'Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan are not going to win Pakistan tournaments': Aaqib Javed

Regardless of how our batsmen do at the World Cup, you are incredibly over-rating prowess of Woakes and Jordan as T20 cricketers

Sam Curran was a first choice for England for the World Cup until he got injured and got replaced. Also, just to update your cricketing ‘knowledge’, Luke Wood is quicker than Woakes and Jordan :))

We really should have an IQ filter for some posts here. Reading such rubbish is as bad as enduring Khushdil Shah.

Another thing I never said Luke Wood is quicker than anyone read properly before making up things I said he’s a newcomer when you have 2 trundlers and a newcomer it’s obviously easier to score look how a bit of bounce exposes our batsmen.

The openers got out early and now the rest of the batting is showing what they can do.

Aqib please tell me more about how many trophies Pakistan can win if it only wasn't for Babar and Rizwan holding us back :)))

Sharjeel should come in a Rikishi thong and twerk for his biggest fans, I don’t know what else he would do? maybe he can twerk as a cheer leader every time Babar/Ris hit a boundary. apparently, Sharjeel and Sam Ayuib deserve the 2 of America's most wanted song for their entrance, more like Funaki’s theme. If there are two bad bad men in Pak cricket, it would have to be Babar and Riswan - All Eyez on Them :akhtar

LOL. The same fans who are jumping and cheering Saim Ayub right now will turn on him viciously once he plays for Pakistan and scores 15 of 24 on debut. Not saying he won't be good some day but I have seen him bat in the PSL. I don't care how well he does in the NT20 Cup, I am not ready to believe that he is in any way ready to play for Pakistan. Doing well in the NT20 Cup means about as much as winning a match on Sunday Night Heat.

You must have comprehension issues.

Aqib Javed claimed Pakistan won't win tournaments with this opening combo. Please kindly explain what tournament have we won with Babar and Rizwan that has made this ex-cricketer a clown?

FYI I don't rate Aqib Javed's analysis nor his coaching abilities even in the slightest.

Really? Because I think that you have trouble reading beyond the headlines.

He didn't just say that. He said when we play Karachi, we try not to get Babar out because we know he can't do much damage to us because of the way he bats.

The line that you are defending is actually just as idiotic. Because both Babar and Rizwan are in their prime. They still have plenty of time to win trophies for Pakistan. It's not like they are 35...in the twilight of their careers.

But you can stick to reading the headlines I guess...

This was a second string England bowling attack bowling with dew. Nothing to get too excited about.

Also, if I was you, I'd be the last person to call someone deluded based on your recent garbage.

Do I need to remind you of when you said "Joe Root isn't fit to tie Kane Williamson's shoelaces"? If you had any shred of credibility you'd accept you were horribly way off the mark on this one.

But the one that takes the cake is you opting for Misbah over Wasim Akram if you had the choice of having one of these players in your side :))

You just know someone has completely exposed themself and is trying to deflect attention when they start referencing things you said on other threads 5/6 something months ago.

But like I said, your opinion means about as much to me as a 5-0 ODI series win in Zimbabwe. This is not about your opinion. Rather its about exposing what a clown you are and how little you understand cricket.

And by the looks of it, it seems like I'm not the only one who thinks so...

Shan Masood and Khushdil are hitting Sam Curran with ease but he is one of England’s best bowlers according to people here he’s just a part timer a bowling all rounder bowling medium pace.

Puttar

The response to you will come at a time and place of my choosing

Wait for that response

Aray jani chill, was messing with ya. I respect how you stand your ground despite all the criticism. Will wait for the response ;-)

It's a shame we couldn't savour for longer what Babar and Rizwan did last night, too fast a turn around with these back to back games.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nasser Hussain "why does Rizwan and Babar just lower their strike-rate, it's because they worry about their middle-order and we saw that today" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvEng?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvEng</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1573380782399561729?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 23, 2022</a></blockquote>

That’s not true MenInG it’s because against better bowling their weaknesses are exposed today Mark Wood exposed them with extra pace and bounce at the World Cup other bowlers will aswell similar to what happened in the last 2 tournaments.

Another problem is they never let anyone else have a go opening and drop themselves down the order surely in this series they should experiment it looks like even if Pakistan play Papa New Guinea Babar and Rizwan would open the innings.

Babar and Rizwan should block out the target in mind and think they are chasing 170-180 and bat accordingly in the first 8-10 overs.

