"Batting under pressure always gave me immense enjoyment" : Inzamam-ul-Haq

In a recent interview with Saj for Wisden, the former Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq spoke on a range of topics including why he considers Imran Khan as an important source of inspiration for him, how he overcame a crisis of confidence during the 1992 World Cup campaign, playing against top pace-bowlers of his time, the Ovalgate incident and the deep impact of Bob Woolmer's death.

OwOJzr8.png

Putting Multan on the map

I had a lot of interest in becoming a cricketer from a young age but what I was lacking was the self-belief that was necessary to go that extra mile. Before I played for Pakistan, there was no other cricketer from my city of birth, Multan, who had gone on to play for the country. So, it was difficult for me to imagine that I would be that player from Multan who could actually rise and represent the city at the international level. But thanks to the Almighty, some luck, lots of hard work, the love and support of many, and my passion for cricket, I was able to progress and to go on and play at the highest level for many years.

Inspired by Imran Khan

When I started playing cricket, the only Pakistani role model I looked up to was Imran Khan. He was the skipper at that time and an inspiration for many of us because of his skills and his aggressive style of leadership. Apart from Imran, the one other cricketer that I admired was Vivian Richards. I loved the way he took on the opposition and played a fearless brand of cricket against some of the top bowlers of all time. The way he handled himself on the field, his confidence and his body language were all things that I admired and wanted to emulate.

Learning from Javed Miandad's style of batting

Javed Miandad’s style of batting and the way he fashioned his innings and how he handled himself when faced with pressure and adversity on the field were qualities that I admired and learnt from. As a cricketer, I always felt that my learning never stopped and I always ensured that I picked up tips from many of the cricketers I played alongside and against. I felt that some of the key things that I learnt about the art of batting didn’t always come from the biggest names. But with Javed Miandad it was different, as he was our Head Coach as well for periods of time and what he taught me about playing in difficult circumstances is something that stayed with me forever.

Pace education

I always loved playing pace-bowling from an early age but that is because of a little-known fact about the house I grew up in. This was a fairly large property where my brothers and I would practice. We would take it in turn to face fast-bowling from close range to try and sharpen our reflexes with the ball fizzing past our nose quite often. So, my exposure to playing pace bowling started from an early age and even though I was the youngest in the family, my elder brothers would not hold back or go easy on me. They made sure they bowled at full pace from close range at me and that sort of exposure taught me to pick fast-bowlers length quickly and gave me an edge from a very young age.

Crisis of confidence and adapting on the big stage

The 1992 World Cup was my first major international tournament and playing in front of such huge crowds was a challenge in itself, and I suffered from nerves during the initial stages. At that time, I had a mental block and felt incapable of handling the pressure of playing at that level and had serious self-doubts. On top of that, playing on Australian pitches was a tough proposition and it’s a fact that many players from the sub-continent have found it very difficult to adjust to the pace and bounce there. For me, even though we had arrived a month in advance of the tournament, I still found it tough and it took me some time to come to terms and acclimatize to the local conditions. But as time went by, I started to find my feet and started to understand how to play in those conditions and got a good idea of the nature of the pitches in Australia. But having said all that, it had to be divine help that allowed me to do so well and play an important role in our wins in the Semi-Final, score some quick runs in the final and of course how can anyone forget the 48 runs I scored against South Africa where Jonty Rhodes famously ran me out. The fact is that with each match that I played, I was adapting to the conditions and my performances showed that improvement.

Obviously when things were not going well for me with the bat at the 1992 World Cup, there were a lot of doubts being thrown about my abilities and many back home suggesting I should not have been in the squad. I felt a little disappointed and down but Imran Khan always believed in not just me but the whole squad and I felt the faith in my ability was always there and that was crucial. Not one day did Imran Khan have doubts about my ability and his support was pivotal for my career. Without his support who knows where my career would have ended up.

The 1992 World Cup effect

Winning the 1992 World Cup was a huge achievement for all of us and to this day I have people coming up to me and praising me about some of my innings which is immensely satisfying, and I am sure I will recall those performances for the rest of my life. The fact is that the way we fought and performed in that tournament changed many of us as cricketers and men forever. Of course, people told us how good we were as players but I for one gained a huge boost to my self-belief and confidence. I now knew for sure that if I could perform at such a big tournament, there was no reason why I couldn’t do it in other international games as well. The benefit of winning the 1992 World Cup for the rest of my career was huge and immeasurable.

