Coronavirus in India

Cities across India were deserted on Sunday morning as the country of some 1.3 billion people imposed a nationwide curfew aimed at curbing the spread of the new coronavirus.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had on Thursday called for the "Janata Curfew" (Public Curfew in Hindi) or self-imposed quarantine from 7am to 9pm to break the chain of infections as well as assess India's ability to fight the pandemic.

India has 332 cases of COVID-19, the disease caused by the coronavirus, to date, according to a tally by Johns Hopkins University. Four people have died so far.

"Let us all be part of this curfew, which will add tremendous strength to the fight against the COVID-19 menace," Modi tweeted, moments before the curfew.

"The steps we take now will help us in the times to come. Stay indoors and stay healthy."

Television footage showed deserted streets in the capital, New Delhi, and metropolitan cities such as Mumbai and Kolkata. Only businesses and government establishments dealing in essential items and services will remain open.

While some Indian states had already issued stay-in-place orders, Sunday marked the first nationwide effort at social isolation practices the World Health Organization believes are critical to flattening the infection curve worldwide.

No commercial aeroplanes from abroad are allowed to land in India for a week starting on Sunday.

"Beyond Sunday, there is a lot of speculation that this curfew could be extended - and states across the country including Rajasthan, Gujarat and Punjab have already extended the lockdown," said Al Jazeera's Elizabeth Puranam, reporting from New Delhi.

"Other states like Goa, Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh have already shut their borders," she added, noting that most of India appeared to be "eerily quiet" amid the curfew.

An extension of the measure, however, would pose a "massive challenge" for the government in a country where "many people need to work daily to earn a living", Puranam said.

"Street vendors say that if they don't go out, their families will simply die of hunger."

In his speech last week, Modi asked Indians to stay at home but to go out on their balconies at 5pm with pots and pans to cheer frontline healthcare workers.

India's government has made fervent appeals to the public to practise social distancing and good hand hygiene.

Authorities maintain there is no community transmission to date but experts fear that the indigenous spread of the disease in a country where tens of millions live in dense urban areas with irregular access to clean water is inevitable.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...-curfew-stem-coronavirus-200322065155629.html

A classic Modi fan. I doubt the idiocy of what it just posted will ever dawn on it.

So do you have anything of more substance to contradict his post rather than attacking him personally?

I would like to seriously hear from you what the government can do better.

Was a success until 5 pm only.After that people took to streets to 'celebrate' as per Modi's message and undid everything

Some idiots celebrate in public after 5 PM doesn't mean it's a not success .95% obey the janta curfew advise by Modi .I'm not a bip or modi or any other party supporter but Janta curfew is a very good decision by Modi as in Rural areas people don't know what is Coronavirus after janta curfew most of they know about it now

Junta curfew was good and needed.Should be enforced more

But the lack of awareness is still very much there.

So do you have anything of more substance to contradict his post rather than attacking him personally?

It takes a few days to show symptoms. The janta curfew if it has, will have its impact AFTER a few days, not on the same day.

Honestly I dont think one day break will make a big difference , unless this is followed by lock downs for next few days there is some hope , but still no one knows .

Clearly though , there is a section(self proclaimed intellectuals) in the country waiting to say "I told you so" hoping the numbers shoots up in next few days . Pathetic bunch .

Honestly I dont think one day break will make a big difference , unless this is followed by lock downs for next few days there is some hope , but still no one knows .

Clearly though , there is a section(self proclaimed intellectuals) in the country waiting to say "I told you so" hoping the numbers shoots up in next few days . Pathetic bunch .

Or so many others who want to say this is a success because cases dropped coz a day, everyone did praise this curfew but we need to not get ahead of ourself.

I see many states have put on a lockdown, closing borders too..

It takes a few days to show symptoms. The janta curfew if it has, will have its impact AFTER a few days, not on the same day.

You ruined it. They had just started to collect in droves.

