Coronavirus in Pakistan

Impressed with efficiency of Buzdar government

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">کورونا سے جنگ میں سب سے اہم انفرادی سطح پر صفائی کا اہتمام اورگھروں میں رہنا ہے<br>پنجاب حکومت احتیاطاً 1لاکھ متاثرہ افراد کو صحت کی محفوظ سہولیات فراہم کرنے کے اقدامات اٹھا رہی ہے جو خوش آئند ہے<br>امید ہے احتیاط کرنے سے مرض اتنا نہیں پھیلے گا<br>لاہور کی صورتحال آپکے سامنے پیش کررہا ہوں <a href="https://t.co/MSZd8jYFEI">pic.twitter.com/MSZd8jYFEI</a></p>— Dr. Shahbaz GiLL (@SHABAZGIL) <a href="https://twitter.com/SHABAZGIL/status/1242805832909295616?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistan has 1020 active cases right now, 7 deaths and 16 recovered. 78% of cases are those that came from Iran, 17% are those that came from elsewhere and 5% are those that had contact with travelers. 5 cases are in serious critical condition. Press conference by Dr. Zafar Mirza.
Pathetic neighbour we are surrounded by.

Startup begins working with PAF on production of low-cost ventilators
Ventilate — a company that invented a low-cost ventilator has started working with the Pakistan Air Force to start production of ventilators within a few days amid the spread of Covid-19 in the country.

The production-ready low-cost ventilator known as the Ambulator. —Ventilate website
Wajahat Ali, co-founder of Ventilate, said that the company was looking to work with the civil sector as well to increase production.

He added that the company's business model was to provide the ventilators on a no-profit-no-loss basis to the public sector.

https://www.dawn.com/live-blog/

With difficulty comes opportunity

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Was reached out to do data analytics for CM Buzdar on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Corona?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Corona</a>. This is peak moment - might as well retire now. <br><br>But in all seriousness, i'm so glad that traditional policy makers are turning to data, innovation and new tools to find solutions in these desperate times.</p>— Hussain Nadim (@HNadim87) <a href="https://twitter.com/HNadim87/status/1242819542235189248?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

Shahbaz Sharif be like "data vo ki onda ay?"

Buzdar is defo turning out to be Wasim Akram plus

Pathetic neighbour we are surrounded by.

Expect the numbers in KPK to spike in the next few days.... they quarantined an entire village in Mardan because of that one traveler and now are doing tests. 46 tests were conducted 39 positive, 4 were rejected and 3 negative. The village is about 2000+ folks.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Welcome news from PIA on planning one-off flights to the UK; British nationals should contact local travel agents immediately to book flights</p>— UKinPakistan�������� #StayHomeSaveLives (@ukinpakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ukinpakistan/status/1242817819743526920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

PIA to operate 4 international flights on humanitarian grounds

Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) has decided to operate four special flights on humanitarian grounds in order to transport those passengers stuck in Pakistan.

Three of the flights will go to the United Kingdom and one will travel to Canada.

PK781 till travel from Lahore to Toronto on March 27.

PK709 will travel from Islamabad to Manchester on March 28, PK757 will go from Islamabad to London on March 28 and PK9791 will go from Islamabad to Birmingham on March 28.

According to the PIA spokesperson, the flights will return empty, adding that booking on these flights has started and will be sold on a first come first serve basis.

In order to purchase ticket, the spokesperson said that passengers should contact PIA or agent offices or call the call centre.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I request Ulema to take urgent action to stop <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaVirus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaVirus</a> spread in Pakistan, based on principles of Islam from Quran & Sunnah.<br>Countries that have stopped congregational prayers: UAE, Saudia, Iran, Algeria, Tunisia, Jordan, Kuwait, Palestine, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Egypt etc. <a href="https://t.co/dK4wV072P3">https://t.co/dK4wV072P3</a></p>— Dr. Arif Alvi (@ArifAlvi) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArifAlvi/status/1242776317579399172?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

Meanwhile, Mufti Muneeb earlier held a presser and announced that... children who haven't reached the stage of puberty shouldn't go to mosques. :|

I am surprised to see why still no total lockdown. Also from what I am reading here seem like state governments in Pak are doing a decent job regardless of political affiliation just like in India. However in india center and state seem to be more or less on the same page but correct me if I am wrong but there seems to be a disconnect here.

If strict action is not taken in our part of the world things can go spiraling out of control soon.

