Bollywood Corner

Just watched it,the best bollywood movie this year,Rajkumar,Pankaj and special mention to Raghubir Yadav whom I couldn't even recognise have done great work.

Best is the script and dialogues in the movie though,great job by Amit and Mayant.

[MENTION=77677]IgnitedMind[/MENTION] hope you saw Newton, its almost like Satyakam of this generation, btw any idea on Mukti Bhavan,somehow i managed to miss that.

Is the movie "A Wednesday" any good? It looks like an interesting thriller. It's got a good ratin on imdb but I don't trust imdb for Indian movies because desi audiences have awful taste

Not a great year for Bollywood with only a few big grossers at the box office as well as just a few films being critically acclaimed.

Not a single film this year thus far that could strike the sweet spot between critical acclaim and box office. Padmavati could've been that film but we all know ...

Really good year for Akshay Kumar with Toilet and Jolly LLB 2 both crossing 100 cr and having a good word of mouth with the audience.

Bollywood actor Ranveer Singh, who is riding high on the success of Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Padmaavat, is now all set to play star cricketer Kapil Dev in Kabir Khan’s 83.

“It’s an honour to be a part of one of the most incredible sporting stories of our nation’s history, the 1983 cricket world cup. We have the honour of telling this story and mortalising this on celluloid. It is one of the most incredible underdog stories,” Ranveer said.

The Reliance Entertainment movie is being directed by Kabir Khan. Ranveer says “83 is a story of human triumph and I am very excited to work with Kabir Khan. Bajrangi Bhaijaan is one of my most favourite films of all time,” he said.

The actor, who is being appreciated for his portrayal of Alauddin Khilji in Padmaavat, is also excited about his upcoming projects which include Gully Boy and Simmba.

“My current slate is another opportunity to showcase my versatility and in collaboration with finest filmmakers in the country. So right now I am going through a very rich creative phase and I am feeling blessed,” he added.

83 follows how the Indian cricket team defeated West Indies in the final of the World Cup in 1983 under the newly-appointed captain Kapil Dev. It tracks the coming-of-age of not just a cricketing team, but of a young nation in the eyes of the world.

2018 seems to be the year of biopics with a biopic being released on Sanjay Dutt as well on Rani Laxmibai.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...y-excited-to-play-kapil-dev-in-upcoming-film/

Whats going on with SRK these days ? Saw many troll posts showing that Salman, Aamir, Akshay and even Ranvir's films have done more than double the business of SRK's films in the past year.

Does the ageing Badshaah have any tricks up his sleeve ?

Whats going on with SRK these days ? Saw many troll posts showing that Salman, Aamir, Akshay and even Ranvir's films have done more than double the business of SRK's films in the past year.

Does the ageing Badshaah have any tricks up his sleeve ?
He is not getting perfect movies that satisfies both masses and classes.
Stardom wise srk,salman,amir are still ahead of any other Bollywood actors.

Bollywood actor Ranveer Singh, who is riding high on the success of Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Padmaavat, is now all set to play star cricketer Kapil Dev in Kabir Khan’s 83.

“It’s an honour to be a part of one of the most incredible sporting stories of our nation’s history, the 1983 cricket world cup. We have the honour of telling this story and mortalising this on celluloid. It is one of the most incredible underdog stories,” Ranveer said.

The Reliance Entertainment movie is being directed by Kabir Khan. Ranveer says “83 is a story of human triumph and I am very excited to work with Kabir Khan. Bajrangi Bhaijaan is one of my most favourite films of all time,” he said.

The actor, who is being appreciated for his portrayal of Alauddin Khilji in Padmaavat, is also excited about his upcoming projects which include Gully Boy and Simmba.

“My current slate is another opportunity to showcase my versatility and in collaboration with finest filmmakers in the country. So right now I am going through a very rich creative phase and I am feeling blessed,” he added.

83 follows how the Indian cricket team defeated West Indies in the final of the World Cup in 1983 under the newly-appointed captain Kapil Dev. It tracks the coming-of-age of not just a cricketing team, but of a young nation in the eyes of the world.

2018 seems to be the year of biopics with a biopic being released on Sanjay Dutt as well on Rani Laxmibai.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...y-excited-to-play-kapil-dev-in-upcoming-film/

Good choice as they do look a bit alike. At first I was not sure which one was Ranbir and which one was Ranvir but a quick google search laid my fears to rest.

He is not getting perfect movies that satisfies both masses and classes.
Stardom wise srk,salman,amir are still ahead of any other Bollywood actors.

Nobody is convinced while watching him prance around with girls half his age anymore. he should probably go for age relevant meatier and more dramatic roles but I doubt he has the acting chops for that.

SRK has always been a garbage actor. Those fake plastic expressions and stupid gestures could only take you so long.

Nobody is convinced while watching him prance around with girls half his age anymore. he should probably go for age relevant meatier and more dramatic roles but I doubt he has the acting chops for that.
to be fair in his last three movies he played characters not typical lover boy role and he is playing a dwarf in his next movie.
Srk is directors actor.he is very expressive and has good voice quality.he may not be fit for every role but I think he is capable of portraying hard roles.
he needs to do what he did During start of his career he did take risks played all different kind nagetive,grey shade,coming of age characters and succeed.

to be fair in his last three movies he played characters not typical lover boy role and he is playing a dwarf in his next movie.
Srk is directors actor.he is very expressive and has good voice quality.he may not be fit for every role but I think he is capable of portraying hard roles.
he needs to do what he did During start of his career he did take risks played all different kind nagetive,grey shade,coming of age characters and succeed.

