Coronavirus in India

Different countries will have different approaches to fighting an epidemic. Indian response is based on its experience and history in handling this.

You just cannot say a few words like social distancing and self isolate yourself, and people do that. It just does not work that way in india where many are uneducated in health matters and are extremely obnoxious in these matters.

There should be a massive awareness drive, but given the shortage of time here, the activities like janta curfew will start raising more awareness about this. In my town people have started to take things seriously now even hearing about it.
Ofcourse it helps in social distancing too, but this is a trial to test indias resilience and will be a precursor for lockdowns in future.

there are reasons to not test everyone. One is limited kits and another is to not waste a kit on person with no travel history, no contact and no obvious symptoms. I don’t think test kits are made for that purpose, and government will be more aware than those self claimed sensible indians.

The awareness about this disease and dangers is lacking not just In india but western countries. People are still flocking in droves to beaches and parties, inspite of being educated.

Every country will face a rude shock if this continues.

India's still doing staggeringly well based on the official numbers, has one of the fewest cases in terms of ratio of population in the world.

they are doing well becoz they arent doing tests on mass scale, also only testing the people with travel history. they arent doing tests for local people, even with symptoms.

Thanks Kaayal.

When will we get the 2nd testing method?

I believe ICMR is advising the govt.

It's safe to say Govt ain't going to take risks in these matters.

What do you think of their strategy?

Obviously they are professionals and experts. They are not idiots.

But then you get tweets like this which is sad:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asked about why India is not testing more, top ICMR official comes up with odd response: more tests may throw up more positive cases, which we may not be able to.. manage?<br><br>🤔 <a href="https://twitter.com/OnReality_Check?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OnReality_Check</a> <a href="https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO">https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO</a></p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1239806166995046406?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Their move STILL has no rational explanation. Plus criticized by experts.

Wow!

This is deliberate negligance which will result in many deaths. Not testing because they will have more positive cases . lol

BJP is keeping it hush for political reasons but when it blows up they will be put to the sword......oh wait, too many RSS extremists will still stand by them.

Etihad Airways on Friday announced suspension of all flights to Indian sectors from March 22 to March 28.

Temporary suspension of services are to New Delhi, Mumbai, Kochi, Kozhikode, Thiruvananthapuram, Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chennai and Hyderabad.

"Due to the spread of the Covid-19 novel coronavirus and its continuing impact on air travel services globally, Etihad Airways continues to follow the UAE and international government and regulatory authority directives and has implemented a series of consolidated network changes. This is also being carried out for the safety and convenience of its customers and staff, and to minimise operational disruption during this period." the airline said in a statement.

Also, other services from Abu Dhabi have been adjusted.

All flights to Moscow suspended from today till end of April. Male service is reduced to daily from March 23 till end of April.
Nur-Sultan (Kazakhstan) is reduced to one per week for this month and all flights suspended for next month. Also, services to Sri Lanka are reduced from twice-daily to daily from March 29 till end of April.

https://www.msn.com/en-ae/news/coro...-flights-to-india/ar-BB11rTrf?ocid=spartandhp

Different countries will have different approaches to fighting an epidemic. Indian response is based on its experience and history in handling this.

You just cannot say a few words like social distancing and self isolate yourself, and people do that. It just does not work that way in india where many are uneducated in health matters and are extremely obnoxious in these matters.

There should be a massive awareness drive, but given the shortage of time here, the activities like janta curfew will start raising more awareness about this. In my town people have started to take things seriously now even hearing about it.
Ofcourse it helps in social distancing too, but this is a trial to test indias resilience and will be a precursor for lockdowns in future.

there are reasons to not test everyone. One is limited kits and another is to not waste a kit on person with no travel history, no contact and no obvious symptoms. I don’t think test kits are made for that purpose, and government will be more aware than those self claimed sensible indians.

The awareness about this disease and dangers is lacking not just In india but western countries. People are still flocking in droves to beaches and parties, inspite of being educated.

Every country will face a rude shock if this continues.

lol.

When it comes to defending the government, all reasons, rationality, understanding, empathy is used.

When looking at cold hard facts given by NONE other than qualified medical professionals, we simply ignore it.

When looking at stats of other countries....no no let's not do that.

Why?

Cos India is a different country so these experts don't understand us. Only our govt (who have an "excellent" track record of all executions) is to be trusted.

Ho gai...Baath katham. :))

And on top of that, people like you have the GALL to mock others who are actually following the news and trying to make sense of it (while understanding the compulsions on both sides).

I have been saying what medical professionals are saying.

Medical Expert Dr T Sundararaman On TOI

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-small-covid-numbers/articleshow/74661955.cms

WHO official

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...fficial-on-india-plan-to-tackle-virus-2196737

Actual ICMR official saying if we test more, we will find more positive cases

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asked about why India is not testing more, top ICMR official comes up with odd response: more tests may throw up more positive cases, which we may not be able to.. manage?<br><br>🤔 <a href="https://twitter.com/OnReality_Check?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OnReality_Check</a> <a href="https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO">https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO</a></p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1239806166995046406?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Isn't the whole purpose of preventing community transmission RELIANT on catching actual positive cases?

