Awkward moments...

The awkward moment when you meet someone and you go in for the handshake, whereas the other guy goes for the 'hug' meeting. In the end you look like an idiot for practically 'rejecting' his 'kind hello' and the other guy is equally as embarrassed

It happens to me a lot of the times on eid etc lol

the awkward moment..when ur watchin cricket match with family and condom ads come on..

When your wallpaper is Katrina kaif 's rather seductive wallpaper..and then giving the laptop to your father forgetting to change it..coz it becomes so normal seeing that you forget. :D

My father was like " Katrina kaif ki decent pictures bhi hain .. "

When you realise you are chewing on a borrowed pen.

When you send a text such as - I will have roti at 2pm,meant to your mother,but mistakenly sent to one of your friends.

true story from 2002

my naughty cousin was asked by the disipline teacher to bring his dad to school tommorow ..i need to talk to him about ur smoking weed problem in the toilet in school and couple of other offences u commited ...he said sorry that cant happen bcs my dad has left hong kong for afghanist to fight aganist the american forces ..the teacher was so dumb she believed him ..but few days later she said ok since ur dad is in afghan call ur mom ...he put both his hand on his face and started to cry ..so they teacher come near him and this time asks him nicely ..what happend now ..he replied my dad was shot on the leg by the american forces and my mom has left for afghanistn yesterday night to take care of him ...meanwile i was standing next to them ..he pointed at me and said tell her if its true or a lie ..first i was like w.t.f.then out of friendship i told the teacher yes its true ..so the teacher says ok i believe u and leaves ..he starts to hug me and saying thank u ..uve saved my life bla bla

2weeks later his dad came to the school for admission of his youngest sister ..and that teacher caught him ..she started to ask him about his afghan experience ..to which he said he has no clue and he was in hk for all this time ..so the teacher calls us from class and it was the most akward moment of my life facing my cousains dad ...he after slapping my cousin in face he looks at me in angry way and says ...yar ya saala tu hain harami ..to b is jaisa ho gaya hain ..muja tuj sa ya umed nahi thee ..i swear if i had a gun at that time i would have shot my self lol it was so emberessing

true story from 2002

my naughty cousin was asked by the disipline teacher to bring his dad to school tommorow ..i need to talk to him about ur smoking weed problem in the toilet in school and couple of other offences u commited ...he said sorry that cant happen bcs my dad has left hong kong for afghanist to fight aganist the american forces ..the teacher was so dumb she believed him ..but few days later she said ok since ur dad is in afghan call ur mom ...he put both his hand on his face and started to cry ..so they teacher come near him and this time asks him nicely ..what happend now ..he replied my dad was shot on the leg by the american forces and my mom has left for afghanistn yesterday night to take care of him ...meanwile i was standing next to them ..he pointed at me and said tell he if its true or a lie ..first i was like w.t.f.then out of friendship i told the teacher yes its true ..so the teacher ok i believe u and leaves ..he starts to hug me and saying thank u ..uve saved my life bla bla

2weeks later his dad came to the school for admission of his youngest sister ..and that teacher caught him ..she started to ask him about his afghan experience ..to which he said he has no clue and he was in hk for all this time ..so the teacher calls us from class and it was the most akward moment of my life facing my cousains dad ...he after slapping my cousin in face he looks at me in angry way and says ...yar ya saala tu hain harami ..to b is jaisa ho gaya hain ..muja tuj sa ya umed nahi thee ..i swear if i had a guy at that time i would have shot my self lol it was so emberessing

When you open the tap at too high a pressure to wash your hands after going to the toilet and get water all over your groin area. I often supplement this by intentionally drenching my shirt wet too to make it clear it was an external leak and not internal.

When you open the tap at too high a pressure to wash your hands after going to the toilet and get water all over your groin area. I often supplement this by drenching my shirt wet too to make it clear it was an external leak and not internal.

;/ Interesting. Don't ever recall such a thing happening with me.

The awkward conversation with a work colleague which goes along the lines of:

Work Colleague: Hey, how are you going?
Saqib: Good, yourself?
WC: Yeah I'm good, you?
Saqib: .....I just answered that.
WC: Touche.

I agree with chaiwala's philosophy of embracing the awkwardness. Let it become you.

When you are gossiping about a girl in the washroom, and she is in one of the toilet stalls without you knowing :yk.

When guests arrive at your home, and you have to make an entrance and say hello.

