Coronavirus in Pakistan

Looks like the viral strain from Iran is more potent than one from China. Could it be it has already mutated?
higher mortality rate and faster spread is being seen in this case

Two weeks ago, you were asking me for “sources” when I told you that it was on the rise in Pakistan.

thn you should just simply reply me back with some details that the patients ere coming from Iran side etc etc .... :)

Looks like the viral strain from Iran is more potent than one from China. Could it be it has already mutated?
higher mortality rate and faster spread is being seen in this case

Quite possible.

This seems like straight out of a movie.

Blame the disgusting country that is China. Don’t blame Iran.

Iran should close all shrines and create crystal clear processes and help the people stuck there instead of showing bravado and officials licking shrines to prove that it's safe.

That's a criminal act, and there is blame involved here. If they work in eradicating spread, helping the people who are stuck, the blame goes off them.

They shouldn't be part of the problem but the solution, it's as simple as that.

Coronavirus cannot be stopped.

Even in Europe pretty much every country has it.

The other interesting fact is that while in Europe they have encouraged their citizens with Corona to get home as quick as possible and go into isolation(in their own home) Pakistan government stopped it's citizens from coming home. Even those that were not effected but were in risk area. However this approach will not stop Corona, but will hold it away for longer time. The European method I think the government can control it better if they know who has it. In Pakistan all of a sudden it will start to spread and people will infect each other locally. Because the government has no idea.

My mum is in pakistan and I want her to come back to the UK because of this. I know people will say that the UK is a lot more badly affected than pakistan but I feel it's just a matter of time before it spreads rapidly in pakistan and the facilities and infrastructure in the UK is better suited to handle an outbreak.

My mum is completely refusing to listen to me. According to her when the temperature increases in Pakistan over the next month or so it will kill the virus? Is this true? Sounds like it's a myth currently being circulated around pak?

My mum is in pakistan and I want her to come back to the UK because of this. I know people will say that the UK is a lot more badly affected than pakistan but I feel it's just a matter of time before it spreads rapidly in pakistan and the facilities and infrastructure in the UK is better suited to handle an outbreak.

My mum is completely refusing to listen to me. According to her when the temperature increases in Pakistan over the next month or so it will kill the virus? Is this true? Sounds like it's a myth currently being circulated around pak?

in past, it happend with other kind of flus , dont know about coron virus. only doctors can tell.
you should do what u think best for ur mom. if u think its good for her to be in UK thn bring her in UK. dont listen to anyone except doctors.

I think people in Pakistan might be safer depending on where they live. The best advice for your mom would be to stay at home for next couple of weeks and avoid public gatherings. Meet only close friends and relatives who themselves have limited contact with outside. Don't meet with people who have been to virus affected areas or countries.

The disease won't randomly appear all over the country. It is mostly going to follow the path of those who have been to virus infected countries hence these inviduals need to show some responsibility and limit their mobility as much as possible.

Why aren’t we banning air travel like India? Europe flights need to be cancelled altogether.

Pathetic from Pakistan, not taking this seriously. PSL is still going on

New coronavirus case emerges in Skardu

A new coronavirus case has emerged from Skardu, Gilgit-Baltistan, health department official Dr Shah Ramzan confirmed, bringing the country's total number of cases to 21.

According to the official, the 31-year-old had returned to Pakistan on February 25 after travelling to Iran. He maintained that three cases of the virus have been reported in Gilgit-Baltistan so far.

He added that in light of the situation, officials were working on temporarily suspending Friday congregations in Gilgit-Baltistan.

Though the government claims otherwise, unscreened passengers returning from Iran, Iraq and Syria appear to be freely moving around their areas of residence – albeit shunned by those around them, due to fears of coronavirus transmission.

Sources told The Express Tribune that several travellers who had visited Iran and Iraq landed safely at the Karachi airport four days ago, going to their homes in Larkana without being screened for the infectious disease.

“My brother-in-law N* visited Iran and Iraq,” Rizwan Shaikh, a resident of Rato Dero, told The Express Tribune. “I have told my wife to close the doors of our house and not to let her brother and his family enter.”
Shaikh said that even though N was still healthy and showed no symptoms of flu or fever, everyone in the area was afraid of him. “No one from the government has quarantined him or conducted other tests,” he pointed out.

According to N’s family, the young man is a cleric in Baghdad and recently visited Iran with another friend. “Since people are afraid of his presence, he has confined himself to his house on his own,” added Shaikh.

Meanwhile, Ghafoor Jat, from Sanghar, told The Express Tribune that two men in his village had returned from Iran last week. “No one has yet approached them for testing. They were working in the fields without any symptoms, but now, after media reports, they have switched off their phones and moved from the village to Sanghar city,” he disclosed.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2174302/1-covid-19-outbreak-unscreened-travellers-shunned-family-friends-sindh/

Lanat on goverment for this

Precautionary measures must be taken but we all are going to die on our time so no need to panic.

Pakistan should've banned travel from Iran weeks ago! Iran is criminally under reporting the spread, no country should allow travel to or from Iran. Their government hasn't even shut down the pilgrimage site where the outbreak is taking place.

New coronavirus case emerges in Skardu

A new coronavirus case has emerged from Skardu, Gilgit-Baltistan, health department official Dr Shah Ramzan confirmed, bringing the country's total number of cases to 21.

According to the official, the 31-year-old had returned to Pakistan on February 25 after travelling to Iran. He maintained that three cases of the virus have been reported in Gilgit-Baltistan so far.

He added that in light of the situation, officials were working on temporarily suspending Friday congregations in Gilgit-Baltistan.

Those are official cases, I'm sure there are probably hundreds undiagnosed.

Punjab govt declares health emergency amid coronavirus threat

LAHORE: The Punjab government has declared a “health emergency” in the province to deal with the novel coronavirus which has been designated as a global pandemic by the World Health Organisation (WHO).

The decision to declare health emergency was taken by the Punjab cabinet on Thursday after receiving a briefing on the novel coronavirus from provincial health officials.The cabinet was informed that as many as 3,964 Zaireen who returned from a pilgrimage in Iran have been screened and kept under observation. A quarantine facility has been established in the southern Punjab district of DG Khan for 800 pilgrims from Iran.

The cabinet was also informed that Chinese citizens in the province are also being screened for the mysterious contagion. A ministerial committee has been assigned to decide further actions.
A day earlier, WHO Director General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus officially declared the outbreak of the novel coronavirus a global pandemic.

“We are deeply concerned both by the alarming levels of spread and severity and by the alarming levels of inaction. We have therefore made the assessment that COVID-19 can be characterised as a pandemic,” he told a news conference.