All he did during the start of his career was play an overacting stalker with a speech impediment or an anti hero which was something . He did then use that to his benefit with some rom coms but now he his past his sell by date for that. He can sometimes act like by mistake like in some scenes from Veer Zara and My Name is Khan but he has the tendency to overdo it more often than not.

SRK has always been a garbage actor. Those fake plastic expressions and stupid gestures could only take you so long.

Not true ,he is a very good actor who didn't improve his craft, he gave into stardom and went below his potential,if you see his movies from 90s he was experimenting quiet a bit and even in his interview with Rajeev Shukla in 1996 he stressed that he wants to do diff roles.

Another story on spy, wonder if we are overdoing it,although looks much better ,have high expectations after Talvar, Meghna wouldn't shy away from making India look bad either.

Would it be smart to do that though? Doesn't stuff like that lead to riots and being labeled anti-national?

Did Haider,Dev lead to riots? The only nonsense in recent times has been Padmavat by the dimwit Sena.

Also Talvar was about how incapable Delhi police has been in a very realistic way.

Did Haider,Dev lead to riots? The only nonsense in recent times has been Padmavat by the dimwit Sena.

Also Talvar was about how incapable Delhi police has been in a very realistic way.

I actually have no idea, my question was genuine, wasn't trying to take shots.

Also just googled, Haider's director was labeled anti national, even veteran actors blasted him. So my point wasn't just random. Anyways don't want to derail the thread, just got the feeling that in today's India, it may be hard to criticize the country at all.

I actually have no idea, my question was genuine, wasn't trying to take shots.

Also just googled, Haider's director was labeled anti national, even veteran actors blasted him. So my point wasn't just random. Anyways don't want to derail the thread, just got the feeling that in today's India, it may be hard to criticize the country at all.
Yes probably hard to show right wing in bad light in Bollywood right now, but to criticize country it's defn allowed, Newton movie was India's entry into oscars and it showed how farce was India's election in tribal area.

Ranbir just dont have that bhai log appearance (voice+look) of Sanju baba i think they ruined the movie already when they selected Ranbir for this role.

If they wanted even the voice to be matching they would've casted Sanjay dutt himself :misbah, give ranbir a chance people he will prove all doubters wrong.

Looking forward to how ranbir plays older sanjay dutt characters. Younger character will be easy for him.
Ranbir doesn't need to match voice just Need to capture essence of character and dialogue delivery which looks ok from the teaser.

Actually enjoyed Padmavati. Decent story, great visuals p much Hollywood standard, and epic ending.

Sanju,

Excellent acting by Ranbir,Kaushal but disappointed by no effort put in my Paresh Rawal, not even close to the personality of Sunil Dutt.
Overall decent onetime watch ,below expectation for me.

Gurgaon

Amazing movie, everyone performed well defn 8/10 ,thrilling experience with great background score and backend story for characters.

Gurgaon

Amazing movie, everyone performed well defn 8/10 ,thrilling experience with great background score and backend story for characters.

whats it about . Its on netflix but couldn't get mysf to watch it . Seems like run of the mill tear jerker dry movie

Bollywood tards flocking en masse to watch Sanju, a movie or rather a PR exercise carefully planned in order to improve the public image of that goon Sanjay Dutt and aimed to absolve the druggie from all his past crimes.

Going by the average intellect of an average Bwood watcher and their propensity to often influenced by emotional melodramatics, I wouldn't be surprised if they give clean chit to Sanju Bhai like they did in the case of his partner in crime Salman Khan.

What a country full of people with loserish mentality.

Bollywood tards flocking en masse to watch Sanju, a movie or rather a PR exercise carefully planned in order to improve the public image of that goon Sanjay Dutt and aimed to absolve the druggie from all his past crimes.

Going by the average intellect of an average Bwood watcher and their propensity to often influenced by emotional melodramatics, I wouldn't be surprised if they give clean chit to Sanju Bhai like they did in the case of his partner in crime Salman Khan.

Had high expectations from Sanju given that it is directed by Rajkumar Hirani who made the Munnabhai films, 3 Idiots and PK but was utterly disappointed.

It was overdramatised and melodramatic rather than a balanced, detached portrayal of events which is what biopics should be. It doesn't even deliver on the entertainment/comedy front like Hirani's earlier efforts and the comedy is more slapstick and lame, childish humour.

People are saying Ranbir did a brilliant job in his portrayal of Dutt but to me he was only ok. He did not manage to capture the machismo that Sanjay Dutt's personality exudes and he portrays Dutt as a manbaby who is always the victim throughout the film. To me Vicky Kaushal, who plays the best friend, was the only standout performer.

You are right about people being easily swayed by emotion and melodramatics - there were people clapping at the end of the film.

I maybe watch 3 or 4 Bollywood films a year and was pretty excited to watch this film as it is directed by Hirani. The trailer looked very good and the film got some good reviews. Rajeev Masand, perhaps the most respected Bollywood film critic, gave this 3.5 stars when he gave only 3 stars to 3 Idiots - says a lot about the standards of film critics in India.

The only takeaway for me from the film is that even Rajkumar Hirani can make a bad film.

Sanju was a great film. Watched it today and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ranbir was an awesome Sanjay and Hirani with his trademark humour and dialogues made me chuckle quite a bit. Hirani's films are usually a social commentary on many social issues in the world. 3 idiots was about the pressures of student life and how coping with it can be tough, PK was about how religion can be used by people for their own selfish gains and Sanju seems to be about the way fake-news can help spread propaganda.

