Coronavirus in Pakistan

[MENTION=128087]last_knight[/MENTION] [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] Docs, just curious about what's the protocol for declaring a patient who tested +ve as recovered, are they tested once or twice before declaring them as recovered or just 14 days home quarantine with no testing?
it is twice. But we do it just once for the

Covid Data is still not sufficient enough. Based upon previous studies for Respiratory Viruses, many believe the pattern of Covid is not different.

OBESE PEOLE :
>Viral clearence is delayed.
>Show more symptoms and for longer.
>Shed more Virus and for longer.
>Adipose Tissues become Virus Reservoir.
>If +ve, Should Quarantine for longer.
yes I know that from my clinical experience that obese are poor in recovery but I was asking about yhe relatio of mutations and obesity specifically.

Karachi reports lowest single-day tally of Covid-19 infections in over 2 months

Karachi registered 312 new coronavirus cases in the last 24 hours, its lowest single-day total of new infections in over two months.

The last time the metropolis had reported this low a daily figure of new cases was on May 6, when it recorded 339 infections.

Daily cases have been on the decline in Karachi, the country's worst-affected city, since last month, when it reported daily numbers well above 2,000 cases

FM Qureshi discharged from hospital after 10 days following Covid-19 treatment

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Tuesday said that he has been shifted home after being treated for the coronavirus and undergoing plasma therapy at Rawalpindi's Military Hospital (MH), but is yet to test negative.

Qureshi had tested positive for the virus on July 3 and quarantined himself after developing a slight fever. In a tweet, he had said that he felt "strong and energetic" and would continue his duties from home.

However, he was shifted to hospital the next day, July 4, according to his spokesperson.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1568969/f...al-after-10-days-following-covid-19-treatment

For once everyone needs to play sensible role during Eid Days.
Graph shows Pakistan in last 20 days has done unexpectedly well wrt Covid. Need to not mess it up over Eid Days and Independence Day.

Sindh govt decides to increase testing in virus hotspots

Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah has said that the provincial government has decided to increase testing in virus hotspots.

In a meeting, Shah said that the Sindh government is offering free tests and encouraged people having symptoms to get themselves tested. He directed the provincial disaster management authority to send messages to people on their phones as to how they could get tested if they were showing symptoms of the virus.

The chief minister also allowed cattle markets to be opened, SOPs for which will be issued later.

Second Covid wave inevitable if precautions ignored on Eid

Warning against a potential second wave of Covid-19 if people abandoned precautions during Eidul Azha and Muharram, Primary and Secondary Healthcare Secretary Muhammad Usman has beseeched people “to be very very careful, otherwise things can quickly spin out of hand”.

“The situation is now relatively under control, but any mistake can reverse it quickly, as happened following Eidul Fitr.”

Flanked by Dr Mahmood Shaukat, chairman of the Corona Expert Advisory Group and members of the Technical Working Group, Usman pleaded: “Covid positivity has dropped to six per cent against 31pc in June. The number of critical patients has declined and recovery rate has improved to 60pc. The number of tests dropped not because of capacity issues, but due to fewer requirements. All these signs show that the situation is under control.”

“However, fears are growing that these signs could denigrate if people throw caution to the wind during Eidul Azha and Muharram, as happened after Eidul Fitr when the numbers skyrocketed within days.”

Situation in Pakistan eases but is it due to lack of testing?

The latest official statistics on Pakistan’s coronavirus outbreak show deaths are at their lowest since 28 May, while the country has its lowest number of patients on ventilators since 8 June.

Until three weeks ago, Pakistan was one of the worst performing countries in the world, on a par with India. Each of them overtook China in terms of numbers in the first week of June.

But the situation in Pakistan seems to have eased up rather quickly over the last three weeks. It may be partly due to a drop in the number of daily tests.

Despite having achieved the capacity to conduct 40,000 tests a day, the maximum number so far has not exceeded 24,000.

A report on 7 July said Punjab, the most populous province of the country, had cut down on daily tests by 30% since mid-June, thereby artificially lowering official data on infections.

Two subsequent investigations by BBC Urdu also found holes in official data.