Facing up to the greats

West Indies and Australia in my view were the toughest opponents I faced particularly in the early ‘90s. The West Indies had not just very good but dangerous fast-bowlers and believe me when you thought about facing the likes of Courtney Walsh, Curtly Ambrose and Ian Bishop the next day, sleep was really the last thing on your mind. And then you had the awesome fast-bowling line-up of Glenn McGrath, Jason Gillespie and Brett Lee and the threat of Shane Warne in a very professional Australian side. You had problems even breathing when thinking about facing them. Such was the quality of both these oppositions and to face them took a lot of courage and determination.

Most enjoyable innings

The innings that I enjoyed most and hold in great regard is where I was Man of the Match after I scored an unbeaten 90 against the West Indies in 1993 at Port of Spain, which was Pakistan’s first ODI win in the Caribbean. The other high-point in my career was the tour of India in 2005 where I was captain, and we won the One-Day series by a 4-2 margin and drew the Test series 1-1. Incidentally, the 3rd Test in Bangalore where I made 184 runs in the first innings was also my 100th Test. To have won the ODI series and drawn the Test series on Indian soil against our arch-rivals, and that too with a team that was considered much weaker than the opposition on paper, and with no legendary names on the roster was a huge achievement for the team and myself as skipper.

Greatest knocks

To choose one or two innings as your best after having scored over 20,000 runs in international cricket is a tough task. To some it’s the ’92 World Cup Semi-Final innings against New Zealand which was my greatest, but to me 90 not out in 1993 at Port of Spain stands out as the best. Conditions were tough and facing Curtly Ambrose, Courtney Walsh and Ian Bishop was not for the faint-hearted. I was a batter who enjoyed seeing my team home and finishing the job so it was satisfying to remain not out and see my team home. Sometimes it’s not the volume of runs, but the quality of the runs that is key and that was certainly the case in Port of Spain.

Relishing the pressure cooker

Batting under pressure always gave me immense enjoyment. In fact, the more tense the match situation, the more I enjoyed it. Some crumble under pressure, but others thrive and I guess I was one of those players who could perform when it mattered most and when my team needed me to. It didn’t matter what the stage of the game was, I was always up for the challenge. I felt that the second innings of a Test where I had to farm the innings, many times batting with tailenders was where I could control the game the most. A few times junior players would ask me how I remained so calm towards the end of tense chases and my answer was simply that when I was in that position, the scoreboard and I would become one – it was as if the scoreboard was telling me how to plan my innings and to take my side to a win.

Crowd Control

The 1997 Sahara Cup incident should never have happened. What the person in the crowd was shouting to players with a mega-phone in hand, was absolutely disgusting and I reacted to that because sometimes we as players are under a lot of stress and any small incident can cause unintended consequences. But in hindsight, I have to say that whatever the provocation, players should never react in that way - never. What I did that day was wrong and I hope nothing like this ever happens again.

Aggro at The Oval

The Ovalgate incident in 2006 is another example of how things should not have transpired. Whilst I am glad that my team and I were eventually cleared of any wrongdoing and the 2 umpires from the game, Darrell Hair and Billy Doctrove, suffered consequences of their actions, I am clear about the fact that such incidents only bring shame to cricket and can or should never be repeated. If I could go back in time, I would have handled the situation very differently as I am sure others involved that day would also. Things escalated very quickly largely due to poor communication and some misunderstandings but all round it was a bad day for cricket.

The death of Bob Woolmer

March 2007 will always remain a month that has weighed heavily on me and on my career due to many reasons. Of course, the effect of the tragic loss of our Coach Bob Woolmer was indescribable. But in cricketing terms, we had been knocked out of the World Cup due to a shocking 3-wicket loss to Ireland which to me as a cricketer was just part and parcel of game. You win some, you lose some and I have no issue with that, but what happened after Bob Woolmer’s death and how we were treated with suspicion and put away in isolation is what I cannot forget nor forgive. Bob was a well-liked Coach, and we were all in shock, but we couldn’t grieve because we were being treated like suspects which was very distressing. Even now I am still unable to sleep if I ever cast my mind back to those dark days, this is the sort of mental damage that incident did to me and many of my team-mates.

Bob Woolmer was an amazing man, and I had an association of close to three and a half years and a close bond with him and we had lots of plans for our team for the future. We had a great understanding and a lot to show for during those years as we had many wins including those in India in 2005. But such is fate that on the evening after our loss to Ireland, Bob and I were in an elevator, and he asked me about my plans for the future as both of us had been contracted by the Pakistan Cricket Board only until the end of the 2007 World Cup. I said to Bob, that I was in no mood to speak about it then and that we should sleep on it and speak about it the next morning. Unfortunately, the morning did not arrive for Bob Woolmer and we never got the chance to have that conversation.