Any explanations for that, Oh Great One?

Let us simpletons know what the ICMR official meant.

------

By the way, we have used ONLY 10% of our total kits.

Dr Raman Gangakedhkar of the Indian Council for Medical Research (ICMR) said in the briefing. Medical experts have expressed worry over the low rate of testing, suggesting mass-level aggressive testing, like that by South Korea, could be key to containing the virus. On Wednesday the ICMR said private labs could be roped in to increase testing facilities. India is still in Stage 2 of the outbreak, as per the ICMR.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/on-...-help-break-chain-of-coronavirus-tran-2198030

I don’t think test kits are made for that purpose

Nobody said we have to go and be idiotically wasting test kits on all. But we could have used more than what we have currently used. Why are medical experts ALL over the world talking about it? Why is a doctor here in PP worried too?

Seems like they are idiots.

Only globalcitizen (who THINKS it shouldn't be used that way) is right.

Makes sense.

Govt NOW Opens Up Testing For All

https://www.livemint.com/politics/p...read-accelerates-in-india-11584721321144.html

I guess TODAY is a good day to waste kits but not yesterday or day before yesterday..according to you.

Dailly avoidable deaths in India just due to few accidents is over thousand human life is the least valuable thing in india

Wow!

This is deliberate negligance which will result in many deaths. Not testing because they will have more positive cases . lol

BJP is keeping it hush for political reasons but when it blows up they will be put to the sword......oh wait, too many RSS extremists will still stand by them.

There are 2 issues here:

Containment and testing.

Containment is govt responsibility 100% imho. The govt have had some good moves but let's see if they ban all religious gatherings and try to shut down protests.

Testing is mostly driven by ICMR. I don't think govt would have said NO if ICMR said we should test more.

ICMR is also under compulsion with test kits.

Sadly we used only 2.3% of our capacity till a few days back. Today we used 10% of our capacity and now we have rolled out for all.

Medical experts have said the strategy is risky.

ICMR official admitting that there could be cases so we are not testing is INSANE...so right now, we are not quite sure what to make of all this.

In between, we see some BJP fans, without even understanding that it's a complex issue that could hurt India, is too BUSY defending these moves when no one really knows where we actually stand.

Gotta give it to them for their loyalty. :))

There are 2 issues here:

Containment and testing.

Containment is govt responsibility 100% imho. The govt have had some good moves but let's see if they ban all religious gatherings and try to shut down protests.

Testing is mostly driven by ICMR. I don't think govt would have said NO if ICMR said we should test more.

ICMR is also under compulsion with test kits.

Sadly we used only 2.3% of our capacity till a few days back. Today we used 10% of our capacity and now we have rolled out for all.

Medical experts have said the strategy is risky.

ICMR official admitting that there could be cases so we are not testing is INSANE...so right now, we are not quite sure what to make of all this.

In between, we see some BJP fans, without even understanding that it's a complex issue that could hurt India, is too BUSY defending these moves when no one really knows where we actually stand.

Gotta give it to them for their loyalty. :))

Ok thanks.

Hope everyone in India stays safe .

I have a really bad feeling things will become serious in India in a few weeks, hope Im wrong. Best wish to all.

India government made early and bold moves

The bold moves I appreciate.

I understand that lying is the default go-to for your party, but 'early' is the last thing the BJP did.

:)) Trying to slip that in.

I understand your frustration. It's unfortunate this virus didn't emerge out of an Islamic country. So I get you are falling back on to the next best option with your other posts.

Now go bang some plates.

I don’t think anyone (except few state govt) took this seriously till now. Even for ICMR, they will test samples if the state sent it to them. For this there need to be a proper health care system from the grassroot and they should be given right instructions too. In Kerala we already had the experience of Nipah outbreak of 2018 which had a case fatality rate of 40-75%. People were really scared back then so it was easy to educate them when this wuhan virus came. But no matter how much we can control it here, if it leads to community transmission in other states, even Kerala will not be spared.

Isn't it about time to close the border between states? We can't let some incompetent states drag us all down. Each state must work with it's neighbouring states and that way it will be easy to isolate people.

Each country has its testing protocol. Until now every case in India is due to foreign travel or second or third degree interaction with a case.

There was always random testing of people with symptoms and all of them returned negative.

Now the testing cricteria has been widened to include 60 plus and all cases of pneumonia. This is the best we can do.

People need to self isolate if they have symptoms of flu.

Janata curfew like tommorow will help and should be done on alternate days.

Each country has its testing protocol. Until now every case in India is due to foreign travel or second or third degree interaction with a case.

There was always random testing of people with symptoms and all of them returned negative.

Now the testing cricteria has been widened to include 60 plus and all cases of pneumonia. This is the best we can do.

