Does Sarfaraz Ahmed merit a place in the team?

Eagle_Eye

A player who is woeful with the bat and turns up unfit for a tour.... what would we all say about that player... drop him ofcourse. Sarfraz has now become that player... can his continued inclusion be justified? I say No.

Nope he doesn't! worst player in the team along with azhar ali but he does one thing shouting unnecessarily and he is quite good probably best in the world

He has been a passenger since he became captain. His fitness is disgraceful. Unfortunately, Pakistan is stuck with him. There are no other options.

Nope.

- Unfit
- Out of form with bad/glove
- Toxic; shouting at players.
- Tactically unaware
- Management's puppet; no insight on domestic players.

Since the innings against Sri Lanka in the Champions Trophy, Sarfaraz has made a total of 17 runs in ODIs. Being dismissed four times.

That equates to an average of 4.25....

Oh Bhai log relax karo. NZL is a top ODI team at home. Its not easy winning here, about Safraz then he needs to improve his shot selection he cant bat like this its not UAE. He will learn from his mistakes this tour should be helping shadab, faheen, and imam along with amin. They should all play in this series to get the experience. Pakistan will win 1 or 2 games in this series. But in my opinion weak link is Azhar Ali. He sets the wrong tempo of the inning, he is the one who puts pressure on the team, we need give imam and fakhar a proper long run.

in the team?Look at his scores over past 12 months and his fitness levels and keeping. He deserves to be on a long break.

U have finally found a good captain and u want him replaced. If his fitness was a problem then mickey is no nonsense guy. What he needs is coming up the order and take the charge. Faheem why dont we give him a crack at 1 down and move babar down the order at no5.

He is the absolute perfect captain for this team

But his performance is a definite cause for concern. He needs to improve both batting and keeping, otherwise I don't see him finishing 2018 as captain / in the team

A player who is woeful with the bat and turns up unfit for a tour.... what would we all say about that player... drop him ofcourse. Sarfraz has now become that player... can his continued inclusion be justified? I say No.

If he does not improve his fitness then he should be dropped in next series.

Sarfraz as a player feels so different from the in-form one we saw in the 2015 World Cup who smashed centuries and kept Pakistan's hopes alive in that tournament after huge losses to the West Indies and India.
And of course, we all are familiar last year's Champions Trophy. But it feels that Sarfraz is getting way too comfortable after the CT and now that he doesn't have to worry about his spot in the team as he did before, as shown by events like his weight gain, inability to efficiently bat and prevent the ongoing batting collapse from further expanding, and just shouting way too much at the players on the field.

I don't necessarily think that Sarfraz is a bad captain. But Sarfraz the player has taken more of a passenger type of role and needs to adapt as an accelerator. Best way to do this is have him bat at #4 and hold him more accountable as well as setting an example for the rest of the team.

To be frank those days are gone when you played someone for just their captaincy. In the current era, everyone including the captain needs to merit their place in the X1. I think Sarfaraz became too complacent after the Champions Trophy win.

I kept repeating ad nauseam to the annoyance of many that they won the CT inspite of him not because of him. Sarfraz began to believe in his own hype which was wildly misplaced in the first place.

U have finally found a good captain and u want him replaced. If his fitness was a problem then mickey is no nonsense guy. What he needs is coming up the order and take the charge. Faheem why dont we give him a crack at 1 down and move babar down the order at no5.

Babar Azam is not an accelerator and #5 wouldn't be the position for him. He's an accumulator, sorry to say. The best role for him in this team is to open with Fakhar Zaman and remove Azhar Ali from the ODI squad. This is the best solution to our ongoing opener problem, especially after Sharjeel's ban. We need accelerators from positions #1-5, because apart from Fakhar, others like Azhar, Hafeez, and Malik don't really fit that role.

I kept repeating ad nauseam to the annoyance of many that they won the CT inspite of him not because of him. Sarfraz began to believe in his own hype which was wildly misplaced in the first place.

top post. If only all Pak fans could understand this simple thing. Sarfraz is nothing but a burden on this team. You cannot have a liability player leading the team. It does not work like that in cricket.

A few bad performances do not make him a bad player. Stop these knee jerk reactions when he has played many good matches for us One day we put him on arsh then the next on farsh. Unless there is another batsman wicket keeper waiting on the wings I don't see him being replaced.

What's the excuse for turning up unfit?

He does not deserve a spot, has not really performed and his fitness is below par. You don't have to be a coach to spot his awful fitness.

Since the innings against Sri Lanka in the Champions Trophy, Sarfaraz has made a total of 17 runs in ODIs. Being dismissed four times.

That equates to an average of 4.25....

