Ben Stokes vs Hardik Pandya

Pandya has improved in the last couple of years. He is going to be a very important player for India going forward.

Ben stokes is a total package. Clutch player especially with bat. Spectacular fielder as well.

Who all are better than Pandya in LOIs in his batting position and role across the world?

Maxwell averages 34@121 and a part time spinner with 52 average.

Moeen averages 25@100 with bat but 50 with the bowl.

Jadeja averages 32@87 with bat but 36 with the bowl.

Pollard averages 26@94 with bat and 39 with bowl.

de Grandhomme averages 27@110 with bat and 43 with bowl.

Shadab averages 24@71 with bat and 32 with bowl.

Faheem averages 11@83 with bat and 46 with bowl.

Stokes- 40@95 with bat and 41 with bowl.

Pandya - 32@116 with bat and 41 with bowl.

To conclude, only Stokes can walk over Pandya in Indian ODI side and that also not even a chance in T20s.

So, Pandya is the second best LOI all rounder of this era. This is what stats say and stats matter for age > 25.

Of late stats are failing for Pandya and stokes. World needs better and bigger allrounders now

Pandya has not reached his full potential or ceiling yet. In ODI, Neesham, Curran, and even Saifuddin have comparable or better stats to Pandya. However, no one can match Pandya bros hype and swagger factor.

Throw away stats.

Yuvi averaged 35 odd in ODIs.

Umar Akmal averaged the same in ODIs before his decline.

Who would you pick?

There is only one right answer.

And it's the 2 time WC winner.

Stokes doesn't need stats.

He is an impact player.

When Pandya wins us a WC out of nowhere, his stats will also be ignored.

There is no comparison between Stokes and Pandya in any format of the game.

Who all are better than Pandya in LOIs in his batting position and role across the world?

To conclude, only Stokes can walk over Pandya in Indian ODI side and that also not even a chance in T20s.

So, Pandya is the second best LOI all rounder of this era. This is what stats say and stats matter for age > 25.

Only if cricket was played on spreadsheets

Lol you can't call him the second best LOI all rounder without even giving the same amount of chances to other indian players. Anyone can play a good inning here and there. Deepak Chahar is the latest example. Since Pandya himself said that there is no shortage of talent in India then what is stopping us from trying someone else in his place? Ganguly had better bowling stats than Pandya in ODIs and that too when most of the teams were good. Never seen people calling the best all rounder of his era. Just goes to show how the standards have fallen. :inti

Throw away stats.

Who would you pick?

He is an impact player.

You have given a pretty good example of Yuvraj Singh and Umer Akmal. His bowling stats weren't bad either. Infact they are better than Pandya's current stats in both LOI formats. Nobody called him a genuine allrounder. He was called a part time bowler back then. Everyone knows he used to play important cameos and impactful innings. He used to finish matches and were involved in many important partnerships. Currently Pandya lack all these qualities. He plays a good inning here and there. These days he doesn't even bowl full quota of 10 overs in ODIs. He is there to just complete the 5th bowler's quota. :inti

Throw away stats.

Who would you pick?

He is an impact player.

If you are talking about impact, Ummy Bhai's impact has been massive for us :D

He has never let us down even once. Even Yuvi has put us down once in a WT20 final but Ummy Bhai has a 100% success record.

Pandya is losing in battle of all rounders and I don't think he is in top 5 either now. His lack of bowling due to injuries has put pressure on his batting, and that's gone down now. As an allrounder, you feel more confident when both of your skills are engaged and you are on top in atleast one of them

If you are talking about impact, Ummy Bhai's impact has been massive for us :D

He has never let us down even once. Even Yuvi has put us down once in a WT20 final but Ummy Bhai has a 100% success record.

Haha....cant argue with that bhai.

Ummy bhai is a legend with 100% record.

Not even Tendulkar can boast of such a record.

He even revived Pant's career even when everyone said it wont work cos an Indian opened the thread.

Kudos to joshila bhai who opened that thread.

Smart move tapping into the power of the legend.