You don't have to be an intellectual to not be an idiot :rabada2

We have those ppl too

March 22 time 6:30 PM

Total Active cases : 360 (319 - indians, 41- foreigners)

New cases raised today : 36

New raised yesterday : 83

Today's curfew had some effect. Thank god for that

Source : https://www.mohfw.gov.in/

omg do you seriously believe these numbers get updated in real time.

Usually the cases numbers you get are the cases which were transmitted in prior days and are tested on the given days.

In some states they have asked taxi drivers to work with government helplines for example women who are ready to deliver etc call the government call center and they have a quick turnaround for the cab. These are great steps that even USA or UK don’t have atleast from what I know.

What kind of next level rubbish are you spouting?? Even in a dire crisis we don’t need a government call centre or taxi cabs on standby to take expectant mums to maternity hospitals.
It actually illustrates how underdeveloped India is that you are highlighting this as some sort of achievement.

It's bad everywhere.

Modi is asking Indians to come out and clap to appreciate the workers (as if it's going to kill the virus) while the public is in chaos, only those are tested to answer YES to the question, "Did you come from abroad?"

Or so many others who want to say this is a success because cases dropped coz a day, everyone did praise this curfew but we need to not get ahead of ourself.

I see many states have put on a lockdown, closing borders too..

Though I don't agree with it , its silly but still better to claim success of reduced infections than the sad little bunch which wants to celebrate more people getting infected .

And slaves have already started singing peans for you know whom. All the WhatsApp groups I'm part of, are replete with these messages.

That's the problem with such shoshebaazi...Waiving Indian flags though takes the cake.

6CB6185B-0E4E-4599-9108-062BE267A8EF.jpg

This was what I meant by that.

Anybody think cases might have dropped today because people could not go out and get tested? Keep in mind anybody who is positive today contracted it 2-14 days AGO.

It is overall success but needed more awareness in general public for the seriousness of matter. Some people came after 5 pm but it's good to see that after 9 pm, there is no turnout as we expected in morning. And some people always cry, no matter what you do. No one is perfect, you have to deal with 130 crores people of country. No particular method has universal appeal.
And bro [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION] you are getting borderline irritating with that 56" zab. You don't have to cry in each post of yours.

Man....that cracked me up.

That 14 hour fake whastapp news is so widespread that this is a real fear.

And they exceeded my expectations! The carnival started dot @5PM, 4 hours earlier. 🤦*♂️

Hope the PM chooses his words carefully for his next speech, else, there are enough ******* here to start a Tomorrowland even inside the ICU.

omg do you seriously believe these numbers get updated in real time.

Usually the cases numbers you get are the cases which were transmitted in prior days and are tested on the given days.
As per them he has already started the getting number of affected people down by asking gullible souls to bang these hapless thalis.

We have those ppl too

I know you do and big difference between guys being critical or having a bias over certain party , but I think in a crisis like this your real colors show .
I personally think this is not easy for any govt , every move they make could put millions of lives at risk and no one is prepared for a something like this , its worse than a war ..its easier to sit here and criticize ,I mean some of us are pro lock down here in PP while few think its a bad idea , but who knows for sure . I am out supporting all of them be it Modi , Kejriwal or Mamta , how much ever you have hate Modi now is not the time , you seriously cant be hoping he fails this one and I guess the same applies for IK critics too .

Really cannot believe educated posters believe cases will drop in a day :facepalm:

Mumbai is in lockdown for a week, hopefully they extend it for 2 more weeks. The Maharashtra government should announce some incentives so that the slum dwellers do not have to come out for their bread and butter

A classic Modi fan. I doubt the idiocy of what it just posted will ever dawn on it.

Relax dude lol .. Ok let's keep aside whether myself a modi fan or raga fan.

please do check this link (non - govt source) :

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

They display stats for yesterday & today for each country. Check stats of india for yesterday & today.Cheers

:facepalm: I don’t know how to deal with people like you.:69:

You let it go.. this is the same poster that was arrogant about no deaths in India when comparing to other countries.

