Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan passes away

Irrfan Khan’s son Babil: ‘I don’t want to be judged by my religion, I am a human being’
“You want the story in short without any name calling or career ending potentials?: Mandatory holiday for Eid cancelled on Friday while holiday for Raksha Bandhan on Monday still given. Okay then no problem, I’ll just celebrate Eid when it’s not Eid on Saturday most sarcastic smile ever,” he wrote.

Babil talked about getting judged by his religion and said that his team advised him against addressing the issue publicly as it may harm his career. “Can’t even post anything of how I feel about the people in power without my whole f**king team telling me that it might end my career. Can you believe this? I’m scared, I’m afraid, I don’t want to be. I just want to feel free again. I don’t want to be judged by my religion. I am not my religion, l am a human being, just like the rest of the population of India,” he said.

Babil spoke about discrimination. “I know the whole world is in a f**king frenzy but our beautiful secular India’s sudden relapse of religious divide is honestly getting scary. I have friends that have stopped communicating with me cause I’m of a certain religion. Friends I played cricket with when I was 12. I miss my friends. My Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Sikh, human friends. I just miss not giving a **** about what surname I was born with,” he said.
Thats the problem which my dear country is facing due to the 2 bigots and their blind bhakts. Muslims are not treated as second class citizens of India but are treated as anti nationals along with who sympathizes with them, with all of them are asked to go to Pakistan.

Why does he use the f word so many time? Seems his parents didn't teach him manners, or they tried but he didn't learn.

So thats the only.thing you take away from the post? How about addressing the real issue he and every non hindu is talking about in secular india?

Yes, that is what I saw in the post and no one else seemed to. Deal with it.

He was an okay actor. Always found him unhappy, aggressive and defensive for no reason over his identity.

I am with you on this. Discrimination against muslims, mob lynching are becoming part of our culture now. News like these doesn't even surprise us anymore. :inti

That's weird. Just on another thread a bro of yours is telling us how Hindu's are so peaceful. How there is no such thing as blasphemy in the Hindu faith. Hindutva terrorists killing there Muslim's must be coz Salman and Shahrukh Khan are to wealthy not because Muslim's eat meat.

I am with you on this. Discrimination against muslims, mob lynching are becoming part of our culture now. News like these doesn't even surprise us anymore. :inti

Yep The bhakts have moved on from defending it to admitting it now and saying so what, deal with it

Mob lynching is just a law and order problem. Where there is vacuum created by lack of law, mob justice will fill the space. It is water finding its own level.

Yep The bhakts have moved on from defending it to admitting it now and saying so what, deal with it

as sir sayyid ahmad khan said, hindus and muslims can only co-exist peacefully when one overpowers the other. right now there is hindu renaissance vs muslim resistance. you will see peace when one of them overpowers the other.

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/p/CP012-Bh9yN/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="13" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/CP012-Bh9yN/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;"> View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center; margin-bottom: 24px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 224px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 144px;"></div></div></a><p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;"><a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/CP012-Bh9yN/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none;" target="_blank">A post shared by Adnan Siddiqui (@adnansid1)</a></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

When Irrfan Khan passed away due to cancer last year, Bollywood and Hollywood mourned the loss of such a stellar actor. One of the finest in his craft, Khan was touted to have gone too soon, as many paid rich tributes to him. Stars from the Pakistani film industry celebrated the Angrezi Medium star as well.

Adnan Siddiqui, who had worked with Khan on A Mighty Heart – a true story based on the life and death of American journalist Daniel Pearl - had often spoken about the late Indian superstar’s acting prowess. A year on, the Sammi alum has taken to Instagram once again to share a throwback video of Khan with his wife from the shooting of the Angelina Jolie starrer in Pune, all those years ago.

“It would be an affront to both Pakistan and India if its citizens, while working together, don’t turn their workplace into a cricket ground. Obviously, our sports rivalry for the Gentleman’s Game is too prominent to be ignored, even on film sets. When I was shooting for A Mighty Heart in Pune, Irrfan sahab and I often indulged in long-drawn discussions on cricket and Indo- Pak matches played previously, each offering his own expertise on what should have been," Siddiqui began. "This was the only instance when he would forget that I was a ‘guest’ from sarhad paar (across the border) who should be treated with kid’s gloves, and get into vociferous arguments on how brilliant Indian players were and the command they had over the game."

He further recalled, "In those conversations, I could feel that he wanted to challenge me to a game, both of us being ardent players. And then one day, he dropped the bomb. 'Let’s have a match,' he said. Soon enough, the backyard of the hotel where we were staying turned into a local Lords, with arch-rivals taking on each other."

Siddiqui went on, "This was also my time to bowl him over — something I couldn’t do in acting as he left me stumped every time. My bowling experience came in handy and I took his wicket not once but thrice! How could Irrfan sahab, representing India, let this slide? He muttered something like ‘Baap baap hota hai,’ vowing to avenge his wicket. He was determined and so was I. For once, the scales tilted in my favour and I still can’t stop gloating about it."

Concluding his note, the Mom actor shared how the video made him reminisce the good times. "This video took me back to Pune and to simpler times, when we could have after-parties without masks and SOPs in place, when artists weren’t shackled by borders and political agendas," he commented, "Irrfan sahab with his wife Sutapa Sikdar and son Ayaan at the after party of A Mighty Heart at the iconic Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai."

Previously, on Khan's first death anniversary last month, Siddiqui couldn’t help but get emotional. “Outstanding actor, human being par excellence,” began the Yeh Dil Mera star at the time. “Irrfan bhai, I must have done something right in my life to have known you professionally and personally. Your vacuum in the cinematic world remains as stark, even after a year.” On multiple platforms, Siddiqui has expressed his grief over Khan’s untimely demise that left him “gutted and disturbed.” Previously, he had tweeted, “A fine soul gone too soon.”

