Best cities to live in the US [FAO PPERS in the USA]

San Francisco bay area (though housing is super expensive)

May be Austin/Houston ?

Having lived in 4 States in the U.S., I would say the East Coast or the upper West Coast (Bay Area, Silicon Valley) are the most vibrant and happening places. Texas (aside from Austin) is dreadful (i've lived in both Houston and Dallas for 2 years each so I say this out of experience).

Having lived in Houston for almost a year, I will totally agree. Horrible weather, terrible traffic, full of gas station uncle types or their insolent wanna be ABCD children.

Lol, I agree. Houston has so many of these weirdoes.

I live in the Washington DC metro area (Northern VA) and I love it here. Culture, professionals, and enough fun things to get into.

I really like the DC suburbs. One of my relatives live there. Can be quite expensive though but DC by itself has everything. Diversity, culture, good educational institutes, great restaurants, moderate weather etc. and small enough to commute easily.

Lol, I agree. Houston has so many of these weirdoes.

They are all business class folks from the subcontinent. Well mostly. Running gas ststions, motels, etc.

but houston has the best medical center in america, arguably. So it's great for doctors and health care folks if you can get in. It's also good for engineers due to the oil industry.

So there are educated people here, cost of living ain't very high but yeah mostly the memon/ business tabqa get the limelight when desist talk of texas.

Lived there for 3 months. Too busy and hectic.....maybe for a younger version of me but not anymore.

Good for someone in his early 20s like me. Having an apt there is a good status symbol and the view is magnificent.

I agree the sheer number of people can get a bit overwhelming and get on your nerves at times though. Too much diversity. I prefer homogenous places.

I guess Philadelphia is a perfect blend of the merits of NYC and some small cities. Miami, LA etc I find too plastic and fake and def not places I would like to stay beyond a vacation.

Chicago must be good though! I def wanna visit. Boston too. But I guess that would have been the perfect city as a college student. So many people your age clustered together.

I for one loathe cities. I like my domicile to be suburban, staid, safe, stable, cookie-cutter, and lily-white, with mountain views. So it's either the Appalachians on the Rockies for me. I've lived in the former, and just loved them. I'm (still) trying to engineer a move to the latter. Everywhere else sucks.

Personally New York is the worst. Crowded, disgusting and congested. Great to visit but not to live.

I love the triangle area of NC.

Lived there for 3 months. Too busy and hectic.....maybe for a younger version of me but not anymore.

Not even a younger version for me. It's a nice place to visit. Has a lot of culture etc but after the while the lights and congestion gets so damn annoying.

Wow, so many gypsies here. I would hate to be living a year here and a year there. I love to travel but you gotta settle down.

But since we're judging and stereotyping cities, here goes nothing:

NYC is the worst of the major cities. Unless you're a low life hippy who is content with a shoe-box sized apartment or living in a basement and spending hours travelling on a bike or the subway. American dream, huh.

Chicago is cold as shoot. Otherwise a great city.

Never been to Cali, would love to move there for the best weather in the country. Problem is, everyone wants to live there, making it the most ridiculously expensive place, specially real state. San Francisco for example is 233% more expensive than Houston. Not that I would ever move to that hippy city.

Florida has good weather too, and it's a lot more affordable than California. Just stand your ground when you're asked to.

Places like Atlanta and Detroit are too ghetto for me. Nashville is beautiful and has great weather, but boring.

From the places I've never been to, I rate Washington state and North Carolina.

As for Texas, thanks to plentiful land, you can actually afford to buy a home here instead of being a gypsy or living in basements/shoe-box apartments. Houston is the most affordable of the major cities, and a great place to be for medical and engineering professionals in particular. I don't like Dallas, but that's a Houston thing. Austin is two hours from here and is highly overrated. Weather is better, but you're stuck with college kids bar-hopping all the time.

Having said all that, I am beginning to wonder if I'm growing tired of Houston.

My experience of living in various cities has been the same. Same four walls and a computer to spend my time with. I forget where I am, till I step outside, which is not often. I love my nice little habitat with no human contact.

Interestingly, the thread was about cities but it reflects more about the people commenting here than the actual cities. You can almost judge a person based on the type of city they like.

Can't judge a person by their internet posts . You never know how real or even remotely close to the post a person is .