BJP IT cell idiots aren't the smartest blokes. These guys are probably working for BJP IT cell.. It's a job which feeds their family but if they were smart enough they would have realised this job does more harm to them and their families in long term.

I think this Janta curfew was a good start, this is not the time to blame the government, instead we should support all we can and opposition should provide ideas to contain this menace.

People should not let their hatred towards Modi come in a way of constructive measures. Not the right time for it.

It goes both ways

Only North Eastern part is untouched till now, on paper atleast. However, a train full of daily wage workers reached Assam today from states like Kerala, Karnataka etc. While I understand that they live hands to mouth and surviving in a bigger city without work even for a week is almost impossible for them, at the same time just imagine the kind of mayhem they are about to unleash in that region. Forget NE, I dont think any tier 1 city in India can quarantine 1500 of them.

Plenty of northeast students would have gone back from Delhi and Bangalore where they mostly study. There's a good chance it will hit there as well.

Won't deny I got goosebumps when the entire street at my locality clapped/conched in unison at 5 pm today. I think it was a sweet gesture for our doctors and brought a sense of unity among people. Ironically, the same people who changed their Facebook / Insta DP to red after the abrogation of article 370 are now making fun of this. Saw some videos of idiots celebrating on the streets like it's Diwali, they should be given the danda treatment by the police in future.

However, the real battle begins now. A lot of major cities with history of foreign travel have announced lockdown till 31st March. Need more stringent steps by the government.

Brace yourself guys, we are in a long and tough ride...

I had this guy confused for you [MENTION=146530]DeadBall[/MENTION]

It’s not that simple . There is this girl who reports to me , she’s from Rajasthan just out of college . Last week when we decided mandatory work form home , she checked with me if she can travel back to Rajasthan and I had to tell her no , as we where advising everyone not to leave Bangalore . Now I regret , cos yesterday she got told in her PG that she has to vacate by 31st as they are closing down . She got a ticket for tomorrow , though we know travelling now is bad idea just can’t risk her staying here in Bangalore if things goes really bad . I can imagine why people want to go back home .

What kind of next level rubbish are you spouting?? Even in a dire crisis we don’t need a government call centre or taxi cabs on standby to take expectant mums to maternity hospitals.
It actually illustrates how underdeveloped India is that you are highlighting this as some sort of achievement.

Yes bruv india is obviously underdeveloped when it compares to UK bruv.

There are a lot of facilities lacking bro so people cannot worry about things like hand sanitizers being halaal/haraam mate.

So yes it is a good move to kind of give business to the out of work taxi walas and give people quarantined some respite. Comprendez mate?

Instead of debt write offs and ghabranaa nahi,there are some proactive steps being finally taken. So yeah it is kind of an achievement

Guys without trying to sounding patronising....if i may make a request...

If someone got something basic wrong and he is corrected, let's not continually pile it on and run the risk of creating a bullying environment here.

There was no malicious intent and he was just excited. I don't think he is some paid IT shill.

I am sure he realizes that he needs to look at stuff more carefully.

---

All of this underscores the point that this thread is there for all of us to get informed about the current situation and discuss the realities of it.. both good and bad.

I do agree with posters who say that we should be careful with what we post lest we cause a panic.

While obviously fake news and misleading news should be discouraged....news that presents the grim realities should be discussed imho.

Here's why:

Different people process information differently (Janta Curfew is the best example).

Some take a more optimistic route while some are neutral while others might take a "slightly negative, give me the bad news first" route.

Since we hav only one thread, all types of info should be discussed which will result in 2 things:

1. It allows us to correct our misconceptions if we get anything wrong.

2. It allows us to be mentally prepared for what's to come.

It was a dry run to see how people respond. It was part successful and we saw there are some idiots as well who don’t get it so govt will up the intensity.

So it’s a good start. You can’t directly go all dictatorial on people and expect them to cooperate.

And they exceeded my expectations! The carnival started dot @5PM, 4 hours earlier. 🤦*♂️

Hope the PM chooses his words carefully for his next speech, else, there are enough ******* here to start a Tomorrowland even inside the ICU.