Agreed. We need to do this at least twice a week to break the chain.

i believe both central and state govt should start preparing for at least 14 days curfew. So that if more cases are piling up, the people could be put under isolation without creating panic. Alternate day curfew seems like a proper step regarding this. It will ensure that there will be panic and not to the extent where people will rush like there's no tomorrow.

All pharma giants are now focusing on increasing production of drugs like Hydroxy chloroquine, azithromycin, HIV drug combo etc.

Cipla is trying to manufacture Remdesivir Favipiravir and Bolaxavir.

Studies are already underway in various countries to find a cure and i am hopeful that with such a combined use of resources we will beat this virus.

We are in this together. All of us.

No of active cases : 270

Indians : 230, Foreigners : 40

When adding such info, please put down source also.

Below from

https://indianexpress.com/article/c...tes-india-global-toll-cases-lockdown-6323210/

The Ministry of Health revised India's cases to 258 on Saturday, a day after it decided to change the testing criteria for COVID-19 to include all pneumonia cases, regardless of travel or contact history. Earlier, testing was limited to symptomatic patients with travel or contact history, and symptomatic health workers with contact history. Globally, Italy reported a dramatic surge in coronavirus deaths at 627 Friday, taking the total number of casualties to over 11,000 while the number of infected people topped 275,000. Wuhan in China reported no new cases even on Friday, sparking a glimmer of hope.

1. The protesters have also decided that no children or elderly person will be allowed to participate in the sit-in and no announcement or mic will be used at the site as to mark it as a 'silent protest'.

2. The women protesters said they will continue with their protest on Sunday, the day when Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged people to remain inside their houses under a self-imposed curfew.

3. The protesters had earlier said that not more than 50 women had been staging protest at any given time. "On Sunday, we will sit under small tents (at the protest side). Only two women will sit under each tent and maintain a distance of more than a metre between them," a protester who did not wish to be named said.

4. Another protester, Rizvana, said the women had been taking every precaution and they were covered in burqa all the time. "Washing hands regularly is part of our lifestyle. We offer namaz five times a day and we wash our hands every time," she said.

5. Ritu Kushik, another protester, said women aged above 70 and children aged less than 10 were not being allowed at the protest site.
"The women are not sitting on the mattresses any more. Cots have been placed and there's a minimum distance of three metres between every two cots. Not more than two women can sit on a cot," he said.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/4...-tweaks-to-shaheen-bagh-protests-2545191.html

So called traitors of India doing the right thing. :))

Still think govt should ban it all but atleast good to see these traitors trying to do the right thing.

Covid-19: UP CM Yogi Adityanath says daily wage workers to get Rs 1,000 per day

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...ar-pradesh-yogi-adityanath-1658075-2020-03-21

Great news really.

"Per day" is a typo I believe.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath: Rs 1000 each will be given 15 lakh daily wage labourers and 20.37 lakh construction workers to help them meet their daily needs <a href="https://t.co/CRxZkoaHEt">https://t.co/CRxZkoaHEt</a></p>— ANI UP (@ANINewsUP) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANINewsUP/status/1241224393822330880?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Continuing protests in mid an epidemic is trying to do the right thing.

These people are planning homicide and nothing else.

Ban them no?

Been saying that from the start lol.

----

By the way, you probably didn't see the exchange I had so it was made in that context.

India reports 283 coronavirus cases in total

Thirty-five fresh Covid-19 cases were reported in India on Saturday, taking the total number of people infected by the Sars-Cov-2 virus in the country to 283 even as the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) issued guidelines for a new testing strategy for effective tracking of patients.

https://liveupdates.hindustantimes....-death-toll-21-march-2020-21584748843335.html

India’s first suspected case of ‘community transmission' after a woman with no international travel history tested positive at Pune. Be alert everyone.

lol.

When it comes to defending the government, all reasons, rationality, understanding, empathy is used.

When looking at cold hard facts given by NONE other than qualified medical professionals, we simply ignore it.

When looking at stats of other countries....no no let's not do that.

Why?

Cos India is a different country so these experts don't understand us. Only our govt (who have an "excellent" track record of all executions) is to be trusted.

Ho gai...Baath katham. :))

And on top of that, people like you have the GALL to mock others who are actually following the news and trying to make sense of it (while understanding the compulsions on both sides).

I have been saying what medical professionals are saying.

Medical Expert Dr T Sundararaman On TOI

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-small-covid-numbers/articleshow/74661955.cms

WHO official

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...fficial-on-india-plan-to-tackle-virus-2196737

Actual ICMR official saying if we test more, we will find more positive cases

Isn't the whole purpose of preventing community transmission RELIANT on catching actual positive cases?

Any explanations for that, Oh Great One?

Let us simpletons know what the ICMR official meant.

------

By the way, we have used ONLY 10% of our total kits.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/on-...-help-break-chain-of-coronavirus-tran-2198030

Nobody said we have to go and be idiotically wasting test kits on all. But we could have used more than what we have currently used. Why are medical experts ALL over the world talking about it? Why is a doctor here in PP worried too?

Seems like they are idiots.