You asked for people's opinions. There's no anonymous judgement on what is the best city in the US. It's always going to be subjective. Did you actually expect everyone to give you the same answer?

Can't judge a person by their internet posts . You never know how real or even remotely close to the post a person is .

Actually I think people open up more on Internet forums than if you casually meet them in person. You can put up an act for only so long, eventually the inner beast comes out inadvertently.

You asked for people's opinions. There's no anonymous judgement on what is the best city in the US. It's always going to be subjective. Did you actually expect everyone to give you the same answer?

Was just observing how accurately a persons opinions of a city reflect their own personality.

I live in Long Island, New York. 20 mins drive to NYC from where I live, not crowded, nice suburb, nice and clean air and most importantly, lots and lots of parking spaces. I would say Long Island is a great place to live because there are tons of opportunities (you're closer to NYC than NJ). On Long Island alone, there are tons of opportunities. I've been to Chicago and LA, too quiet for my liking, I prefer being surrounded by people rather than grizzly bears and other wild animals.

I really like the DC suburbs. One of my relatives live there. Can be quite expensive though but DC by itself has everything. Diversity, culture, good educational institutes, great restaurants, moderate weather etc. and small enough to commute easily.

I don't know about DC proper, but the dreaded beltway makes commuting to and from the MD and VA suburbs a nightmare. I've had to drive to MD from PA numerous times.

I've also turned down offers from that area, because for such an expensive place, salaries are low.

Only lived in Dallas :P

Dallas and Houston are so full of desi's. I know of an old couple in Karachi who travel every year to Dallas to spend Ramzan, because apparently the "mahool " in those desi burbs is so inclusive, whole communities doing Sehri, Iftari, Taraweeh etc. together that it even beats the cities in Pakistan.

Only lived in Dallas :P

On a vacation to the US (before I moved here) I received a Dallas Cowboys sweatshirt as a gift. I wore it in Pakistan. My cousin looked at it and said "D***a's?"

Needless to say, I couldn't wear that shirt again.

DC and northern Virginia is awesome. Different cultures, not too much NY type congestion and rush, vibrant with lots of things to do. Plus all seasons!

New York is just good for visiting.

Another vote for Northern Virginia

IMO it is the best metroplex for educated Desis to live in, as long as they can afford it

It is has a more educated vibe than Houston/Dallas, has better weather than most places, people are not that racist on the outside

NoVA looks very congested and hectic to me.

I'm guessing you guys have never lived in the boonies. Try it sometime. You'll be exotic, and better educated than the natives and therefore entitled to exude an air of superiority.

NoVA looks very congested and hectic to me.

I'm guessing you guys have never lived in the boonies. Try it sometime. You'll be exotic, and better educated than the natives and therefore entitled to exude an air of superiority.

I've lived in the boonies too.....exotic is a glamorous way of saying it but the right word is foreign. You feel like a fish out of water. Everywhere you go, people look at you like a you've just grown horns on your head. As for being better educated....yes, the hillbillies do make you feel very cultured and snobbish. Sadly, I've seen a few desi's who have blended in such degenerate culture, have gotten married to some fat white red neck chick twice their age, driving around in those god awful Hummers and spending Sundays watching American football.

I don't know about DC proper, but the dreaded beltway makes commuting to and from the MD and VA suburbs a nightmare. I've had to drive to MD from PA numerous times.

I've also turned down offers from that area, because for such an expensive place, salaries are low.

Tell me about it.

Been through that area many times. When you're coming from NY that area is sort of the last congestion belt. There's Richmond after that which is also slightly congested but then you reach the beautiful peaceful highways of the Carolinas!

Sadly, I've seen a few desi's who have blended in such degenerate culture, have gotten married to some fat white red neck chick twice their age, driving around in those god awful Hummers and spending Sundays watching American football.

Few things look as awkward as a Desi looking guy getting excited over American football and having a toothy smile all the time.

American football is very popular in desis who went to school here ..

I myself never got into it but my friends who are very very qualified are crazy about it ...

Best cities to live should be
1) Multi-Cultural
2) Cost of Living

I say South Florida is the best place to live. Reasons are
1) No State Tax
2) Majority people are immigrants from various countries.
3) Less Racism
4) Low Cost of Living

Actually I think people open up more on Internet forums than if you casually meet them in person. You can put up an act for only so long, eventually the inner beast comes out inadvertently.