As proved here by facts and data, Pandya is comfortably the second best LOI all rounder of this era. It is scary to think that he has achieved this much with such a meh attitude. Others are not even in the same ball park :inti

No one agreed with you when you first posted the above post. Quoting your post again won't make them agree with you this time as well. :rabada2

Pandya has a lot to prove. Yuvi and Ganguly both had better bowling stats than him in LOIs but no one called them allrounders lol. He is someone who can play big shots against spinners. I will keep him in T20s because of team management's inability to test new players in place of him. :inti

No one agreed with you when you first posted the above post. Quoting your post again won't make them agree with you this time as well. :rabada2

Pandya has a lot to prove. Yuvi and Ganguly both had better bowling stats than him in LOIs but no one called them allrounders lol. He is someone who can play big shots against spinners. I will keep him in T20s because of team management's inability to test new players in place of him. :inti
Arree yaaar, your knowledge of modern era cricket is not upto the standards.

Ben Stokes bowling average in odis is 42 with 6.1 eco rate which is worse than Yuvi and Ganguly do you call him an allrounder lol?
Or is the best allrounder of this generation not even an allrounder for you. Viru bhai please improve your knowledge yaar. It's embarrassing sometimes.

This thread was created in 2017 when Pandya was actually a very good all rounder. Debut test century, 5fer in Eng, epic knocks in Champions trophy, defending 2 runs in 3 balls in T20 WC etc. He was bowling with pace and a batsman who could hit from ball 1. Now comparison with Stokes may sound ludicrous but it was not an outstrech back in 2017.

Ben Stokes bowling average in odis is 42 with 6.1 eco rate which is worse than Yuvi and Ganguly do you call him an allrounder lol?
Or is the best allrounder of this generation not even an allrounder for you. Viru bhai please improve your knowledge yaar. It's embarrassing sometimes.

Thanks for sharing this information.

Now on topic, you are right. Pandya has an average of 41 and econ is 5.6 compared to Stokes with average of 41 and econ of 6.1.

So, statistically, Pandya is actually ahead of Stokes but Stokes has won them a WC Final so he gets the nod. Nevertheless, it is fair to say that after Stokes, Pandya is comfortably the second best LOI all-rounder of this era and others are not even close.

Just look at the stats for some of the other all-rounders, it is so embarrassing. Moeen Ali- Bat Avg of 25, bowl Avg of 50 lol.

End of Discussion! CASE CLOSED.

Thanks for sharing this information.

Now on topic, you are right. Pandya has an average of 41 and econ is 5.6 compared to Stokes with average of 41 and econ of 6.1.

So, statistically, Pandya is actually ahead of Stokes but Stokes has won them a WC Final so he gets the nod. Nevertheless, it is fair to say that after Stokes, Pandya is comfortably the second best LOI all-rounder of this era and others are not even close.

Just look at the stats for some of the other all-rounders, it is so embarrassing. Moeen Ali- Bat Avg of 25, bowl Avg of 50 lol.

End of Discussion! CASE CLOSED.

[MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] I believe you don't rate T20s and think of tests as a superior format. I mean I have seen you saying this couple of times whenever anyone mentions Pant's LOI stats. Here are the allrounder rankings for tests and odis :

Top 5 in Tests :
1. Holder
2. Stokes
3. Jadeja
4. Ashwin
5. Shakib
6. Jamieson
7. Starc
8. Cummins
9. Grandhomme
10. Woakes

Top 5 in ODIs :
1. Shakib
2. Nabi
3. Woakes
4. Rashid
5. Santner
6. Stokes
7. Grandhomme
8. Imad Wasim
9. Jaddu
10. Sikander Raza

Not sure on what basis you are calling Pandya the second best allrounder currently? :inti

[MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] I believe you don't rate T20s and think of tests as a superior format. I mean I have seen you saying this couple of times whenever anyone mentions Pant's LOI stats. Here are the allrounder rankings for tests and odis :

Top 5 in Tests :
1. Holder
2. Stokes
3. Jadeja
4. Ashwin
5. Shakib
6. Jamieson
7. Starc
8. Cummins
9. Grandhomme
10. Woakes

Top 5 in ODIs :
1. Shakib
2. Nabi
3. Woakes
4. Rashid
5. Santner
6. Stokes
7. Grandhomme
8. Imad Wasim
9. Jaddu
10. Sikander Raza

Not sure on what basis you are calling Pandya the second best allrounder currently? :inti
So you rate allrounders based on rankings, according to you Santner is a better allrounder than Ben Stokes? Also Woakes and Rashid are better than Stokes lol? Who cares about these rankings?