Just +50 today, the trend of stabilized/decreasing growth continues. If we continue the lock down for 2-3 weeks we will emerge victorious Inshallah.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">اور کمانڈر صاحب کو غصے میں یہ بھی بھول گیا کہ وہ اپنے ہی گھر بیٹھے ہوئے ہیں واک آوٹ کر کے کہاں جا رہے ہیں۔ بعد میں پتہ چلا واک آوٹ کر کے باہر گلی میں کھڑے ہو گئے تھے۔ <a href="https://t.co/bhH2wT6hoR">https://t.co/bhH2wT6hoR</a></p>— Dr. Shahbaz GiLL (@SHABAZGIL) <a href="https://twitter.com/SHABAZGIL/status/1242821846875193344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Social distancing is important - sometimes I feel that people in small towns/villages are more ‘educated’ than our ‘educated urban elite’ class. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/RVpuq7kyoe">pic.twitter.com/RVpuq7kyoe</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1242786526070738944?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

InshAllah, but if hamari awaam ko kuch sharam ajaye.

Is it true that in a village in Lakki Marwat two people came back from Umra and when their tests came back negative the whole village resorted to aerial firing to celebrate :)))

Excellent step by Buzdar:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">حکومت پنجاب نے کرونا کے خلاف لڑنے والے سرکاری ملازمین کی تنخواہ دوگنا کر دی ہے<br><br>بہت عمدہ قدم لائق تحسین و تقلید جناب <a href="https://twitter.com/UsmanAKBuzdar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UsmanAKBuzdar</a></p>— Usman Saeed Basra (@usmansaeedbasra) <a href="https://twitter.com/usmansaeedbasra/status/1242804453700403200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Is it true that in a village in Lakki Marwat two people came back from Umra and when their tests came back negative the whole village resorted to aerial firing to celebrate :)))

Haha well not Lakki marwat, incident happened in Swat which is true.

Great work by Buzdar:

1000 beds.
ET9aqqYXQAAPTeV

I am surprised to see why still no total lockdown. Also from what I am reading here seem like state governments in Pak are doing a decent job regardless of political affiliation just like in India. However in india center and state seem to be more or less on the same page but correct me if I am wrong but there seems to be a disconnect here.

If strict action is not taken in our part of the world things can go spiraling out of control soon.

just want to know that whats your (or some indian ppers) source regarding to lockdown in Pakistan ?
Becoz a simple google search will tell you that all Pakistan is under lockdown ....
but if you go to any Indian news source, thn they will tell you a different story for thre own reason .... :)

In pakistan IK is of opinion that lockdown should n't be there.But sindh announced lockdown & hence IK said he had pressure from media to implement lockdown in punjab & KPK too.

He says no lockdown, province govts. want lockdown.

More at:

https://www.dawn.com/news/1543642/p...-complete-lockdowns-as-strategy-against-virus

just want to know that whats your (or some indian ppers) source regarding to lockdown in Pakistan ?
Becoz a simple google search will tell you that all Pakistan is under lockdown ....
but if you go to any Indian news source, thn they will tell you a different story for thre own reason .... :)

Huh? It’s clear based on the articles here that governments in Punjab and Sindh have imposed a lockdown and from whatever sound bites I hear from Imran Khan he looks to be against lockdown.

I don’t have to go too far or look at other sources, unless the articles here are not reliable, it is pretty obvious that is the case.

As I said feel free to correct my understanding.

In pakistan IK is of opinion that lockdown should n't be there.But sindh announced lockdown & hence IK said he had pressure from media to implement lockdown in punjab & KPK too.

He says no lockdown, province govts. want lockdown.

More at:

https://www.dawn.com/news/1543642/p...-complete-lockdowns-as-strategy-against-virus

as i said before, the whole Pakistan is under lockdown , Sindh, Punjab, Kpk, Balochistan, Islamabad, all have called Army for help.... its just not official yet.
only Sindh govt lockdown is official becoz the federal govt received summary from them ....

Huh? It’s clear based on the articles here that governments in Punjab and Sindh have imposed a lockdown and from whatever sound bites I hear from Imran Khan he looks to be against lockdown.

I don’t have to go too far or look at other sources, unless the articles here are not reliable, it is pretty obvious that is the case.

As I said feel free to correct my understanding.

if you can watch his interview from tomorrow PC, he clearly said that he is against regarding full lockdown, he only wants partial lockdown, but since every province is free to take decision, the federal govt will support thre decision regarding for a total lockdown, as we have seen the case of Sindh and Punjab ....

That’s exactly my point, state governments are in damage control mode and realize that only a full lockdown is the solution where as he keeps saying only a partial lockdown should be imposed.

Outside of Punjab and Sindh aren’t the rest mostly tribal areas with a lot of illiterate folk? Now if they are only imposing partial lockdown wouldn’t that be trouble?