Headingley connection

My experience at Yorkshire was enjoyable even though it was a short stint as a replacement for Younis Khan in 2007 and I didn’t score a lot of runs. But I built some great connections with the team, especially with Michael Vaughan and Darren Gough and if the opportunity ever arose, I am not averse to helping out the County if they need my help in future. I’m sure it would be wonderful to work with some of the young upcoming players at Yorkshire and to get the opportunity to pass on my experience and knowledge to them.

RIP Bob Woolmer.

And Inzy — come back to Headingley and help Yorkshire out in some way please! :)

RIP Bob Woolmer.

And Inzy — come back to Headingley and help Yorkshire out in some way please! :)

The biggest roadblock would be his English.

Pakistani players miss out on a lot of international coaching opportunities due to the language barrier. Even the young pakistani players fail to realised that English isn't going to improve their game but it would definitely improve their chanches to get a coaching/commentary role post playing career.

They sit back at home after retirement keep wondering why aren't they able to get any meaningful, turn bitter, open a youtube channel, start a youtube channel and then they start spitting venom through it.

A list:-
Tanveer Ahmed
Kamran Akmal
Younis Khan

If Pakistan ever had a batter that could play pace with ease it was Inzimam. Wish to see him play a bigger in grooming young talent

Only one word to describe Inzi - legend.

What a batter, one of the all time greats.

Not an athlete, but boy could he bat.

Little known fact of the day.

In the late 1980's, Imran Khan was the face of a new cricket magazine with a Pakistani focus - Cricket Life International.

This led him to start reading the monthly competitor magazines - "The Cricketer (UK, not Pakistan, but thanks anyway to the late Martin Wood!) and Wisden Cricket Monthly.

And The Cricketer published an article, I think in early 1990, entitled "Star Spangled Horizons", looking at the next generation of Pakistani talent following the arrival of Waqar Younis, Aaqib Javed and Mushtaq Ahmed.

The only player it really failed to detect emerging was Rashid Latif.

But the article mentioned Inzamam, who was about to have his 20th birthday, and Imran was reportedly fascinated by the comment that he was strong against pace bowling.

Imran ended up going instead with Zahid Fazal against the West Indies a few months later - he was younger and he was generally viewed as the classier batsman - but Imran was not convinced by either Fazal's technique or temperament.

So when Imran Khan played his final season of home ODIs, initially against the West Indies, three months before the 1992 World Cup, it was Inzamam who got the nod. He scored 20 and 60.

He then was retained for four ODIs against Sri Lanka, in which he scored 48, 60, 101 and 117. And Imran was never going to lose faith after that. A month later he was playing in the World Cup.....

Little known fact of the day.

In the late 1980's, Imran Khan was the face of a new cricket magazine with a Pakistani focus - Cricket Life International.

This led him to start reading the monthly competitor magazines - "The Cricketer (UK, not Pakistan, but thanks anyway to the late Martin Wood!) and Wisden Cricket Monthly.

And The Cricketer published an article, I think in early 1990, entitled "Star Spangled Horizons", looking at the next generation of Pakistani talent following the arrival of Waqar Younis, Aaqib Javed and Mushtaq Ahmed.

The only player it really failed to detect emerging was Rashid Latif.

But the article mentioned Inzamam, who was about to have his 20th birthday, and Imran was reportedly fascinated by the comment that he was strong against pace bowling.

Imran ended up going instead with Zahid Fazal against the West Indies a few months later - he was younger and he was generally viewed as the classier batsman - but Imran was not convinced by either Fazal's technique or temperament.

So when Imran Khan played his final season of home ODIs, initially against the West Indies, three months before the 1992 World Cup, it was Inzamam who got the nod. He scored 20 and 60.

He then was retained for four ODIs against Sri Lanka, in which he scored 48, 60, 101 and 117. And Imran was never going to lose faith after that. A month later he was playing in the World Cup.....

Thanks for sharing some interesting insights.

I first heard about Inzamam-ul-Haq when I was chatting to the UBL and Pakistan left-arm spinner Masood Anwaar a couple of years before Inzi made his Pakistan debut. I asked Masood if there were any upcoming superstars in Pakistan cricket and he immediately said, there is one guy, remember the name it's Inzamam-ul-Haq.

Masood said that he was the best player of fast-bowling he had ever seen and that he had so much time to play pace-bowling. He said that he had a rocket-like arm and that he was already impressing everyone at UBL.

Masood finished by saying remember his name, he will be a superstar - he was not wrong!

People tend to forget that when he scored his 60 off 37 balls in the 1992 World Cup semi-final, Pakistan was dead and buried.