The first BBC report earlier this month used data from government-run graveyards to find an exponential rise in the number of deaths during June 2020 as compared to June 2019. Only a fraction of the additional deaths were officially credited to Covid-19.

A second report found that in many cases patients testing positive for Covid in Punjab province were not reflected in the official data for the day.

Situation in Pakistan eases but is it due to lack of testing?

The latest official statistics on Pakistan’s coronavirus outbreak show deaths are at their lowest since 28 May, while the country has its lowest number of patients on ventilators since 8 June.

Until three weeks ago, Pakistan was one of the worst performing countries in the world, on a par with India. Each of them overtook China in terms of numbers in the first week of June.

But the situation in Pakistan seems to have eased up rather quickly over the last three weeks. It may be partly due to a drop in the number of daily tests.

Despite having achieved the capacity to conduct 40,000 tests a day, the maximum number so far has not exceeded 24,000.

A report on 7 July said Punjab, the most populous province of the country, had cut down on daily tests by 30% since mid-June, thereby artificially lowering official data on infections.

Two subsequent investigations by BBC Urdu also found holes in official data.

The first BBC report earlier this month used data from government-run graveyards to find an exponential rise in the number of deaths during June 2020 as compared to June 2019. Only a fraction of the additional deaths were officially credited to Covid-19.

A second report found that in many cases patients testing positive for Covid in Punjab province were not reflected in the official data for the day.

yeah how can such a useless country actually have done better than the might of other richer countries? I mean how could it be? ah yes, the conniving evil Pakistanis always looking for a way to get around things have done it again!!

Some of the discrepancies are undeniable though. There is undercounting for sure but I hope it’s a statistically insignificant number.

We have done well against the odds when even us doctors weren't confident how will we deal Covid with our disorganized healthcare system.
Unexpected in the sense as we always underestimate our capabilities.

Total Numbers from last 12-15 days are not incorrect. In our hospital in last two weeks, Covid is now 15-20% from Mid-June level.

Alhamdulillah.

Dunia to baatain karti hay ore karay g.

Da** if you do, Da** if you dont.

When daily reported cases were high, Govt was blamed (mainly from within Country, by Mafia) of reporting more cases for Foreign Aid.

When daily cases are declining markedly, Pakistan is being blamed for hiding something.

Some of the discrepancies are undeniable though. There is undercounting for sure but I hope it’s a statistically insignificant number.

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]
Discrepancies, if any, are statistically insignificant. Around Mid of June, we had like 300+ (500+ on Somedays ) patients admitted in our hospital, now its less than 50 and none critical.

Pakistan reports lowest daily number of coronavirus deaths since May

Pakistan has reported its lowest number of coronavirus deaths since May 28 after 40 people passed away from the virus during the last 24 hours.

The total number of deaths reported so far in Pakistan are 5,426. 2145 new coronavirus cases were also were reported in the country taking the tally to 257,914. 108,913 cases have so far been reported in Sindh, 88,539 in Punjab, 31,217 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 11,322 in Balochistan,

Similarly, 14,402 infections have been reported in Islamabad, 1,750 Gilgit-Baltistan and 1771 in Azad Kashmir.

Meanwhile, Minister for Planning and Development Asad Umar has dismissed news that decrease in coronavirus cases is due to reduction in the testing. "Decline is primarily due to a nearly 60% reduction in positivity," he tweeted.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/4000...-daily-number-of-coronavirus-deaths-since-may

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I urge the nation to continue observing SOPs essential to sustain our positive trend. Eid ul Azha must be celebrated with simplicity so as not to repeat what happened last Eid when SOPs were ignored & our hospitals were choked. I am ordering strict implementation of govt SOPs.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1284056092797022208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

We have done well against the odds when even us doctors weren't confident how will we deal Covid with our disorganized healthcare system.
Unexpected in the sense as we always underestimate our capabilities.

Total Numbers from last 12-15 days are not incorrect. In our hospital in last two weeks, Covid is now 15-20% from Mid-June level.

Alhamdulillah.

Dunia to baatain karti hay ore karay g.

Da** if you do, Da** if you dont.

