GLORY OF '92
New York, Boston, Chicago, LA......
Which have you lived in and which was better?
Having lived in 4 States in the U.S., I would say the East Coast or the upper West Coast (Bay Area, Silicon Valley) are the most vibrant and happening places. Texas (aside from Austin) is dreadful (i've lived in both Houston and Dallas for 2 years each so I say this out of experience).
Having lived in Houston for almost a year, I will totally agree. Horrible weather, terrible traffic, full of gas station uncle types or their insolent wanna be ABCD children.
I live in the Washington DC metro area (Northern VA) and I love it here. Culture, professionals, and enough fun things to get into.
Lol, I agree. Houston has so many of these weirdoes.
Manhattan is the best
Lived there for 3 months. Too busy and hectic.....maybe for a younger version of me but not anymore.
Interestingly, the thread was about cities but it reflects more about the people commenting here than the actual cities. You can almost judge a person based on the type of city they like.
You asked for people's opinions. There's no anonymous judgement on what is the best city in the US. It's always going to be subjective. Did you actually expect everyone to give you the same answer?Interestingly, the thread was about cities but it reflects more about the people commenting here than the actual cities. You can almost judge a person based on the type of city they like.
Can't judge a person by their internet posts . You never know how real or even remotely close to the post a person is .
You asked for people's opinions. There's no anonymous judgement on what is the best city in the US. It's always going to be subjective. Did you actually expect everyone to give you the same answer?
I really like the DC suburbs. One of my relatives live there. Can be quite expensive though but DC by itself has everything. Diversity, culture, good educational institutes, great restaurants, moderate weather etc. and small enough to commute easily.
Only lived in Dallas![]()
Because they only have white chicks there, lol.
NoVA looks very congested and hectic to me.
I'm guessing you guys have never lived in the boonies. Try it sometime. You'll be exotic, and better educated than the natives and therefore entitled to exude an air of superiority.
I don't know about DC proper, but the dreaded beltway makes commuting to and from the MD and VA suburbs a nightmare. I've had to drive to MD from PA numerous times.
I've also turned down offers from that area, because for such an expensive place, salaries are low.
Sadly, I've seen a few desi's who have blended in such degenerate culture, have gotten married to some fat white red neck chick twice their age, driving around in those god awful Hummers and spending Sundays watching American football.
Few things look as awkward as a Desi looking guy getting excited over American football and having a toothy smile all the time.
Actually I think people open up more on Internet forums than if you casually meet them in person. You can put up an act for only so long, eventually the inner beast comes out inadvertently.
People tend to say a lot of crazy S..t on the Internets that they would not say in person .A lot of times it just for giggles and trolling . Talking from experience .
Austin is the BEST city in Texas, period. Longhorn football, lots of lakes & trees, camping spots, beautiful trails, awesome music venues, tech capital, college life, night life. If you're an outdoor person, you'll love this city. Probably the most liberal city in Texas.
I also love, Portland & Seattle. Northwest is so beautiful. State of Oregon has over 1000 waterfalls. Very liberal culture as well. Other than the occasional rain, it's absolutely heavenly.
Honorable mention: Vancouver, BC, Canada. Breathtaking place!
Austin is the BEST city in Texas, period. Longhorn football, lots of lakes & trees, camping spots, beautiful trails, awesome music venues, tech capital, college life, night life. If you're an outdoor person, you'll love this city. Probably the most liberal city in Texas.
New York, Boston, Chicago, LA......
^What about the weather and State Tax?
Buffalo has terrible weather. When you talk about best cities to live in US, you have to consider Weather also.
Australia is a poor man's USA.
And thank you again for your valuable contributions.
No need to be sarcastic. I was giving an idea to those who have lived in Australia but not in USA. It doesn't mean Australia is not a great country, just that for desi's it is poor man's USA. Because it is so easy to migrate to Australia compared to the states. So if you can't go to USA, Australia is the next best option one must try.
I've never been to Australia but if you think that way that's your personal mindset I think which is not bad. I mean it could be a poor mans U.S in terms of jobs in a certain sector but for some people, that's not the only thing I'm concerned about.
For example, I'm really interested in the different types of Animal species and Australia has a lot of that. Then there are the outbacks in Australia which I'd love to visit.
so yeah... opinions and mindset!
Immigration to Australia being much easy is not a mindset. It is a fact.
I made it very clear that this was the reason I called it a poor man's USA, and not jobs etc which I don't know how you assumed.
Given a choice, I would like to visit Australia too, because of its natural diversity. Even in USA, I only liked the countryside, and wished to be a farmer. I have farmers genes, love taking care of farm animals. My parents tell me that I love the animals more than them, because I am always asking about them (the animals, not the old couple) when I call home.