NZ had scored a then-massive 262, and Pakistan had been slowed down by Imran and Miandad and were 140-4, requiring 123 runs in 15.5 overs.

In those days bats were much smaller and the boundaries at Eden Park were short on two sides but long on two others.

Inzamam completely outperformed Miandad, who could barely get the ball off the square.

The innings showed that he was at his best when his back was against the wall.

People tend to forget that when he scored his 60 off 37 balls in the 1992 World Cup semi-final, Pakistan was dead and buried.

NZ had scored a then-massive 262, and Pakistan had been slowed down by Imran and Miandad and were 140-4, requiring 123 runs in 15.5 overs.

In those days bats were much smaller and the boundaries at Eden Park were short on two sides but long on two others.

Inzamam completely outperformed Miandad, who could barely get the ball off the square.

The innings showed that he was at his best when his back was against the wall.

Great stuff Junaids. Inzamam was my favourite Pakistani cricketer growing up as so often he was that reassuring figure at the crease when the side was in trouble.

An underrated innings was his Multan hundred vs Bangladesh in 2003. Pakistan named a very weak, experimental XI for the 3rd Test with the series already sewn up - and Inzamam was in a bad rut.

He masterfully shepherded the tail, and that knock allowed him one final successful run in the team.

Think after Asif Iqbal and Javed Miandad, he was the first batter that made me feel safe when he was on the crease! Somehow you knew he would save the day.

Great player, even better human being, but a horrible World Cup record who always disappointed when it mattered the most.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 2007. After 499 appearances and over 20,000 runs, Inzamam-Ul-Haq retired from international cricket <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/NBzMoeEWEU">pic.twitter.com/NBzMoeEWEU</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1580112827662024704?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 12, 2022</a></blockquote>

Inzamam speaking in a presser ahead of PSL 8:

"I always enjoy working with youngsters. We have a lot of talent and they have potential to represent Pakistan at international level. I will try my best to share my experience with them"

"Cricket has changed a lot. In our time, cricket was slow, gradually, the game has been modernized"

"I wish there was league cricket in our time too"

"I don't know for now, but if any post is offered to me, I will decide then," he said.

When Shahid Afridi asked Inzamam on how Wasim Akram looked quite tensed during the final moments of the game against Zalmi, Inzamam hilariously stated that the Pakistan bowling legend “gets angry very quickly.”

“Wasim bhai ko gussa bohot jaldi aata hai. Aur jiss tarah ke alfaaz vo istemaal karte hain, aapko aur Misbah ko idea ho gaya hoga. (You all know Wasim bhai gets angry very quickly. And the words that he uses when he is angry… both you and Misbah know about it),”

“In pressure situations, such things are normal. And that's the beauty of this game. Lahore and Multan had also played a similarly close match. This is how players get to learn. They get to know how to face pressure situations, because this is what you get in international cricket as well. Selectors keep close eye on PSL because the level of pressure is similar. This is a big advantage"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 2002. Inzamam-ul-Haq made his highest Test score of 329 versus New Zealand in Lahore. Pakistan made 643 and went on to win the match by an innings and 324 runs <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/TjjnVJrm62">pic.twitter.com/TjjnVJrm62</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1653319214638284802?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2023</a></blockquote>

Yet the guy did nothing in world cups. Just played one innings in 1992. Failed at all other world cups.

2007 world cup team was one of the worst Pakistani team to have ever fielded. This guy sucked at ICC tournaments, he couldn't take pressure

Yet the guy did nothing in world cups. Just played one innings in 1992. Failed at all other world cups.

2007 world cup team was one of the worst Pakistani team to have ever fielded. This guy sucked at ICC tournaments, he couldn't take pressure

Yes let's discard everything else in his career.

well wasnt that how you judged Babar Azam?

Inzimam was a serial choker in ICC tournaments. His career ended as a big embarrassment when he end up losing to Ireland.

well wasnt that how you judged Babar Azam?

Inzimam was a serial choker in ICC tournaments. His career ended as a big embarrassment when he end up losing to Ireland.

In Inzamam's era, bilateral cricket wasn't devalued like today where B and C teams are served up.

I know the real reason behind your dislike for Inzamam because we've had this conversation a few years back - you believe he deliberately kept Misbah out of the team.

Please tell me who should've been dropped in our middle order for Misbah ? He couldn't bat at 6 because Bob Woolmer preferred all-rounders. Both Younis and Yousuf enjoyed a golden spell under Woolmer and weren't going anywhere.

Misbah himself says he holds no grudge against Inzamam, so please let it go.

