Coronavirus in India

Ok we understood what we “janta” should do in this crisis, now what exactly is the Government offering us? Any special economic package to save the jobs? More testing and intensive facilities setting up for future??

It was meant to be a speech for confidence building without panic, and explaining things in an Indian context. And it succeeded.

The number one priority for prevention, which the government is doing and probably better than the many other countries. Your concerns are also being addressed with the setup of the Covid-19 economic task force, and the labs have already increased its numbers. There are many things happening in the background, and there will be more actions to follow based on the circumstances.

Ok we understood what we “janta” should do in this crisis, now what exactly is the Government offering us? Any special economic package to save the jobs? More testing and intensive facilities setting up for future??

Economic task force has been set up. They will analyze and announce the economic pkg.

'India must prepare for a tsunami of coronavirus cases'

<iframe width="400" height="500" frameborder="0" src="https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/embed/p0872ph0/51962813"></iframe>

Dr Ramanan Laxminarayan, director of the Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics and Policy has warned that India could soon be dealing with a "tsunami" of coronavirus cases.

Speaking to the BBC's Rajini Vaidyanthan in Delhi, Dr Laxminarayan said that if the same mathematical models applied in the US or UK were applied to India, the country could be dealing with about 300 million cases, of which about four to five million could be severe. India has already implemented a series of wide-ranging measures to slow the spread of the virus.

Official figures show the country has 149 active cases, but many public health experts worry that the country has conducted far too few tests.

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today appealed to citizens to observe a "Janata curfew" on Sunday March 22 as a test run for social distancing over the next few days to fight the spread of coronavirus. As part of the self-curfew, the Prime Minister said everyone must stay home from 7 am to 9 pm that day and abide by it.

The Prime Minister also cautioned citizens against hoarding and panic-buying, assuring that there would be no shortage of essentials like milk, medicines and food.

"Under this Janata (public) curfew, no one should leave their home or gather in their neighbourhoods. Only those related to essential services should go out," said PM Modi.

"At 5 pm, we will stand at our balconies, windows or doors for 5 minutes and we will applaud those maintaining essential services by ringing bells, sounding sirens and clapping...," he said.

The Prime Minister suggested that the one-day exercise would help people get used to self-isolating. Stay home unless absolutely essential in the next few weeks, he said, urging determination and restraint.

"I want the next few weeks from you, I want your time," he said, stressing on the need to avoid what he called a sudden explosion of the outbreak, after the first few days, in other nations. "Today's generation may not be very familiar with this, but in the olden times, blackout was observed at night during wartime. This would at times go on for prolonged periods. Several times, there would also be blackout drill," he remarked.

Coronavirus, he said, had affected more nations than the World War and the growing challenge posed by the outbreak was not normal.

"There is no cure for this, so we need to remain healthy. We need to avoid crowds and stay home. Social distancing is critical. If you think you can roam around as usual and feel you will not be at risk, this is incorrect; you are endangering yourself and your family."

Coronavirus cases in India climbed to 173 on Thursday after 18 new cases were reported. Four people have died.

PM Modi warned people against hoarding and panic buying.

"I want to reassure that all steps are being taken to ensure that the supply of milk, medicines and food does not stop. Do not hoard, be sensitive towards the need of others," he said.

The PM's 29-minute address came hours after the government announced a new set of restrictions including a ban on international flights from Sunday for a week. The government also urged work from home for most and advised those below 10 and above 65 to stay home.

India remains at Stage 2 of the outbreak, which means the spread is through local transmission, which can be traced. The health ministry said there is no evidence of community transmission yet, in which it is hard to tell how the patient contracted the virus.

Schools, colleges, theatres, malls and shopping areas have been shut down in large parts of the country. Religious gatherings and weddings have been put off.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-...ies-affected-t-2197582?pfrom=home-ndtvcollage

https://www.firstpost.com/health/in-kolkata-bureaucrat-doctor-and-teenage-son-become-poster-family-for-irresponsibility-in-time-of-coronavirus-outbreak-8167521.html

In Kolkata, bureaucrat, doctor and teenage son become poster family for irresponsibility in time of coronavirus outbreak

By now the story is well-known. A young man returns from London where he partied with others, some of whom tested positive for the novel coronavirus. He was advised not once, but twice, to immediately get admitted to the infectious diseases hospital but spurned that advice.

His mother, a senior bureaucrat, went to work and had meetings with several people including the home secretary of the state. His father examined 37 children at his chamber in Nadia. Two drivers ferried the boy around. Now the government is scrambling trying to track the passengers of the flight the youth was on, the father’s patients, the government officials the mother met, tracking CCTV footage, disinfecting offices and elevators.

In Kolkata, bureaucrat, doctor and teenage son become poster family for irresponsibility in time of coronavirus outbreak
Thermal screening of passengers being conducted in the wake of deadly coronavirus, at a railway station in Kochi. PTI
The home secretary is in quarantine at home along with his wife, the vice-chancellor of Calcutta University. The parents and the drivers have tested negative but will still need to be under observation.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is livid. “You see that symptoms have come, but you roamed about like an irresponsible person. It could infect 5,000 others, from contact with you. Er cheye obibechok kaaj aar kichhui hotey paarey na (there can be nothing more inconsiderate than this).”

But then we are not a generation taught to be considerate of others, especially if it requires us to be inconvenienced.

The father is a doctor and presumably understands the gravity of a pandemic. The mother is a bureaucrat well aware of the challenges of implementing public health programmes. This should have been the model family for spreading a message of precaution and safety. 24,000 people live per square kilometre of Kolkata. It can ill afford to be complacent in a pandemic.

If no one else, this family should have understood this. Instead, they chose to be utterly and selfishly irresponsible. They became the embodiment of the Ugly Privileged Indian, living symbols of a personality disorder that exhibits a complete disregard for the well-being of others.

Click here for Coronavirus Outbreak LIVE Updates

Since the news broke in Kolkata, the WhatsApp groups have been buzzing. Though the media did not name the family, their names, pictures and the residential complex they lived in have been all over WhatsApp groups.

“This London-returned boy is our pride… He wandered around Kolkata and its shopping malls with the virus,” sneered one message. “Babu is used to a golden spoon in his mouth, Babu just came home holding his mother’s hand (instead of going to the infectious diseases hospital)” said another.

It seems that in this case with great privilege comes great irresponsibility.

Some are seeing this as a classic case of the well-heeled thinking they are invincible, stupidly confident that their power and wealth renders them immune to all the plagues of the world. But in reality, this is the well-heeled thinking their power and wealth renders them immune to the laws and regulations that lesser mortals have to follow.

The boy’s mother can be part of meetings that chalk out government responses to the novel coronavirus but also moves heaven and earth to save her own son from having to be admitted into, God forbid, a government hospital.

