Don’t want to hear Atif Aslam's version of 'Chalte Chalte': Lata Mangeshkar

Varun

Senior Test Player
Legendary Indian singer Late Mangeshkar has said she has not heard Atif Aslam’s remake of her song Chalte Chalte and does not want to hear it either.

Responding to a question regarding her reaction to Aslam’s version, Lata told IANS that she has not heard it and “I don’t want to hear it”.

“This trend of remixing old songs saddens me. Where is the creativity in simply lifting acknowledged, beloved classics and shuffling the notes around? I’ve even heard that the lyrics are changed in the remixes. By whose consent?" she asked.

She further said, "The original poets and composers wrote what they had to. Nobody has the right to tamper with the creativity of these great composers and lyricists."

Aslam had lent his vocals to produce a new version of the classic song, Chalte Chalte, for upcoming Bollywood movie ‘Mitron.’

https://www.geo.tv/latest/209795-do...lams-version-of-chalte-chalte-lata-mangeshkar

The original song was sung by Kishore Kumar. Now some may think Atif is better or as good, but certainly Lata ji thinks otherwise. And Lata ji certainly knows her music.

It's always good to hear a remix. It would be good if everytime a song is remixed, royalty is paid to the original singer.

There are a lot of songs that I want to be remixed and made into better versions. People need to move on from the "past is better syndrome".

Don't agree with her here but then she's an 89 year old woman so not surprising that some of her views are a tad old fashioned.

It's always good to hear a remix. It would be good if everytime a song is remixed, royalty is paid to the original singer.

There are a lot of songs that I want to be remixed and made into better versions. People need to move on from the "past is better syndrome".

I agree with this.

Two singers i hate to listen to. although aslam is tolerable in dil diya gallan, despite the punjabi lyrics.

Atif had a better voice than kishore Kumar..... I have heard it all in PP.

I am not actually against remixes. 90s had some spectacular remixes. But melody shouldn't be lost in the remix. One aspect which most composers fail to retain today.

The song in question here is " chalte chalte yunhi koi mil gaya tha " from pakeeza movie. It was sung by lata mangeshkar & it has nothing to do with kishore kumar.

I heard both songs atif's version is okkeyish & nothing special. But More than atif it is fault of composers imo.
It is very important pick right voice for righ song so comparing singers is irrelevant imo.

For eg. After hearing nfak's remaked song " dekhte dekhte " which is also sung by atif I instantly felt jubin nautiyal's voice would have been better choice.
On the other hand atif's voice is perfect in "laila majnu"song " o meri laila laila".

atif voice is better than kishore but inferior to sonu nigam.

The original song was sung by Kishore Kumar. Now some may think Atif is better or as good, but certainly Lata ji thinks otherwise. And Lata ji certainly knows her music.

Original song "chalte chalte yunhi koi mil gaya tha" was sung solely by lata mangeshkar & It was from paakizaa movie. So kishore kumar is irrelevant here.

She didn't know her music enough to stop singing when she was well into her sixties. It was quite weird to see young Bollywood actresses singing songs with the wavering voice of an old crone.

You sir have no idea about her music. Her songs were becoming superhit when she was well into her 70s let alone 60s.

Wavering voice? Lol.

You sir have no idea about her music. Her songs were becoming superhit when she was well into her 70s let alone 60s.

Wavering voice? Lol.

Each song should be judged on its merit without bias towards the original. nowadays i am listening to dilbar dilbar sung by a new singer norah fatehi. highly recommended and i think much better than the one sung by sushmita sen.

So Atif Aslam's version: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOCCPqFeReE is like Umar Akmal. And I'm big fan of him. I loved his Tajdar-e-Haram.

Here is the original version: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flQb8zW7CrM which is like SRT. Even without technology Lata's talent and original composition is a delight.

My 2 cents.

After hearing the song, I would say atifs version isnt that bad. I prefer a little bit more of vibrato though. Kinda feels flat when he is in the long notes.

Also I will wonder how the same song will sound with a lower key. The melody is a bit sharp in atifs version.

Wavering voice? Lol.

You can Lol. all you like, but just because she was singing superhits in her 70s doesn't meant her voice was appropriate for 20 year old actresses in Bolywood soundtracks. Lol.

By the way, I have nothing against singers continuing to release records into their 70's, or their adoring fans buying their records, even if the voice is cracking and wavering, that is probably part of the charm. I am just saying don't pair it with a nubile young actress for the big screen, it is super creepy hearing her sing with an old woman's voice.

