Does Pakistan T20I cricket enter a new era with Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan left out?

FearlessRoar

As Babar Azam has been left out of Pakistan's T20I squad for the tour of New Zealand and Mohammad Rizwan has been removed as T20I captain while also missing from the squad, a new era for Pakistan's T20 cricket is taking shape.

Aaqib Javed, while addressing the press conference, spoke about the future of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan in T20Is:

"In our system, you can never completely rule anyone out. It’s not like we are putting a cross over their names and saying they are done. Right now, we are trying to shape a new approach and mindset. But that does not mean that experienced players do not have a role to play in the future."

Evolving Approach in T20 Cricket:

"Gradually, the game has evolved. Our thought process was to take T20 cricket in a more aggressive direction because, with the way 200-plus scores are being made today, we needed a fearless approach. That’s why we are bringing in young players to play aggressive cricket, challenge other teams, and push the par score beyond 200."

"What we need to learn from this is whether the players we expected to perform actually delivered. As I explained earlier, against India, our fast bowling usually creates pressure and takes wickets through reverse swing. That’s why we also sent messages that if Pakistan is to win in these conditions in Karachi, then our fast bowlers need to bring variety, reverse swing, and those other elements into their bowling."

Importance of Firepower in the Top Three:

"In the top three, we need firepower. The first six overs of the powerplay are crucial. If you do not play high-risk shots, if you do not hit over the infield, then you are wasting the powerplay. That’s why we need firepower in the top three. This decision was made because we want to play aggressive cricket, and modern T20 demands an impactful start right from the beginning."

Players Must Take Responsibility for Improvement:

"We need to understand one thing—until a player himself wants to improve his game, no system in the world can fix him, no coach can fix him. This is a major factor. If you look at our top players like Babar, Shan, or Rizwan, their schedule is so packed with travel that they don’t even get a chance to play domestic cricket."

"They need time to play domestic cricket. Until you play four-day cricket, your performances in Test and ODI formats will never improve. It is impossible for someone to play T20 all year long and then suddenly switch to Tests or ODIs. Players themselves need to realize this. They should take a break from T20s and focus on four-day and List A cricket so they can regain form."

"On the other hand, we often say players should be forced to play domestic cricket. But should force really be necessary? Is it not the player’s own responsibility to understand where his game is heading and make some sacrifices? He should take a break from T20s and go play red-ball cricket to regain form."

Horrible decision to drop both of them. There are no worthy replacements. Both have a fantastic T20I record. I don’t know why they have been dropped? the players they have selected are mediocre to say the least. 5-0 to New Zealand in advance. And Agha Salman should not even be in the T20I squad, and they made him the captain. Blunders by blunders from the incompetent selection committee. Who even are the members of the selection committee? But as long as this form 47 government is ruling us, there is no hope for this country, let alone cricket.

As Babar Azam has been left out of Pakistan's T20I squad for the tour of New Zealand and Mohammad Rizwan has been removed as T20I captain while also missing from the squad, a new era for Pakistan's T20 cricket is taking shape.

Aaqib Javed, while addressing the press conference, spoke about the future of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan in T20Is:

"In our system, you can never completely rule anyone out. It’s not like we are putting a cross over their names and saying they are done. Right now, we are trying to shape a new approach and mindset. But that does not mean that experienced players do not have a role to play in the future."

Evolving Approach in T20 Cricket:

"Gradually, the game has evolved. Our thought process was to take T20 cricket in a more aggressive direction because, with the way 200-plus scores are being made today, we needed a fearless approach. That’s why we are bringing in young players to play aggressive cricket, challenge other teams, and push the par score beyond 200."

"What we need to learn from this is whether the players we expected to perform actually delivered. As I explained earlier, against India, our fast bowling usually creates pressure and takes wickets through reverse swing. That’s why we also sent messages that if Pakistan is to win in these conditions in Karachi, then our fast bowlers need to bring variety, reverse swing, and those other elements into their bowling."

Importance of Firepower in the Top Three:

"In the top three, we need firepower. The first six overs of the powerplay are crucial. If you do not play high-risk shots, if you do not hit over the infield, then you are wasting the powerplay. That’s why we need firepower in the top three. This decision was made because we want to play aggressive cricket, and modern T20 demands an impactful start right from the beginning."

