Boston Marathon Bombings [Suspect #1 Dead, Suspect #2 in Custody]

CBS News reports surveillance video shows someone carrying multiple backpacks into area 20 min before explosions.

Guys please refrain from posting gruesome images of victims and the explosion itself. Thanks.

this could be in response to the afghan children killed by an airstrike not too long ago. rip and i hope they don't blame muslims before any investigation

Gov't has shut down cell service to all of Boston to prevent the possible detonation of any IEDs. Wait...what? That sound funny to anyone?

Reports of a suspect in custody and reports of his nationality also...

Not confirmed by any means so hopefully not true.

2 hrs in the bombing and ppl have already decided this is domestic issue, some right wing patrriot..classic

Someone of importance has been caught according to foux news.

Well if it turns out that a Muslim is involved in it than the people/media will go on a rant and label every Muslim as a terrorist even though 99% of Muslims are normal people who have nothing to do with this.

then stop mentioning it, kissi ka bhi bhai mar sakta hain idhar - idahr 2 gante nahin huye, muslim, pakistani, patriot killers?

any explosions anywhere, there is few post condemnning and it goes, can't be pakistani, shouldnt be pakistani - what is this?

pehle se hi arzi de rahe ho kya

What you are doing is inherently justifying the attacks on "Muslims" by Americans. If we feel victimized by Muslims/Pakistanis then we get to bomb them. And if "Muslims" feel victimized by the Americans/West, they get to bomb them.

Dead children and innocents all around. That's what makes sense in your world? Blood running in the streets in order for you to feel vindicated?

we dont know if its musilm yet but it is another civilized country is destroyed its a circle and the circle will keep going on i feel sorry for the victims and pray for them but how many Americans would pry for a young kid dying in a drone they would be like good another one gone

2 hrs in the bombing and ppl have already decided this is domestic issue, some right wing patrriot..classic

Its called speculation. When the bombs went off in Norway a lot were speculating "Islamic" attack which proved to be false.
It could well be an international group but we won't know for a few days yet so people will have theories until the facts are known.

Lots of people saying NY post shouldn't be really trusted, but i doubt they would be speculating after such an incident.

That is why wars, killings are never a solution for any problems. It only breeds more hatred and new attacks.

and that killing should stop from both ways living in the uk im pray nothing happens here and i hope everyone in boston is okay no hate just stating a fact i remember im human but they is there any love from the other side

Apparently that "Saudi" was a victim of the explosions more than the criminal behind the attacks, but the NYT probably stopped at the phenotype and made its own conclusions.
There's one suspect in custody but that's not the Saudi national, who was taken to the hospital.

Apparently that "Saudi" was a victim of the explosions more than the criminal behind the attacks, but the NYT probably stopped at the phenotype and made its own conclusions.
There's one suspect in custody but that's not the Saudi national, who was taken to the hospital.

NY Post, not NYT.

Law enforcement spokesperson denying the reports of a suspect in custody.

source?

‘Please don’t be a Muslim’: Boston marathon blasts draw condemnation and dread in Muslim world

On Sept. 12, the day after Islamist militants attacked a U.S. diplomatic outpost in Benghazi, Libya, killing ambassador Chris Stevens and three other Americans, local Libyans gathered for a public demonstration.

Libyan families waved signs in Arabic and English reading “Benghazi is against Terrorism,” “Thugs and killers don’t represent Benghazi nor Islam,” “Chris Stevens was a Friend To all Libyans.” One photo captured a young boy holding the handwritten sign “Sorry People of America this not the behavior of our ISLAM and Profit.” A similar demonstration soon gathered in Tripoli. The tone at both rallies was positive and pro-American, but there was a second, subtler message being sent to the United States: We’re on your side, not theirs.

So little is known yet about what’s behind the explosions Monday at the Boston Marathon that any conclusion, including terrorism, would be premature. But that fear has been an early reflex not just in the United States but half a world away in the Middle East. There, some observers are expressing sympathy – recall that pro-American solidarity rallies were held throughout the region after Sept. 11, 2001 – and, at times, a sense of dread.