In Inzamam's era, bilateral cricket wasn't devalued like today where B and C teams are served up.

I know the real reason behind your dislike for Inzamam because we've had this conversation a few years back - you believe he deliberately kept Misbah out of the team.

Please tell me who should've been dropped in our middle order for Misbah ? He couldn't bat at 6 because Bob Woolmer preferred all-rounders. Both Younis and Yousuf enjoyed a golden spell under Woolmer and weren't going anywhere.

Misbah himself says he holds no grudge against Inzamam, so please let it go.

Me disliking Inzamam has nothing to do with Misbah.

The reason why I dislike Inzamam is because of the 2003,2007 world cup along with the champions trophy aswell.

The guy couldn't perform in ICC event and his team always had a loser attitude. The embarrasment he caused when we lost to Ireland is something I will never forget. The guy was a flop show. No one cared what series you won, all that matter was the ICC trophy and World Cups.

Than he bought Islam to the team and yet couldn't unite the guys.

It has nothing to do with Misbah, Inzamam sucked in ICC tournaments, and thats a fact.

And let’s glorify Misbah ul Haq for his amazing batting against India at Mohali

Asia Cup final 2014 Misbah made 65 of 98 balls whereas Umar Akmal made 59 of 42 in a total of 260 a 50 over match where Sri Lanka chased down the total Pakistan lost.

Different players were unlucky to have Misbah in their team or else they could have been Asia and World Cup winners.

Inzimams innings in 92 eclipses anything Misbah did but he did fail in a few world cups later Inzimam Yousuf Waqar Wasim all failed in 2003 when the team looked decent on paper and they reached the 99 final 4 years earlier.

Me disliking Inzamam has nothing to do with Misbah.

The reason why I dislike Inzamam is because of the 2003,2007 world cup along with the champions trophy aswell.

The guy couldn't perform in ICC event and his team always had a loser attitude. The embarrasment he caused when we lost to Ireland is something I will never forget. The guy was a flop show. No one cared what series you won, all that matter was the ICC trophy and World Cups.

Than he bought Islam to the team and yet couldn't unite the guys.

It has nothing to do with Misbah, Inzamam sucked in ICC tournaments, and thats a fact.

2003 and 2007 were awful tournaments but two tournaments do not define a 16 year career. By this logic should Misbah be solely defined by the scoop in the 2007 WT20 Final and his Mohali knock in 2011 ?

Bilateral series did matter back then - and anyone watching that era of Pakistan cricket knows Inzamam's contributions were invaluable. We wouldn't have beaten AUS in 1994 without his innings in Karachi, or won a Test in SAF in 2007 without his 92 batting with the tail in Port Elizabeth, and the list goes on and on.

If we're saying ICC tournaments are the be all and end all then Ramiz Raja must be a better batsman than Inzamam as his World Cup average is superior ?

I wasn't a fan of the overt religiosity in the team but Pakistan society as a whole was trending in an Islamist direction for decades previously. Our current players like Rizwan has spent his tours preaching - are we going to blame Inzamam for that too ?

That's why his only under pressure performance is that fluke at Auckland in 16 year career

He did perform in a few matches in the 99 World Cup which were crucial 2 man of the match awards helped Pakistan beat Australia and New Zealand which was a big reason for Pakistan making the final however flopped in the final.

The 2003 World Cup was a total flop the scores by Inzimam were 6,4,0,0,6,3.

:moyo

I recon he was in the mood to eat India alive in the 2003 match until Saeed Anwar sold him down the river for that run out

2003 and 2007 were awful tournaments but two tournaments do not define a 16 year career. By this logic should Misbah be solely defined by the scoop in the 2007 WT20 Final and his Mohali knock in 2011 ?

Bilateral series did matter back then - and anyone watching that era of Pakistan cricket knows Inzamam's contributions were invaluable. We wouldn't have beaten AUS in 1994 without his innings in Karachi, or won a Test in SAF in 2007 without his 92 batting with the tail in Port Elizabeth, and the list goes on and on.

If we're saying ICC tournaments are the be all and end all then Ramiz Raja must be a better batsman than Inzamam as his World Cup average is superior ?

I wasn't a fan of the overt religiosity in the team but Pakistan society as a whole was trending in an Islamist direction for decades previously. Our current players like Rizwan has spent his tours preaching - are we going to blame Inzamam for that too ?

im not here to discuss Misbah, Rameez, Rizwan or any other player. The thread is about Inzamam and his false impression of him being able to handle pressure.