If they reach 100-0 in 10 overs then they can really go for it in the last ten. But if they worry about chasing 230 from the beginning, they will put themselves under way too much pressure and risk an early dismissal.

back to reality :snack:

lot of Pakistanis have fish memory; 1 inning these openers play aggressively with real T20 intent and you guys forgot all their previous slow innings which has cost Pakistan again and again? For these openers playing aggressive cricket at top of batting order is an exception and not a rule. Because these openers are just not equipped with the talent of playing aggressively. In 2nd T20 bowling attack was really bad and pitch had become too easy to bat which helps these openers masking their aggressive deficiencies. Does not make them a world beater.

No wonder Sharifs and Zardaris continue to loot Pakistan and still continue to come back as rulers.

Babar and Rizwan should block out the target in mind and think they are chasing 170-180 and bat accordingly in the first 8-10 overs.

If they reach 100-0 in 10 overs then they can really go for it in the last ten. But if they worry about chasing 230 from the beginning, they will put themselves under way too much pressure and risk an early dismissal.

Bhai jaan they were not playing against the MCC standard bowlers from the night before

Reece Topley has taken a 6fer against India’s full line up a few weeks ago

Mark Wood is an established 95mph bowler

You don’t just walk to 100-0 as if it’s Curran, Luke Wood and Willy

back to reality :snack:

lot of Pakistanis have fish memory; 1 inning these openers play aggressively with real T20 intent and you guys forgot all their previous slow innings which has cost Pakistan again and again? For these openers playing aggressive cricket at top of batting order is an exception and not a rule. Because these openers are just not equipped with the talent of playing aggressively. In 2nd T20 bowling attack was really bad and pitch had become too easy to bat which helps these openers masking their aggressive deficiencies. Does not make them a world beater.

No wonder Sharifs and Zardaris continue to loot Pakistan and still continue to come back as rulers.

Satisfying humbling

Fully deserved especially after those arrogant tweets.

Field day for Babar Rizwan promoters.

If they fail, Pakistan fails.

Test for middle order should be 15 overs and a target of 120 to 140 runs.

But Pakistan will test the middle order with 15 overs and 200 runs.

Just goes to show why babar and rizwan are vital

The middle order is full of hacks and cannot be relied on whatsoever

He's right. These two are in the same mould of India's much vaunted top 3 of Dhawan-Rohit-Kohli. Will get the records and stats and every thing in bilaterals and other low profile games but will never be too threatening and clutch to win their team big tournaments.

Atleast India's trio won us a Champion Trophy and a couple of Asia cup trophies , so interesting to see when this duo finally has their moment in the sun. My guess would be... never.

Rizwan play at strike rate of around 50 as an opener while chasing 200+. :facepalm

This boils real Pakistanis blood. Drop this guy for next game and let him know that it is a punishment for your abhorrent act.

He's right. These two are in the same mould of India's much vaunted top 3 of Dhawan-Rohit-Kohli. Will get the records and stats and every thing in bilaterals and other low profile games but will never be too threatening and clutch to win their team big tournaments.

Atleast India's trio won us a Champion Trophy and a couple of Asia cup trophies , so interesting to see when this duo finally has their moment in the sun. My guess would be... never.
Lets not insult Indian batsmen by comparing them to these openers. These openers are too selfish and put their own stats over Pakistan.

Rohit and Kl have established strike rates of 140+

That’s one of the highest in the world

I hope these two continue to prove their haters wrong as they did in 2nd game. People with massive egos but zero understanding of cricket,who come up with new ideas and theories every time they succeed and actually wait for them to fail.

I said "In the mould of". I did not compare anyone or anything.

But to their credit (?), I actually don't think it's selfishness that's holding them back. Babar and Rizwan just do not have the ability to murder quality bowling attacks for 9/10 RPO consistently. Pak could open with Fakhar-Asif Ali and they are more likely to do that a few times over an extended run but not the current pair. Their game is just not built for that.

I hope these two continue to prove their haters wrong as they did in 2nd game. People with massive egos but zero understanding of cricket,who come up with new ideas and theories every time they succeed and actually wait for them to fail.

That's the worse part....people wishing for their own team's players to fail and then to come out celebrating their failure with ''I told you so.''

Says the guys who fat shame and abuse players who contend their position

What happened in the first game this series or in the Asia Cup game vs Afg and SL(1st game).

The middle order has been tested in various situations only to fail almost every single time.

Pakistan batting is in dire straits because of these two gentlemen being so stubborn that they never sit out even from the most meaningless matches. They should have rested today after such a great inning yesterday but they wouldn't.

They are so insecure and possessed about their own stats they Pakistan has failed to do any experimentation both these batters need a break really or go down the order before the world cup but they wouldn't budge.