As a Libyan Twitter user named Hend Amry wrote, “Please don’t be a ‘Muslim.’” Her message was retweeted by more than 100 other users, including well-known journalists and writers from the Muslim world.

Jenan Moussa, a journalist for Dubai-based Al-Aan TV, retweeted the message “Please don’t be a ‘Muslim’” and added that the plea was “The thought of every Muslim right now.” Moussa’s message was forwarded more than 200 times.

Nervana Mahmoud, a U.K. citizen who writes often on the Middle East, wrote, “Fact: Terrorism has no religion, race, or nationality. Standing against terror should unit us all. #BostonExplosion #BostonMarathon”

A Dubai-based social media consultant named Iyad El-Baghdadi tweeted, “Went to my “Islamists” list; good to know that most comments are sympathetic. Only a couple crazies out of 200-something. #BostonMarathon”

People in the Muslim world are often keenly aware of the American reflex to associate bombing attacks on U.S. citizens with Muslim extremists. A certain routine has developed in these situations in which some Muslims seem compelled to make clear that they denounce the violence and consider it a violation of Islam — often even before it’s determined whether the attacker was Muslim.

“As a Marathoner and Human being, I’m devastated. Prayers to the victims,” Qasim Rashid, the chairman of the Muslim Writer’s Guild of America, tweeted. “Whoever the culprit, no religion justifies this act of violence. We must remain united against extremism.”

Last July, a few hours after a gunman had opened fire on a Colorado movie theater, killing 12 people, a friend from the United Arab Emirates told me he’d been glued to the U.S. TV reports, watching with fear and sympathy. He said he was deeply bothered, but not surprised, when an anchor reported that the shooter had been captured and was “not a Muslim.”

There will be displays of true sympathy from the Muslim world regardless of the religion of those responsible for the fatal blasts in Boston — as there were after both Sept. 11, 2001, and the deadly December school shooting in Newtown, Conn. Should the incident turn out to have even the slightest connection to a professed observer of Islam – a possibility that, according to Moussa and others, some Muslims are dreading – those gestures of support may look something like the handmade posters in Benghazi last September, a declaration of solidarity and a gentle reminder that Muslims despise terrorism just as much as anyone else.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs...-draw-condemnation-and-dread-in-muslim-world/

Pres. Obama just gave a statement on TV....didn't use the term 'terrorism' and being very careful and precise in his statement. However, CNN & other media are now calling this a terror event...not ruling out domestic terrorism.

Breaking News: Two explosions heard at Boston Marathon

..so now it has been upgraded to a terrorist attack...

"A sophistcated and planned attack" according to CNN.

Well I think it was clearly an attack. The questions are: by whom, and why.

Thoughts with the innocent victims.

I just tuned in BBC World news. I am shocked at the bomb blasts. There have been three bomb blasts so far; latest target is JFK library according to the channel.

May Allaah (SWT) have mercy on them those who are injured, Ameen!

Those who died - To Allaah we belong, to Allaah we shall return. May Allaah forgives their sins and grants them in Jannah, Ameen!

I just tuned in BBC World news. I am shocked at the bomb blasts. There have been three bomb blasts so far; latest target is JFK library according to the channel.

May Allaah (SWT) have mercy on them those who are injured, Ameen!

Those who died - To Allaah we belong, to Allaah we shall return. May Allaah forgives their sins and grants them in Jannah, Ameen!

Confirned the JFK incident is not linked

Okay. Thank for the update.

23 people are injured in two explosion so far. This is not looking good at all. May Allaah have mercy on them, and punishes the culprits to death, Ameen!

CBS is saying a Saudi National was chased and tackled by a civilian.

Warning to brown people in USA, be carefull if terrorist is muslim.

CBS Boston just said a Saudi man was seen running away from the explosion and a civilian tackled him.

Brown and muslim? Must be terrorist

...confirmed nobody is in custody..just rumours.

Funny that the gov't said cell service was shut down intentionally but the carriers said they never received any order to shut down services, they were just pushed to capacity.

Why don't you go and read all my former posts and come to your own conclusions.

I did and some really did had idiocy in em.
Else i wouldnt have mentioned it that way.

Shrapnel wounded person simply cannot be giving any info? Speculations while turning your brains off?