When daily reported cases were high, Govt was blamed (mainly from within Country, by Mafia) of reporting more cases for Foreign Aid.

When daily cases are declining markedly, Pakistan is being blamed for hiding something.

This is very good to hear Mashallah. Currently i am stuck in a local lockdown as our local area has had to go in lockdown again. So it is very heartening to hear how Pakistan has dealt with things.

On a more macro level, do you think the new capacity in beds and concentration on health funding and reform will help you and your colleagues in the future?

What more do you think the govt needs to do to ensure we can get the building blocks of universal health care up and running?

Also do you know if the govts health insurance scheme is working or not?

The same experts who were swearing by every single obscure report that mentioned that the cases in Pakistan might hit millions aren't willing to accept newer reports that say that cases might be dropping and some part of the credit goes to IK government. Bughz-e-Imran is a wonderful thing it exposes all these psuedo intellectuals.

One of the few countries that are showing a declining trend.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Alhamdulilah Pakistan is among the few countries where COVID-19 cases are decreasing(blue). <br><br>Not only that, the loss to Pakistan's GDP is also lesser compared to other emerging & developed countries. <br><br>Source for Map: New York Times: <br>Link <a href="https://t.co/cGhg4jzkkb">https://t.co/cGhg4jzkkb</a> <a href="https://t.co/4FhK4jmqBz">https://t.co/4FhK4jmqBz</a> <a href="https://t.co/lLvIdDb2eC">pic.twitter.com/lLvIdDb2eC</a></p>— Musa (@MusaNV18) <a href="https://twitter.com/MusaNV18/status/1284065398686658560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is very good to hear Mashallah. Currently i am stuck in a local lockdown as our local area has had to go in lockdown again. So it is very heartening to hear how Pakistan has dealt with things.

On a more macro level, do you think the new capacity in beds and concentration on health funding and reform will help you and your colleagues in the future?

Not much. Most of upgraded facilities focused Major Cities like Lahore, Islamabad and Faisalabad. Priority should be to provide more tertiary care centres in other cities.

What more do you think the govt needs to do to ensure we can get the building blocks of universal health care up and running?

We need an Upgraded and Organized Primary and Secondary Healthcare like Basic Health Units covering 3-4 Villages and More focus on Tehsil level Hospitals.
As for now, Tertiary care Hospitals are oberburdened (30-40% beyond capacity) with cases that could have been managed at Primary and Secondary Healthcare centres

Also do you know if the govts health insurance scheme is working or not?

Working but they have limited Hospitals on Panel of Insurance policy. Initial reports are that these hospitals were providing free services chraging upto 2000/day and beyond that patient has to pay at his/her own. They divided an annual 720K insurance to 2k/Day :facepalm:

Don't know who designed this and whether this is localized bullying or happening everywhere

Above all, we need to realize the importance of, and allocate more funds for, Preventive Medicine.

sindk (karachi) had a amazing day yesterday - had 10-12 thousand recoveries - as the graph shows its punjab who has the most active cases and is testing less than sindh.

Lets hope this continues, as we all the as eid is around the corner - eid days will be the most important. I honestly do believe IK should bring the rangers /army out for eid- especially in the big cities

Alhumdulilah situation getting alot better now

Capture.JPG

I do hope people take precaution during Eid. I fear we will have a second wave 2-3 weeks after Eid because corona is subsiding and people have stopped taking it as seriously as before.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The curious case of reduced testing in Pakistan - a brilliantly researched piece by <a href="https://twitter.com/_safiamahmood?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@_safiamahmood</a> <br>It features Mr. Omar Chugtai of Chugtai Labs who attributes our reduced positivity rate of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/coronavirus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#coronavirus</a> to contact tracing & implementation of SOPs. <a href="https://t.co/4C2MMyn7m3">https://t.co/4C2MMyn7m3</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1284549132586233860?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

i stand corrected -i was one of those saying it was because of low testing

is thr any stats showing people who were deemed as serious critical - who then turned into a recovery case?

and any stats on people people who have recovered from being put onto a ventilator v none ventilator?