I am not denying army and federal government are not concerned but clearly there is a disconnect in statements and approach.

That’s exactly my point, state governments are in damage control mode and realize that only a full lockdown is the solution where as he keeps saying only a partial lockdown should be imposed.

Outside of Punjab and Sindh aren’t the rest mostly tribal areas with a lot of illiterate folk? Now if they are only imposing partial lockdown wouldn’t that be trouble?

I am not denying army and federal government are not concerned but clearly there is a disconnect in statements and approach.

he made some mistake regarding a total lockdown and partial lockdown and a curfew in his first PC. he should have made it clear from day one.

Why are you even responding to chest thumpers? In time of humanitarian crisis these folks are still viewing things with their saffron tinted glasses. Save your brain cells and ignore them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of the people of Sindh, I would like to extend my sincere thanks to <a href="https://twitter.com/JackMa?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JackMa</a> and the govt of China for firmly standing by us during our hour of need, and donating 500,000 face masks to the govt of Sindh. The assistance from our long-standing friends is very welcome!</p>— Murad Ali Shah (@MuradAliShahPPP) <a href="https://twitter.com/MuradAliShahPPP/status/1242864653753073668?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">CM Sindh has decided that out of the 500,000 KN95 masks received from China earlier today, <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sindh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sindh</a> will keep 200,000 masks and the remaining will be distributed amongst Punjab, KP, Baluchistan, AJK & GB Governments. Yes together we can</p>— SenatorMurtaza Wahab (@murtazawahab1) <a href="https://twitter.com/murtazawahab1/status/1242827170462027778?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The people of Sindh thank <a href="https://twitter.com/JackMa?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JackMa</a> & The People's Republic of China for their gift of 500,000 KN95 masks. <a href="https://twitter.com/MuradAliShahPPP?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MuradAliShahPPP</a> decision to donate 60% to all other provinces, GB & AJK is classic PPP. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TogetherWeCan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TogetherWeCan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID2019?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID2019</a></p>— BilawalBhuttoZardari (@BBhuttoZardari) <a href="https://twitter.com/BBhuttoZardari/status/1242858566370942977?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of the people of Sindh, I would like to extend my sincere thanks to <a href="https://twitter.com/JackMa?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JackMa</a> and the govt of China for firmly standing by us during our hour of need, and donating 500,000 face masks to the govt of Sindh. The assistance from our long-standing friends is very welcome!</p>— Murad Ali Shah (@MuradAliShahPPP) <a href="https://twitter.com/MuradAliShahPPP/status/1242864653753073668?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">CM Sindh has decided that out of the 500,000 KN95 masks received from China earlier today, <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sindh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sindh</a> will keep 200,000 masks and the remaining will be distributed amongst Punjab, KP, Baluchistan, AJK & GB Governments. Yes together we can</p>— SenatorMurtaza Wahab (@murtazawahab1) <a href="https://twitter.com/murtazawahab1/status/1242827170462027778?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The people of Sindh thank <a href="https://twitter.com/JackMa?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JackMa</a> & The People's Republic of China for their gift of 500,000 KN95 masks. <a href="https://twitter.com/MuradAliShahPPP?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MuradAliShahPPP</a> decision to donate 60% to all other provinces, GB & AJK is classic PPP. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TogetherWeCan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TogetherWeCan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID2019?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID2019</a></p>— BilawalBhuttoZardari (@BBhuttoZardari) <a href="https://twitter.com/BBhuttoZardari/status/1242858566370942977?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Go Asia! We will donate emergency supplies (1.8M masks, 210K test kits, 36K protective suits, plus ventilators & thermometers) to Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Laos, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan & Sri Lanka. Delivering fast is not easy, but we'll get it done!</p>— Jack Ma (@JackMa) <a href="https://twitter.com/JackMa/status/1241222631895879680?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2020</a></blockquote>