Or did u never heard about bombs being triggered by EM waves of the cellphones..? And hence the shutting down of the mobile services.
It was you only who was going about saying if it sounded funny to anybody.

In times of tragedy, one doesnt goes off trying and testing uncharted territory vis a vis his knowledge.
Need of the hour is to maintain sanity while interacting with masses.

Seems like you need to learn a lot of common sense besides other things.

CBS Boston just said a Saudi man was seen running away from the explosion and a civilian tackled him.

Brown and muslim? Must be terrorist

Ummm.....i assume everyone would be running away from the explosion, isn't it?

In times of tragedy, one doesnt goes off trying and testing uncharted territory vis a vis his knowledge.
Need of the hour is to maintain sanity while interacting with masses.

Seems like you need to learn a lot of common sense besides other things.

like I said before, reading is fundamental. I guess you believe with unquestioning obedience everything the US media says. Glad they have a friend in you. I prefer to read information for myself and ask questions. I guess your little feelings were hurt?

What exactly do they mean by 'ongoing event'..?

Hoping all the Boston posters are safe. I think smoothcriminal is in Boston. You guys are in my thoughts and prayers

Almost made a plan to go see the marathon today. Friend ran the marathon but just checked and he's ok. Praying for everyone. I hope this is not affiliated with any extremist networks or with anyone claiming to be affiliated with Islam. Immigration already so difficult with criminals such as Faisal Shehzad.

Sorry I missed your post. Glad you are safe.

I am glad that you are safe OZGOD. Tragic event. I hope guilty people will get caught soon.

If this is proven to be a domestic terrorist attack...it would be high time FBI and other US intelligence agency to stop spying on law abiding american muslims and wasting resources, time and money on a non-existent threat, and instead focus on right-wing loonies and terrorists, who are by far the greatest threat to both at large and the gov't...

A solitary agent assigned at the domestic terrorsim desk versus 24+ assigned to harass American Muslims is the height of idiocy...

My condolence for those who lost their loved ones. They are in my prayers.
And my sympathies with those who are injured.

Regardless of what's the faith of perpetrators, I look forward to see them being brought to justice ASAP.
Taking the life of an innocent human being is like taking the life of all humanity.

May the deceased be blessed and their loved ones find comfort. Amen

If this is proven to be a domestic terrorist attack...it would be high time FBI and other US intelligence agency to stop spying on law abiding american muslims and wasting resources, time and money on a non-existent threat, and instead focus on right-wing loonies and terrorists, who are by far the greatest threat to both at large and the gov't...

A solitary agent assigned at the domestic terrorsim desk versus 24+ assigned to harass American Muslims is the height of idiocy...

fox news is already saying what do these guys get with their jihad - so there u go

Jordanian extremist praises Boston bombing

The head of an extremist Jordanian Muslim Salafi group said early Tuesday that he was "happy to see the horror in America" after the explosions in Boston.

"American blood isn't more precious than Muslim blood," said Mohammad al-Chalabi, who was convicted in an al-Qaida-linked plot to attack U.S. and other Western diplomatic missions in Jordan in 2003.

"Let the Americans feel the pain we endured by their armies occupying Iraq and Afghanistan and killing our people there," he said early Tuesday.

Al-Chalabi served seven years in prison for his part in the foiled attack. His group is outlawed in Jordan.

A Mideast counterterrorism official based in Jordan said the blasts "carry the hallmark of an organized terrorist group, like al-Qaida." He did not give actual evidence linking al-Qaida to the bombing.

"From the little information available, one can say it was a well-coordinated, well-targeted and near-simultaneous attack," he said. "Luckily, the amount of explosives used is small, judging from the casualty figure and explosion area."

http://www.dallasnews.com/news/local-news/20130415-jordanian-extremist-praises-boston-bombing.ece

The jihadists may or may not have been involved but they are surely celebrating.

^ Yes let's jump on the buckaroo and go blow up some Muslim kids because their dad looks like the scary Osama man.

An immoral attack targeting amateur athletes including the elderly and children. A lot of these people who run marathons raise money for charity. I don't know why Mr Obama isn't specifically calling it a terrorist attack, unless he thinks it was an accident or there are some failures by his government to secure the location.

