Controversially Yours by Shoaib Akhtar

Our bowlers utilize their credentials to best.Atleast,they're not brats & full of controversies & they don't point finger at others to hide their own short-comings.Akhtar,being so talented,was of no use when required the most (World Cup). :akhtar

Are you saying that you'll take Sreeshant over Shoaib Akhtar ?
Duh. :facepalm:

Shoaib wins in every context.

If the context is cricket you'll chose Shoaib, if the context is to beat up a team-mate instead of receiving a beating, you'll chose Shoaib etc etc.

Indeed, 8-0 testifies to that perfectly. We would rather have brats full of controversies as opposed to bowlers who utilize their credentials to the best and still lose 8-0.

Our bowlers won World Cup for us,with whatever talent they have.:misbah
Endland loss was due to injured players.
You can keep your brats with you,as they are not even allowed to play for their country. :akhtar:afridi:butt:amir::asif

:yk

What shortcomings? Akthar on his day for too hot to handle for Teenda and any other Indian batsmen. . Akhtar himself in the book has stated he worked them over.

You called him a small time bowler so name one Indian pacer who is big time bowler?

I never gloated we have big time bowlers.:D

Are you saying that you'll take Sreeshant over Shoaib Akhtar ?
Duh.

Atleast,he is available to play.:yk
:akhtar retired long before actually retiring because of his behavior.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/aYEVKV_gO1Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Watch this Interview people...He clarified many things!!

Atleast,he is available to play.:yk
:akhtar retired long before actually retiring because of his behavior.

He played +200 intl. matches. :facepalm:
Talking about longevity seems to be an Indian thing I've remarked.
:kapil

He played +200 intl. matches. :facepalm:
Talking about longevity seems to be an Indian thing I've remarked.
:kapil

What's the use? Did he contribute in a World Cup win:akhtar?
He was not even playing in the SF :Mohali.

Let me sum it up,he was a very talented bowler,whose full potential was not utilized at right times because of his bad habits. :P

phew....

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/aYEVKV_gO1Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Good stuff.

Clarified things very well.

I think his best point was the fact that people are making comments without even reading a page of his book.

Love Shoaib Akhtar.. No surprice here that we have a match fixing gang in Pakistani cricket team..Shoaib Akhtar is a character , but one should understand he had it tufff..

What's the use? Did he contribute in a World Cup win:akhtar?
He was not even playing in the SF :Mohali.

Let me sum it up,he was a very talented bowler,whose full potential was not utilized at right times because of his bad habits. :P

phew....

Well, SRT too had to put half of his lifetime before winning a WC, and he's supposed to be the alpha & omega of cricket.

I just think that you can't say that Shoaib Akhtar was of no use.

Shoaib Akhtar was one bowler which made human being think anything impossible. Is there any bowler in your mind ?? U have Lee and Tait.. but when Shoaib Akhtar was running it was amazing......

Wonder is he going to do any book signing in UK or any other countries ? I am not sure is he booked to do any book signings in India? Its been only 2 or 3 days.

haha been watching India channels they are crying like babies.. 'akhter ko mafi maangni caahiye agar apni khair cahta hai to'

'sachin ka apmaan hum bardhaast nahi kar sakta'

'shoaib ne sasti shurat ke liye sachin ko badnaam kia'

'shoaib sacin ke 5% (duno what it was:P) bhi nahi'

Shoaib Akhtar was one bowler which made human being think anything impossible. Is there any bowler in your mind ?? U have Lee and Tait.. but when Shoaib Akhtar was running it was amazing......

what does that even mean? sure you mean anything is possible or nothing was impossible :facepalm:

look at these mo.fos from 10:15 onwards

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ENi76A6gpTs?version=3"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ENi76A6gpTs?version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

haha been watching India channels they are crying like babies.. 'akhter ko mafi maangni caahiye agar apni khair cahta hai to'

'sachin ka apmaan hum bardhaast nahi kar sakta'

'shoaib ne sasti shurat ke liye sachin ko badnaam kia'

'shoaib sacin ke 5% (duno what it was:P) bhi nahi'

and he gave a fitting reply in his latest interview (already posted) :-

Sachin might be your Bhagwaan, So if you want to worship him then do so, But he is not my God :akhtar

So Sehwag says 'no comment' and they drag out a 4-5min report about it? :)))

Gotta love Indian media. :nasser :facepalm:

loved his comment about match fixers. Really, it is quite ironic how players continue playing for the team without quashing their match-fixing allegations. It must be uncomfortable for players coming in to share a dressing room with ... questionable characters.