I think this thread deserves a poll?

No.

I'd take Kamran Akmal at this rate, and an overrated captain as well. Just because he is better than Azhar doesn't make him a good captain.

What a load of rubbish.

When was the last time this guy performed? He is unfit, has a rubbish attitude and hasn't ever won a single match for Pakistan.

I know for a fact I wouldn't follow this guy's orders, and Im sure in due time members of the dressing room will feel the same way considering the performances he's been putting in.

I think you should watch the video where he's admitted that he loves eating Biryani. :))

Not sure if I can find it, but I'll try.

I am baffled as to how these guys can turn up unfit when they are paid handsomely to be in shape! If someone paid you half as much to be fit, you would sleep in the gym!

They should know how much and when to start their training to get rid of the flab.... this is all basic stuff.

How can a captain turn up unfit?

I think after he humiliated India in the Champions Trophy final he let it go to his head and did not keep the fitness required. Coach Mickey should have pointed it out to him.

I am baffled as to how these guys can turn up unfit when they are paid handsomely to be in shape! If someone paid you half as much to be fit, you would sleep in the gym!

They should know how much and when to start their training to get rid of the flab.... this is all basic stuff.

One word: diet.

I don't think Sarfaraz neglects gym work etc. but he probably eats too much of stuff that athletes should ideally avoid consuming...

Nope not as a batsman, nor as a wicker keeper. Yet he's the best captain for the team, what a dilemma.

He needs to start performing pretty soon or his captaincy will probably be reconsidered.

No thanks.

Kamran is a rubbish cricketer but is capable of the odd innings unlike Sarfraz.

He needs to be dropped simply for disciplinary purposes. Some of the shots he has played in the last couple of series in crunch situations (think tests and ODIs v SL) and now here are simply ridiculous for the captain of a side and the only reason he gets away with it is because people love seeing an "aggressive" captain on field who puts a slip in and yells at his fielders. He has lost match after match after coming into the bat over the last year and would've done the same in the CT against SL if it wasn't for Perera dropping an absolute dolly.

Not only should the captain of the Pakistan cricket team be putting in a lot more but Sarfraz the cricketer is a better player than this.

Disappointing to see how far he's fallen in the last year in terms of form and fitness.

What a load of rubbish.

When was the last time this guy performed? He is unfit, has a rubbish attitude and hasn't ever won a single match for Pakistan.

I know for a fact I wouldn't follow this guy's orders, and Im sure in due time members of the dressing room will feel the same way considering the performances he's been putting in.

Then a rebel and trouble maker like you would not be in the team. It has been ages since we last played which is why he has not performed. He is not the only one who has failed to score runs. Unless you can find an able replacement I suggest you zip it! Don't say Kamran Akmal! He has done well in many past matches, is just out of form and needs to lose some weight! Whilst agreeing he does appear overweight that does not stop him scoring runs.
73667.jpg

Almost all the other players are fit; only Haris and Sarfraz (the captain lol) from the current squad are struggling to keep up with the standards.

Then a rebel and trouble maker like you would not be in the team. It has been ages since we last played which is why he has not performed. He is not the only one who has failed to score runs. Unless you can find an able replacement I suggest you zip it! Don't say Kamran Akmal! He has done well in many past matches, is just out of form and needs to lose some weight! Whilst agreeing he does appear overweight that does not stop him scoring runs.
View attachment 77983

Mohammad Rizwan is a better option than Sarfraz at the moment.

He did once upon a time but not anymore. Today it was hard to tell the difference between him and the cows grazing in the nearby field they kept showing between overs.

Kamran is a rubbish cricketer but is capable of the odd innings unlike Sarfraz.

I don't know why people have to bring up Kamran. Just please leave him in the past, where he belongs.

Too much baggage, plus he's nearing the end of his career.

There are other wicket-keepers available in Pakistan besides Sarfaraz Ahmed and Kamran Akmal.

He has taken extra pressure on himself. Captaincy has taken a toll on his performance.

He may be enjoying the CT17 win but he needs to do more with his bat. I say he is having a bad patch. Hopefully he plays an innings and pressure off his shoulders. He is the best we got for captaincy😒.

I don't know why people have to bring up Kamran. Just please leave him in the past, where he belongs.

Too much baggage, plus he's nearing the end of his career.

There are other wicket-keepers available in Pakistan besides Sarfaraz Ahmed and Kamran Akmal.

I'm mentioning Kamran to make a point of how far Sarfraz has fallen.

Obviously, both of them aren't spectacular options for the wicket keeper role.

Pakistan has a few of its positions out of order.

Hafeez should not be a number 4. He is more suited to open the innings and I think it should be him to partner Fakhar at the top.