I started watching cricket when the team was under Inzamam, and yes you are right that he was winning series. But when it came to ICC tournaments, Pakistan was a laughing stock. Under Inzamam the team had the lowest morale and had no idea what to do whenever we went to an ICC tournament. The guy had terrible batting stats in ICC tournament and was a walking wicket. He couldn't bat under pressure where it mattered the most.

Its not about winning ICC tournaments, its about actually performing in those tournaments, which he never did.

He bought disgrace to Pakistan cricket when he lost to Ireland, it was sad how the coach passed away that night.

Apart from World Cups, he was a massive failure in ODI Tournament Finals as well averaging below 30.

im not here to discuss Misbah, Rameez, Rizwan or any other player. The thread is about Inzamam and his false impression of him being able to handle pressure.

I started watching cricket when the team was under Inzamam, and yes you are right that he was winning series. But when it came to ICC tournaments, Pakistan was a laughing stock. Under Inzamam the team had the lowest morale and had no idea what to do whenever we went to an ICC tournament. The guy had terrible batting stats in ICC tournament and was a walking wicket. He couldn't bat under pressure where it mattered the most.

Its not about winning ICC tournaments, its about actually performing in those tournaments, which he never did.

He bought disgrace to Pakistan cricket when he lost to Ireland, it was sad how the coach passed away that night.

I’m not sure how much you are basing your comments on stats rather than actual experience. However I am old enough to have lived through the Inzi era and absorbed the whole lot. And from that experience, I can safely say that your comments are just a total mischaracterisation.

Regardless of what the stats say, take it from someone who has watched a lot of cricket - Inzi was HANDS DOWN one of the greatest batsmen this world has ever seen and quite possibly the best Pakistan has ever produced.

Inzi played in an era where we had tailenders for openers - Yasir Hameed, Imran Farhat and Tafeeq Umar. Inzi would bat with a score line of 10/3 almost every game. And yet his ability to single-handedly win a match from any position, absorb insane pressure, was legendary. Pakistan would have been a minnow side without him. And yes I say that despite the fact that we had a young Younus and MoYo in that era - Younus was very early in his career and developed massively under Inzi, but only in tests. MoYo relied on Inzi heavily and simply could not do the job unless Inzi was with him.

I don’t think I’ve seen any other era ever where a major team relied so heavily on one man. And I certainly haven’t seen a bigger match winner than Inzi. There was a time where India relied heavily on Sachin, but even the great Sachin wasn’t a good a match winner as Inzi was.

I know you are parroting the same thing again and again, and so will say but but but world cups etc. I don’t deny that apart from 92, Inzi didn’t have a great time in world cups. But that was a mere blip in an otherwise illustrious career. And in any case, he did actually win Pakistan the one and only 50 over World Cup we have ever won and so your argument makes no sense anyway.

I do not agree with your odd assessment that apart from world cups, nothing else mattered. In that era, there was no franchise cricket, and so bilateral cricket was huge. And unlike this era, Inzi’s era was full of megastars. India had Sehwag, Dravid, Sachin, Yuvi, Dhoni, VVS, Kumble, to name a few. Australia had Gilchrist, Hayden, Ponting, Langer, Warne, McGrath to again name a few. Heck even Sri Lanka had Sangakarra, Jaysuriya, Jaywardene, Murali and Vaas. The standard was another level compared to today.

To dismiss Inzi’s record in all bilateral cricket and focus purely on a handful of tournaments is frankly completely unfair and more to the point, an inaccurate reflection of his outstanding career.

I’m not sure how much you are basing your comments on stats rather than actual experience. However I am old enough to have lived through the Inzi era and absorbed the whole lot. And from that experience, I can safely say that your comments are just a total mischaracterisation.

Regardless of what the stats say, take it from someone who has watched a lot of cricket - Inzi was HANDS DOWN one of the greatest batsmen this world has ever seen and quite possibly the best Pakistan has ever produced.

Inzi played in an era where we had tailenders for openers - Yasir Hameed, Imran Farhat and Tafeeq Umar. Inzi would bat with a score line of 10/3 almost every game. And yet his ability to single-handedly win a match from any position, absorb insane pressure, was legendary. Pakistan would have been a minnow side without him. And yes I say that despite the fact that we had a young Younus and MoYo in that era - Younus was very early in his career and developed massively under Inzi, but only in tests. MoYo relied on Inzi heavily and simply could not do the job unless Inzi was with him.

I don’t think I’ve seen any other era ever where a major team relied so heavily on one man. And I certainly haven’t seen a bigger match winner than Inzi. There was a time where India relied heavily on Sachin, but even the great Sachin wasn’t a good a match winner as Inzi was.

