Bollywood heroes - where are the same sex icons?

Cpt. Rishwat

In a Hindu culture which is all inclusive, why don't we have any homosexual heroes? More specifically male gay icons? Surely they could find a way to cross over national boundaries as well, perhaps break into Hollywood where Bollywood men have previously complained about lack of opportunities?

Maybe you have a warped view of how liberal Bollywood is in terms of sexuality and its depicition. Apart from Karan Johar, I don't know any public figure in India who has identified as gay.

Matter of time before that happens?

I find that strange in a culture which celebrates cross-dressing specifically with their own recognised community. We in the west have overcome our prejudice against homosexuals due to a progressive and inclusive mindset, I am struggling to understand why all encompassing Hindu culture has a hard block on gay expression.

.... Because heroes are heroes. The sexual orientation doesn't have any bearing.

Sexual orientation falls under persnal space which one may or may not want to make it public.

There is more chance of a dark skinned hero Emerging than a gay one. Both are taboo
In a Hindu culture which is all inclusive, why don't we have any homosexual heroes? More specifically male gay icons? Surely they could find a way to cross over national boundaries as well, perhaps break into Hollywood where Bollywood men have previously complained about lack of opportunities

.... Because heroes are heroes. The sexual orientation doesn't have any bearing.

Sexual orientation falls under persnal space which one may or may not want to make it public.

True. But in most modern nations even straight actors play roles of gay people to reflect society. I am wondering why India is not doing the same. Is this some unspoken taboo?

Ajay Devgan says hi. There are many dark skinned female leads too since many decades.
He's brown. You ll never see a dark skin in leading roles in Bollywood as a norm. Bollywood is obsessed with fair n lovely on big screens

True. But in most modern nations even straight actors play roles of gay people to reflect society. I am wondering why India is not doing the same. Is this some unspoken taboo?
Are you asking why there are no gay roles or no gay actors (in real life)?

He's brown. You ll never see a dark skin in leading roles in Bollywood as a norm. Bollywood is obsessed with fair n lovely on big screens
Lol matlab kuch bhi. I am surprised how people make assumptions yet has very little grasp on the subject.

This is why I believe in the other thread, people can't even write the causes of double standard of Muslim men in society. It seems like people have become more superficial and have forgotten the art of looking deeper yet that doesn't stop them from making judgement with their own little knowledge.

Bollywood has requested many times the dark skin actors but they refused since they prefer to act in south movies as quality is much higher than Bollywood.

Except the three khans and ranbir, people doesn't even care about Bollywood movies. In TV channels, you'll find non stop south Indian movies than Bollywood.

I haven't seen many. I don't watch them. Seen a few clips though and I find the OP surprising.

The songs/clips I've seen seem to consist of camp men dancing around in highly choreographed routines while staring at the camera.

I assumed that they would have quite a bit gay following and some of the actors would be gay too.

Clearly some work needs to be done to make them more inclusive and reflective of the highly tolerant Indian society.

I haven't seen many. I don't watch them. Seen a few clips though and I find the OP surprising.

The songs/clips I've seen seem to consist of camp men dancing around in highly choreographed routines while staring at the camera.

I assumed that they would have quite a bit gay following and some of the actors would be gay too.

Clearly some work needs to be done to make them more inclusive and reflective of the highly tolerant Indian society.

Well it seems odd that for a country which prides itself on being secular and all inclusive, that no one is even prepared to discuss why this is such a touchy subject. We have had many discussions on how Muslim countries are repressive to to the LGBTQ communities, in fact one of the Indian posters in this thread was talking about it just yesterday.

In the modern secular world we are seeing gay characters represented everywhere, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Glee just to name a few TV series. Then there have been movies like Brokenback Mountain, gay musicians like George Michael and Elton John. Are we saying that Indian people don't have homosexual leanings?

Do Indians not believe in the LGBTQ cause? How do they deal with this in reality?

Because good looks sell, average looks don’t. Why do you think Hollywood has made vampires attractive and seductive?

Do Indians not believe in the LGBTQ cause? How do they deal with this in reality?
LGBQT is mental sickness. It isn’t something that anyone should believe in.

I’m happy that India has managed to largely resist this western propaganda even though they are generally quick to succumb to western ideals.

