Champions Trophy 2017 - Pakistan announce squad

I feel like our cricket hasn't progressed within the last 5 years. Just as we think that we've finally turned the corner (new prospects coming through, Inzi being quite smart as selector at first, YK/Misbah retiring [I know it's a different format] that states that it's a 'new' Pakistan team) and could possibly comply to modern day cricket, we go back to our timid selves and end up recycling the same crop of players who will ultimately let us down time and time again. I'm usually optimistic about our chances anywhere we go but I can only see Ls coming our way.

Mind boggling that some of these players are selected for CT but not WI ODIs - talk about having a settled XI.

Azhar Ali back: :)))

Junaid Khan selected: :))) :)))

Kamran dropped for Azhar/Shehzad: :))) :))) :))) :)))

No Sohail Khan, No Haris, No Yamin. :salute

INZI the revolutionary. The most pathetic selector we ever had. Wouldn't mind if we lose.

Pick a team to support, folks.

Welcome to support BD ,bro.

on what grounds Hussain Talat deserve a callup? :facepalm: And why you put his name with Haris Sohail and Amir Yamin who actually performed in Pakistan Cup?

We need a hitter and Talat is one of the few we have. Its not just about the Pakistan Cup.

We are going to lose champions trophy any way...lets hope we get rid of azhar ali and hafeez once again after the champions trophy.

Umar Akmal is the only good change he made.

Can whack the bowlers - only hitter in the team. Open your eyes.

I can only laugh at your ignorance. As said by a poster above even Muhammad Sami (the 36 year old pacer) is averaging more with the bat than Umar Akmal in the Pakistan Cup. He is also number SEVENTEEN in the list of highest run getters in the tournament.

My knowledge on the current pakistan team isn't great. From the couple of matches/scorecard i have seen, what's wrong with Hafeez's selection to make you guys go bonkers?

No wonder Inzi the hypocrite didn't do a press conference to announce the squad like he always does. He knew the squad is full of players selected for non-cricketing reasons and he didn't want to face the press.

Absolutely pathetic from a pathetic chief selector

#sackInzi

We need a hitter and Talat is one of the few we have. Its not just about the Pakistan Cup.

Agree.

Badly needed Talat, Umar Akmal, and the likes.

Now we only have Umar. ONLY ONE batsman who can play against the pacers, loool! That too in England, where you have to score 330+ against pacers to be competitive.

Azhar, Malik, Sarfraz, Shehzad will score against the pacers in Inzi's opinion. :srini

My knowledge on the current pakistan team isn't great. From the couple of matches/scorecard i have seen, what's wrong with Hafeez's selection to make you guys go bonkers?

May be strike rate and not have ability to play according to situations.

Nothings good is ever going to happen to our cricket.

We got rid of hafeez in england and many including me thought that he would not be back. But inzi struck back and brought him back in australia where he failed and then as expected performed against the minnow levels windies.

Got rid of azhar in odis.. He failed in australia..just 36 runs in 3 odis. Has an average of 27 in the last year and half but is back to save us again in champions trophy.

I am totally expecting sohail tanvir and shan masood to make the odi squad soon.

Nothing wrong with Hafeez.

He can do very well on flat batting surfaces against pace bowlers. Umar, Hafeez, Talat are the only ones atm who can whack pacers.

Azhar, Shehzad, Malik and Sarf can't.

Nothings good is ever going to happen to our cricket.

We got rid of hafeez in england and many including me thought that he would not be back. But inzi struck back and brought him back in australia where he failed and then as expected performed against the minnow levels windies.

Got rid of azhar in odis.. He failed in australia..just 36 runs in 3 odis. Has an average of 27 in the last year and half but is back to save us again in champions trophy.

I am totally expecting sohail tanvir and shan masood to make the odi squad soon.

Umar Gul may also be expecting to make the next squad.

Yah , why not. Every ttf must be given a thousand chances.. Promising youngsters are ousted after 2 3 failures or no failures (amir yamin) at all citing the reason that they arent good enough.

What's worse is when this guy signed on he made it seem that he was doing Pakistan cricket a huge favour by letting go a lucrative offer from Afghanistan cricket and now that he is here he will completely turn around the side by changing the team composition.

Well fast forward to a year and a half later and most of the team is still the same and TTFs are recycled every series.