People tend to say a lot of crazy S..t on the Internets that they would not say in person .A lot of times it just for giggles and trolling . Talking from experience .

Austin is the BEST city in Texas, period. Longhorn football, lots of lakes & trees, camping spots, beautiful trails, awesome music venues, tech capital, college life, night life. If you're an outdoor person, you'll love this city. Probably the most liberal city in Texas.

I also love, Portland & Seattle. Northwest is so beautiful. State of Oregon has over 1000 waterfalls. Very liberal culture as well. Other than the occasional rain, it's absolutely heavenly.

Honorable mention: Vancouver, BC, Canada. Breathtaking place!

Some of the outskirts of Boston are rated the nation's best places to live by Forbes and other sources.

I have lived in PA and NY. PA (near Pittsburgh) was a great place to live in but due to some very horrible personal circumstances I wasn't able to enjoy the place.

I live in NY's suburb (though there is nothing like NY suburb if you live close to nyc). Traffic is horrible, taxes are sky high, homes are expensive but it's so culturally diversed that you don't feel like an outsider at all.

Austin is the BEST city in Texas, period. Longhorn football, lots of lakes & trees, camping spots, beautiful trails, awesome music venues, tech capital, college life, night life. If you're an outdoor person, you'll love this city. Probably the most liberal city in Texas.

I also love, Portland & Seattle. Northwest is so beautiful. State of Oregon has over 1000 waterfalls. Very liberal culture as well. Other than the occasional rain, it's absolutely heavenly.

Honorable mention: Vancouver, BC, Canada. Breathtaking place!

5be94bfaccd3d246a4209679ce89a58d4d94d9c242a5c68f2f0dc84337060d41.jpg

Hippies, homosexuals and pot heads. All proud liberals.

I think you can replace the probably with definitely.

Austin hits the sweet spot between large and small city and has conveniences of both. It also feels very educated in an unTexan sort of way.

Have you guys ever heard about Buffalo NY ? Buffalo is New York state's second largest city, located near Canada border.

I lived here for 14 years, went to local univerisity and then got hired by HSBC bank in IT sector.

I do see many pro's living here

1) Close to Torronto & Mississauga ( 1.5 hrs drive), I like it because this is the closest mini Pakistan you can go to enjoy Pakistani culture

2) Buffalo is very affordable, you can buy a huge & decent house for around $110-$390K

3) Many people have recently migrated to Buffalo NY after 9/11 from NYC. Now Buffalo have 7 mosques, 2 schools, and 5000+ muslim community

4) Buffalo has great suburban area, many jobs in health and finance fields, however unfortuntaly IT sector is very bad infact among worse in country

5) Buffalo has great schools and Universities. They are affrodable and SUNY system is well respected in US. University of Buffalo each year gets 6000+ foriegn students and most of them are Indians.

6) Buffalo has many places to visit, summer is the bussiest time, Buffalo host world most attractive tourist wonder, the Niagara Falls

^What about the weather and State Tax?

Buffalo has terrible weather. When you talk about best cities to live in US, you have to consider Weather also.

New York, Boston, Chicago, LA......

Which have you lived in and which was better?

In the US, I have lived in:

Cincinnati (as a kid briefly)
New York
Los Angeles
Boston

New York is such an awesome city to live in if you like the urban lifestyle. Definitely one of the best places I have lived in. Housing in Manhattan is expensive unless you move to Queens. Brooklyn is still fairly cheap but as it gets more gentrified prices are starting to rise. I have grown to love Boston although when I first moved here from Sydney I hated it. It's got a lot of character for a city, because of all the history (bit like New York but on a smaller scale). If you have a young family Boston is great because of all the good schools here. I lived in LA briefly and hated it, felt like the city had no character and everyone I met was not from LA but transiting through.

^What about the weather and State Tax?

Buffalo has terrible weather. When you talk about best cities to live in US, you have to consider Weather also.

Most American cities have terrible weather at least 3 months out of 12, exceptions among major ones being Atlanta, LA and maybe Miami.