And here I thought only Indians were vulnerable to obvious propaganda.

Watched Sanju this weekend, underwhelming film for me. Weakest Hirani film, says a lot about the director when your weakest film is still more then decent.

As a film, it was a good watch with some breath taking performance from Ranbir and Vicky Kaushal. Kind of dissapointed with Paresh Rawal as Jaded said, expected a little more gravitas from him since he is such a legendary actor. But I guess, being off cinema and active in politics for last few years took a toll on his craft.

As a Dutt Biopic though, not complete. I do really believe Sanjay regarding 1993 that he has no reason to get involved in it...but my complain was it was never his fault. Everything wrong about him had an excuse...Strict father, living under his legacy.....friends gave him drugs....(but why did jim Sarbh really try to screw sanjay with drugs? no intentions other than money? seems a bit incomplete for me....! Same thing with 1993.... wanted to see sanjay own up to his mistakes...it is okay to say I did drugs under some peer pressure...why does it have to be a conspiracy? And Why was his first wife...and her cancer struggle and the long daughter custody battle not shown? It just seems to come from a dishonest place...of cleaning up Dutt. I am okay with Dutt, he did somethings wrong..hard a hard life....seems to have cleaned himself and leading a family life....closing in on 60...so own up your life and your choices Sanjay ! One more major complaint was, why was priyanka dutt shown as a mere spectator...she had a lot of brunt to bear because of Dutt..her political career...and all of that and did play a key role in Thackarey being involved...and helping Dutt. Over all a dishonest film from a usually honest maker Hirani. Guess his grattitude towards Dutt for giving his first chance....Munnabhai clouded his judgement.

A good watch nonetheless.

3/5

When Rajkumar Hirani announced Sanju, it sounded like a breakaway. He makes movies about outsiders. If Munna Bhai was an outsider to the establishment, one of the 3 idiots was an outsider to the rote-learning rat race, and then we got a film about the ultimate outsider: an alien. I wondered how Hirani would handle the story of a cosseted industry insider — but it turns out the Sanju of Sanju is an outsider, too, a square peg in a round hole. He doesn’t fit his father’s expectations, his girlfriend’s dreams, and he doesn’t live up to his best friend’s friendship and his countrymen’s expectations of a patriotic citizen. The difference is that Hirani’s other outsiders were forced into the situations they found themselves in (say, due to being left behind on earth), whereas everything Sanju did, he chose to do. The hope, therefore, was that the film would provide the why-s behind Sanjay Dutt’s actions. So many boys have domineering fathers and mothers who die early. They don’t end up snorting coke. So many Mumbai-ites received threats after the 1993 bomb blasts. They didn’t buy arms from the underworld. Was Sanju an emotional fool? Was he weak of will? Or was he someone who was programmed to flirt with fire? What makes this poor little rich boy so special, so different that we empathise with his lapses into behaviours we’d not so easily overlook in others?

That should have been Sanju. That’s what Sanju isn’t. It’s usually not the audience’s business what the writer puts into a biopic, and what he leaves out. (Or writers in this case, Hirani and his regular partner-in-crime, Abhijat Joshi.) That’s why the same life can come in many versions. Richard Attenborough’s Gandhi chose to look at the Mahatma through a reverential lens, while Feroz Abbas Khan’s Gandhi, My Father cut Bapu down to size as someone so obsessed with his role of father of the nation that he forgot to be a father to his son. Sanju doesn’t shy away from its protagonist’s bad choices. Manyata Dutt, played by Dia Mirza, calls her husband “the king of bad choices.” But a choice means that more than one option or scenario exists. The film concedes that Sanjay Dutt procured assault rifles from the underworld, but strictly for “self defence.” (It’s a bit like buying a T-Rex because your two-year-old wanted a pet.) If this was the “bad choice,” what were the other options/scenarios? Was Dutt aware of them? Did he weigh them in his mind, wrestle with them at night? Or did he just take the easiest way out? Without this journalistic line of inquiry, how do we begin to understand Sanju?

The problem with Sanju isn’t its conviction that Sanjay Dutt was not a terrorist, and that the media is largely responsible for this perception (though this point is harped on endlessly, as though to suggest Sanju would not have suffered if the newspapers had been more responsible). The problem is that it doesn’t think it’s important to build a watertight case to convince us that this was indeed so. And I don’t think this is a huge ask from a filmmaker who, in his greatest film, convinced us that Sanjay Dutt and Mahatma Gandhi could co-exist in the same space. I have no doubt Hirani believes what he’s saying, but for those of us looking for some insight into Sanjay Dutt, beyond what’s been reported over the years, there’s practically nothing. Hirani has said, in interviews, that he heard these great stories from Sanjay Dutt, and was so fascinated that he had to make a movie about it all. The opening scene of Sanju literally mirrors this decision. We see Sanju (Ranbir Kapoor) staring into a mirror, and promising the story of his life. His biographer (and stand-in for Hirani), Winnie Diaz (Anushka Sharma), eventually becomes that mirror, reflecting back everything almost unquestioningly. She’s a bit of a sceptic at first, but Sanju asks her to give him an hour, and if his story isn’t the greatest tale ever told, then she can walk away. Of course, she doesn’t.