If there was a bullseye prediction, this would be it.

I would have never thought of this in a million years lmao.

You are right. Our people are capable of anything.

Actually in the evening, I logged into to PP to quote you but got distracted seeing other posts lol.

It was a dry run to see how people respond. It was part successful and we saw there are some idiots as well who don’t get it so govt will up the intensity.

So it’s a good start. You can’t directly go all dictatorial on people and expect them to cooperate.

He's answering the question you asked in your post to pillionrider.

If there was a bullseye prediction, this would be it.

I would have never thought of this in a million years lmao.

You are right. Our people are capable of anything.

Actually in the evening, I logged into to PP to quote you but got distracted seeing other posts lol.

It’s not funny. We see how many idiots are out there and it’s unfair to limit that to just the subcontinent though.

However the positives are most people have followed directions and the other who didn’t understand the nature of this pandemic still did follow it even though they were ignorant.

This gives a lot of data for the government how to approach it next.

There is no right way of doing this but this was a good start. You can’t hold people’s ignorance and stupidity against the government.

Also you can’t totally blame people as well because we have never faced a crisis like that ever.

And my question was not answered by that particular poster. This was a curfew, it was somewhat successful, would you disagree? If you think it was a disaster that’s a different story.

He was addressing the first part of your question. As to why results can't be seen in one day.

It’s not funny. We see how many idiots are out there and it’s unfair to limit that to just the subcontinent though.

However the positives are most people have followed directions and the other who didn’t understand the nature of this pandemic still did follow it even though they were ignorant.

This gives a lot of data for the government how to approach it next.

There is no right way of doing this but this was a good start. You can’t hold people’s ignorance and stupidity against the government.

Also you can’t totally blame people as well because we have never faced a crisis like that ever.

Lol you are assuming a lot of stuff.

I cover this part in one of my posts in the previous pages .

Who said SC is the only place where idiots are there?

If you don't want ppl to act stupid, try to cover possible pitfalls in speech.

Modi didn't do that.

Ppl act stupid.

You don't wanna blame ppl.

Or blame the thoroughness of the speech.

But u want ppl to acknowledge how amazingly successful the entire mission has been.

You feel that way.. Great.

I feel about it differently. Neither good or bad. It had its uses.

BJP IT cell idiots aren't the smartest blokes. These guys are probably working for BJP IT cell.. It's a job which feeds their family but if they were smart enough they would have realised this job does more harm to them and their families in long term.

I think this Janta curfew was a good start, this is not the time to blame the government, instead we should support all we can and opposition should provide ideas to contain this menace.

People should not let their hatred towards Modi come in a way of constructive measures. Not the right time for it.

It goes both ways

The guy who wrote the first post should have read what the guy who wrote the second post had to say.

He was addressing the first part of your question. As to why results can't be seen in one day.

Did I say that?

Also to the other poster showing numbers, why is he being attacked for showing a positive stat? Sure things may not be rosy and the numbers may not tell the big picture but what are people expecting?

Of course this is not going to be resolved by 1 day curfew, no one is that stupid here, so maybe you need to treat people with a pov that they can think for themselves.

Did I say that?

Also to the other poster showing numbers, why is he being attacked for showing a positive stat? Sure things may not be rosy and the numbers may not tell the big picture but what are people expecting?

Of course this is not going to be resolved by 1 day curfew, no one is that stupid here, so maybe you need to treat people with a pov that they can think for themselves.

Check your post.

You asked pillionrider as to why he said that.

Excitement is fine but not at the cost of reason.

Check your post.

You asked pillionrider as to why he said that.

Excitement is fine but not at the cost of reason.

I’m not going to go into a tangent here because you missed the context of my post but simple,

I think Modi’s speech was about Janta curfew that was successful.

I think few people misunderstood his words but a lot of people stayed at home and ignored that thaali bajao etc and some of them understood and did that in the privacy of their home. Few didn’t understand the concept and then there are a few who still don’t care about the magnitude of this situation.

