Coronavirus in India

He did.

That's Kejri saying he is doing stuff.

Well, he is doing it now but what happened in the last few days is murky.

Regardless of who is at fault, all those workers in the border mingling that way is a crime. Someone has dropped the ball somewhere for sure.

But you can't expect Kejriwal to arrange food and shelter for so many people overnight. :inti

Death ratio looks higher than Pakistan. They say there are two strains one more lethal. May be we have got the lesser ome. But time will tell.

I don't want anybody to die because of this because poor will be more affected than rich one.
In India specially rich people brought he disease and poor ones are paying the price

But you can't expect Kejriwal to arrange food and shelter for so many people overnight. :inti

But he promised.

I have doubts on the execution of this lockdown but it does look like Kejri screwed up.

New Delhi: Scores of migrant workers continued to leave Delhi-NCR Friday, the third day of the nationwide lockdown announced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi earlier this week.

Most of the daily wagers, who left Delhi-NCR Friday, were the ones who stayed back in the hope of getting food and accommodation from the administration.

But when they didn’t receive any help from the authorities, they started leaving.

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman Thursday announced an economic package worth Rs 1.7 lakh crore to help migrant workers, labourers, poor and agricultural workers deal with the impact of coronavirus outbreak and the nationwide lockdown.

A large number of daily wage labourers, who spoke to ThePrint, however, expressed the apprehension that if the government has announced relief measures for three months then there’s a chance it could extend the lockdown for the same duration. This apprehension led to more rounds of migration.

“… the government announced yesterday (Thursday) about relief measures for three months, they might as well extend this lockdown for the same period. Then how will we survive till then here?” said Ranveer Singh, 33, who hails from Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh.

Ranveer Singh, from Mainpuri in UP, leaving with his wife and children | Photo: Praveen Jain | ThePrint
Singh, who worked as a carpenter in Noida, is on his way to Mainpuri, over 300 km away, on foot along with his wife and children, Aditya and Pinki, aged 5 years and 3 years, respectively.

“We were waiting for announcement of transport arrangement from the administration since we can’t stay here due to lack of money and food as we live on the basis of daily income provided by contractors,” Singh told ThePrint.

He said his family didn’t eat anything since morning, except for a few bananas and biscuits.

Administration & police apathy

According to some migrant workers, police told them to assemble at Pari Chowk in Greater Noida to get free food, travel and medical check-up facilities. But when they went to Pari Chowk, the workers were made to sit on the road dividers and there were no such facilities available.

“We are being made to sit here since morning with promise of help but nothing has arrived so far,” said Rahul Singh, 28, who worked at an eatery in Noida.

He is travelling back to his village in Faizabad, UP, over 600 km from Noida, with eight other people from the same district.

“…our contactor told us to go home without any payment as there was no business anymore,” he told ThePrint.

The local police were clueless as to why the medical, transport and food arrangements didn’t come for the migrant workers.

“We were informed by the higher authorities that there is transportation, food and medical aid coming for these people and we have been instructed to wait for it but nothing has arrived so far,” Dinesh Solanki, in-charge of Pari Chowk police station, told ThePrint.

Spike in food prices hurting people

Some of the daily wage labourers said that even if they have cash and food shops are open, they can’t afford to buy anything due to a sharp spike in prices.

“We had to sell water bottles, utensils to buy food for our children. In the last few days, atta (flour) was sold in Shahberi village in Noida extension at Rs 60-80 per kg and potato for Rs 50 per kg,” said 32-year-old Satish Pasi.

Pasi is traveling back to his hometown in Jhansi, 435 km away from Noida, with his wife, brother, his family and four children.

“We worked as masons on a daily wage basis at various construction sites across Noida but after lockdown all of them denied for payment,” Pasi added.

His family, all of them walking barefoot on Yamuna Expressway, fears that they might exhaust their rations before they reach Jhansi.

Satish’s brother Avinash said: “We have gathered whatever ration was left and will sleep and cook at night wherever we find a support from any village but we have to walk fast as the food is limited.”

“We will try to reach our village anyhow, because here we will anyway die of hunger if not from coronavirus, so it’s better to die with our family,” he told ThePrint.

Slim chance of employment at native places

For most daily wage labourers, heading back to their native places does not guarantee them livelihood.

“We came to Delhi in the first place because our farms were destroyed due to stray cattle who use to eat our crops. So, if we go back to our village, there also we have to work as labourers, but there is no work anywhere,” said Ram Narayan, who is walking back to Mahoba, in Madhya Pradesh, which is 542 km from Noida.

Man Kumari, who hails from UP’s Hamirpur, which is 449 km away from Noida, said: “There is just 500 rupees left with me and I have to survive with it for the next one week on foot.” She used to work as a maid in various housing societies in Noida.

“I have no specific skills for any work, so I have to work like other manual labourers in brick factories near my village,” she added.

https://theprint.in/india/better-to...hi-migrants-prefer-the-long-walk-home/390037/

How close are we to a vaccine? I saw one news story which read that a hospital in the States was trying a blood transfusion from a coronavirus recovered patient into a currently infected patient to see how effective the anti-bodies are.