Occasionally, someone pops in with some damning news about Sanju, and Winnie’s blue eyes open wide in disbelief — and she sets out to unearth the truth. (Any halfway decent biographer would already know most of this, from preliminary research.) Otherwise, this is probably the easiest bio ever written, based on one man’s narration. To millennials, Sanjay Dutt’s story may be new, but the rest of us know it all. We know about Nargis Dutt and her last days, which fell like a pall over the production of Rocky. We know about the Bombay blasts, and Sanjay Dutt’s numerous trips to jail. What could have made these events interesting is the psychology — the why — but Hirani, one of our sunniest filmmakers, either doesn’t want to go there or is incapable of going there.

The why-s of other characters are equally bewildering. An endearing, affecting Vicky Kaushal plays Kamlesh, Sanjay Dutt’s BFF (and this film’s Circuit), and when Sanju sleeps with his girlfriend, he gets mad the way we’d get mad if a roommate finished off the bar of chocolate you’d kept in the fridge. This stretch is icky for many reasons. The girl in question is presented as a Madonna/***** — she’s sweet and simple when attired in a salwar kameez, but when she slips into lingerie, she strikes a seductive pose before Sanjay, despite knowing Kamlesh isn’t in the room. Hirani doesn’t seem to realise this is a problematic situation. Sanju may have laughed about his conquests (some 350, we are told), but surely a biographer must wonder what made him this way! Like drugs, was this an escape? Given that his father treated him like a little boy, did these conquests make him feel more of a man? Did he sleep around even when married to others? But to Hirani, this is simply material for a laugh. And he knows his audience. In the theatre I was in, they laughed too.

But then, it’s probably futile to expect why-s from Hirani. Why is psychology; Hirani is more interested in event and entertainment. He transforms a feel-bad life into a feel-good story. Imagine comparing Sanjay Dutt to Mahatma Gandhi: both carried weapons (a lathi, an AK-56) but never used it. This insight comes from a fawning biographer, someone hired before Winnie, and is dismissed by an appalled Sanjay Dutt — but the comparison is still out there, couched in poke-in-the-ribs humour, and it colours the rest of the film. Someone should tell Hirani that just because you can make a joke about everything, doesn’t mean you should. If he were a provocative stand-up comedian, then this would not be an issue. But when you’re tackling the life of a complex individual, then these laughs feel horribly out of place. It’s one thing to use humour to sugar-coat bitter-pill issues like the education system or fake godmen, and quite another to use it to amp up the adorability quotient of a man some of us are still conflicted about.
But there’s no denying that Hirani’s audience-pleasing instincts may be the best in the country. When his jokes work, they land amazingly. At many places, I laughed out loud — say, when Sunil Dutt, at the shooting spot of Rocky, demonstrates lip-syncing, and this joke segues, smoothly and organically, to another one built around Gabbar Singh. And there’s a glorious scene around a gangster played by Sayaji Shinde, one that locates humour in life-or-death situation. In other words, if a “Hirani-esque entertainment” is what you seek, then you probably won’t complain. His tried-and-tested tricks, fine-tuned over a series of blockbusters, are all in here. The background score dictates our emotions. When a drug peddler (an amusing Jim Sarbh, with a lisp) tempts Sanjay Dutt with coke, the score says “something really bad is happening here,” and later, when Sanjay Dutt is taken away by the police, the score says “something really sad is happening here.” You’ll also find Hirani’s Gujarati/Parsi caricatures, his simplistic emotionalism (using songs like “Na moonh chhupa ke jiyo” to bridge major character arcs”), and, of course, his trademark catchphrase. After “jadoo ki jhappi” and “all is well,” we get “question mark.”

These “tricks” help us navigate a film without much else. The entire first half is devoted to scenes with Nargis (Manisha Koirala), and Sanjay Dutt’s drug use and rehab. That’s a long time for stretches that say little more than “Nargis was a good mother” and “drugs are hell.” Scenes go on and on, like one where Sanju barges into his girlfriend’s (Sonam Kapoor, as Ruby) house at night, so he can raid her father’s liquor cabinet. Ruby gets one of the few really affecting scenes when she leaves Sanju for good. But what happened the next day? Did Sanju even care she was gone? Was there a bit of heartbreak? Was that what led to the womanising? Oh sorry, wrong movie. I didn’t buy Paresh Rawal as Sunil Dutt (he seems to be playing… Paresh Rawal), but he, too, pumps genuine emotion into the film. Given his plight (a cancer-stricken wife, two daughters to raise, a brattish son who keeps getting into trouble), I felt I wouldn’t have minded a biopic called Sunil. Kamlesh gets it right when he tells Sanju, “Tere se zyada tera baap jhel raha hai.”

Baradwaj Rangan
“Sanju”… The complex life of a cipher of a man is reduced to a simplistic entertainer
Posted on July 2, 2018 10

Spoilers ahead…

When Rajkumar Hirani announced Sanju, it sounded like a breakaway. He makes movies about outsiders. If Munna Bhai was an outsider to the establishment, one of the 3 idiots was an outsider to the rote-learning rat race, and then we got a film about the ultimate outsider: an alien. I wondered how Hirani would handle the story of a cosseted industry insider — but it turns out the Sanju of Sanju is an outsider, too, a square peg in a round hole. He doesn’t fit his father’s expectations, his girlfriend’s dreams, and he doesn’t live up to his best friend’s friendship and his countrymen’s expectations of a patriotic citizen. The difference is that Hirani’s other outsiders were forced into the situations they found themselves in (say, due to being left behind on earth), whereas everything Sanju did, he chose to do. The hope, therefore, was that the film would provide the why-s behind Sanjay Dutt’s actions. So many boys have domineering fathers and mothers who die early. They don’t end up snorting coke. So many Mumbai-ites received threats after the 1993 bomb blasts. They didn’t buy arms from the underworld. Was Sanju an emotional fool? Was he weak of will? Or was he someone who was programmed to flirt with fire? What makes this poor little rich boy so special, so different that we empathise with his lapses into behaviours we’d not so easily overlook in others?