You can blame Modi for the 1 segment who misunderstood his speech and obviously when it comes to the other segment who didn’t care, no one can do anything about them. However you conveniently ignored the majority who followed this request and the benefits associated with that.

It’s fine if you only want to look at the negatives but I think the follow up is important that everyone acknowledges. So I wanted to check with that poster what he would have done differently?

There was no hidden malice in that taali bajao concept, it was just a voluntary gesture that went over Few people’s Head , if thats what you want to pick on and whine, more power to you.

I’m not going to go into a tangent here because you missed the context of my post but simple,

I think Modi’s speech was about Janta curfew that was successful.

I think few people misunderstood his words but a lot of people stayed at home and ignored that thaali bajao etc and some of them understood and did that in the privacy of their home. Few didn’t understand the concept and then there are a few who still don’t care about the magnitude of this situation.

You can blame Modi for the 1 segment who misunderstood his speech and obviously when it comes to the other segment who didn’t care, no one can do anything about them. However you conveniently ignored the majority who followed this request and the benefits associated with that.

It’s fine if you only want to look at the negatives but I think the follow up is important that everyone acknowledges. So I wanted to check with that poster what he would have done differently?

There was no hidden malice in that taali bajao concept, it was just a voluntary gesture that went over Few people’s Head , if thats what you want to pick on and whine, more power to you.

Context is all fine but when you ask someone what's the issue pertaining to a specific thing.. They will respond to it.

That's what BreadPakoda did.

As for the rest of your post, not sure why you are telling me all this.

I didn't even make a hue or cry about Modi's speech. I dont even care about that speech. I am neutral to it.

I was interacting with some other poster when you quoted me.

March 22 time 6:30 PM

Total Active cases : 360 (319 - indians, 41- foreigners)

New cases raised today : 36

New raised yesterday : 83

Today's curfew had some effect. Thank god for that

Source : https://www.mohfw.gov.in/

My bad !
Correction: I was wrong with that statement above. The impact of this curfew can be seen after couple of weeks from now as social distancing may have its impact on community transmission.

The yesterday's reduction of new cases (from 21 march 9 pm to 22 march 6:30 pm) has nothing to do with this curfew but it's a somewhat good sign nevertheless.

Lastly I gave a chance to all these modi haters to display their passion lol. Go ahead guys pls cry more hehe.

If someone got something basic wrong and he is corrected, let's not continually pile it on and run the risk of creating a bullying environment here.

Did you see how the other guy has been running around in circles since then. They deserve no humanity because they display none to anyone who opposes their masterji.

You can blame Modi for the 1 segment who misunderstood his speech

He has repeatedly spouted unscientific garbage publicly as PM. That type of thinking continues to encourage foolish, religious-based views and it's no surprise that many thought they'd defeated a virus by banging things and began to celebrate in the evening.

It's also no coincidence that rationalists and people who have dedicated their lives to educating villagers against superstitious practices have been routinely murdered under his watch.

The next time Modiji calls for everyone to bang vessels, you and your friends here won't have to look far for something to bang that ....... makes the most noise :smith

Don't get too excited though - Modiji might have a different order next time. Based on some new fad that another country's citizens came up with.

He has repeatedly spouted unscientific garbage publicly as PM. That type of thinking continues to encourage foolish, religious-based views and it's no surprise that many thought they'd defeated a virus by banging things and began to celebrate in the evening.

It's also no coincidence that rationalists and people who have dedicated their lives to educating villagers against superstitious practices have been routinely murdered under his watch.

The next time Modiji calls for everyone to bang vessels, you and your friends here won't have to look far for something to bang that ....... makes the most noise :smith

Don't get too excited though - Modiji might have a different order next time. Based on some new fad that another country's citizens came up with.
This is very true. He has always espoused non scientific rubbish. No wonder our scientific flavour has gone down the drain under his watch.

Even as late as last week itself, his ministers were busy propagating sanghi agenda of gay motors, gobar and sunlight curing you of Corona. Even go Corona go chants will do.