It shows bluntly that the greatest threat in a time like this comes not from just the virus but the sense that too many of us have that laws and precautions do not apply to us, that if we have enough money or connections, everything can be managed in our favour. Forget sacrifice, we cannot deal with even garden-variety inconvenience.

Mamata did not mince words. “Ekhaney VIP-LIP korbar jaayga nei (There is no room to do Very Important Person, Less Important Person here. The rules that must be followed in my home must also be followed in yours.”)

Unfortunately, too many of us have been raised thinking that was not true. Power in our society is measured by the ability to not follow rules. And politicians have certainly shown the way in that respect. Literally. Every politicians' car that sticks a siren on top and breezes through traffic rule whether it needs to or not is sending out a message.

It’s a message that has been reinforced over and over again. The politician who thrashes a toll-worker who dares to ask for toll or the one who beat up an airlines manager with a chappal because he did not get a business class seat on a flight which had no business class seats are all examples of privilege run amuck. Rules are for losers. No one got ahead by playing by the rules.

Is it any great surprise that at a time of emergency this family failed to step up to its responsibility?

But the more uncomfortable question for the rest of us sharing outrage on social media, is would we have passed the test?

Would the upper-middle-class Kolkatan who has never stepped into a government hospital willingly check himself into one for the greater good of society? Do we think about rules when we pull contacts to skip the queue at the bureaucrat’s office? The rich kid who crashes the expensive car at high speed at night just lays low for a few days and then returns to the nightclub. We can barely stand to wait our turn at a traffic signal, trying to get ahead every inch we can, often snarling up traffic in our haste.

Even as so many point fingers at this family, others share stories of Europe and US-returned residents of their apartment complexes who are happily wandering around in public because they are bored after a couple of days of quarantine. There’s only so much Netflix one can watch.

Much as we might be loath to admit it, this family in Kolkata was probably not the exception. They just didn’t get away with it this time. But if the boy had tested negative they would have even though all the ways they flouted the rules would have been just as egregious. It might feel satisfying to put up their pictures on social media and shame them but that does not mean many of those casting stones don’t live in glass houses themselves.

The problem is that power and privilege can be used to cover up a misdeed, to escape unscathed from its consequences. But you cannot cover up a disease or escape its symptoms. A disease does not differentiate between VIPs and LIPs. That is what this family failed to understand, not just at great cost to themselves but to the larger society around them.

Once we are doing pillorying this family for their irresponsible ways, the rest of us need to understand that grim truth.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the nation on Thursday on the coronavirus outbreak, where he made requests - nine in total - to the people of the country in tackling the virus.

In the 30-minutes television address, which began at 8 pm, the Prime Minister started by highlighting the gravity of the situation - that coronavirus disease Covid-19 has affected more people than the two World Wars.

“The whole world is going through a very serious phase. Generally, whenever a natural crisis occurs, it is limited to a few countries or states. But the coronavirus outbreak has put the entire human race in crisis,” PM Modi said.

He also made urged the countrymen to avoid stepping out of home unless necessary, and presented made a promise that there won’t be a shortage of essential supplies. “I promise you that there will not be a shortage of milk, food, medicines and other essential supplies. This supply will never be stopped, so there is no need to hoard stuff,” said the Prime Minister.

The other requests made by PM Modi are:

1. Every citizen should be alert and conscious. Don’t step out of your home unless extremely important.

2. All senior citizens in our family should not get out of houses.

3. I request you to follow ‘Janta Curfew’ from 7 am to 9 pm on March 22 in view of the novel coronavirus outbreak.

4. I want that on March 22 we thank all those people who are serving others in this moment of crisis. At 5 pm, stand at the door or in the balcony for five minutes to thank them - by clapping.

5. Avoid going for routine check-ups, and if your scheduled surgery is not critical, postpone it.

6. I request the Covid-19 Economic Task Force, headed by the Finance Minister, to take important decisions.

7. Traders and people belonging to the higher income groups should not cut salaries of those who work for them in this moment of crisis

8. Please refrain from panic buying and stockpiling essentials. I assure you that there won’t be any shortage of essential items.

9. Please stay away from rumours and hearsay.

The total number of positive cases of Covid-19 in India stands at 173, including 25 foreigners. “Four deaths (one each) have been reported in Delhi, Karnataka, Punjab and Maharashtra,” the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare said in a statement.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...on-covid-19/story-aVo4l6hPnW0bsd2ghIYb3N.html

Tamil Nadu's 2nd Coronavirus patient raises community transmission fears

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...y-transmission-fears/articleshow/74702335.cms

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Details about TN's 2nd <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Corona?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Corona</a> Patient<br><br>- 20 yrs old<br><br>- From UP.. Used to work in a Salon<br><br>- Took a Train from <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Delhi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Delhi</a> and reached <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Chennai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Chennai</a> on Mar 12<br><br>- Admitted to RGGH on Mar 16th with Symptoms<br><br>- Tested Positive on 2nd Test<br><br>- No Travel abroad/No apparent Contact with Foreigner</p>— Ramesh Bala (@rameshlaus) <a href="https://twitter.com/rameshlaus/status/1240318921430859778?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

---

Ho kya raha hai?

1. On one hand, we hear the news that if you don't fulfill the testing criteria, you won't even be tested (with many suspected patients turned away).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My report<br>Why is India's coronavirus testing rate among lowest in world?<br><br>Delhi hospitals r not testing ppl even with symptoms bcoz they don't have foreign travel history,aren't relatives of such ppl<br><br>ICMR says"There's no community transmission.All individuals need not be tested" <a href="https://t.co/BBftzvf2Oa">https://t.co/BBftzvf2Oa</a></p>— Sukirti Dwivedi (@SukirtiDwivedi) <a href="https://twitter.com/SukirtiDwivedi/status/1239272346134786048?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

2. On the other hand, there is debate on whether a positive patient fulfilled the criteria or not. If he didn't fulfill the criteria, how did he get tested in the first place? If he fulfilled the criteria, then why are we having this discussion about community transmission now?

Tamil Nadu is Bihar of the south when it comes to mismanagement. Visited some hospitals (some of the well known hospitals in the country ) and medical consultants are angry with the lack of safety for them. They have to keep quiet because they have their jobs to save. Top management has even asked the doctors not to wear masks as it will scare away patients.

Basically there are 3 testing methods
1) RT-PCR (which is done in India and takes more time and is costlier)
2) ELISA / Rapid Antibody test (which is done for widespread detection of cases in China nowadays, its cheap and time saving compared to PCR)
3) CT- scan (To detect lung changes)

We need more Rapid antibody tests. PCR test is not enough to detect this large number of cases in India

I hope you can understand all these. There is a bit too much medical terms.:)

Thanks Kaayal.

When will we get the 2nd testing method?

According to ICMR, total 13 125 samples are tested (report is from their website). Out of which 2550 samples are from Kerala (as per the CM mentioned). No statewise statistics of these testing is out there.