Bobby Darling is quite popular?

There is more chance of a dark skinned hero Emerging than a gay one. Both are taboo
Nawazuddin Siddiqui has a dark toned skin and apparently he is hugely popular in India.

Getting roles opposite fair skinned heroines too.

Do you believe in it ?

No, that is one of the modern era beliefs which clashes with Islamic doctrine. Even though I am not religious, I still believe Islam got this right. But I don't see how it clashes with Hindi culture or religion, so that is the purpose of the thread.

Because good looks sell, average looks don’t. Why do you think Hollywood has made vampires attractive and seductive?

I don't think good looks are about skin tone, they are about physical attributes - height, bone structure, good teeth etc. You could argue some races display those in more abundance, but you can find more than enough in Bollywood so not really an issue. Unless your point is that it's the fair skinned Indians who tend to have those attributes in which case fair enough. But again, if there were more homosexual role opportunities in Indian entertainment, then I feel those attributes would matter less. The Karan Thapar types would probably find plenty of roles.

No, that is one of the modern era beliefs which clashes with Islamic doctrine. Even though I am not religious, I still believe Islam got this right. But I don't see how it clashes with Hindi culture or religion, so that is the purpose of the thread.

That doesn't even make sense. You are not religious but you're opposed to same sex relations ? There is no reason to oppose it apart from religion.

India is not woke enough to tout Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in every field. If someone is talented and has the charisma and screen presence, they will be accepted.

Just because someone follows certain ideology or has certain sexual orientation, they will not be given a chance. It only works in Woke West.

That doesn't even make sense. You are not religious but you're opposed to same sex relations ? There is no reason to oppose it apart from religion.

Sure it makes sense. For example an atheist and a priest can both agree that murder is wrong even if their reasoning might be different. There again, without religion everything becomes subjective, so from that point of view the atheist is more open to debate rights and wrongs of anything.

India is not woke enough to tout Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in every field. If someone is talented and has the charisma and screen presence, they will be accepted.

Just because someone follows certain ideology or has certain sexual orientation, they will not be given a chance. It only works in Woke West.

Woke is a western term, it shouldn't really impact on beliefs of ancient civilisations like Bharat. My impression of modern India is that it adapts and embraces modern ideas unless there is explicit reason not to. Only two decades ago "Woke West" shared similar sentiments to the ones you expressed. I think if you lived in the west today you'd be called a homophobe.

Are you implying Muslims are homophobes and that don’t assimilate in the west?

Bollywood does care about looks but Ajay Devgan is what average Indian would look like so he has done well another example is Mithun.

Bollywood has other issues color is definitely not one.

Now many assume Pakistanis are fair but as we have seen that’s not really true unfortunate we don’t see many Pakistani celebs being dark skinned except for the cricketers ofcourse but even in that Mediocre Afridi is more famous than Waqar for obvious reasons.

I don't think good looks are about skin tone, they are about physical attributes - height, bone structure, good teeth etc. You could argue some races display those in more abundance, but you can find more than enough in Bollywood so not really an issue. Unless your point is that it's the fair skinned Indians who tend to have those attributes in which case fair enough. But again, if there were more homosexual role opportunities in Indian entertainment, then I feel those attributes would matter less. The Karan Thapar types would probably find plenty of roles.
It is also about attire and mannerisms. Speaking English seems to be a plus point.

Karan Johar (who is a homosexual) produced a relatively new movie titled - Rocky aur Rani ki prem kahaani. All you have to do is observe the side kick in the movie to see how desperate KJ was in trying to normalise homosexuality to the Indian forefront.

Lol matlab kuch bhi. I am surprised how people make assumptions yet has very little grasp on the subject.

This is why I believe in the other thread, people can't even write the causes of double standard of Muslim men in society. It seems like people have become more superficial and have forgotten the art of looking deeper yet that doesn't stop them from making judgement with their own little knowledge.

Bollywood has requested many times the dark skin actors but they refused since they prefer to act in south movies as quality is much higher than Bollywood.

Except the three khans and ranbir, people doesn't even care about Bollywood movies. In TV channels, you'll find non stop south Indian movies than Bollywood.
I may be wrong , but I do not think any dark skinned male actor has played lead role in Bollywood movies

Bollywood does care about looks but Ajay Devgan is what average Indian would look like so he has done well another example is Mithun.