That should have been Sanju. That’s what Sanju isn’t. It’s usually not the audience’s business what the writer puts into a biopic, and what he leaves out. (Or writers in this case, Hirani and his regular partner-in-crime, Abhijat Joshi.) That’s why the same life can come in many versions. Richard Attenborough’s Gandhi chose to look at the Mahatma through a reverential lens, while Feroz Abbas Khan’s Gandhi, My Father cut Bapu down to size as someone so obsessed with his role of father of the nation that he forgot to be a father to his son. Sanju doesn’t shy away from its protagonist’s bad choices. Manyata Dutt, played by Dia Mirza, calls her husband “the king of bad choices.” But a choice means that more than one option or scenario exists. The film concedes that Sanjay Dutt procured assault rifles from the underworld, but strictly for “self defence.” (It’s a bit like buying a T-Rex because your two-year-old wanted a pet.) If this was the “bad choice,” what were the other options/scenarios? Was Dutt aware of them? Did he weigh them in his mind, wrestle with them at night? Or did he just take the easiest way out? Without this journalistic line of inquiry, how do we begin to understand Sanju?

The problem with Sanju isn’t its conviction that Sanjay Dutt was not a terrorist, and that the media is largely responsible for this perception (though this point is harped on endlessly, as though to suggest Sanju would not have suffered if the newspapers had been more responsible). The problem is that it doesn’t think it’s important to build a watertight case to convince us that this was indeed so. And I don’t think this is a huge ask from a filmmaker who, in his greatest film, convinced us that Sanjay Dutt and Mahatma Gandhi could co-exist in the same space. I have no doubt Hirani believes what he’s saying, but for those of us looking for some insight into Sanjay Dutt, beyond what’s been reported over the years, there’s practically nothing. Hirani has said, in interviews, that he heard these great stories from Sanjay Dutt, and was so fascinated that he had to make a movie about it all. The opening scene of Sanju literally mirrors this decision. We see Sanju (Ranbir Kapoor) staring into a mirror, and promising the story of his life. His biographer (and stand-in for Hirani), Winnie Diaz (Anushka Sharma), eventually becomes that mirror, reflecting back everything almost unquestioningly. She’s a bit of a sceptic at first, but Sanju asks her to give him an hour, and if his story isn’t the greatest tale ever told, then she can walk away. Of course, she doesn’t.

Occasionally, someone pops in with some damning news about Sanju, and Winnie’s blue eyes open wide in disbelief — and she sets out to unearth the truth. (Any halfway decent biographer would already know most of this, from preliminary research.) Otherwise, this is probably the easiest bio ever written, based on one man’s narration. To millennials, Sanjay Dutt’s story may be new, but the rest of us know it all. We know about Nargis Dutt and her last days, which fell like a pall over the production of Rocky. We know about the Bombay blasts, and Sanjay Dutt’s numerous trips to jail. What could have made these events interesting is the psychology — the why — but Hirani, one of our sunniest filmmakers, either doesn’t want to go there or is incapable of going there.

The why-s of other characters are equally bewildering. An endearing, affecting Vicky Kaushal plays Kamlesh, Sanjay Dutt’s BFF (and this film’s Circuit), and when Sanju sleeps with his girlfriend, he gets mad the way we’d get mad if a roommate finished off the bar of chocolate you’d kept in the fridge. This stretch is icky for many reasons. The girl in question is presented as a Madonna/***** — she’s sweet and simple when attired in a salwar kameez, but when she slips into lingerie, she strikes a seductive pose before Sanjay, despite knowing Kamlesh isn’t in the room. Hirani doesn’t seem to realise this is a problematic situation. Sanju may have laughed about his conquests (some 350, we are told), but surely a biographer must wonder what made him this way! Like drugs, was this an escape? Given that his father treated him like a little boy, did these conquests make him feel more of a man? Did he sleep around even when married to others? But to Hirani, this is simply material for a laugh. And he knows his audience. In the theatre I was in, they laughed too.

But then, it’s probably futile to expect why-s from Hirani. Why is psychology; Hirani is more interested in event and entertainment. He transforms a feel-bad life into a feel-good story. Imagine comparing Sanjay Dutt to Mahatma Gandhi: both carried weapons (a lathi, an AK-56) but never used it. This insight comes from a fawning biographer, someone hired before Winnie, and is dismissed by an appalled Sanjay Dutt — but the comparison is still out there, couched in poke-in-the-ribs humour, and it colours the rest of the film. Someone should tell Hirani that just because you can make a joke about everything, doesn’t mean you should. If he were a provocative stand-up comedian, then this would not be an issue. But when you’re tackling the life of a complex individual, then these laughs feel horribly out of place. It’s one thing to use humour to sugar-coat bitter-pill issues like the education system or fake godmen, and quite another to use it to amp up the adorability quotient of a man some of us are still conflicted about.