Pakistan is looking at the first round exit in WC

So continue to fats shame and abuse? But cry when they get questioned?

Its a fact he is overweight and unfit

Thats not fat shaming Its a professional sports n sharjeel isnt fit enough or good enough to play at the highest level

Says the guys who fat shame and abuse players who contend their position

Never.

I may not be a fan of Sharjeel/Umar Akmal etc, but never mocked them for being fat.

However, I'm against their selection because I don't think they offer anything more than the current pool of players.

Also, I feel they don't really value playing for Pakistan enough otherwise they would've surely made an effort to get themselves in proper shape to enhance their chances but clearly they don't care....and imo such players shouldn't be selected over those who are much more dedicated to play for the national side.

But, tomorrow if PCB for some reason decides to select them, I'll always want them to be successful rather than mocking their fans after their failure.

We are talking about T20s here bringing ODIs into it now yeah laughable bringing a different format into it let me know Babars contribution against Australia in the semi final last year and against Sri Lanka at the Asia cup oh wait he made a test century earlier this year we might as well bring tests into it aswell.

He has played one WT20I in his career so far, where he turned out to be the highest run scorer.

One poor Asia Cup doesn't mean anything, when we know that unlike the crap middle order, he will eventually come back to form and win big games for Pakistan.

Yes, let's remember that semi-final, where for once, he failed, and as usual, the rest of the guys were just present to get a free UAE ride.

Its a fact he is overweight and unfit

Thats not fat shaming Its a professional sports n sharjeel isnt fit enough or good enough to play at the highest level

You know cricket and batting better than Inzimam?

Pakistan batting is in dire straits because of these two gentlemen being so stubborn that they never sit out even from the most meaningless matches. They should have rested today after such a great inning yesterday but they wouldn't.

They are so insecure and possessed about their own stats they Pakistan has failed to do any experimentation both these batters need a break really or go down the order before the world cup but they wouldn't budge.

Pakistan is looking at the first round exit in WC

But if you mention the "obvious" you are a Babar and Rizwan hater.

They must play every match.

Uganda included.

The next National T20 cup should be target based so that:

1) Bowler who bowls the most number of yorkers and maintains a decent economy is guaranteed selection in the next T20I series at the expense of the worst bowler in the previous series,

2) Batsman who hits the most sixes and maintains a healthy average is guaranteed selection in the next T20I series at the expense of the worst batsman in the previous series.

3) (optional) Top all-rounder is guaranteed selection in the next T20I series at the expense of the worst all-rounder in the previous series.

He has played one WT20I in his career so far, where he turned out to be the highest run scorer.

One poor Asia Cup doesn't mean anything, when we know that unlike the crap middle order, he will eventually come back to form and win big games for Pakistan.

Yes, let's remember that semi-final, where for once, he failed, and as usual, the rest of the guys were just present to get a free UAE ride.

No they weren’t Fakhar actually played a match winning innings Babar the opposite couldn’t score quickly then got out wasting balls similar to what Rizwan did in the Asia Cup both big reasons for the losses.

Not to worry they will come good in Australia won’t they I mean come on if they haven’t done so in favourable conditions in UAE how do you expect them to win Pakistan matches in Australia.

I remember Sharjeel Khan in the 2016 ODI and T-20 series regularly scored runs freely of Mark Wood and he loved the extra pace.

I also remember Shoaib Akhtar bowling fast in 2005 or Ahmed Shehzad and Unar Akmal smashing bowling around 10 years ago.

Times have changed, nostalgia will turn to embarrassment once people’s favourites get reselected and exposed.

Lots of personal attacks in this thread

1. Dont do it again
2. Do it again and you may have to sit out the discussions for a good few weeks

Think carefully before posting in this thread

You just know someone has completely exposed themself and is trying to deflect attention when they start referencing things you said on other threads 5/6 something months ago.

But like I said, your opinion means about as much to me as a 5-0 ODI series win in Zimbabwe. This is not about your opinion. Rather its about exposing what a clown you are and how little you understand cricket.

And by the looks of it, it seems like I'm not the only one who thinks so...

Funny you mention that. You're known as deadwood because of your dead posts on here :))

You don’t win tournaments with only a couple of batsmen. Do you expect them to stay not out in every game? Is it really so difficult to understand?
They are the most prolific opening pair ever in t20is. Won Pakistan so many games almost on their own

Never mentioned or implied that.

The fact of the matter is they duo cost Pakistan the Asia Cup and the WT20 semi last year because of their sluggish batting.