Buffalo would be very cold 3 months of the year, but I am sure it is very pleasant April through June and September/October; Pittsburgh, Twin Cities, Chicago, Boston all have similar cold periods

i wanna goto us. so what's the easiest way?

ek white chic pata ne se ho jayega? :P

Interesting posts in here.

Have never lived in the States so it's interesting to see the opinions people hold on various cities.

Also - they have separate Federal and State tax regimes? That's strange.

What is the income tax rate btw?

What's Baltimore and NJ like?

And thank you again for your valuable contributions.

No need to be sarcastic. I was giving an idea to those who have lived in Australia but not in USA. It doesn't mean Australia is not a great country, just that for desi's it is poor man's USA. Because it is so easy to migrate to Australia compared to the states. So if you can't go to USA, Australia is the next best option one must try.

I've never been to Australia but if you think that way that's your personal mindset I think which is not bad. I mean it could be a poor mans U.S in terms of jobs in a certain sector but for some people, that's not the only thing I'm concerned about.

For example, I'm really interested in the different types of Animal species and Australia has a lot of that. Then there are the outbacks in Australia which I'd love to visit.

so yeah... opinions and mindset!

I've never been to Australia but if you think that way that's your personal mindset I think which is not bad. I mean it could be a poor mans U.S in terms of jobs in a certain sector but for some people, that's not the only thing I'm concerned about.

For example, I'm really interested in the different types of Animal species and Australia has a lot of that. Then there are the outbacks in Australia which I'd love to visit.

so yeah... opinions and mindset!

Immigration to Australia being much easy is not a mindset. It is a fact.

I made it very clear that this was the reason I called it a poor man's USA, and not jobs etc which I don't know how you assumed.

Given a choice, I would like to visit Australia too, because of its natural diversity. Even in USA, I only liked the countryside, and wished to be a farmer. I have farmers genes, love taking care of farm animals. My parents tell me that I love the animals more than them, because I am always asking about them (the animals, not the old couple) when I call home.

Immigration to Australia being much easy is not a mindset. It is a fact.

I made it very clear that this was the reason I called it a poor man's USA, and not jobs etc which I don't know how you assumed.

Given a choice, I would like to visit Australia too, because of its natural diversity. Even in USA, I only liked the countryside, and wished to be a farmer. I have farmers genes, love taking care of farm animals. My parents tell me that I love the animals more than them, because I am always asking about them (the animals, not the old couple) when I call home.

I didn't assume anything... I said what you said. Immigration to Australia being easier might be a fact but it being a poor mans U.S is a mindset. Maybe a lot of people just wanting to go to a foreign country share this mindset but it still is one.

Definitely NYC. And by NYC I don't mean Manhattan itself, but the outer boroughs and parts of Long Island. Been living here for 18 years and love it.

Have you guys ever heard about Buffalo NY ? Buffalo is New York state's second largest city, located near Canada border.

I lived here for 14 years, went to local univerisity and then got hired by HSBC bank in IT sector.

I do see many pro's living here

1) Close to Torronto & Mississauga ( 1.5 hrs drive), I like it because this is the closest mini Pakistan you can go to enjoy Pakistani culture

2) Buffalo is very affordable, you can buy a huge & decent house for around $110-$390K

3) Many people have recently migrated to Buffalo NY after 9/11 from NYC. Now Buffalo have 7 mosques, 2 schools, and 5000+ muslim community

4) Buffalo has great suburban area, many jobs in health and finance fields, however unfortuntaly IT sector is very bad infact among worse in country

5) Buffalo has great schools and Universities. They are affrodable and SUNY system is well respected in US. University of Buffalo each year gets 6000+ foriegn students and most of them are Indians.

6) Buffalo has many places to visit, summer is the bussiest time, Buffalo host world most attractive tourist wonder, the Niagara Falls

I lived in Buffalo for two years and agree with most of the points mentioned above.

The park system is another great thing about Buffalo having designed by the great architect Frederick Law Olmsted. Most notable being the Delaware park with its beautifully landscaped trails, marked by statues and small bridges, its probably one of the best parks in an urban setting in the country. I lived very close to it and used to go hiking, running and biking during the summer and fall months. I used to often catch the mayor of Buffalo jogging along with his wife there. Niagara Falls was a 20 min drive for me. Even though the views of the fall are supposed to be better from the Toronto side, the ones from the Buffalo side weren't bad either.

