn't going to help him out without getting something in return. Wasn't helping out his team at all. As I said before, am sure Umar wouldn't have acted this way to someone he got on with.

Let's not spin something which was clearly negative about umar akmal into something negative about Sarfraz (and positive about umar). It wasn't. Umar Akmal was willing to delay the ending of the match to hit the winning runs too lol. It was really disgraceful, I can think of very few batsmen who would deny their fellow countryman his first century like that.

Its amazing how dry some people on this forum are.

Its a 40 minute long interview and he hardly spoke about england having the tendency to get nervous under pressure for like 2 seconds, not more than that. Still people have ignored the entire 40 minute long interview and are beating their chests because of the 2 second part where he wasnt even beinh disrespectful.. Its common banter in urdu language but the angraiz around here wouldnt know that.

Go and give Umar Akmal that advice then. Already forgetting the Junaid Khan incident when Akmal was captain of the Punjab team in the Pentangular ?

Anyone who's met Sarfraz says he is humble and down to earth. Even days after winning the tournament, he came out with the trophy on the balcony just for the fans, but he is classless just because [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] & [MENTION=57110]JibranAnsari[/MENTION] of Pakpassion say so...

Go and give Umar Akmal that advice then. Already forgetting the Junaid Khan incident when Akmal was captain of the Punjab team in the Pentangular ?

Umar Akmal is not captain of national team there is big difference. And beside Umar is still leagues ahead of Sarfraz as an ODI player.

Yes that is why he is out of the team & Sarfraz is the captain

Anyone who's met Sarfraz says he is humble and down to earth. Even days after winning the tournament, he came out with the trophy on the balcony just for the fans, but he is classless just because [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] & [MENTION=57110]JibranAnsari[/MENTION] of Pakpassion say so...

Read his Re India comments when he said they don't want to play us because theg are scared of us. Also remember his comments when he admitted Pakistan are minnows in press talk when he said we have nothing to lose as we ranked 8.

Even though its pointless arguing with you, because of your agendas, Sarfraz was asked by the reporter why India doesn't play Pakistan, is it because they are scared of us ? Sarfraz said yes, this could be a reason also.

Secondly, "we have nothing to lose" was Sarfraz's mantra throughout the tournament until the end and he won us the tournament which is what matters.

I know it hurts you to have a Karachi captain but Sarfraz is here to stay.