Four countries – China, South Korea, Iran and Italy – account for 93% of the nearly 110,000 cases worldwide, Tedros said. “We are encouraged that Italy is taking aggressive measures to contain its epidemic and we hope that those measures prove effective in the coming days,” he added.

What does the pandemic label mean?

“Due to the widespread of COVID-19, the disease caused by the mysterious virus, across the globe, the WHO wants to highlight the importance for countries to strengthen their preparation and response for imminent community spread,” said State Health Minister Dr Zafar Mirza.

This means the world can “still change the course of this pandemic, by detecting, testing, treating, isolating, tracing, and mobilising their people in the response”, he wrote on his official Twitter handle.

“The countries need to scale up their emergency response by communicating with the people about risks and how to protect the public,” he added.

About Pakistan, where 21 cases have officially been confirmed, Dr Mirza said the federal and provincial governments have been working in sync for the past seven weeks to implement the broad cardinals of preparedness and response as the WHO DG has highlighted.

“We will inshAllah continue to work to keep the flag of Pakistan safe from coronavirus,” he added.

Meanwhile in Balochistan, which shares a border with Iran – one of the worst hit countries by the coronavirus – Provincial Minister Sardar Yar Mohammad Rind said all schools would remain closed till March 31 as a precautionary measure.

“Action will be taken against schools that do not comply with the decision which has been taken after consultation with the health ministry,” he added. “Matric exams have been postponed. We’re in talks with to shut madrassahs as well. A decision regarding reopening of educational institutions will be taken on March 27.”

In Sindh, where most of Pakistan’s coronavirus cases have been reported, the provincial government spokesperson denied claims the administration was hiding information regarding the spread of the mysterious contagion.

“The Sindh government is not hiding any information about coronavirus or the number of patients in the province,” Barrister Murtaza Wahab told journalists in Karachi.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/217483...res-health-emergency-amid-coronavirus-threat/

corona dies in temperatures above 35 degrees celsius.

there is a reason both india and pakistan do not have so many cases as compared to europe despite the high population and lack of hygiene in both countries.

this epidemic will be over by june in pakistan for sure

there is a reason both india and pakistan do not have so many cases as compared to europe despite the high population and lack of hygiene in both countries.

And come back in winter? There is no proof that it doesn’t mutate.

Thats not true. Its a myth.

any source of the claim ?

PM Imran calls emergency meeting of National Security Committee to discuss coronavirus situation

Prime Minister Imran Khan has called an emergency meeting of the National Security Committee to discuss measures to be taken to prevent the novel coronavirus from spreading in the country.

Chief ministers of all four provinces have been invited to the meeting. The meeting will also be attended by ministers of defence, interior and foreign ministries as well as premier's aides on health Dr Zafar Mirza, economy Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, information and broadcasting Firdous Ashiq Awan and national security division Moeed Yusuf.

All three heads of the armed forces and the directors-general of Inter-Services Intelligence and Intelligence Bureau will also attend the meeting among other officials.

https://www.dawn.com/live-blog/

Pakistan seems to have low cases because a large majority of the population don't have access to proper medical facility and even then the person has to be tested and reported to the authorities. There is most likely a large number of people who have it and are under the radar.

In all countries the virus has spread exponentially without taking drastic measures to contain it.

Pakistan has a advantage in a sense that not many tourists from all over the world visit it. Hence those who went to Iran need to isolate themselves from the rest of the population. Also overseas Pakistani returning to Pakistan from Europe need to do the same. The border to Afghanistan needs to be closed or checked.

It is not proven yet that temperature will play any part in this.

Don’t make claims unless it is confirmed by scientists.

Person to person transmission can still happen.

It is March, almost 3 months to June, by then plenty of people can be infected.

Pakistan has some of the highest number of diabetic and heart patients.

It will not be over, it will come back next year, likely mutate version of the virus.

Let's not talk about medial science facts if you are not a student of it and lets not forward the info if it is not from reputable website, such as CDC or WHO.

Pakistan seems to have low cases because a large majority of the population don't have access to proper medical facility and even then the person has to be tested and reported to the authorities. There is most likely a large number of people who have it and are under the radar.

In all countries the virus has spread exponentially without taking drastic measures to contain it.

Pakistan has a advantage in a sense that not many tourists from all over the world visit it. Hence those who went to Iran need to isolate themselves from the rest of the population. Also overseas Pakistani returning to Pakistan from Europe need to do the same. The border to Afghanistan needs to be closed or checked.

Person to person transmission can still happen.

It is March, almost 3 months to June, by then plenty of people can be infected.

Pakistan has some of the highest number of diabetic and heart patients.

It will not be over, it will come back next year, likely mutate version of the virus.

Let's not talk about medial science facts if you are not a student of it and lets not forward the info if it is not from reputable website, such as CDC or WHO.

Good point . Also realized we have acs at homes and most buildings. the main victims in europe are the elderly and most of them are pretty healthy. the elderly population in pakistan will take a huge hit if it spreads

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Forum also discussed emerging situation with regards to COVID-19 and preventive measures taken at Army level. COAS directed all concerned to gear up preparations in support of national effort to counter this pandemic in case of any eventuality. (3/3)</p>— DG ISPR (@OfficialDGISPR) <a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialDGISPR/status/1238129133621780480?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 12, 2020</a></blockquote>

Good point . Also realized we have acs at homes and most buildings. the main victims in europe are the elderly and most of them are pretty healthy. the elderly population in pakistan will take a huge hit if it spreads

Are you in sindh right now. If I were you I would take my family and lots of food reserves, some basic medical stuff and go chill out in a rural area with limited outside contact.

Or at least isolate all those family members who don't have to work in a safe house with limited outside contact. Now I know the elderly people in Pakistan are more likely going to be the one taking the virus lightly and protest any special measurements. Sad.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Summer vacations are being preponed in Sindh & schools in Sindh will reopen on the 1st of June 2020. Decision has been made by cabinet</p>— SenatorMurtaza Wahab (@murtazawahab1) <a href="https://twitter.com/murtazawahab1/status/1238164513750429696?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 12, 2020</a></blockquote>

I believe living in Pakistan has exposed us to numerous less significant viruses and bacteria and with it has introduced some immunity in people.But Corona is outright another level beast so we have to get serious about it ASAP.

I also believe it has more routes of transmission than what we know.

Like Dengue Mosquito is habitant of clean water and not of polluted water, Corona also seems to be an organism of neat and clean atmosphere.

Sophisticated Beast.

I have chronic allergic sinusitis anyway and get flu every second month. Pity I won't be able to decide if it's my routine flu or corona. All I am trying is to avoid exposure to allergens so I don't get flu in first place. My last episode of flu illness was in January.