No wonder rationalists and people with scientific temper are sick of him and his farmaans.

It was good planning. Putting official lockdowns in various cities when country were already at homes during Janata Curfew. It prevented huge panic and unrest. There will be small incidents, but as a whole, Indian society has accepted the severity of the situation and the need for isolation at homes.

And health, shelter, food issues are the only valid problems this period. All other are secondary or first world problems. So if you are abusing Modi, that speaks of your metal bankruptcy.

It’s not that simple . There is this girl who reports to me , she’s from Rajasthan just out of college . Last week when we decided mandatory work form home , she checked with me if she can travel back to Rajasthan and I had to tell her no , as we where advising everyone not to leave Bangalore . Now I regret , cos yesterday she got told in her PG that she has to vacate by 31st as they are closing down . She got a ticket for tomorrow , though we know travelling now is bad idea just can’t risk her staying here in Bangalore if things goes really bad . I can imagine why people want to go back home .
Yeah I know, there was a corona suspect in a girls PG behind Manayta, resulting the PG to be shut down. Last I heard all the PGs in that area are closing down and the girls mostly students or freshers have nowhere else to but to head back to their respective native towns.
But interstate trains are also cancelled now, rightfully so, but these people are stranded it seems. Not everyone can afford flight tickets.

I feel bad for the daily wage workers more, hope the Govt takes care of them someway or the other.

KALYAN: The Mahatma Phule police in Kalyan have arrested nine people for allegedly playing cricket during Janta Curfew on Sunday.
Nine people were arrested for allegedly violating government's order of curfew in which five or more people can not gather at one place.

The arrested people are identified as Mustakim Shaikh, Hamja Khan, Altaf Shaikh, Umar Shaikh, Imtiyaz Sayyed, Kunal Farde, Hussain Shaikh and Imran.

The action was taken on Sunday afternoon when police team during Janta Curfew noticed nine people playing cricket inside Kala Talao ground in Kalyan.

Vivek Pansare, deputy commissioner of Police, Zone 3 of Thane police said, "After arresting the nine people, we released them immediately on bail".

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...nta-curfew-in-kalyan/articleshow/74763936.cms

As media reports, from tomorrow Assam will have lock down period for 5 days. No official announcement till now though.

Did you see how the other guy has been running around in circles since then. They deserve no humanity because they display none to anyone who opposes their masterji.

In that post, I was talking about the first guy. Paid IT shill barb. Seen him change his views based on data in the past.

Dunno what the second guy wants.

Debate about Modi's speech is the last thing I would wanna do. lol.

Take legal action against violators, Centre to states on Covid-19 lockdown

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had tweeted on Monday morning that some people are not taking the lockdown strictly.

The central government has asked states to strictly enforce lockdown in various cities in the wake of coronavirus pandemic, as the number of Covid-19 infected people crossed 400 on Monday.

In a note to state governments, the Centre has asked them to take legal action against those who are found violating the lockdown orders.

“States have been asked to strictly enforce the lockdown in the areas where it has been announced. Legal action will be taken against violators,” a tweet by the Press Information Bureau (PIB) read on Monday.

This comes after a tweet from Prime Minister Narendra Modi where he said that some people are not taking lockdown seriously. He also urged the state governments to ensure rules and laws are implemented.

“Many people are still not taking the lockdown seriously. Please save yourself, save your family, follow the instructions seriously. I request the state governments to ensure implementation of rules and laws,” PM Modi tweeted in Hindi on Monday morning.

Eighty-two districts in the country are under lockdown following the outbreak of Covid-19.

This comes after a tweet from Prime Minister Narendra Modi where he said that some people are not taking lockdown seriously. He also urged the state governments to ensure rules and laws are implemented.

“Many people are still not taking the lockdown seriously. Please save yourself, save your family, follow the instructions seriously. I request the state governments to ensure implementation of rules and laws,” PM Modi tweeted in Hindi on Monday morning.

Eighty-two districts in the country are under lockdown following the outbreak of Covid-19.