Khan lost his life to neuroendocrine cancer in April of last year, leaving several loved ones and fans grieving forever. To mark the anniversary of his death, Sikdar and his son Babil also took to social media to pen heartfelt tributes. In a touching note, the latter spoke of his father’s legacy and how he found joy in the little things. “To the greatest best friend, companion, brother and father I ever had and ever will... I love you so much for the rest of this chaos, we are choosing to call life. I miss you.”
Sikdar, on the other hand, recalled Khan’s last moments before passing away. “How exactly does one swim this huge ocean of time? The clock stopped at 11:11 on April 29 for me.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/230470...-khan-adnan-siddiqui-played-a-game-of-cricket

Everything about Murder At Teesri Manzil 302, a long-delayed Irrfan Khan starrer that Zee5 has found space for, has obsolescence emblazoned all across it. But for the lead actor, whose admirers are legion and who will always be missed, the film has little that could explain why it has been retrieved from cold storage - it was scheduled for release all of a decade ago as Bangkok Blues - and foisted upon us. Murder at Teesri Manzil 302 is dead on arrival.

Irrfan's presence in the film, besides inducing an inevitable twinge, reminds us, if a reminder were at all needed, of the enormity of the loss that his absence represents. Even in the sloppiest of scenes in a puerile and messy suspense thriller, the actor does not lose his poise and finds ways to pull away from the mediocrity swirling around him.

The film is dedicated to both Irrfan and music composer Wajid Khan, one half of the Sajid-Wajid duo who died in 2020 two months after the much-loved actor. Unfortunately, Murder at Teesri Manzil 302 is too stodgy a film to be regarded as a fitting remembrance. Murder At Teesri Manzil 302 is, as the unwieldy title suggests, a murder mystery. It quickly murders any potential of developing into a passably engaging whodunnit. Any mystery that remains pertains to the star of The Namesake, Life... in a Metro and Paan Singh Tomar. What would have made him acquiesce to be a part of a movie such as this?

"It is like a blind date," Irrfan's character in the film says in a scene. We would have given it a miss had he not been involved. The terribly underwritten character that he plays spouts lines like "Bandhi hui aurat kitni khubsoorat lagti hai na?" The rough translation of the line would be, doesn't a woman in shackles look beautiful? We know exactly what to do with that question and, one can safely presume, so did the actor. Irrfan's bafflement shows on the screen.

Directed by Navneet Baj Saini, Murder At Teesri Manzil 302 unfolds primarily in two adjoining apartments in a Bangkok building block inhabited by Indians and where everybody speaks Hindi. In fact, the film would have us believe that everybody in the Thai capital uses our rashtra bhasha as a means of verbal communication.

Wonder why they all had to go all the way to Thailand to make a film that could have been rustled up in Mumbai itself without the script being altered one bit. Mumbai's local trains could have easily stood in for Bangkok's BTS. The streets and sights of Thailand do not even provide a meaningful backdrop for the story.

The story? Well, that is another story. The disjointed screenplay meanders merrily between the banal and the contrived without striving for any kind of believable psychological underpinning. Lies, subterfuge, betrayals, greed, violence: Murder At Teesri Manzil 302 is an ungainly pile-up of the usual suspense thriller tropes trotted out without a semblance of sense.

Maya (Deepal Shaw), the wife of a leading Bangkok industrialist Abhishek Diwan (Ranvir Shorey, who, too, is barely able to disguise a permanent befuddled look) goes missing. Two cops (Lucky Ali and Nausheen Ali Sardar, neither of whom is particularly active as actors anymore) are deployed to find out where on earth the lady has disappeared.

The plainclothes duo vanishes from the scene once they have done their token groundwork. They surface infrequently to register their presence in a film in which they are redundant. The police in Murder At Teesri Manzil 302 are compelled to take a backseat as the cat-and-mouse game turns to a battle of wits between the kidnapped and kidnapper. Neither the battle nor the wits on display is even half decent.

Turns out that Shekhar Sharma (Irrfan), a small-time go-to man for Indians in trouble in Bangkok (yes, that is his full-time occupation), has a hand in the woman's disappearance. There is an extra-marital affair, a secret deal and a murdered woman in here - the how and why of it add up to a insufferably laboured and completely unconvincing affair.

The remainder of Murder At Teesri Manzil is devoted to revealing how a man who claims to have a solution for every problem is embroiled in the messed-up lives of a wealthy and wicked entrepreneur and his wily wife. The two-hour film flits back and forth between a half-baked conspiracy and an unsuspecting man caught in the muddle that it sparks.

It is sad to see the incredible Irrfan Khan trapped in a script that does not possess the wherewithal to do justice to his talent. It is left entirely to the actor to make the most of a lousy deal - a job that he does without breaking a sweat.

Ranvir Shorey shows sparks of brilliance only to the extent that the insipid screenplay will allow him to, which, as you would have guessed by now, isn't much to write home about. Deepal Shaw is out of her depth as she navigates her way between an incredible Irrfan and a solid Shorey - when she isn't strident, she is sickly saccharine, neither of which can help her arouse any sort of audience empathy for a woman torn between what she wants and how quickly she wants it.

Is Murder At Teesri Manzil 302 worth its two hours? No. Towards the end of the film, Irrfan's character says: "Ummeed hai film pasand aayi hogi (I hope you liked the film)." Indeed, this is a film that is out here only in the hope of cashing in on the exceptional standing that Irrfan enjoyed as a screen performer. Do yourself - and Irrfan's memory - a favour. Pick any other film from actor's varied and substantial oeuvre and watch it.

https://www.ndtv.com/entertainment/...-5-star-2680982#pfrom=home-ndtv_lateststories