LOL @ Malik ... there is only one Shoaib :akhtar:akhtar:akhtar

Well, SRT too had to put half of his lifetime before winning a WC, and he's supposed to be the alpha & omega of cricket.

I just think that you can't say that Shoaib Akhtar was of no use.

:facepalm:When did I say Shoaib was useless?I meant what's the use of talent,if you don't contribute in the biggest cricketing event.
Sachin has always contributed in World Cups.He was never out of the team because of misbehavior.

Akher,aap bahut argue karte ho.:P

this interview reminds of a poem I found few years ago,

In this world there are many Shoaibs,
But im the one who attracts the babes.

You know me, I’ve just got a unique style,
Which’ll beat anyone out their by a mile.

My attitude, aggression and my passion,
All show my game in a different fashion.

I take off in the way of a jet plane,
And leave nothing for the batsmen but pain.

Being the one and only to bowl at such pace,
My heroics include smashing Gary Kirsten’s face.

But we get to real serious business when I cross the border,
With fiery bouncers & toe-crushing Yorkers, I rip through their order.

Bowling over 100 miles per hour,
Making the opponents day turn sour.

When I’m out there it’s my show and all about me,
Some criticise me, because I’m the kind they can neva be

Dravid, Hayden, Tendulkar, their all on my victims list,
Another mach-winning bowler of my calibre, won’t ever exist.

I play my own way, dump Inzy’s plan,
Giving it my all for my nation, Pakistan.

A big thanks to my fans, I love you all,
It’s because of your support that I stand tall.

A piece of advice for my haters, media & press,
“Never mess with the Rawalpindi Express”

:akhtar:akhtar

@emclub - 'larki se' kya matlab hai,kahiye kisi se bhi argue mat karo.:23:

@Akher - Good.:D

NCP, Shiv Sena lock horns over Akhtar controversy

MUMBAI: Worried that the Sharad Pawar-led NCP may steal a march over the Shiv Sena in connection with Shoaib Akhtar's autobiography which reportedly contains controversial remarks about Sachin Tendulkar, Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray asked Dilip Vengsarkar to keep away from the book release function.

Akthar's autobiography was to be released at a function in Mumbai on Saturday. However, the event was cancelled even as the 'Rawalpindi Express' gave interviews to the electronic media about the book.

Akhtar has lashed out against his own team members in the book and is understood to have made remarks about the Indian batting master, who he claimed was afraid of his bowling as the delivery speed was over 150 kph. Uddhav is believed to have sent instructions to Vengsarkar to keep away from the controversial cricketer as

Akhtar's remarks against Tendulkar have triggered a global backlash. Former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram has ridiculed the remarks and said it was an attempt to market his book before its official release on Sunday.

The Sena was wary of the NCP's intervention in the issue, as NCP MLA and chief of the party's Thane unit Jitendra Awhad on Sunday declared that they would oppose the book launch. With the situation taking a political turn, Thackeray is understood to have sent instructions to Vengsarkar to stay away from the book release event.

Vengsarkar has assured Matoshree that if Akthar's autobiography does contain controversial remarks about Tendulkar, he would not attend the release function.

Vengsarkar had contested the Mumbai Cricket Academy (MCA) elections recently with the Sena backing his candidature. He, however, lost to Union minister and Congress leader Vilasrao Deshmukh.

Meanwhile, angry protests against Akhtar echoed in Thane on Sunday after NCP activists attempted to burn his effigy before the civic headquarters, , NCP functionary Manoj Pradhan and Amit Sarayya led the mob who gave throaty slogans against Akhtar for his controversial remarks against Tendulkar.

An effigy of Akhtar was to be torched on the streets by the protestors, before the local police snatched it away. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...r-Akhtar-controversy/articleshow/10119966.cms

Our media is really ripping Akhtar left, right and center to the point that from the interview it seems Akhtar already regrets turning his back to his country and deciding to launch his book in India. This media smack down has left a psychological scar on Akhtar that I don't think he will be able to shake off easily. Shame on our media for bullying the poor man.