But we also have reduction in the number of deaths. How can low testing correlate with decrease in Moralities ?

it doesn't, but deaths really only mean on the individual case, we can generalize that people who have certain problems like obesity , poor immune system are way more likely to die from it.

as the recovery rate is between 60-73% for past week- has anyone tried to predict when active cases lower to around 2500 or less - i understand its very dependent on eid - but ive noticed the sharp recovery rate - last 5 days i think around 30,000 people recovered +plus new cases is under 2200 a day.

Yaar bus Eid aur dus Moharam araam se guzar jaye then we are home free.

Number of active cases in Pakistan continue to drop

Active cases of the coronavirus continue to drop in Pakistan, where the government says it is testing fewer and fewer people because there has been a drop in the number of patients seeking treatment for COVID-19.

On Sunday, at least 1,587 new cases of the virus were registered, taking the country's overall tally to 265,083 since its outbreak began in late February. Active cases, however, fell by 97, as the case increase was offset by recoveries. Active cases are now at 53,465, their lowest level since June 3.

At least 31 deaths took the death toll to 5,689 on Sunday, the data showed.

Can some of the medical professionals on here explain why the recovery rate is suddenly so high? is this due to treatment? the methods used? a younger populace who have a stronger immune system??

More relevant answer here is upgraded guidelines from WHO saying 1 negative PCR is good enough to declare revovery.
Previously requirement for recovery declaration was 2 consecutive negative PCR atleast 48 hours apart.
( after result of 1st PCR, it takes 3 days more from sampling for 2nd PCR to its result. This wait extra 3 days more is not necessary now)

Earlier, PPP member Shazia Mari moved a calling attention notice on behalf of the opposition, saying that the number of coronavirus cases had declined due to less tests. Responding to the notice, Parliamentary Health Secretary Dr Noshin Hamid denied such an impression.

“Coronavirus cases are declining in all parts of the country, except Sindh,” she said. “One of the reasons is that previously first three tests of a patient were conducted – first positive then two negative – but now the trend is to conduct two tests first positive and then negative,” she added.

“Most people who stay in quarantine do not even go for a negative test after getting well,” she continued. Dr Noshin said number of deaths and critically-ill patients could not be hidden. “If anyone has any doubts, go to the hospitals and check wards.”

She stressed the need for adopting precaution on the coming Eidul Azha, warning: “If we are not careful on Eid, coronavirus may raise its head again.” Later the National Assembly session was adjourned until Tuesday.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2255877/pml-n-ppp-turn-on-each-other-over-privatisation-process

Wasn't sure whether this should go in the 'Corona in India' thread or here. Then I thought, just do an :ik

In a tweet Friday, Imran Khan said: “Pakistan is amongst the fortunate countries where Covid 19 cases in hospitals, especially in intensive care & death rate have gone down, unlike in our unfortunate neighbour India. This positive trend has been the result of our smart lockdown policy & the nation observing govt SOPs.”

But closer inspection of the data shows Pakistan is conducting 21 per cent less tests per million than India, and has 56 per cent more cases per million population while having one-sixth the population.

Pakistan is conducting 7,686 tests per million compared to India’s 9,730 tests per million. As on 17 July, Pakistan had 57,885 active cases, of which 1,604 were critical. On the same day, India had 3,64,421 active cases, with 8,944 of them critical.

From the perspective of population density, India has 759 cases per million population, while Pakistan has 1,185 cases per million. India has reported 19 deaths per million population while Pakistan has reported 25. This, despite the fact that India’s population is over 1.3 billion while Pakistan’s population is just over 212 million. Pakistan’s population density of 287 per square kilometre is also much lower than India’s 464 per sq km.

SOURCE

Wasn't sure whether this should go in the 'Corona in India' thread or here. Then I thought, just do an :ik

SOURCE

Yes because tests per million also lead to death rate falling from 150-160 per day to 30-40? Or people on ventilators in the country reducing to essentially 1/5th of the peak?

Indian logic ko ikhees toppon ki salaami.

:salute

Yes because tests per million also lead to death rate falling from 150-160 per day to 30-40? Or people on ventilators in the country reducing to essentially 1/5th of the peak?

Indian logic ko ikhees toppon ki salaami.