I believe ICMR is advising the govt.

It's safe to say Govt ain't going to take risks in these matters.

What do you think of their strategy?

Obviously they are professionals and experts. They are not idiots.

But then you get tweets like this which is sad:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asked about why India is not testing more, top ICMR official comes up with odd response: more tests may throw up more positive cases, which we may not be able to.. manage?<br><br>🤔 <a href="https://twitter.com/OnReality_Check?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OnReality_Check</a> <a href="https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO">https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO</a></p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1239806166995046406?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Their move STILL has no rational explanation. Plus criticized by experts.

Tamil Nadu is Bihar of the south when it comes to mismanagement. Visited some hospitals (some of the well known hospitals in the country ) and medical consultants are angry with the lack of safety for them. They have to keep quiet because they have their jobs to save. Top management has even asked the doctors not to wear masks as it will scare away patients.
LOL ... no. They are much better, slightly behind Kerala.
Maha, Punjab, Gujarat, TN, Kerala are top 5 states in India. Overall south and west parts of India (minus Rajasthan) are best places to live in the country with ample job opportunities & self sufficiency.

LOL ... no. They are much better, slightly behind Kerala.
Maha, Punjab, Gujarat, TN, Kerala are top 5 states in India. Overall south and west parts of India (minus Rajasthan) are best places to live in the country with ample job opportunities & self sufficiency.

Indicators are a different thing.

When it comes to Corona like situations, I doubt TN is better than any state.

What CC says is very believable. Must be one of the most well connected dudes :))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Landed in Chennai from Delhi via flight. Travelling to native in bus. <br><br>I must say India is nowhere close to fighting Corona. <br><br>In Chennai Airport's restroom, they have not kept a handwash liquid. Such is the callousness. Adding to everything else, zero testing.</p>— புரட்சி_______முகில் (@cheyyaruarun) <a href="https://twitter.com/cheyyaruarun/status/1240146964920127489?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Here. locals are very knowledgeable about politics. Even they don't realize the significance of the issue. Everyone from sabziwala, phoolwaali is telling my mom it won't affect us in TN. :))

This is why ICMR's strategy is baffling.

Our janta are something else lol.

Either India is doing a remarkable job if these numbers close to unofficial numbers or doomed because of massive underreporting.

We will get to know in one week

Crossed 200. Gujarat, Maharashtra and Punjab reported cases today... all are from UK, Finland, Spain, Dubai and US.

Better to ask all Indians abroad to stay where they are for sometime or comeback before a particular date. Isolate them in army camps , later send people home who are un impacted.

Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray: In Mumbai Metropolitan Region, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Nagpur - which have international airports, all shops (other than essentials) and offices to remain closed till 31st March, 2020.
State government has ordered complete shutdown in Mumbai Metropolitan Region, except essential services and public transport. This is not a holiday, avoid crowding. Banks to remain open in the state.

A renowned Bollywood singer is among four who were found #coronavirus positive today in Lucknow.

She had returned from UK, stayed in a five star hotel and threw party without informing authorities about travel history.

Arvind Kejriwal -: In view of the prevailing situation, we are closing down all Malls (except grocery, pharmacy and vegtable shops in them)

A renowned Bollywood singer is among four who were found #coronavirus positive today in Lucknow.

She had returned from UK, stayed in a five star hotel and threw party without informing authorities about travel history.
Name of the famous Singer is Ms Kanika Kapoor of Baby Doll fame, who evaded screening by hiding in Lucknow Airport bathroom and went on to give party to 100 guests thereby putting everyone at risk.

Classic example of individual to community transmission in Stage 3

Name of the famous Singer is Ms Kanika Kapoor of Baby Doll fame, who evaded screening by hiding in Lucknow Airport bathroom and went on to give party to 100 guests thereby putting everyone at risk.

She had returned from the United Kingdom on Sunday, and hidden her travel history from the authorities

Upon return, she stayed in a 5 &#55356;&#57119; & attended a party with at least 100 people present.

Either India is doing a remarkable job if these numbers close to unofficial numbers or doomed because of massive underreporting.

or may be our bodies have become immune to this virus :yuvi

Remember a typical indian's life revolves around filth,dirty streets, rubbish everywhere , so technically our bodies have become immune to bacteria , so we have more immunity to bacteria/virus than average western

jokes apart , today is march 20 and active cases count is 150 and by the week april 4th if our active cases count is less than 500 with death toll less than 40 then we our growth would be called linear (instead of exponential)

Mumbai: All offices in Mumbai and a few other cities in Maharashtra will be closed till March 31 to fight coronavirus, Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray announced on Friday. All shops have also been shut, excluding those selling essential items.

All offices will be closed, only essential services will operate in Mumbai, Pune, Pimpri Chinchwad and Nagpur, the Chief Minister said as the number of cases in Maharashtra climbed to 52.

He asked employers not to stop employee salaries. "Crises will come and go but don't stop your humanity," said Uddhav Thackeray.

He also said stopping public transport would be the "last resort" if people did not stop crowding local trains and buses.

The Chief Minister said government offices would operate at 25% attendance in Mumbai.

"Essential services shall operate, any other services important to operate, the collectors shall specify from time to time. Groceries, milk and other day to day items shall be available. Citizens are required to reduce unnecessary movement," said Mr Thackeray.

Yesterday, the iconic dabbawalahs of Mumbai stopped their tiffin service as the state tries to contain the spread of coronavirus.

State Education Minister Varsha Gaikwad also announced there would be no exams for students of standards 1 to 8. Those in Class 9 and 11 would appear for exams after April 15, she said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...o-operate-says-ma-2197922?pfrom=home-bigstory

India should block travel from USA too (not talking about issuance of visas which is already blocked).

Or let it happen and place people in quarantines.

Not sure why USA is left out.

It's exploding there.

On 3 March 2020, the Indian government suspended the issuing of new visas and visas already issued for nationals of Italy, Iran, South Korea, and Japan.[157] On 4 March 2020, the Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, announced compulsory screening of all international passengers arriving in India. He also said that so far, 589,000 people have been screened at airports, over one million screened at borders with Nepal and around 27,000 were currently under community surveillance.[158][159] The government shall also now start universal screening for all passengers flying into India from abroad. Earlier, only passengers coming in from China, Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, Nepal, Indonesia, Vietnam, and Malaysia were checked.