Bollywood has other issues color is definitely not one.

Now many assume Pakistanis are fair but as we have seen that’s not really true unfortunate we don’t see many Pakistani celebs being dark skinned except for the cricketers ofcourse but even in that Mediocre Afridi is more famous than Waqar for obvious reasons.
In India and Pakistan both generally fair skinned is preferred for acting.

Yes I'm asking why there are no gay roles. Real life sexuality is as you say, a matter of personal choice.
Indian Cinema is more than bollywood…regional cinemas are now as big as bollywood and even the highest grossing Indian film is now from Tollywood ( Telugu cinema)

As far as movies are concerned, it largely depends on economics atleast in India. The primary focus is profitability. So, most mainstream cinemas cater to larger audience and hence, Gay subjects are not much preferred.

But if OTT movies have more scope for art and you can find few Indian movies coming on this subject. Even well recognized mainstream actors are portraying gay/lesbian roles in OTT movies like Vijay Sethupathi in Super Deluxe etc.

I may be wrong , but I do not think any dark skinned male actor has played lead role in Bollywood movies
One of the biggest superstars in India, Rajini Kanth is dark-skinned

Most of the superstars from South are dark to brown skinned

These days Bollywood stars are not bigger than those from down South.

Language as a barrier is getting smaller in India and rather than Bollywood, fair to be called as Indian cinema

Dont know about bollywood, but in Pakistan we had accepted Begum Nawazish and HSY

In India i think Karan Johar is famous for same sex, but not really an icon for it

I’m happy that India has managed to largely resist this western propaganda even though they are generally quick to succumb to western ideals.

Is is not genetic more than mental? If I am not wrong, gay men has comingled chromosomes (Xq28) in their body which produces both male and female hormones. Correct me if I am wrong.

Sure it makes sense. For example an atheist and a priest can both agree that murder is wrong even if their reasoning might be different.

Atheists and priests can both agree that murder is wrong because it deprives people of their life and causes pain to other people. Who is being hurt in same-sex relationship ? What kind of reasoning is this.

All mental illness is treated with medication or psychotherapy. How do you treat LGBTQ ? Or are you referring to moral sickness.

Are you implying Muslims are homophobes and that don’t assimilate in the west?

Muslims are homophobes, it's hardly a secret. But seems like Bharatis are too, I just don't understand why since they claim their religion is all encompassing and broad minded.

By the way, you don't need to embrace homosexuality to assimilate in western culture, just not oppose it. If you had asked me in the assimilation thread I could have told you directly,

Muslims are homophobes, it's hardly a secret. But seems like Bharatis are too, I just don't understand why since they claim their religion is all encompassing and broad minded.

By the way, you don't need to embrace homosexuality to assimilate in western culture, just not oppose it. If you had asked me in the assimilation thread I could have told you directly,
Purely a modern phenomenon. Even if, theoretically , Islam is homophobic , it was a practice that was tolerated much more in the Islamic world in medieval times than pretty much anywhere else

The Ottomans practiced it too quite commonly but you wouldn't see Ertugrul or any Turkish drama made for pan-Islamic appeal portray that since most modern Muslims simply won't be able to stomach it.

Purely a modern phenomenon. Even if, theoretically , Islam is homophobic , it was a practice that was tolerated much more in the Islamic world in medieval times than pretty much anywhere else

The Ottomans practiced it too quite commonly but you wouldn't see Ertugrul or any Turkish drama made for pan-Islamic appeal portray that since most modern Muslims simply won't be able to stomach it.

The thread was not about whether Islam or Muslims are homophobic though. I was comparing Bollywood with other more open societies like western entertainment as that is surely the model that India would follow rather than the Ayatollahs or Muftis.

Don't you have any thoughts on why Indian cinema has so little representation of same sex relations?

So are you planning to move to middle east or Pakistan ?

One of the biggest superstars in India, Rajini Kanth is dark-skinned

Most of the superstars from South are dark to brown skinned

These days Bollywood stars are not bigger than those from down South.

