Batting Tips [Merged]

6hitter said:
you guys have been ll talking about pace bowling. What about spin?

Tera Allah Maalik hai. Saari tips batting ki thi aur yeh bowling ko le ke roh raha hai

Batting tips

What techniques do you batsmen use to determine the length of a delivery, because I feel this is the most important part about choosing your shot and footwork, should you be getting your feet in the right place before you swing your bat, or should it be one motion? I feel i lose concentration when im thinking about my footwork too much and it causes pre-meditation, which is too risky, and I end up being too defensive too. Also, when you are trying to get to the pitch of the ball, what is the ideal placement of your left foot (right handed batsmen) when say going for a cover drive, again, I find it hard to pull off an attacking shot with bat and pad too close together, should there be a bigger gap if your trying to hit rather than defend?

This is for when facing local, club level bowlers, i think at this level where bowlers are so inconsistent it's hard work trying to move around the crease, so should that be ditched for small step forward/backward and smash?

Other tips on improving one's batting would be appreciated too :misbah

AtifUk said:
What techniques do you batsmen use to determine the length of a delivery, because I feel this is the most important part about choosing your shot and footwork, should you be getting your feet in the right place before you swing your bat, or should it be one motion?

Ur footwork should be in place before u play the shot, it should be back or forward, decisive and quick, no playing from the crease.

AtifUk said:
I feel i lose concentration when im thinking about my footwork too much and it causes pre-meditation, which is too risky, and I end up being too defensive too. Also, when you are trying to get to the pitch of the ball, what is the ideal placement of your left foot (right handed batsmen) when say going for a cover drive, again, I find it hard to pull off an attacking shot with bat and pad too close together, should there be a bigger gap if your trying to hit rather than defend?

Ur foot should be inside the ball and no there shouldnt be a bigger gap then when u are defending, always try and stay tight when defending or attacking and no playing away from ur body

I think the reason for ur lack of attacking batsmenship is ur footwork, if its not decisive, if u dont get a big stride forward for eg u wont have that momentum going forward that ll help with execution

Thanks for the tips.

But the problem remains, that if i wait to see the length of the ball im too late to be getting in place to be able to play a shot, Whats the quickest way to pick up the balls length, surely its not 100% reflexes, other techniques are involved.

AtifUk said:
Thanks for the tips.

But the problem remains, that if i wait to see the length of the ball im too late to be getting in place to be able to play a shot, Whats the quickest way to pick up the balls length, surely its not 100% reflexes, other techniques are involved.

Well i dont think there is a great science to it, u see the line and length and move accordingly back or forward, its all judged during flight of the ball

round about a third of the way down u should know if its a full or short delivery as a result u should start moving now to get into position, the line will allow u to determine what shot is to be played ie if its short outside off u play the cut, if its straight at ur body the backfoot defence/pull but ur commitment comes in last third when u have acsertained any movements / swing /spin

This is why uve got to watch the ball all the way from release to more or less when it hits ur bat

Batting Tips

I'm sure we all know the basics of batting. However, I created this thread so we post tips in order to improve our batting.

Tell us what you did differently which clicked your batting.

Be honest, it can help everyone become a good batsman by following your tips.

What changed my game in batting:

During my first season in league, I used to spend 40% of my attention looking at the bowler steaming in and not focus fully on the ball.

I figured its definitely my mental problem as my technique was pretty much correct as far as my batting is concerned. During the second season's practice sessions, I told myself.. You know what, I'm just going to look at the ball and ignore who is bowling.. Now, whenever the bowler comes onto ball, I literally pay no attention to the bowler and just look at the red shiny ball..

This has definitely helped me! It took me a pretty long time to mentally prepare myself for this, but it definitely works..!

Tell us what changed your batting, I will definitely use your tips when I bat next season.

Thank you!

I'm a Sehwag type batsman. No foot movement, I just stand and deliver myself back to the pavilion.

Bowling wise I'm okayish.

Also people, please tell us how you prepare yourself in the nets with the bat. What is your main focus in the nets?

I prepare myself by not worrying who is bowling.

My main focus is to look at the ball as closely as possible till the end.

A lot of international batsman say when you see a fast bowler rushing in, best not to focus on the bowler, just lift your head up close to when he's going to release the ball (rather than at the start of the run up). Makes it less intimidating.

So wouldn't completely ignore the bowler. But hey whatever works for you.

Also I learnt to play spin late. Being a bit more confident against them helped a bit.

^Good thing you brought spin. Whenever I play spinner, I play him as if he's a medium pace bowler who is bowling with the new ball.. I know it's pretty weird but it has proved well so far

Great thread Umar bhai :14:

I will be totally honest here.