When guests arrive, and your parents say, "VM, why aren't you talking to her? Talk to her. Show her your room. My VM is very shy and does not talk. Complete opposite of me she is. Look at me, I talk to everyone I meet and I don't know why she is like this." :facepalm:

My mom does similar - calls me down when guests are here to say salaam. It is so annoying ESP when it's female guest - am kind of shy of females.

Guess all moms are the same.

When you open the tap at too high a pressure to wash your hands after going to the toilet and get water all over your groin area. I often supplement this by intentionally drenching my shirt wet too to make it clear it was an external leak and not internal.

Happens too often that I have stopped caring.

The awkward moment when you think you have, with good intention, passed off a sarcastic remark to someone infront of others, only to realise they missed the sarcasm and got embarassed by it.

Friend: ...and then this happened, I couldn't believe it.

Saqib: Yeah cool story bro.

The awkward conversation with a work colleague which goes along the lines of:

Work Colleague: Hey, how are you going?
Saqib: Good, yourself?
WC: Yeah I'm good, you?
Saqib: .....I just answered that.
WC: Touche.

:)) I need to try that one.

The awkward moment when you have started a story which you originally thought was hilarious only to find halfway that it will not achieve the desired results.

The perfect foil for this situation is to readily admit it, berate yourself and your story equally, and start making fun of somebody else in the group.

The awkward moment when you have started a story which you originally thought was hilarious only to find halfway that it will not achieve the desired results.

The perfect foil for this situation is to readily admit it, berate yourself and your story equally, and start making fun of somebody else in the group.

As Dara O'Briain (Irish Comedian) explained in one of his stand ups, it's these moments where people often use the phrase '... You had to be there', as a get out clause for a 'funny story' fail.

Yup. I use this trick all the time. You just have to say "Oh damn, I really f*cked that story up." And then they all laugh, and think you're awesome again.

When someone is telling a story, and you are half zoned-out. All of a sudden, you hear something that sounds like a joke/funny part, and then you instinctively laugh. Except, you soon realize that it wasn't a joke, and nobody else is laughing. Then, everyone in the group, including the storyteller, looks at you. Very awkward.

My parents wanted to add me on FB too. I was like, "Aww man. I can't do that!"

You see, I have some very weird friends like AFFL :zoni

So, I just created another account and added them on there instead. Now, everyone is happy :D.

Lol why didn't I ever think of that?

Finally, I can get rid of my parents on my Facebook account :D

When you go to Pakistan and speak to your relatives in half assed Urdu because they can't understand English and you were not brought up to speak Urdu.

When you engage in such an absorbing conversation with you friends on the street that you forget about everything around you and bump into a lampost! Everyone stares at you.

When you call the wrong person (duplicate names) and only realise when they pick up ... Then try to act as if it was legit.

When a friend starts are rumour about you in your social group (aka he likes so-and-so) and it spreads around the whole college :facepalm:

Yup. I use this trick all the time. You just have to say "Oh damn, I really f*cked that story up." And then they all laugh, and think you're awesome again.

When someone is telling a story, and you are half zoned-out. All of a sudden, you hear something that sounds like a joke/funny part, and then you instinctively laugh. Except, you soon realize that it wasn't a joke, and nobody else is laughing. Then, everyone in the group, including the storyteller, looks at you. Very awkward.

Gujar and chaiwala, we seem to be kindred souls in the awkward stakes.

That "had to be there" works all the time as well.

When you're at a party or restaurant and just when you swear or say something completely inappropriate, the rest of the party/restaurant seems to have shut up. Cricket noises ensue.

When you call on your friend's cell phone and when he answers, you swear at him.

A few seconds later, you find out the person who answered the phone is his dad.

When you call the wrong person (duplicate names) and only realise when they pick up ... Then try to act as if it was legit.

this has happened to me quite a few times :))) once , i actually had been avoiding the person i called :)))

When you cause the toilet to overflow at someone else's house. To my knowledge, there is no good way to respond to this situation.

Interesting. The only thing I can think of to difuse that situation is to blame that persons food for causing this reaction within you.

When you call on your friend's cell phone and when he answers, you swear at him.

A few seconds later, you find out the person who answered the phone is his dad.

This is quite common especially with those people who just start the convo with

"abey saale......."

:yk

When you cause the toilet to overflow at someone else's house. To my knowledge, there is no good way to respond to this situation.

then what u do is.............become sneeky..........don't let anybody know u were in the bathroom in the first place....

and while exiting bathroom, look around to see nobody's been watching u:zoni

then what u do is.............become sneeky..........don't let anybody know u were in the bathroom in the first place....

and while exiting bathroom, look around to see nobody's been watching u:zoni

It seems that you're quite familiar with this situation. :P

Interesting. The only thing I can think of to difuse that situation is to blame that persons food for causing this reaction within you.