#sackInzi

Azhar and Shehzad opening? Followed by Hafeez in the middle order. Did Inzi go to sleep and wake up in the 1980s?

Wait,is this a joke?

Would rather have selected Kami rather than Azhar/Shehzad.He'll hit out or get out.

What has junior done to deserve a comeback?

No Yamin?No Sher Khan?Much better options than Fahim and Junaid.

Inzi the Revolutionary strikes again.

Inzamam is living in the past, those days are gone when pitches were bowling friendly and we used to defend 220-250, infact at that time we had awesome bowlers like Wasim, Waqar and Shoaib Akhtar to defend those low scores, I don't think bowlers like Wahab Riaz and Junaid Khan can defend a score anything less than 300. they will get smashed for 8 per over.

My preferred team would have been:

1. Haris Sohail
2. Fawad Alam
3. Babar Azam
4. Sarfraz
5. Malik
6. Aamir Yamin
7. Shabab Khan
8. Sohail Khan
9. Imad Wasim
10. Amir
11. Hassan Ali

The top 6 batsmen can easliy bat at 100 strike-rate and we bat till 9 where Sohail Khan, Shabab and Imad can act as power-hitters. Secondly, Amir, Hassan and Sohail can form a great trio of our fast bowling ODI unit.

Nothing wrong with Hafeez.

He can do very well on flat batting surfaces against pace bowlers. Umar, Hafeez, Talat are the only ones atm who can whack pacers.

Azhar, Shehzad, Malik and Sarf can't.

Malik can, and so can Sarfaraz. Don't understand your agenda against them.

most pathetic of pathetics by inzzzi... the was just stupid to bring back the stupid akkmal...its like curing cancer but planting tumour in a person.... just stupid... soohail khan should have got the nudge and be in XI in stead of wahabb but no1 has the brains in there....

The biggest blunder is bringing back azhar ali... akmal will either score quick or get out. Azhar will score and score slow. Teams scoring 320 plus for fun and we have guys like shehzad , azhar and hafeez in top 4 who take an eternity to get into double figure.

Say good bye to winning even a single match.

Azhar is clearly selected for his recent form against top bowlers (ENG/AUS) in test last year. As I said in another thread...Sharjeel is gone, Hafeez and Shezad cannot play top bowlers on little testing conditions, FAkhir is hack, Kami experiment did not work out against WI, forget about AUS/ENG in ENG...Who else is left? - Harris, who has not played in 2/3 years. Azhar had played some 1000 delivers at test level in ENG/AUS/NZ just last year as opener(he was best in the world based on those 7/8 test), that is not an stupid selection, you have to see things in context...If Sharjeel was there, he would not have done that!!

Massive, massive difference between tests and ODIs. Funny how you mention his test records in both series but conveniently skip the ODI legs of the same series.

He averaged 36 at 85 Sr in England and a world beating 12 at 56 SR in Australia. Mashallah :14:

lol and failed in the odis right after the test series against australia. Managed 36 in three odis.

Should have done well in those odis if he was that good. Haris performed and so did the new guy sahibzada... Azhar is a tried and tested failure in odis according to modern standards. No team will try to dismiss a player who scores 50 in 80 deliveries when chasing 330 odd.

Massive, massive difference between tests and ODIs. Funny how you mention his test records in both series but conveniently skip the ODI legs of the same series.

He averaged 36 at 85 Sr in England and a world beating 12 at 56 SR in Australia. Mashallah :14:

Again, look at the other options. If wickets are flat Hafeez might play, but under seaming conditions Azhar will be better option... Remember last CT, par score was 230/250, Azhar is only selected to cover for seaming conditions and I don't think that was bad selection under the current circumstance...

Par score was 250 odd because the pitches were spin friendly and not seaming :facepalm:

In most recent times, 90% of matches in England have been very high scoring and 300 was a par score.

lol and failed in the odis right after the test series against australia. Managed 36 in three odis.

Should have done well in those odis if he was that good. Haris performed and so did the new guy sahibzada... Azhar is a tried and tested failure in odis according to modern standards. No team will try to dismiss a player who scores 50 in 80 deliveries when chasing 330 odd.