ET-UKzPXQAcd0Ji.jpg

So Bilawal and PPP turned the donations to Pakistan into "donations to Sindh" and are now claiming to be 'distributing' the rest to other parts of the country.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">افسوسناک ٹویئٹ۔آپ لوگ میڈیا گڈوِل لینے میں کچھ آگے نکل گئے ہیں۔ اب رک جائیں۔یہ پانچ لاکھ ماسک پورے پاکستان کے لئیے آئے تھے۔آپکا حصہ پچاس ہزار تھا۔ باقی سب کا بھی حصہ تھا۔یہ کراچی آئے۔آپ نیں زد کی کہ آپکو دو لاکھ چاہئیں۔براہ مہربانی ریکارڈ درست فرما لیں اور پوائنٹ سکور نہ کریں <a href="https://t.co/Iu7aQf17Iu">https://t.co/Iu7aQf17Iu</a></p>— Dr. Shahbaz GiLL (@SHABAZGIL) <a href="https://twitter.com/SHABAZGIL/status/1242847103879122951?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Confirmed <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> cases in Punjab are 323. 176 Zaireen in DGK and 4 in Multan Quarantine tested positive so far. Lahore has 80, Gujrat 21, Gujranwala 8, Jhelum 19, Rawalpindi 4, Multan 3, Faisalabad 3 and MBD, Narowal, RYK, Sargodha, Attock have 1 case each. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/StayHomeStaySafe?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#StayHomeStaySafe</a></p>— Usman Buzdar (@UsmanAKBuzdar) <a href="https://twitter.com/UsmanAKBuzdar/status/1242883516574117898?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

Sadly Sindh government and politicians couldn't milk for long

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Another plane carrying much-needed medical supplies has just landed. These supplies arrived in Pakistan, where they will be transported and distributed throughout the country by the National Disaster Management Authority. <a href="https://twitter.com/foundation_ma?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Foundation_Ma</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AlibabaFoundation?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AlibabaFoundation</a> <a href="https://t.co/kRwQSJEKD0">pic.twitter.com/kRwQSJEKD0</a></p>— Alibaba Group (@AlibabaGroup) <a href="https://twitter.com/AlibabaGroup/status/1242747090582659072?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistan needs to strictly distinguish between the corona cases caught on the border consisting of Shia pilgrims and corona cases found within the population. Otherwise these numbers would be meaningless.

Yes we are stopping and testing a lot of travelers coming directly from Iran but the main focus should be the international travelers who came back via airport within last 14 days and those pilgrims from iran or saudia who were able to mingle into the society.

Pakistan needs to strictly distinguish between the corona cases caught on the border consisting of Shia pilgrims and corona cases found within the population. Otherwise these numbers would be meaningless.

Yes we are stopping and testing a lot of travelers coming directly from Iran but the main focus should be the international travelers who came back via airport within last 14 days and those pilgrims from iran or saudia who were able to mingle into the society.

Dr Zafar did a press conference on it today

Pakistan has 1020 active cases right now, 7 deaths and 16 recovered. 78% of cases are those that came from Iran, 17% are those that came from elsewhere and 5% are those that had contact with travelers. 5 cases are in serious critical condition. Press conference by Dr. Zafar Mirza.

Sadly Sindh government and politicians couldn't milk for long

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Another plane carrying much-needed medical supplies has just landed. These supplies arrived in Pakistan, where they will be transported and distributed throughout the country by the National Disaster Management Authority. <a href="https://twitter.com/foundation_ma?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Foundation_Ma</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AlibabaFoundation?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AlibabaFoundation</a> <a href="https://t.co/kRwQSJEKD0">pic.twitter.com/kRwQSJEKD0</a></p>— Alibaba Group (@AlibabaGroup) <a href="https://twitter.com/AlibabaGroup/status/1242747090582659072?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Even in this pic I cab see two guys with masks but covering their nose. They are supposed to be some high officials I believe and not the average citizen.

taza huwa ka itna shok hai? Virus bus mask dekh kar baag jai ga kia

Waste of resources. No amount of protective care is going to help if used improperly. There should tv ads informing how to wear a mask and keeping 2m distance. Anybody caught wearing his mask improperly should be lectured on the spot.

Why Alibaba send them only to Sindh? Thats not right. They should have send masks to Pakistan government and then Pakistan government should have distributed them among provinces.

Dr Zafar did a press conference on it today

If these numbers are real then I see absolutely no reason for panic and even less reason for a lockdown.

Public awareness is crucial. Enforcing any strict measures without public awareness will only backfire.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Social distancing is important - sometimes I feel that people in small towns/villages are more ‘educated’ than our ‘educated urban elite’ class. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/RVpuq7kyoe">pic.twitter.com/RVpuq7kyoe</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1242786526070738944?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Always trust a humble man to do what is right than an arrogant elite.

Question is, are there still stringent requirements for who can get tested or not? Only a few days ago I heard they were only doing tests on you if you travelled abroad or came in contact with confirmed patient.

Why Alibaba send them only to Sindh? Thats not right. They should have send masks to Pakistan government and then Pakistan government should have distributed them among provinces.

They sent them to Karachi for them to distributed by the NDMA (National Disaster Management Authority). Sindh government took them some how, and are shamelessly giving a donation to the rest of the country.