What is done is done now in this situation of crisis there is no point of playing blame game, UP and Bihar CM should make sure to get these workers address or some identification for future reference or test

State heads knew for sure, remember it was Kejriwal who accidentally in his speech on Sat or Sunday just before lockdown leaked that no flights will be going in OR out of Delhi from 25, Kejriwal don't have power to stop flights from Delhi airport.
Goa CM on 24 suddenly announced curfew for 1 day after 12 noon when there was no cases in Goa at that time and ordered all shop to be closed, I am struck in Goa right now, I knew something was coming at that night.
I think Kejriwal just panicked and nothing more but the issue is so serious that it may cost life.
I like Kejriwal and don't like Mamta but Mamta stopped migrating worker with high hand, she is giving them food and a place to stay but not allowing them to travel, Kerala, Gujrat and Maharashtra are also doing same.
Maharashtra has been more lenient but not like Delhi.
I am terrified that even if one worker is infected it will screw UP and Vihar villages big time without and proper health care facilities.

Thanks for the response.

Maybe they knew. Not sure about the "knew for sure" part. State departments were making their own plans too. TN had an extension of lockdown even before Modi announced but not 21 days.

Kejri has many flaws but he is known to be a good administrator. One of the few CMs who actually won on performance and not caste arithmetics or communal politics or anti-incumbency factor.

For him to screw up so bad in this area is surprising.

Maybe he panicked as you say. But if he knew about this lockdown and still didn't prepare, he is incompetent. Just a bit hard to believe right now. Anything is possible tho.

-----

As for migrant worker movement:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The scene at <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pune?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pune</a> railway station as the Pune-Patna Express rolls in! Such is the extent of migrant labour heading back home! <br>What a sad state of affairs! No social distancing, no precautions, no screening! 🙄 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaCrisis?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaCrisis</a> <a href="https://t.co/sHBHzpYOLX">pic.twitter.com/sHBHzpYOLX</a></p>— Happening Now (@HappeningNow__) <a href="https://twitter.com/HappeningNow__/status/1241644868411076610?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 22, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Migrant labourers protesting in Kerala. They are not marching to border because their homes are far far away. Kerala govt. who was much 'concerned' about the migrant exodus of Delhi woke up to this scene today! <a href="https://t.co/HcgVHR8gKv">pic.twitter.com/HcgVHR8gKv</a></p>— ചാത്തൂട്ടി (@chathootti) <a href="https://twitter.com/chathootti/status/1244178002084155392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Meanwhile heartening visuals from Jaipur where the Rajasthan Govt under <a href="https://twitter.com/ashokgehlot51?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ashokgehlot51</a> ji & <a href="https://twitter.com/SachinPilot?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SachinPilot</a> ji is properly assisting migrant labours who want to return home due to loss of job in the aftermath of lockdown. This is how it is done. They are humans! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> <a href="https://t.co/yUEMeO496R">pic.twitter.com/yUEMeO496R</a></p>— Gaurav Pandhi (@GauravPandhi) <a href="https://twitter.com/GauravPandhi/status/1244122878573809664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

1. Migrants will want to go back to their state due to them fearing extension of lockdown.

2. It's a pan-India issue.

3. Kerala has handled many of the issues very well but even they have some crazy cases.

4. Good to see Rajasthan doing well. But won't be surprised if there are other videos showing chaos there.

--

There doesn't seem to be a well coordinated plan. Each state doing their own thing.

How close are we to a vaccine? I saw one news story which read that a hospital in the States was trying a blood transfusion from a coronavirus recovered patient into a currently infected patient to see how effective the anti-bodies are.

1 year atleast last I heard.

Kasaragod: An ambulance ferrying a seriously ill 70-year old woman from here to a hospital in nearby Mangaluru was allegedy not allowed by Karnataka police to cross the Thalapady border, following which she died on Sunday morning, her family claimed.

Despite pleas by the family and ambulance driver, police did not allow the vehicle to cross the border and turned it back on Saturday, they alleged.

She was taken to a primary health centre and then to home, but she died this morning, the family said. Officials could not be reached for comment.

The woman had come to her son's house on March 14. Two days ago, a seriously ill man who was not allowed to be taken to a Mangaluru hospital had died. A Bihari woman, who was in labour, had given birth in an ambulance as she was not allowed to visit her doctor in the neighbouring state.

Karnataka has sealed its border orders with Kerala as a result of which people in the border villages are facing immense difficulties as they depend on Mangaluru for their medical needs.

Lorries laden with vegetables and other essentials had been held up at Makootam and various other places on the border after the roads were blocked.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has also written to Prime Minsiter Narendra Modi to intervene in the matter. Expressing concern over the blocking of roads at different places along the border, he had said the people in the border villages are dependent on the neighbouring State for various needs and now Karnataka has blocked them out by piling truckloads of soil on the roads.

This goes against the spirit of the central government, Vijayan had said.