:salute

Wasn't aware of the tweet by Imran. Found it disappointing that he's turning this too into a measuring contest.

Users on the internet or here doing it is one thing. Anyway, it's maybe the illusion of the high standards I've always held him to, slowly melting away :imran

Wasn't aware of the tweet by Imran. Found it disappointing that he's turning this too into a measuring contest.

Users on the internet or here doing it is one thing. Anyway, it's maybe the illusion of the high standards I've always held him to, slowly melting away :imran

Agree, he shouldn't have mentioned India. Should have kept it to himself and not compared to another country. With that being said, the analysis from that article contains data from the start of the pandemic and not the recent data. The key metrics are active cases and the recent number of deaths. Pakistan has 52k active cases while India has 400k active cases. That's 33% higher when adjusted for the population. Pakistan daily deaths in the last week or so have been 40-60 while India has been around 550-650.

With that being said, Pakistan cannot take this lightly. Eid and Muharram will be very crucial in maintaining this downward pressure.

Punjab reports less than 300 cases for first time since May 22

Punjab has reported 253 new Covid-19 cases, according to the government's database on coronavirus, taking the provincial total to 90,444. The province has reported less than 300 cases for the first time since May 22.

It has also reported seven additional fatalities taking the death toll to 2,090. More than 66,000 people have recovered from the virus in the province.

I expect spikes in august..Loag baaz nahin aatay..then muharram will mean big marches..why oh why cant the govt just make a big announcement across media with an advertisement campaign? it is infuriating...

I ageee too. Just because India doing bad doesn’t mean we can be happy with key situation

Hi views have becoming harder after reading the various intel reports and seeing what India is upto in Pakistan. Also feb 26th-27th probably affected him too. Its not easy to be all lovey dovey when Your neighbour is trying to kill people and sow terrorism in your country.

Pakistanis risk unproven plasma treatment in virus fight

Pakistanis with COVID-19 are risking their lives and navigating a shady black market to get blood plasma transfusions, despite scant medical proof about the remedy's effectiveness.

Convalescent plasma treatment, where the antibody-rich part of the blood from a recovered patient is transfused to a coronavirus sufferer, is growing in popularity across Pakistan amid widely circulating claims of success on social media.

Like some other nations, Pakistan is conducting medical trials on the treatment, which has shown promising signs but is far from proven.

103-year-old man overcomes Covid-19 in upper Chitral

BOONI: A 103-year old man has survived coronavirus infection in the remote mountainous region of Upper Chitral in Northern Pakistan. Aziz Abdul Alim was admitted to the newly established Aga Khan Health Services Emergency Response Centre in Booni, Upper Chitral, on 1st July, after testing positive for COVID-19. He was treated immediately and over the course of his almost two-week stay at Centre, he stabilised without requiring supplemental oxygen. He was discharged in stable condition and showing no symptoms on 13th July, 2020.

"We treated Mr Aziz as a high-risk patient given his advanced age and provided the appropriate medical care along with psychosocial and moral support - equally important during these distressing times. In a short span of time we have successfully treated 59 Covid-19 patients at this facility - many of whom were elderly," said Miraj Uddin, Regional Head for Chitral, Aga Khan Health Service, Pakistan.

The establishment of the Emergency Response Centre in Booni comes as the Aga Khan Development Network increases efforts to ensure that those in Pakistan's remote and isolated mountainous communities can access quality healthcare in the face of the Covid-19 outbreak.

"We were very worried about my father's poor health. We felt there was no hope of survival. My father was very excited at the time of his discharge. He greeted all the staff and management while leaving the response centre and thanked everyone for taking care of him," said Sohail, son of Aziz Abdul Alim.-PR

https://www.brecorder.com/news/40006799/103-year-old-man-overcomes-covid-19-in-upper-chitral

Less than 10 days to Eid... Umeed hai awaam aqal se kaam lehgi warna things could get nasty.

its not good enough to request the awaam. The rules need to be enforced. The govt needs to get the law enforcement agencies to monitor and then fine and enforce the markets. We know what is going to happen so why do they play this liberally? If SOP's are not followed places should be shut down and lockdowns enforced. End of. If you have a "rubbish Eid well thats your fault" should be the message..