I believe living in Pakistan has exposed us to numerous less significant viruses and bacteria and with it has introduced some immunity in people.But Corona is outright another level beast so we have to get serious about it ASAP.

I also believe it has more routes of transmission than what we know.

Like Dengue Mosquito is habitant of clean water and not of polluted water, Corona also seems to be an organism of neat and clean atmosphere.

Sophisticated Beast.

I have chronic allergic sinusitis anyway and get flu every second month. Pity I won't be able to decide if it's my routine flu or corona. All I am trying is to avoid exposure to allergens so I don't get flu in first place. My last episode of flu illness was in January.

Pakistanis pop antibiotics like tic tacs.... God forbid if it spreads then Pakistanis will be solely responsible for it mutating into a more dangerous and potent form.

all desi countries have this issue. You can buy antibiotics like over the counter medicine. You won't even asked for prescription in many pharmacies. This is dangerous.

This is a virus so antibiotics are of no use. My professor told yesterday that generally as a virus mutates, it is the more benign versions that are selected by nature. That is why many diseases tend to become milder as time passes. But you never know...

Yes.

What about the other point. Wasn't Dengue an organism that favoured clean water over polluted one ? Look at the list of country wise breakdown of cases. Does it tell if Corona favours clean environment or it means countries with lesser cases are under-reporting ?

Yes.

What about the other point. Wasn't Dengue an organism that favoured clean water over polluted one ? Look at the list of country wise breakdown of cases. Does it tell if Corona favours clean environment or it means countries with lesser cases are under-reporting ?

Not all viruses spread the same way.

Dengue and corona are totally different viruses and spread in a different way. Corona isn't depended on any environment to survive. Infact outside human body it's pretty harmless. At best it can survive on metals for up to 9 days. It doesn't need mosquito or other bugs to be transmitted. All it requires is a close human to human contact.

Dengue on the other hand is spread by mosquitoes and mosquitoes populate dirty environments.

The reason "clean countries" are effected right now is that they have a large number of people coming in and going out of the country. Most of Europe got infected because of people who went to Italy for holidays and returned back home infected without knowing about it since the symptoms appear late.

On a side note Italy, the first European country to be majorly affected by the virus, is considered a "dirty country" for European standard in regards to trash and garbage.

With the current understanding I don't think your hypothesis of it spreading in clean environments than dirty one has any merit.

In regards to under reporting. I don't think pakistan is willingly under reporting. Rather very few people are actually going to the doctors and getting it tested and even then it requires a special test kit to be diagnosed as coronavirus. I doubt the test kits are available nation wide.

Pakistan needs to act fast and dramatically. There is no point in hiding stuff that's what iran tried to do and look where they are now.

I say prohibit any large public gathering. Including jumma prayers especially in cities and provinces where there are confirmed corona viruses. Cities or districts where cases have been confirmed nee to close all schools and major shopping centers and bazaars.

People who have relatives they know of who recently went to Iran need to call them out and ask them to stay home. People returning from UK or Europe need to stay home too.

This virus spreads exponentially and there is no reason to doubt that it is the case in Pakistan either.

ISLAMABAD - Officials in Pakistan Thursday said the number of coronavirus cases in the country has risen to 21, noting that eight of them were imported from Syria.

The World Health Organization has declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pakistan, with a population of more than 200 million people, confirmed its first case more than two weeks ago but has not reported any fatalities.

State Minister of Health Zafar Mirza said all of the confirmed cases of COVID-19 are related to outbreaks in countries such as Syria, Iran, Iraq and China.“

A majority of the infections are in their initial stages, and we are hopeful the patients will recover from the disease,” he said.

Mirza noted that there have been no local transmissions of the virus in Pakistan, saying federal authorities, together with provincial governments, are taking all possible measures to prevent it from spreading.

At least three of the patients are said to have arrived from London via Dubai.

Pakistani officials said 14 of the coronavirus cases, including those linked to Syria, arrived in Karachi, the capital of Sindh province and the country’s largest city.

A provincial government spokesman said Thursday that two of the patients have recovered, while the rest remain under observation in isolation wards.

Murtaza Wahab, an adviser to the chief minister, also announced that the remaining matches of an ongoing national cricket competition, which involved international players, will now take place in Karachi without spectators to prevent the spread of the virus. Education institutions in Sindh have already been closed.

Syria denies virus presence

For their part, Syrian officials have reportedly denied the presence of the coronavirus in the country, saying several dozen suspected cases have tested negative. “

There are no coronavirus cases in Syria so far,” Health Minister Nizar Yaziji reportedly told Syrian media on Tuesday.

Pakistan shuts borders

Pakistan has closed its border with neighboring Iran, and air links remain suspended with Iran, one of the worst hit by the virus across the globe. Iranian officials reported Thursday the nationwide death toll from COVID-19 has risen to 429, while the number of infected people surpassed 10,000.

Pakistan has also closed its overland border with China and cut air links to the country known as the epicenter of the coronavirus, where the first case was detected in December before the infection surfaced in other nations.

Islamabad has also shut a major southwestern border crossing with Afghanistan. Afghan officials have confirmed seven cases of the coronavirus, linking them to the Iranian outbreak.

Punjab declares emergency

On Thursday, the most populous Pakistani province of Punjab declared a medical emergency across the region, saying the precautionary step was related to the coronavirus outbreak. No confirmed cases have been detected in the province.

Provincial Health Minister Yasmin Rashid told reporters in the capital of Lahore that the government has also stepped up vigilance at international airports in Punjab.

The Maryland-based Johns Hopkins University, which is tracking the virus using data compiled by the World Health Organization and U.S. and Chinese national health organizations, says more than 127,000 people worldwide were infected by COVID-19 as of Thursday. More than 4,700 of them died, while approximately 68,000 have recovered.

Most of the fatalities and infections occurred in China, where authorities have reported a significant decline in new cases in the past few days.

https://www.voanews.com/science-hea...tan-links-some-its-21-coronavirus-cases-syria

KARACHI: A day after the World Health Organisation declared the coronavirus outbreak a global pandemic, the Sindh government on Thursday decided that educational institutions across the province would remain closed until May 30. Meanwhile, the grade 9 and 10 examinations, scheduled to begin on Monday, have been postponed.

In a meeting of the Sindh cabinet late on Thursday night, it was decided that the extended closure of schools would be considered as the summer vacation, after which they would reopen on June 1. Chairing the meeting, Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah said that the government had to take drastic measures to contain the growing coronavirus threat.