Rizwan and Babar have nothing left to prove to anyone. Rizwan in particular has delivered so many tight slaps to his doubters over the past 2 years that he is surely bored of it now.

A mediocre cricketing nation like Pakistan has no right to demand any high stakes deliverance or phainty against the best bowling attacks in the world. Your made up conditions mean nothing except to clearly highlight your continuing insecurity and trouble accepting that you were wrong.

You assume wrong.

I'm still hurt by the fact that we lost the Asia Cup final to an inferior side. Babar's batting during the tournament was poor. Rizwan wasn't much better either. He slowed Pakistan down in both of the India games and also in the final. Nawaz saved his skin when India got beaten in the second encounter.

To claim Rizwan and Babar has nothing left to prove is an astonishing thing to say for two reasons because the duo were responsible for the losses in the Asia Cup final and last year's WT20 semi due to their sluggish batting.

It's funny how the green tinted hype brigade went all bhangra after the 200+ chase win against a lower standard of bowling (+ dew). When England strengthened their bowling by bringing in Mark Wood and Reece Topley, it didn't take long for our batsmen to look like like fish out of water.

The next National T20 cup should be target based so that:

1) Bowler who bowls the most number of yorkers and maintains a decent economy is guaranteed selection in the next T20I series at the expense of the worst bowler in the previous series,

2) Batsman who hits the most sixes and maintains a healthy average is guaranteed selection in the next T20I series at the expense of the worst batsman in the previous series.

3) (optional) Top all-rounder is guaranteed selection in the next T20I series at the expense of the worst all-rounder in the previous series.

The best performers are already playing lol. Iftikhar was MVP in 2021 :))

There are new bests now, aren't there? With our rubbish system, we will continue to depend on miracles and raw talent to win us matches. The best way to ensure miracles happen more frequently is trial and error.

Promise selection to top performers in National Cup 2023, if they fail to shine, replace them with the top performers in the next cup. Simple rotation policy.

There are new bests now, aren't there? With our rubbish system, we will continue to depend on miracles and raw talent to win us matches. The best way to ensure miracles happen more frequently is trial and error.

Promise selection to top performers in National Cup 2023, if they fail to shine, replace them with the top performers in the next cup. Simple rotation policy.

Do things change that significantly in a year? In any case Iftikhar has been topping domestic run charts for a long time and will probably go back to domestics and do the same again.

Useless players can deceptively get lucky or be in form for a few matches. If Kamran Akmal smashes domestic bowlers for one tournament you really want to select him on that basis? Seems crazy to me.

Do things change that significantly in a year? In any case Iftikhar has been topping domestic run charts for a long time and will probably go back to domestics and do the same again.

Useless players can deceptively get lucky or be in form for a few matches. If Kamran Akmal smashes domestic bowlers for one tournament you really want to select him on that basis? Seems crazy to me.

Trial and error doesn't mean you try the same player who failed. PCB needs to introduce a new type of contract called "Dispensable Category" where top domestic performers (who are not already in the team) are added and removed swiftly and without intimation. But none of this will happen and we are just debating hypotheticals here.

Both our country and team are run on humanity-first principles instead of progress-first. If a player is dropped after just one year, knives will come out and analysts will claim "if a player is not sure of his place in the side, his confidence will shatter and he will underperform" like they did for Usman Qadir in the post-match show, not realizing that is the grand stage the fact that it shatters his confidence is a testament to how timid he is.

I said "In the mould of". I did not compare anyone or anything.

But to their credit (?), I actually don't think it's selfishness that's holding them back. Babar and Rizwan just do not have the ability to murder quality bowling attacks for 9/10 RPO consistently. Pak could open with Fakhar-Asif Ali and they are more likely to do that a few times over an extended run but not the current pair. Their game is just not built for that.

Agreed that these openers just do not have the ability to play aggressively. But they are selfish also in the sense that they know Pakistan has better T20 openers in Sharjeel and Fakhar but these openers continue to hold on to openers position disregarding Pakistan's interests and putting their personal stats interests above Pakistan's interests. If they had Pakistan's interest at heart they would have told team management that we should not be opening in T20s.

This Rizwan is something. Hard to achieve consistency in this format. Very few have done that. Rizwan is becoming one of them.

Again this partnership provided a great start on a low and slow pitch. 100/0 in 12 overs any team in the world would take it happily. Pak made a mistake sending in Masood after Babar.