SUNY system is very strong and a lot of great cutting edge research is going on in their fine institutes. Being an old industrial town past its prime, it does have areas which are now totally abandoned and delipidated. If anyone is interested in seeing industrial ruins, this will be the town for them. I know the HSBC building well, been there on one of the top floors. The views of lake Erie from there were breathtaking. I also got familiar with certain brands, like Tim Horton's Coffee and Anderson's frozen custard. Very delish. Buffalo also has the grocery chain Wegmans which was voted the best grocery chain in the country by Consumer Reports. I used to love going there. So much variety and the prices were reasonable as well.

Now for the bad:
People are rough and matter of fact. I never experienced such hostile driving in my life, other than in Karachi. Weather is actually not as bad as it get the rep for. Michigan I believe is much worse than Buffalo. Parts of Buffalo close to the lake gets almost twice as much snow as parts away from the lake because of the "lake effect". As I was away from the lake, it wasn't that bad. One time all the power lines in our area got damaged as it snowed heavily very early in winter and all the tree branches fell on the power lines. I was without any heat and power for 2-3 days....slept in my thick winter coat, pants and socks inside a thick comforter...was quite an adventure come to think of it.

People there are very hardy though, just like any who are used to living in cold climates. Life went on no matter how much it snowed or how cold it got. Here in the south, it snows barely an inch and all life comes to a stand still. Over there it used to snow in feets and the next day, the roads will all be clean and salted and it was all back to normal. Such resilience is admirable. There is also a large Italian population in Buffalo resulting in a lot of really fine Italian restaurants. There is a hippie street in Buffalo which I used to love called Elmwood street with lots of of great ethnic restaurants, coffee shops, hang out places...you almost felt like you are on Haight-Ashbury in San Fran. It also has a great symphony orchestra headed by nationally famous composer JoAnn Falletta. I had the pleasure to watch violinist Sarah Chang perform Vivaldi's Four Seasons with the orchestra. Albright-Knox art gallery in Buffalo has works by great artists, esp. there is huge Jackson Pollock painting as you enter the museum which I still remember clearly. Plus, you had Shakespeare in the Park during the summer months. There were a lot of great natural parks close to Buffalo like Letchworth Park, donated by some rich family to the state. It had a great big mansion and natural waterfall right in front of it, great views and natural beauty all around. Great for picnics or just walking the trails.

I was studying and researching when I was there and was not involved in the daily hustle bustle of work so Buffalo overall left a very kind impression on me. I decided to leave and come back to the South though as I could not foresee myself living in such weather all my life plus the job opportunities there are not the best. Still, its a great place to live if you don't mind the weather and the taxes.

I lived in Buffalo for two years and agree with most of the points mentioned above.

I've lost track of the places you've lived in. Western, Eastern and Central TN, NYC, Houston, Buffalo.

Wegman's is wonderful! I miss it a lot.

I've lost track of the places you've lived in. Western, Eastern and Central TN, NYC, Houston, Buffalo.

I was about to say the same. Saadibaba is a proper khanabadosh, it seems. :P

I think Chicago topped the list of "Most rudest people in the U.S."
I am sure NY and LA won't be too far down on the list.

Texas has its own drawbacks that easily outweigh its attractiveness.

FL is way too hot, and remains the only state where immigrants outnumber the locals.

In my personal opinion, New England is the best part to live in the U.S.
It's pricey and its has relatively longer winters but folks are generally very nice and well educated in most areas.

You can also find out about U.S. cities on city data website.

I was about to say the same. Saadibaba is a proper khanabadosh, it seems. :P

This reminds me of a poem by Faiz.

Meray dil meray musafir
hua phir sey hukm sadir
ke watan badar hon hum tum

dein gali gali sadain
karein rukh nagar nagar ka
ke suraagh koi paein
kisi yar e nama bar ka

har ik ajnabi sey poochein
jo pata tha apney ghar ka
sar e kooey nashenayan
hamein din sey raat karna

kabhi iss sey baat karna
kabhi us sey baat karna
tumhein kya kahoon key kya hey
shab e gham buri balaa hey

hamein yeh bhi tha ghaneemat
jo koi shumaar hota
hamein kya bura tha marna
agar eik baar hota

I guess if you had explained your original post in the detail you did just now he would not have thought you were being sarcastic. As an expatriate Australian living here in the US I would suggest that it is quicker to immigrate to Australia than the US if you are Indian because Australia does not have ethnic quotas like here in the US. The reason it is so hard for Indians to immigrate to the US is because the demand far exceeds supply of available spots. Countries like India and China have the biggest quotas for greencards but there are so many applying that the waiting list stretches many years.