I started playing 'proper' cricket in 2009 and in that season I was miserable, horrible dreadful etc (whatever you wish to call) and the problems I had when I look back were (on which I have worked and come long way);

1. My technique was horrible as throughout my life I played tape ball cricket and I was like a slogger who would go after every ball.
2. As you mentioned I would look at the bowler but not the ball, it was not that I was scared of the bowler or ball but I never paid attention to the ball.
3. Biggest problem was my stance (eg head was not still, eyes weren't levelled etc) was not correct and I would not be in proper position to face bowler.

In 2010 I went to Pakistan for two months so didn't play for much but 1 & 2 from above were still there while I had worked over number 3. What I did with 3 was that I took better guard now middle stump and most important my bat was over offstump/wicketkeeper/first slip. Before I would have it on ground like tapeball.

So that was a big change.

So in 2011 I again went to Pakistan BUT but had worked on all three of above flaws and I was now a much better batsman, however, I brought something new to my batting which was;

- Trigger movement/shuffle.

Nearly everyone in my club has it and it works for them so they recommended me to do that as well so I did that and used that throughout 2011 season and pre-season but I was having issues and they were;

1. My balance was not correct, I mean after playing a shot I would not be balanced.
2. I was not leaning with the head (you have to lean with your head first)

So I learnt this around end of June and that end of my 2011 season as I left for Pakistan in July and when I came back it was Ramadhan etc so yesterday I was at nets with couple of PPers and what I did was that I had a firm stance (meaning no shuffle/trigger movement) and my balance was a lot better, since I was playing after couple of months I was rusty but my balance had significantly improved, watching the ball leave from start of bowlers runup and more importantly leaning with my head and transferring weight on my front leg getting better balance etc all made a big difference and I could feel it. With more practice I will come over it soon InshAllah.

So in summary what most important and helped me long way are;

- Leaning with head.
- Transferring weight on front foot.
- Watching the ball all the way from bowlers hand.
- Getting front foot in pitch of ball
- Still head with eyes level

This is what I did and my batting significantly improved from 2009 BUT its not necessary that what works for me would work for me, as I earlier said trigger movement works for my team mates but doesn't work for me at all! However, the above ones are very important and must for a batsman.

Guard is very important too, I recommend and would say taking guard on middle stump works for me because that way I can play on both off and legside, I won't be restricted to one particular side.

Also people, please tell us how you prepare yourself in the nets with the bat. What is your main focus in the nets?

In nets I try to mentally prepare myself that for example if its for 10 minutes then for first five minutes I will just watch the ball and defend everything so once my eyes have settled and I can see ball better then I will open and explore my shots.

I am trying to do this myself too but sometimes I am victim of it.

Another important thing I would say is how you grip your bat, when I started off in 2009 I was not gripping bat properly. Now the way I grip the bat is perfect for me, my bottom hand is an inch higher than the shoulder region which works for me.

What helped me most was the throw downs in the nets. I would get someone to just throw the balls on my pads really fast from half way down the pitch. I would bat for half hour minimum. After about 10 minutes or so I started timing the ball nice and everything would come from the middle. Then I used to be more confident during the actual games.

If you need to improve your timing then everyday I would say bounce the ball on your bat everyday for ten minutes, that improves your timing and watching the ball.

As kkmix bhai said throwdowns help you significantly they are most helpful, the nets for 5/10/15 minutes aren't really going to improve your batting, throw downs are the best and after that bowling machine is good.

CD - I will see you very soon. You escaped my bowling yesterday.

I will york you and destroy your tekneeq :yk

He wore a chest guard and I think I hit him once on his legs :asadrauf

Chest guards ?! :facepalm:

I have never worn that nor I will, I feel proud of this because Pakistani's don't roll like that :)

.......we aren't Indians :ganguly ;-)

Thank you for the tips CD, I will definitely use them however one problem I face is facing a leg stump half volley or a leg stump yorker or trying to play one down fine on the leg side. I always miss the ball there. Any suggestions?

Great thread Umar bhai :14:

I will be totally honest here.

I started playing 'proper' cricket in 2009 and in that season I was miserable, horrible dreadful etc (whatever you wish to call) and the problems I had when I look back were (on which I have worked and come long way);

1. My technique was horrible as throughout my life I played tape ball cricket and I was like a slogger who would go after every ball.
2. As you mentioned I would look at the bowler but not the ball, it was not that I was scared of the bowler or ball but I never paid attention to the ball.
3. Biggest problem was my stance (eg head was not still, eyes weren't levelled etc) was not correct and I would not be in proper position to face bowler.