Yes, that would remove the awkwardness from the situation, and replace it with confrontation.

Looks like LethalSami has a viable solution also. :13:

When your best mate calls you while driving, and you put him on speaker, and he greets you with his usual "abhay haramdiye chootar singh teri b**d kaysi hai?!"

...and then you have to somehow tell him that your wife is sitting in the car with you.

When the doctor touches your sides and by doing so tickling you so you smile while you are going through a cavity check when your mom is in the same room.

I once, when i was 7/8 was in someones bathroom and then i wasn't able to open the lock so they pretty much had to destroy the door only to find out I was pulling the wrocng way.
"you had to be there

I once, when i was 7/8 was in someones bathroom and then i wasn't able to open the lock so they pretty much had to destroy the door only to find out I was pulling the wrocng way.
"you had to be there

I can understand...happened to me also

When you're talking to someone you're not so familiar with and mishear what they say, but instead of asking them to repeat it, you just magically assume they must have made the funniest remark in history and laugh out loud to make them feel good.

Only to find out they've told you their dad died.

Deal breaker!

Oh God, this happened to me a month ago, and I felt like slapping myself! The guy is a sort of happy, cheerful guy and I assumed he said something funny, so I laughed. Then he said 'I'm serious' and I was like,'I'm sorry, what?' He then repeated that since we last met at Christmas, both his parents had died. What was even worse was that his dad had died just the week before so all the emotion must have been raw.

It's one of those moments you think, I wish I could reverse time and undo that!

When you give a love letter to a girl and she never replied back. Somehow you still bump into her but walk away looking down or pretend to be on the phone and walk away.

haha that's hilarious!

How about when your brother finds a love note you were contemplating on giving to the girl you liked. (High School)

When your uncle introduces you to his nice fit daughter.

the awkward moment.. when you poke a girl on facebook, and send a few messages in her inbox telling how beautiful she is, how you have a crush on her..pour ur heart out..then find out its a fake profile created by your friends who pulled a prank on you..

the awkward moment.. when a poke a girl on facebook, and send a few messages in her inbox telling how beautiful she is, how you have a crush on her..pour ur heart out..then find out its a fake profile created by your friends who pulled a prank on you..

lol! When your dad catches you checking out a girl's profile pictures on FB and he asks you what you are doing.

The most embarrassing experience for me was when I was sitting on the train and it was a girl on the opposite side. I was maybe 14-15 years. She stared constantly at me (which I imagine) and I had no guts to fight it out and went off at a station way before my real destination :facepalm:

Oh God, this happened to me a month ago, and I felt like slapping myself! The guy is a sort of happy, cheerful guy and I assumed he said something funny, so I laughed. Then he said 'I'm serious' and I was like,'I'm sorry, what?' He then repeated that since we last met at Christmas, both his parents had died. What was even worse was that his dad had died just the week before so all the emotion must have been raw.

It's one of those moments you think, I wish I could reverse time and undo that!

Serious?

The 'dad died' part of my 'awkward moment' was an embellishment for comic effect.

But damn son! Lol.

Awkward moment..when you see some of your female classmates leave the room before X's presentation and you can feel the prof's gaze on you but you're not really sure why? and you're confused only to look up and see X giving a presentation on condoms :facepalm: a detailed presentation *double facepalm*

..when you wish your Emarati classmate Eid Mubarak and notice she's not put any henna so you ask her why and she, very sadly, informs you, '..baba passed away' and you then go inna lillahi..and offer your condolences and prayers for the deceased, sabr for the family only to realize that she's gone quiet and has an amused look on her face and then you hear her say, 'baba Zayed..' [she meant Sheikh Zayed], God! I was torn between laughter and embarrassment!