You can Lol. all you like, but just because she was singing superhits in her 70s doesn't meant her voice was appropriate for 20 year old actresses in Bolywood soundtracks. Lol.

Critics and fans think its fine. Who else decides whether its appropriate or not?

Atif Aslam basically destroyed the song.

not about Kishore da but IMO the closest to him today is Ali Zafar :

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ln-3priUc2g" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

but that is how music evolves and changes over time...

The formulas guys like Beethoven set were copied and built on. If he copyrighted his musical ideas that would just hurt innovation.

I am not actually against remixes. 90s had some spectacular remixes. But melody shouldn't be lost in the remix. One aspect which most composers fail to retain today.

I am not a Kishore Kumar fan , but Atif being compared with Kishore is shameful.

Atif Aslam's voice is awful. He should not be attempting songs of greats like Lata. I can imagine the pain she must have gone through listening to this baisura singing songs made classic by her. I completely empathize with and support Lata in this matter.

I agree with Lata sahiba. Atif sings good pop songs but his singing through the nose style won't do justice to a classic track. I despise remixes most of the time.

What "chalte chalte" are we talking about here?. "Chalte chalte mere yeh geet yad rakhna" or "chalte chalte yunhi koi milgeya tha" from the movie "Pakeezah"?

Atif Aslam's voice is awful. He should not be attempting songs of greats like Lata. I can imagine the pain she must have gone through listening to this baisura singing songs made classic by her. I completely empathize with and support Lata in this matter.

Lolz :yk In Spanish, Basura means trash. Accidental Spanglish.

Couldn't agree more with you.

Atif is a decent singer but Lata is evergreen. One of the most important voices in SC's history.

Lata Mangeshkar sounds like a close minded bitter woman.

She might have been a good singer but for my liking her voice was too squeaky but perhaps suited to that age. I personally would much prefer singers like Sunidhi Chauhan.

Lata sahiba has every right be unhappy. A classic song performed by her is likely to be wasted by a much inferior singer. Plagiarism of all sorts is a nasty thing discrediting the original performer. I remember years back Meera planned to star in her own "Pakeezah". Fortunately we were spared this major tragedy of her even coming close to the legendary Meena Kumari.:)):)):))

Lata ji is also a bitter old woman.

Lata Mangeshkar sounds like a close minded bitter woman.

She might have been a good singer but for my liking her voice was too squeaky but perhaps suited to that age. I personally would much prefer singers like Sunidhi Chauhan.

She is an old woman,who has sangnumerous songs and doesn't even care about awards because she won numerous of em,why would a singer that big be bitter?

She has no issues on Atifs original songs, but she can have a opinion of songs she sang that are being remixed, and she even said it in polite mannee., Why would she be bitter.

At least people know this is a remake/remix.

There are a boat load of songs that Bollywood stole from Pakistani artists without even giving them credit.

Half of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan's songs have been remade into Bollywood copies.

They even copied Dil Dil Pakistan, one of the most patriotic Pakistani songs ever :wy

Think about your favorite Bollywood song, there is a good chance it has been copied (not remade, as a remake has to give credit to the original).

Lolz :yk In Spanish, Basura means trash. Accidental Spanglish.

Couldn't agree more with you.

Atif is a decent singer but Lata is evergreen. One of the most important voices in SC's history.

Good to know we agree on at least something :kakmal

She is an old woman,who has sangnumerous songs and doesn't even care about awards because she won numerous of em,why would a singer that big be bitter?

She has no issues on Atifs original songs, but she can have a opinion of songs she sang that are being remixed, and she even said it in polite mannee., Why would she be bitter.

I said she sounds bitter which is the case any time someone compares the old and the new.

Older folks always say the old is better. I.e Tendulkar will always be better than Kohli or Amitabh Bachans Don will always be better than SRKs. Not saying that they are bitter but people should be open minded and at least look at the new creation and when u are close minded you sound bitter in the sense how dare this guy recreate my work?

Personally I am not a fan of Atif either but at least if someone was recreating something I had previously done I would be curious enough to see how well/poorly he has done it. Forget abt the singing only I would like to know how have they re-composed the music if any.

At least people know this is a remake/remix.

There are a boat load of songs that Bollywood stole from Pakistani artists without even giving them credit.

Half of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan's songs have been remade into Bollywood copies.

