ECB to decide in next 24-48 hours whether tour of Pakistan will proceed

Why would they withdraw? Kiwis have always been extra cautious, look at their response to one covid case.

Oh really?
how easily you forgot?
Take a look here, perhaps your own argument puts you into some embarrassment?

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?302779-The-hypocrisy-is-staggering-!!!

Hmm i thought that was the player’s decision? Wasnt it similar in 2010 ish?

Read the keyword in your original post.
So, now are you saying those player in the hazmat suits were NOT "Kiwis"?

Frankly the most ridiculous thing about this debacle was NZ claiming that they could be attacked as soon as they step out of the hotel. Are they being airlifted to the airport then? Total joke of a withdrawal.

Get ready for more bad news. I hope I am wrong but I think ECB will also cancel their tour.

When Gora log decide , they make a combined decision. It would be extremely embarrassing for NZL if English team comes and NZL might have to pay some penalty in that case. ECB will never let it happen . The best they will do, will delay the tour a bit to "reassess" the situation .

PCB needs to use emotional blackmailing tactics that had they not toured England in 2020 ECB would have lost 300 million pounds. It is their moral duty to return the favour and tour Pakistan

Where is this 300mn pounds figure coming from?

Oh my :91:

Probably your second worst idea after the suggesting that PCB should charge kids 10 rupees for playing street cricket.

Oh my :91:

Probably your second worst idea after the suggesting that PCB should charge kids 10 rupees for playing street cricket.

FYKI the PCB is considering regulating all tape ball cricket and tournaments in Pakistan.

Problem is that the PCB has no negotiating leverage in anything.

They were played by the BCCI, NZCB, ACB and the ECB.

Signed the Big Three contract and were left high and dry.

Played NZ who had a attack on the BD players and they abandon us 30 minutes before play while sharing no evidence.

Problem is that the PCB has no negotiating leverage in anything.

They were played by the BCCI, NZCB, ACB and the ECB.

Signed the Big Three contract and were left high and dry.

Played NZ who had a attack on the BD players and they abandon us 30 minutes before play while sharing no evidence.

This is not true. The PCB has convinced the ICC on many things. They convinced the ICC to shift the Asia Cup from India to the UAE in 2018. They convinced the ICC to shift the T20 WC from India to the UAE. It's all about how you negotiate

You really make up things in the air. Right?

ICC doesn't run the Asia cup. BCCI decided to relocate the Asia cup because the Indian government didn't want the pakistan team in India and hence BCCI was not given the permission to host it in India.

Covid pandemic has forced the relocation of the T20WC to UAE. After the issues with IPL BCCI was not taking any chances.

Next you will say PCB convinced ICC to shift IPL to UAE.

I am still waiting for a source for the 300mn pounds ECB was supposed to lose if pakistan didn't tour.

You really make up things in the air. Right?

ICC doesn't run the Asia cup. BCCI decided to relocate the Asia cup because the Indian government didn't want the pakistan team in India and hence BCCI was not given the permission to host it in India.

Covid pandemic has forced the relocation of the T20WC to UAE. After the issues with IPL BCCI was not taking any chances.

Next you will say PCB convinced ICC to shift IPL to UAE.

I am still waiting for a source for the 300mn pounds ECB was supposed to lose if pakistan didn't tour.

“The board did manage to mitigate its losses - which had initially be projected to be in excess of £300 million - by ensuring that England's men fulfilled their complete summer schedule against West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland and Australia.” From a cricket website (would post link but they seem to get removed)

I see 4 teams named and one of them being Australia. So 300mn isnt what PCB and Pakistan saved ECB from.

The PCB should negotiate a tour by England of Pakistan and in exchange the PCB will send the Pakistani team to England for T20, ODI and test matches

FYKI the PCB is considering regulating all tape ball cricket and tournaments in Pakistan.

The only thing the PCB should do with the tape ball stuff is shut it down completely.

Electrical insulation tape has ruined Pakistani sportsmen.

The sad part of all this is that Pakistan went running to play in England every year since 2016 and even the Covid tour went ahead as planned but England haven't even toured UAE since 2015.

The only thing the PCB should do with the tape ball stuff is shut it down completely.

This is not North Korea we're talking about here. You can't ban a sport unless it involves public danger or animal cruelty or something.

The sad part of all this is that Pakistan went running to play in England every year since 2016 and even the Covid tour went ahead as planned but England haven't even toured UAE since 2015.