Secondly you totally skipped the question, Stokes averages higher than Yuvi in bowling , is he an allrounder? I know you will skip it again

So you rate allrounders based on rankings, according to you Santner is a better allrounder than Ben Stokes? Also Woakes and Rashid are better than Stokes lol? Who cares about these rankings?

Secondly you totally skipped the question, Stokes averages higher than Yuvi in bowling , is he an allrounder? I know you will skip it again

I skipped your question because I never called Stokes a genuine allrounder too. :))) I just questioned how Pandya is being called an allrounder when Ganguly and Yuvi with better stats were called part timers. I was focussing solely on indian standard of overhyping players. Stokes overall is a better player than Pandya though. Those who deny it are delusional. The standard of allrounders have fallen. [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION]'s post with stats of current allrounders proves how low it has gone.

Pandya's bowling skills are zero, he same as a bowler as Razzaq was at his downfall as a bowler. And as far as his batting is concerned he is very good against the spinners and just below average against pacers. Never saw him hitting big sixes against fast bowlers. So, overall an average allrounder who is being overrated too much on pakpassion. I am an Indian and I can say that Pandya is not even rated so highly by Indian fans also.

He is highly rated by some(4-5 may be?) indian fans here and those fans think that they represent all the indian fans on this planet. :inti

Yes maybe the indian fans who started watching cricket with T20s and IPLs and became big fan of Pandya and those sort of players.

Imad Wasim. ~43@110 with bat, 44 with ball.

Stokes won England the world cup so no comparison whatsoever. This is like comparing Sachin with Nayan Mongia. Stokes is like Imran and Kapil Dev of cricket, Pandya is like Robin Singh.

Stokes struggle continues in white ball cricket. It is safe to assume that Pandya has left him far behind now.

Pandya is the best LOI all rounder on current form.

If Pakistan can get a player like Pandya at 5, they will become a complete team as their middle order will include Pandya at 5, Asif at 6, Nawaz at 7 and Shadab at 8.

This thread is Meaningless now when stokes no longer plays odi cricket and probably playing his last t20 tournament for England. He may not even need to bowl in this England lineup.

To begin with Stokes was never a good allrounder in white ball cricket. He was always a trash t20 player for England barring few notable performances.

Though 2019 wc sealed his odi legacy as a batsman due to impactful knocks in pressure situations. He should be remembered for that only in whiteball cricket.

Because he hardly ever replicated his test cricket bowling impact in white ball cricket.

Stokes had nothing left to prove in ODIs lol. He dropped the mic after he won the World Cup for England. :rabada2

He is concentrating on test cricket which is way above Pandya's reach now. :inti

This thread is Meaningless now when stokes no longer plays odi cricket and probably playing his last t20 tournament for England. He may not even need to bowl in this England lineup.

To begin with Stokes was never a good allrounder in white ball cricket. He was always a trash t20 player for England barring few notable performances.

Though 2019 wc sealed his odi legacy as a batsman due to impactful knocks in pressure situations. He should be remembered for that only in whiteball cricket.

Because he hardly ever replicated his test cricket bowling impact in white ball cricket.

He will continue to play T20 cricket for England as long as he holds the lucrative IPL contract. Let's be honest, he would have retired from T20s too and wouldn't have cared a bit about upcoming T20 WC. The only reason he chooses to continue playing in T20s so that he can keep himself available for IPL market. England plays only 5 or 6 ODIs before world cup 2023. If he really cared about England, he would have kept playing in ODIs too. This is precisely the reason I have never liked Stokes as he is selfish.

Pandya may not be as gifted as Stokes but is an honest trier. He can't play longer format due to his back injury but that can't be classified as being selfish.