The ambulance driver claimed no ambulance was being allowed to cross the border to reach Mangaluru.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/r...m-cleanest-city-to-covid-19-zone-2555567.html

------

In a lockdown, you are going to get some bad news here and there NO matter how well you plan. That's ok.

But this isn't one of those cases.

There seems to be total chaos when a CM has to write to PM about this.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/r...m-cleanest-city-to-covid-19-zone-2555567.html

------

In a lockdown, you are going to get some bad news here and there NO matter how well you plan. That's ok.

As usual patients from Kerala are flocking into hospitals in Mangalore and Manipal . Since the borders are closed there seems to be a crisis and I think TN did the same . This is nothing new , they have anyways depended on our hospitals and education institutes, the sold out media wants us to believe this bankrupt state is a role model for others .

Khaana peena he.. gav janaa mankthaa, this is the majorities attitude. Government failed to anticipate this, now only way is to deal with the situation.

Delhi govt had declared lockdown before the national lockdown announced by Modi.

As usual patients from Kerala are flocking into hospitals in Mangalore and Manipal . Since the borders are closed there seems to be a crisis and I think TN did the same . This is nothing new , they have anyways depended on our hospitals and education institutes, the sold out media wants us to believe this bankrupt state is a role model for others .

Its not about this being new or not, it's about planning.

If this is nothing new, it all the more validates the poor planning argument.

As for the media, what do you want the them to do?

Fawn over govt and authorities for our flawless execution of lockdown and testing strategy?

Kerala seems to be trying the hardest.... Bankrupt or not.

------

State borders are to be sealed. Thats the lock down.

Kerala is a covid hotspot and ofcourse Karnataka doesnt want them to spread it in Karnataka. Its Kerala govts duty to look after these people.

Now delhi model protest happening in kerala migrant guest workers are on the street demanding that they be allowed to go home

State borders are to be sealed. Thats the lock down.

Kerala is a covid hotspot and ofcourse Karnataka doesnt want them to spread it in Karnataka. Its Kerala govts duty to look after these people.

Not denying any of that.

Its not about lorries entering or leaving kerala.

Its about the planning considering this is a known issue.

What is kerala supposed to do? Let people die. Strategy has to be tweaked according to situation.

Now delhi model protest happening in kerala migrant guest workers are on the street demanding that they be allowed to go home
Some ******** are spreading fake messages, government should find source of these messages

[MENTION=1697]jusarrived[/MENTION], [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] no matter what happens, ambulance should not be stopped, they should be allowed after little bit of checking that if there is actual patient or not.
Right now problem is not only of Kerala but of whole India, Kerala is trying hard and we should with them in this crisis

Its not about this being new or not, it's about planning.

If this is nothing new, it all the more validates the poor planning argument.

As for the media, what do you want the them to do?

Fawn over govt and authorities for our flawless execution of lockdown and testing strategy?

Kerala seems to be trying the hardest.... Bankrupt or not.

It’s a tough call for other states , should we risk our people to help them ? I don’t think there is a right or wrong here . Why is Kerala going to centre ? Can’t they take care of these migrants , infact they don’t even have the problem Delhi has where people want to go home at any cost .

What do you mean trying hardest? Because they have the highest number of cases ?
There’s been a PR drive for past one year to project Kerala as a success model rest of India should look up to , while every one knows the ground realities . Media should stop peddling these lies . Even this crisis will be blamed on Karnataka conveniently, not that anyone cares what these lowlifes say .

[MENTION=1697]jusarrived[/MENTION], [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] no matter what happens, ambulance should not be stopped, they should be allowed after little bit of checking that if there is actual patient or not.
Right now problem is not only of Kerala but of whole India, Kerala is trying hard and we should with them in this crisis

Inter state transition is totally blocked. So that the disease doesn't spread.

I agree , but this is not about one off cases isn’t it ? These borders where closed last week even before the lockdown . Who’s fault is that patients are still being sent to other states ?

Man indians are really politicizing every damn thing these days. Like every single discussion I ever read on India there’s a political angle and blame game going around. Kinda sad.

It’s almost that for some the issue isn’t the crisis, people dying of hunger and left in the lurch, or the deaths but the issue is to ensure not to have their favorite political leader being blamed for it.

Anyways hope both India and Pakistan are able to get out of this soon inshallah.

Man indians are really politicizing every damn thing these days. Like every single discussion I ever read on India there’s a political angle and blame game going around. Kinda sad.

It’s almost that for some the issue isn’t the crisis, people dying of hunger and left in the lurch, or the deaths but the issue is to ensure not to have their favorite political leader being blamed for it.

Anyways hope both India and Pakistan are able to get out of this soon inshallah.

Agreed. What i feel is, even if there is political elements involved here, its a time where one will have to rise above it and try to bring a solution.

Suppose, You and I may have differences and often clash a lot but when there is bigger problems around, we should keep our differences aside for a bit and work together.

Hopefully everyone will be able to come out of it without further damage. Italy and spain do worries me though. Death rate is still high.

Well said.
pseudo siculars, liberals, left wing etc etc all divided in to different categories and busy in bashing.
The don't hesitate to go any level, such kind of low life people.