Schools, colleges and universities, as well as tuition and coaching centres, have been closed across the province since February 27, after the country’s first coronavirus patient emerged in Karachi.
The decision comes after 14 people in Sindh, including 13 in the provincial capital, have tested positive for COVID-19.

Cricket without spectators

The provincial government also made the decision to hold the remaining HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL) in Karachi in an empty stadium without spectators. However, Thursday’s match was held as scheduled at National Stadium, Karachi.

Taking the decision while presiding over the daily coronavirus taskforce meeting, the CM said that although the matches would still be held, the government could not take further risks.

Sindh government spokesperson Murtaza Wahab, in a tweet, said that the decision had been made with the consultation of all stakeholders, including the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

In compliance with the Sindh government’s decision, the PCB will now stage the upcoming Karachi fixtures in deserted stadiums, with effect from today (Friday).

“Health and safety is paramount and takes precedence over cricket,” stated PCB chief executive officer Wasim Khan. He added that tickets would be refunded in line with the ticketing policy, through TCS and Yayvo, while further details would be shared soon.

Meanwhile, ahead of Thursday’s match, the Sindh health department issued an advisory for spectators, stating that those who had arrived from abroad in the last 15 days and those displaying symptoms of the virus would not be allowed to enter the stadium.

At the entrances of National Stadium, Karachi, health workers checked the body temperature of fans and showed them how to properly wash their hands, in an attempt to reduce the chances of contagion.

‘Unprepared nation’

Meanwhile, in a video meeting with Dr Zafar Mirza, the Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on health, the chief minister said that Pakistan’s preparedness to contain the threat was weak, unorganised and lacking in national guidance.

“We are not prepared to face the pandemic because the provinces, especially Sindh, have been left alone to take their decisions without guidance from the federal government,” maintained Shah, calling it a dangerous state of affairs.

He pointed out that thousands of travellers were landing at airports across the country, without being checked even if they had symptoms. Sindh’s cases were detected after they had been cleared at the airport, he noted, but only because the provincial government was running from pillar to post to track travellers.

Matters pertaining to the closing of borders, shutting down of schools, checks at airports, quarantine arrangements and movement of travellers from Taftan should be decided at the national level, argued Shah. “Only Sindh and Balochistan have closed educational institutions, and we are taking these decisions in isolation.”

He informed the meeting that 2,683 travellers were quarantined at Taftan, of which 853 were from Sindh and would start returning to the province today (Friday) amid necessary arrangements.

The CM urged the Centre to adopt a zero-tolerance policy at airports, strengthen surveillance, increase quarantine capacity and boost awareness.

Separately, in an emergency press conference, Wahab said that it was ‘disappointing’ that the prime minister had held a meeting with the Sindh governor to review development projects, but had still not contacted the CM to discuss the coronavirus.

Recovery

Wahab also revealed that a 64-year-old man who had earlier tested positive for the infectious disease had now recovered and tested negative for the infection. This is the second patient to have recovered from COVID-19.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/217487...nal-institutions-till-may-30-amid-virus-fear/

KP govt announces to close all educational institutions amid coronavirus fears

PESHAWAR: Amid rising cases of a novel coronavirus, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government on Friday announced to close all the public and private educational institutes across the province for 15 days to combat the spread of COVID-19, ARY News reported, citing sources.

The decision was taken in an emergency meeting of the KP cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Mahmood Khan here on Friday.

It was decided in the meeting to ban all public gatherings across the province. The cabinet also ordered the evacuation of students from hostels by today.

It has also decided to postpone official events across the province. In addition, festivals and prison visits have also been banned.

The cabinet meeting also decided to raise the issue of closure of the Torkham border crossing between Pakistan and Afghanistan with the federal government.

Chief Minister Mehmood Khan has said the situation is under control and advised the masses not to worry just adopt precautionary measures to minimize the risk of coronavirus.

On Thursday, the Sindh govt had announced to extend the closure of all the public and private educational institutes till May 30.

The decision was taken in an emergency meeting of the Sindh cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah.

In a tweet, Advisor to the Chief Minister on Law Murtaza Wahab said, “Summer vacations are being preponed in Sindh and schools in the province will reopen on the 1st of June 2020.”

Meanwhile, another person has tested positive for COVID-19 in Karachi, department of health Sindh revealed on Friday.

According to details, the infected individual has arrived in Karachi two days prior from Islamabad.

The current tally of those diagnosed with the mysterious and dangerous virus has climbed to 21 in Pakistan while 2 patients have made full recoveries and have been given clean bills of health.

Yesterday, Sindh government imposed a ban on spectators in National Cricket Stadium (NSK) during Pakistan Super League (PSL) 5 matches to be played in Karachi amid fears of coronavirus.

The directives were issued by Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah, saying that spectators will only be allowed during today’s match, whereas, the upcoming matches will be held in a closed stadium.
https://arynews.tv/en/coronavirus-fears-kp-educational-institutions-closed/

Special Assistant to the PM on Health Dr Zafar Mirza and other government officials are addressing a press conference to detail the decisions taken by the National Security Committee (NSC) to contain the spread of coronavirus in the country.

Mirza revealed at the start of the presser that Pakistan now has 28 cases of COVID-19. The official figure of the total cases on the National Institute of Health (NIH) website is 21, and it wasn't immediately clear where the seven additional cases emerged.

"There is a lot of speculation about the total number of cases in the country. However, I can confirm that Pakistan has 28 cases of coronavirus," he said.

Mirza announced that Pakistan's border with Afghanistan and Iran will be closed "completely" for two weeks, following which the situation will be reviewed. During this period, the system for screening and preventing further infections from entering the country will be made stronger.

He said the first batch of pilgrims who have returned to the country from Iran has left for provinces after completing its 14-day quarantine period at the Taftan border. The details of these pilgrims will be provided to the provincial governments, which can test or place the pilgrims under quarantine again.

It was decided during the meeting that only three airports in the country — Karachi, Islamabad and Lahore — will be allowed to operate international flights, a move intended to reduce the entry points and ensure better arrangements there.

The NSC meeting, chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan, was attended by the provincial chief ministers and the civilian and military leadership.

It was decided to close all educational institutions in the country till April 5, education minister Shafqat Mehmood tweeted.

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi told DawnNewsTV that the 23rd March parade has been cancelled.

The pilgrims who have returned to the country from Iran will be screened again, and will be placed under quarantine if they test positive for the virus.

Officials said foreign missions in Pakistan and Pakistan's missions abroad have been directed not to host any ceremonies or functions. Similarly, large public gatherings will be discouraged.

The NSC decided to give the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) the lead role in dealing with the coronavirus threat, officials told DawnNewsTV, adding that the authority will coordinate with the provincial governments to streamline the efforts.