On 11 March 2020, the Indian government suspended all visas to India effective from 12:00 GMT on 13 March 2020 except diplomatic, official, United Nations/International organisations, employment and project visas till 15 April 2020. India also suspended visa free travel facility for OCI card holder's till 15 April 2020 and all the Indian nationals coming from COVID-19 hit nations after 15 February needed to be quarantined for 14 days.[4]

As a precautionary measure, the Ministry of Home Affairs suspended travel and registration for Sri Kartarpur Sahib temporarily from 16 March till further orders.[160]

From 18 March, the entry of travellers from the European Union, United Kingdom and Turkey was banned till 31 March.[161]

The Indian government has prohibited travelers from Afghanistan, Philippines, Malaysia to travel to India till 31 March with immediate effect.[162]

Sikkim restricted entry of domestic tourists in the state from 17 March and asked those who are already in the state to leave.[163] Himachal Pradesh banned entry of foreign and domestic tourists on March 19 until further notice.[164] Punjab banned the use of public transport as of March 21.[165]

I understand not wanting to go through the hassle of testing. But why the **** would you host a party it was not a party she was invited to but she hosted it.

There should be murder charges on such people. These well-do and educated Indians will happily follow the rules when overseas, but back at home, they are the cunning, dabangg and not follow the rules or authories. Such hypocrites.

Kanika Kapoor has to be jailed for life. Disgusting animal... So many have to be tested now. Reports suggest her neighbours and couple of friends too tested positive.

If that bjp mp tests positive then all mp's have to be tested, such a long chain.

With the number of COVID-19 cases reaching 52 in Maharashtra, India's worst-affected state, Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray announced that all private shops, offices and establishments in Mumbai, Pune, Pimpri Chinchwad and Nagpur metropolitan regions will be shut from Friday midnight until March 31.

Meanwhile, the COVID-19 death toll in India rose to five on Friday while the total number of cases reached 206.

A 69-year-old Italian tourist who was believed to have recovered from the coronavirus infection suffered a massive heart attack and died at a private hospital in Jaipur. Meanwhile, 26 fresh cases were reported from various parts of the country, according to Union Health Ministry data.

Earlier on Thursday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his address to the nation asked Indians to stay at home as far as possible in the few next weeks.

"You have never said no to me. I am here to seek your next few weeks. Isolate yourself as far as possible. We can't afford to let our guard down since science is yet to find a cure to this grave health crisis," he said, while suggesting a janata curfew (self-imposed curfew) on Sunday from 7 am to 9 pm.

His address came on a day when India recorded its fourth coronavirus death - a 70-year-old diabetic patient from Punjab - and the government decided to bar international travel for a week from March 22. Those above 65 and children below 10 were also advised to stay at home.

According to the Ministry of External Affairs, one Indian who was infected with coronavirus in Iran also passed away.

Globally, the death toll from the virus has risen to over 10,000 with more than 232,650 cases in 158 countries and territories

https://www.newindianexpress.com/li...ckdown-shuts-public-spaces-metro-2118519.html

Kanika Kapoor, who tested positive for the novel coronavirus on Friday, attended three parties after returning to Lucknow from London last week, her father Rajiv Kapoor has said. The singer, however, has denied her father's claims and said that she only attended one family get together.

While speaking to Aaj Tak on March 20, Rajiv Kapoor said that Kanika came in contact with around 400 families at the three different parties in Lucknow.

"Six of us in our family are undergoing test today at 4pm. Kanika has attended three parties after her arrival. She came in contact with around 350-400 people in three parties. Along with Kanika, we are also in isolation," Rajiv Kapoor told Aaj Tak.

Soon after Rajiv Kapoor's interview, Kanika spoke to Aaj Tak in a telephonic conversation and contradicted her father's statement, adding that she was only exposed to about thirty people at one get together.

"I attended a small get together on March 13. My father can't say this that I attended three parties. I tried my level best not to contaminate others. Throughout the past week, we were all wearing gloves," Kanika told Aaj Tak.

Kanika Kapoor travelled to London lately to meet her children and returned to Lucknow last week. Upon landing in the Uttar Pradesh capital, Kanika refrained from informing authorities concerned about her travel history. Kanika also attended a lavish party with her friends and family at a five-star hotel in Lucknow thereafter. This party was hosted by top interior designer Adil Ahmad, nephew of Akbar Ahmad Dumpy. Adil had designed the interiors for Vasundhara Raje's Delhi home. Raje was also part of the dinner hosted by Adil, as was her son Dushyant.

Kanika, however, has denied reports of dodging airport authorities after landing in Lucknow. "I am an educated and hardworking girl. I was part of the scanning process at the airport. I also called the CMO to check me and filled all forms at the airport," Kanika told Aaj Tak. Rajiv Kapoor also reiterated and said that Kanika did the test at the airport and "nothing" was reported at that point of time.

Meanwhile, Kanika also said that she is anxious in the quarantine, adding, "I am isolated and have fever. I am in the hospital and do not have water also. When I spoke to the doctor, he threatened to file a case against me rather than helping me. I am in quarantine right now. Last evening only, they tested me and found results."

Kanika was admitted to the King George's Medical University (KGMU) hospital in Lucknow after testing coronavirus positive.

Kanika Kapoor has provided vocals to the songs Baby Doll, Chittiyaan Kalaiyaan, Chhil Gaye Naina and Da Da Dasse.

https://www.indiatoday.in/movies/bo...ed-3-parties-singer-denies-1657854-2020-03-20

Economic task force has been set up. They will analyze and announce the economic pkg.

As a health professional I expected more from him. We expected reassurance and a route map of how we can meet this challenge of deadly epidemic. They are told to stay at home in Sunday (that too voluntarily) and clap in the evening. And a well worn advice they have been hearing for the past weeks. Disappointing.

There’s something terribly wrong with the PM’s thinktank if this is all they could come up with.

Thanks Kaayal.

When will we get the 2nd testing method?

I believe ICMR is advising the govt.

It's safe to say Govt ain't going to take risks in these matters.

What do you think of their strategy?

Obviously they are professionals and experts. They are not idiots.

But then you get tweets like this which is sad:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asked about why India is not testing more, top ICMR official comes up with odd response: more tests may throw up more positive cases, which we may not be able to.. manage?<br><br>&#55358;&#56596; <a href="https://twitter.com/OnReality_Check?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OnReality_Check</a> <a href="https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO">https://t.co/2HbVuaBzaO</a></p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1239806166995046406?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Their move STILL has no rational explanation. Plus criticized by experts.

I don’t think anyone (except few state govt) took this seriously till now. Even for ICMR, they will test samples if the state sent it to them. For this there need to be a proper health care system from the grassroot and they should be given right instructions too. In Kerala we already had the experience of Nipah outbreak of 2018 which had a case fatality rate of 40-75%. People were really scared back then so it was easy to educate them when this wuhan virus came. But no matter how much we can control it here, if it leads to community transmission in other states, even Kerala will not be spared.

India’s health system is under each state health department. Some of them are doing exceptional job and some are not.

COVID-19 confirmed in five more UK tourists in Kochi

https://www.google.com/amp/s/englis...ed-in-five-more-uk-tourists-in-kochi.amp.html

They have been admitted to the isolation ward at Ernakulam Medical College Hospital, Kalamassery.