On the positives massive amounts of donations coming from every one , industrials , cricketers , movie starts and common men all chipping in . Money alone obviously will not be enough , but it will help .

I agree , but this is not about one off cases isn’t it ? These borders where closed last week even before the lockdown . Who’s fault is that patients are still being sent to other states ?
People who are now coming to karnataka for treatment are from border areas, some of them are permanent residents of karnataka, the hospitals in karnataka are easily accessible for most of them.

Some ******** are spreading fake messages, government should find source of these messages

True, after the migrant issue in Delhi some of them working in my brother’s shop were also packing their bags. They are like we just want to go home, we are afraid how long this will go. My brother tried his best to make them understand the situation. They were already getting food from community kitchen but still we brought them more rice, vegetables and fruits. Tbh, don’t think food is their issue.:(

It’s a tough call for other states , should we risk our people to help them ? I don’t think there is a right or wrong here . Why is Kerala going to centre ? Can’t they take care of these migrants , infact they don’t even have the problem Delhi has where people want to go home at any cost .

What do you mean trying hardest? Because they have the highest number of cases ?
There’s been a PR drive for past one year to project Kerala as a success model rest of India should look up to , while every one knows the ground realities . Media should stop peddling these lies . Even this crisis will be blamed on Karnataka conveniently, not that anyone cares what these lowlifes say .

Didn’t know asking for an ambulance to cross the border so that the patient gets care an “early care” is equal to being a lowlife.

Go through his posts he thinks that karnataka is doing some kind of charity by allowing malayalis to access facilities in private institutions in karnataka, good number of these institutions were started eyeing malayalis.It's the fault of successive governments of kerala that they couldn't come up with plans to stop this flow of money from pockets of keralities towards other states.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has asked Indians for forgiveness after imposing a lockdown.

Amid criticism over the lack of planning ahead of the shutdown which was introduced with less than four hours' notice, Mr Modi apologised for the impact in his weekly radio address.

"Possibly many would be angry at me for being locked in their homes. I understand your troubles but there was no other way to wage war against coronavirus. For a country like India with a population of 1.3 billion it is a battle of life and death and we have to win it."

There’s been a PR drive for past one year to project Kerala as a success model rest of India should look up to , while every one knows the ground realities .

The other way to look at it is, there has been a massive effort to hate Kerala by your type of favorite media outlets for the following reasons:

High percentage of non-Hindus.
Kerala consistently spitting in the face of the BJP across all communities despite the strong historic presence of the RSS.
Rahul Gandhi winning massively from Wayanad.
Beef parties.

Even Modiji was so bitter during his Howdy Modi event, he left out Malayalam from his 'All is Well' comic relief :rabada2

Kanika Kapoor tested positive again :facepalm:

Not sure why she is so important, but she hasn't recovered from the disease yet. The protocol around the world is to test patients every 4-5 days if they are not showing symptoms, if they are still positive then you again repeat after 4-5 days. If they are negative they are tested the next day again and if negative again then declared as recovered. Aisa thori hai ke inn Kanika madam ko bar bar lagay ja raha hai.

She has been tested 4 times inside 10 days,all positive

Coronavirus Latest Live Updates: With 106 fresh cases and six deaths reported in the last 24 hours, the total number of confirmed coronavirus cases in India rose to 979 including 25 deaths on Sunday, the health ministry said.

Highlighting that co-morbidity has played a major role in most deaths reported in the country, Lav Aggarwal, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare said: “Data is being monitored at state level. High risk cases, which include age or contact history as criteria and which are found serious are monitors. The government has also set up a toll free number which is being operated by the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru for people with mental health issues.

Even as hundreds of migrants are on their way to their native places, the Centre on Sunday directed the state authorities to to seal borders to restrict inter-state movement. It also said that all people who have travelled during the lockdown period will be put under mandatory 14-day quarantine at government facilities.

In the United States, where more than 2,000 people including an infant have succumbed to the infection, President Donald Trump has backed away from calling for quarantine for coronavirus hotspots in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut, instead directing Saturday night that a ‘strong Travel Advisory’ be issued to stem the spread of the outbreak. The COVID-19 ‘patient zero’, the originating point of the virus in Wuhan, believes she got the disease from a toilet she shared with meat sellers in the market and that the death toll could have been lower if the government had “acted sooner”. Globally, over 6.6 lakh people are infected and nearly 30,000 killed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">See the sea of crowd on UP-Delhi border during lockdown. Lack of planning, coordination between state govts, state police and a very poor feedback from local intelligence units which utterly failed to anticipate large gathering of labourers, readying to migrate to villages. <a href="https://t.co/gPGhjjC8S9">pic.twitter.com/gPGhjjC8S9</a></p>— Deepak Sharma (@DeepakSEditor) <a href="https://twitter.com/DeepakSEditor/status/1243888318971916288?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Just look at the sea of people and this is just one railway station. Social distancing gayi tael lehnay. When all this is over India should really think about some strict measures such as China to curb population growth. I think I read a report where India is set to pass China in population in the near future.