He isn't regretting anything, guessing you miss the interview up top? "It will be below my dignity to reply to Tendulkar's comments". :)))

Our media is really ripping Akhtar left, right and center to the point that from the interview it seems Akhtar already regrets turning his back to his country and deciding to launch his book in India. This media smack down has left a psychological scar on Akhtar that I don't think he will be able to shake off easily. Shame on our media for bullying the poor man.

I would die too if I had to face the mighty Indian media and its worldwide appreciated English accent, not mentioned its for-under-two-digits-IQ circus 'shows'... :sachin

...die of laughter, that is. :akhtar

lol BT, you've got it all wrong. Shaking off what? these masala news bites? they are not worth a dime

Akhtar is enjoying everything that is coming his way, he loves the attention you know :16:

More like the media is bickering over nothing – thus providing him with what he wanted – free publicity. He’s making a full use of the sensitive Indian populace regarding a certain player.
Seriously, no other country would’ve given so much attention to this book. Brilliant move to release it in India.

I knew the media will also try to spice a few thing up, that's why I'm waiting to read it myself before properly discussing about the so called 'revelations'.

Heres a montage I made for :akhtar back in 2006 when i was 14 (as the quality of this vid pobably gives away :P)
I found it randomly going through files on my old PC and my fae bit is the very lat clip :sachin
After seeing that I had to post it up :P

PS. Oh and I also rembd that I got the idea of the video and the name of the video from a old PP banner :yk

[utube]14ddJFyDP7I[/utube]

No further words for this statement :misbah

this has been a master stroke by shoaib, a pakistani launch would have been gone down like a lead balloon given that the public is used to cricketers talking trash about former teams mates and the board, no doubt about it, but by riling the indian media, who just love a s**t storm with a pakistani involved, not only has he got noticed in india, but in pakistan too.

well done shoaib i hope he makes a tonne of money from the book, cos the pre-launch hype has been pretty impressive.

regardless of all his misgivings he put rawalpindi on the map, and ill always appreciate him for that.

Anybody knows when the book is going to be out in north america?

All I can say is, this man knows how to market himself and his book.

His marketing team will be darn proud at the received attention.

Amazing, amazing interview posted above. Clarifies pretty much everything. Watch it, it's 25 minutes long, but worth each and every second of it.

bhogleharsha Harsha Bhogle

disappointing that the bcci should ask for an apology from shoaib. it's a free world and people are entitled to their point of view.

you can disagree with shoaib but to seek to gag him and cancel venues for his launch is further proof of our growing intolerance.

shoaib is not a saint, indeed he's done some fairly disagreeable things, but he's entitled to a point of view.

i must confess i am a little concerned by this great urge to be offended; we almost seem to wait for it. it's not a sign of a proud culture

I would die too if I had to face the mighty Indian media and its worldwide appreciated English accent, not mentioned its for-under-two-digits-IQ circus 'shows'... :sachin

...die of laughter, that is. :akhtar

how Indian accent is different from a typical Pakisthani accent ??:87:

Nice interview, and he clarified almost everything except :afridi and :asif fiasco
1) Akhtar hates :ibutt to the core
2) says :sachin was scared of pulling him bcoz of tennis elbow
3) when sachin scores against pakisthan mostly the team loses
4) never said sachin is not a macth winner ( but not against pakisthan )
5) wasim is the most unpopular
6) indian bowlers doesnt have attitude to bowl fast so that they can extend their carriers

Indian media is overreacting as usual

Seems like you can only order from India, so went ahead and got it through uread.com if anyone's interested. They ship internationally and you can use Paypal. win. (cost is around 15 euros including shipping).

Just got my copy :akhtar

Mighty impressive, ordered on Friday, shipped Saturday and got it today, UPS ftw.

Looks class, really like the photos in the middle. Just need to find time to read it now. :)

Mighty impressive, ordered on Friday, shipped Saturday and got it today, UPS ftw.

Looks class, really like the photos in the middle. Just need to find time to read it now. :)

Link? :akhtar

Just got my tracking number, called the delivery guy and said he's hopefully delivering it by tonight :D

The BCCI like demanding these apologies don't they? First Nasser now Shoaib. Unfortunately for them, these guys are now ex-cricketers & can say whatever they like! :D

Ok, Liberty books say that its gonna be released in October. Looks like a couple of weeks of waiting time.

Ordered at the same time I think, so should get it soon too. :junaid

You're at home? The UPS guy might drop by soon.

Anyhow, I'm off to Uni. Will post later when I get to the 'spicy' details. :))

Yep, at home, and I ordered it directly when you posted the link.