Players Must Take Responsibility for Improvement:

"We need to understand one thing—until a player himself wants to improve his game, no system in the world can fix him, no coach can fix him. This is a major factor. If you look at our top players like Babar, Shan, or Rizwan, their schedule is so packed with travel that they don’t even get a chance to play domestic cricket."

"They need time to play domestic cricket. Until you play four-day cricket, your performances in Test and ODI formats will never improve. It is impossible for someone to play T20 all year long and then suddenly switch to Tests or ODIs. Players themselves need to realize this. They should take a break from T20s and focus on four-day and List A cricket so they can regain form."

"On the other hand, we often say players should be forced to play domestic cricket. But should force really be necessary? Is it not the player’s own responsibility to understand where his game is heading and make some sacrifices? He should take a break from T20s and go play red-ball cricket to regain form."

Social media trial against them has bore fruits. Now it's time to back the young lads.
They were certainly not indispensable.

But can the young lads usher in a new era of fearless brand of T20 cricket? It remains to be seen cause it takes some skill as well

Its written on the wall that they will bring back Rizwan and Babar as openers for the Asia cup , they will fail as usual but then will bring them back for WT20 saying they need experience..

Pakistan on the whole is a team full of parchis and players with low self esteem, so its always gonna be a circus after circus..

The new Dawn it is , Pakistan cricket enters into exciting phase of vibrant aggressive and smart cricket where there will be plenty of chikkas 6s and chokkas.

Much to the joy of some pseudo fans, no more learning rather just blast it.

OBY
Usman+
Haris++
Agha c
Irfan
Shadab
Khusdil
Jehandad
Abass
Ali
Sufyan

A new era yes...... only if they stay out. I have PTSD from the series vs Afg in 2023 after the PSL, when the PCB panicked and brought all the same old luggage back for a New Zealand B team. Hopefully it doesn't happen again. The squad however could still use some improvements but this is still better than what we've had.

Finally the torture of having to watch Babar and Rizwan walk out to bat and nudge the ball around for the first 10 overs of a t20 game is over

A new era yes...... only if they stay out. I have PTSD from the series vs Afg in 2023 after the PSL, when the PCB panicked and brought all the same old luggage back for a New Zealand B team. Hopefully it doesn't happen again. The squad however could still use some improvements but this is still better than what we've had.

Finally the torture of having to watch Babar and Rizwan walk out to bat and nudge the ball around for the first 10 overs of a t20 game is over
I suppose you are talking about T20 format and if yes then I agree 100%. We may lose the series 0-5 but who cares as time has come to make changes with eye towards the T20 World Cup as there is still 1 1/2 years to go where you can experiment with the squad and decide on 15-20 core players between whom you can select your final team.

It is good to give chances to new players but atleast select those players who have the backing of domestic stats.
If u selecting hacks like samad and hassan then it is khuda hafiz for u.

I must say it takes guts to remove rizbabar from t20 i would imagine aqib would have been under immense pressure to have them but he choose right players for t20 who likes to take the bowling on hopefully these 2 proves themselves and my favourite sufiyan muqeem is backed as well as this guy has all the talent to be pakistan best spinner game on hai.

So even the management admits that these two are holding back a fearless approach. This is for you @Rana - you’ve been fighting the fight since day one and have been vindicated!

U turn-naqvi

- Brings back Babar as Captain (wrong decision) and sacks him after WT20 (right decision)

- Appoints Rizwan (wrong decision) as captain, sacked within a year (right decision)

- Hires foreign coaches (right decision), replaced them within a year (wrong decision)

Brings Aqib as coach (meh), reports of him being sacked after one bad tournament. Will probably be replaced by Saqlain after the NZ series. (Wrong decision)

I’ve given up on Naqvi as a chairman, he’ll probably bring back Babar and Rizwan before the WT20. There’s no surgery, and I highly doubt this new squad will be backed under Naqvi for long.

So even the management admits that these two are holding back a fearless approach. This is for you @Rana - you’ve been fighting the fight since day one and have been vindicated!
It’s finally an acknowledgement of what I have been screaming here for years I guess.