Awkward moment..when you see some of your female classmates leave the room before X's presentation and you can feel the prof's gaze on you but you're not really sure why? and you're confused only to look up and see X giving a presentation on condoms :facepalm: a detailed presentation *double facepalm*

..when you wish your Emarati classmate Eid Mubarak and notice she's not put any henna so you ask her why and she, very sadly, informs you, '..baba passed away' and you then go inna lillahi..and offer your condolences and prayers for the deceased, sabr for the family only to realize that she's gone quiet and has an amused look on her face and then you hear her say, 'baba Zayed..' [she meant Sheikh Zayed], God! I was torn between laughter and embarrassment!

hehe...

the awkward moment when ur at a shaadi and u like a girl and stare at her till she realizes she's being stared at and she stares and smiles back... until u realize ur naara is stickin out of ur shalwar kameez..and u move to another section of the shaadi to avoid her

The awkward moment when Bangladeshis actually think their team is good

the awkward moment when ur at a shaadi and u like a girl and stare at her till she realizes she's being stared at and she stares and smiles back... until u realize ur naara is stickin out of ur shalwar kameez..and u move to another section of the shaadi to avoid her

Can't be serious. :facepalm:

The awkward moment when Bangladeshis actually think their team is good

That's true ... I can't believe I end up arguing with Bangladeshis over how terrible their team is. Their love for Shakib and Tamim :facepalm:

How about the awkward moment Indians think their team is good :yk

when Indian Pper's claim that they have a PHAAAST bowler :akhtar

but in reality they meant to say a 80 MPH tundler :nehra

When you're sitting at the dining table and you kick someone by mistake, and you don't know who you kicked.

A corollary to this:

When you are sitting at a table, and you start rubbing someone's leg because you think it's the table leg.

When you are the first person to arrive at a party. Until the others arrive, awkwardness ensues with the host.

A corollary:
When you invite a white person to your desi party, and he is the only person to arrive on time. Again, the 30-45 min. you spend alone with him is sheer awkwardness.

when you are sitting at your desk at school and your foot finds its way to someone elses foot but you don't realise because you did it subconciously and then they move their foot away

when you get to a party and the hosts are still shopping?!

the awkward moment when your mom finds Marlboro lights box in your suitcase, and the awkward explanation that it's not mine..it's for a friend

The awkward moment when you blame shaytan...and then remember its Ramadan

^ :))

When your twin brother's wife is over at your place the first time, and you are with all your mates, and decide the best thing to do is to show her an episode of Louie (Louis CK) - that awkward moment when you realise your sense of humour consists entirely of c*ck and ball jokes.

That's true ... I can't believe I end up arguing with Bangladeshis over how terrible their team is. Their love for Shakib and Tamim :facepalm:

^ :)))

Dude it's out of control delusional ... we think Equinox here gets a bit excited but on their own banglacricket.com forums they talk it up as if they're one of the world cricket powerhouses :azhar

lol :))....You're something,Foozee...:))

When you pull up outside your friend's house late at night and unbeknown to you, a local whore approaches your car, to offer you her services. At the same time all the uncle cab drivers you know seem to drive past and see you seemingly in intense negotiations.

^ LOL - But maybe you could turn the table on them and imply that they might be treading down that same road..

When someone you recognise from school/college suddenly comes on the train and recognises you but keeps quiet and resorts to the occasional glance, hoping to not make eye contact.

:)) This has happened to me a few times!

When you're watching something on tv which you think is totally appropriate but then at the EXACT moment a parent walks in, something entirely inappropriate happens! I have Virgin Media so there's a one/two second delay from when you press the button on the remote to change the channel to when the channel actually changes, so there is no avoiding the parent seeing what's on screen!

When you pull up outside your friend's house late at night and unbeknown to you, a local whore approaches your car, to offer you her services. At the same time all the uncle cab drivers you know seem to drive past and see you seemingly in intense negotiations.

When you meet someone that somehow remembers your name but you have completely drawn a blank. And at that precise moment your mind decides not to play it safe and "give it a go" and call someone Daphne. Daphne?! Who even has that name still?

(btw - still don't remember the real name)

:)) This has happened to me a few times!

When you're watching something on tv which you think is totally appropriate but then at the EXACT moment a parent walks in, something entirely inappropriate happens! I have Virgin Media so there's a one/two second delay from when you press the button on the remote to change the channel and the channel actually changes, so there is no avoiding the parent seeing what's on screen!

That was a massive downside to Virgin Media, that delay felt like a lifetime during those moments you mentioned - glad I have Sky now, far quicker

When Eminem's Under the Influence ringtone is blaring during a prayer in the Masjid.

Doubly awkward if you actually know his lyrics and start singing along in your mind.

The awkward momnt when you go to shake a auntie wearing a hijabs hand she just ignores you. :facepalm:

It was infront of my friend aswell. :facepalm: :facepalm:

The awkward moment when you don't realise you're a bit too old and go in to say salam to the aunties who used to peck you on the cheek and look moderately deranged with your cheek poking out