Australia v Pakistan | 2nd Test - Day 2 | SCG | 4/01/10

insaaniyat said:
i think we lost our chances. Our batsman could have done much better then 200 leads. Remember this is only because they got out cheap. Thats's not happening again. Pitch is much better now. Sami has done his job in the first inning. Gul and Kaneria were not impressive at all. It worries me, but hoping something good happens when we bowl
Don't worry, I have high hopes on Kaneria. And if it reverses, even Gul could be a handful - not to take wickets maybe, but at least to build pressure and help the other bowlers.

Maybe our chances are not as good as they once were, but we are still in the box seat, and hopefully will wrap up the Aussies without too much damage. A target of 100 or 150 max would be just fine, thank you!

Seriously we could have done better if it wasn't for some terrible shots.

Misbah, Kamran, and Faisal hang your heads in shame.

Can't believe Pakistan survived the day............ maybe danish/asif will frustrate Aus bowlers more tomorrow.

ShehryarK said:
Not at all. Any result possible. Teams have come back and won Tests from bigger deficits.
well Aussies are not going to out again that cheap. Now if they give us 150-200 runs to chase, i wonder if we will be able to. Our batting is really bad. Hoping for the best though Insha Allah

ShehryarK said:
You're right, they were different. But there's a reason for that bhai. The pace, bounce and the carry on yesterday's pitch was completely different to what it is now, after 12 hours of bright sunshine today. Slightly slower pitch, relatively lower bounce today means that the projected path on Hawkeye would look different..ie lower.

but howcome the delivery that was clearly looking nipping back to the middle stumps was showing up missing off stump in hawk eye. Did you listen to commentators? They confirmed that the ball is nipping back enought to hit the middle stump. Hawk eye is a flawed technology umpires shouldnt rely on this.

Lost 3-4 wickets too many in that session. If we had 4 wickets left when we came out to bat tomorrow, we could really have put the boot in.

Isn't Salman Butt looking a bit stylish with his backfoot stance?

It looks like he has changed his stance a bit in order to cover incoming balls and also hes now playing the back-foot quiet easily because of the stand tallish stance. Well what you think? To me as long as he score runs with that technique then its all set.

ShehryarK said:
Not at all. Any result possible. Teams have come back and won Tests from bigger deficits.
that is true but this not the same aussie team as the one with hayden gilly langer martyn.. we need 2 quick wickets with ponting being one of it and that will set the cat amongst the pigeons.. another thing is the showers as rain is predicted..

Disappointing batting by Misbah and Kamran again. We needed to seal this game in the first inning.

Well played Pak.

We are in a very strong position.

Expect Sami/Asif to run through the Aussie's tomorow.

Every body is forgetting Kaneria, there is no way he wont take a fifer with 200 runs to play with

okay everyone goodbye.

insaaniyat - Allah hafiz.

see you all tomorrow :) and hopefully we will beat aussies tomorrow inshaAllah.

ali_ed2006 said:
Seriously we could have done better if it wasn't for some terrible shots.

Misbah, Kamran, and Faisal hang your heads in shame.

Yousuf still made the required contribution............. Misbah/Kamran just not contributing....... but seriously asking all 11 players to contribute is asking alot. Having out top and middle order in double figures is good enough for now.

Kaneria and Asif need to frustrate the Aussies a little more tomorrow morning. Try and score 15-20 runs as well.

hailian said:
Hawk eye is a flawed technology umpires shouldnt rely on this.
That might be a sensible comment. Yes, the technology is not perfect and there might even be inconsistencies in the "projected path" part of it - this is acknowledged by the inventors.

However, that doesn't imply bias or a conspiracy.

WithLoveFromCanada said:
okay everyone goodbye.

insaaniyat - Allah hafiz.

see you all tomorrow :) and hopefully we will beat aussies tomorrow inshaAllah.
Allah Hafiz, Hopefully our bowlers will do the same as the first innings. :)

insaaniyat said:
well Aussies are not going to out again that cheap. Now if they give us 150-200 runs to chase, i wonder if we will be able to. Our batting is really bad. Hoping for the best though Insha Allah

True....... we can't expect Pak batting to pull another miracle. What we can hope for is another magical performance from Asif, Sami or Kaneria. All 3 are hungry to solidify their spots in the team!!