The lockdown in Delhi, which started at 6 am on March 23, will continue till midnight on March 31. Some other states have also enforced lockdown.

Delhi’s borders will remain sealed during the lockdown, but essential services related to health, food, water and power supply will continue, and 25 per cent of the DTC buses will run to transport people associated with essential services.

The decision to impose lockdown was taken in the wake of an urgent need to extend restrictions, including the movement of non-essential passenger transport, in a bid to contain the spread of the deadly infection.

Millions of people across the country stayed indoors, streets wore a deserted look and a minimal number of vehicles were on the road on Sunday in an unprecedented shutdown on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s appeal for a Janta Curfew to contain the spread of Covid-19, which has claimed over 13,000 lives worldwide.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...19-lockdown/story-KuJQoVKGIyPx4gdMjYXvEL.html

Do you use NDTV for active cases? Or some other site?

Gov official website is too slow to update. So is Covid site.

News18 headlines sometimes reflect stats but they don't have a table.

MOHFW ... there could be a difference of 10-15 but eventually they do update 2/3 times a day.

NEW DELHI/MUMBAI (Reuters) - Streets were deserted in the Indian capital on Monday and office buildings shuttered as a lockdown to halt the spread of the coronavirus began and Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged people to stay at home and save themselves.

India has reported 415 cases of the coronavirus and seven deaths but health experts have warned that a big jump could be imminent, which would overwhelm the underfunded and crumbling public health infrastructure.

Modi said many Indians were not taking the lockdown seriously.

“Please save yourself, save your family, follow the instructions seriously,” he said on Twitter.

The lockdown in the capital of more than 18 million people will last for the rest of the month.

Authorities banned gatherings of more than five people in several of India’s states including Maharashtra in the west, which has had the highest number of cases. They warned of legal action against people violating the ban.

In the financial hub of Mumbai, the state capital, suburban trains, which usually carry 8 million people a day, were suspended until the end of the month. Bus services were limited to people in essential services such as healthcare.

Newspapers canceled print runs in Mumbai after vendors refused to distribute them due to worry about the coronavirus, which emerged in China late last year and has spread around the world.

Globally, cases exceed 325,000 with deaths topping 14,000.

Muhammed Nizam, who runs a small meat shop in an alley in Delhi’s Nizamuddin neighborhood, said supplies were falling and he had had to raise prices.

“The price of chicken had fallen earlier because people stopped buying it fearing the virus was being spread through it. But now I don’t have any chicken left, everything’s been sold,” he said.

Neighboring Nepal ordered all land border crossings with India and China shut until March 29, saying thousands of people, most of them Nepali migrant workers, had crossed into Nepal in recent days from India, believing their homeland to be safer.

Nepal has reported only one case of the coronavirus.

“The closing of the border crossings is meant to ensure that no one infected with the virus crosses over to Nepal from India and China,” said Surya Thapa, an aide to Prime Minister K.P.Sharma Oli.

In Pakistan, the opposition-ruled southern province of Sindh began a lockdown including in the biggest city of Karachi, even though Prime Minister Imran Khan said he opposed such a sweeping measure because of the economic consequences for the poor.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...coronavirus-as-delhi-locks-down-idUSKBN21A0MN

I still feel the governments made a mistake by announcing the expiry date of lockdowns e.g. March 31.Guess what will happen after that?People will throng to the streets in droves again

Should just have been a lockdown till further orders

I still feel the governments made a mistake by announcing the expiry date of lockdowns e.g. March 31.Guess what will happen after that?People will throng to the streets in droves again

Well...you can't spring up all the info at once.

It simply won't work. You will face resistance.

In fact, in my own home, me & my Dad ended up getting certain measures in place using a phased approach.

See the plight of illiterate and blind slaves, they'll justify anything 56" utters, read it yourself, received this on my WhatsApp....

The 5pm clapping modi asked us to do is extremely interesting. Someone i know who's studied astrology and knows how to corelate with science.

At that time Moon is passing to a new 'nakshatra' called Revati.

