Deciding Between Two Bats, which one?

Ahh okay, I would say English bats open up after a season or two.

One of my club mate has Newbery Uzi and after 2 season it has opened and is showing its true colours!

AWHHH MAN!!!!!! I was really stuck on that bat......but I need something with a high sweetspot. That really REALLY sucks because i liked that one the best so far...even better then the GM's.............is it possible to get a custom made one? because i want the exact bat but with a high sweet spot.

CD bhai, how would you rate your Icon compared to your Salix and Newbery. Because I know you rate them very highly.

JazakallahKhair.

uzair bhai i want to post pics of my TRD, how to post the pics?

Email them at:

m_uzair36@hotmail.com

I'll pos them for you.

AWHHH MAN!!!!!! I was really stuck on that bat......but I need something with a high sweetspot. That really REALLY sucks because i liked that one the best so far...even better then the GM's.............is it possible to get a custom made one? because i want the exact bat but with a high sweet spot.

I got my custom made but its not that easy to get a custom made MB.

CD bhai, how would you rate your Icon compared to your Salix and Newbery. Because I know you rate them very highly.

JazakallahKhair.

I haven't used my Icon yet but if you say finishwise then Salix tops it with Newbery following it and then GM.

Feel wise Icon, Salix and then Newbery (although a close call between Salix and Newbery).

SO far pingwise Newbery (maybe because of low sweetspot and I prefer playing on front foot) and then Salix (haven't used Icon yet so can't comment)

bhai just tell me how to do it coz i want to make a thread of trd's pics and review it. i have received my trd

You will have to make an account on photobucket.com and then upload pictures on it. After that you will have to copy the
link and paste it in the text box and it will work!

Hope this helps, if you have any questions then please let me know

WHAT DO U GUYS THINK OF THE NEW PUMA BATS!!!??? has anybody used any of the puma cricket bats.........in specific the kinetic or stealth?! They look just awesome. The kinetic has a similar profile to the icon and looks 100000000000000000 times better too!

So far I haven't been impressed by Puma bats.

Except top range all of them are made in India so I wouldn't buy them.

GM are all English.

Have you used any of them? I have used the oldest kinetic (it was a friends) and the middle was better then my GN and GM! but the new one looks superb

I once held Puma at Hagee and I think it was Ballistic and I found nothing special in the profile or in that bat. Not sure if they have changed stuff but I didn't find anything impressive or something to die for in those bats.

yea i have, n yo rueben kevin in our team the small indian dude has a ballistic, pick it up on friday, to be honest nothing to special :/

REally? well he's got a juniors bat..........its like a size 6! WHAT?! kevins got one? idk man but the kinetic looks really apealing to me :P

lol ya I guess so.............is there anybody at all out there who has even held a puma? im looking at you knightrider!

Yup I've held many Puma bats. I went to mapperly sports few weeks ago and took few pictures of Puma bats. I posted them in new range 2011 thread page 2.

I was hoping I'd get a reply from you! I saw them pics but I wanted your opinion on them. Are they any good...........and if u had to choose between the Kinetic and irriduim.......which one nd why? PLease give me an honest answer lol ur the only one who can help me right now!

Yaar am always honest..I picked few (puma bats) up to see how they feel and to check the balance, feel etc. The pick up and balance was good lekin I didnt test the ping/performance with a mallet.
I was about to buy the bats but mapperley sports only had light weights and I wanted atleast 2.10.
I would choose kinetic because it has slightly higher sweetspot then iridium and it felt better then iridium.. balance and pick up was better aswell.

thanks a ton man...........i actually didnt mean to say be honest lol...........im preety desparate for some opinions yar..........thanks bro. U said in your other post on the thread where u posted pics that the lower end pumas often out performed the top of the line ones. Would u suggest I go for a 3000, 4000, or 5000........u might say the higher the better but with pumas does it really make a big difference which grade u go for? Also........if u ever get the chance to ping test a puma I would be very happy if u could tell me what they are like. I know its a lot to ask.......but if u get the chance to.........can u do that for me? please dont do it if u dont want to or if u have to go out of your way.

also..........what do u make if the thickness of the bat? Is it good for overall aggressive play and hard hitting shots?If u can think back.......what are the edges like?

Puma are similar to Kook, GM, GN, Slaz & different grades dont make much difference. The best performing bats are usually their mid range and sometimes lower end bats but you need a good eye to pick those out when your buying them in person. I'm good at hand picking bats and can judge performance with just testing it with mallet.

I would suggest you go for 3k or 4k this way you will save lot of money and 5k is just rip off and I think there wont be much difference in performance lekin I dont know much abt puma bats coz I havent really used there bats that much.

I might go mapperly sports nxt week and I will check the bats for you more properly and will take few pictures of all the good puma bats they have.

also..........what do u make if the thickness of the bat? Is it good for overall aggressive play and hard hitting shots?If u can think back.......what are the edges like?

edges were thick but the bats had almost extreme concaving. I'm not sure which style player the bats would suit.