I know you are parroting the same thing again and again, and so will say but but but world cups etc. I don’t deny that apart from 92, Inzi didn’t have a great time in world cups. But that was a mere blip in an otherwise illustrious career. And in any case, he did actually win Pakistan the one and only 50 over World Cup we have ever won and so your argument makes no sense anyway.

I do not agree with your odd assessment that apart from world cups, nothing else mattered. In that era, there was no franchise cricket, and so bilateral cricket was huge. And unlike this era, Inzi’s era was full of megastars. India had Sehwag, Dravid, Sachin, Yuvi, Dhoni, VVS, Kumble, to name a few. Australia had Gilchrist, Hayden, Ponting, Langer, Warne, McGrath to again name a few. Heck even Sri Lanka had Sangakarra, Jaysuriya, Jaywardene, Murali and Vaas. The standard was another level compared to today.

To dismiss Inzi’s record in all bilateral cricket and focus purely on a handful of tournaments is frankly completely unfair and more to the point, an inaccurate reflection of his outstanding career.
I understand your point, i am not arguing what he did in series a or series b. I appreciate the effort you put in your post sir.

However, the guy did nothing in ICC tournaments. For me his performance in series becomes irrelevant if he could never show up for an icc tournament and actually perform. ICC tournaments matter, they have always mattered. Imran Khan got alleviated to highness after winning the 1992 world cup.

I am not even saying that Inzi should had won a single ICC tournament, but the guy should had performed in them, because thats where your performance mattered the most. You can go on about his career all you want, but he was one of the worst cricketers we had when it came to ICC tournaments, he would be a walking wicket.

The way his career ended was also a disgrace, he got Pakistan booted out of a world cup by losing to Ireland. The coach died that night after the results of that match. Every ICC tournament under him, Pakistan looked like a team that had no morale and was just hoping they could survive somehow. His batting was a no show.

As soon as he Inzamam finally left the team, Pakistan would reach the finals of World T20 2007, become the semifinalist of the Champions trophy 2009 and end up winning the World T20 2009.

ICC tournaments will never be ignored, its not about winning them, its about performing in them.

Inzamam gave a false statement that he enjoyed batting under pressure because he has never performed in any ICC tournament apart from 1992 semi final one off match.

He will always be remembered as the guy whose team lost to Ireland that would later result in the death of the coach. Thats how terrible that result was and I am surprised while every other cricket aspect gets analyzed, Inzamam always got a clean state on the 2007 world cup disgrace.

Apart from World Cups, he was a massive failure in ODI Tournament Finals as well averaging below 30.

guy was a massive failure, the team had the lowest morale under him in ICC tournaments.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] - Surely you cannot be saying the Ireland defeat caused Bob Woolmer's death (which I don't think you are).

The stress of a shock upset didn't help but Woolmer had several health conditions including diabetes, an enlarged heart, narrowing of coronary artery and sleep apnoea. It was deeply tragic but Bob's health was a ticking timebomb.

guy was a massive failure, the team had the lowest morale under him in ICC tournaments.

1 century in 120 international innings against Australia and South Africa combined. There is a reason why he isn't in the ICC Hall of Fame.

Not in 1992 and 1999 his innings in the semi final in 1992 was match winning an attacking cameo few have played of the current batsmen Babar Rizwan could never play such an innings.

In 1999 he played 2 very good innings in the group stages against New Zealand and Australia that helped Pakistan in a big way to reach the final.

2003 and 2007 were failures although he only played 3 matches in 2007 but he had his moments in the 90s despite later failures and them moments were in important matches which very few batsmen have done better than in World Cups for Pakistan.

Misbah was a total failure in any tournament in ODIs whether it’s the World Cup Asia Cup Champions Trophy with his batting and team selection.

Not in 1992 and 1999 his innings in the semi final in 1992 was match winning an attacking cameo few have played of the current batsmen Babar Rizwan could never play such an innings.

In 1999 he played 2 very good innings in the group stages against New Zealand and Australia that helped Pakistan in a big way to reach the final.

2003 and 2007 were failures although he only played 3 matches in 2007 but he had his moments in the 90s despite later failures and them moments were in important matches which very few batsmen have done better than in World Cups for Pakistan.

Misbah was a total failure in any tournament in ODIs whether it’s the World Cup Asia Cup Champions Trophy with his batting and team selection.