Language as a barrier is getting smaller in India and rather than Bollywood, fair to be called as Indian cinema
I was talking about bollywood.

This thread has nothing to do with Muslims and Islam If you have nothing to say on topic then do not bring other stuff here to derail the thread.

The thread was not about whether Islam or Muslims are homophobic though. I was comparing Bollywood with other more open societies like western entertainment as that is surely the model that India would follow rather than the Ayatollahs or Muftis.

Don't you have any thoughts on why Indian cinema has so little representation of same sex relations?
Wonder why you are so keen on wanting so much LGBT content on Bollywood despite not being a fan of the LGBT movement or of Bollywood?

Bollywood exists to sell itself not to offer representation for anything.

Secondly , until Brokeback Mountain in 2005, it wasn't very common to see same sex characters even in the Western World.

And since you yourself remind us of how India is at atleast 50 years behind the West , it should not come as a surprise to you if all people.

You can wait until 2055 for the content you're so clearly longing to watch in Bollywood and then complain if it doesn't come to pass.

Homophobia is an abrahamic concept, not present in dharmic/eastern civilizations. The homophobia in eastern civilizations is because of the influence of abrahamic culture.

So are you planning to move to middle east or Pakistan ?

No I am not planning on moving to Bharat either. I don't know why you would ask this question since in the post you are replying to I specifically explained that no one is forced to embrace homosexuality in the UK, just not oppose it. UK is multicultural but still lays down it's own laws which all must follow.

Again, the thread is not about me or the UK though.

Wonder why you are so keen on wanting so much LGBT content on Bollywood despite not being a fan of the LGBT movement or of Bollywood?

Bollywood exists to sell itself not to offer representation for anything.

Secondly , until Brokeback Mountain in 2005, it wasn't very common to see same sex characters even in the Western World.

And since you yourself remind us of how India is at atleast 50 years behind the West , it should not come as a surprise to you if all people.

You can wait until 2055 for the content you're so clearly longing to watch in Bollywood and then complain if it doesn't come to pass.

This is a silly response. I don't want or need anything from Bollywood. I live in the west where we have seen massive changes in attitude towards same sex relations, even footballers are having to delete homophobic tweets from a few years ago.

It's a perfectly valid question to ask why an all encompassing and fluid ancient culture has not reflected representation of same sex relations despite there not being any reason to oppose it. Do you think homosexuality exists only in other parts of the world and not in Bharat?

This is a silly response. I don't want or need anything from Bollywood. I live in the west where we have seen massive changes in attitude towards same sex relations, even footballers are having to delete homophobic tweets from a few years ago.

It's a perfectly valid question to ask why an all encompassing and fluid ancient culture has not reflected representation of same sex relations despite there not being any reason to oppose it. Do you think homosexuality exists only in other parts of the world and not in Bharat?
First: Bollywood/copywood/gutterwood does not represent india. It is dominated by a few families.
Second: Western world changed its attitude because it was homophobic (and still is). Eastern world don't need any affirmative action because they were not homophobic.

Whatever homophobia is present in eastern cultures is the influence of abrahamic cultures (to be fair christians have changed, but muslim world still remains homo hating).

Sholay movie showed what male to male relation can be. Yeh dosti hum nahi toren gay.
7f3f8-ye-dosti-hum-nai-todenge.jpg

Homophobia is an abrahamic concept, not present in dharmic/eastern civilizations. The homophobia in eastern civilizations is because of the influence of abrahamic culture.

I think you are probably correct since it is Abrahamic religions which seem to have put legislation in place outlawing same sex relations in public at least. So it would seem that Bharat is still stubbornly holding on to some aspects of Abrahamic beliefs despite moving at a fast pace to modernise in many other ways.

Dosti means friendship. Both Jai and Veeru had female love interests in that film. You are just digging a bigger homophobic hole for Bollywood here.
Having female love interest doesn't mean there is no male to male interest. Sexuality is a spectrum, not a switch. And that is why Indic cultures did not assign identity based on someones sexual choices, unlike abrahamic religions for whom it was deserving of death.