I get Saudi Arabia and the Hajj/Umrah, but why have so many thousands of Pakistanis gone to Iran? Is it only the Shia population of Pakistan who go there?

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]

Hamid Mir in his new articled, compared Imran Khan to Namrood :facepalm:

President Alvi, religious scholars to meet shortly

President Arif Alvi will meet with the country's religious scholars shortly for consultation on Friday prayers and religious gatherings.

The meeting, organised by the Council of Islamic Ideology (CII) and the the ministry of religious affairs, will be attended by scholars from across the country who will participate in the meeting via video link.

KARACHI: The Sindh Health Department has 484 ventilators in the entire province, of which only 353 are functional, 52 out of order, 43 yet to be installed, and 21 being purchased, the chief minister was told during a meeting on Wednesday, according to a report in The News.

Sindh CM Syed Murad Ali Shah on Wednesday said that Sindh needed 5,000 more ventilators to deal with a health emergency, but in the first phase, he was approving the purchase of 290 ventilators, which will be installed at different public health facilities in the province.

With the pressure of people mounting on various public and private hospitals for the testing of COVID-19, Shah also approved the purchase of 3.2 million personal protective equipment (PPE), 100 antigen rapid testing devices, and 100,000 testing kits.

He also approved the purchase of 50 reverse transcription loop-mediated isothermal amplification (RT-Lamp) testing devices, 10,000 RT-Lamp testing kits, and 29 portable X-ray machines, so that the testing capacity in the province could be enhanced.

One of the leading private hospitals of Karachi, and some public health facilities, have stopped testing people for the novel coronavirus after their testing abilities were exhausted, said health authorities on Wednesday.

Authorities added that hundreds of people were reporting daily at the emergencies of public and private hospitals to get tested for COVID-19, compelling the provincial government to purchase testing kits and equipment, ventilators, and PPE, for health care providers in Sindh.

The chief executive gave the approval for the purchase of medical equipment and supplies during the 28th meeting of the task force on coronavirus that he presided over at the CM House on Wednesday.

Shah was told that the antigen rapid testing devices prepared by Chinese scientists have an easy system to test samples, and were one of the best machines, as they could conduct 10 virus tests in an hour.

The CM approved the purchase of 100 such devices, and 100,000 testing kits, directing the health department to place the order. “I want their delivery as soon as possible,” he said.

He also approved the purchase of RT-Lamp testing devices and 10,000 RT-Lamp testing kits, and issued the directives for ensuring their delivery in the shortest possible time.

He was told that seven health facilities have been provided with testing machines for the virus.These include the Chest Clinic Lyari, the District Headquarters (DHQ) Hospital Kashmore, the Civil Hospital Karachi, the Taluka Hospital Hala, the DHQ Hospital Sanghar, the DHQ Hospital Ghotki and the DHQ Hospital Naushehroferoze.

These health facilities will be able to conduct 1,344 tests in six batches a day. Therefore, they are in need of 120,960 testing kits for the next 90 days.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/279257-si...ilators-to-deal-with-health-emergency-cm-shah

KARACHI: As Sindh government starts enforcing stricter measures to practice social distancing, the prices of essential food items, especially pulses and wheat have shot up by 20% in the wholesale market, reported The News.

Karachi Retail Grocers Association Secretary General Farid Qureshi informed the paper on Wednesday that prices of essential food items, especially pulses have increased by up to 20% in the wholesale market.

According to details, split Bengal gram (channa) price was raised by 8% or Rs10/kg to Rs135/kg from Rs125 on March 20. Green gram washed (moong) price has increased to Rs230 from Rs225.

Rate of split red lentil (masoor) increased by 20% to Rs125 from Rs104/kg in the wholesale market. Price of split-washed black gram (maash) rose by 12% or Rs20/kg to Rs185 from Rs165/kg.

Similarly, the price of sugar was raised by Rs1/kg to Rs80/kg and Rs50 per 50 kg bag, and price of wheat flour was raised by 10% to Rs550 from Rs500 for 10 kg.

Qureshi alleged that transporters have increased the rates by 50% despite a decline in petroleum prices. “A Suzuki pickup is charging Rs1,500 per trip against Rs1,000 per trip it charged before the lockdown,” he said. Transporters were saying they increased fares because they were getting all the stuff at higher prices, he added.

Noor Ahmed, a retailer in Karachi’s DHA, said that supply of household items remained normal, but price of wheat flour was raised by Rs10 to Rs15 per 5kg. He said that demand was low, as customers were engaged in buying only necessary food items.