But there’s no denying that Hirani’s audience-pleasing instincts may be the best in the country. When his jokes work, they land amazingly. At many places, I laughed out loud — say, when Sunil Dutt, at the shooting spot of Rocky, demonstrates lip-syncing, and this joke segues, smoothly and organically, to another one built around Gabbar Singh. And there’s a glorious scene around a gangster played by Sayaji Shinde, one that locates humour in life-or-death situation. In other words, if a “Hirani-esque entertainment” is what you seek, then you probably won’t complain. His tried-and-tested tricks, fine-tuned over a series of blockbusters, are all in here. The background score dictates our emotions. When a drug peddler (an amusing Jim Sarbh, with a lisp) tempts Sanjay Dutt with coke, the score says “something really bad is happening here,” and later, when Sanjay Dutt is taken away by the police, the score says “something really sad is happening here.” You’ll also find Hirani’s Gujarati/Parsi caricatures, his simplistic emotionalism (using songs like “Na moonh chhupa ke jiyo” to bridge major character arcs”), and, of course, his trademark catchphrase. After “jadoo ki jhappi” and “all is well,” we get “question mark.”

These “tricks” help us navigate a film without much else. The entire first half is devoted to scenes with Nargis (Manisha Koirala), and Sanjay Dutt’s drug use and rehab. That’s a long time for stretches that say little more than “Nargis was a good mother” and “drugs are hell.” Scenes go on and on, like one where Sanju barges into his girlfriend’s (Sonam Kapoor, as Ruby) house at night, so he can raid her father’s liquor cabinet. Ruby gets one of the few really affecting scenes when she leaves Sanju for good. But what happened the next day? Did Sanju even care she was gone? Was there a bit of heartbreak? Was that what led to the womanising? Oh sorry, wrong movie. I didn’t buy Paresh Rawal as Sunil Dutt (he seems to be playing… Paresh Rawal), but he, too, pumps genuine emotion into the film. Given his plight (a cancer-stricken wife, two daughters to raise, a brattish son who keeps getting into trouble), I felt I wouldn’t have minded a biopic called Sunil. Kamlesh gets it right when he tells Sanju, “Tere se zyada tera baap jhel raha hai.”

I missed the movies Sanjay Dutt was part of — Sanju makes it appear as though there was Rocky, and then we got a Khalnayak poster, and then, Munna Bhai MBBS. What about the milestone films that were being made alongside these other episodes of the star’s life: Naam and Saajan, Sadak and Vaastav? It would have been fun to see Ranbir mimicking Sanjay Dutt in a recreation of, say, Mera dil bhi kitna paagal hai. But Ranbir’s performance goes beyond mimicry. He doesn’t make the sorrows sing like he did in Rockstar because the broad-beats writing doesn’t give the actors much to work off of. (Sample moment: at first, Sunil Dutt is called “terrorist ka baap,” and later, “Munna Bhai ka baap.” Cue, misty eyes.) But perhaps this is a much more difficult kind of acting: making people invest in your emotional state even when the script isn’t giving you much of a “before” or “after.” Cinematographer Ravi Varman attempts to provide at least a little texture — like in the drugged-out scenes where Ranbir is bathed in harsh lights and deep shadows. But when the film rolls to a full stop, the real Sanju is still a… question mark.

https://baradwajrangan.wordpress.co...a-man-is-reduced-to-a-simplistic-entertainer/

Excellent Review from probably India's greatest Critic!

How do you know about the intellect of an average Bollywood watcher?
On what basis was it measured?
Hope you realize an average Hollywood watcher loves sound in Vacuum,flying mountains in that logic.

How do you know about the intellect of an average Bollywood watcher?
On what basis was it measured?
Hope you realize an average Hollywood watcher loves sound in Vacuum,flying mountains in that logic.

It comes from having an innate superiority of intellect just because they enjoy a certain kind of films over others...and my choice is better than yours mentality.

If they were really intelligent, they would probably know a choice of cinema is subjective of their mindset, personal taste and everything else associated.

If you have no other way of feeling you have a half decent intelligent, you choose to cinema to measure it.

I know people who complete a film in 5 sittings...just to show they have completed it and now can certify their intelligence...not realizing cinema is supposed to be an immersive experience and hold your attention....with out that it is a failed film For you. But no, lets watch 20 minutes...make it a chore...post an appreciating review..and feel superior over a person who choose a film of his choice and enjoyed it one sitting of 2 hrs long.

Excellent Review from probably India's greatest Critic!

Oh wow didn't know you are a Brangan fan.

I haven't checked out his stuff in years but back in the day, I was a huge fan.boy.

Yet to find another critic whose could write deeply thought provoking reviews at the level he does.

^^^

Huge Rangan fan. Even read his book on Mani Ratnam. Regularly follow him and even interact with him on his Blog.

Serious question [MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION] Paaji.

If Sanju Mia offered you "pachas tola,pachas tola, kitna, pachas tola", would you accept or decline?

I haven't checked out his stuff in years but back in the day, I was a huge fan.boy.

Yet to find another critic whose could write deeply thought provoking reviews at the level he does.

He is a legend critic, Zoya and Karan have also called him a great critic not that he needed their support.

I still remember him calling out all the Tamil anger on Chennai express stereotypes, with the stereotypes of 'laxmi' character in Tamil movies playing carnatic music and being polite and all nice.

^^^

Huge Rangan fan. Even read his book on Mani Ratnam. Regularly follow him and even interact with him on his Blog.

I think he has moved on the film companion, it's my fav Indian cinema site, all their articles are intriguing, surprising Anupama Chopra said they won't review Sanju still he did.

Serious question [MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION] Paaji.

If Sanju Mia offered you "pachas tola,pachas tola, kitna, pachas tola", would you accept or decline?

I might come across as a hypocrite here but I quite enjoyed that film.
One of the better gangster movies to come out of crappywood.