Coronavirus Latest Live Updates: With 106 fresh cases and six deaths reported in the last 24 hours, the total number of confirmed coronavirus cases in India rose to 979 including 25 deaths on Sunday, the health ministry said.

Highlighting that co-morbidity has played a major role in most deaths reported in the country, Lav Aggarwal, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare said: “Data is being monitored at state level. High risk cases, which include age or contact history as criteria and which are found serious are monitors. The government has also set up a toll free number which is being operated by the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru for people with mental health issues.

Even as hundreds of migrants are on their way to their native places, the Centre on Sunday directed the state authorities to to seal borders to restrict inter-state movement. It also said that all people who have travelled during the lockdown period will be put under mandatory 14-day quarantine at government facilities.

In the United States, where more than 2,000 people including an infant have succumbed to the infection, President Donald Trump has backed away from calling for quarantine for coronavirus hotspots in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut, instead directing Saturday night that a ‘strong Travel Advisory’ be issued to stem the spread of the outbreak. The COVID-19 ‘patient zero’, the originating point of the virus in Wuhan, believes she got the disease from a toilet she shared with meat sellers in the market and that the death toll could have been lower if the government had “acted sooner”. Globally, over 6.6 lakh people are infected and nearly 30,000 killed.

It crossed 1000 yesterday only

It’s a tough call for other states , should we risk our people to help them ? I don’t think there is a right or wrong here .

No one asked anyone to risk anything. In fact, I wouldn't even blame Karnataka govt.

The issue is planning (starts from the centre). Even we (with no access to experts) can predict that daily labourers and essential supplies/patients stuck between states would be an issue.

Centre should plan it out and facilitate these things. If not, states should be made well aware so they can make arrangements. You can force a national lockdown and not be willing to budge on these matters.

As for security of people, the people involved in inter-state movement for essential could easily be qurantined. For the last 2 months, we are doing extreme levels of contact tracing and isolation. A few supplies moving across state is no big deal to quarantine.

Can’t they take care of these migrants , infact they don’t even have the problem Delhi has where people want to go home at any cost

The complaint isn't about migrants but supplies.

No. Bcos they had the highest testing per million as of Mar 23 or Mar 24.....and no state was even CLOSE to their mark. It did 6 TIMES more than its nearest competitor (Maharashtra who have the maximum cases).

Read up here - https://www.thehindu.com/data/data-...ashtra-in-infections/article31146300.ece/amp/

Airport screening (which was enforced 2-3 weeks before universal screening), contact tracing, isolation, sending suspected cases for testing, social distancing, food for poor people...they have been at the forefront.

You can read up here - https://www.news18.com/news/india/w...nd-contain-coronavirus-infection-2533997.html

PR drive or not..the best part about modern era is that facts can be easily verified. They are defo doing a great job. Maybe now other states are catching up cos everyone understands the gravity of the situation.

Airport screening (which was enforced 2-3 weeks before universal screening), contact tracing, isolation, sending suspected cases for testing, social distancing, food for poor people...they have been at the forefront.

Note: Ignore this part. They were tracking down people who landed there a few weeks prior to universal screening.

KTR
@KTRTRS
·
3h
A piece of good news to share as #TelanganaFightsCorona

11 previously corona positive cases from Telangana, have tested negative in the latest set of tests today

My state Andhra pradesh has a volunteer system due to which tracking of foreign returns became easy

Even a state like kerala (with previous experience of dealing with nipah virus) is trying to replicate AP's model now

My state Andhra pradesh has a volunteer system due to which tracking of foreign returns became easy

Even a state like kerala (with previous experience of dealing with nipah virus) is trying to replicate AP's model now

If volunteers take measure properly then there will be no issue otherwise they spread everywhere

Good to know that Andhra is doing well now. But your comment about Kerala is wrong.

This video is from 1 month ago.

This one 2 weeks ago.

CM called for voluntary work force for distributing food etc. Not for finding foreign returnees.

In kerala volunteers will be responsible for the delivery of essential items and services, Health/ASHA workers already collected informations from every household.

Good to know that Andhra is doing well now. But your comment about Kerala is wrong.

This video is from 1 month ago.

This one 2 weeks ago

CM called for voluntary work force for distributing food etc. Not for finding foreign returnees.

Ohh ok , I was wondering 'how come the print reported without any fallacy ?' Yes you're right. Kerala's volunteer system of 2.3 lakh are for distribution of essential services. Here volunteer system is actually means 'volunteer' it seems

https://www.news18.com/amp/news/ind...er-network-to-battle-coronavirus-2553089.html

In AP volunteer means it's not technically volunteering for free, you have to pass an exam & govt. pays Rs 5000/month. There will be one volunteer for 50 houses. This system had been in place since sept 2019 & hence this work force is bit useful during this corona crisis

With 106 fresh cases and six deaths reported in the last 24 hours, the total number of confirmed coronavirus cases in India rose to 1024, including 27 deaths on Sunday, the Health Ministry said. Lav Aggarwal, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, said co-morbidity had played a major role in most deaths reported in the country. Meanwhile, as thousands of migrant workers take to the streets to walk back to their villages across states, the Centre said on Sunday that all those who have travelled during the lockdown period would be put under mandatory 14-day quarantine at government facilities. In his monthly radio program ‘Mann ki Baat’, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday apologised for the “harsh decision” of a 21-day nationwide lockdown enforced in an attempt to contain the pandemic.