A system for coordination between the federal and provincial governments will also be established, the sources said.

'Important decisions'
Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan earlier in the day had said that "important decisions" for the protection of the people will be taken during a special meeting of the NSC regarding coronavirus.

"Our primary responsibility is the protection and well-being of Pakistanis," she said, adding that measures to make the country safe from the effects of the virus will be taken.

Awan said the purpose of the meeting was to unite the entire country on the important issue of coronavirus and that the huddle is "part of national efforts to ensure harmony and contain coronavirus".

So far 21 cases of coronavirus have been confirmed in the country — 15 in Sindh, one in Balochistan and five in Gilgit Baltistan. The latest case was confirmed in Sindh earlier today in a 52-year-old patient who arrived in the province from Islamabad two days ago and tested positive on Friday.

Special Assistant to the PM on Health Dr Zafar Mirza had earlier told Dawn that Friday's NSC meeting "may decide to impose a sort of emergency or indirect emergency in the country".

An official of the Ministry of National Health Services (NHS), requesting not to be named, said there was criticism that the prime minister was not playing a leading role over the issue.

"However, now the meeting of the most relevant body has been called to discuss the issue and it is expected that it will decide that the federal government will provide funds for controlling the virus.

"Last week, a summary was moved by Dr Mirza, seeking allocation of Rs670 million and the waiving off the Public Procurement Regu*la*tory Authority rules so that personal protective equipment could be procured without any delay. However, the summary was rejected as the cabinet was of the view that the provinces should also contribute funds," he had said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1540587/p...sses-press-conference-on-coronavirus-response

ISLAMABAD - Pakistan moved Friday to temporarily seal borders with Iran and Afghanistan, close all educational institutions and ban large gatherings at public places for three weeks, including wedding parties, to prevent the coronavirus pandemic from spreading in the region.

The preventative measures were announced on a day when officials raised to 28 the national tally of people infected with the virus. Pakistan, with a population of more than 200 million, has reported no fatalities since detecting its first confirmed case late last month.

State Minister of Health Zafar Mirza said that all of Pakistan’s cases were imported by its nationals returning from countries, including Iran, Syria, China and the United Kingdom. He said there were no local transmissions of the virus as of Friday.

Syrian authorities, however, are reported to have denied the presence of coronavirus on their soil, saying dozens of suspected cases have tested negative.

Mirza and other senior cabinet colleagues told a Friday night news conference that the decision to introduce emergency measures was taken at a meeting of the national security council chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan and attended by top civilian and military leaders.

“We are completely closing our western border with Iran and Afghanistan for all human and commercial traffic for two weeks,” Mirza said. The only overland border crossing with China will also remain closed for another two weeks for all traffic.

“This will allow us to boost existing screening systems at entry points there to prevent infected people from entering Pakistan,” Mirza said, adding the decision would be reviewed after two weeks.

Pakistan shares a roughly 900-kilometer border with Iran, where officials have confirmed that COVID-19 has killed more than 500 people and that well over 10,000 others have been infected.

Pakistan’s border with landlocked Afghanistan stretches to nearly 2,600 kilometers, with several authorized entry points for people and trade as well as transit activities. Afghan officials have confirmed seven coronavirus cases, linking them with the Iranian outbreak

Mirza said Pakistan also decided to restrict outgoing and incoming international flights to only three airports in the country, in Islamabad, Karachi and Lahore, saying screening measures at those airports would be reinforced immediately.

Pakistan’s air links with Iran and China, where the coronavirus outbreak originated, remain suspended in the wake of the outbreak in both countries.

Schools closed, gatherings banned

Mirza said public and private schools as well as technical institutions across Pakistan would remain closed for three weeks. All public gatherings will be banned, including wedding halls and cinemas, for two weeks.

Pakistan’s chief justices are being requested to instruct all courts not to schedule cases for three weeks, and no visitors will be allowed to visit prisoners in jails during this period, Mirza said.

Critics note that Pakistan, like other South Asian countries, is ill-equipped to deal with a large-scale health emergency such as coronavirus because of a poor and deteriorating health infrastructure.

Army spokesman Major General Babar Iftikhar confirmed to VOA on Friday that the annual national day military parade scheduled for March 23, where thousands of guests are invited, had also been canceled.

Organizers of Pakistan’s largest national cricket competition, which features prominent international players, also shortened and closed its remaining matches to spectators. Many foreign players have opted to leave Pakistan.

https://www.voanews.com/science-hea...borders-shuts-schools-bans-public-events-over

Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah has ordered the closure of wedding halls, shrines and festivals across the province to deal with the coronavirus outbreak.

The chief minister issued these orders while chairing a meeting of the taskforce formed to monitor the coronavirus situation in the province.

Madressahs have also been told to halt educational activities.

The Sindh Disaster Management Authority has also been directed to start recruiting volunteers.

The provincial chief secretary has been directed to issue notifications in this regard.

Moreover, Shah has also instructed Commissioner Sukkur to conduct the tests of pilgrims that will be reaching the city. He had also directed the officials to keep him updated minute by minute so decisions can be taken at once.

Read also: Schools, colleges, universities in Sindh to remain closed till May 30

The chief minister also issued directions to the chief secretary to shut down the National Institute Management (NIM) and has directed his ministers to avoid attending events.

"By God's mercy, the situation is still under control. But we need to be prepared for every eventuality," he said.

The number of confirmed coronavirus cases in Pakistan rose to 28 on Friday night, after seven more cases were reported. The cases were reported at the Taftan border which connects, Pakistan and Iran.

Karachi has been the worst affected city so far, with 14 of the total confirmed cases. Of the remaining, five cases have been reported in Gilgit-Baltistan and one case has been reported each in Hyderabad and Quetta.

The epicentre of the outbreak has now shifted to Europe, which is recording a rapid rise in new cases every day.

Sindh govt issues advisory for public places
Separately the provincial government has advised careful use of available resources given a potential large-scale outbreak of the coronavirus.

All dargahs, mosques and mazaars have been advised to set timings for visitors and provide sanitizers and soap during rush hours.

The health department has also been directed to set up a desk at the district level and maintain contact with the Auqaf department.

Prayer leaders have also been asked to spread awareness about the coronavirus during Friday sermons and after daily prayers.

Read also: Latest news on the coronavirus outbreak from Pakistan and around the world

Sindh IG Jails wants all jails in the provinces to be sterilised
The inspector general of jails, Sindh has asked for all prisons in the province to be sterilised.

He has also issued instructions to staff not to use biometric attendance machines.