Witnesses report the bomb disposal unit including dog were sniffing before the race began. It could be routine but may indicate a prior threat warning.

The reality is the American rulers will lay blame to anyone for their benefit.

not just jihadists..normal people too silently feel happy when innocents die in an enemy country. when i broke this news to a chinese friend, he couldnt hide his smile and asked how many died. so let us not single out jihadists when it is ugly human nature.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>Breaking: Officials found 5 more suspect devices, but late Monday said they now doubt the devices were bombs. <a href="http://t.co/EHpOeRNgcZ" title="http://on.wsj.com/15aYSxH">on.wsj.com/15aYSxH</a></p>— Wall Street Journal (@WSJ) <a href="https://twitter.com/WSJ/status/323972471478964224">April 16, 2013</a></blockquote>

not just jihadists..normal people too silently feel happy when innocents die in an enemy country. when i broke this news to a chinese friend, he couldnt hide his smile and asked how many died. so let us not single out jihadists when it is ugly human nature.

America is the most hatred country, it's way ahead of the rest. But people who celebrate the death of innocents weaken their own case against similar barbarism coming from America who they hate for this reason. Although if someone has been mentally affected by American bombs this ugly human nature is expected to exist.

It will be surprising if they blame Al-CIAda this time round. The US want to move out of Afghanistan and they are openly supporting terrorists in Syria, allowing them to blow up people every week. However there is always Iran, Syria(government), ISI etc but imo it will be blamed on some American group in order to increase the security lock down on the American citizens. Either way the people most in danger in America now are Sikhs.

I feel for innocents that die but it's hard to feel for the American state . I remember watching a documentry on how the caught Osama. The current CIA Cheif mentioned the saw a really tall man who looked like Osama so they launched a drone strike on him. He then went on to say "turned out it was just some farmer and his 2 kids".

What I'm worried about is how many more innocent people will die because of this.

How to minimize these disgusting thoughts? Because we certainly can't eradicate it! I made a thread a month or so ago, why would people hate innocent countrymen, who are not part of most of the deeds done by their Govn't?

Proper upbringing? A kid raised by rational guardian? Or Education system that shows ugly human history, which shows our all ancestors were part of this act, so we should be rational about this?

The head of an extremist Jordanian Muslim Salafi group said early Tuesday that he was "happy to see the horror in America" after the explosions in Boston.

"American blood isn't more precious than Muslim blood," said Mohammad al-Chalabi, who was convicted in an al-Qaida-linked plot to attack U.S. and other Western diplomatic missions in Jordan in 2003.

"Let the Americans feel the pain we endured by their armies occupying Iraq and Afghanistan and killing our people there," he said early Tuesday.

Al-Chalabi served seven years in prison for his part in the foiled attack. His group is outlawed in Jordan.

A Mideast counterterrorism official based in Jordan said the blasts "carry the hallmark of an organized terrorist group, like al-Qaida." He did not give actual evidence linking al-Qaida to the bombing.

"From the little information available, one can say it was a well-coordinated, well-targeted and near-simultaneous attack," he said. "Luckily, the amount of explosives used is small, judging from the casualty figure and explosion area."

http://www.dallasnews.com/news/local-news/20130415-jordanian-extremist-praises-boston-bombing.ece

The jihadists may or may not have been involved but they are surely celebrating.

While I think all this talk (especially on social media) about "these deaths are worth more blah blah blah" is totally pathetic and quite disgusting, especially at such times.

To say Jihadists are surely celebrating would be wrong. If you are judging people by comments made, a person may just look at some of the vile disgusting comments people make in other horror videos on the net in other conflicts or incidents. Based on such comments people should not tar a whole community or group without evidence.

We had a fox news official contributor, minutes after the attack tweeting "Kill all Muslims". So you quote someone who had been arrested for being with alqaeeda and then say all jihadists are celebrating? - maybe they are? point is, I think it's rash to make such comments, especially if you don't clarify what you mean by Jihadi. Some might just take it for a muslim... because many muslims accept a notion of Jihad. Even you call people who are fighting in their homelands 'mujahideen' - which could translate to some people as Jihadis.