Only globalcitizen (who THINKS it shouldn't be used that way) is right.

Makes sense.

Govt NOW Opens Up Testing For All

https://www.livemint.com/politics/p...read-accelerates-in-india-11584721321144.html

I guess TODAY is a good day to waste kits but not yesterday or day before yesterday..according to you.

If you don’t support your own government then who will? Ofcourse no one is supporting or endorsing bad management if at all. Indian authorities are responding well. Right now india is in precaution first stage not damage control.

When an epidemic is evident, you start handling things with a wider net and then move inwards and more specific towards problem.
That means start with border lockdown, stop international flights in and out, quarantine incoming passengers. Once these are in place, you work inwards.. lockdowns, increasing labs, healthcare facilities, masks and essential supply production etc..india is doing all of this.
You don’t just go on and start testing a country with billion people , especially with multiple tests required to actually test someone positive.

One advice either you read whole post or don’t, with that patience of a gnat and coupled with not understanding others view point you are helping none.

See the plight of illiterate and blind slaves, they'll justify anything 56" utters, read it yourself, received this on my WhatsApp....

The 5pm clapping modi asked us to do is extremely interesting. Someone i know who's studied astrology and knows how to corelate with science.

At that time Moon is passing to a new 'nakshatra' called Revati.

The playing of bells and clapping: The cumulative vibration will encourage blood circulation in the body. .

It's the reason they used to have huge, gong-like bells in old Shakti temples on the mountains.

Someone very knowledgeable is guiding Modi abt this. Hope it works. 22nd March is Amavasya, darkest day in a month. All virus, bacteria and evil forces have maximum potential and power on such days. 5 PM- clapping, shankh nada etc by 130 crore people at the same time will create so much vibrations that virus will lose all potency. Must for everyone.

Must say so gullible these blind slaves are....Will try to justify whatever garbage that comes out of 56" gutter mouth...

So this clapping and thalis & ghantis will cure the entire humanity of this deadly virus?

No wonder these same illiterates supported this failure's demonstration as well...

Bloody illiterates...

See the plight of illiterate and blind slaves, they'll justify anything 56" utters, read it yourself, received this on my WhatsApp....

The 5pm clapping modi asked us to do is extremely interesting. Someone i know who's studied astrology and knows how to corelate with science.

At that time Moon is passing to a new 'nakshatra' called Revati.

The playing of bells and clapping: The cumulative vibration will encourage blood circulation in the body. .

It's the reason they used to have huge, gong-like bells in old Shakti temples on the mountains.

Someone very knowledgeable is guiding Modi abt this. Hope it works. 22nd March is Amavasya, darkest day in a month. All virus, bacteria and evil forces have maximum potential and power on such days. 5 PM- clapping, shankh nada etc by 130 crore people at the same time will create so much vibrations that virus will lose all potency. Must for everyone.
Ha ha I can totally see people believing it

If you don’t support your own government then who will? Ofcourse no one is supporting or endorsing bad management if at all. Indian authorities are responding well. Right now india is in precaution first stage not damage control.

When an epidemic is evident, you start handling things with a wider net and then move inwards and more specific towards problem.
That means start with border lockdown, stop international flights in and out, quarantine incoming passengers. Once these are in place, you work inwards.. lockdowns, increasing labs, healthcare facilities, masks and essential supply production etc..india is doing all of this.
You don’t just go on and start testing a country with billion people , especially with multiple tests required to actually test someone positive.

One advice either you read whole post or don’t, with that patience of a gnat and coupled with not understanding others view point you are helping none.

Thanks for your response.

Let me present my views.

If you don’t support your own government then who will?

Who said I am not supporting? Go and read my posts in this thread. The proof lies in front of you. The fact that you feel I am not supportive of them either points out you didn't even read my posts...or you have comprehension issues.

I like to think its the former.

Also, there is a difference between BACKING your govt and BLINDLY supporting your govt.

Right now india is in precaution first stage not damage control. When an epidemic is evident, you start handling things with a wider net and then move inwards and more specific towards problem.

Normally this is sound advice.

But not necessarily in this case.

Had you done your BASIC research, you wouldn't have made this comment.

Yes, India is in precaution stage but the game played here is different.

It's like ODIs of 2000s. The first 15 overs are crucial. If you bat too slowly, the ball gets old and then upping the run rate is very hard. You attack hard and then ease out.

This is exactly what countries which flattened the curve did and what is recommended by WHO.

I have presented actual data, charts and everything explaining the math, numbers, etc.....Countries that delayed faced the consequences and they had to take in the measures anyway but with diminished returns.

In India's case, the goal was to ensure we don't reach Stage 3 (which by the looks of it we almost have). Medical experts were talking about low testing and EXPRESSING CONCERN about that is not betraying the govt.

Now yes, we have other constraints like testing kits. Now jury is out on whether ICMR's method was the right way to go (should we have done more testing...or should we have done it based for certain high risk states...etc).

It's NOT me who is expressing concerns. It's actual MEDICAL experts.

And I have commended the govt for the same lol.