Meanwhile, prisoners and staff have been given safety masks and prisoners have been told to desist from physical contact with each other.

Schools, colleges, universities in Sindh to remain closed till May 30
Educational institutes across the province will remain closed till May 30, 2020, the provincial government announced on Thursday.

"Summer vacations are being preponed in Sindh & schools in Sindh will reopen on the 1st of June 2020. Decision has been made by cabinet," tweeted Advisor to the Chief Minister on Law Murtaza Wahab.

Previously, the Sindh government had announced the closure of schools, colleges and universities as well as coaching centres across the province till March 13.

The decision had been taken to ensure that the quarantine period of Pakistani pilgrims who had arrived from Iran and were suspected of having the coronavirus, would have ended.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/277270-cm-sindh-orders-closure-of-wedding-halls-shrines-across-province

Coronavirus dies in temperatures above 25/26 degrees. I don’t think it’s that in many parts of Pakistan yet but in Australia and Southern Hemisphere its summer so certainly there does seem to be some correlation. There have been low levels of outbreaks there.

However you have to bear in mind person to person contacts and that the virus can stay undetected for about 10 days. Given the fact that most cases are going unreported I expect there to be an explosion in the cases reported in India and Pakistan in the next few days.

Why are people comparing this with flu? It’s a completely different family of virus.

Coronavirus dies in temperatures above 25/26 degrees. I don’t think it’s that in many parts of Pakistan yet but in Australia and Southern Hemisphere its summer so certainly there does seem to be some correlation. There have been low levels of outbreaks there.

However you have to bear in mind person to person contacts and that the virus can stay undetected for about 10 days. Given the fact that most cases are going unreported I expect there to be an explosion in the cases reported in India and Pakistan in the next few days.

Why are people comparing this with flu? It’s a completely different family of virus.

Corona virus or any virus does not die due to temperature when it’s inside the host like animals or human. If that was true a high fever should kill virus, which seems illogical.
When they say temperature can kill coronavirus, it means on surfaces, which is true. This is also significant though because it minimises community spread.
It’s pertinent to know the difference.

New coronavirus case emerges in Sindh, provincial total rises to 16

A spokesman for the Sindh government said a new coronavirus case was confirmed in the province. The patient is 38 years old and had recently travelled to Saudi Arabia.

With this new case, Sindh's tally rises to 16 while Pakistan's total cases have reached 29.(Source Dawn)

Not sure about this temperature thing. But even if its true, it may stop community spread and not local spread. So precautions are imperative.

I’m worried

May Allah keep everyone safe and may this end soon

Not sure about this temperature thing. But even if its true, it may stop community spread and not local spread. So precautions are imperative.

There is some research to suggest this. But nothing concrete. I was reading a paper in the morning and they suggest that the R_0 decreases with increase in temperature and humidity, which is good news.

But even in that case, as you say, we should be taking each and every preventive measure possible.

Corona virus or any virus does not die due to temperature when it’s inside the host like animals or human. If that was true a high fever should kill virus, which seems illogical.
When they say temperature can kill coronavirus, it means on surfaces, which is true. This is also significant though because it minimises community spread.
It’s pertinent to know the difference.

I think I wrote and it’s obvious we are talking surface temperatures not inside a host!

With 2 new cases, Balochistan's virus tally rises to 10

Two new cases of coronavirus have been reported in Balochistan, taking the provincial total to 10, according to Balochistan government spokesperson Liaquat Shahwani.

The latest figures take the national tally of COVID-19 cases to 33.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I want to inform the nation I am personally overseeing measures to deal with COVID 19 & will address the nation soon. I would advise people to follow safety instructions issued by our govt. While there is a need for caution there is no need for panic.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1238846818722754560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We are alert to the dangers & have put in place sufficient protocols for the safety and health of our people. The WHO has commended our efforts as being amongst the best in the world.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1238846823747518467?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

ISLAMABAD: Terming Pakistan’s measures against novel coronavirus (Covid-19) threat as ‘timely’ and the ‘best national response’ World Health Organisation (WHO) has urged the government to continue to keep a vigilant eye on new cases and expand testing facilities to various public sector hospitals.

Country Head of the WHO Dr Palitha Gunarathna Mahipala, while talking to media in Karachi during his visit to various hospitals and testing labs, said: “At a time when other countries were reporting cases, Pakistan was keeping the virus at bay, which is something quite praiseworthy.”

Mahipala said people should regularly wash their hands with soap and water at least for 20 seconds and use sanitisers when they can’t wash their hands.

He also said that adopting coughing etiquette was also very important as it would prevent spreading the virus to others.

The WHO Chief was in the city to assess the provincial government’s response to the virus and to inspect isolation units set up in various hospitals.

During his visit to Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre (JPMC), he met the Executive Director Dr Seemin Jamali and expressed satisfaction over steps taken by the health institute for providing health care to the suspected patients.

He called for more testing facilities in the public sector in case the number of patients increased.

Pakistan has come up with the one of world’s best “national response programmes’ against Covid-19 pandemic, said the WHO country head and urged the people to follow the precautionary and preventive measures to avoid contracting the virus, which is extremely contagious but not as lethal as some other members of the coronavirus family.

The government of Pakistan gave a timely response to the virus, he said and observed the standard operating procedures (SOPs) are being implemented very effectively.

Authorities are doing their job and now it is the responsibility of the people to follow the instructions to avoid contracting the viral disease, Dr Mahipala said.

During his visit to the Dow University of Health Sciences (DUHS) Ojha Campus, he inspected the diagnostic lab of the health facility as well as their isolation facility, and termed them ‘world class diagnostic and treatment facility’.

Dr Mahipala also met provincial health minister Dr Azra Pechuho and inquired about the status of diagnostic kits and personal protective equipment (PPE) and offered WHO’s support in the provision of diagnostic kits for testing suspected Covid-19 patients in Sindh.

Later talking to media, Dr Mahipala said the federal and provincial governments had arranged around 2,000 isolation beds in the country to keep the suspected patients of Covid-19 while extraordinary screening arrangements had been made at the points of entry by the authorities, which were quite helpful to keeping the virus away from the country to a large extent.

“At the moment, Pakistan has seven diagnostic labs which are capable of conducting 15,000 tests, but there is a need for more diagnostic facilities in case the number of suspected patients go up,” he said and added that authorities had even established a mobile diagnostic facility that had been dispatched to Taftan to test and diagnose suspected people coming from Iran.