We dont go “running” to play England. We are invited to play there and because England - Pakistan cricket is highly competitive and entertaining. Does India goes “running” to Australia every now and then too by your logic?

Just cancel the tour. If England does same like NZ (more likely) it will totally destroy our cricket even PSL in Pakistan

We dont go “running” to play England. We are invited to play there and because England - Pakistan cricket is highly competitive and entertaining. Does India goes “running” to Australia every now and then too by your logic?

But Pakistan going to England only generates revenue for them. Wgat do you get in return? Absolutely nothing.

England needs to return the favor we did for them last year. Send their C team, I don't care but PCB must get one of the big three teams to Pak.

Just cancel the England tour!!!

Its' not over-reaction!!! But if England does same with us like NZ, it will destroy the future of PSL and KPL. Why risk it?

England needs to return the favor we did for them last year. Send their C team, I don't care but PCB must get one of the big three teams to Pak.

What make you think England will not do same if not worse than NZ? We survived without them before and we will survive without them now. Why invite troublesome people? It will affect PSL and KPL and BCCI want that desperately.

In dont think PSL or KPL will have much issues. There are enough players who have been and will be willing to come PSL irrespective of the decisions of the teams you are mentioning. Also its much easier for individual players to make personal decisions rather than an international team which has to go but their board and government with more variables at play.

course of action should be to expect aus and eng to pull out now, if all the teams pull out expand the domestic season and psl to cover some of the revenue loss.

also really hype up the domestics, make the qae trophy a best of three played in rawalpindi, lahore, karachi.

its pretty obvious pak wont get test cricket this year, trying to increase profile of domestic first class is next best thing.

PSL will not be affected unless an attack was to happen on a cricket team. Foreign players that have played in the previous PSL seasons have seen how safe it is for them to play in Pakistan.

Also, if the ECB choose to ignore the “intel” that the NZ government had received and continued to tour Pakistan and an attack did take place on the England cricket team then the ECB will have a lot of heat on them. So, it’s clear they’re not going to take any risks and that too for 2 T20i’s.

course of action should be to expect aus and eng to pull out now, if all the teams pull out expand the domestic season and psl to cover some of the revenue loss.

also really hype up the domestics, make the qae trophy a best of three played in rawalpindi, lahore, karachi.

its pretty obvious pak wont get test cricket this year, trying to increase profile of domestic first class is next best thing.

True you could have long PSL seasons too.

Doesn't matter even if England pulls away. It's all political drama, they all know very well Pakistan has been safe for quite some time but they likely had to get back for their embarassing withdrawal from Afghanistan and neighbour's ill influence is always there.

Any team asking for Presedential security shouldn't be invited in the first place. This is not IOK where civilian lives are under threat all the time as Pakistan has been safe for many years now. Just provide reasonable security, and if we really need to provide such high level security then we definetly shouldn't be asking teams to tour yet!

Perfect reply will be if Pakistan thrashes teams in T20 WC starting off from India and NZ, but knowing our thootless team these days, one can't even hope for that 🤦*♂️

Not sure what you mean there. If anything tape ball inspires pace in our nation and that's why we have produced many great fast bowlers. Perhaps you should have done the same then you would have had atleast produced one proper express bowler, which you never have yet. Not sure why you keep forgetting that Pakistan has beaten India more than India has beaten Pakistan, and was a regular winner back in the days when we were using insulation tape and your weren't.

Maybe have two PSL seasons in a year, at different times.

This would be beneficial because it would allow for a greater deal of foreign players to be able to go to Pakistan.

Maybe have two PSL seasons in a year, at different times.

This would be beneficial because it would allow for a greater deal of foreign players to be able to go to Pakistan.

NZ cricketers will probably crawl into that.

Their government forbade them from continuing, so I don't blame the players.

I blame their board for being so inept, and their government for being so daft as to withholding information.
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] is there any news at all about England's decision? I suppose the final word will come out tomorrow.

Their government forbade them from continuing, so I don't blame the players.

I blame their board for being so inept, and their government for being so daft as to withholding information.
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] is there any news at all about England's decision? I suppose the final word will come out tomorrow.

It's not entirely their board decision. There's probably some NZ chief of players association stuff who has always had hatred for Pakistan. He could have simply exaggerated the concerns of some NZ players.

If they choose to come, it would be a bigger concern. Imagine the kind of drama English could do.