Had you read my posts, you would have saved yourself the time typing this.

This also I have talked about. So many times. You don't go and test everyone. But you need to test the suspected cases.

By the way, did you know that patients with ACTUAL suspected cases were turned away too cos they didn't fulfill the criteria?

Of course we have a kit issue. I read at 6,000 cases per day we would last 25 days (before which new ones would arrive anyway). We did like 90 cases per day for many days. Is it proportional?

I don't know.

The jury is out on that.

Expressing concerns about this is NOT betraying your govt.

In fact, it's what a good citizen would do.

Oh the irony.

Here in this thread, we have seen how people villify one community, gaslight others, and defend govt at all costs.......so yeah, my posts are helping a LOT of people see the real picture.

As for patience and understanding, maybe you can apply it in your case and make points AFTER reading what I have written in other posts.

Isn't it ironic that my points are all based on specifics and your points are all based on generalities?

Something to ponder about.

So this clapping and thalis & ghantis will cure the entire humanity of this deadly virus?

No wonder these same illiterates supported this failure's demonstration as well...

Bloody illiterates...

It’s to boost the morale of health care workers and doctors and just for 5 mins at end of Janata curfew.. stop ranting

Stop being illiterate. Read what I posted above. How easily this has been linked to religion already.

I am a doctor. We don’t want people clapping for us. What we really need is more testing kits, better quarantine facilities, PPE’s and more correct awareness. This janta Curfew is of not use when people resume their lives the next day. This virus can remain in individuals and surfaces for several days. This one day or alternate day curfew is not going to break this chain of transmission.

If I were a doctor I'd cringe when I hear the racket at 1700 tomorrow.

I am a doctor. We don’t want people clapping for us. What we really need is more testing kits, better quarantine facilities, PPE’s and more correct awareness. This janta Curfew is of not use when people resume their lives the next day. This virus can remain in individuals and surfaces for several days. This one day or alternate day curfew is not going to break this chain of transmission.

It is state govt.'s responsibility to procure all materials from central govt. In hyderabad CM KCR kept a press conference yesterday & said that they got materials like N95 masks, testing kits, 2000 ventilators etc. He said he asked for 500 more ventilators. So , it is the job of state govt.'s health minister & CM to look after these things. If centre is not giving ask them again , need to follow up things until you get what you want.

Few posts above you say kerala has best health care system & performing well to fight corona & other states aren't doing good job like kerala. Now you 're saying we don't have enough testing kits, equipment etc,.

It is state govt.'s responsibility to procure all materials from central govt. In hyderabad CM KCR kept a press conference yesterday & said that they got materials like N95 masks, testing kits, 2000 ventilators etc. He said he asked for 500 more ventilators. So , it is the job of state govt.'s health minister & CM to look after these things. If centre is not giving ask them again , need to follow up things until you get what you want.

Few posts above you say kerala has best health care system & performing well to fight corona & other states aren't doing good job like kerala. Now you 're saying we don't have enough testing kits, equipment etc,.

Lol when i exposed you the idiocy of this Modiji’s Janta Curfew and clapping exercise you are shifting the blame on state govt. Kerala is controling it very well within their limitations. But we need to get help as much as possible. This is a war like a situation where the doctors are the soldiers. Considering our population, no amount of money will be sufficient to give us enough supplies.

The state govns are screwing up.

Kerala allowed some big pooja yesterday with crowds and MPradesh BJP practiced hypocrisy of social distancing by raising hands together after the win.

Orissa has taken much more stern action currently but I know they don’t have a great healthcare system in place.

Mr.Modi’s PR stunt solutions to problems always makes me cringe, from selfie with daughters to now clapping..

He sounds like manager of one of those restaurants where they make them ring the bell ,shout and wear batches- I mean just make the food tasty. Irrespective I hope he uses his dictatorial nature and shuts down and forces people to do Tests and quarantine, being in the army!

The state govns are screwing up.

Kerala allowed some big pooja yesterday with crowds and MPradesh BJP practiced hypocrisy of social distancing by raising hands together after the win.

Orissa has taken much more stern action currently but I know they don’t have a great healthcare system in place.

No matter how much awareness we create there will be some idiots who will not cooperate with this break the chain campaign. Police have taken actions against all of them.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/coronavirus-india-cases-against-places-worship-conducting-prayers-despite-directive-1658251-2020-03-21

Biggboss Malayalam was suspended after people gathered in the Airport to receive an evicted candidate. Cases were registered against 70 people including that evicted contestant. At least we are doing something instead of sitting and watching everything unfold.

Mr.Modi’s PR stunt solutions to problems always makes me cringe, from selfie with daughters to now clapping..

He sounds like manager of one of those restaurants where they make them ring the bell ,shout and wear batches- I mean just make the food tasty. Irrespective I hope he uses his dictatorial nature and shuts down and forces people to do Tests and quarantine, being in the army!

