Azhar Ali's performance in ODIs since Jan 1, 2016

Absolutely awful ODI batsman. Wouldn't be in a minnow ODI team. Same with shehzad.

Well, I guess the point of the Pakistan cup was for players to score runs/take wickets and put themselves in contention for Champions Trophy. He must have had a great Pakistan Cup. Oh hang on never mind he didn't even play in it cos he has been playing in WI and hasn't even done anything memorable there ***. I am disgusted

I've no idea why Azhar was dropped for WI series if the plan was to reintroduce him for the CT.

Yes Azhar started fairly well in ODIs bashing Zimbabwe and Sri Lankan attacks but his limitations were found out against stronger bowling attacks.

He's an excellent Test player, just leave him there FGS as this isn't his format.

Because Azhar has to see off new ball and keep one end safe to ensure that Pakistan safely crosses 240 runs in 50 overs which the opposition team chases in 40 overs.

I would accept this mediocrity if his SR was high. But its not even 75.

What is his recent domestic record? Oh wait he didn't play.

Has to be up there as one of the worst selections of all time after Anwar Ali.

Pakistan domestic tournaments are a waste of time.

Inzi is a disgrace. Horrible squad..but not surprised.

We will be discussing new TTF's ten yrs down the line. Corruption rules.

Dont worry we need his steady hand at the top given English conditions :inzi

It's like the England that exists in Pakistani selectors minds is a foggy seaming headingly where everyone is freezing to death on the field trying to keep warm and mark ealham/terry alderman type bowlers are terrorizing batsmen. Never mind the reality that we got smashed for 400 odd runs last year

:91: :91: :91: :91:

Alan Mullally and Andy Caddick getting some seam action with 7 slips :91:

More like flatter than flat phattas, we are going to get roasted for 450.

most Ex Pakistani players have no ability to look beyond their own playing time. I honestly think its symptom of seniority culture. 'If it was like that back in my day, its still like that'

Its also why 90s approach to ODIs is still considered the gold standard.I think it was basit ali who recently was saying Pakistan need to conserve wickets better

People don't read Azhar's stats carefully.

Just like Malik & Hafeez he has a common issue.

His Odi record against minnows has been great. While his record against top bowling line ups has been average.

Averages 48 against Zim & SL and 70 against BD.

[MENTION=139288]Abdul[/MENTION] bhaee can shed some light.

His Odi record against minnows has been great. While his record against top bowling line ups has been average.

Misbah Ul Haq aur Inzi Sahab ko bhe yeh batao Bhai.

There are differences between the players you've mentioned.

Hafeez is a choker, plus he has major problems against lateral movement. Additionally, he tends to start very slow and is then susceptible to play a bad shot or two if he doesn't get going.

Malik has problems against quality pace and lateral movement. He will largely do well against medium pacers and spinners and can get away with his weaknesses because of his position in the middle order.

Azhar simply doesn't have the range of shots to succeed against better sides. Against mediocre teams, he can do well because the bowling simply won't be tight enough and he will find a way to get runs. Against better attacks, he will struggle to score runs in that manner and will usually be forced to throw his wicket away. Unlike the other two, he can survive if the situation requires it, but that doesn't really work in ODIs. Thus, Malik (due to his batting against spin) and Hafeez (due to his range of shots) are still probably better suited to ODI cricket than he is.

They're all different, but ideally none of them should be in a modern ODI team that is competing for titles.

I would accept this mediocrity if his SR was high. But its not even 75.

What is his recent domestic record? Oh wait he didn't play.

Has to be up there as one of the worst selections of all time after Anwar Ali.

oh, I see, on the other thread, you were saying you don't want the batsman with the highest strike rate in the ongoing Pakistan cup, and now crying about Azhar's strike rate and lack of match practice.
You got one of your foot in one ship and other foot on the other ship, you are gonna get drowned when ships will sail. Just like you got ridiculed in the naming and shaming thread.
Don't try to belittle domestic performers if the guys in the team are already garbage level batsmen.
Inzi was unfair with this selection there were at least a few other players who deserved to be selected based on current form in the Pakistan cup.