Reminding me that I should go to the Uni too, btw. :yk

Just got my copy! Looks like a brilliant book, going to start reading it from tonight :D

Ok, Liberty books say that its gonna be released in October. Looks like a couple of weeks of waiting time.

Dude, you're the biggest Akhtar fan I know, order it now from anywhere you can, online! I'd expect you to be the first one to finish reading this, out of anybody else :D

Our bowlers utilize their credentials to best.Atleast,they're not brats & full of controversies & they don't point finger at others to hide their own short-comings.Akhtar,being so talented,was of no use when required the most (World Cup). :akhtar

This is just my opinion.:yk
Its a shame their best is as good as any galli-mohalla fast bowler in Pakistan. The best you can produce is an over-rated trundling hack like Zaheer Khan, and you have the audacity to call Shoaib 'small time'

But thats just my opinion; you are entitled to yours :)

This is an interesting read re the situation:

Sachin Tendulkar is being used once again. This time by political loudmouths so keen on protecting his good name that they think nothing of throwing dirt on the fair name of our democratic country. 'Thou Shalt Not Criticise Sachin' has, especially in recent years, become a commandment that is at once silly and embarrassing. The cancellation of the book release of Shoaib Akhtar's 'Controversially Yours' because he criticised Mumbai's favourite son should make us all hang our heads in shame.

It began with Rajiv Shukla, Vice President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India demanding an apology from Shoaib for suggesting Sachin didn't enjoy playing him. I haven't read the book, but if media reports are to be believed (just because it is on television, it doesn't mean it isn't true), then Shoaib has called into question Sachin's match-winning abilities and said that on one occasion, Sachin rather than play the ball simply moved away from the line.

To me these sound like the desperate attempts by an immature person to get back at Sachin for the treatment the batsman meted out to him especially at the 2003 World Cup, and a pathetic attempt to sell the book. By pouncing on these irrelevancies, the cricket Board, the National Congress Party and the Shiv Sena, each more loyal than the king, have done Sachin a great disservice. They have lent credibility and seriousness to frivolity. Shoaib Akhtar will laugh all the way to the bank.

Sachin does not need the Rajiv Shuklas of the world to defend him; if anything, such a move is counter-productive. He does not need political parties to use him to score cheap points with the voting public. Politicians should have taken a pointer from Sachin's dignified response when the story broke. His response was lack of response and the suggestion that it was not worthy of a response.
Sadly, this is not about Sachin. It is not even about the climate of intolerance which seems to be built into our system by the defenders of the indefensible (although that is an important element too). It is about the new political discourse - dragging in art, sport, entertainment, culture into the ambit of the one great perceived cause. Nationalism. Thus, to criticise Sachin is anti-national; to appreciate the works of M F Husain is anti-national; to watch a movie which deals with reservation in educational institutions is anti-national.

Politicians say, refining Frank Sinatra further, 'It is my way or my way.' There is no choice, no other sieve through which anything can be filtered.
The Sachin story is made to order for politicians. A good Brahmin boy with an international reputation versus a wild Muslim boy from Pakistan. There are so many layers - good vs evil, India vs Pakistan, wholesome vs tarnished, us vs them, our icon vs your bad boy, blameless career vs career full of off-field shenanigans and much more.

The question is not whether Shoaib is right or wrong. Either way he is entitled to express his opinion. It is unlikely that many of those calling for his head now have even heard of Voltaire, but it has become a cliche to quote him in such situations: 'I do not agree with what you say, but I shall defend to the death your right to say it'.
The self-appointed Upholders of National Integrity consistently fail to recognise that they usually cause great harm to the person or institution they are trying to protect with such excessive zeal.
A politician who has taken credit for browbeating the prestigious CCI into cancelling the event said, "Sachin is the God of cricket, and I, being a cricket fan, organised the protest. I also called upon the CCI to prevent their venue from becoming a platform for a book that criticises Sachin."

The Shiv Sena man has said, "(The book) will hurt the sentiments of all our countrymen."
It would have been possible to sympathise with the CCI who might have decided to cancel the show calculating that discretion is the better part of valour, but its president has been reported as saying, "We do not want to sully the association we have with Tendulkar." So it is about protecting Sachin's fair name, after all.