It's amazing how even educated people support this man and his passive idiocy in our country. Most incompetent government we have had in my lifetime atleast

No matter how much awareness we create there will be some idiots who will not cooperate with this break the chain campaign. Police have taken actions against all of them.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/coronavirus-india-cases-against-places-worship-conducting-prayers-despite-directive-1658251-2020-03-21

Good to know Kaayal, just angry as to why States can’t order curfew like during riots or death of some famous politicians or Raajkumar actor in Karnataka.

It's amazing how even educated people support this man and his passive idiocy in our country. Most incompetent government we have had in my lifetime atleast

The worst thing is I have accepted that his educated fans will always remain that way and I can try making my point to them but I know in my heart that it won’t matter.

True.

Always indulges in PR stunts. Who can forget that midnight parliament sitting to introduce so called Good & Simple Tax! As much as he despises Nehru, he didn't forget to imitate him.

Lol when i exposed you the idiocy of this Modiji’s Janta Curfew and clapping exercise you are shifting the blame on state govt. Kerala is controling it very well within their limitations. But we need to get help as much as possible. This is a war like a situation where the doctors are the soldiers. Considering our population, no amount of money will be sufficient to give us enough supplies.

Telangana CM KCR whose party is in alliance with MIM (owaisi brothers) said in today's press meet that 'we got everything we asked for from centre & also asked for more' . His today's press conference is on youtube, I can post it here but not sure if you can understand telugu.

Again I say it's state govt's responsibility get/demand things from centre, if telangana is able get its demand then why not kerala ? That was my question.

There were few cured patients from hyderabad who were positive initially.

The worst thing is I have accepted that his educated fans will always remain that way and I can try making my point to them but I know in my heart that it won’t matter.

It's a daily struggle for me since my parents won't hear a word against him no matter what. :))

Coronavirus (COVID-19) LIVE Updates: Ahead of the ‘Janata curfew’ on Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi Saturday appealed to people to not rush to their hometowns and villages in fear of the coronavirus, urging people to not travel in large numbers. “I pray to all, whichever city you are in, please stay put for a few days. If we do this, we will be able to combat the spread of the virus,” PM Modi said and urged people to not step out their houses. In an attempt to curb the spread of the virus, the PM on Thursday called for a ‘Janata curfew’ on March 22 (Sunday) asking people to not step out of homes between 7 am and 9 pm.

The number of positive cases has risen to 283, including 23 recovered and four deaths, the Health Ministry said on Saturday. Taking lead in the number of cases is Maharashtra totalling to 64, followed by Kerala where 12 new cases were confirmed positive taking the number up to 52. New COVID-19 cases were witnessed in Puducherry and Chhattisgarh.

Addressing the citizens of Delhi, CM Arvind Kejriwal Saturday assured the national capital is not under lockdown, however, steps will be taken towards it if the need arises. “We are not doing a lockdown currently but we might in future, if necessary for your betterment and safety,” he said. Meanwhile, Imposing a “near-lockdown” from Sunday on five districts and eight towns of Odisha, CM Naveen Patnaik Saturday said airport, railways, bus-stand and essential services will remain exempted.

Globally, Italy reported a dramatic surge in coronavirus deaths at 627 Friday, taking the total number of casualties to 11,868 while the number of infected people topped 284,000. Wuhan in China reported no new cases even on Friday, sparking a glimmer of hope. While Italy has reported 4,032 deaths so far, China has reported 3,139 deaths, Iran 1,433 and Spain 1,093.

https://indianexpress.com/article/c...tes-india-global-toll-cases-lockdown-6323210/

As expected, some Muslims arent co-operating. Instead of staying of homes, their leaders have asked people to gather at mosques during the Janta Curfew tomorrow. Even common sense cant help them, as they dont care about the country...
Lock them all. Selfish stupid and insane individuals.

It's the metal bankruptcy of people like yourself. You just get stuck and focus on small things. There has been many actions, before the speech and even afterwards. Don't allow your hatred to cover your eyes. And this is the time for the country, to be united and commitment to fight the virus. A trial run through Janta Curfew will help in the morale instead of a complete panic and breakdown...

Thank you for your kind words.

I don’t know how much the government has had to do with it but the simple fact is that India has this under control.

The next 2 weeks will tell us the real picture , I don’t think any govt gets credit for this . We have been plain lucky so far . My friend came back from Germany to Bangalore last Sunday , he’s quarantined at home with no symptoms yet but a nurse visits his house every day twice , to runs tests , that’s pretty impressive imo . This may blow up only cos of people , especially the educated morons .

Stop being illiterate. Read what I posted above. How easily this has been linked to religion already.

I absolutely don’t understand what’s illiteracy here It’s you just foolishly linking one issue to another. I can see that you hate Indian government and there is no way anything can convince you to do otherwise. I have no issues with your opinion.
Coming to myself I don’t support anyone nor criticise anyone unnecessarily.. we should let professionals do their jobs and again I mean health care workers doctors etc and we need to trust their strategy and knowledge

They should follow the advice, but is it surprising that they don't trust the govt that took part in a Massacre in Delhi.

