Canada alleges India has "Intent, Capability" to interfere In Elections

The Bald Eagle

So India under Modi government now after allegedly sponsoring state terrorism, is up to usurping an election....biggest democracy for you
====

Canada's spy service on Monday said India and China are likely to try to interfere in its upcoming general election, a charge that came amid its worsening relations with the two countries.

Addressing a press conference on the April 28 snap election, Vanessa Lloyd, the deputy director of operations at the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), said that "hostile state actors" were increasingly leveraging artificial intelligence to meddle in the polls, which were announced by the new Prime Minister, Mark Carney, on Sunday.

"The PRC (People's Republic of China) is highly likely to use AI-enabled tools to attempt to interfere with Canada's democratic process in this current election," she said.

China is also "highly likely" to use social media to promote narratives favourable to its interests - and to specifically target Chinese ethnic, cultural and religious communities in Canada using "clandestine and deceptive" means, Ms Lloyd said.

"We have also seen that the government of India has the intent and capability to interfere in Canadian communities and democratic processes to assert its geopolitical influence," she added.

The two countries, which have denied previous allegations of interference, have so far not responded to new charges.

In January, India rejected "insinuations" levelled by a Canadian commission report of interference in Ottawa's elections by certain foreign governments.

In a statement, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) also hit back at Canada's interference in India's internal affairs.

"We reject the report's insinuations on India and expect that the support system enabling illegal migration will not be further countenanced," the statement read.

Canadian newspaper The Globe and Mail had alleged that New Delhi used proxy agents to provide "clandestine financial support" to candidates from three political parties in a federal election.

Canada Warns Of Poll Interference By Russia, Pak

Ms Lloyd also said Russia and Pakistan could interfere in the Canadian general election.

Russia has tried to build "dissemination networks" across social media and news websites that "amplify Kremlin talking points," she told reporters.

"It is possible that Russia will use these online networks to opportunistically conduct foreign information manipulation and interference operations directed at Canadians," she said.

She also said that Islamabad could conduct foreign interference activities against Canada "in line with its strategic aims" to promote political, security and economic stability in Pakistan and "to counter India's growing global influence".

Canada-India Ties

Tensions between India and Canada have simmered since former Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's September 2023 allegation of New Delhi's involvement in the killing of Khalistani terrorist Hardeep Singh Nijjar.

India dismissed the accusation as "absurd."

The row deepened when India expelled six Canadian diplomats and recalled its envoy to Ottawa after Canada attempted to question Indian officials as "persons of interest" in the Nijjar case.

Canada's relations with China have also worsened in recent years. Beijing this month announced tariffs on more than $2.6 billion worth of Canadian agricultural and food products, retaliating against levies Ottawa slapped on Chinese electric vehicles and steel and aluminium products last year.

Source: NDTV

So India under Modi government now after allegedly sponsoring state terrorism, is up to usurping an election....biggest democracy for you
====

Canada's spy service on Monday said India and China are likely to try to interfere in its upcoming general election, a charge that came amid its worsening relations with the two countries.

Addressing a press conference on the April 28 snap election, Vanessa Lloyd, the deputy director of operations at the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), said that "hostile state actors" were increasingly leveraging artificial intelligence to meddle in the polls, which were announced by the new Prime Minister, Mark Carney, on Sunday.

"The PRC (People's Republic of China) is highly likely to use AI-enabled tools to attempt to interfere with Canada's democratic process in this current election," she said.

China is also "highly likely" to use social media to promote narratives favourable to its interests - and to specifically target Chinese ethnic, cultural and religious communities in Canada using "clandestine and deceptive" means, Ms Lloyd said.

"We have also seen that the government of India has the intent and capability to interfere in Canadian communities and democratic processes to assert its geopolitical influence," she added.

The two countries, which have denied previous allegations of interference, have so far not responded to new charges.

In January, India rejected "insinuations" levelled by a Canadian commission report of interference in Ottawa's elections by certain foreign governments.

In a statement, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) also hit back at Canada's interference in India's internal affairs.

"We reject the report's insinuations on India and expect that the support system enabling illegal migration will not be further countenanced," the statement read.

Canadian newspaper The Globe and Mail had alleged that New Delhi used proxy agents to provide "clandestine financial support" to candidates from three political parties in a federal election.

Canada Warns Of Poll Interference By Russia, Pak

Ms Lloyd also said Russia and Pakistan could interfere in the Canadian general election.

Russia has tried to build "dissemination networks" across social media and news websites that "amplify Kremlin talking points," she told reporters.

"It is possible that Russia will use these online networks to opportunistically conduct foreign information manipulation and interference operations directed at Canadians," she said.