That said it is not necessarily easier as Australia makes immigration decisions on a skills based point system. So those who have skills that the country needs will find it easier to immigrate, as opposed to in the US where if you can have an employer sponsor you it's really just a matter of time.

Economically, I believe the US offers more opportunities, but also more risk. If you are poor or unemployed here in the US you will enjoy a much lower quality of life than you would in Australia. And at the top end Australia's quality of life is very competitive with the US and comparable to Canada. Australia is more of a social democracy so the government provides more of a safety net for residents than here in the US.

Finally in terms of entrepreneurship I definitely think there's more opportunity here in the US. Australia is a really consolidated economy where a few huge companies tend to dominate various industries. E.g. there are four big banks, two big taxi companies, three big grocery chains, two big department store chains, etc. To be a successful entrepreneur you can't just be a me-too owner, you have to carve out a niche for yourself and hope someone buys you out for your big paycheck. In the US I think it's 10-20% of the GDP that is Fortune 1000, the rest of the GDP is generated by small businesses.

I guess if you had explained your original post in the detail you did just now he would not have thought you were being sarcastic. As an expatriate Australian living here in the US I would suggest that it is quicker to immigrate to Australia than the US if you are Indian because Australia does not have ethnic quotas like here in the US. The reason it is so hard for Indians to immigrate to the US is because the demand far exceeds supply of available spots. Countries like India and China have the biggest quotas for greencards but there are so many applying that the waiting list stretches many years.

That said it is not necessarily easier as Australia makes immigration decisions on a skills based point system. So those who have skills that the country needs will find it easier to immigrate, as opposed to in the US where if you can have an employer sponsor you it's really just a matter of time.

Economically, I believe the US offers more opportunities, but also more risk. If you are poor or unemployed here in the US you will enjoy a much lower quality of life than you would in Australia. And at the top end Australia's quality of life is very competitive with the US and comparable to Canada. Australia is more of a social democracy so the government provides more of a safety net for residents than here in the US.

Finally in terms of entrepreneurship I definitely think there's more opportunity here in the US. Australia is a really consolidated economy where a few huge companies tend to dominate various industries. E.g. there are four big banks, two big taxi companies, three big grocery chains, two big department store chains, etc. To be a successful entrepreneur you can't just be a me-too owner, you have to carve out a niche for yourself and hope someone buys you out for your big paycheck. In the US I think it's 10-20% of the GDP that is Fortune 1000, the rest of the GDP is generated by small businesses.

Very interesting point about entrepreneurship. I guess it also extends to the level of risk investors are willing to pay to back your idea. I know for a fact through family experience that new ideas in Aus are not likely to get the financial backing of VCs that it would get in the USA.

Never thought about it that way because I never migrated by my own accord so I'm not sure how hard or easy it would have been.

From talking to students and other immigrants, the ease of immigration is not usually the number one reason for them to choose Aus. The reasons range from safety, employment stability, social security, healthcare, education etc. Aus is ahead of the States in all those currently.

The USA have a much lower social mobility as compared to Australia and the top 1% constitute 20% of the GDP. The American Dream is powder in the eyes that immigrants tend to believe because of selection bias, ie that one guy out of dozens from their community who made it to upper middle class.

US has lot of variety to offer to almost everybody. Depending upon what kind of life style you want, you will find one.

Usually when you are young you want to live in vibrant down town like Manhattan, Chicago, SF etc. there is lot to offer by many cities but these are probably the best.

Subrabian life is great in many places. I live in northern va (DC Suburbs) for last 15 years, great place to raise family. It has lot to offer, more civilized communities, good schools, diverse job opportunities because of nature of industries attached to govt sector. Economy does not depend upon one sector or industry, today it is IT tomorrow it will something else. Within IT there is lot more diversity, people work on drones, space, DARPA, cloud and anything in between...