If a throwaway line by a sportsman is expected to hurt the sentiments of all our countrymen - a significant portion of whom live below the poverty line - it does not speak well of the country. And who gave these windbags the right to speak on our behalf anyway? Our culture needs to be protected from them, not by them.

http://cricketnext.in.com/blogs/sureshmenon/2968/62739/doing-sachin-a-disservice.html

Dude, you're the biggest Akhtar fan I know, order it now from anywhere you can, online! I'd expect you to be the first one to finish reading this, out of anybody else :D

Thats what i did, i paid even slightly above Market price to get this book asap.

The author is a Sachinista. He barks on how a nation shouldn't be affected by one liners and one's opinions, but then writes this:

To me these sound like the desperate attempts by an immature person to get back at Sachin for the treatment the batsman meted out to him especially at the 2003 World Cup, and a pathetic attempt to sell the book.

He's probably right though. It's this 'God of cricket' stuff that annoys me. Who is anyone to claim that a cricket player is a 'god'

Maybe i should claim that James Anderson is the 'god' of cricket. After all he's owned Sachin in test cricket more than any other bowler in history.

but akhtar was yards quicker than all these kids
his record of 100.2mph n 161.3kph is yet to be break
all these kids failed to break akhtars fastest delivery record

in the near future if any one can break it
it could be only vinay kumar or praveen kumar no one else
the way both these dude unleashed their thunder bolts of 120 kph
they got a great chance to break akhtars record

Just to add these kids were bought up on Bouncy tracks that gives an advantage, Shoaib never had. Flat and docile piths he was conditioned in.

Lol at how india media have been hit by this shoaib bouncer Hes gonna be minted after all this hoo ha!! :)

how Indian accent is different from a typical Pakisthani accent ??:87:

Not gonna lie the Indian English accent that you see on the news and tv shows is extremely annoying...they have their own style and tone of speaking English. Dont see it as much when you watch Pakistani shows when they speak in English. For instance, the letter "T" is overemphasized when Indian television speakers talk (not all but a good many).

a significant portion of whom live below the poverty line

Yeah, according to that article it was a leading Indian politician who said it though. :(

Luckily for us, any politician over here that mentions anything remotely religious gets laughed out of parliament.

So despite SA's comments having been clarified, the second opening of the book has been cancelled.

What followed, despite his clarification, was a verbal volley from not just former and present cricketers but political parties in Maharashtra as well. While Shiv Sena and the Nationalist Congress Party jostled to take the credit for cancelling the book-launch in Mumbai, the likes of Navjot Singh Sidhu and Wasim Akram chose to term Shoaib's comments as a publicity stunt from a problematic cricketer.

India peppered with Shoaib's verbal bouncers!

Superb stuff! :)

More to Shoaib than just controversies

Priyanka Kumar Priyanka Kumar | Cricketnext.com

Posted on Sep 26, 2011 at 06:35pm IST

New Delhi: "Given a chance, I'd like to be the man who lived quietly, never involved in any controversy."

Somehow, it's hard to believe Shoaib Akhtar meant these words. After all, this is a man whose controversies have always overshadowed and easily outnumbered his achievements on the field throughout his career. Ball-tampering, suspect action, beating up a teammate, doping allegations, indiscipline, spats – Shoaib has seen it all!

The latest storm has been caused by the former Pakistan pacer's just-released autobiography, aptly titled 'Controversially Yours'. Akhtar and his book hit the headlines even before the official launch, as he allegedly made disparaging remarks about everyone from Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Wasim Akram and even Shah Rukh Khan.

As the furore over his comments refuses to die down – the latest, his book launch event in Mumbai has now been cancelled, Akhtar once again finds himself in the news, something he himself acknowledges has been a habitual part of his life.

Yet, at the function to launch his book in Delhi on Friday, the man in the eye of the storm was unperturbed. "I'm not scared of anyone except God," he said coolly. Either years of experience have taught him how to handle it well, or it was all part of a clever plan to gain publicity for the book. Probably both.

Akhtar, one of the fastest bowlers ever seen, addressed the controversies, of course. He really had no option, with his earlier statements having caused a flutter in the Indian media.

The 36-year-old, though, was in a reconciliatory mood. He bluntly stuck to his claims over ball-tampering and match-fixing – "Players either tamper with the ball or the game." But he retracted most of his other comments, instead imploring all present to read his book and then understand his words in the context in which they had been written.