Done my corona test yesterday. Came in contact with a corona positive persone. Result will come today. I am in quarantine from last 3 days.

May Allah swt keep you safe and healthy. i hope your test is negative but even if it isnt just isolate for 14 days to be safe.

Active Cases are below 50K. Psychological barrier. This is indeed a Great News atm.

Eid, 14 August and Moharram....one after another and we can't afford to relax for next 07 weeks at least.

Active Cases are below 50K. Psychological barrier. This is indeed a Great News atm.

Eid, 14 August and Moharram....one after another and we can't afford to relax for next 07 weeks at least.

My concern is the govts measures to tackle the expected surge due to our awaam not listening. Have you seen anything around what they are planning to do to stop this expected surge?

Events like Eid, 14 August, Moharram etc are golden days for Traders and Religious Groups who earn profit of few months every day during these events.

In comparison to govt, Traders and Religious groups have more tricks, more incentives and more deep rooted influence in public. No matter how much govt tries to educate and convince public wrt following SOPs, public will still prefer listening to Traders and Religious groups who for their Mega Profits will always exploit public on these events.

Focus should be on negotiating with Traders and Religious Groups and to fine them if needed. Now that's very very difficult.

103-year-old Pakistani man survives COVID-19

A 103-year-old man has recovered from COVID-19 in Pakistan to become one of the oldest survivors of the disease in the world, beating the odds in a country with a weak healthcare system, his relatives and doctors said.

Aziz Abdul Alim, a resident of a village in the mountainous northern district of Chitral, was released last week from an emergency response centre after testing positive in early July.

“We were worried for him given his age, but he wasn’t worried at all,” Alim’s son Sohail Ahmed told Reuters on the phone from his village, close to Pakistan’s border with China and Afghanistan.

Ahmed quoted his father as saying that he had been through a lot in life and the coronavirus did not scare him. He did however, not like being in isolation.

A carpenter until his 70s, Alim has outlived three wives and nine sons and daughters, said Ahmed, who is himself in his 50s, adding that his father had separated from his fourth wife and is currently married to his fifth.

Alim also had to be provided with moral and psychological support during his isolation and treatment, Dr Sardar Nawaz, a senior medical officer at the Aga Khan Health Service emergency centre told Reuters on Friday.

The makeshift centre was set up in a girls’ hostel just weeks before Alim was brought in and is the only one equipped to deal with COVID-19 patients for miles.

Pakistan has registered more than 270,000 cases of the disease and 5,763 deaths. While the number of people testing positive has dropped over the last month, government officials fear there could be another rise during the Muslim religious festival of Eid al-Adha, which falls on Aug. 1.

https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-h...tani-man-survives-covid-19-idUKKCN24P23B?il=0

Amazing trend continues. Deaths down to just 24.

Eid is just a week away I hope people take precautions. If Eid and Muharram goes by smoothly then we will be out of the woods.

I think if we survive the 2nd surge then I will begin to feel more confident.

I believe 'Asymptomatic Patients' were in Millions. Good thing is they have recovered. Let's hope their immunity lasts for few months at least.

A group is conducting Antibody Tests Randomly among healthcare workers +/- their families. They are doing it for many cities, conducting 1000+ in one city. They told me more than 35% have Antibodies.

btw [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] share your observations.

I believe 'Asymptomatic Patients' were in Millions. Good thing is they have recovered. Let's hope their immunity lasts for few months at least.
And that's why any official figures on numbers of positive cases are completely meaningless.

A group is conducting Antibody Tests Randomly among healthcare workers +/- their families. They are doing it for many cities, conducting 1000+ in one city. They told me more than 35% have Antibodies.

I am betting that the number of actual positive cases are many times the official figures. But due to the median population being much younger than Western countries (eg Pakistan's is around 22.5 years versus UK's around 45.5 years) the vast majority of cases are asymptomatic, along with high recovery rates due to same, and therefore are not / cannot be counted.

Otherwise how else do you account for the likes of the USA and UK having many times higher numbers per capita, deaths as well as positive cases, despite having far better health care systems?