Police officers in the South Indian city of Chennai have been warning people to stick to lockdown measures - while wearing helmets that look like the coronavirus.

The snazzy virus helmets were designed by an artist called Gowtham, who runs an art and craft company called Art Kingdom.

"I have been observing how people have been flouting lockdown orders, not taking proper measures while stepping out," Gowtham told the Indian Express, adding that he'd seen people "casually going out, not understanding the gravity of the situation".

"So, I thought it would be helpful in a way to show them coronavirus could come to them," he added.

1c1bd2df-74cd-428b-a309-a461e36ad55d.jpg

That's how it's always been in our part of the world.

NEW: India reports 115 new cases of coronavirus and 5 new deaths.

A total of 1,139 cases and 29 deaths.

the indian govt thought just as they did in kashmir, the lockdown would be successful but this isnt the case you cant cage 1.3bn people its impossible especially with over 900m needing state handouts.

If there is another election bjp will be out.

What a gem of a leader Tejasvi Surya is..

When experienced leaders are infighting and lacking coordination, this young leader has mobilised in extraordinary ways.

From time of crisis, he has reached out to the poorest, elderly and vulnerable. He has come up with so many measures to keep the citizens of Bangalore south safe.
He is a role model for all other politicians how to respond in these situations. Bravo!

trump having difficulty lock downing New York and New Jersey and Modi wants to Lockdown 1.3bn with the vast majority without food.

Va Va Va Modi

Incredible donations into the PMCARES fund initiated by the prime minister of india.
This fund has already exceeded the SAARC fund by few millions. This shows what minuscule amount pledged by regions in South Asia.

It is important to note that countries that have so far done a relatively good job of containing the coronavirus pandemic have refrained from imposing a complete, nation-wide, curfew-like lockdown. These include Singapore, Taiwan, Germany, and Turkey. Even China, where it all started, placed only the Hubei province under complete lockdown, not the whole country.

But Prime Minister Narendra Modi has put 1.3 billion people under a curfew-like lockdown. Since the authorities are using the word ‘curfew’ in the context of issuing passes, it is fair to call it a national curfew.

A national curfew for 21 days will definitely go a long way in reducing the transmission of the deadly virus. But what happens after 21 days? The virus won’t disappear after that. Not until we get a vaccine, and it will take at least a few months to vaccinate every Indian even after a vaccine has been developed. A few months is a very optimistic estimate. In other words, we are in this mess for years.

Like these other countries, India could also have avoided the need for a national lockdown had it done what those countries are doing: testing, testing, testing.

India’s 21-day national lockdown should thus be seen as buying time to create a massive testing infrastructure, so that even asymptomatic people could be tested and quarantined. That’s the only way to manage the coronavirus pandemic until we get drugs and vaccines to administer en masse.

Sadly, Narendra Modi’s two national addresses have done little to address this concern about India not taking the mass-testing approach. We need fast testing, cheap testing, easily available testing — and a well laid out mechanism to quarantine a person the moment she is found positive, without letting her infect others, including medical staff and family members.

You have to be really naive to believe India’s official numbers of coronavirus patients — and then there are those who have died of sudden pneumonia without being tested or counted as coronavirus deaths.

The lack of widespread testing, as well as the lack of PPEs (personal protective equipment) for doctors, is a scandal. These 21 days are Modi’s last chance to fix these two problems. The responsibility is his more than anyone else’s, but state governments will also be put to test.

Sadly, the evidence so far suggests that the Modi government does not have the capacity to think through the details of planning and execution. This is turning out to be another demonetisation, with the typical Modi problem of mistaking theatrics for achievement.

The deliverable is not how many people clanged pots and pans or how many obediently followed Modi’s advice of staying indoors. The deliverable is how many people got tested, how many doctors have protective gear, how many ventilators the government managed to manufacture or buy overnight. Another deliverable is isolation centres, temporary hospitals in indoor stadia and quarantine facilities that are fit for human beings.

Modi does not have the patience or the interest to deliver on these nitty-gritty details, he’s probably working on his next grandiose ‘address to the nation’ to be applauded for his oratory. He will leave the tough things to state governments and focus on the right optics to sustain his political ratings through a tough period.

If we survive the pandemic, we won’t survive the impending economic collapse. The economy isn’t on Modi’s radar either. He won a national election despite disastrous economic policies that gave us a 45 year-high unemployment rate. Why should he worry about the economy?

Demonetisation and GST resulted in killing demand, and this poorly planned national curfew will kill supply chains. We’ll be left with the great Indian discovery, the zero.

Modi announced a national curfew with little notice. He addressed India at 8 pm, and the curfew came into force at midnight. Just like demonetisation. Why couldn’t he have given some notice? Why couldn’t he have done his TV address at 8 am? Maximising prime time attention, you see.