Its not just Azhar, Shezad and Hafeez are even bigger failure, why they are selected time and again?? - They all three are really poor choices for opener. Then don't selected anyone of them, go with a completely new pair, are they going to do that in an ICC tournament??

Azhar Ali was the really bad decision, all the others were selected by default. Don't know what to make of Fahim but I like the sound of a fresh name, it may have been wise to select a pace bowling A/R though.

Changes I would make at the very least out of all the guys who Inzi has selected; Harris Sohail in for Azhar Ali and Hammad Azam in for Junaid Khan

Azhar Ali was the really bad decision, all the others were selected by default. Don't know what to make of Fahim but I like the sound of a fresh name, it may have been wise to select a pace bowling A/R though.

Changes I would make at the very least out of all the guys who Inzi has selected; Harris Sohail in for Azhar Ali and Hammad Azam in for Junaid Khan

How Ahmed Shehzad is a good decision and Azhar Ali bad, is beyond me.

Its not just Azhar, Shezad and Hafeez are even bigger failure, why they are selected time and again?? - They all three are really poor choices for opener. Then don't selected anyone of them, go with a completely new pair, are they going to do that in an ICC tournament??

You get rid of one at a time but genius inzamam got rid of them all and brought them back one after another. Hafeez in australia .. shehzad in west indies and azhar in champions trophy. They all are failures , shehzad and azhar should not play odis at all as they cant bow as well as hafeezl. its not about an individual though ..its about dragging ourselves back into 90s.. why not take a gamble with a new face..why bring back ttfs after every couple of series with the same results.

Hafeez is the worst choice. I hope Steyn injures him for good there's no way this TTF would leave otherwise. He has no shame in getting embarrassed again and again. Umar Akmal another shameless cricketer gets humiliated in ICC tournaments yet has the audacity to boast about his non existent "talent".

Its not like I am fan of Azhar, looks like we Pakistanis are looking for excuses in CT. We will get trashed and our top order is one of the worse in the world right now...Its not just Azhar, in last 2/3 years only Sharjeel and Babar had been good in top order, rest will not enter into any team including Afghanistan, even Shezad (Afghi) is better than all of them... We can complain all we want but there are no good choices, they are all the same.

You get rid of one at a time but genius inzamam got rid of them all and brought them back one after another. Hafeez in australia .. shehzad in west indies and azhar in champions trophy. They all are failures , shehzad and azhar should not play odis at all as they cant bow as well as hafeezl. its not about an individual though ..its about dragging ourselves back into 90s.. why not take a gamble with a new face..why bring back ttfs after every couple of series with the same results.

Exactly. Playing TTFs has led us to the bottom of rankings. No lesson learned.

I said that the rest were going to be selected by default and expected so Azhar was the real big howler, did you seriously think that there was a chance Shehzad would be dropped when he has just been recalled recently?

Ok 2 questions for AA selection

On what basis and why was he dropped in the first place for WI
Now has he improved or rectified that to gain a recall.

I actually wasn't happy when he was swapped for Ahmed shehzad who offer a little less than what AA can do for the WI series.

Next is wahab riaz. Just look at his bowling performance in the last 2 years and especially in the last 12 months. Why is he selected ahead of other deserving bowlers.

UA dropped for fitness, now they say he passed the test. So for certain players passing the fitness test is enough to get a place in the squad but for others have to show their performance in the field even then will be ignored on a family quota system.

I do like inzi a lot and backed all his selections initially which were fairly decent enough. Now I feel like is he hands tied or simply just another Iqbal or Rasheed.

I said that the rest were going to be selected by default and expected so Azhar was the real big howler, did you seriously think that there was a chance Shehzad would be dropped when he has just been recalled recently?

How is Shehzad a lock? Akmal and Him averaged the same and Akmal scored at a higher strike rate.

Honestly speaking, inzi bhai has done a pretty good job. Yes true that he has brought back some of the ttf but meantime he has blooded young guns shadab babar hasan and a few others yet to get a chance. He has selected the best possible. We cant risk playing players like s.farhan and the rest who are performing well in the pakistan cup but surely they will get their chance soon.