They were part of a 19-member group who had toured the Munnar hill station. They were quarantined after one of them tested positive for coronavirus.

The team was offloaded from a Dubai-bound flight minutes before the scheduled takeoff from Kochi International Airport.

At 6:30 PM IST 20 March

India has 195 active cases (total 223) with 32 foreigners in it & rest 157 indians.

It is near impossible at this point to stop the virus from spreading. Too many carefree people who doesn't care about other's and their own well being all around the world. We will see a massive spike in Covid-19 cases in the next two weeks and plenty more death. Governments all around the world might be setting up rules, but if people are not listening, what can be done at this point? From an economical POV, this makes no sense either. Andrew Yang was onto something right me thinks. Times like this, UBI starts to make sense.

Stage 3 is inevitable. I would say that it is inevitable for most of the countries given the high number ignorant people the world has. It was "game over" once it got out of China. People of the world are in for some really bad times. I feel curfewes will become a norm to control this virus as there are many people who just refuse to understand and follow advisories. Let's hope that this nightmare ends soon.

Glad India has been largely shielded and doing MUCH better than most countries, because of population density, size of population and healthcare facilities for the large pop, if God forbid it spreads then it will explode to millions. I despise Modi but must commend his government's actions so far.

New Delhi: After singer Kanika Kapoor shared on social media today that she had tested positive for coronavirus, a dinner she attended in Lucknow has caused a scare among politicians all the way to Delhi, including for parliament and the President's House.

As President Ram Nath Kovind cancelled all his appointments as part of the government measures, it emerged that he had met with an MP who was possibly exposed to coronavirus at the dinner attended by Kanika Kapoor on Sunday.

The BJP's Vasundhara Raje and her son, MP Dushyant Singh, who attended the dinner, have gone into self-quarantine. So have MPs and other politicians who came in contact with them. Uttar Pradesh's Health Minister Jai Pratap Singh was also at the dinner. Aam Aadmi Party MP Sanjay Singh is also under self-quarantine.

"While in Lucknow, I attended a dinner with my son Dushyant and his in-laws. Kanika, who has unfortunately tested positive for #Covid19 was also a guest. As a matter of abundant caution, my son and I have immediately self-quarantined and we're taking all necessary precautions," tweeted Vasundhara Raje, former Chief Minister of Rajasthan. The two have not been tested and won't be, unless they show symptoms.

Dushyant Singh met the President on Wednesday, as part of a delegation of MPs from Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. Former union minister Anupriya Patel and Congress's Jitin Prasad and Deepinder Hooda, who met him yesterday, are in self-quarantine.

Dushyant Singh also attended parliament after the dinner, said a furious Trinamool Congress member Derek O'Brien, who has been calling for a parliament shutdown over COVID 19. Mr O'Brien has also quarantined himself.

Am on self-isolation and following all protocol, as I was sitting right next to MP Dushyant for two hours at a #Parliament meeting on March 18. #COVID19

"This Government is putting us all at risk. The PM says self-isolate yourself but the Parliament is on. I was sitting next to Dushyant the other day for 2.5 hours. There are two more MPs who are in self-isolation. The session should be deferred," said Mr O'Brien.

The government led by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has asked for a report within 24 hours on the parties that Ms Kapoor attended in the state.

Kanika Kapoor, 41, arrived in Mumbai from London on March 9 and two days later, went to Lucknow. She has denied hiding her illness and risking some 200 guests at the dinner.

The singer says she was screened at Mumbai airport and was allowed to go as she showed no symptoms of coronavirus or COVID 19. Many argue she could have self-isolated. Before coronavirus was confirmed, Kanika Kapoor left a trail of parties; she also visited Kanpur for a few hours for a family function, according to the district administration, which is "sanitizing" the area. A five-star hotel where another party was held has also shut down.

She felt a sore throat three days ago. According to her family sources, it took two days for the government health department to take a swab. She found out this morning that she had tested positive for the virus.

She then posted a message on Instagram. She has been placed in isolation at the King George's Medical University in Lucknow.

"For the past four days I have had signs of flu, I got myself tested and it came positive for Covid-19. My family and I are in complete quarantine now and following medical advice on how to move forward. Contact mapping of people I have been in touch with is underway as well. I was scanned at the airport as per normal procedure 10 days ago when I came back home. The symptoms have developed only four days ago," the singer posted.

India has 223 cases of coronavirus as of now. Four people have died.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/bjp...oor-who-has-coro-2198038?pfrom=home-topscroll

Glad India has been largely shielded and doing MUCH better than most countries, because of population density, size of population and healthcare facilities for the large pop, if God forbid it spreads then it will explode to millions. I despise Modi but must commend his government's actions so far.

Whatever control that’s going on is done by the State health departments and ICMR. Apart from last night speech (which was disappointing) he or his government has done zilch to control this. No action plan or nothing as of now.

COVID-19 confirmed in five more UK tourists in Kochi

https://www.google.com/amp/s/englis...ed-in-five-more-uk-tourists-in-kochi.amp.html

They have been admitted to the isolation ward at Ernakulam Medical College Hospital, Kalamassery.

They were part of a 19-member group who had toured the Munnar hill station. They were quarantined after one of them tested positive for coronavirus.

The team was offloaded from a Dubai-bound flight minutes before the scheduled takeoff from Kochi International Airport.

Those tourist were already isolated so no worries.

Worrying case is that of Kasargod man who landed in Calicut and attended parties. I think all of them he got in contact are in home quarantine now.

Whatever control that’s going on is done by the State health departments and ICMR. Apart from last night speech (which was disappointing) he or his government has done zilch to control this. No action plan or nothing as of now.

What is a definite plan to tackle it? There is none. Its silly from you, damn if you do damn if you don't. India government made early and bold moves, and that's deserves appreciation. Now, it's mainly the responsibilities of citizens and so far, it's been disappointing.

So it's the well-to do, and elite class who are spreading the virus, whereas the poor, unhygienic and gawaar people are always vilified...

I thought the speech was decent. He asked the people to take up responsibility . There is only so much a government can do if people take this lightly and are complacent. I think he did a good job of asking for self imposed curfew rather than officially imposing it. Hope people are sensible enough and this can give the government some breathing space as well.

Also liked the fact that he did say that working class has to cooperate too and the government has a back up plan to address their concerns.

Overall it got the message across in the right tone without being too pushy or panicky.

Govt has to do the following at ANY cost:

1. Ban Ram Navami. If you allow this, then the whole Covid exercise will be a joke.

2. Ban religous gatherings in temples, churches, mosques.

3. Clear out all protestors. Those anti CAA protestors are acting like idiots unfortunately.

This is ABSOLUTELY bare minimum at this stage.

I don't care if people flout rules (we will deal with them as they come) but I want the govt to atleast try.

The nation is with the govt for this.