The playing of bells and clapping: The cumulative vibration will encourage blood circulation in the body. .

It's the reason they used to have huge, gong-like bells in old Shakti temples on the mountains.

Someone very knowledgeable is guiding Modi abt this. Hope it works. 22nd March is Amavasya, darkest day in a month. All virus, bacteria and evil forces have maximum potential and power on such days. 5 PM- clapping, shankh nada etc by 130 crore people at the same time will create so much vibrations that virus will lose all potency. Must for everyone.

Check this out

https://www.news18.com/news/movies/...ronavirus-despite-pib-fact-check-2547595.html

"T 3479 - AN OPINION GIVEN : 5 pm ; 22nd Mar, “amavasya”, darkest day of month; virus, bacteria evil force at max potential & power! Clapping shankh vibrations reduce/ destroy virus potency Moon passing to new ‘nakshatra’ Revati. Cumulative vibration betters blood circulation (sic)," Big B posted in a now-deleted tweet. He, however, gestured caution in the pic as he scribbled it with three question marks, which has left many people wondering whether the actor was sharing his opinion or genuinely wanted to know if the theory was true.

When a guy like Amitabh Bacchan believes such nonsense, the nation has no hope.

Not that AB is some intellectual.....he's an idiot even otherwise but I didn't expect this from him tho.

MP2011 was right.

----

For me, Modi's growth is fascinating (from persuasion point of view).

The way he taps into the aspirational aspect and cultural identity of people makes it a very interesting study.

People in India, actually CRAVE to have their practices (good, bad and ugly) validated. No doubt, there are some very good practices but they would LOVE to see science "discover" what they had known for millenias.

Well...you can't spring up all the info at once.

It simply won't work. You will face resistance.

In fact, in my own home, me & my Dad ended up getting certain measures in place using a phased approach.

What info?All that matters is people stay indoors.We'll see 'celebrations' after 31st March too

We know people don't use thier brains but are good at following orders,especially from Modi

The need of the hour is another statement with correct information

What measures are you taking?Maybe we can learn from that

What info?All that matters is people stay indoors.We'll see 'celebrations' after 31st March too

We know people don't use thier brains but are good at following orders,especially from Modi

The need of the hour is another statement with correct information

What measures are you taking?Maybe we can learn from that

That lockdown will be lifted only if we see positive data. Till then lockdown will be permanent.

Now if data is bad, govt can show that and extend lockdown.

The reason people are celebrating is because they don't understand the situation. Now we have bought some time to educate them.

----

As for the case in my home, I will tell you when I am on my comp.

Lockdown will continue most likely till apr 7 or 15. Only when we get a grip on new infection count we will relax the rules i presume. Very unlikely things will become normal by 31.

Most state govts are offering free ration for white ration cards and some financial aid. I guess people should be okay to survive for a month in this chaos and lock down.

No international arrivals rule also i guess will be extended beyond March 29 for sure, they will declare it only 1 or 2 days before it expires.

Check this out

https://www.news18.com/news/movies/...ronavirus-despite-pib-fact-check-2547595.html

When a guy like Amitabh Bacchan believes such nonsense, the nation has no hope.

Not that AB is some intellectual.....he's an idiot even otherwise but I didn't expect this from him tho.

MP2011 was right.

----

For me, Modi's growth is fascinating (from persuasion point of view).

The way he taps into the aspirational aspect and cultural identity of people makes it a very interesting study.

People in India, actually CRAVE to have their practices (good, bad and ugly) validated. No doubt, there are some very good practices but they would LOVE to see science "discover" what they had known for millenias.

All human beings across CRAVE for their practices to be validated. It’s not something unique to India. If you look around and see the spread of the pandemic across, you will realise people are as flawed outside.

In the UK this week, we had a soft lockdown. So what did the people do? They thronged to the parks and went for hikes in the hills. So much that the parks were over crowded and people in hilly areas had to bar outsiders. Look at France, Australia and even the USA right now.

You have idiots everywhere. Just in our case it all comes down to the PM.