I might come across as a hypocrite here but I quite enjoyed that film.
One of the better gangster movies to come out of crappywood.

Sanjay Dutt's walk is one of my favorite memories as a kid from watching Bollywood movies.

His smile is like a child's but than you see that muscle and machismo. Great contrast.

Sanjay Dutt's walk is one of my favorite memories as a kid from watching Bollywood movies.

His smile is like a child's but than you see that muscle and machismo. Great contrast.

As a child he was one of my favorites too and I used to emulate his tapori style.
Then I grew up . Sadly same can't be said about some of our esteemed Indian American posters here.

He is a legend critic, Zoya and Karan have also called him a great critic not that he needed their support.

I still remember him calling out all the Tamil anger on Chennai express stereotypes, with the stereotypes of 'laxmi' character in Tamil movies playing carnatic music and being polite and all nice.

I think he has moved on the film companion, it's my fav Indian cinema site, all their articles are intriguing, surprising Anupama Chopra said they won't review Sanju still he did.

Its conflict of interest for her..as Vidhu Vinod is her husband. Even rangan did it in his blog...not from FC.

Its the best channel...Like sucharita in the channel too.

I find Rajeev Masand very inconsistent.

As a child he was one of my favorites too and I used to emulate his tapori style.
Then I grew up . Sadly same can't be said about some of our esteemed Indian American posters here.

Oh you grew up...you certify it yourself...based on your own evolving taste of cinema. Hmm...Can you be more narcissistic.

Yup.

Growing up is sad.

Your childhood heroes are relegated to overrated and imperfect opportunists who rely on the sheep-minded and work-tired who need to escape their daily periodic stagnate lives.

Lol what ,I never liked Sanjay even when I was young, I did like Govinda , and I still see some over the top.comedy scenes. On YouTube jus for fun.

I liked Hrishikesh Mukherjee movies growing up and I can still watch most of them, not sure what your point is, one cannot like what they liked as a child?

Lol what ,I never liked Sanjay even when I was young, I did like Govinda , and I still see some over the top.comedy scenes. On YouTube jus for fun.

I liked Hrishikesh Mukherjee movies growing up and I can still watch most of them, not sure what your point is, one cannot like what they liked as a child?

Unless it is Jim Carrey's Ace ventury or Dumb Dumber or likes of Euro Trip...then its okay. Coz it is hollywood and over the top there does not count and you are already mature coz you watch hollywood.

I remember Mard (taange waala) being one of my favourite childhood films. Still remember the names of the dog and horse (Moti and baadal I think). One of our neighbours was a Hyderabadi woman married to an old Arab guy who had a collection of around 300 + Hindi movies on video cassettes. Remember us spending many afternoons (after school and between football as it was too hot) watching these movies. Also the fact there were only a couple of channels in Dubai at the time mostly showing propoganda and the lone heavily edited Hollywood movie on Thursday nights (Channel 33) before signing off at 12 there wasn't much of a choice. It was either anime like Captain Majid, Sanshero, Abtaal Al Batal etc or WWF.

Tastes evolve over time but still the movies I watched back int he day invoke a special kind of nostalgia. Ofcourse I laugh at their ludicrousness now but still great movies for me nonetheless. However in my opinion generic movies back then were more wholesome with an underlying moral message than the likes of Race 3 or what not we have today.

^^^ I would say they had a bit of soul to them over the CGI fests like Race 3. Race 3 was an incredibly bad movie btw...also goes to show there some sort of skill in making a successfull masala movie. Not everybody can...definately not Remo Dsouza

I remember Mard (taange waala) being one of my favourite childhood films. Still remember the names of the dog and horse (Moti and baadal I think). One of our neighbours was a Hyderabadi woman married to an old Arab guy who had a collection of around 300 + Hindi movies on video cassettes. Remember us spending many afternoons (after school and between football as it was too hot) watching these movies. Also the fact there were only a couple of channels in Dubai at the time mostly showing propoganda and the lone heavily edited Hollywood movie on Thursday nights (Channel 33) before signing off at 12 there wasn't much of a choice. It was either anime like Captain Majid, Sanshero, Abtaal Al Batal etc or WWF.

Tastes evolve over time but still the movies I watched back int he day invoke a special kind of nostalgia. Ofcourse I laugh at their ludicrousness now but still great movies for me nonetheless. However in my opinion generic movies back then were more wholesome with an underlying moral message than the likes of Race 3 or what not we have today.
I thought I was the only one whose favorite childhood film was Mard.

I watched that film so many times as a child that my uncles still tease me to this day that I used to run around and say, “main hoon Mard Tangewala”.

That film had some memorable quotes like, “Mard ko Dard nahi Hota” and moments like when Amitabh's father throws him to the top to stab the corrupt General Dyer (?).

It was hard to find new films back than in Pakistan and even though my family has a film store now in Dinga, it’s hard to achieve that same joy.

We all try and emulate our childhood whether consciously or subconsciously.

And here I thought only Indians were vulnerable to obvious propaganda.

I never claimed that Dutt is a noble man and doesn't deserve all the charges leveled against him. What I am saying is the film carries a strong message about fake-news and it's role in spreading propaganda. The extent to which the news regarding Sanjay Dutt is fake or not is something that I am not aware enough to comment on.

This day 20 years ago, Satya by Ram Gopal Varma released.

What a film it was. One of the most important films to be made in India...Married gritty realistic cinema with commerce. And was a game changer for Bollywood....It introduced Anurag Kashyap, Manoj Bajpayee, actor in Sourabh shukla, Sandeep Chowta...and a new genre in Bollywood.