Australia's bowling wasn't great and there's still life left in the pitch for the new ball so we have a great chance to take a couple of early wickets in the morning and put serious pressure on Australia.

abcanada said:
True....... we can't expect Pak batting to pull another miracle. What we can hope for is another magical performance from Asif, Sami or Kaneria. All 3 are hungry to solidify their spots in the team!!
Insha Allah we will win:)

Jesus...everyday there are at least 2 or 3 absolutely random and useless threads from muhammad saad.

I wonder how many of this guys threads have been deleted for uselessness...it must be a PP record for sure.

The worse part is now I have to listen to Amir Sohail' criticism on Geo Super.lol. Hope they don't show it

hasanb said:
Jesus...everyday there are at least 2 or 3 absolutely random and useless threads from muhammad saad.

I wonder how many of this guys threads have been deleted for uselessness...it must be a PP record for sure.

Still better than useless over 5k random posts most of them showing hatred for no apparent reason. Let me tell you if you dont like my thread just dont post in it and I will make sure they will continue to come as cricket is my passion and this is an open forum.

insaaniyat said:
Insha Allah we will win:)
Hope so, Insha Allah.

I think Ponting and Watson are the two key wickets - get them early, and the Aussies will have difficulty posting a huge total. Some brittle batting in their middle order.

abcanada said:
Yousuf still made the required contribution............. Misbah/Kamran just not contributing.......
To be honest, Yousuf didn't make "the required contribution". And if you ask him that question tonight, I suspect he will concur. He threw it away and should have scored a lot more.

Anyway, no point in dwelling on that now. We are where we are.

ShehryarK said:
Hope so, Insha Allah.

I think Ponting and Watson are the two key wickets - get them early, and the Aussies will have difficulty posting a huge total. Some brittle batting in their middle order.
yes we need early wickets:) Anyway Allah Hafiz, me out too.

insaaniyat said:
and what was that
Haha I think he's talking about the clapping. Watson clapped when Asif survived. Asif claps to Australian batsmen now and then.

insaaniyat said:
and what was that

I don't know, but Asif was certainly having words with him and the Aussie team. I heard Ponting say something to Asif along the lines of 'Get back to your room'. That sarcastic clapping from Watson imitating Asif got it started.

It's all good everyone, yes we have missed a chance to put australia right in the dumps but never the less i would have taken this situation at the start of the game and the start of today!

flawed_genius said:
I don't know, but Asif was certainly having words with him and the Aussie team. I heard Ponting say something to Asif along the lines of 'Get back to your room'. That sarcastic clapping from Watson imitating Asif got it started.
I hope he shows them with the ball tomorrow:)

muhammad saad said:
Still better than useless over 5k random posts most of them showing hatred for no apparent reason. Let me tell you if you dont like my thread just dont post in it and I will make sure they will continue to come as cricket is my passion and this is an open forum.

I never told you to stop making these threads...but i dont think its a secret what most PPers think of your threads.

Anyway we better stop this otherwise we are both going to be told off by the mods :P

ShehryarK said:
To be honest, Yousuf didn't make "the required contribution". And if you ask him that question tonight, I suspect he will concur. He threw it away and should have scored a lot more.

Anyway, no point in dwelling on that now. We are where we are.
the thing which winds me up about Yousuf getting out was he was in total control of his destiny unlike Butt, Iqbal (couldnt watch others) and the way he got out was a lack of concentration which a MoYo of 2006 would never have let happen.. I think Butt should swallow his pride and let Younis Khan back because this retardedness is costing us

Amir praising Salman Butt but not happhy that lower middle order did not add another 50-60 runs.

missed his innings, so can't comment on Saad's thread...but this is a really cool pic:

112198.2.jpg

Aamer Sohail: Wasim Bari destroyed confidence of a lot of players. Salman Butt being one. Salman Butt has matured and is dependable.