Mumtaz Shaikh, a flourmill owner and leader of Pakistan Flour Mills Association alleged that the government was not supplying wheat to flour mills. He added that they were buying wheat from the open market.

Shaikh also rejected rumours about shortage of wheat, and blamed profiteers, who have increased the prices to take advantage of the lockdown. The government has also stopped movement of wheat to Punjab, as that would also be supplied in Sindh. “So, price of wheat flour should not have increased,” Shaikh added.

The flourmill owner said mills in Sukkur and Larkana were advised not to make ‘maida’ from wheat, and to instead only prepare wheat flour to keep supply smooth. However, he admitted that supply to retail stores might have slowed, as a bulk of flour bags were supplied to a charity organisation that was supposed to provide it to the poor people.

Mehmood Nawaz Shah, senior vice president, Sindh Abadgar Board, said Sindh government had imposed Section 144 on inter-district movement of wheat. This, he said, could cause shortage of the grain in Karachi, as the metropolis did not produce wheat. He urged the government to lift the ban to enable smooth availability of wheat to the citizens of Karachi.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/279262-si...rease-in-prices-of-essential-food-items-by-20

the PPP are a disgusting organisation. Why look to play politics at a time like this? You can already see the wretches thinking about the months ahead after Covid. "see the boot polisher PM couldnt do anything, our CM did more, we donated masks to other provinces" it doesnt matter if its a lie. They just need enough gullible fools to believe them. Coming onto the articles above, this proves the dangers of a lockdown.

the Sindh govt is playing with fire here.

Reports Pakistan motorway police have banned all public transport on motorway, only allowing goods vehicles at the moment.

24 year old Female Patient who was a confirmed COVID19 Patient escapes from a Hospital in Lahore, Pakistan

Reports Pakistan motorway police have banned all public transport on motorway, only allowing goods vehicles at the moment.

Awesome. Need of the hour. In between can Pak ban all jumma prayers for at least next 2/ 3 Friday's ?

How many tests has pakistan carried out so far, or carrying out daily? Any official source sharing data?

CM Punjab to give additional one month salary to doctors

Chief Minister of Punjab Sardar Usman Buzdar on Thursday has decided to give additional one month pay to doctors and other medical staff who put their lives in danger while treating the coronavirus patients.

According to details, the CM has paid tribute to the doctors and health care staffers, saying that their services in this time of need will always be remembered.

The salaries will be given under Special Risk Allowance, he added.

https://nation.com.pk/26-Mar-2020/cm-punjab-to-give-additional-one-month-salary-to-doctors

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Wednesday appointed CEO of Shaukat Khanum Hospital Dr Faisal Sultan as his lead and focal person of COVID-19.

According to a notification shared by Tania Aidrus, Dr Sultan will “provide direct input and guidance to the National Coordination Committee."

"Dr Sultan will reach out to all the stakeholders to get their input and recommend steps that can be taken for the prevention of the disease on the basis available data," it added.

The newly-appointed focal person will also make recommendations for the resource creation for care and treatment of individuals suffering from the virus.

Dr Sultan will also create a group of experts who will provide recommendations on improving Pakistan’s corona response and “channel” solutions to the NCC and the PM.

The notification also stated that Dr Sultan will work in an “honourary capacity” during the coronavirus pandemic.

Also read: 'Ghabrana nahi hai', PM Imran tells nation amidst coronavirus outbreak

Head of the prime minister's 'Digital Pakistan' initiative said that she was looking forward to working with Dr Sultan to tackle the COVID-19 pandemic.

Aidrus also urged everyone to come together to fight the virus. "Please do your bit by staying home and staying safe to support the government in eradicating this menace!" said the PM's aide.

Dr Sultan's appointment comes as the number of confirmed cases in Pakistan surged to 1,102.

Globally, 198 countries have been affected, more than 21,000 people have died and more than 47,000 infected by the disease as it spreads rapidly to new territories.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/279283-sh...tan-appointed-pms-focal-person-on-coronavirus

KARACHI: As Sindh government starts enforcing stricter measures to practice social distancing, the prices of essential food items, especially pulses and wheat have shot up by 20% in the wholesale market, reported The News.

Karachi Retail Grocers Association Secretary General Farid Qureshi informed the paper on Wednesday that prices of essential food items, especially pulses have increased by up to 20% in the wholesale market.

According to details, split Bengal gram (channa) price was raised by 8% or Rs10/kg to Rs135/kg from Rs125 on March 20. Green gram washed (moong) price has increased to Rs230 from Rs225.

Rate of split red lentil (masoor) increased by 20% to Rs125 from Rs104/kg in the wholesale market. Price of split-washed black gram (maash) rose by 12% or Rs20/kg to Rs185 from Rs165/kg.