They even copied Dil Dil Pakistan, one of the most patriotic Pakistani songs ever :wy

Think about your favorite Bollywood song, there is a good chance it has been copied (not remade, as a remake has to give credit to the original).
I was shocked to learn that Agar Tum Mil Jao was originally sung by a Pakistani singer in the 70's.

She may be a bitter old woman but I bet even now she sounds better than that horrible sound that atif makes. Dunno how Bollywood fans listen to that garbage . I'd rather listen to nails scratching a chalkboard.

I don’t want to hear it either tbh. Atif aslam covering a Kishore track with his nasal singing? No thanks

Nothing wrong with covers in general though. This is a bit hypocritical from Lata seeing as how so many classic Bollywood songs are just covers of Pakistani songs

I was shocked to learn that Agar Tum Mil Jao was originally sung by a Pakistani singer in the 70's.

Even Lata sang "remakes".

Listen to her song Ankhiyon ko rehne de from the film Bobby. It is heavily inspired (copied) from Rehma's Ankhiyan nu rehn de.

Even Lata sang "remakes".

Listen to her song Ankhiyon ko rehne de from the film Bobby. It is heavily inspired (copied) from Rehma's Ankhiyan nu rehn de.

Lata ji. Remember the name.

Always show respect to the nightingale of Asia. If not for her, no one outside Pakistan would have known Pakistani songs.

Hahah.

Touche CricketCartoons. Steal the shirt from the store, and say no one would have worn it if you hadnt stolen it.

I apologise on behalf off my fellow countryman, [MENTION=131506]blackanhyellow[/MENTION], how can you forget to put the 'ji'?

So what were you saying about Tata Ji's voice?

Asian feminine singing is no nasal it's literally annoying. Shrill nasal voices. I heard the original one after reading this and while the melody is fine, the voice kinda did it for me so had to stop listening to the song.

Not for me Lata ji.

Asian feminine singing is no nasal it's literally annoying. Shrill nasal voices. I heard the original one after reading this and while the melody is fine, the voice kinda did it for me so had to stop listening to the song.

Not for me Lata ji.

Is it just me or did Indian female singers always seem to have much higher pitched voices than Pakistani ones? I think this might have changed in recent years where the trend has moved back towards more natural sounding women....once again Indian artists stealing inspiration from their more authentic and culturally grounded neighbours to the west.

I thought this was about kishores chalte chalte. I have heard Latas song as well and that is amazing. I personally think atif aslam is an absolutely awful singer and don’t want to hear him butcher a legendary song. My point about Latas hypocrisy here still stands though

Not for me Lata ji.

Lol yeah, i hate desi female singing especially from the old times. I think they sound more natural now.

Kishore kumar is in a whole different league than Atif. Come on people! I know Atif is Pakistani, but give credit where it’s due. The Golden voice of kishore can’t be compared with Atif.

New Delhi: Veteran singer Lata Mangeshkar, who was admitted to Mumbai's Breach Candy Hospital on Tuesday after testing positive for COVID-19, will continue to be in the ICU under observation, reported news agency PTI on Saturday. Dr Pratit Samdani, treating the veteran singer, told PTI, "She continues to be in the ICU under observation. We have to wait and watch. Pray for her recovery. She will continue to remain in the hospital." The singer, who was admitted to the hospital after testing Covid-positive, has also been diagnosed with pneumonia.

On Thursday, the singer's family members stated that she is doing well. Her niece Rachana told news agency PTI on Thursday, "She is doing well and we are happy about it. Everyone's prayers have worked. Kindly, keep our privacy in mind."

Lata Mangeshkar, who is popularly known as the 'Nightingale of India,' has sung in Hindi, Marathi, Bengali and other regional languages. During her illustrious career as one of the renowned musicians of India, she has been honoured with the Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Dadasaheb Phalke Award as well as several National and Filmfare Awards. Lata Mangeshkar's last complete album was for 2004 Bollywood release Veer-Zaara.

Lata Mangeshkar got her first major break with the song Dil Mera Toda from the 1948 film Majboor. However, her song Aayega Aanewaala from the movie Mahal (1949) became her first major hit.

NDTV

Kishore was far superior singer than Atif , Kishore would easily be in the top 10 singers ever in India.

The only singers I think are better than him which I can think of are Rafi , Mana Dey , Mukesh and Sonu Nigam.

Its emotional statement on PP , Atif is popular today but he is nowhere near Kishore. The throw which Kishore had was unique. Yes he had his limitations , but even with limitations he is better than lot of other singers today.