I think you are probably correct since it is Abrahamic religions which seem to have put legislation in place outlawing same sex relations in public at least. So it would seem that Bharat is still stubbornly holding on to some aspects of Abrahamic beliefs despite moving at a fast pace to modernise in many other ways.
You are right, that India is still holding some aspects of abrahamic influence on homophobia. While you rightly laud christian nations that they have reformed themselves and are trying to give rights to these people, you stay silent on the lack of reform in the muslim nations which form half of abrahamic culture. And are instead focused on cultures which have some remnants of abrahamic influence. Why is that so?

I never said anything about it not existing in India. It exists everywhere.

And who said theres been no Indian films made on the topic? Mira Nair's "Fire" in 1998 is an example of one.

Majority of the populace would not watch a mainstream commercial movie in large numbers of the themes are such.

You are right, that India is still holding some aspects of abrahamic influence on homophobia. While you rightly laud christian nations that they have reformed themselves and are trying to give rights to these people, you stay silent on the lack of reform in the muslim nations which form half of abrahamic culture. And are instead focused on cultures which have some remnants of abrahamic influence. Why is that so?

I don't stay silent on this issue or lack of reform in Muslim countries, this is addressed quite regularly in Britain, and on boards like this one. I have said even in this thread that Islamic countries are homophobic. Hardly staying silent is it?

Anyway, I don't see what that has got to do with Bollywood or Indian entertainment in general. Bharat is not an Islamic country.

I never said anything about it not existing in India. It exists everywhere.

And who said theres been no Indian films made on the topic? Mira Nair's "Fire" in 1998 is an example of one.

Majority of the populace would not watch a mainstream commercial movie in large numbers of the themes are such.

Mira Nair is Canadian and the film was produced in Canada. That only reinforces the point of this thread, only foreign based Indians are allowed to touch this sort of subject. At home there still seems to be an unexplained homophobia deeply entrenched in Indian society.

Mira Nair made the film but Shabana Azmi and Indian actors acted in it. You wanted Indian representation . There you have it.

Also, if there are no LGBT films made, it's not proof of deeply entrenched homophobia in a society.

There are hardly any movies made even now in Hollywood where the lead characters are gay , that does not mean the West is homophobic.

Also, there's an entire list of Indian films which can be found on the basis of a simple Google search.

Perhaps your ire is better directed at British TV shows which stereotype Asians in popular shows like Citizen Khan which shows a pernicious racial mindset that fires the viewers' imagination despite many decades of multiculturalism in a First World Economy that you seem to be proud to be a part of.

Third World countries and their issues can come after that

Mira Nair made the film but Shabana Azmi and Indian actors acted in it. You wanted Indian representation . There you have it.

Also, if there are no LGBT films made, it's not proof of deeply entrenched homophobia in a society.

There are hardly any movies made even now in Hollywood where the lead characters are gay , that does not mean the West is homophobic.

Also, there's an entire list of Indian films which can be found on the basis of a simple Google search.

Perhaps your ire is better directed at British TV shows which stereotype Asians in popular shows like Citizen Khan which shows a pernicious racial mindset that fires the viewers' imagination despite many decades of multiculturalism in a First World Economy that you seem to be proud to be a part of.

Third World countries and their issues can come after that

Shabana Azmi had to leave India to make that film abroad, does that not tell you something? Even the hostility I am sensing from Indian posters when I ask a perfectly reasonable question about the film industry is very telling. It seems the nation is homophobic but does not want to be labelled as such.

As for Hollywood, the film industry is not that big any more, but there is a rising number of gay roles. And going beyond Hollywood, just about every modern TV show has gay characters, often multiple. I named a few above, there are plenty more. Not just minor shows either, these are all hugely popular, such as Modern Parents, The Walking Dead, Glee, GOT.

British tv shows just reflect the wishes of the majority, and if they want to see a certain type of desi character then that is their choice. If it's a pernicious racial mindset I won't agree or disagree since I'm not really sure what you mean.

Shabana Azmi had to leave India to make that film abroad, does that not tell you something? Even the hostility I am sensing from Indian posters when I ask a perfectly reasonable question about the film industry is very telling. It seems the nation is homophobic but does not want to be labelled as such.

As for Hollywood, the film industry is not that big any more, but there is a rising number of gay roles. And going beyond Hollywood, just about every modern TV show has gay characters, often multiple. I named a few above, there are plenty more. Not just minor shows either, these are all hugely popular, such as Modern Parents, The Walking Dead, Glee, GOT.