He will continue to play T20 cricket for England as long as he holds the lucrative IPL contract. Let's be honest, he would have retired from T20s too and wouldn't have cared a bit about upcoming T20 WC. The only reason he chooses to continue playing in T20s so that he can keep himself available for IPL market. England plays only 5 or 6 ODIs before world cup 2023. If he really cared about England, he would have kept playing in ODIs too. This is precisely the reason I have never liked Stokes as he is selfish.

Pandya may not be as gifted as Stokes but is an honest trier. He can't play longer format due to his back injury but that can't be classified as being selfish.

Lol at Pandya being an honest trier for chosing T20s above tests. :91: :inti

We discussed this before, but since you grasp things late, Pandya is not choosing T20s over tests. It is his fitness that does not allow him to play longer formats. Infact, he doesn't even play ODIs and only plays important T20 games. His back situation is very poor and no way he can last a test match. The situation is different for Stokes who is fit to play all formats but won't bcoz he doesn't care.

BTW, Pandya was a better test player than Stokes in T20s. :)

We discussed this before, but since you grasp things late, Pandya is not choosing T20s over tests. It is his fitness that does not allow him to play longer formats. Infact, he doesn't even play ODIs and only plays important T20 games. His back situation is very poor and no way he can last a test match. The situation is different for Stokes who is fit to play all formats but won't bcoz he doesn't care.

BTW, Pandya was a better test player than Stokes in T20s. :)

Bascially you are judging Pandya on the basis of T20 games and trying to show how he is the honest trier whereas you are going at Stokes for choosing the hardest format in cricket. Waah bhaijaan waah. :bow: :inti

Pandya is twice the match winner Stokes is in loi cricket. A total impact player.

Ben Stokes is leagues ahead as a test cricketer

Overall: Stokes
Tests: Stokes
LOIs: Pandya

Hardik Pandya along with Rashid Khan are probably the biggest t20 brands in the world right now.

Ben is a mediocre t20 cricketer but is leagues above the other allrounders of the world in tests.

Tests

Stokes- singlehandedly won iconic test matches for his country and has now revolutionised the way the team plays.

Hardik - ouch my back sore.

ODI
Stokes - world cup hero
Hardik - bashed a few runs against Pakistan when the game was so dead that Fakhar Zaman got to bowl a few overs.

Its staggering that a player who has scored 1 century and taken 3 fifers in his career is called an all rounder.

In olden days he would be called a bits and pieces player. In more modern desi vernacular a rellu katta.

Pandya is okay in T20. Other formats he is long gone. Thakur has done more wonders in Tests as an all rounder. Helped win Gabba Test. Helped win a Test in England with twin fifties. Stokes overall is way above Pandya so much so Stokes can purely play as a batsman.

Exactly this. Thakur is so underrated in India. Gives his 100 percent always. The only thing he is missing is the ability to show off after winning matches for India. :inti

The desulisional from Indians will never fail to amaze.

India has no player that comes close to Ben Stokes. There soft bunch of players are not fit enough to lace his shoes.

The difference between Stokes and Pandya is that Stokes is always there at the end.

I'd say the same about Kohli vs some other much revered Indian players of the past.

Just because Stokes scored, doesn't take anything away from Hardik. He's clutch too and has performed in the semi final. If not for him, India would have scored 130.

Hardik is India's best T20 player and can play faster than Stokes. Mentally Stokes is obviously an ATG but Pandya isn't too far behind.

Terrific knock from Ben Stokes and again proved why he is so great under pressure.

Missed fielding chances and half chances dropped doesn't count here this is why Ben Stokes knock in ODIs Final 2019 or Lara's knock in 1999 vs Australia or Rishabh Pant's knocks in Gabba are extremely special. :inti

Coming to this comparison, Stokes played a top knock in final but overall in T20Is, Pandya is a better all rounder otherwise Gambhir would have been a better batsman than Kohli by that logic.

All formats combined, Stokes is in a league of his own no questions. No one comes close to him.

The desulisional from Indians will never fail to amaze.

India has no player that comes close to Ben Stokes. There soft bunch of players are not fit enough to lace his shoes.

According to [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] Ben Stokes chickened out from ODIs. Maybe he should retire(chicken out) from T20s also now that he has won another WC for England? :inti