She also said that Islamabad could conduct foreign interference activities against Canada "in line with its strategic aims" to promote political, security and economic stability in Pakistan and "to counter India's growing global influence".

Canada-India Ties

Tensions between India and Canada have simmered since former Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's September 2023 allegation of New Delhi's involvement in the killing of Khalistani terrorist Hardeep Singh Nijjar.

India dismissed the accusation as "absurd."

The row deepened when India expelled six Canadian diplomats and recalled its envoy to Ottawa after Canada attempted to question Indian officials as "persons of interest" in the Nijjar case.

Canada's relations with China have also worsened in recent years. Beijing this month announced tariffs on more than $2.6 billion worth of Canadian agricultural and food products, retaliating against levies Ottawa slapped on Chinese electric vehicles and steel and aluminium products last year.

Source: NDTV
Why did you leave out the sugar daddy of Pakistan? The article says both India and China!!
Stop this lopsidded reporting here.

The article also says Pakistan and Russia. Why are you peddling your agenda against India?

More over anyone can allege anyone. Its quite easy without a proof.
Did Canada gave out the proof of India's invovlment on attack of Kalistani terrorists in Canda.

Why did you leave out the sugar daddy of Pakistan? The article says both India and China!!

The article also says Pakistan and Russia. Why are you peddling your agenda against India?
Your media's headline not mine...allege them not me.

This is your quote?

China and Pakistan also invovled allegedly. You conviently leave them out of your OP. You didnt even consider reading the article.

This is your quote?

China and Pakistan also invovled allegedly. You conviently leave them out of your OP. You didnt even consider reading the article.
Even if China and Russia are involved too...but does it undermine the fact that India has been named too.

Don't be such blind follower of your country...let's call spade a spade. And about Pakistan, our FO will answer. And it seems to be just an attempt to cool Indians like you because unlike some country Pakistan establishment doesn't kill Najars in Canada 🤷

Even if China and Russia are involved too...but does it undermine the fact that India has been named too.

Don't be such blind follower of your country...let's call spade a spade. And about Pakistan, our FO will answer. And it seems to be just an attempt to cool Indians like you because unlike some country Pakistan establishment doesn't kill Najars in Canada 🤷
Blah…blah…blah…even a kid can understand what you are trying to do here. You are walking on the same lines of ex Canada PM.

Oh yes Pakistan doesn’t kill terrorists, they harbour them. Not a great comparison.

Blah…blah…blah…even a kid can understand what you are trying to do here. You are walking on the same lines of ex Canada PM.

Oh yes Pakistan doesn’t kill terrorists, they harbour them. Not a great comparison.
Says who....the very own state sponsor of terrorism in other countries.

I'm surprised western populations aren't questioning their governments more. Every few days there is news about foreign interference, here in the UK its Russie, In the US its Russia and now Canada is blaming India and China.

This is ridiculous statement. We remain committed to the creation of Khalistan in Canada. Khalistanis have contributed to the success of the Maple leaf state and command respect from hindus, Muslims , Christians and Atheists. It’s the best solution for Canada which cannot protect itself from Uncle Sam with its current woke outlook. It must embrace Khalsa.

China, Russia, USA used to do this in the past, can’t beleive Indian intelligence has the capability to interfere in elections in Canada of all places lol. Pak, Bangla, Nepal, SL, Maldives type countries I can understand but Canada, wow. not sure how I feel about it.

I agree too, Canada is overestimating Indian capabilities...They are no Russia

Not good @The Bald Eagle

I would request you to pls change the headline. Most Indian posters are educated here and can read what the article is saying.

Rich coming from Canada. They blatantly interfered in Indian politics and internal affairs during Farmer protests. Played their part in polarizing Punjab population with their Khalistani support.

How will India interfere in Canadian elections anyway? Telling Hindus not to vote for Trudeau's Liberal party? Or does Trudeau think that India is funding NGO's across Canada to sabotage Canadian elections? That is exactly what the global leftists like Trudeau and his party does.

Basically the Liberal party is building up the boogeyman in case they lose elections.

If they win, the people have voted against fascists and external threats from big bad India.
If they lose, it is because India, China and even Pakistan meddling in their elections.

These far left masquerading as liberals are always looking to play victim in case things don't go according to their plan.

Not good @The Bald Eagle

I would request you to pls change the headline. Most Indian posters are educated here and can read what the article is saying.
My friend, it is the original article.