The first BBC report earlier this month used data from government-run graveyards to find an exponential rise in the number of deaths during June 2020 as compared to June 2019. Only a fraction of the additional deaths were officially credited to Covid-19..

In Pakistan, or elsewhere for that matter, if you are asymptomatic are you going to go and have a test performed?

If someone dies in a small town or rural village, where most of Pakistan's population lives, and Pakistan being a Muslim country, whereby due to cultural and religious norms, there is an urgency to perform the funeral/burial before sundown, do you think anyone is going to say "wait, lets check if he/she was Covid-19 positive before we bury"?
Contrast this with the paperwork (and possibly autopsies if reasons for death are not clear) required in the likes of the USA and UK before a burial can take place.

Pakistanis need to stop patting themselves on the back and fooling themselves thinking that they're almost in the clear. They're not. Far from it.

And that's why any official figures on numbers of positive cases are completely meaningless.

I am betting that the number of actual positive cases are many times the official figures. But due to the median population being much younger than Western countries (eg Pakistan's is around 22.5 years versus UK's around 45.5 years) the vast majority of cases are asymptomatic, along with high recovery rates due to same, and therefore are not / cannot be counted.

Otherwise how else do you account for the likes of the USA and UK having many times higher numbers per capita, deaths as well as positive cases, despite having far better health care systems?

In Pakistan, or elsewhere for that matter, if you are asymptomatic are you going to go and have a test performed?

If someone dies in a small town or rural village, where most of Pakistan's population lives, and Pakistan being a Muslim country, whereby due to cultural and religious norms, there is an urgency to perform the funeral/burial before sundown, do you think anyone is going to say "wait, lets check if he/she was Covid-19 positive before we bury"?
Contrast this with the paperwork (and possibly autopsies if reasons for death are not clear) required in the likes of the USA and UK before a burial can take place.

Pakistanis need to stop patting themselves on the back and fooling themselves thinking that they're almost in the clear. They're not. Far from it.

You don't know what you are talking about but just trying to act like an expert. Yes all the world's health professionals and data analysts are wrong but this one guy on PP knows the full truth. You did it man. You busted all these fake statistics. Somebody nominate Yossarian here for a Nobel.

People living in rural areas aren't some inferior species. They have a working brain as well. If they see a family member struggling to breath and taking their last breaths they won't be like 'oh well his time was up anyway'.

People in rural areas are aware of the concept of hospital. Please don't talk about things you don't know about.

You don't know what you are talking about but just trying to act like an expert. Yes all the world's health professionals and data analysts are wrong but this one guy on PP knows the full truth. You did it man. You busted all these fake statistics. Somebody nominate Yossarian here for a Nobel.

People living in rural areas aren't some inferior species. They have a working brain as well. If they see a family member struggling to breath and taking their last breaths they won't be like 'oh well his time was up anyway'.

People in rural areas are aware of the concept of hospital. Please don't talk about things you don't know about.

Trump was trying to kid everyone that "it will disappear soon". And yet they're now getting over 70,000 positives per day.

But of course, I forget, Pakistan has a much superior health care system than the USA, as well as having a far more robust test and trace setup, and that completely explains Pakistan's 271,000 positives versus USA's 4,150,000 positives, and Pakistan's 5,787 Covid-19 related deaths versus 146,000 in the USA

ie USA's positive cases being 15 x Pakistan's and USA's Covid-19 deaths being 25 x those of Pakistan's, even though USA's population is only 1.5 x that of Pakistan's.

Yep, Pakistan's superior setup explains it all.

Perhaps Pakistan should be sending advisors to the UK, USA and other European countries to advise them about it's superior methods for controlling this pandemic?

Trump was trying to kid everyone that "it will disappear soon". And yet they're now getting over 70,000 positives per day.

But of course, I forget, Pakistan has a much superior health care system than the USA, as well as having a far more robust test and trace setup, and that completely explains Pakistan's 271,000 positives versus USA's 4,150,000 positives, and Pakistan's 5,787 Covid-19 related deaths versus 146,000 in the USA

ie USA's positive cases being 15 x Pakistan's and USA's Covid-19 deaths being 25 x those of Pakistan's, even though USA's population is only 1.5 x that of Pakistan's.