Should go with this line up and higher possibility of this being the final XI

Azhar ali
Ahmed shehzad
Babar azam
Moh Hafeez
Shoaib malik
Umar akmal
Sarfaz ahmed
Shadab khan/fahim ashraf
Wahab riaz/hasan ali
Moh Aamer
Junaid khan

Easy to pick the playing xi at least for the first few matches. Good looks on paper but should make it count during the matches. We got this boys!!!!

Only Shadab Khan can save Pakistan in CT with his legendary googly or miracle performances. :(

How is Shehzad a lock? Akmal and Him averaged the same and Akmal scored at a higher strike rate.

He had just been recalled so why would they drop him after 1 series? Akmal was also a big liability in the field

Meritorious selections and playing with talented newbies who can play the modern game won a CWC back in 1992 and the same happened in 1999 where the team reached the finals and was a favourite to win the tittle in the group stages.

Playing newbies or relatively new in any tournament is not an excuse. Australia will open with travis head and India might open with kl Rahul. Also expecting Sam billings to open for England.

Kamran Akmal was a liability in the field, too big a risk which is why Shehzad got the nod instead of him

two guys average 20 odd and we are spending time justifying why one of them deserved to stay. Pakistan's cricket is really at its nadir.

But...for five years I had to listen to certain PPers ranting and raving about how Misbah, with his complete command over selection (obviously evidence was ever given for this claim), was the reason why the same players kept being selected for the ODI squad. Misbah hates youngsters, Misbah hasn't developed a team, all of that rubbish.

Where are they all now and what's the new excuse?

Meritorious selections and playing with talented newbies who can play the modern game won a CWC back in 1992 and the same happened in 1999 where the team reached the finals and was a favourite to win the tittle in the group stages.

Playing newbies or relatively new in any tournament is not an excuse. Australia will open with travis head and India might open with kl Rahul. Also expecting Sam billings to open for England.

I believe Pakistan might be the only team that will feature a squad with players who made their debut last century.

two guys average 20 odd and we are spending time justifying why one of them deserved to stay. Pakistan's cricket is really at its nadir.

No justification, but reason for the selection of shehzad is being provided from the selectors point of view, you tell me what is the logic behind bringing a guy back only to drop him after 1 series or preferring Kami ahead of shehzad despite his poor fielding skills? Now what you ought to really be whining about is Shehzad and Kamran being selected for the WI's tour ; that makes a lot more sense, I find your surprise at the selection of Shehzad shocking, how long have you been watching cricket?

While I disagree with a number of selections I don't think we stand a chance regardless of who we pick. Most of the players we have are pretty much similar in talent and ability. However, weight must be given to domestic performance and recent form. Instead Inzamam has gone for experience in the form of ttfs and perhaps acceded to the demands of the team management and external influences.

I don't disagree completely with the selection of Azhar like others here. The suspension of Sharjeel and Latif has left us with few options in the opening department and the lack of quality alternatives means the only other option is to try a makeshift opener or induct someone totally new. Although I agree that Azhar should not have been dropped if they planned to play him in CT, or dropped altogether. But both Inzamam and the team management (Sarfaraz and Mickey) are too conservative to go that way. Azhar imo is better than Shahzad in that he at least tries to play aggressively and selflessly (has a better SR than Shahzad) and has a more sensible head on his shoulders. I think Kamran was unlucky to be dropped instead of Shahzad. Also Haris could've been picked instead of Azhar or Umar but again I don't see it as a big change.

Bowling though is where Inzi has made the real blunders. Faheem is just not good enough. He hasn't performed in PC, wasn't given a chance on tour and most probably will come back from the CT without a game. Yamin on the other hand could have been very useful. Similarly Junaid over Sohail is ludicrous to say the least.

Azhar Ali
Ahmed shahzad
Shoaib malik
M. Hafeez

Padosi Bros Champions trophy is an ODI series.Thank you.

P.S: Only Asad is missing.

Sam and Rahul are not exactly new, they have been playing for respective country for 2 years right now, not to mention in IPL,BBL,PSL(Sam)...How can this be compare to guys we have like Fakir,Talat who have 4/5 match PSL experience?? - It took Pakistan 12-16 months to develop Sharjeel and Babar, we lost one of them, you are not going to get a new guy in 1 series...Wait we did not try any new guy in WI, because WC spot was on the line, think tank went for Safety first...Shadab was tried only because of his man of series success in T20, also he has yet to bat in 5/6 matches he had played, he can bat better than all bowlers we have...