But the fight isn’t over.

“Evil never dies or goes away, it hides in the shadows, growing stronger and waits to strike again.”

The real fight starts now. The fight to keep those players out of the side. They will not die easily! But we have a start at least

“Mohammad Rizwan was never under consideration of PCB for the captaincy of Pakistan. He was/is never in good books of PCB. Rizwan was made captain because PCB was left with no other choice.

Mark works… PCB will take no time to remove Rizwan as captain in future. “

@Kianig89 is this you tweeting this?

“Mohammad Rizwan was never under consideration of PCB for the captaincy of Pakistan. He was/is never in good books of PCB. Rizwan was made captain because PCB was left with no other choice.

Mark works… PCB will take no time to remove Rizwan as captain in future. “

@Kianig89 is this you tweeting this?
Rana sahab how do you rate upcoming opening pair of hassan nawaz and harris going to be fun in new zealand for sure now

I like it, and I pray they do well for Pakistan. Two correct players for these positions.

InshaAllah Fakhar and Saim will be the bonafide openers for Pakistan, and Harris+Nawaz will develop as international pros.

InshaAllah same prayer for Khwaja Nafay as well.

A lot of prayers and dreams with Arafat Minhas.

Only if they stay brave, stick to their plans, whatever they might be, and don't bring em back.

If they think that these 2 are the cause for the losses then keep em out and build another way of playing T20s ...but I doubt it, first bit of pressure, in other words a few losses, and the discards will be back in.

Only if they stay brave, stick to their plans, whatever they might be, and don't bring em back.

If they think that these 2 are the cause for the losses then keep em out and build another way of playing T20s ...but I doubt it, first bit of pressure, in other words a few losses, and the discards will be back in.
Look at the guy who I shared above. He will be the one doing the most PR for them

I like it, and I pray they do well for Pakistan. Two correct players for these positions.

InshaAllah Fakhar and Saim will be the bonafide openers for Pakistan, and Harris+Nawaz will develop as international pros.

InshaAllah same prayer for Khwaja Nafay as well.

A lot of prayers and dreams with Arafat Minhas.
Ya inshAllah i have big hope from these two and sufiyan is there as well hopefully arafat gets picked again will be exciting time to watch t20 now.

Well he is learning a difficult art of leg spin pak doesn't have anyone close to his calibre at this age he got variations what else you need just give him chances he can be pak kuldeep yadav.
You said he has wold of talent, when questioned about the world of talent you came up with leg spin is a difficult art. Got it thank you.

Fan of Babar and Rizwan need to understand that Babar's compact technique and Rizwan's run a ball fifties are not going to help them win t20 matches, on top of that they are resolute and don't want to change anything about their batting.

Even if the new crop of players fail, it wouldn't be anything worse than the RizBar regime. I am quite sure that new players will bring better result over the course of time.

Just wait for Pakistan to lose the series and both will come right back in with the amount of PR they have. Remember when they were rested for the series against Afghanistan and how the Pakistan captain told this is what happens when the main players are dropped or something like that.

Babar PR team has been going after Shubman Gill ever since he became no.1 ranked player. So every time he fails they celebrate by trolling him.

That’s why don’t do yaari dosti . Rizwan bought khushdil his jigri to team and now he is sacked and Khushdil stays 🤣

I think they will figure things out with the T20 squad.

Fakhar and Saim as openers will give them a good base to work with for the batting. They can begin finding others in the coming year to add to the XI from the players they've selected. I am certain a few will do well.

It's time for them to revamp their thought process in T20 cricket. This is a decent starting point even if there are concerns with Agha as a batsman.

Good to see rizbabar out of T20s. They were not up to the mark with their performances and deserved a kick from the side. Let's see what the new generation has got because the whole T20 team has taken a 360 degree turn.

Good luck to the new team.

Hope they play a fearless brand of cricket. If they don’t do that there would be no point of dropping RizBar

Injustice to not play Bobsy, the best T20 batter in Pakistan after Saim.