In DC you enjoy all four seasons, although pollen season is harsh on most. We also enjoy lot of cricket here, very vibrant hard ball and tennis ball leagues, we enjoy from April to Mid November. Also NY is an easy getaway for weekend. I really love visiting Manhattan, my kids do too. In many ways it's lot like living in Pindi/Islamabad where I used to live back in Pakistan... So basis have not changed really for me ;)))

I have lived in Chicago and loved the city, sky line, architecture really great, so is the night life.... Great place specially in summer!!

Other place I would love to live is valley, because of technology and culture around it. Weather wise San Diego is best, heavens weather all year long. But you cannot live many places in one life time :((

This reminds of this episode of South Park I saw recently called "It's a Jersey Thing" where people of NJ start coming to South Park and acting out in their usual Jersey (trashy, obnoxious, over the top) way so the South Park people decide to stop the invasion of their town by arming themselves and barricading the streets ending up in a total blood bath. They ask for help from the govt. but after no one comes to the help of the people of South Park they end up asking help from OBL, the joke being the people of Jersey are worst than terrorists. Snooki appears as a rat-human hybrid whose only interested in procreating. Than there is a scene when Randy interrogates Michael "The Situation" from the Jersey Shore show, who only answer back with "It's just a Jersey thing, you know, you just gotta be from Jersey to get it." :))

This reminds me of a poem by Faiz.

Meray dil meray musafir
hua phir sey hukm sadir
ke watan badar hon hum tum

dein gali gali sadain
karein rukh nagar nagar ka
ke suraagh koi paein
kisi yar e nama bar ka

har ik ajnabi sey poochein
jo pata tha apney ghar ka
sar e kooey nashenayan
hamein din sey raat karna

kabhi iss sey baat karna
kabhi us sey baat karna

hamein yeh bhi tha ghaneemat
jo koi shumaar hota
agar eik baar hota

This could be the anthem for the expatriate.

Or the exile, in Faiz's case.

I think it's worse than a fish market.

That's the same impression I got after watching five minutes of that horrible show "Jersey Shore".

Not all of "Joisey" is bad. There are some good suburbs north of NYC, and then the western parts close to PA where you find the foothills of the Appalachians are nice too.

But yes, there's the tacky shore immortalized by that show and Atlantic City, and then the "armpit of America" aka Jersey City, Hoboken etc, and Camden, and the central congested sprawl.

This could be the anthem for the expatriate.

Or the exile, in Faiz's case.

I agree, very apt.

Btw, did Faiz intentionally ripped Ghalib here....from the ghazal "Ye na thi hamari kismat", likely just a tribute to him.

agar eik baar hota

I agree, very apt.

Btw, did Faiz intentionally ripped Ghalib here....from the ghazal "Ye na thi hamari kismat", likely just a tribute to him.

agar eik baar hota

I'll have to go check my tattered old copy of Nuskhaha-e-wafaa to see if it has one of those "tazmeen az sher Ghalib" clarifications in the title. Otherwise it's plagiarism.

I like that Ghalib one too: yeh naa thee hamari qismat/ ke visaal-e-yaar hota.

Some of the worst states in the country:

New Jersey (Can't think of anything good)

Indiana (A church at every intersection, full of ignorant creationists & bible thumpers)

Alabama (Bible belt, avg IQ is at least 20 pts lower thn rest of the country)

Mississippi (Absolute worst, evangelicals run amok. Most corrupt & prejudiced people)

While Chicago is a good choice for many people, I always felt suffocated in that city given that it is

1) Flat
2) Far away from any ocean or proper national park
3) No major city similar in size within half a day's drive. You can drive for hours and all you will come across are corn fields and smaller towns

Such traits apply to places like Dallas, Houston as well

Contrast that to a place like LA or DC, you have several amazing parks within a few hours of LA, and in DC you are a days drive away from anywhere in the East Coast

Lot of hate for Southern states here.

I dont know but for some reason I always get along really well with Southern people my age. Ofcourse Im not talkigng abt hillbillies and the like but I have always found ppl from the south (from Tennessee, Georgia, NC,SC) to be more genuine than the ppl from the east coast cities like NY and philly.

And def the racism aspect is blown out of proportion. I was for a couple of weeks at a friend's place in TN and not once was there a slightest indication of racism etc. And this was heartland deep south