Opening players both played well.

whats wrong with the thread..yeah i noticed salman had a more opened stance its good to see that he is adapting, i think its good for aus, he should vary his stance depending on conditions

Amer Sohail: Australia relishes challenges but this challenge is going to be stern. We could have got fifty runs or so more, but still this lead is significant.

amazingly he is not criticizing in fact praising. What a change

Aamer Sohail: Aussies will have to show character and play for their pride. Aussies bowling is not suited to this pitch. In the last innings, when the grass dies, they might do better. This pitch is one where ball should be put up (not short). That suits our bowling.

Aamer Sohail: Wasim Bari destroyed confidence of a lot of players. Salman Butt being one. Salman Butt has matured and is dependable.

Opening players both played well.
Come clean bhai, you are Aamer Sohail in disguise, aren't you?

zarak said:
whats wrong with the thread..yeah i noticed salman had a more opened stance its good to see that he is adapting, i think its good for aus, he should vary his stance depending on conditions

Well the thread title makes absolutely no sense whatsoever for starters. Something like:

'Salman Butts New Batting Stance'

'Has Salman Butt Changed his Batting Stance?'

'Is Salmans Batting Stance more Backfoot Orientated?'

All of those would have at least made sense and perhaps merited a debate. However the current thread title is a load of gobble-de-gook.

madaboutlfc said:
the thing which winds me up about Yousuf getting out was he was in total control of his destiny unlike Butt, Iqbal (couldnt watch others)
He almost always is. Both Yousuf and Umar generally look comfortable, Yousuf much more so because of his experience and calm head. Hence, these guys shouldn't be throwing their wickets.

Yousuf since the start of this series has been batting in the "Youhana" mode - ie often needlessly aggressive, not the quiet, patient accumulation of 2006. Maybe he feels he needs to take charge as captain? I guess there's a lot of pressure on his batting since he is the ONLY reliable bat we have, and one of only two experienced guys, alongside Kamran.
madaboutlfc said:
I think Butt should swallow his pride and let Younis Khan back because this retardedness is costing us
Yes, only in Pak would a guy who averages 50+ and recently score a triple hundred would have to "prove his class" in some mickey mouse pointless so-called domestic match!

Aamer Sohail:
Faisal - unnecessary stroke
Moyo - should have left alone the wide delivery (like openers played)
Umar Akmal - Good ball. Could have played better it but the ball was difficult
Misbah - rash sroke
Kamran Akmal - uinneeded stroke

Had some of these played sensibly, we could have finished the day for the loss of five wickets.

The ball that got Umar Akmal was the only good with the new ball. Others just played bad strokes.

sad to see we couldnt score big runs here. was very sad and pissed at the way few of our batsmen just gifted their wickets to australia. we could easily have made 400 runs here but instead we are 331-9, still its a good effort looking at our team, who very rarely now days gets to make 300 runs. so still we should be happy with todays play. lack of test matches has really make our players, forget the test match format. our players, gets bored when they have to stay longer on the crease and don have the temprament to hold their horses. now that we still got one wicket left, i hope asif and kaneria makes another 20 runs which will just make the lead a bit more bigger for aussies. and tomorow play will let us know the result of this test match. either AUSSIE will be in good position or either it will be us. i wish we get them out under 250 which will be a treat to watch. i hope the fielding is top notch.

saadjhussain said:
yeah he hardly moved his feet this innings, not the way to go
whatever he did worked for him, so you can't say he was wrong, 70 on this pitch is like 150 on any flat pitch.

"Pass to sub hojatay hain - Fail honay may mehnat karnee partee hai"

This is the motto of Pakistani cricket - when they could have easily put the game beyond Aussie reach, they worked hard to give the advantage back to Aussies.

Anyways - this is Pak cricket - lets see how it goes tomorrow.

Given that Australia usually score less in their second innings, Pakistan are still favourites

Aamer Sohail: The ball is spinning. Kaneria will be dangerous here. Our faster bowlers will still get help. So Pakistan in good position.

Aamer Sohail on the referral system: Technology has to be flawless for it to work and be just. It does work anyway, but for North the bounce was shown high. Here today it was shown to be low. Discrepancy is there. No doubt about it.

Aamer Sohail:
Faisal - unnecessary stroke
Moyo - should have left alone the wide delivery (like openers played)
Umar Akmal - Good ball. Could have played better it but the ball was difficult
Misbah - rash sroke
Kamran Akmal - uinneeded stroke

Had some of these played sensibly, we could have finished the day for the loss of five wickets.