British tv shows just reflect the wishes of the majority, and if they want to see a certain type of desi character then that is their choice. If it's a pernicious racial mindset I won't agree or disagree since I'm not really sure what you mean.

Bollywood shows what the Hindi speaking majority wants to see. How is it any different ?

The majority may well tolerate LBTQ without really wanting to watch them on TV.

Having said that I have already mentioned that there are quite a few films that have LGBT themes in Indian cinema.

One simple Google search would save you the trouble

I don't stay silent on this issue or lack of reform in Muslim countries, this is addressed quite regularly in Britain, and on boards like this one. I have said even in this thread that Islamic countries are homophobic. Hardly staying silent is it?

Anyway, I don't see what that has got to do with Bollywood or Indian entertainment in general. Bharat is not an Islamic country.
But you have not asked the question why muslim countries are homophobic. Instead you are asking why a country which has influences of abrahamic culture has homophobia.

I am sure I would happily examine the reasons in the appropriate place. In fact I may even create such a thread assuming there isn't one already if hard hitting hindutva posters feel like popping their heads over the parapet in this one, valuable contributors such as @Romali_rotti @cricketjoshila @uppercut @Rajdeep etc.

Muslim countries are that way because their holy book tells them so.

But Cpt. refuses to say why he wants to criminalise LGBT relations when he is not a religious person but instead is focused on Bollywood. Strange.

This is not the thread to ask questions about why Islamic countries are homophobic. I am sure I would happily examine the reasons in the appropriate place. In fact I may even create such a thread assuming there isn't one already if hard hitting hindutva posters feel like popping their heads over the parapet in this one, valuable contributors such as @Romali_rotti @cricketjoshila @uppercut @Rajdeep etc.
Because by not asking that question, you are not addressing the elephant in the room.

The reason there are remnants of homophobia in India is because of abrahamic influence on indian culture. Otherwise eastern and dharmic cultures didn't make someones sexual preference as their primary identity.

But Cpt. refuses to say why he wants to criminalise LGBT relations when he is not a religious person but instead is focused on Bollywood. Strange.

Many British people who are not religious don't agree with promoting homosexual relation. It is not something exclusive to Muslims. But in Islamic countries they have made it a criminal offence so you don't really get much debate about it.

My interest in lack of gay heroes in Bollywood or popular tv shows is precisely because of that reason. Without the religious straitjacket, I am trying to figure out what has held them back in Bharat.

He is confused I feel.

He wants to be a Momin, but he is too much into Brit ways to become one.

Many British people who are not religious don't agree with promoting homosexual relation. It is not something exclusive to Muslims. But in Islamic countries they have made it a criminal offence so you don't really get much debate about it.

My interest in lack of gay heroes in Bollywood or popular tv shows is precisely because of that reason. Without the religious straitjacket, I am trying to figure out what has held them back in Bharat.
Indian audience wants to see their heroes romance with beautiful woman and in the process beat up some baddies black and blue. Not a Gay man who can't do any of it.

I am sure I would happily examine the reasons in the appropriate place. In fact I may even create such a thread assuming there isn't one already if hard hitting hindutva posters feel like popping their heads over the parapet in this one, valuable contributors such as @Romali_rotti @cricketjoshila @uppercut @Rajdeep etc.
I don't watch Bollywood so I don't know why there aren't any gay male actors.

From a personal perspective I do not care if an individual is gay, bi or trans...I think deep down you would have an issue Cap considering the hard core Islamic mindset you come from..

Indian audience wants to see their heroes romance with beautiful woman and in the process beat up some baddies black and blue. Not a Gay man who can't do any of it.

Not surprising really, it is sort of fantasy that is probably unattainable for majority in real life.

Western audiences are a bit more developed, you get all sorts of themes, romance and fighting are just a couple of aspects.

I don't watch Bollywood so I don't know why there aren't any gay male actors.

From a personal perspective I do not care if an individual is gay, bi or trans...I think deep down you would have an issue Cap considering the hard core Islamic mindset you come from..