Hope they don't play politics here and let things continue.

I thought the speech was decent. He asked the people to take up responsibility . There is only so much a government can do if people take this lightly and are complacent. I think he did a good job of asking for self imposed curfew rather than officially imposing it. Hope people are sensible enough and this can give the government some breathing space as well.

Also liked the fact that he did say that working class has to cooperate too and the government has a back up plan to address their concerns.

Overall it got the message across in the right tone without being too pushy or panicky.

Leadership is about doing stuff that's for the good of the people...even if they can't perceive it right now.

Yes, all the positive message part is good but where's the talk about testing?

Calming is needed but so is an ACTION strategy.

All this lockdown, shutdown mean NOTHING without testing.

The action part was lacking.

If Modi was doing a series of speeches, that would be another thing but it's not.

Govt has to do the following at ANY cost:

1. Ban Ram Navami. If you allow this, then the whole Covid exercise will be a joke.

2. Ban religous gatherings in temples, churches, mosques.

3. Clear out all protestors. Those anti CAA protestors are acting like idiots unfortunately.

This is ABSOLUTELY bare minimum at this stage.

I don't care if people flout rules (we will deal with them as they come) but I want the govt to atleast try.

The nation is with the govt for this.

Hope they don't play politics here and let things continue.

Most events related to Ram Navami already suspended and more will follow. Already temples and churches are closed.

So the onus lies with Mosques, Juma prayers, anti-CAA rioters and hoping that they will co-operate. So far, it hasn't happen and no indication that it...

Rahul Gandhi was hammering on and on about this while Modi was busy giving his Twitter account to some women in some fraud beti bachao PR stunt. But of course, he is Pappu, so no one cares and all have forgotten it, now that buzzwords like Janata Curfew have been created by Modi's team.

But all that aside, some of the moves by the government might seem harsh on the common man but are sensible in a country like India where panic and vigilantism can break out as easy as this virus. Also, I don't think the Congress, had they been in power, would have the decisiveness and dictatorial approach to shutting down the way Modi can, and at will.

In times like this, that sort of approach is probably the most necessary. And with his larger than life persona, any move by him will be welcomed and blindly followed by most of the population.

So yeah, let's see how things go from here. So far, he seems to have finally woken up - only question is - has it been a little late.

Rahul Gandhi was hammering on and on about this while Modi was busy giving his Twitter account to some women in some fraud beti bachao PR stunt. But of course, he is Pappu, so no one cares and all have forgotten it, now that buzzwords like Janata Curfew have been created by Modi's team.

But all that aside, some of the moves by the government might seem harsh on the common man but are sensible in a country like India where panic and vigilantism can break out as easy as this virus. Also, I don't think the Congress, had they been in power, would have the decisiveness and dictatorial approach to shutting down the way Modi can, and at will.

In times like this, that sort of approach is probably the most necessary. And with his larger than life persona, any move by him will be welcomed and blindly followed by most of the population.

So yeah, let's see how things go from here. So far, he seems to have finally woken up - only question is - has it been a little late.

The problem is the rate of testing and the restrictive nature. They should test a lot more. They seem way too complacent and the number of cases are going to accelerate beyond control imo .

I don’t think anyone (except few state govt) took this seriously till now. Even for ICMR, they will test samples if the state sent it to them. For this there need to be a proper health care system from the grassroot and they should be given right instructions too. In Kerala we already had the experience of Nipah outbreak of 2018 which had a case fatality rate of 40-75%. People were really scared back then so it was easy to educate them when this wuhan virus came. But no matter how much we can control it here, if it leads to community transmission in other states, even Kerala will not be spared.

Well....if I were to look at data rationally...ICMR doesn't inspire an IOTA of confidence.

They make statements about community transmission being almost inevitable.

Then they wouldn't test even tho we have kits for now.

When asked, they (one of them) say we might have cases and our hospitals might be overloaded.

Well......I don't understand it at all lol.

Maybe they have a specific plan.

Or maybe they have realized the inevitability of community transmission and preparing for it in the background.

Time will tell.

Leadership is about doing stuff that's for the good of the people...even if they can't perceive it right now.

Yes, all the positive message part is good but where's the talk about testing?

Calming is needed but so is an ACTION strategy.

All this lockdown, shutdown mean NOTHING without testing.

The action part was lacking. If Modi was doing a series of speeches, that would be another thing but it's not.

That's silly. Firstly, testing labs are already increased as compared to 2 weeks. It's gradual and is happening. Now, if you expect India to be at the developed nation level, you are really stupid.

Most countries are going from discipline lifestyle to chaos. In India, it's the other way around, and thus, we need a strong leader like Modi to lead from the front. The Sunday mock-drill, or test will be huge where we need to be united and disciplined, instead of our default chaotic state.

Most events related to Ram Navami already suspended and more will follow. Already temples and churches are closed.

So the onus lies with Mosques, Juma prayers, anti-CAA rioters and hoping that they will co-operate. So far, it hasn't happen and no indication that it...

Are the temples and churches closing on their own accord or due to govt ban?

Cos I know a few temples that closed on their own accord.

Is there a CLEAR ban on all these places?

As for mosques, Juma prayers, anti CAA protestors (no need for the casual bias bhai)...they have to be. Did the govt try?

That's silly. Firstly, testing labs are already increased as compared to 2 weeks. It's gradual and is happening. Now, if you expect India to be at the developed nation level, you are really stupid.

Most countries are going from discipline lifestyle to chaos. In India, it's the other way around, and thus, we need a strong leader like Modi to lead from the front. The Sunday mock-drill, or test will be huge where we need to be united and disciplined, instead of our default chaotic state.

Before calling me stupid, you might do well to ATLEAST do some basic research.

1. We have capacity to test 8000 people per day. We are testing 90 odd per day (may have increased in the last day). We have utilized only 2.3% of our kits.

2. The ONLY way to tackle this is by testing. WHO has already said our samples and methods are not enough to fight this battle.

3. No need to take developed country examples to defend our govt & medical experts. UK, USA have been WORST cos they acted too late.

4. Concerns are rising on all news mediums (national and international). It's not me who is saying it.

Are the temples and churches closing on their own accord or due to govt ban?

Cos I know a few temples that closed on their own accord.

Is there a CLEAR ban on all these places?

As for mosques, Juma prayers, anti CAA protestors (no need for the casual bias bhai)...they have to be. Did the govt try?

There is no blanket ban on religious activities as that wouldn't be right. The onus is on each institutions and communities themselves, most have but some haven't. Even with reasoning, and common sense, it seems some are hell-bent in destroying themselves and thus, the country itself.

ohhhh...now it wouldn't be right?

Are you FREAKING kidding me?

If there is ANY TIME for any blanket ban on stuff....this would be the right time to do.

Even with reasoning, and common sense, it seems some are hell-bent in destroying themselves and thus, the country itself.