Sarfaraz bats way too low and isn't giving himself a chance. Needs to slot in at 4 after Babar. Malik at 5 and Shadab is proving to be a good player. He should be at 6.

Fahim 7
Hassan 8
Amir 9

In my opinion, it's Azhar Ali that is ruining the balance of the team.

You've got a better captain?

From what I've seen of Fakhar in domestic cricket he wouldn't be a bad option until Sarfraz comes back to form (if he ever does).

Besides, lets not overrate his captaincy; that CT win was built on the back of sensational bowling and Sarfraz's tactics were literally what any ardent cricket follower would have employed. He gets too much due credit because of the ineptitude of his predecessors.

If we're not going to drop him because of his captaincy then make him bat at No.8 like Haddin used to do for AUS in the 2015 WC.

From what I've seen of Fakhar in domestic cricket he wouldn't be a bad option until Sarfraz comes back to form (if he ever does).

Besides, lets not overrate his captaincy; that CT win was built on the back of sensational bowling and Sarfraz's tactics were literally what any ardent cricket follower would have employed. He gets too much due credit because of the ineptitude of his predecessors.

Okay, break his captaincy down.

Mohammad Rizwan is a better option than Sarfraz at the moment.

Rizwan has had a few matches always blowing hot and cold as well. He is not consistent enough to merit a starting place. You need to accept that Sarfaraz is the only keeper for the NZ one dayers so there is no point crying over it, instead support him. He could be dropped for the next series versus England depending on other developments. Perhaps we can fit another series or two before that.

He can't do anything coming in at 6 clearly, perhaps he could try opening with fakhar.

[MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] fully second you, but I think we can slot Harry at 4 and everyone else move down one position and we can make it even better

He is the absolute perfect captain for this team

But his performance is a definite cause for concern. He needs to improve both batting and keeping, otherwise I don't see him finishing 2018 as captain / in the team

You are saying that in comparison with your previous experience - Azhar Ali. Historically, every great team had a great WK - hardly anyone was made even deputy.

I think he should be replaced by Kamran Akmal, or Umar Akmal or even Adnan Akmal - Totally a passenger in the team...........

I don't have the time nor the dressing room experience with Sarfraz to do a comprehensive analysis of his captaincy, and neither do you for that matter.

At the moment we need to decide whether Sarfraz's captaincy outweighs the fact that as a batsman/wicketkeeper he is having a negative effect on the team at the moment. His form is only declining and there needs to be accountability for his performances.

But no, he is the second coming of Mike Brearley and for that, he can continue to play as a specialist captain...

He is captain, so if we systematically drop the 3-4 players holding us back he'd be last for that alone. It's been obvious for some time that he should stick to tests, but here we are.

Bigger concern is Hafeez scoring in a one off to keep his place for 2019, and Malik having stopped scoring completely as soon as we stepped out of our den.

Rizwan has had a few matches always blowing hot and cold as well. He is not consistent enough to merit a starting place. You need to accept that Sarfaraz is the only keeper for the NZ one dayers so there is no point crying over it, instead support him. He could be dropped for the next series versus England depending on other developments. Perhaps we can fit another series or two before that.

I support him of course, he brings great spirit to the Pakistan team and during the initial stages of his career - he was a "breath of fresh air" in the words of Misbah. But over the years I have seen too many Pakistani cricketers take advantage of their seniority and continue to produce sub-par performances with no accountability.

I firmly believe getting temporarily dropped can help his career because at the moment, his fitness, form with the bat and form with the gloves is dwindling at an alarming rate. I remember Misbah dropped himself from the UAE series in 2014 due to poor form and came back into the World Cup refreshed and scored runs. At the very least, we should have a backup wicketkeeper in the squad pushing Sarfraz because it doesn't set a good precedent to the rest of the team that the captain is struggling for fitness, playing rash shots and is still able to abuse the players on field.

I don't have the time nor the dressing room experience with Sarfraz to do a comprehensive analysis of his captaincy, and neither do you for that matter.

At the moment we need to decide whether Sarfraz's captaincy outweighs the fact that as a batsman/wicketkeeper he is having a negative effect on the team at the moment. His form is only declining and there needs to be accountability for his performances.

But no, he is the second coming of Mike Brearley and for that, he can continue to play as a specialist captain...

All I read was a bunch of gibberish after you failed to prove your point.

Only place he can field is behind the stumps ..... nowhere else you can risk him !!!!

Since the poster you asked didn't do it. Let me

Wait for over number 10 and throw the ball to Hasan Ali.