Thanks for your personal input but it seems you are unwilling to address the topic why gay roles are not seen in Indian films or tv. Perhaps it is illegal? Did you not even wonder?

I dont understand your linkage between movies and gay roles / actors

First of all, movies are seen as an entertainment medium in India, more so than even an art form. Thats why commercial cinemas are way more popular.

I mean if you can write and direct a great commercial gay movie, may be a loss for India as we missed you.

Instead of running in circles, you can directly say that Indian culture /Hinduism is homophobic. That will save time for you I feel.

Sadly, that isnt true I guess. Gays / LGBT was looked down as thats what commercial directors thought was comedy, but now, its changed. They dont even dare to make such tropes in movies afraid of backlash. So, clearly atleast, movie audience were past that stigma on gays. And few directors were even successful in making commercial movies on trans people in positive light down south. ( Super deluxe, Muni are 2 movies I can recall now which you can check in Wiki)

I am sure I would happily examine the reasons in the appropriate place. In fact I may even create such a thread

Don't kid yourselves ..... you ain't going to venture into doing anything like that as I am pretty sure you know the consequences of having to deal with the 4 of us considering your utterly untenable views on all subjects. This would be close to the forum version of aa-bail-mujhe-maar ( hey bull come gore me )​

@cricketjoshila
@Romali_rotti
@Rajdeep
@CricketCartoons

assuming there isn't one already if hard hitting hindutva posters feel like popping their heads over the parapet in this one, valuable contributors such as @Romali_rotti @cricketjoshila @uppercut @Rajdeep etc.

CricketCartoons has already schooled you here and he is right in what he says and here is the evidence to what he is saying by quoting from the wiki on this topic

Numerous Hindu texts have portrayed homosexual experience as natural and joyful,[4] the Kamasutra affirms and recognises same-sex relations,[5] and there are several Hindu temples which have carvings that depict both men and women engaging in homosexual acts.[6]

Link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hinduism_and_LGBT_topics

The problem here is that you are expecting the Bollywood industry to be morally upright and do the right thing in the best interests of India and be role models and all that jazz. I can assure that no-one in this age of Social Medial takes these guys seriously beyond the entertainment factor.​

I don't expect Bollywood to do anything, this is merely a thread to query why is there no representation of gay people in the industry. If it is because they still retain homophobic attitudes as remnants of Islamic period in Bharat then that is a simple enough explanation. I believe the poster you quoted @CricketCartoons already alluded as such.

I dont understand your linkage between movies and gay roles / actors

First of all, movies are seen as an entertainment medium in India, more so than even an art form. Thats why commercial cinemas are way more popular.

I mean if you can write and direct a great commercial gay movie, may be a loss for India as we missed you.

Instead of running in circles, you can directly say that Indian culture /Hinduism is homophobic. That will save time for you I feel.

Sadly, that isnt true I guess. Gays / LGBT was looked down as thats what commercial directors thought was comedy, but now, its changed. They dont even dare to make such tropes in movies afraid of backlash. So, clearly atleast, movie audience were past that stigma on gays. And few directors were even successful in making commercial movies on trans people in positive light down south. ( Super deluxe, Muni are 2 movies I can recall now which you can check in Wiki)

That's not for me to say, that is the whole point of the thread to establish the reasons why. I think it's fair to say that India is still very homophobic, no argument from me there, although I believe this is Islamic cultural influence which Indian culture seems to chime with despite there being no ostensible reason to have not moved on after hundreds of years since Mughal rule.

I don't expect Bollywood to do anything, this is merely a thread to query why is there no representation of gay people in the industry. If it is because they still retain homophobic attitudes as remnants of Islamic period in Bharat then that is a simple enough explanation. I believe the poster you quoted @CricketCartoons already alluded as such.
You can bash bollywood/gutterwood as much as you want. I had stopped watching them ages ago. Only came to reply because you dragged in hindutva, which I am very passionate and emotional about.

Don't like to be clubbed with these sickular indians who watch and defend bollywood.

https:

Guys and girls, we all admire art for art's sake, how does it make you feel that this guy can get an audience in Pakistan, yet we will never see someone of a similar ilk getting a lead role in Bollywood? Correct me if I am wrong, perhaps Hritik Roshan or similar types have already played this out.