Condolences on the loss of innocent life in Boston.

People who condone this are shameless as are the same people who will blame Muslims etc [Regardless of the fact that there is no proof]

An attack on Patriot's day in Boston suggests to me that that American separatist nutjobs are to blame.

amateurdentist it is way too early and inappropriate to make such speculative statements right now.

It is reported that 3 people have died. Medical experts are already on thr scene as part of the event so it looks like they have reacted quickly.

I apologize. I do feel the pain of those poor injured and dead souls. I said Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon for them. May their families find peace and solace.
Its just that i always prepare for/fear the worst. I am sorry if anything i said offended anyone. that was not my intention

"I was able to pray for the suffering in Boston in my night prayer just now, just as I was able to and have been doing so for the suffering all over the world. I hope you all did too regardless of the politics and fear of the situation.

Don't be stingy in your prayers. Human beings don't deserve to be treated like this. Villagers don't deserve to be treated like this. Neither do mothers. Neither do runners working for charity. Neither do supporting families. Neither do 8yr old children in an audience. Neither do guests at a wedding party.

May Allah protect us all from ourselves."

- Sh. Abu Eesa

https://www.facebook.com/imamomarsuleiman/posts/566990843320961

Gov't has shut down cell service to all of Boston to prevent the possible detonation of any IEDs. Wait...what? That sound funny to anyone?

No, I was in a bomb alert in London when the phone companies did that. It's standard procedure.

Summary for those who have not followed it yet;

BOSTON: Two explosions struck one of America’s top sporting events on Monday, killing at least three and wounding more than 100 as the Boston Marathon erupted in a maelstrom of blood, screams, smoke and panic. See gallery.

As cities from New York to Los Angeles went on high alert, Americans with ever-vivid memories of the September 11, 2001 suicide airliner attacks automatically wondered if the country had been hit again by terrorists.

President Barack Obama went on national television to say it was not yet clear who was behind the blasts. He said the perpetrators would pay. He did not utter the word “terror.”

We still do not know who did this or why. And people shouldn’t jump to conclusions before we have all the facts,” Obama said. “But make no mistake, we will get to the bottom of this, and we will find out who did this, we’ll find out why they did this.”

A senior White House official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said later that “any event with multiple explosive devices — as this appears to be — is clearly an act of terror.”

At the blast scene, a horrific chorus of high-pitched wailing and screaming rang out as bewildered runners and spectators fled the carnage and debris.

News reports said one of the fatalities was an eight-year-old boy and that some of the injured lost limbs. One woman told CNN the blast was the loudest sound she had ever heard, and it made the ground shake.

The thunderous blasts struck near the finish line of the marathon, long after the winners had crossed. Competitors who were still running when the blasts rocked downtown Boston were diverted elsewhere. Some 27,000 people were entered to take part in the event.

Video footage on American TV showed the moment when the first blast apparently struck: the detonation came on the left side of the course, behind spectators and a row of colorful national flags showing how runners come from around the world to take part.

Security people in yellow jackets threw their hands to their ears as the blast took place and at least one runner was thrown to the ground as white smoke billowed upward. The already waving flags whipped violently with the shockwave of the explosion.

Grisly accounts abounded. “We saw people with their legs blown off,” Mark Hagopian, owner of the Charlesmark Hotel, told AFP from the basement of a restaurant where he had sought shelter.

“A person next to me had his legs blown off at the knee — he was still alive.”

It was bad, it was fast,” he said. “There was a gigantic explosion… we felt wind on our faces… Police were saying: ‘Get out, get out, leave, leave there may be more bombs.’”

Boston police Chief Ed Davis raised the death toll from two to three at a late evening news conference at which other officials fended off a barrage of questions about the investigation into the explosions.

FBI special agent Rick DesLauriers did say: “It is a criminal investigation that is a potential terrorist investigation.”

More than 100 were injured, Massachusetts governor Deval Patrick said, without giving an exact figure. The Boston Globe said it was at least 125.

NBC News, citing officials, reported that police had found “multiple explosive devices” in Boston, raising the possibility of a coordinated attack.