I agree too, Canada is overestimating Indian capabilities...They are no Russia
Agree. You guys overestimate RAW. Stop blaming everything in Balochistan etc on RAW/ Modi/ Indian govt and figure out your own problems. First this unknown gunmen and now this election interference ? Unnecessarily making a demon of RAW which is just a group of innocent Sarkari babus. On the same page there 👍 Now on to the next Indian bashing thread.

It's ISI just losing its flair by engaging with local party workers otherwise you are right, formally RAW had been a minnow whose covert operations get caught in majority of occasions ,👍

Bharat will flex it's abilities for the good of Bharat and its people. Anyone expecting Bhartiya brothers to be apologetic about it needs to wake up and smell the coffee.

Amazed no country has responded yet... I believe since removal of Trudeau stakes have fallen a bit

There is a difference. Pakistan will only interfere to counter Indian influence. Pakistan wont harm Canadian interests. Whereas India directly works to harm Canadian interests through its NRIs who will never be loyal to their adopted countries.

Rich coming from Canada. They blatantly interfered in Indian politics and internal affairs during Farmer protests. Played their part in polarizing Punjab population with their Khalistani support.

How will India interfere in Canadian elections anyway? Telling Hindus not to vote for Trudeau's Liberal party? Or does Trudeau think that India is funding NGO's across Canada to sabotage Canadian elections? That is exactly what the global leftists like Trudeau and his party does.
India works by sponsoring Indians who are in a sizable quantity in both Liberal and Conservative party.

There is a difference. Pakistan will only interfere to counter Indian influence. Pakistan wont harm Canadian interests. Whereas India directly works to harm Canadian interests through its NRIs who will never be loyal to their adopted countries.
Yeh data kahaan se laaye bhaiya??
Pakistanis in US Europe and all over have been caught for various terror attacks over the years, monthly ritual hai, should I share that amazing stellar data of your fellow countrymen? Kuch bhi statement maarni hai.

Amazed no country has responded yet... I believe since removal of Trudeau stakes have fallen a bit
every country interferes and tries to influence in ally/enemy elections to some extent. Unnecessarily putting a spotlight on this uncomfortable reality makes life for Canadian diplomats increasingly difficult.
Canada is tussling with China, Russia, India and US in one go. bacha kya .. Europe, EU can hardly make up its mind on anything and has been stagnating for the last 2 decades.
PS: No point talking about Pakistan as its irrelevant at this stage except for some Pakistanis caught in terror plots against the west on a monthly basis.

India works by sponsoring Indians who are in a sizable quantity in both Liberal and Conservative party.
If the members of Liberal and conservative parties are found colluding with modi and India, they should be banned.

Without evidence as usual Canada throwing allegations. I am sure I have seen this before.

Canada is blaming every country out there, shows how weak they think they are to let every country interfere in their elections.
Yup Russia China US India (lol) except Israel apparently every other .

There was an article few years ago on how Canada shows up at every conference with an attitude “We are better than you and you go to do better” but that whole approach has now been called out by multiple countries.

every country interferes and tries to influence in ally/enemy elections to some extent. Unnecessarily putting a spotlight on this uncomfortable reality makes life for Canadian diplomats increasingly difficult.
Canada is tussling with China, Russia, India and US in one go. bacha kya .. Europe, EU can hardly make up its mind on anything and has been stagnating for the last 2 decades.
PS: No point talking about Pakistan as its irrelevant at this stage except for some Pakistanis caught in terror plots against the west on a monthly basis.
Don’t forget Saudi and Iran , Canada has big issues with them too esp Saudi.

Donald Trump's tariffs may lead to an unintended effect: A reset of India-Canada ties

Amid Donald Trump's tariff threats, both India and Canada are now taking steps to cool an escalation of diplomatic tensions that erupted in recent years. According to a Bloomberg report, both New Delhi and Ottawa are considering sending back envoys following ***-for-tat expulsions last year. Last October, India expelled six Canadian diplomats after withdrawing its high commissioner, after the envoy was labelled as ‘person of interest’ in the Canadian authorities' probe into the killing of Khalistan terrorist Hardeep Singh Nijjar in June 2023.

A meeting between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Canadian counterpart Mark Carney on the sidelines of the Group of Seven summit in Alberta in June cannot be ruled out, the report added. India is an observer to the G-7.

2023: Canada-India tensions escalate
In September 2023, then Canadian prime minister Justin Trudeau claimed there were “credible allegations of a potential link” between Indian government agents and the killing of Nijjar, who was gunned down in Surrey town on June 18 that year. India rejected the allegations as “absurd and motivated”.

A Canadian official told Bloomberg that the North American country has been seeking “better ties” with New Delhi for months, “contingent on respect for Canada’s laws, and the approach has not changed since Trudeau left office.”