If I were a doctor I'd cringe when I hear the racket at 1700 tomorrow.

Ok you are not the doctor and you won’t understand. An army goes to war with no hopes of coming back and all you do is watch on tv to enjoy the show. A small encouragement in a small gesture goes long way..
As I said to another poster applies same to you, we don’t need to discuss the point of clapping to this extent. No one is asking u to sit all day clapping like a silly toy, looks like some are projecting this way and ignoring the main efforts.

But ultimately we have to trust health professionals and their strategies and technical in dealing with this.

They should follow the advice, but is it surprising that they don't trust the govt that took part in a Massacre in Delhi.

You can preach when they listen to IK in Pakistan at least . It’s got little to do with who’s advising , just can’t change mindset of certain people

I absolutely don’t understand what’s illiteracy here It’s you just foolishly linking one issue to another. I can see that you hate Indian government and there is no way anything can convince you to do otherwise. I have no issues with your opinion.
What I hate is blind kowtowing of what 56" says, and that's what foolishness and being illiterate is all about.

It's you who are foolishly call it linking one issue to the other despite being shown what sanghis are presenting to gullible souls like yourself.

Linking banging thalis to Nakshatras, amavasya etc and what not, lol....This surely will cure us of this virus.

The way I see is janata curfew is a way to test India’s resilience under lockdown. Putting a nation of 1 billion is of unimaginable proportions

My thinking is this is advise by health ministry and professionals to see how emergency services can be mobilised in this extreme situation. How essential services can be operated through out country. The labs and quarantine facilities are being upgraded from couple of weeks as per reports by health ministry. More kits would be procured.

This is certainly a mock drill and a sign of more things to come. Another important thing is to create awareness about seriousness of this epidemic. The most unorthodox or uneducated will start to get convinced

Ofcourse I would be disappointed if these things don’t happen, but pretty confident and trusting health professionals to be doing this.

No person in this world existing would have seen or fought an pandemic since it’s not happened for 100 years.
So we understand that health systems around world like we figuring out strategies and techniques as this continues.

Since you said you are a doctor, I would urge you to get more involved in this fight to what will be most challenging situation in your life. Good luck

As if all Hindus are cooperating.

Their leaders are organizing gaumutra fests. They are still going to temples. Horrendous.

What I hate is blind kowtowing of what 56" says, and that's what foolishness and being illiterate is all about.

It's you who are foolishly call it linking one issue to the other despite being shown what sanghis are presenting to gullible souls like yourself.

Linking banging thalis to Nakshatras, amavasya etc and what not, lol....This surely will cure us of this virus.

Is it hard to ignore those news? I have not even heard this news because I don’t go deliberately seeking those news. If you are that kind of person and that makes up your daily dose of entertainment, by all means please go ahead.
I am only interested how health professionals are taking steps , how borders are controlled, how india does not exacerbate this situation from now on and how india is working in collaboration with other countries

Just like some are glued to Tele serials and seem like reality, those
Indian news channels,twitter and Facebook sources concentrating on these trivial matters are right up your alley, it’s become reality for you so come out of it.

Mumbai's Lifeline - it's local trains - come to a halt for regular passengers till 31st March.

Only people working in essential services allowed to travel. I cards will be checked at every station.

The way I see is janata curfew is a way to test India’s resilience under lockdown. Putting a nation of 1 billion is of unimaginable proportions

My thinking is this is advise by health ministry and professionals to see how emergency services can be mobilised in this extreme situation. How essential services can be operated through out country. The labs and quarantine facilities are being upgraded from couple of weeks as per reports by health ministry. More kits would be procured.

This is certainly a mock drill and a sign of more things to come. Another important thing is to create awareness about seriousness of this epidemic. The most unorthodox or uneducated will start to get convinced

Ofcourse I would be disappointed if these things don’t happen, but pretty confident and trusting health professionals to be doing this.

No person in this world existing would have seen or fought an pandemic since it’s not happened for 100 years.
So we understand that health systems around world like we figuring out strategies and techniques as this continues.

Since you said you are a doctor, I would urge you to get more involved in this fight to what will be most challenging situation in your life. Good luck
Agree with you.
This janta curfew is just a practice test if in case we actually have to implement lockdowns in the near future.
Why is it so hard to understand for some people here.?

+83 in India today, if I'm not mistaken the largest rise in a day in India.

I hope people strictly adhere to government directives of social distancing but knowing desi culture they will brush it off until danda is applied.

Bloody illiterates...
Is modi asking people to drink gaumutra and bang thalis instead of going into self quarantine ?
No
So no way in hell is he suggesting that banging thalis will cure this.

Janta curfew is nothing but an attempt in social distancing. It is so far, the only established way to prevent the spread of this virus. And it is 'idiocy' , simply because it came from Modi?

God help India if its 'educated professionals' start harbouring such biased views based on politics!

I agree that doing this Janta curfew for just one day may not be of much use, but surely as a doctor you know that diseases spread in an exponential fashion. If this one -day Janta curfew can prevent a few hundred new infections, it is already a big achievement. A hundred new infections in a day in a country like India means a thouand new infections the next day.