The twin explosions come more than a decade after nearly 3,000 people were killed in airplane strikes on New York, Washington and Pennsylvania on September 11, 2001.

The sense of panic in the immediate aftermath of the blasts, and fear of more explosions, was so acute that Boston authorities urged people not to congregate in large crowds.

Senator Dianne Feinstein, chair of the Senate Intelligence Committee, said she believed the blasts were in fact an attack but it was unclear if the perpetrators were homegrown or foreign.

Asked if this was terrorism, she told reporters: “It looks that way.” Security was stepped up in New York and Washington — both sites of 9/11 attacks — as well as in Los Angeles and San Francisco.

In the Big Apple, police said they were boosting security at hotels and “other prominent locations in the city.”

The blasts in Boston rattled US markets, sending the Dow and the S&P 500 down at the close.

The Boston Marathon is one of the biggest annual athletic events held in the United States. Racers must qualify to compete and there are tens of thousands of spectators.

The race attracts world-class athletes, most of whom would have likely completed the race a couple of hours before the blast went off. The video clip of the blast showed the marathon time clock at 4:09:44.

Hours later, the flag at the majestic white dome of the US Capitol in Washington was lowered in honor of the blast victims-AFP

But it looks funny how administration are reluctant to use the word "terror" in their words...

It is clearly terrorism,if it is not,then what it is supposed to be?...A crime? yep if there is no Muslim involved then it is a crime...I think this state reponse tells us for what the term "terror" has been specified to..

It is terrorism either done by a Muslim or a by non-Muslim,by an American or by a foreigner,whether it is sponsored by state or is a work of some individuals......You can not describe it in anyther word than terrorism...

President Barack Obama went on national television to say it was not yet clear who was behind the blasts. He said the perpetrators would pay. He did not utter the word “terror.”
Why can't we get leaders like this?

Very sad stuff:(.... Condolences to all those who lost their beloved ones, and I hope that the ones injured by it recover soon:53:. Amen!

OMG. I was there at that very spot where the bombs went off a few hours ago watching the first runners cross the finish line!! Drove home and heard that a bomb had gone off. If I had stayed an extra hour I would've been caught in it.

Thank God that you are safe, OZGOD!

Humanity is dying a slow death. Humans killing humans everywhere. Sad

RIP those who've lost their lives. Get well soon those injured.

An attack on Patriot's day in Boston suggests to me that that American separatist nutjobs are to blame.

and apparently the explosives used were quite crude and rudimentary, claymore mines or some such.

BREAKING: Person briefed on probe: Boston explosives made of pressure cookers with metal, ball bearings -MM
by The Associated Press via twitter on Tuesday, April 16, 2013 at 12:07:56 PM

RIP....this really reminded me of victims of American drone strikes and Israeli bombs. Not a political point im making just that nobody deserves to die this way. The 8 year old that died had the whole world at his feet and was cruelly snatched from loving parents.

Condolences to the victims and the families of this horrible terrorist attack.

This is clearly the work of an evil and lunatic person(s)c, no matter if they are domestic( Muslim or other) or foreign ( Muslim or other). I also feel sorry for those people who claim they don't feel the pain and suffering of the victims and try to justify this attack as some sort of payback for the "great Satan".

Hopefully we find and punish whoever is responsible for this

^ Yes let's jump on the buckaroo and go blow up some Muslim kids because their dad looks like the scary Osama man
/QUOTE]

You must be thinking about some other country, maybe the country where an attack on a mosque is followed by an attack on an imam bargah. Or the attack on a Mohajir is reciprocated by an attack on a Sindhi. There maybe a small number of crazies who might retaliate but I don't think any muslim kids have ever been killed in the US in a hate crime.

RIP....this really reminded me of victims of American drone strikes and Israeli bombs. Not a political point im making just that nobody deserves to die this way. The 8 year old that died had the whole world at his feet and was cruelly snatched from loving parents.

Same here. It's almost like it was "so see what it feels like to have limbs blown off, to walk in fear, to see what it is like living in a war zone".

RIP, hopefully the perpetrators of this horrible crime will be brought to justice.

There must be few individuals involved...1 or 2 persons can not do this job in such a sophisticated manner ,against such extreme security apparatus..