So we won't ban them.

We will let them act stupid.

Then we will claim "look at these traitors".

And the circus goes on. :))

If the govt doesn't ban religious activities in THIS time, then yes its playing politics.

if indian govt wont test the people, who are suspicious without any travel history, things will look good for now, but not for coming weeks. its stupidity to not test the people with suspicious of symptoms.

It was a great speech by Modi. Yet, there is the mental bankruptcy and hatred of his opponents, it's like they want the country itself to fail in these emergency times.

India from the top level, is doing everything it can to tackle it. Swift and focused actions, & now it's up the local and people on the ground to respond well.

Not a bad speech at all. Almost as good as Kartik Aaryan's.

Liked the taali bajao, ghanti bajao part.

Not a bad speech at all. Almost as good as Kartik Aaryan's.

Liked the taali bajao, ghanti bajao part.

Most Indians don't know words like Tik Tok, or social distancing. Modi speech for whole of India, and the desi word of "Janta Curfew" will resonate well within the public.

ohhhh...now it wouldn't be right?

Are you FREAKING kidding me?

If there is ANY TIME for any blanket ban on stuff....this would be the right time to do.

So we won't ban them.

We will let them act stupid.

Then we will claim "look at these traitors".

And the circus goes on. :))

If the govt doesn't ban religious activities in THIS time, then yes its playing politics.

And then you will whine about religious freedom, Damn if you do damn if you don't. Surely, you don't want government to use "force" in times where there is a bigger worry of national health emergency.

It just shows that the protests were for themselves, and nothing about the country. It was agenda driven and till date, they are still stuck with their hostage demands...

Well....if I were to look at data rationally...ICMR doesn't inspire an IOTA of confidence.

They make statements about community transmission being almost inevitable.

Then they wouldn't test even tho we have kits for now.

When asked, they (one of them) say we might have cases and our hospitals might be overloaded.

Well......I don't understand it at all lol.

Maybe they have a specific plan.

Or maybe they have realized the inevitability of community transmission and preparing for it in the background.

Time will tell.

ICMR is the apex body for Medical Research in India. They have done commendable job in all matters except this. I think that if they change the criteria for testing, there will be large influx of samples and they will be overwhelmed and won’t be able to deliver it properly .

What is a definite plan to tackle it? There is none. Its silly from you, damn if you do damn if you don't. India government made early and bold moves, and that's deserves appreciation. Now, it's mainly the responsibilities of citizens and so fa, it's been disappointing.

We are bordering to Stage 3 of this epidemic. Continue with your Sunday jhumla if you think that is enough.

And then you will whine about religious freedom, Damn if you do damn if you don't. Surely, you don't want government to use "force" in times where there is a bigger worry of national health emergency.

It just shows that the protests were for themselves, and nothing about the country. It was agenda driven and till date, they are still stuck with their hostage demands...

I KNEW you would fall into this trap.

I expected you to say this.

So simple. So predictable.

1. In a national emergency reg life and death situation, no one will whine about this. In fact, if anyone whines, you could easily expose them using facts and science (the two things that BJP doesn't hates the most lol). With the whole world reeling, no one would blame you. It was a golden opportunity lol.

2. So you are saying BJP will do stuff based on BACKLASH as opposed to doing the right thing. Seems like a vry patriotic party to me. :))

3. So BJP has no problems incorporating garbage policies like demo, botched gst, delhi riot control.....BUT they have problems executing something that NO EXPERT in the world will object to. Sahi baat hai yaar.

4. As a patriotic responsible citizen, instead of QUESTIONING BJP for not taking action on this....not testing enough (tho we could direct that to ICMR).....you are busy defending Modi's speech and talking about the other community referring to protestors as rioters......I thought you guys LOVED India the most....where is your sense of duty to seek the right thing? On the contrary, you are DEFENDING something that will hurt India.

So....question must be asked about your so called patriotism.

4. I have seen you gaslighting everyone for YEARS with some random data where you play the Hindu-Muslim card....Congress - BJP card....and I see you doing the same.

5. If you were honest, you would have been in the forefront questioning ALL the things that I was questioning. Not meekly defending BJP moves to me and complaining about how weak, poor India is.

6. As for protestors, so these are selfish people. But the crores and crores of BJP supporters who are out there roaming and mingling (the same people you are complainig about in other posts) are not selfish? The reality is that none of them realize the gravity of the situation but it's AGAIN nice to see you ignore one set (by lumping it as an complete entity) and focus on others. If you were so concerned, you would be asking BJP to ban all religious moves and not talking like a "but we can't do it right now" lol.

And you are out there making claims that some people want India to suffer....

Well.....the facts are in front of you.

I will let you make your own conclusions.

I KNEW you would fall into this trap.

I expected you to say this.

So simple. So predictable.

1. In a national emergency reg life and death situation, no one will whine about this. In fact, if anyone whines, you could easily expose them using facts and science (the two things that BJP doesn't hates the most lol). With the whole world reeling, no one would blame you. It was a golden opportunity lol.

2. So you are saying BJP will do stuff based on BACKLASH as opposed to doing the right thing. Seems like a vry patriotic party to me. :))

3. So BJP has no problems incorporating garbage policies like demo, botched gst, delhi riot control.....BUT they have problems executing something that NO EXPERT in the world will object to. Sahi baat hai yaar.

4. As a patriotic responsible citizen, instead of QUESTIONING BJP for not taking action on this....not testing enough (tho we could direct that to ICMR).....you are busy defending Modi's speech and talking about the other community referring to protestors as rioters......I thought you guys LOVED India the most....where is your sense of duty to seek the right thing? On the contrary, you are DEFENDING something that will hurt India.

So....question must be asked about your so called patriotism.

4. I have seen you gaslighting everyone for YEARS with some random data where you play the Hindu-Muslim card....Congress - BJP card....and I see you doing the same.

5. If you were honest, you would have been in the forefront questioning ALL the things that I was questioning. Not meekly defending BJP moves to me and complaining about how weak, poor India is.

6. As for protestors, so these are selfish people. But the crores and crores of BJP supporters who are out there roaming and mingling (the same people you are complainig about in other posts) are not selfish? The reality is that none of them realize the gravity of the situation but it's AGAIN nice to see you ignore one set (by lumping it as an complete entity) and focus on others. If you were so concerned, you would be asking BJP to ban all religious moves and not talking like a "but we can't do it right now" lol.

And you are out there making claims that some people want India to suffer....

Well.....the facts are in front of you.

I will let you make your own conclusions.

Damn, you think writing a long post makes you intelligent. That's tremendously silly. The point is it is not a emergency yet, many want an emergency hoisted immediately and will then whine for the chaos caused.

The trial run of Sunday is to prepare for a potential emergency. A 1.3 billion nation needs time to work and Sunday will be a reality check on which people are united, and which people are selfish. You ought to question the selfish people who are still doing hostage politics...