The home ministry issued a list of exemptions but try explaining them to the cops on the street. The Indian police is doing what it loves to do the most: beating up Indians with lathis. Meanwhile, lakhs of trucks are stranded on state borders. Supply chains for the most essential items have been disrupted, including medicines, milk, groceries, food and newspaper deliveries. Nobody in the prime minister’s office seems to be aware of any such thing as crop harvesting, or the Rabi season, as farmers wonder how they’ll do it amid this national curfew. Only Modi can manage to be so clever as to disrupt the country’s medical supply chain while fighting a pandemic.

Modi is the only major world leader who has not yet announced a financial package. In his first speech, he said the finance minister will head a committee, but some in the finance ministry said they heard of this committee from the PM’s speech. He did announce Rs 15,000 crore extra to meet the health expenditure arising out of the Coronavirus crisis — that is Rs 5,000 crore less than the amount of money he has kept aside for his narcissistic and unnecessary project of rebuilding the Central Vista of New Delhi.

At this rate, more Indians might die of hunger than of coronavirus. Modi’s poor administrative skills, zero attention span for details, and preference for oratory over governance spell disaster for this crisis. In a few weeks, we might find ourselves overwhelmed with an epidemic in defiance of official numbers, while the economy might start looking like the 1980s.

https://theprint.in/opinion/modis-p...economy/388056/?amp&__twitter_impression=true

The government has said that reports claiming that government will extend the 21-day lockdown are “baseless”. The lockdown was imposed to check the spread of coronavirus disease Covid-19.

“There are rumours and media reports, claiming that the government will extend the lockdown when it expires. The Cabinet Secretary has denied these reports, and stated that they are baseless,” the Press Information Bureau (PIB) said on Twitter on Monday.

“I am surprised to see such reports, there is no such plan of extending the lockdown,” Cabinet Secretary Rajiv Gauba told a news agency.

The lockdown came into effect on Wednesday (March 25) after Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the nation. In his address a day before, PM Modi had said that the step is being taken to break the chain of infection and control the spread of coronavirus disease Covid-19.

He also urged people to avoid travel and stay wherever they are.

In his first address, on March 19, the Prime Minister had alerted the country to the dangers of the pandemic and called for a Janta Curfew for a day on March 22.

The lockdown, acknowledged by experts as a necessary preventive measure, has disrupted economic activity and caused an exodus of migrant workers from cities towards their villages, often on foot - in the process enhancing the risks of spreading the disease.

PM Modi again spoke to the countrymen on Sunday, this time through ‘Mann ki Baat’, his monthly radio address, where he apologised to citizens, especially the poor, for harsh decisions that have caused difficulties.

But the PM added that he was confident he would be forgiven because there was no other way for a country of India’s size to battle the pandemic, which had, in a way, chained the entire world. He underlined that it was important to battle an illness at a nascent stage, for if it escalated, defeating it would become far more difficult.

The total number of Covid-19 cases crossed 1000 on Sunday.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...-government/story-IK3gi5R1YvHy3Y9hsCWh2O.html

It is important to note that countries that have so far done a relatively good job of containing the coronavirus pandemic have refrained from imposing a complete, nation-wide, curfew-like lockdown. These include Singapore, Taiwan, Germany, and Turkey. Even China, where it all started, placed only the Hubei province under complete lockdown, not the whole country.

But Prime Minister Narendra Modi has put 1.3 billion people under a curfew-like lockdown. Since the authorities are using the word ‘curfew’ in the context of issuing passes, it is fair to call it a national curfew.

A national curfew for 21 days will definitely go a long way in reducing the transmission of the deadly virus. But what happens after 21 days? The virus won’t disappear after that. Not until we get a vaccine, and it will take at least a few months to vaccinate every Indian even after a vaccine has been developed. A few months is a very optimistic estimate. In other words, we are in this mess for years.

Like these other countries, India could also have avoided the need for a national lockdown had it done what those countries are doing: testing, testing, testing.

India’s 21-day national lockdown should thus be seen as buying time to create a massive testing infrastructure, so that even asymptomatic people could be tested and quarantined. That’s the only way to manage the coronavirus pandemic until we get drugs and vaccines to administer en masse.

Sadly, Narendra Modi’s two national addresses have done little to address this concern about India not taking the mass-testing approach. We need fast testing, cheap testing, easily available testing — and a well laid out mechanism to quarantine a person the moment she is found positive, without letting her infect others, including medical staff and family members.

You have to be really naive to believe India’s official numbers of coronavirus patients — and then there are those who have died of sudden pneumonia without being tested or counted as coronavirus deaths.

The lack of widespread testing, as well as the lack of PPEs (personal protective equipment) for doctors, is a scandal. These 21 days are Modi’s last chance to fix these two problems. The responsibility is his more than anyone else’s, but state governments will also be put to test.

Sadly, the evidence so far suggests that the Modi government does not have the capacity to think through the details of planning and execution. This is turning out to be another demonetisation, with the typical Modi problem of mistaking theatrics for achievement.