No justification, but reason for the selection of shehzad is being provided from the selectors point of view, you tell me what is the logic behind bringing a guy back only to drop him after 1 series or preferring Kami ahead of shehzad despite his poor fielding skills? Now what you ought to really be whining about is Shehzad and Kamran being selected for the WI's tour ; that makes a lot more sense, I find your surprise at the selection of Shehzad shocking, how long have you been watching cricket?

I was against the recall of both for windies.

agree with you. Azhar Ali is a bad selection considering the modern dynamics of ODI cricket. But Ahmed Shehzad is an even worst selection. Sharjeel is badly missing in this team.

But...for five years I had to listen to certain PPers ranting and raving about how Misbah, with his complete command over selection (obviously evidence was ever given for this claim), was the reason why the same players kept being selected for the ODI squad. Misbah hates youngsters, Misbah hasn't developed a team, all of that rubbish.

Start a thread, slay em all. :najam

I was against the recall of both for windies.

Am not saying that am in support of either of their selections in this instance but when I saw the squad was not surprised to see Shehzad's name

Till I opened this post, I still had faith in Inzi, that maybe he was weeding out the TTF'S by these bilaterals, and that the CT was in mind. However, I'm utterly disappointed and us having a bad showing at the CT (no way were we winning) would be more beneficial in the long run, THAT'S how bad this selection is.

Why do you have to make everything about Misbah, all we are concerned about here is TEAM PAKISTAN. Go away with your fandom of individuals :mv

Start supporting the team rather than individuals.

By the way, It was recently Misbah on media who said why is Azhar Ali dropped despite average of 39 in ODIs?

Also he was the one who recommended him to be captain in this day and age. Misbah is the culprit for alot of our problems, Now TTFs will look forward to bully youngsters even more due to this poor benchmark set by Misbah of retiring in 40s.

I can believe my eyes. Actually i saw that the various inzi threads have been bumped so i thought he must have done a good job but this is beyond belief. How can anyone select such a squad? Such pathetic squad. Based on what? Whats the reasoning behind selection of such players?

On what basis has azhar ali been selected? I mean has he shown anythinh at any level since the time he was dropped to be selected again?

On what basis is umar akmal picked again? Did he lose all his weight in half a month? Did he show anything in the Pakistan cup?

Whats the obsession with Fahim? Why not yamin who is a proven performer?

Its very very hard to support these players. Inzi needs to be sacked. Looks like he has no clue.

I can believe my eyes. Actually i saw that the various inzi threads have been bumped so i thought he must have done a good job but this is beyond belief. How can anyone select such a squad? Such pathetic squad. Based on what? Whats the reasoning behind selection of such players?

On what basis has azhar ali been selected? I mean has he shown anythinh at any level since the time he was dropped to be selected again?

On what basis is umar akmal picked again? Did he lose all his weight in half a month? Did he show anything in the Pakistan cup?

Whats the obsession with Fahim? Why not yamin who is a proven performer?

Its very very hard to support these players. Inzi needs to be sacked. Looks like he has no clue.

Inzi nai Akmal ke paani main dum darood kardia hai.

Aab woh paani peenay so mota nahi hoga to iss liyay fitness wale sab masle khatam.

Why do you have to make everything about Misbah, all we are concerned about here is TEAM PAKISTAN. Go away with your fandom of individuals :mv

Because for five years Misbah was the root cause of all of Pakistan cricket's ills, so I'm just wondering why nothing has changed?

Where are all the youngsters that Misbah was keeping out of the team? How come all of the TTFs that were only in the team because of Misbah's influence keep getting recycled two years after he retired from the ODI team?

People spent five years crapping all over Misbah and suddenly now is the time to stop talking about individuals? :))

Because for five years Misbah was the root cause of all of Pakistan cricket's ills, so I'm just wondering why nothing has changed?

Where are all the youngsters that Misbah was keeping out of the team? How come all of the TTFs that were only in the team because of Misbah's influence keep getting recycled two years after he retired from the ODI team?

People spent five years crapping all over Misbah and suddenly now is the time to stop talking about individuals? :))

I like Misbah and am calling you out for your inappropriate posts, stop giving us real Misbah fans a bad name. Support the TEAM.