Without Bobs, this team will sink even further. New era looks darker than the previous one :inti

Well he is learning a difficult art of leg spin pak doesn't have anyone close to his calibre at this age he got variations what else you need just give him chances he can be pak kuldeep yadav.
I agree. His height, variation, and consistently threatening style make him a very aggressive spinner—quite different from the usual Shadab, Agha, or Khushdil type. I’m a bit worried that in the highly unforgiving T20 format, he could end up leaking runs and getting dropped right away. It might have been better for him to gain more experience in the 50-over format, where he has more time to adjust.

The hype around Tayyab Tahir is confusing to me. He had one fluky, mediocre inning in PSL and a century against the Indian youngsters, but he seems like a terrible player with bad technique!. I believe he’s hiding behind the failures of bigger players, and he'll be exposed in New Zealand. Remember how he was outclassed against Afghanistan? Also, bringing back Imam, Shadab, and retaining Faheem feels like a step backward. There are too many passengers in the team.

I am sceptical of this new team .
It is on paper worse than the team Shaheen led to New Zealand this time last year . Series finishes 5-0 and he was removed.

Secondly Salman has no credentials as t20 player so to make him captain is astounding . He has played 6 games and averages less than 10. Also overall in t20s he has a SR of 116. At 31 is he really going to improve ?

From the presser it was clear that Fakhar and Saim will walk in and hopefully open . But the rest of the batting looks wafer thin in terms of experience.

Let’s hope they can back these players and even if a players can emerge it will be fantastic . I can’t see past a 5-0 4-1. Hope I’m wrong though.

Dropped RizBar but captain is Salmaaaan Aliiiiiii AaAaaaaGhAAaaaa!

Omair Bin Yousuf with a breath taking career strike rate is also in the squad.

Yeh tou khulla tazaaad hai

• IMG_0303.jpeg
    IMG_0303.jpeg
    73 KB · Views: 1
Azam Khan's breaking of wind has more force than Rizwan or Babar have in T20 @Ahmed216
Tbf this is probably the only time I disagree with you.

Azam khan has intent in that he wants to smash, but he's rubbish in general and a massive liability( no pun intended) as a keeper.

Muhammad haris replacing Rizwan in t20 is the right call however. My only worry is that unlike Steve smith, Babar and rizwan haven't announced retirement from t20, which is why I don't think ba/riz opening duo is gone for good

Azam Siddique, Babar Azam's father, has criticized the decision to drop his son while commenting "Boss is always right."

qDRGjRP.jpg

If cricket was a wind breaking contest, then Azam Khan would be winning world titles for Pakistan year in year out.
I still think Babar and Rizwan are world class in that format when it comes to their approach in trying to bat out teams in a powerplay

This experiment already took place when i think Shadab was captain or was it Shaheen, and they bought in all youngsters, removed babar and rizwan and than lost to Afghanistan.

Khair hai, do the same tamasha again no issue. Lets hope results are different this time.

Dropping your best ever batter and best ever keeper produxmced was not the solution. Solution was to coach them and have a proper management that would force these guys to play with a proper plan.

Babar and Rizwan made their career from t20. Atleast one of them should had been kept.

Issue was never Babar and Rizwan

Anyways, this was done in the past and we lost the next series. So lets see what the results are going to be.

Atleast now babar and rizwan haters wont have any excuse. @Rana

Azam Siddique, Babar Azam's father, has criticized the decision to drop his son while commenting "Boss is always right."

qDRGjRP.jpg
Former Pakistan cricketer Basit Ali has taken aim at Babar Azam’s father, Azam Siddique, over his recent social media remarks defending his son’s omission from Pakistan’s T20I squad for the New Zealand series during a TV show on a local channel:

"We didn’t know Babar Azam’s coach is his father [Azam Siddique]. That’s great! He must have played a lot of cricket, then. Not sure how many Test matches he played, but I request him to fix Babar’s technical flaws."

Meanwhile, former Pakistan wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal also weighed in on the issue on the same show:

"Every father loves his son. Some openly express it, while others leave it to fate. There’s no doubt about Babar’s contributions to Pakistan cricket, but he must evolve with modern-day demands. However, posting statements after a player is dropped is unnecessary."