Yep, Pakistan's superior setup explains it all.

Perhaps Pakistan should be sending advisors to the UK, USA and other European countries to advise them about it's superior methods for controlling this pandemic?

So lets say Pakistan has millions of cases more than the US, then where are all the dead bodies going? Are they evaporating in thin air? How are people hiding their dead?

Heck when it had accelerated in June we had actual practicing doctors on PP who were borderline panicking at the beds being full. Now they all report that situation is better.

But what do they know in front of expert Yossarian who has been keeping a tabs on everybody dying or getting sick in Pakistan. He definitely knows more than practicing doctors.

So lets say Pakistan has millions of cases more than the US, then where are all the dead bodies going? Are they evaporating in thin air? How are people hiding their dead?

Heck when it had accelerated in June we had actual practicing doctors on PP who were borderline panicking at the beds being full. Now they all report that situation is better.

But what do they know in front of expert Yossarian who has been keeping a tabs on everybody dying or getting sick in Pakistan. He definitely knows more than practicing doctors.
Are you refuting the above figures? Trump and Boris may be fools but the institutions in these two countries as well as the other European countries are far more reliable than those of Pakistan.

You keep ranting on about 'experts', Well how these so called experts that you keep going on about explain the points I mentioned re- the vastly different positive and death rates in the UK/USA versus Pakistan?

You can rant all you like and play the man rather than the ball, but at least make some effort to counter the above points with a sensible counter argument.

As for what Pakistani doctors in Pakistan hospitals may be claiming vis-a-vis the reductions in the number of cases .... well I'd trust their figures to the same extent as I would fly in an airliner piloted by someone who obtained their pilots license in Pakistan.

Yeah we should not trust the opinion of [MENTION=128087]last_knight[/MENTION] [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] and [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] who are actually first hand dealing with covid patients and instead believe your baqwas.

So this is your detailed counter argument vis-a-vis the figures I quoted above? I rest my case.

Are you refuting the above figures? Trump and Boris may be fools but the institutions in these two countries as well as the other European countries are far more reliable than those of Pakistan.

You keep ranting on about 'experts', Well how these so called experts that you keep going on about explain the points I mentioned re- the vastly different positive and death rates in the UK/USA versus Pakistan?

You can rant all you like and play the man rather than the ball, but at least make some effort to counter the above points with a sensible counter argument.

We have our problems but it's not Pakistan's fault that Obesity prevalence in USA is 40%+ vs less than 20% in Pakistan. This Difference is more marked among young population. Or you want to blame us for not being obese enough :)))

A disease may behave differently in different regions.

Hepatitis-C has 6 Genotypes with further subtypes. Most aggressive, most lethal and most difficult to treat are Genotypes 1 and 4. OTOH Types 2 and 3 are less aggressive, less lethal and comparatively easy to treat.

Do you know geographical distribution of these types? Genotype 1 and 4 are predominant types in Europe and USA. 2 & 3 are predominant in Pakistan ( According to consensus data Type 2 and 3 constitutes 95% of all Hepatitis-C in Pakistan).

If Covid Mortality is lower in Pakistan as compared to UK/USA, it doesn't mean we are being ignorant and under-reporting cases + deaths.

Covid may have different strains in different countries. And I have said it few times in this thread that virus mutates to more virulent strains in micro-environment of Obesity.

Good post. The deaths are being underreported, that is a fact. All one has to do is look at all cause mortalities for June/July and compare this year with the previous ones. You will see that in both Punjab and Sindh, there are excess deaths even after accounting for covid.

But they are not that much, 1000-1500, from the numbers I saw. The skews the CFR but still in line with what Korea (they had the textbook response to the pandemic) has, of around 2.5.

US and UK, Italy too, are reporting deaths with covid and due to covid as covid deaths and we are not to the best of my knowledge, nor is India. That's a big factor as well.

The cases are down, that's true as well, although the testing remains stubbornly around 25k and the reason they are giving for the number are crap. I would like them get up to full capacity, get random samples, so that we know the true extent of the cases.