Despite the obvious sales pitch though, it was a different side of Shoaib Akhtar that was in evidence, as opposed to the errant, aggressive and at times arrogant speedster who troubled many a batsman with his fearsome pace, devastating yorkers and quick bouncers.

This was a Shoaib who was confident yet humble, charming yet frank, interesting and even funny. In an hour-long conversation, he entertained a captivated audience with tales that surprised, amused and touched in equal measure.

Akhtar, who made his debut in 1997, spoke about his constant battles with pain and the lengths he went through to play in spite of his troubled knees. Clearly the ambition was there right from the start, as he related how he rose from his humble background to make it big.

"I was fighting on two fronts," he stated. "I was fighting my own body and I was fighting the people who were telling me I would never be good enough for Pakistan, to replace Waqar (Younis) and Wasim, to get Sachin out, to become a star. But I always knew I would make it."

Shoaib has often been linked with a move to Bollywood, and he displayed his potential to the hilt with dramatic accounts of how he dealt with all the lows in his career. "I would put down the curtains and switch off the lights so that even I couldn't see myself. It was just me in my dark room," he described, recounting how in the days after being banned for chucking and later doping, he was alone in his despair, crying, without food or sleep, before making one of his many comebacks.

The tenacity and single-minded determination was matched by a humane touch, as was evident from the story of the tongawallah in Lahore whom Akhtar went back to thank after he'd achieved fame.

There were plenty of light moments too as Shoaib related several humorous anecdotes, such as the time when he masqueraded as a professor or how he got into an off-field fight with the burly Matthew Hayden.

The quick wit came across even when conversation steered to more serious issues. When asked about the atmosphere in the Pakistan dressing room, Shoaib's instant reply was, "At least Pakistan keep it behind-the-scenes. Your (India's) Harbhajan (Singh) slapped in front of everyone!" When lamenting how the ICC has made the rules too strict, he rued, "Now even if you straighten your hair, you are fined! If we can't bowl bouncers, can't wink, can't give autographs to girls, then what should we do?"

He didn't spare himself either. "I've spent most of my life either in hotels, on the cricket field, or in controversies. Most of my earnings have gone away in fines!" As for why no women are mentioned in the book, he grinned, "I don't kiss and tell."

That's Shoaib Akhtar for you, a colourful character who has entertained as much off the field as on it. It's been an eventful journey in which he has created and then harmed his career on his own doing, achieved success and experienced failure in equal intensity, yet worked hard and fulfilled his dream.

"I've lived every moment and now I have written this book to tell my side of the story. I want people to understand me better, despite all the controversy."

While that is unlikely to ever happen, one can only hope the ‘no-holds barred’ book is as compelling as Shoaib's career has been.

Link: http://cricketnext.in.com/news/more-to-shoaib-than-just-controversies/60397-13.html

Shoaib Akhtar prays in Delhi

Shoaib Akhtar prayed at Nizamuddin dargah this week

It seems that Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Akhtar may have anticipated the controversies surrounding his autobiography before its release earlier this week. The conjecture is based on the fact that before releasing his autobiography in Delhi on Friday, Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Akhtar made a quick stopover at the Nizamuddin dargah in the capital on Thursday night. Sources tell us that Akhtar arrived at the dargah at close to 10 in the night with a few friends.

He spent over an hour at the dargah, first praying to the sufi saint and then chatting with the dargah officials. When we contacted Syed Afsar Ali Nizami, dargah incharge at Nizamuddin, he confirmed that Shoaib had come, and told us, "Shoaib bhai had come to pray to baba before he released his book. He is a very grounded person and was at the dargah till almost 11ish in the night."

Link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...khtar-prays-in-Delhi/articleshow/10128442.cms

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8sqR4ZFFSmc&feature=related

This is the moment Shoaib refers too. I dont see what the problem is. All Akhtar said that Teenda was all at sea against him that day. He was struggling with his tennis elbow problem. He was horribly uncomfortable. Akhtar was steaming in and in full fledged rhythm. Tendulkar didnt glove the ball but he just walked away because he just wasnt up for the fight that day.

That's it. This video is clear. The Indian janta needs to get a life and get over their teenda and dravid.

Shoaib feels the heat of his own inferno [Kamran Abbasi]

You might not know there is a vogue for autobiographies by comedians. Indeed, you might not know Shoaib Akhtar as a comedian but, almost by accident, he has made the world laugh. Shoaib is a rare cricketer from his joint hyperextensions to his neuronal synapses. His career has been a journey of scandal interrupted by infrequent displays of brilliance. He is a captivating character on the field of play and an infuriating personality off it. He might even have been great had the fates and his own failings not wrecked his career trajectory.