Repeatedly say - nahi yaar idher nahi

and

Yaar jo bola hai woh kyun nahi kar rahay

and say to the fielders while they are throwing

one bounce par (knowing full well that stumps have microphones and the commentators will pick it up)

and

drop a chance somewhere in the middle and just trudge nonchalantly

and then give the ball to Hasan Ali in the 30th over for the second spell of 4 overs

Sarfaraz in England ODI series was brilliant but his form with the bat has faded drastically after that. I am not blaming him for the selection of certain players but he needs to regain form to pull his weight.

Kamran Akmal does not deserve to play international cricket again for Pakistan. No surprisr Sarfraz's biggest detractors are massive Akmal fans. I don't see him making a comeback under the current management, and rightly so. Muhammad Rizwan will be lucky to bat above number 9 in any international team. We don't have wicket-keeper batsmen in our domestic cricket.

Since the poster you asked didn't do it. Let me

Wait for over number 10 and throw the ball to Hasan Ali.

Repeatedly say - nahi yaar idher nahi

and

Yaar jo bola hai woh kyun nahi kar rahay

and say to the fielders while they are throwing

one bounce par (knowing full well that stumps have microphones and the commentators will pick it up)

and

drop a chance somewhere in the middle and just trudge nonchalantly

and then give the ball to Hasan Ali in the 30th over for the second spell of 4 overs

Sarfaraz in England ODI series was brilliant but his form with the bat has faded drastically after that. I am not blaming him for the selection of certain players but he needs to regain form to pull his weight.

Pretty much this. Some of the blind fans here will say you hardly understand his captaincy, it is more nuanced than that, etc but the simple fact is that there has to be some accountability for Sarfraz's form in the last 12 months. He may be the best available captain in Pakistan right now, but it shouldn't be at the cost of runs, catches and setting a fitness standard. We can't let seniors set this precedent; at the very least there should be a backup wicketkeeper in the squad.

The irony is that last year after Hafeez impressed as captain in Australia the same people were quick to rule him out as captain simply because he didn't make the team on merit.

I would give him a few more tries i.e until the end of our next series after the NZ tour.Let’s see where he’s at then.

Bring back kamran because sarfaraz is going to fail the rest of his life .

Maybe does not merit but we do not have any other alternatives whether it is for captaincy or for the keeper slot. Sarfraz and Rizwan almost at par as keeper and batsmen. Sarfraz slightly better. Kami is just Kami and I would never consider him for selection. PCB will need to find another wicket keeper batsman but until then Sarfraz stays as there is no other available options.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed's scores in ODIs since that crucial innings against Sri Lanka at the Champions Trophy:<br>1<br>5<br>8<br>3<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/950642857571954688?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 9, 2018</a></blockquote>

Barring a purple patch in 2014-15, he has always been a poor cricketer. I don't think he is out of form; his mediocrity is simply catching up with him now.

He has a good cricketing brain, but God has blessed him with very little talent and physical gifts. Just a poor man's Mushfiq Rahim with a better tactical brain.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed's scores in ODIs since that crucial innings against Sri Lanka at the Champions Trophy:<br>1<br>5<br>8<br>3<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/950642857571954688?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 9, 2018</a></blockquote>

Need to one more single digit score to have a complete Postal Code...

this doesn't show the amount of times he was hiding behind the top 5 ever since his fluke knock against England to grab the captaincy.

Currently he doesn't deserves to be in the team.

But you just can drop captain all of the sudden. He needs to bat higher up the order to be more of an impact.

A batsman like him batting at 6 in such batting line up will not contribute much.

Home/Asian pitches: He comes in when there are few overs left and gets out trying to slog
Away: He comes in when its' 100/5 and gets out trying too many things at a time

Yes he does..

His average in odis is the highest by any WK in Pakistan

Who will replace him?
Kakmal?Dont think so...he is useless unless you open with him and even in opening he averages 31 which is unacceptable

Rizwan?
We all saw how he played against Australia in 2017.

So please keep your foolish suggestions aside

Barring a purple patch in 2014-15, he has always been a poor cricketer. I don't think he is out of form; his mediocrity is simply catching up with him now.

He has a good cricketing brain, but God has blessed him with very little talent and physical gifts. Just a poor man's Mushfiq Rahim with a better tactical brain.

Tactical brain implies you have ability to correct a course successfully under pressure. He does not. All you get with him is visible panic.

I agree the mediocrity has simply caught up with him.

Tactical brain implies you have ability to correct a course successfully under pressure. He does not. All you get with him is visible panic.

I agree the mediocrity has simply caught up with him.

He is no Mike Brearley but he has a good feel for the game. Certainly a better tactician than his predecessors Azhar, Misbah and Afridi.