Similarly, the price of sugar was raised by Rs1/kg to Rs80/kg and Rs50 per 50 kg bag, and price of wheat flour was raised by 10% to Rs550 from Rs500 for 10 kg.

Qureshi alleged that transporters have increased the rates by 50% despite a decline in petroleum prices. “A Suzuki pickup is charging Rs1,500 per trip against Rs1,000 per trip it charged before the lockdown,” he said. Transporters were saying they increased fares because they were getting all the stuff at higher prices, he added.

Noor Ahmed, a retailer in Karachi’s DHA, said that supply of household items remained normal, but price of wheat flour was raised by Rs10 to Rs15 per 5kg. He said that demand was low, as customers were engaged in buying only necessary food items.

Mumtaz Shaikh, a flourmill owner and leader of Pakistan Flour Mills Association alleged that the government was not supplying wheat to flour mills. He added that they were buying wheat from the open market.

Shaikh also rejected rumours about shortage of wheat, and blamed profiteers, who have increased the prices to take advantage of the lockdown. The government has also stopped movement of wheat to Punjab, as that would also be supplied in Sindh. “So, price of wheat flour should not have increased,” Shaikh added.

The flourmill owner said mills in Sukkur and Larkana were advised not to make ‘maida’ from wheat, and to instead only prepare wheat flour to keep supply smooth. However, he admitted that supply to retail stores might have slowed, as a bulk of flour bags were supplied to a charity organisation that was supposed to provide it to the poor people.

Mehmood Nawaz Shah, senior vice president, Sindh Abadgar Board, said Sindh government had imposed Section 144 on inter-district movement of wheat. This, he said, could cause shortage of the grain in Karachi, as the metropolis did not produce wheat. He urged the government to lift the ban to enable smooth availability of wheat to the citizens of Karachi.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/279262-si...rease-in-prices-of-essential-food-items-by-20

This is what happens when lockdowns are done for media consumption and are not planned in minutae. Its what any half wit could have predicted. It has to be planned to the last detail and who in Sindh has the motivation,intelligence and organisational skills to do that?

Of total confirmed coronavirus cases in Pakistan as of March 25, men accounted for 64% of infections and women 36%: health minister

‘Prayers will be performed in congregation as usual,’ top clerics

There you go! Mullahs are refusing to cancel mass prayers. Friday prayers will also go ahead as usual!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Please note that the village of Manga, Mardan is under a lockdown and there is no entry/exit allowed in the area. Maximum efforts are being made for containment and screening. Food is being provided for the residents also. The village is cooperating also. <a href="https://twitter.com/Jhagra?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Jhagra</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KPFightsCorona?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KPFightsCorona</a></p>— Health Department KP (@HealthKPGovt) <a href="https://twitter.com/HealthKPGovt/status/1243120753836425216?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thankyou Pakistani diaspora in Singapore for coming fwd at this difficult time! <br>Complete protective gear 2800 coveralls,1500 goggles,400 face shields handed over to NDMA for our health professionals<br>Thankyou HC for coordinating..all <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OverseasPakistanis?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OverseasPakistanis</a> are welcome to contribute! <a href="https://t.co/FDsVRpV1ya">pic.twitter.com/FDsVRpV1ya</a></p>— Sayed Z Bukhari (@sayedzbukhari) <a href="https://twitter.com/sayedzbukhari/status/1243100102715203586?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

Pakpattan groom, wedding-goers arrested for violating lockdown

A groom was arrested on Thursday for gathering more than 50 people at his house in a village in Pakpattan.

The groom and his family members, along with their neighbours and friends, were leaving for the bride’s house when a police team raided their house.

The police said that such gatherings are likely to spread the coronavirus..

The suspects have been arrested for violating the lockdown. A case has been registered against them under Section 188 (disobedience to orders) of the Pakistan Penal Code.