First time a soundtrack released after the movie with background scorers...which itself was a huge hit. "Sound of Satya".

Showed that a no name actor then like JD chakri could headline a movie...and still people would watch it provided the content and actor is good.

Today, RGV might not be not he who once was...but he is absolute pioneer and game changer for Indian cinema...

Shiva,Raat, Kaun, Satya, Company, Rangeela, Jungle, Bhooth,D company, later on Sarkar and Raktha charithra...even his flops then had very interesting themes and some like Daud have attained cult classic status. I even loved Nishabd, Not a love story, Masti. He had some phenomenal movies in Telugu as well....Kshanakshanam,Gaayam, Money, Money Money, Antham and a few more.

And then produced classics like Dil se, Ab Tak Chappan, Ek Haseena Thi, Shool.

Number of Talents that have come under him...when offbeat talents were not given a platform.....

Anurag Kashyap, Vishal Bharadwaj, Sriram Raghavan, Manoj Bajpayee, Makrand Deshpande, Shimit Amin, Shiyaji Shinde, Rajpal Yadav, Vivek Oberai, Sourabh Shukla, Vijay Raaz..And for Telugu cinema...krishna Vamsi, Puri Jaganath, Teja.

He is really bad today...might be age..(he is almost 57)...might be less passionate than before...might be not upgraded with time. But he should respected for what he did to Indian cinema. Absolute Legend of Indian cinema.

#20yearsofSatya on Twitter is filled with nostalgia from many people and celebs. Its a fun read.

Time to revisit the RGV Gem.

This day 20 years ago, Satya by Ram Gopal Varma released.

What a film it was. One of the most important films to be made in India...Married gritty realistic cinema with commerce. And was a game changer for Bollywood....It introduced Anurag Kashyap, Manoj Bajpayee, actor in Sourabh shukla, Sandeep Chowta...and a new genre in Bollywood.

First time a soundtrack released after the movie with background scorers...which itself was a huge hit. "Sound of Satya".

Showed that a no name actor then like JD chakri could headline a movie...and still people would watch it provided the content and actor is good.

Today, RGV might not be not he who once was...but he is absolute pioneer and game changer for Indian cinema...

Shiva,Raat, Kaun, Satya, Company, Rangeela, Jungle, Bhooth,D company, later on Sarkar and Raktha charithra...even his flops then had very interesting themes and some like Daud have attained cult classic status. I even loved Nishabd, Not a love story, Masti. He had some phenomenal movies in Telugu as well....Kshanakshanam,Gaayam, Money, Money Money, Antham and a few more.

And then produced classics like Dil se, Ab Tak Chappan, Ek Haseena Thi, Shool.

Number of Talents that have come under him...when offbeat talents were not given a platform.....

Anurag Kashyap, Vishal Bharadwaj, Sriram Raghavan, Manoj Bajpayee, Makrand Deshpande, Shimit Amin, Shiyaji Shinde, Rajpal Yadav, Vivek Oberai, Sourabh Shukla, Vijay Raaz..And for Telugu cinema...krishna Vamsi, Puri Jaganath, Teja.

He is really bad today...might be age..(he is almost 57)...might be less passionate than before...might be not upgraded with time. But he should respected for what he did to Indian cinema. Absolute Legend of Indian cinema.

#20yearsofSatya on Twitter is filled with nostalgia from many people and celebs. Its a fun read.

Time to revisit the RGV Gem.

The "goli mar bheje main" dialogue was and still is really popular in Pakistan.

I remember liking Ramu as a director earlynon, due to some or the other reason my parents discouraged me from seeing his movies but somehow I managed to, sadly by the time I had full freedom to watch his movies he was finished as a director.

Because he asks tough questions through his movies which made the adults uncomfortable and also his content...especially for 90's

Remember how uncomfortable he made families with Rangeela ! It still stands the test the time of time....watch the song Yeh Raama hai yeh Kya huwaa... ! Every middle aged uncle took Zee TV subscription...for the wife to watch serials ofcourse lol

Because he asks tough questions through his movies which made the adults uncomfortable and also his content...especially for 90's

Remember how uncomfortable he made families with Rangeela ! It still stands the test the time of time....watch the song Yeh Raama hai yeh Kya huwaa... ! Every middle aged uncle took Zee TV subscription...for the wife to watch serials ofcourse lol

“Hai Rama”. That song is so seductively amazing. Rangeela imo is an overrated movie but the soundtrack is one of my favourites

20 years of satya?LOL. Are copywood fans really celebrating the release date of a movie as if it being released 20 years ago is a major milestone for them?

“Hai Rama”. That song is so seductively amazing. Rangeela imo is an overrated movie but the soundtrack is one of my favourites

No one ever rated Rangeela the movie, it became popular only coz it's songs and Amir tapori dialogues.

Yeah but the movie was a dud for.me except AMIR, I surprisingly liked Kaun a lot, it was very different.

Vishal Bharadwaj named his muscic studio in Mumbai as "Satya" Studio...as a tribute.

Didn't know,also Vishal did try to have the raw element in Maqbool and Omkara which seemed RGVISH , although Haider was much better and felt like an original.

A really dumb Canadian Pakistani girl with awful taste in movies (she enjoys all Salman Khan stuff and other Bollywood/Hollywood crap) today posted a picture of her watching Sanju on her Instagram story and wrote that it was amazing. This leads me to believe that I most definitely should not watch it.