The ease in diplomatic tensions comes as both India and Canada are being targeted by US President Donald Trump, with higher tariffs and expect to see jolts to their economies when sweeping duties take effect on April 2.

Many countries are looking to bolster ties with other trading partners to offset the possible slide in US trade.

“What Canada will be looking to do is to diversify our trading relationships with like-minded countries, and there are opportunities to rebuild the relationships with India,” Carney told reporters on March 4, days before he won a race to succeed Trudeau as leader of Canada’s Liberal Party.

On March 21, India's ministry of external affairs said that the downturn in bilateral relations was caused due to the “license” to “extremist and secessionist elements” in Canada.

“The downturn in India-Canada relations was caused by the license that was given to the extremist and secessionist elements in the country. Our hope is that we can rebuild our ties based on mutual trust and sensitivity,” ANI quoted ministry of external affairs spokesperson Randhir Jaiswal as saying.

Source: Hindustan Times

But why the Canadian starting to tilt more towards Pakistan....Just a case in point

Canada should wisen up and keep India in check. :inti

Under chaiwala Modi's shortsighted leadership, India have turned into a rogue state.

Canada should wisen up and keep India in check. :inti

Under chaiwala Modi's shortsighted leadership, India have turned into a rogue state.

Need to tighten the borders fast, Standard parasitism for years

I saw an article where they also blamed Pakistan and Iran! At a time when Trump is directly threatening to take them over why are they pointing the finger at the rest of the world.

Canada was the Bastian of liberal and progressive ideas but to show that they are different from America, they went overboard and the last 2 decades is continuous decline in almost every sphere is evident. Even Pakistan, with all its turmoil, has had better growth than Canada in this century.

Annexation is unlikely. It is not that easy. :inti

Trump says many things but he can't do as he pleases. There are checks and balances.

He may play with tariffs. That's about it. Canada can also do the same which can hurt American workers.

He shared his opinion on this article, and you are free to share yours without overreacting to the title or blaming the messenger. Relax, this isn't BBC News. Some of you get triggered a little too easily just from reading thread titles. :inti

Basically everyone is out there to get Canada and only Trudeau's liberal party can save the frozen lands of KaanayDDa.

So vote liberals again so they can further destroy Canada by importing specific groups of people who in the future will vote for them.

He shared his opinion on this article, and you are free to share yours without overreacting to the title or blaming the messenger. Relax, this isn't BBC News. Some of you get triggered a little too easily just from reading thread titles. :inti
His opinion is skewed and biased. And a opinion needs to be called out.

Let it be.. Canada is a faltering state these days. They are getting bashed up by Trump & they will soon need to start fund their own military (which will probably end the funding for all their famed social schemes). And even before all of this there is a huge inflation & housing crisis there, with a very low salary base compared to US. Hence the ruling party is looking for scapegoats in the election year, to hide their own incompetence.

The housing crisis in Canada is man made, and it is already correcting itself, and will continue to do so. The same applies to the rent crisis.

It's not just Canada that is struggling, the US is also faltering, and this decline is likely to accelerate under Trump's administration.

The ruling party in Canada is being forced to respond, as they did not initiate the crisis with the US.

Just last month, in February, there was a decline of half a million Canadian tourists traveling to the US. This has pushed the tourism industry near the border, which heavily relies on Canadian visitors, to the brink of bankruptcy.

In the long run, it is the US that stands to suffer more damage than other Western nations, as those countries will adapt and strengthen alliances with other European nations. Relationships between countries are not purely transactional, there are other factors at play, something the Trump administration seems to overlook.

As for the idea of making Canada the 51st state, it's merely a distraction, and it's working.

The housing crisis in Canada is man made, and it is already correcting itself, and will continue to do so. The same applies to the rent crisis.

It's not just Canada that is struggling, the US is also faltering, and this decline is likely to accelerate under Trump's administration.

The ruling party in Canada is being forced to respond, as they did not initiate the crisis with the US.

Just last month, in February, there was a decline of half a million Canadian tourists traveling to the US. This has pushed the tourism industry near the border, which heavily relies on Canadian visitors, to the brink of bankruptcy.

In the long run, it is the US that stands to suffer more damage than other Western nations, as those countries will adapt and strengthen alliances with other European nations. Relationships between countries are not purely transactional, there are other factors at play, something the Trump administration seems to overlook.

As for the idea of making Canada the 51st state, it's merely a distraction, and it's working.
Let others pay for their own defence. It’s been almost 80 years since the last world war and it’s not fair that American taxpayers have to pay to defend others who are not even on the same continent, while they continue their socialistic policies and badmouth America for it. Europe & Canada should learn to tackle their own mess.