Yes............well sort of..........narrowed it down to 2! Again! Either the new Puma kinetic 4000 or the GM icon 808 (not the plus bat)..............any thoughts QS?

Uhm, I would say go for the Icon 808, as I am a huge fan of Icon. As all the ones I have picked up have an amazing feel and the pick-up was superb.

As for Puma, I have to admit that I have not picked any up so I am in no position to comment about that.

Sorry yaar.

No problem bhai........thanks for the input. I think I will go for the icon. So many people have it and recommended it and as for the puma.........not many have had it so im guessing it aint the best bat out there. WIll go for the icon............and I wil do a review. But im not getting it for another month or so because my Grandpa is going to england to get it and he will come back with a bat for me in about a month or so.

You welcome bhai.

Yes that's what I would have gone for as well.

Do you know which shop your Grandpa will get it from?

Just get the Flare only cause it looks FANTASTIC.

You welcome bhai.

Yes that's what I would have gone for as well.

Do you know which shop your Grandpa will get it from?

He doesn't know anything about cricket lol so i'm going to do all the ordering and everything. I'm getting it shipped to my uncle's house where he is staying. The shop im getting it from it owzat cricket for 2 reasons. One being they are the cheapest I could find in the UK! Secondly........you can choose your specs like weight obviously and grain preference and stuff. The last thing I wanted was a bat with too many or too less grains.

http://www.owzat-cricket.co.uk/acatalog/2011_Icon_DXM_808_cricket_bat.html

Ah, good thinking I must say!

And also that's an excellent idea for buying from Owzat, because although I myself have no experience with them, at least they let you choose your specs.

A really wise move I would say.

Now lets just hope you get an absolute belter of a bat inshallah.

I don't see anything about grain preference.

Only time I've bought online was from pro4sport, whilst my brother's was from activinstinct. Both times the only selectable spec was weight range.

Ah, good thinking I must say!

And also that's an excellent idea for buying from Owzat, because although I myself have no experience with them, at least they let you choose your specs.

A really wise move I would say.

Now lets just hope you get an absolute belter of a bat inshallah.

THanks a ton Bhai.............it will be a while before I get it but I will do a review as soon as I do

I don't see anything about grain preference.

Only time I've bought online was from pro4sport, whilst my brother's was from activinstinct. Both times the only selectable spec was weight range.

I contacted Owzat and the gentlemen I spoke to said I can choose the number of grains I want as they have a huge selection. He said that in each grade (808, 909, original etc...) they have at least 20 bats to choose from!

Has anybody used either the gray nicolls fusion or EVO? If so.............can u please tell me what its like........I know the fusion is old but I heard great things about them. Also the new evo looks nice!

I picked up my clubmate's GM ICON PLUS bat and he said it weighed just over 2.13. I picked it up and was quite impressed with the feel.........it felt lighter then the dead weight.......probably like a 2.10 ish. Do you guys think I should still consider getting the plus bat? It wont feel the best in my hands but it will certainly play better then the standard icon.

There is no guarantee that a Plus bat will play better than Standard Icon. I would still say go for standard not for plus

Iv'e played with both and gotts admit...........the plus bat is softer on the face and has better rebound. Its just that the standard icon picks up better!

Anyone can help me out. I am stuck between gm flare and a kookaburra kahuna which one would be a beeter option. I am looking at a gm flare 606 or 808 and a kookaburra kahuna 600 or 800. Dont know which one to get. Any one who could help.

How would you choose between the following bats from BoomBoom:

1) Signature 175

2) Accelerator 175

3) Blaze 175

Thanks.

The Signature is the heaviest whilst the Accelerator is the lightest.

The Accelerator 175 comes in Light, Medium & Heavy.

The Blaze 175 comes in Medium & Heavy.

The Signature 175 comes in Medium only.

Too many different ones to choose from!

This is a decent video comparing the various BoomBoom types:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Rnp4bpao08&feature=related

GN is the most pricey buy. However, BB seems like a splendid willow to own. Will try it out some day IA.

I was just looking at the puma cricket bats. A website says the short blade bat has more meat and is thicker then the standard blade. Anybody know about this? Doesnt that mean the bat is smaller and is almost like a harrow sized bat?

Yes, it does.

But then you have T20 bats which have shorter blade which gives more wood on the bat and longer handle.

hi guyys,
today i received my SS TON LE 2011 and I have also the BOOM BOOM 3 STAR BAT.
I WILL POST AN REVIEW 2MORROW AND ALSO POST SOME PICS,
AS I AM NEW HERE I HAVE TO FIGURE THAT OUT.

BYE FOR NW

Boomboom 3 star the blue one. The same as ahmed shehzad uses at the moment. Got it directly through Ihsan factory sialkot..i will soon post some pics bro.