Kaisa bowler hai yeh, he doesn't even know that it's bowlers that win tournaments not batters

Agreed that these openers just do not have the ability to play aggressively. But they are selfish also in the sense that they know Pakistan has better T20 openers in Sharjeel and Fakhar but these openers continue to hold on to openers position disregarding Pakistan's interests and putting their personal stats interests above Pakistan's interests. If they had Pakistan's interest at heart they would have told team management that we should not be opening in T20s.

Rizwan wouldn’t be opening had not fakhar’s poor performance as an opener. Rizwan took his place as all of a sudden he was consistently putting up runs. Fakhar has had 50 games as an opener and still not delivered. If Rizwan returned that same performance over so many games he’d probably be dropped.

Sharjeel isn’t in the team because of his fixing involvement. Had he not fixed he still would have been an opener (had he continued performing).

Sharjeel definitely didn’t have Pakistan’s best interests at heart when he chose to fix.

I’m sure Babar himself would consider dropping down if Fakhar was worth it. But a guy averaging 22 at sr 130 isn’t nowhere near Babar’s record. He’s not going to want to risk his form for that performance, it will hurt the team more if he loses form at 3.

Poor batting by the duo. To consume 15 overs playing at a strike rate of 130. Where is the acceleration?

Very apt screename you have. Babar's limitations were on display today, he was stuck at the crease and going nowhere. Then Shan was sent out and somehow did even worse. We shouldn't be having to learn such costly lessons this close to a WC.

Thankfully Rizwan bailed us out again and it's crazy how much he keeps performing. He is the best t20 batsman in the world right now.

Aqib is correct - only the bowlers are capable of winning tournaments for Pak

Very apt screename you have. Babar's limitations were on display today, he was stuck at the crease and going nowhere. Then Shan was sent out and somehow did even worse. We shouldn't be having to learn such costly lessons this close to a WC.

Thankfully Rizwan bailed us out again and it's crazy how much he keeps performing. He is the best t20 batsman in the world right now.

rizwan bailed us out??? are you kidding me??

asif ali's two sixes bailed us out.

please give credit where its due.

rizwan bailed us out??? are you kidding me??

asif ali's two sixes bailed us out.

please give credit where its due.

He won’t.

He is an ardent Rizwan defender here. The whole world could be wrong, but not Rizwan according to them

Asif 2 sixes helped however Rizwan made a good contribution and without his contribution Pakistan would have score 120 max

Myth

They would have made 160ish like the day before. It’s not very hard to make 160 with this line up that we have if we bat 20 overs. Shan doesn’t get out and doesn’t hurt you much. Khushdil loves to take his time. Chacha isn’t too bad either.

Asif 2 sixes helped however Rizwan made a good contribution and without his contribution Pakistan would have score 120 max

LMAO if youre playing half the balls in an innings, you need to score a 100 plus score - maybe 100-110 not 88 off 67

If hes playing 67 balls, he needs to score atleast 115 in my opinion. Thats a good 25-30 runs short.

there was NO acceleration by rizwan

LMAO if youre playing half the balls in an innings, you need to score a 100 plus score - maybe 100-110 not 88 off 67

If hes playing 67 balls, he needs to score atleast 115 in my opinion. Thats a good 25-30 runs short.

there was NO acceleration by rizwan

Didn’t even try to go against England’s plan for him. No attempts to make space and go over or through the off side! Tried to hit every ball by the leg spinner towards cow and deep square (against the spin).

But everything will be forgotten because his average and runs will be boosted by his innings today

Didn’t even try to go against England’s plan for him. No attempts to make space and go over or through the off side! Tried to hit every ball by the leg spinner towards cow and deep square (against the spin).

But everything will be forgotten because his average and runs will be boosted by his innings today

I’m someone who’s come to come to appreciate Rizzy. However even I thought his innings became a real problem in the latter half.

I genuinely need to see him atleast try some other shots. The reverse sweep is right there. The inside out is an option. It’s why, after the tenth over I just need to see Rizwan just go hell for leather. That way atleast he gets out quickly and gives others a go.

Also, I absolutely don’t think this is a selfishness issue as it is a restricted ability issue.

Rizwan desperately needs to improve his off side play. Teams dry up his big shots on the leg side via men on the boundary. He needs to try to play the inside out shot on the off side or try to create room and play a cut shot over the off side.

Big teams (main bowlers) will take a note of Rizwan’s poor off side game.

Babar is worst player to play T20's if he was in any other team nobody would consider playing him but here in Pakistan not only he plays all the games but majority of the people actually believe that he's the best T20 batter in the world.

Don't get me wrong he's a fabulous player as far as ODI is concerned & above average player as far as tests are concerned but in T20's he's so bad.