What India needs is an enforced 'janta curfew' or a lockdown lasting a few weeks, with people only allowed to come out to buy essentials.

As for more testing kits and isolations wards, let me tell you one thing. India can never have enough. I live in France, a country with one of the most advanced medical systems in the world and home to more than 10,000 established coronavirus cases. With all our resources, we aren't advocating widespread testing and have preferred social distancing to combat the spread. The whole country is on lockdown mode.

We are facing a humanitarian crisis here. Please keep political biases out of it.

Not sure giving names to isolation will help or not but lets hope commonsense prevails

Janta curfew is nothing but an attempt in social distancing. It is so far, the only established way to prevent the spread of this virus. And it is 'idiocy' , simply because it came from Modi?

God help India if its 'educated professionals' start harbouring such biased views based on politics!

I agree that doing this Janta curfew for just one day may not be of much use, but surely as a doctor you know that diseases spread in an exponential fashion. If this one -day Janta curfew can prevent a few hundred new infections, it is already a big achievement. A hundred new infections in a day in a country like India means a thouand new infections the next day.

What India needs is an enforced 'janta curfew' or a lockdown lasting a few weeks, with people only allowed to come out to buy essentials.

As for more testing kits and isolations wards, let me tell you one thing. India can never have enough. I live in France, a country with one of the most advanced medical systems in the world and home to more than 10,000 established coronavirus cases. With all our resources, we aren't advocating widespread testing and have preferred social distancing to combat the spread. The whole country is on lockdown mode.

We are facing a humanitarian crisis here. Please keep political biases out of it.

With all due respect to PM Modi, he could have domne much better than organising this “voluntary janta curfew” and clapping exercise. They didn’t hesitate a bit for demonetisation during midnight or putting Kashmir in a lockdown while revoking the Article 30. Why no such initiative is seen in case of this virus? Is it because we can’t see the enemy here? Some people are already panic buying in shops, what’s the use of tomorrow’s voluntary curfew if people are rushing into supermarkets today because of it? What about the whatsapp forward by the BJP fans like life of the virus at one place is only 12hrs and curfew is for 14hrs so the places will not be touched for 14hrs. What we get after 14hrs is a safe country.:facepalm: Instead of giving proper awareness, this is what people going to take from these kind of stunts.

Regarding Kerala, i mentioned it only when the other poster quetioned it’s the duty of State govt to provide everything and you just need to ask the help from centre. This is what happened when we last asked Centre for some help. So no, they don’t give us everything we ask.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/no-flood-relief-to-kerala-centre-ignores-left-ruled-state-again-in-fund-release-1634741-2020-01-07

Tbh, I expected more from PM Modi speech because WE WERE ALREADY FIGHTING THIS DISEASE for past 2 weeks. This is a campaign that Kerala launched 1 week ago

Also the CM announced this before Modiji’s Janta Curfew.

https://www.business-standard.com/article/economy-policy/kerala-govt-announces-rs-20-000-crore-package-amid-coronavirus-spread-120032000051_1.html

Heard that Delhi CM and UP CM have also announced some economic packages to reassure their citizens. That’s a good initiative but PM just brushed everything under Economic Task Force label which we still don’t know what it is? Hope they come at the earliest so that people stop worrying about their job and concentrate in their health.

Regarding the clapping exercise, i have already explained that detail in earlier post (355). That would be much better and a real boost for the health care professionals in this crisis.

All said,I believe there is a large cohort of bhakths who will listen only to Modiji. His words therefore will have a big impact. So better create more proper awareness since we are already fearing the community spread. We need to act swiftly as there is no time left now.

sorry to ask, but wth is this ? :))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Suraj hua madham, chaand jalne laga. Dimag ki baati hui gul, jab career dhalne laga. <a href="https://t.co/JWz7XpZ21A">pic.twitter.com/JWz7XpZ21A</a></p>— Rofl Gandhi 2.0 (@RoflGandhi_) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoflGandhi_/status/1241309711716110336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

a good question ....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Jack Ma: Will provide half a million testing kits<br>Anand Mahindra: <a href="https://t.co/yLFGuNb4Kw">https://t.co/yLFGuNb4Kw</a></p>— Sushant Sinha (@sushantsinha) <a href="https://twitter.com/sushantsinha/status/1241283069996232704?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

it gt spike in one day .....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Coronavirus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Coronavirus</a> cases rise to 315 in India: Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) <a href="https://t.co/2GRnjyKdd6">pic.twitter.com/2GRnjyKdd6</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1241413344554143744?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Has India traced where its coming from? Like in Pakistan we know 90% of the cases are from stupid Iran. The rest are travelers from Middle East or UK.

Mostly from people who traveled from UK, Italy etc. Many of them who arrived didn’t had the symptoms at the Airport. They developed it later. But They were stupid enough to be in public places against the advisory of being self-quarantined.

Latest example is Kanika Kapoor, the singer.