Again, what has this thread got to with Misbah? Alot of inzi fans are coming out and cant accept the fact that Inzamam couldnt do anything in ICC tournaments. Misbah performed in ICC tournaments, but this thread isn't about him, and critisizing him wont alleviate Inzamam. Babar and Rizwan have nothing to do with this thread

3 matches? Thats how World cups are, plus those 3 matches were against West Indies, Ireland and Zimbabwe. Easiest group ever.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] - Surely you cannot be saying the Ireland defeat caused Bob Woolmer's death (which I don't think you are).

The stress of a shock upset didn't help but Woolmer had several health conditions including diabetes, an enlarged heart, narrowing of coronary artery and sleep apnoea. It was deeply tragic but Bob's health was a ticking timebomb.
Lets not pretend that the shock of the Ireland defeat did not affect him. For years this topic has been considered a taboo and never been discussed.

1 century in 120 international innings against Australia and South Africa combined. There is a reason why he isn't in the ICC Hall of Fame.

Didnt know about that, and that shows how bad the guy really was if we dig deep in his stats.

Infact now I recall, how Pakistan used to bottle series against South Africa too.

Saved Pakistan's batting so many times.

Helped them save and win matches when all looked lost.

A legend, a true great.

Again, what has this thread got to with Misbah? Alot of inzi fans are coming out and cant accept the fact that Inzamam couldnt do anything in ICC tournaments. Misbah performed in ICC tournaments, but this thread isn't about him, and critisizing him wont alleviate Inzamam. Babar and Rizwan have nothing to do with this thread

3 matches? Thats how World cups are, plus those 3 matches were against West Indies, Ireland and Zimbabwe. Easiest group ever.

Misbah has a good average in world cups but could never perform in knockouts here are his contributions in the semi final vs India in 2011 and quarter final vs Australia in 2015.

56 of 76 vs India

34 of 59 vs Australia

Asia Cup Final:

65 of 98 vs Sri Lanka

Misbah did not make any match winning contribution in any tournament knockout in ODIs quite the opposite he played too slow costing Pakistan any chance of a win.

Misbah has a good average in world cups but could never perform in knockouts here are his contributions in the semi final vs India in 2011 and quarter final vs Australia in 2015.

56 of 76 vs India

34 of 59 vs Australia

Asia Cup Final:

65 of 98 vs Sri Lanka

Misbah did not make any match winning contribution in any tournament knockout in ODIs quite the opposite he played too slow costing Pakistan any chance of a win.

1. This thread isnt about Misbah
2. First figure out what you want to argue, world cup, icc tournaments, or than specific games like knock out but not group stage. Whatever suits the narrative.

Saved Pakistan's batting so many times.

Helped them save and win matches when all looked lost.

A legend, a true great.

There was something so calm about him when he came on the crease - as a Pak supporter, you felt at ease when he was batting.

1992 largely due to him.

The mental midgets have taken over

Inzy was the epitome of a mental midget who was only fit for useless bilaterals. It’s amazing his World Cup record isn’t scrutinized enough while people are obsessed with his fluke 1992 WC innings against the Kiwis. Inzy was a big reason why Pakistan didn’t win any World Cup from 1996-2007.

Whenever someone mentions Inzamam-ul-Haq, two World Cups come to mind. The first is the 1992 World Cup, which is remembered for positive reasons as it elevated him to the status of a great batsman. However, the 2007 World Cup is recalled for the opposite reason; it brought humiliation to his career, leading to its unfortunate end on an extreme low note.

Despite delivering exceptional performances in numerous matches for Pakistan and being considered one of the best batsmen the country has ever produced, the colossal failure in the 2007 World Cup continues to haunt him both as a captain and as a player. Many fans and critics desired to see him batting in the top four positions, but he remained unyielding, refusing to heed anyone's advice.

The turning point came during a dead rubber match against Zimbabwe in the 2007 World Cup when he finally batted at number four. This incident encapsulates the stubbornness of our players and their reluctance to learn from mistakes, illustrating how the great debacle of 2007 will forever be etched in Inzamam's legacy.

I remember many reports claimed that time that he made a deal with the PCB chairman to retire after Chairman offered him this match selection and a sum of 5 crores as he was not in the playing XI for the first test match against southafrica then all of the sudden they included him for the 2nd test match so that he can retire peacefully. Shameful

"Batting under pressure always gave me immense enjoyment" : Inzamam-ul-Haq​

The same can't be said about his nephew.

Inzi's regrets on Ovalgate (20th August 2006)

CrIWSWt.png

Nearly chased 349 in Pak against an arch rivals, 1st game of dil jit lo 2004 series in Pakistan. Had he been there for couple of overs more ..

Ok you may be right, then please share some right graphics as I get this from some reputed source
You’re claiming something without an actual data source to back it up. Internet is full of claims in graphics, as you would well know.