The deliverable is not how many people clanged pots and pans or how many obediently followed Modi’s advice of staying indoors. The deliverable is how many people got tested, how many doctors have protective gear, how many ventilators the government managed to manufacture or buy overnight. Another deliverable is isolation centres, temporary hospitals in indoor stadia and quarantine facilities that are fit for human beings.

Modi does not have the patience or the interest to deliver on these nitty-gritty details, he’s probably working on his next grandiose ‘address to the nation’ to be applauded for his oratory. He will leave the tough things to state governments and focus on the right optics to sustain his political ratings through a tough period.

If we survive the pandemic, we won’t survive the impending economic collapse. The economy isn’t on Modi’s radar either. He won a national election despite disastrous economic policies that gave us a 45 year-high unemployment rate. Why should he worry about the economy?

Demonetisation and GST resulted in killing demand, and this poorly planned national curfew will kill supply chains. We’ll be left with the great Indian discovery, the zero.

Modi announced a national curfew with little notice. He addressed India at 8 pm, and the curfew came into force at midnight. Just like demonetisation. Why couldn’t he have given some notice? Why couldn’t he have done his TV address at 8 am? Maximising prime time attention, you see.

The home ministry issued a list of exemptions but try explaining them to the cops on the street. The Indian police is doing what it loves to do the most: beating up Indians with lathis. Meanwhile, lakhs of trucks are stranded on state borders. Supply chains for the most essential items have been disrupted, including medicines, milk, groceries, food and newspaper deliveries. Nobody in the prime minister’s office seems to be aware of any such thing as crop harvesting, or the Rabi season, as farmers wonder how they’ll do it amid this national curfew. Only Modi can manage to be so clever as to disrupt the country’s medical supply chain while fighting a pandemic.

Modi is the only major world leader who has not yet announced a financial package. In his first speech, he said the finance minister will head a committee, but some in the finance ministry said they heard of this committee from the PM’s speech. He did announce Rs 15,000 crore extra to meet the health expenditure arising out of the Coronavirus crisis — that is Rs 5,000 crore less than the amount of money he has kept aside for his narcissistic and unnecessary project of rebuilding the Central Vista of New Delhi.

At this rate, more Indians might die of hunger than of coronavirus. Modi’s poor administrative skills, zero attention span for details, and preference for oratory over governance spell disaster for this crisis. In a few weeks, we might find ourselves overwhelmed with an epidemic in defiance of official numbers, while the economy might start looking like the 1980s.

https://theprint.in/opinion/modis-p...economy/388056/?amp&__twitter_impression=true
This will go over bhakts' heads even though they're already firmly buried several feet under ground.

This one is important to read,

The first case of Covid-19 was detected on 30 January in India. Owing to the seriousness of this disease in countries like Italy, France and Spain, besides China, India had a heads up on how to go about tackling this disease, which would surely become an epidemic in India.

But what was the Modi government doing back then? Preparing for ‘Namaste Trump’. What it should’ve been doing? Creating a blueprint of steps to be taken to prevent Covid-19 from becoming an epidemic in India. Who could’ve done this while our prime minister entertained Trump? The minister of health and family welfare.

Another stark example of centralisation is how India ran out of PPEs (personal protective equipment) like surgical masks, gloves, ventilators, etc. Since, the World Health Organisation had asked countries to stockpile PPE, the union ministry of commerce and industry issued a notification banning the export of all sorts of PPE the very next day after the first Covid-19 case was reported in India on 30 January. However, a week later, the Centre amended this ban and allowed export of all types of gloves, except NBR gloves as well as surgical masks. The ban only came into effect later on 19 March, when the government finally began to realise the gravity of the situation.

Wow... I just bumped on this video. This 14 year old kid predicted this to happen in August last year.

Must admit, I am impressed with the way this situation is handled by Yogi govt in UP, Uddhav Thakrey in Maharastra and also Gujrat govt. Biggest dissapointment is the AAP govt in Delhi. More was expected from Kejriwal and his party but all they are doing is adding fuel to the fire in this desperate times.

FIR against AAP's Raghav Chadha for making beating migrant workers remark against UP CM

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...rkers-remark-against-up-cm-1660974-2020-03-29

Hope Delhi people now learning perks of voting someone incapable just for free water and electricity.

Must admit, I am impressed with the way this situation is handled by Yogi govt in UP, Uddhav Thakrey in Maharastra and also Gujrat govt. Biggest dissapointment is the AAP govt in Delhi. More was expected from Kejriwal and his party but all they are doing is adding fuel to the fire in this desperate times.

FIR against AAP's Raghav Chadha for making beating migrant workers remark against UP CM

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...rkers-remark-against-up-cm-1660974-2020-03-29

Hope Delhi people now learning perks of voting someone incapable just for free water and electricity.

Mamata and kerala government also till now has been excellent

I read 200 people from Nizamuddin has developed symptoms and whole area has been sealed ,lets hope not everybody is covid positive.

You will find many indians saying that China is not telling the exact numbers but same can't be said about other countries including India? Hypocrisy at its best. :inti