The ball that got Umar Akmal was the only good with the new ball. Others just played bad strokes.

This all sounds about just right by Aamer Sohail - Anyways we managed to get a lead of 200+ which is good now lets hope our bowlers can keep the pressure on the Aussies 2nd time around too! InshahAllah.

Im very happy the way the team played. conservative up the order which was really needed a big partnership. But the Moyo took it to the ballers along with umer it was really facinating to watch and i really hope that pakistan will prevail coz 200+ lead is a very good lead. Im just hoping that pakistan will not throw their wicket in the 2nd inn if required.

Aamer Sohail: Hawkeye needs improvement. Definitely.

They will refine it. They will need to.

Hawkeye gave the Aussies home advantage. Definitely.

Aamer Sohail (on Akmal): Played spinners well. Against fast bowlers, he will need to improve, and he will learn. The ability is there. He comes in and intimidates the bowlers and makes them forget their lines and lengths. Once he does that, he needs to keep on playing.

When he changes his style of play he loses his wicket. He needs to cover this. Strokemakers like him face long bad patches. He can reduce that or eliminate it with hardwork now.

Aamer Sohail (on Moyo): Played great. When you play like that sometimes you feel you won't get out. That's what happened. Played quality strokes and that eventually caused his downfall. Played elegant shots. His gettin g out on 46 was at the worst time. Had he made a century Australia would have been shut bout of the match.

The reflexes slow down with age but then the experience grows. The problem with Moyo is that he comes it to bat in trouble always. But now that the openers are doing reasonably well, the batting of Yousaf is shwing the difference.

Aamer Sohail: Hawkeye needs improvement. Definitely.

They will refine it. They will need to.

Hawkeye gave the Aussies home advantage. Definitely.

How can they determine the path of a ball on pitches that have variable bounce or varying degrees of bounce throughout the duration of a five day Test.

There has to be some precise mathematical precision about the conditions of the pitch, otherwise it's utterly flawed.

Aamer Sohail (on Faisal Punisher Iqbal): He didn't show his ability. Shot selection was not up to the mark. He will grow in confidence if he is given time. He will play important innings for Pakistan in future.

Aamer Sohail (on Day 2 overall): Pakistan played well. Got their target more or less. If they still can't win after 200 runs lead, that will not be due to Australia playing well. It will be our playing pathetically.

Some VERY positive ie sensible comments by Aamer today - very unlike him, but well done for some quality analytical stuff as opposed to just bashing our guys.

I am not. He is my cousin.

Kidding. :asif

You might be kidding, however, I have a sneaking suspicion that there might be a few relatives of some cricketers on this forum, who are perpetually biased towards their 'own' player.

Either it's the above reason for the constant criticism of every selection made or people are downright incompetent to not see our board's preference of experience over talent.

I can see for this series certainly why they chose the players currently playing, newbies would have failed outright, the pressure is just too much for a cricketer making a start or rebuilding their career in Australia.

The message is to stick behind our team regardless of who's playing.

Aamer Sohail (on spinners in Tests and Hauritz): Warne McGraw loss is huge for Australia. Warne never gave runs freely even if he didn't get wickets. In his bad sessions he gave 30 runs in 12-14 overs.

Hauritz is not like that. When things don't go his way, he gets slaughtered. He overtires but his ability is lacking. So the great spinners are those who strangle the opposition even if they don't get wickets at times.

Shane Warne then had a lot of runs to defend usually (strong batting line). So he had licence to experiment. Now that room is not always there. Although Australia are still scoring most of the times. But for last two years the batting is getting tested for the first time. And that is showing on bowlers as well.

They still have fast bowlers. They missed Hilfenhaus. Clark is out. Brett Lee will avoid Test cricket for a while. But their spin scene is barren. Kretza not good enough. Smith is being worked on by Warne. Let's see. Finger spinners are not working for Australia. Maybe it's time for another wrist spinner.

cricket_fever said:
If asif and sami can get the aussies out again under 150.....then wwwwwowwwwww....innings defeat
I won't mind even if they get them all out for 203.