This experiment already took place when i think Shadab was captain or was it Shaheen, and they bought in all youngsters, removed babar and rizwan and than lost to Afghanistan.

Khair hai, do the same tamasha again no issue. Lets hope results are different this time.

Dropping your best ever batter and best ever keeper produxmced was not the solution. Solution was to coach them and have a proper management that would force these guys to play with a proper plan.

Babar and Rizwan made their career from t20. Atleast one of them should had been kept.

Anyways, this was done in the past and we lost the next series. So lets see what the results are going to be.

I thought you had evolved major bhai, but this rubbish has annoyed me to ends.

Pakistan just recently played a young squad against zimbabwe in t20is but you conveniently forgot that and mentioned the controversial Afghanistan series in which Shadab’s behavior was highly suspicious. From Badshah Wazeer comments to insane amount of propaganda campaign. Saya mafia was going all guns blazing.

how many more matches you want to lose because of these two?

I want to ask you one thing.

I do agree with 70% your post. Talent isn't present. Pakistan was at its best when they were hosting psl and playing test in uae. Those pitches are tough and improved out players but also generated interest in test cricket since no one wants to bowl on roads.

I still remember psl 2016 when the opening matches all featured 130 winning scores.

Imo the temporary solution is to go back to uae. Their pitches are so varied and diverse that it'll work to some extent.

But I really don't get why you're boased towards babar and rizwan. Babar is not your best ever batsmen brother. In his prime he's essentially Joe root, aka a decent accumulator with a weak conversion rate against top sides. And a prime root isn't t20 material.

As for rizwan, Same thing, Him opening creates problems. Replacing an out of form fakhar for Rizwan in t20 is the equivalent to replacing an out of form Travis head for labu in t20. No matter how out of form they are, you just can't replace em until a more inform X factor comes along.

If theirs a 1 in 10 chance they'll perform that day, you gotta take it due to their value.

Even though fakhar is now finished, Saim ayub when he comes back should logically open in t20 full time.

Rizwan has always been a support batter. He's at his absolute best when he's providing support like he did with agha againat sa and Abdullah with sri lanka.

The other 2 batters were more aggressive then he was. He stuck it out and played longer. T20 isn't that game though.

Only contention is if Babar should have been kept due to having 3 t20 centuries in this format, but he's compeltly useless atm. No side can carry a player that long.

Australia had to eventually discard Smith in t20. You can only endlessly carry an out of form Test atg till the ends of time. In odi and t20? Naw, you gotta drop em after a while.

Dropping Babar I can understand, as he has not really a T20 player. He is a classical batsman who needs the bad balls to score runs. But does Pakistan really have a better wicketkeeper batsman than Rizwan?
How will you know if you wont give chances to other players? Its not Rizwan’s god given right and people like you encourage them to keep at it while they consistently stat pad and lose matches.

Horrible decision to drop both of them. There are no worthy replacements. Both have a fantastic T20I record. I don’t know why they have been dropped? the players they have selected are mediocre to say the least. 5-0 to New Zealand in advance. And Agha Salman should not even be in the T20I squad, and they made him the captain. Blunders by blunders from the incompetent selection committee. Who even are the members of the selection committee? But as long as this form 47 government is ruling us, there is no hope for this country, let alone cricket.
Someone with a imran khan pfp saying this. I am not even shocked. Hahaha. Man, some things are truly predictable.

I thought you had evolved major bhai, but this rubbish has annoyed me to ends.

Pakistan just recently played a young squad against zimbabwe in t20is but you conveniently forgot that and mentioned the controversial Afghanistan series in which Shadab’s behavior was highly suspicious. From Badshah Wazeer comments to insane amount of propaganda campaign. Saya mafia was going all guns blazing.

how many more matches you want to lose because of these two?
Issue is not really these two.

There are no other support players to help out in the innings. Babar and rizwan are proper batsman that need further polishing with game strategy by a coach.

Aqib is not someone who makes startegies.

Remember when Rizwan sucked in the begining in t20 than changed his game and improved. Why it happened? Due to proper coaching.

Pakistan has a very limited resource of batsman. We all saw how tahir and usman sucked.

If we lose this NZ series, than are we gonna accept the issue or not?