Highlighting the severity of the Covid-19 pandemic, he said even countries with well-advanced health systems like South Korea and Italy had failed to contain Covid-19. He added that Pakistani authorities timely responded to the threat and took measures which resulted in keeping the virus at bay for a longer time when other counties were reporting its cases.

https://gulfnews.com/world/asia/pak...-worlds-best-says-who-country-head-1.70388431

There are far more cases in Pakistan than they are leading us to believe. We had an aquaintance returning from Lahore to Toronto few days ago tested positive to the Coronavirus. That tells me they are not treating it as seriously as they should specially in Punjab. May Allah SWT keep everyone safe.

There is a lag in information about the spread of virus due to delayed onset of the symptoms. We were focusing on Iran while almost all major western countries have been affected by the virus and air travel needs to be stopped drastically

4 new coronavirus cases emerge in Karachi

Four new cases of coronavirus have been detected in Karachi, said Meeran Yousuf, the media coordinator to the Sindh health minister.

Three of the patients had recently returned from Saudi Arabia, while one has no recent travel history, Yousuf said.

The total number of coronavirus cases detected in Pakistan has now risen to 38, out of which 21 have emerged in Sindh.

It is said so, but interestingly this Virus is killing pollutants gases in atmosphere and clearing the atmosphere from pollutants. So I am too not sure what temperature can do to kill this virus.

The COVID-19 virus is still being actively researched so beware of people making any "definitive statements" about the virus.

The transmission of the common cold virus is higher during winter, but we don't know whether COVID-19 virus behaves like the common cold virus.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">So far 13 people have tested positive of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID%E3%83%BC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVIDー19</a> from amongst the people who arrived in Sukkur from Taaftaan. These people were purportedly kept in quarantine at the border</p>— SenatorMurtaza Wahab (@murtazawahab1) <a href="https://twitter.com/murtazawahab1/status/1239165184159158273?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2020</a></blockquote>
<script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script><blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">1 more case has tested positive of corona virus in Sindh. As per the available information, the patient originally belongs to Baluchistan & had reached Khi last night. So the total number of patients in Sindh has now reached 35 out of which 2 have recovered</p>— SenatorMurtaza Wahab (@murtazawahab1) <a href="https://twitter.com/murtazawahab1/status/1239179958406262784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2020</a></blockquote>

PIA suspends flights operations between Pakistan and Saudi Arabia
The Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) has announced that its flight operations from Pakistan to Saudi Arabia have been suspended for the next two weeks in light of the instructions issued by the kingdom's authorities.

In a press statement, the national carrier announced that PIA flights from Jeddah and Madina will continue till March 17 so that Umra pilgrims can be flown back into Pakistan.

13 test positive for coronavirus in Sukkur: Murtaza Wahab

About 13 people from Sukkur, who recently arrived from Taftan, have tested positive for the novel coronavirus, spokesperson for the Sindh government Barrister Murtaza Wahab said.

"These people were purportedly kept in quarantine at the border," he tweeted.

This is the highest number of cases reported in Pakistan in one day. Total tally in country has now gone up to 52, out of which 34 are from Sindh.

PSL should have been closed earlier for crowds. Now these people would have travelled length and breadth of country. Cases will rise due to these decisions unfortunately

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="eu" dir="ltr">Ko Ko Corona. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaVirusUpdates?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaVirusUpdates</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronavirusOutbreak?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronavirusOutbreak</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaVirusPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaVirusPakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/bhaeehazirhai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#bhaeehazirhai</a> <a href="https://t.co/yC1Xk88RJg">pic.twitter.com/yC1Xk88RJg</a></p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/1239198513654902787?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Have Pakistan developed their own test kit yet? This is critical for them, because the cases across the world are about to explode the mass producers will start selling to the highest bidders.

Every country in fact needs to be able to manufacture their own, or else they're going to get screwed.

Have Pakistan developed their own test kit yet? This is critical for them, because the cases across the world are about to explode the mass producers will start selling to the highest bidders.

Every country in fact needs to be able to manufacture their own, or else they're going to get screwed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Scientists at <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NUST?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NUST</a> Atta-ur-Rahman School of Applied Biosciences (<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ASAB?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ASAB</a>) establish robust & cost effective assays for detection of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SARSCoV2?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SARSCoV2</a> in collab with Wuhan Institute of Virology China, DZIF Germany & <a href="https://twitter.com/Columbia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Columbia</a> Uni USA and AFIP RWP. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IamNUST?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IamNUST</a><a href="https://t.co/deHp85tf6V">https://t.co/deHp85tf6V</a> <a href="https://t.co/KwZi8tJUdY">pic.twitter.com/KwZi8tJUdY</a></p>— NUST (@Official_NUST) <a href="https://twitter.com/Official_NUST/status/1239162122887725057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

That is good to know. If you can industrialise it and mass produce it quickly, you'll at least be one step ahead of the USA. It's still not too late for Pakistan to have the situation manageable if they look at best practice in China and Korea, and do the absolute opposite whatever the US and UK have been doing for the last month.

These patients were already 14 days in isolation at Taftan border. What kind of arrangement were there by the federal government?

No one took this seriously.

Just be caution and careful but don’t be scared. Death will come if it has to

All these new cases are the same people who were quarantined at Taftan for 14 days and were said to have tested negative for the virus, this is very bad handling of the situation here.

Were these pilgrims were even tested for virus or just kept in quarantine for no reason? 50 out of 94 are from Taftan camp, i think maybe someone or few amongst them were infected and others might have caught it.

I've got to say but the response at the moment is looking inadequate. pakistan needs to get ahead of the game here as they have a window of about two weeks max. After that people will start dying in a large number. They need to increase testing all across Sindh, ban all but essential plane travel and get those who can work from home to do so. They should look to set up testing everywhere they can.

Increase social distancing. So no major gatherings for an indefinite period. And test test test. this way they can target the areas most affected quickly to flatten the curve.

368 people died in a day in italy yesterday and here in the UK they are twiddling their thumbs. I expect a national emergency in pakistan within 14 days. and then probably martial law type situation within three to four weeks.

Unless they can manage the peak which i just cant see at the moment. Unfortunatly there will be a knock on affect to the economy and sad to see PTI's reforms will get delayed..

In the UK they are willing to accept 350,000 casualties..its a scandal. i hope the Pak govt is not going to follow any european country..follow singapore, china and korea..

Social distancing isn't going to be practiced in Pakistan unless govt call in Army.

There were 250 patients in Outdoor section of our hospital. If you add 1 companion accompanying each patient, total was 500 in our outdoor. Despite Repeated announcements and my in-person requests, 25-30 patients continued to be grouped at entry room of doctors' cabins. And they are sick already. Few of them had sense to use face mask but nonsense at the same time for being oblivious of hazards from close contact.