In 2010 I went to Pakistan for two months so didn't play for much but 1 & 2 from above were still there while I had worked over number 3. What I did with 3 was that I took better guard now middle stump and most important my bat was over offstump/wicketkeeper/first slip. Before I would have it on ground like tapeball.

So that was a big change.

So in 2011 I again went to Pakistan BUT but had worked on all three of above flaws and I was now a much better batsman, however, I brought something new to my batting which was;

- Trigger movement/shuffle.

Nearly everyone in my club has it and it works for them so they recommended me to do that as well so I did that and used that throughout 2011 season and pre-season but I was having issues and they were;

1. My balance was not correct, I mean after playing a shot I would not be balanced.
2. I was not leaning with the head (you have to lean with your head first)

So I learnt this around end of June and that end of my 2011 season as I left for Pakistan in July and when I came back it was Ramadhan etc so yesterday I was at nets with couple of PPers and what I did was that I had a firm stance (meaning no shuffle/trigger movement) and my balance was a lot better, since I was playing after couple of months I was rusty but my balance had significantly improved, watching the ball leave from start of bowlers runup and more importantly leaning with my head and transferring weight on my front leg getting better balance etc all made a big difference and I could feel it. With more practice I will come over it soon InshAllah.

So in summary what most important and helped me long way are;

- Leaning with head.
- Transferring weight on front foot.
- Watching the ball all the way from bowlers hand.
- Getting front foot in pitch of ball
- Still head with eyes level

This is what I did and my batting significantly improved from 2009 BUT its not necessary that what works for me would work for me, as I earlier said trigger movement works for my team mates but doesn't work for me at all! However, the above ones are very important and must for a batsman.

Guard is very important too, I recommend and would say taking guard on middle stump works for me because that way I can play on both off and legside, I won't be restricted to one particular side.

Good post CD bhai.

I use trigger movement and tbh it's the best thing that has happened to my batting, however it took a lot of practice to get it to work effectively.When I first started using the trigger, it caused me a lot of trouble and I was about to scrap it, however I got someone to watch my batting and they noticed that I was triggering to late ie, just as the bowler was about to release the ball I would shuffle, causing me to be on the move while the ball was being delivered, this in turn meant that my head was not still. Then I started to shuffle a lot earlier, sometimes very early but tbh that was better than triggering too late. Now my feet are moving really nicely thanks to the trigger movement, but I do acknowledge it won't work for everyone.

Good post CD bhai.

I use trigger movement and tbh it's the best thing that has happened to my batting, however it took a lot of practice to get it to work effectively.When I first started using the trigger, it caused me a lot of trouble and I was about to scrap it, however I got someone to watch my batting and they noticed that I was triggering to late ie, just as the bowler was about to release the ball I would shuffle, causing me to be on the move while the ball was being delivered, this in turn meant that my head was not still. Then I started to shuffle a lot earlier, sometimes very early but tbh that was better than triggering too late. Now my feet are moving really nicely thanks to the trigger movement, but I do acknowledge it won't work for everyone.

I did stick with trigger movement for a long time but it didn't really work for me.

The best time to trigger/shuffle is when the bowling is about to get into his last stride (where he just starts his action) because when the ball is released from bowlers hand your head should be still and eyes should be level.

One thing I don't like about trigger movement is that it gets a bit difficult to play backfoot shots unless you have a really good ability like Brain Charles Lara to pick the ball early.

So it is really not in everyone's cup of tea.

Also one important thing I would mention here is that when in your stance your head should be over (ahead of front knee etc) your front knee because when ball is bowler you will lean with your head first then naturally your body will follow.

Have a look at Sangakarras stance see his head position from the side.

I really admire the words Sangakarra always used when he was captain "We just got out basics right" so these are basics of batting if one works on them and improves on them then naturally his batting will automatically improve but obviously it requires lot of hardword and practice.

Sorry for another post guys but as time goes things are popping in my mind.

Anyways, when in stance make sure your hands are over your box or on right side where bat should be over offstump.

Having hands below box does not work out.

Salaam.

Good thread, not sure how to contribute to this thread, will post more when next year's season istarts, insha Allah :)

I should come to Canada for a few weeks and train with you guys, how often do you have net practice?

Thank you for the tips CD, I will definitely use them however one problem I face is facing a leg stump half volley or a leg stump yorker or trying to play one down fine on the leg side. I always miss the ball there. Any suggestions?

what youll generally find if your missing leg stumps balls on a consisten basis is either one or both of a couple things.