Have you guys ever heard about Buffalo NY ? Buffalo is New York state's second largest city, located near Canada border.
I lived here for 14 years, went to local univerisity and then got hired by HSBC bank in IT sector.
I do see many pro's living here
1) Close to Torronto & Mississauga ( 1.5 hrs drive), I like it because this is the closest mini Pakistan you can go to enjoy Pakistani culture
2) Buffalo is very affordable, you can buy a huge & decent house for around $110-$390K
3) Many people have recently migrated to Buffalo NY after 9/11 from NYC. Now Buffalo have 7 mosques, 2 schools, and 5000+ muslim community
4) Buffalo has great suburban area, many jobs in health and finance fields, however unfortuntaly IT sector is very bad infact among worse in country
5) Buffalo has great schools and Universities. They are affrodable and SUNY system is well respected in US. University of Buffalo each year gets 6000+ foriegn students and most of them are Indians.
6) Buffalo has many places to visit, summer is the bussiest time, Buffalo host world most attractive tourist wonder, the Niagara Falls
I lived in Buffalo for two years and agree with most of the points mentioned above.
I've lost track of the places you've lived in. Western, Eastern and Central TN, NYC, Houston, Buffalo.
Wegman's is wonderful! I miss it a lot.
Definitely NYC. And by NYC I don't mean Manhattan itself, but the outer boroughs and parts of Long Island. Been living here for 18 years and love it.
I've lost track of the places you've lived in. Western, Eastern and Central TN, NYC, Houston, Buffalo.
Wegman's is wonderful! I miss it a lot.
I was about to say the same. Saadibaba is a proper khanabadosh, it seems.![]()
No need to be sarcastic. I was giving an idea to those who have lived in Australia but not in USA. It doesn't mean Australia is not a great country, just that for desi's it is poor man's USA. Because it is so easy to migrate to Australia compared to the states. So if you can't go to USA, Australia is the next best option one must try.
I guess if you had explained your original post in the detail you did just now he would not have thought you were being sarcastic. As an expatriate Australian living here in the US I would suggest that it is quicker to immigrate to Australia than the US if you are Indian because Australia does not have ethnic quotas like here in the US. The reason it is so hard for Indians to immigrate to the US is because the demand far exceeds supply of available spots. Countries like India and China have the biggest quotas for greencards but there are so many applying that the waiting list stretches many years.
That said it is not necessarily easier as Australia makes immigration decisions on a skills based point system. So those who have skills that the country needs will find it easier to immigrate, as opposed to in the US where if you can have an employer sponsor you it's really just a matter of time.
Economically, I believe the US offers more opportunities, but also more risk. If you are poor or unemployed here in the US you will enjoy a much lower quality of life than you would in Australia. And at the top end Australia's quality of life is very competitive with the US and comparable to Canada. Australia is more of a social democracy so the government provides more of a safety net for residents than here in the US.
Finally in terms of entrepreneurship I definitely think there's more opportunity here in the US. Australia is a really consolidated economy where a few huge companies tend to dominate various industries. E.g. there are four big banks, two big taxi companies, three big grocery chains, two big department store chains, etc. To be a successful entrepreneur you can't just be a me-too owner, you have to carve out a niche for yourself and hope someone buys you out for your big paycheck. In the US I think it's 10-20% of the GDP that is Fortune 1000, the rest of the GDP is generated by small businesses.
Jersey City is best IMO
I think it's worse than a fish market.
This reminds me of a poem by Faiz.
Meray dil meray musafir
hua phir sey hukm sadir
ke watan badar hon hum tum
dein gali gali sadain
karein rukh nagar nagar ka
ke suraagh koi paein
kisi yar e nama bar ka
har ik ajnabi sey poochein
jo pata tha apney ghar ka
sar e kooey nashenayan
hamein din sey raat karna
kabhi iss sey baat karna
kabhi us sey baat karna
tumhein kya kahoon key kya hey
shab e gham buri balaa hey
hamein yeh bhi tha ghaneemat
jo koi shumaar hota
hamein kya bura tha marna
agar eik baar hota
I think it's worse than a fish market.
That's the same impression I got after watching five minutes of that horrible show "Jersey Shore".
This could be the anthem for the expatriate.
Or the exile, in Faiz's case.
I agree, very apt.
Btw, did Faiz intentionally ripped Ghalib here....from the ghazal "Ye na thi hamari kismat", likely just a tribute to him.
tumhein kya kahoon key kya hey
shab e gham buri balaa hey
hamein kya bura tha marna
agar eik baar hota