Govt has to act NOW. Country should be in nationwide quarantine. Of course we doctors will continue our duties but if govt is not brave enough to take and implement a decision, eventually hospitals will start closing outdoor sections.

Call in Army NOW. Curfew over everything except for hospitals, selective Gas Stations, selective Food stores, highly selective public transport and few factories.

In other news, I have heard few army OFFICERS have tested Positive. Don't know the details yet.

Social distancing isn't going to be practiced in Pakistan unless govt call in Army.

There were 250 patients in Outdoor section of our hospital. If you add 1 companion accompanying each patient, total was 500 in our outdoor. Despite Repeated announcements and my in-person requests, 25-30 patients continued to be grouped at entry room of doctors' cabins. And they are sick already. Few of them had sense to use face mask but nonsense at the same time for being oblivious of hazards from close contact.

Govt has to act NOW. Country should be in nationwide quarantine. Of course we doctors will continue our duties but if govt is not brave enough to take and implement a decision, eventually hospitals will start closing outdoor sections.

Call in Army NOW. Curfew over everything except for hospitals, selective Gas Stations, selective Food stores, highly selective public transport and few factories.

In other news, I have heard few army OFFICERS have tested Positive. Don't know the details yet.

This. Jaahil people do not understand mere words, they have to be heckled.

Don't be too harsh even people in Europe are having issues with this concept. They want their personal freedom and not let it go under any circumstances.

I've got to say but the response at the moment is looking inadequate. pakistan needs to get ahead of the game here as they have a window of about two weeks max. After that people will start dying in a large number. They need to increase testing all across Sindh, ban all but essential plane travel and get those who can work from home to do so. They should look to set up testing everywhere they can.

Increase social distancing. So no major gatherings for an indefinite period. And test test test. this way they can target the areas most affected quickly to flatten the curve.

368 people died in a day in italy yesterday and here in the UK they are twiddling their thumbs. I expect a national emergency in pakistan within 14 days. and then probably martial law type situation within three to four weeks.

Unless they can manage the peak which i just cant see at the moment. Unfortunatly there will be a knock on affect to the economy and sad to see PTI's reforms will get delayed..

In the UK they are willing to accept 350,000 casualties..its a scandal. i hope the Pak govt is not going to follow any european country..follow singapore, china and korea..

You might remember the exchange we had the other day in another thread where you thought that we didn't need drastic measures yet. This was the very situation I was warning against. In fact I have very little doubt that this is just the start. We just don't have the resources to slow it down once it starts spreading and thus needed to clamp down as soon as the first cases were reported. It might have sounded drastic and panicky then but it was the only way to stop it from spreading. PSL was just one of the events that needed to be cancelled. We needed to take the steps that we did a couple of days ago, at least 10-15 days ago.

You were right about the army coming in and that will eventually happen. For me that has to happen sooner rather than later as the magnitude of the problem here is very different from the west. It will be carnage if we don't act swiftly.

Pakistan's spike in coronavirus cases raises quarantine concerns

Islamabad, Pakistan - Pakistan has recorded its biggest single-day spike in coronavirus infections, taking the tally to 106, amid reports of ineffective quarantine procedures as 61 of those are reported to be among those who had been held at a quarantine camp at the country's Taftan border crossing with Iran.

No deaths due to the coronavirus have been recorded, according to government data.

"[The spike in cases] was mainly because of the people who came from Taftan. They had been quarantined there, and then we moved them to our own facility where we tested them," said Meeran Yousuf, spokesperson for Sindh province’s health minister.

People currently in the Taftan camp told Al Jazeera they were not being adequately screened for coronavirus or treated for existing conditions. They also complained of squalid living conditions at the facility, which is housing hundreds of people.

Under current procedures, those released from the camp are being held for a further 14 days in their home provinces in separate quarantine facilities, where they will be tested if they display symptoms of the virus, Yousuf told Al Jazeera.

A provincial government spokesperson in Balochistan, where Taftan is, denied the claims that conditions were inadequate at the camp, and said staff were constantly monitoring those in quarantine for symptoms.

"The World Health Organization protocol calls for a 14-day mandatory quarantine," said Balochistan government spokesperson Liaquat Shahwani. "People can still develop symptoms after 14 days, or even 28 days. It differs from case to case."

'Five people to a tent'

"We are sleeping in tents, with up to five people to a tent because there is a shortage of space here," said Amir Ali, 26, a travel agent who was brought to Taftan camp on March 3.

"There are not enough bathrooms or enough water. The system for screening is not as they claim. They are not giving us all these medicines."

Ali shared videos from the camp that showed rows of tents, basic bathroom facilities and some people forced to sleep in close quarters on the floor of the town's main government building.

The videos also show rubbish littering the ground between the tents.

Since last month, more than 4,600 people have been held at the quarantine camp, Shahwani said. Of those, 1,822 had been released to their home districts on Friday, while several hundred remain at the camp, government data shows.

The 50 cases recorded in Sindh province were among the 1,822 people who were cleared last week.

Ali said medical services were inadequate at the camp.

"They used the thermometer on us the first day [of arrival from Iran]. Since then, they have not checked us at all," he said.

"There is no one available here to provide treatment if people have symptoms or any other illnesses."

Others at the quarantine camp echoed Ali's concerns.

"The conditions here are so filthy that if a person spends a few days here, even if they are healthy, they will get the corona [virus]," said Fatima Bibi, in a video recording shared with Al Jazeera.

"We are requesting the government to please take us away from this place as quickly as possible."

Bibi said the toilets were not properly maintained, and they smelled "so bad you feel like vomiting".

Others lamented the lack of medical facilities at the camp.

"There are no doctors here," said Khanum Jan, who had been in the camp for nine days. "There are no beds or blankets."

Balochistan government spokesperson Shahwani said the government was doing the best it could with limited resources.

"It's a desert area. It's far away," he said. "We are doing our level best."

On Monday, Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan chaired a meeting of the country's national coordination committee on COVID-19. No major announcements were made following the meeting.

Last week, after a high-level national security committee meeting, Pakistan's government announced the closure of all educational institutions across the country until April 3, the closure of all border crossings with Iran and Afghanistan and a ban on all public gatherings of any kind.

Since February, Pakistan has screened more than 975,634 people at points of entry, according to government data.

The country's National Institute of Health says its current risk assessment of the impact of the disease is "moderate".

Ali said he feared cases could rise, as those released from the quarantine camp "are not being screened".

"The increase in cases that is happening, this is only happening because of their incompetence," he alleged.

"When there were thousands of people here [in Taftan last week], people were sleeping within four inches of each other."

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...ises-quarantine-concerns-200316090946936.html