Firstly, your balance whilst trying to play these balls is flawed. You head is most likely not still, and falling to the off side, causing the weight of your body to be shifting to the off side.
Try and keep you head still at point of impact, with your head straight and not falling to the side. The correct feeling should be eyes and nose over the top of the ball.

Secondly, it could also be possible that you are playing around your front pad. This is noticeable when the ball if angling down the leg side yet your front foot still points in the direction of extra cover/wide mid off. Ideally your foot should be pointing straight down the wicket or slightly to the leg side, opening you body up slightly, allowing for a straight and natural downwards arc of your bat, thus meeting the ball with a full face rather than playing across the line of the ball.

Correcting this might take some time but there are a couple drills one could use to rectify this. The use of cones is very handy. Place a cones at half volley length on our just outside legs stump, practice getting your full close to the ball with your front toe opened up as mentioned above, and then play the ball in the direction of straightish to wideish mid on.

One you are comfortable with this you can then progress to having someone underarm you balls from 2-3 metres away bouncing once or even twice, on the same line, following the same method as the cone drill.

20-25 of these underarms correctly played per session should see you rectify your error.

what youll generally find if your missing leg stumps balls on a consisten basis is either one or both of a couple things.

Firstly, your balance whilst trying to play these balls is flawed. You head is most likely not still, and falling to the off side, causing the weight of your body to be shifting to the off side.
Try and keep you head still at point of impact, with your head straight and not falling to the side. The correct feeling should be eyes and nose over the top of the ball.

Secondly, it could also be possible that you are playing around your front pad. This is noticeable when the ball if angling down the leg side yet your front foot still points in the direction of extra cover/wide mid off. Ideally your foot should be pointing straight down the wicket or slightly to the leg side, opening you body up slightly, allowing for a straight and natural downwards arc of your bat, thus meeting the ball with a full face rather than playing across the line of the ball.

Correcting this might take some time but there are a couple drills one could use to rectify this. The use of cones is very handy. Place a cones at half volley length on our just outside legs stump, practice getting your full close to the ball with your front toe opened up as mentioned above, and then play the ball in the direction of straightish to wideish mid on.

One you are comfortable with this you can then progress to having someone underarm you balls from 2-3 metres away bouncing once or even twice, on the same line, following the same method as the cone drill.

20-25 of these underarms correctly played per session should see you rectify your error.

Thank you so much for this. A great great post. Thank you.

I agree, my balance is real poor. Even when I play a shot on the off side or any shot that is I be on the move and have to take a few steps after playing the shot. Is there any way I can fix this?

i just keep my head as still as possible and concentrate on the ball

but i need tips on playing spin

CD, lemme know when you guys play next, I'll try to come.

Sure bro.

Brilliantly summed up mate, I agree the front foot position very important in fact, I had a problem with that too!

I agree, my balance is real poor. Even when I play a shot on the off side or any shot that is I be on the move and have to take a few steps after playing the shot. Is there any way I can fix this?

I had exact exact same problem as you bro, my balance was horrible too, still it is not perfect but it is much better than before.

So this is what I did ;

- When in stance my head was over front knee (like Sangakarra)
- When the ball is released I lean with head first once you lean with your head first naturally everything will follow your head. So when everything is following, the weight is now transferring on your front foot and you will be in much better balanced situation.

Hope it made sense.

Try this with shadow batting at your place and you will probably understand what I mean.

You guys all go to Hagee sports? Lets hold a PP practice session. :P You guys play in EDCL or BCL?

Poor WithLoveFromCanada has been doing it for years, see his thread in Time Pass section.

Yes it is at Hagee Sports.

I played BEDCL last year but InshAllah I will be playing in TnD from 2012

Drills Drills Drills!!!!

Smash the hell out of the cone drill in the nets...i would suggest even have specific net sessions where you dont face any bowlers in the nets.. and just work the cones. Foot to the ball, head over the ball, HEAD STILL, foot pointing in direction of where you are looking to hit the ball. Do this enough times and it will become mind and muscle memory so that when you do move on to facing bowlers, your body thinks those steps are normal practice.

The way you can judge your progress is every session have someone underarm you 30 balls..and you hit the ball on the second bounce. Hold the shot afterwards, and have a look at your head and foot positioning.

^ I would say if drills is not possible then do shadow batting with cone or ball on ground and practice with that.

To me batting is done in roles e.g. openers hould try and see through the first 15-20 overs and have a solid 40-60+ runs between them, if the openers did their job the middle order should just try and score at a run a ball batting sensibly and building partnerships the bottom orders role it to score at 8+ runs an over. After you have played your role you attack with the option to defend untill you get out.