https://www.samaa.tv/news/pakistan/...edding-goers-arrested-for-violating-lockdown/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was drug overdose. His friend who gave him has ran away and is being chased . Very unfortunate that Edhi volunteer without any investigation issued a statement <a href="https://t.co/fyWa2qHC5c">https://t.co/fyWa2qHC5c</a></p>— Deputy Commissioner Islamabad (@dcislamabad) <a href="https://twitter.com/dcislamabad/status/1243124858445324288?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">102 cases out of 153 in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a> are of local transmission. Please don’t go out unless it’s absolutely necessary. Convince the men in your house to pray at home, if you’re going to a grocery store maintain some distance. The curve won’t flatten till you start being responsible.</p>— Meeran (@LumosNotNox) <a href="https://twitter.com/LumosNotNox/status/1243138216074543109?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Approval of Ehsaas Emergency Cash Program:<br>Under this program 12,000 Rs. per family will be given to 10 million effectess.<br>Daily wage earner,whose livelihood have been effected by the corona-virus is a top priority of the Government.(1/2)</p>— Ehsaas (@Ehsaas_Pk) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk/status/1243049904076980225?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Through this Emergency Cash Relief Program 4.5 million existing <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ehsaas?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ehsaas</a> Kafaalat beneficiaries will receive Rs.1,000 Additional Assistance apart from Rs.2,000 regular tranche for next 4 months.(2/2)</p>— Ehsaas (@Ehsaas_Pk) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk/status/1243055620300947456?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Approval of Ehsaas Emergency Cash Program:<br>Under this program 12,000 Rs. per family will be given to 10 million effectess.<br>Daily wage earner,whose livelihood have been effected by the corona-virus is a top priority of the Government.(1/2)</p>— Ehsaas (@Ehsaas_Pk) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk/status/1243049904076980225?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Through this Emergency Cash Relief Program 4.5 million existing <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Ehsaas?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Ehsaas</a> Kafaalat beneficiaries will receive Rs.1,000 Additional Assistance apart from Rs.2,000 regular tranche for next 4 months.(2/2)</p>— Ehsaas (@Ehsaas_Pk) <a href="https://twitter.com/Ehsaas_Pk/status/1243055620300947456?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

Awesome! Great to read this.. finally subcontinent is focusing on the poor!

Medical experts to arrive in Pakistan to help fight coronavirus: Chinese vice minister

BEIJING: Vice Minister of China’s National Health Commission Zeng Yixin announced on Thursday that Beijing will send a team of medical experts to Pakistan to work closely with the health authorities and provide assistance and expertise in their fight against the coronavirus pandemic.

“As required by Pakistani side, China is preparing a medical team to visit Pakistan and this team of experts will pay field trips to different localities in Pakistan,” Zeng said while responding to a question by APP at a press conference on China’s cooperation with the international community in fighting COVID-19 held at China’s State Council Information Office.

Zeng said the team would be sharing its experience in tackling the disease with their Pakistani counterparts. He added that the Chinese team would also be discussing other assistance matters.

The vice minister said that China immediately shared therapeutic and prevention protocols with Pakistan when COVID-19 hit the country.

“We also shared with Pakistani friends, through video-link, China’s experience in treatment and containment,” he added.

Zeng Yixin also said that the Chinese authorities also had a very good discussion on other issues of Pakistan in wake of the new coronavirus outbreak.

Acknowledging Pakistan’s support to China against the coronavirus, Deng Boqing, Vice Chairman of China International Development Cooperation Agency said that as China was fighting the epidemic at home, Pakistan extended great support.

Pakistan mobilised all possible medical supplies to support China and that measure had moved numerous Chinese people.

Deng said the two countries were facing similar challenges and China was ready to share its experience with Pakistan and provide Pakistan with badly needed medical supplies.

“As a matter of fact, we have already provided four batches of assistance to Pakistan in terms of testing kits, protective suits, facial masks, ventilators and other medical supplies,” he said.

Deng said for the next stage, the Chinese side also had a plan to provide more urgently needed assistance to Pakistan.

“In addition, we will also support Pakistan in building temporary quarantine hospital,” he added.

The Chinese government has provided 83 countries and international organisations with emergency assistance to battle the novel coronavirus.

The country has activity shared information about Covid-19, and enhanced technological exchanges with international experts.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/279321-ch...stan-tackle-coronavirus-chinese-vice-minister

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">KARACHI (March 26): Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah has released Rs. 580 million to provide ration to the daily wagers and other needy people all over Sindh.</p>— CMHouseSindh (@SindhCMHouse) <a href="https://twitter.com/SindhCMHouse/status/1243134185075867649?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 26, 2020</a></blockquote>

60 cases today..... it seems to be slowing down. Definitely not exploding exponentially as was the case in Europe/North America/China. Our daily range is 100-150 new cases. Need to bring this down to under 100 in the first stage.

293 arrested in Sindh for violating lockdown measures

As many as 293 people across Sindh were arrested for violating terms of the government-imposed lockdown on Thursday.

According to police sources, 186 persons were apprehended in Karachi for violation of Section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code and for hoarding masks, sanitisers, gloves and other such items.

Amongst others arrested in the province, 51 were held in Hyderabad, 10 in Mirpurkhas, 10 in Shaheed Benazirabad and 36 in Sukkur.