We are bordering to Stage 3 of this epidemic. Continue with your Sunday jhumla if you think that is enough.

Why don't you go to your favorite developed country then? Hang on, they are also in troubles. India is relatively better placed, and is preparing for emergency if that situation arises. You want panic and chaos immediately, and thankfully that won't be allowed...

As of now, i am better placed than you. So you take care of yourself instead of worrying about me lol. :D

Damn, you think writing a long post makes you intelligent. That's tremendously silly. The point is it is not a emergency yet, many want an emergency hoisted immediately and will then whine for the chaos caused.

The trial run of Sunday is to prepare for a potential emergency. A 1.3 billion nation needs time to work and Sunday will be a reality check on which people are united, and which people are selfish. You ought to question the selfish people who are still doing hostage politics...

Its not an emergency yet?

It is in terms of what COULD happen if we don't test fast enough.

WHO has talked about it.

Local news channel have talked about it.

BBC has talked about it.

New York Times have talked about it.

A FREAKING DOCTOR here in this thread is talking about it.

There are doctor articles out there talking about it.

All specific to Indian situation. Not generally.

There is ACTUAL data comparing the curves of different countries. Examples of countries that spoiled their stats a bit but flattened the curve. I have posted about it in many threads here.

There is a MOUNTAIN of data strewn in this thread and if you need, you can Google and verify it.

---

#300 post.

Give me a point by point rebuttal and enlighten me bud.

---

Apologies if I came out rude.

This is not the time for you to be defending your govt.

You ought to question the selfish people who are still doing hostage politics...

Yeah you do that.

Meanwhile, I will question you.

You can let us know why your view is rational and people like kaayal and me are being unreasonable.

Go ahead. We will wait.

Its not an emergency yet?

It is in terms of what COULD happen if we don't test fast enough.

WHO has talked about it.

Local news channel have talked about it.

BBC has talked about it.

New York Times have talked about it.

A FREAKING DOCTOR here in this thread is talking about it.

There are doctor articles out there talking about it.

All specific to Indian situation. Not generally.

There is ACTUAL data comparing the curves of different countries. Examples of countries that spoiled their stats a bit but flattened the curve. I have posted about it in many threads here.

There is a MOUNTAIN of data strewn in this thread and if you need, you can Google and verify it.

---

#300 post.

Give me a point by point rebuttal and enlighten me bud.

---

Apologies if I came out rude.

This is not the time for you to be defending your govt.

Yeah you do that.

Meanwhile, I will question you.

You can let us know why your view is rational and people like kaayal and me are being unreasonable.

Go ahead. We will wait.

Another long post, zero substance and quantity rather than quality.

You are making the elementary mistake of equality other countries with India. India is not your typical western nation, and neither are they. You cannot bring their models and apply it in India. It's a bigger country, and emergency requires greater practice, and time here.

Of course, various states or cities already are in lockdown mode, so that's the correct way. The entire nation is a different ball game...

As of now, i am better placed than you. So you take care of yourself instead of worrying about me lol. :D

You don't know where I am based. And one can't be arrogant when it comes to health. This was one stupid post. There is something seriously wrong with you, when you compare health with random strangers online...

Another long post, zero substance and quantity rather than quality.

You are making the elementary mistake of equality other countries with India. India is not your typical western nation, and neither are they. You cannot bring their models and apply it in India. It's a bigger country, and emergency requires greater practice, and time here.

Of course, various states or cities already are in lockdown mode, so that's the correct way. The entire nation is a different ball game...

So no answers to my factual data? :))

Why am I not surprised?

1. You called me stupid. I presented data (of indian testing contradicting your claims) and instead of countering you are shying away.

2. As for elementary mistake... You are again making one cos I am not your typical uni dimensional poster that you are so used to arguing with and presenting your one sided debate.

If you check my posts, you would see how I talk about how nations like India are complex and we cannot do brute force methods like China or do complete lockdown for a long time cos ppl will die of hunger.

If you noticed further you would see i had talked about how our govt did very well in certain aspects.

All I was talking about is testing more which is needed.

I even talked about how ICMR are professionals and they must have a plan... Its just that their action outside is baffling (not to mention criticised by experts). So it was more of a concern than direct bashing.

Even talked about how govt wud be taking advice from them in matters of testing cos they are experts.

So yeah... I have considered all angles and I am responding to it in a measured way.

Glad we cud have this convo cos I was tired of your constant defensive approach and now we can see that when questioned, you have no substance.

Only rhetorics.

You probably shouldn't have quoted me and I wud have gone my merry way.

Atleast next time when we discuss, bring in some substance instead of pointless rhetoric. :)

The Lucknow police lodged an FIR against Bollywood singer Kanika Kapoor for alleged negligence in compliance of necessary directives to safeguard against the spread of deadly Coronavirus disease post her return from London earlier this month.

She tested covid-19 positive on Friday and left a chain of VIPs behind who had either put themselves on self-isolation or earmarked for monitoring by the administration.

Lucknow Commissioner of Police, Sujeet Pandey confirmed that an FIR was lodged at Sarojini Nagar police station under Indian Penal Code section 188, 269, 270 on the complaint of Chief Medical Officer, Lucknow.

He said two more FIRs are likely to be registered in the matter at Hazratganj and Gomtinagar police stations, for her three different gatherings in the area, post her return from London on March 11.

Another senior police official privy of Investigation said IPC section 188 was slapped for alleged disobedience to order duly promulgated by a public servant.

The official said section 269 was included for the ‘negligent act’ likely to spread infection of disease danger*ous to life. According to the section, whoever unlawfully or negligently does any act which is, and which he knows or has reason to believe to be, likely to spread the infection of any disease dangerous to life, shall be punished with imprisonment of either description for a term which may extend to six months, or with fine, or with both.

Beside, the IPC section 270 was included for a ‘malignant act’ likely to spread infection of disease danger*ous to life, said the official. As per section 270, whoever malignantly does any act which is, and which he knows or has reason to believe to be, likely to spread the infection of any disease dangerous to life, shall be punished with imprisonment of either description for a term which may extend to two years, or with fine, or with both.

State officials confirmed on Friday that Kanika Kapoor attended three functions or parties in the city on different days, came in contact with several VIPs including top politicians, stayed in a top luxury hotel, travelled to a relative’s place in Kanpur after her arrival from London.

BJP MP Dushyant Singh and his mother and former chief minister of Rajasthan Vasundhara Raje are two prominent leaders among several who came in contact with Kapoor during this period and have put themselves under self-isolation. Several other MPs including Derek O Brien of the TMC and Anupriya Patel of Apna Dal also quarantined themselves realizing they had come in contact with Dushyant Singh.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/luck...ntined-vips/story-QfNRessOzhF4Ieqks9Zz5N.html