Perhaps that is the fiercest motivation behind his autobiography, ‘Controversially Yours’? A rare man damns his own deeds; far more palatable to damn the deeds of others. Shoaib preferred j’accuse to mea culpa.

Shoaib has a point. A more professional cricket board and better team leadership might have guided him more wisely through the scandals that besieged him. The throwing controversy and how it was handled by international umpires and the ICC was not his fault, but much else was. When a man of Bob Woolmer’s consummate loyalty and patience despairs of you, you’d be sensible to look inwards for the source of your problems.
Shoaib hasn’t looked inwards, he has struck out against the world safe in the knowledge that his cricketing career is over. That is his prerogative, to end on a sour note with former teammates and adversaries. If he doesn’t rate Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid higher than Ricky Ponting or Viv Richards then fair enough, plenty of other cricketers would agree with him. Imran Khan, Shoaib’s hero, whose more considered autobiography has just been released doesn’t think Tendulkar comes close to Richards either.

Did Sachin fear Shoaib? Who knows? It was only Pakistan’s madcap fast bowler who stared into the maestro’s eyes in the heat of battle. A personal opinion requires neither reprimand nor apology, as reportedly demanded by the BCCI.

Of the rest, nothing seems particularly new, a rerun of old rivalries, intrigues, and badmashies. Capturing the world according to Shoaib is a worthy effort. He is a difficult man to pin down in a verbal joust. Ask him about Sachin and he’ll tell you about Brian Lara. He will mumble incoherently in English and end with no greater clarity in Urdu. He will use a torrent of words — many in common usage, some of his own invention — in an unpredictable order and manage to say nothing at all.

Shoaib remains an entertainer, a legend in his mind’s eye—simply the best, better than the rest. He deserves respect for some of the incredible spells he produced during a tarnished career. He deserves sympathy for the way his cricket board and a succession of captains found it impossible to mentor him. But his career was left unfulfilled by dint of his own misdemeanours as much as, if not more than, by the malice of his enemies.

One of the fascinations of human existence is that we might all experience the same events but we will interpret them in our own, possibly very different ways. That is the power of autobiography. It is one view, a chance at explaining how you saw it without fear or contrition, and Shoaib saw that the world was against him. He also saw an opportunity to grab the limelight, to diss and tell.

In that moment of mad self-promotion, a moment that the media was happy to help sensationalise, the story of Shoaib Akhtar managed to overshadow the greater history of Imran Khan’s life in cricket and politics, and the lesser landmark of Waqar Younis coaching Pakistan to a whitewash over Zimbabwe in his farewell series. Unfortunately, Shoaib’s achievements take far fewer words to catalogue than his love of controversy. In autobiographies, there is usually no smoke without fire but the heat you feel from the blaze depends on how the central character has read the smoke signals. Shoaib saw an inferno. The marketing team for his publishing house did the rest.

Every man, Shoaib Akhtar included, has a right to make a fool of himself, especially in his autobiography. http://blogs.espncricinfo.com/paksp...b_feels_the_heat_of_his_o.php?cmp=viral_blogs

Shoaib accuses Sachin [Page 2]

Controversy was unleashed later that evening. It was revealed that Shoaib Akhtar's forthcoming autobiography, Sachin and I, claims that in the early part of his career Tendulkar suffered from severe dandruff.

The day ended in controversy thanks to Shoaib Akhtar's soon to be launched autobiography, Sachin and Dravid Suck. But Sachin Sucks More. In it, Akhtar said, he talks about how in the early part of his career Tendulkar routinely refused to return library books. "For instance," Akhtar told an Indian TV channel, "Guns of Navarone."

The day ended in ignominy after a stunning revelation by Shoaib Akhtar. The Pakistani fast bowler's forthcoming autobiography, titled Sachin Is Almost As Bad As Amitabh Bachan and Mahatma Gandhi, is believed to say that at no point in his career was Tendulkar able to quickly say the phrase "Cycle Rally Lorry Rally".

"I remember the Mohali Test in 2005 very clearly," said Akhtar, "where he kept saying Cycle Lally Aila Lally.

"Indian people have a right to know," said an unrepentant Akhtar http://www.espncricinfo.com/page2/content/story/533846.html