But they won’t come. I would be surprised to find otherwise.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was left ruing massive financial and reputational losses as New Zealand prepared to return home on a chartered flight on Saturday, a day after ending their first Pakistan tour in 18 years following a security alert.

The New Zealand side backed out of the tour minutes before the first One-Day International (ODI) of the series was set to start at the Pindi Cricket Stadium, delivering a major blow to Pakistan, and its efforts to revive regular international cricket on home soil.

In a statement, the New Zealand cricket board stated that its team is abandoning the tour of Pakistan following a New Zealand government 'security alert'.

On the other hand, the Pakistan side, which had been reduced to playing its 'home' series in the UAE, hosted New Zealand for the first time since 2003, but was left feeling frustrated and angry on Friday with future tours involving England and Australia also put in jeopardy.

Pakistan-New Zealand series abandoned due to 'security alert'

A PCB official, close to the recent development, said the exact amount of loss due to New Zealand's decision is still being calculated. “I can't give you an exact figure at the moment as the details are being worked out," said the official. "What I can tell you is that we have lost all the money which was to come in terms of media rights, series sponsorship and that we spent on series and security arrangements,” the PCB official told Business Recorder on condition of anonymity.

About the upcoming tour of England, the official said both boards were engaged in talks, but the final call is the England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) to make.

“Of course, we are in talks with ECB, but the nature of the discussion can't be revealed at the moment. We are doing what we can to save the series,” he added.

England are already reconsidering their limited-overs trip to Pakistan next month while Australia, who are scheduled to visit in February-March next year, also appear wary.

Doubt cast over England tour to Pakistan after New Zealand series abandonment

“We’re aware of New Zealand’s decision to pull out of the Pakistan tour due to a security alert,” said the ECB on Friday, adding that it is in constant touch with its security team which is currently in Pakistan to fully understand the situation.

“The ECB Board will then decide in the next 24-48 hours whether our planned tour should proceed.”

England's men and women teams are currently due to play two T20Is in Rawalpindi on October 13 and 14, with the women due to stay on for a three-match ODI series as well.

On the other hand, a Cricket Australia spokesperson said the organisation was monitoring the situation and would “talk with the relevant authorities once more information becomes known”.

Background

On Friday, the cricket series between Pakistan and New Zealand was cancelled on the day the first One-Day International was supposed to start.

NZC chief executive David White, in a statement issued on its website Friday, said it was simply not possible to continue with the tour given the advice he was receiving. “I understand this will be a blow for the PCB, who have been wonderful hosts, but player safety is paramount and we believe this is the only responsible option.”

New Zealand Cricket Players Association chief executive Heath Mills echoed White’s sentiments.

“We’ve been across this process throughout and are fully supportive of the decision,” he said.

“The players are in good hands; they’re safe – and everyone’s acting in their best interests.”

Apart from its financial and reputation repercussions, the news also came as a surprise as New Zealand had earlier given the formal go-ahead to its cricket team’s tour to Pakistan.

The approval came after their independent consultant Reg Dickason gave the green-light to security arrangements in Pakistan following a week-long pre-tour check.

Eng cricket literally holds the fate of international cricket in Pakistan in its hands atm. They go ahead with the tour and the impact of NZ pulling out would be completely nullified (not the financial impact, of course).

It is indeed true that England holds the fate of Pakistan’s future. They are a bigger deal than New Zealand, and if they tour, the New Zealand episode will be nullified.

In a few days, our fans will either be abusing ECB and English players on social media or they will become big fans of England.

On PakPassion, England’s World Cup win will suddenly be legitimized as well.

Being a Pakistani, and a Pakistani cricket fan, is a special type of misery. It is hysterical.

It is indeed true that England holds the fate of Pakistan’s future. They are a bigger deal than New Zealand, and if they tour, the New Zealand episode will be nullified.

In a few days, our fans will either be abusing ECB and English players on social media or they will become big fans of England.

Being a Pakistani, and a Pakistani cricket fan, is a special type of misery. It is hysterical.

Being a hater is a special type of misery too isn't it Mamoon? that must be quite hysterical as well ;)

PS: I don't comment often on pakpassion but one thing I have noticed all these years is Mamoon is a hater. I sometimes wonder how these people live with so much hate....

Dude you are the ultimate troll of this forum :))

You really know how to get on Pakistanis' nerves.

You aren't wrong here tho.

ECB's decision is really the make or break for Pakistan cricket in the near future.

Well put, the last one. Being a Pakistani and a Pakistan cricket fan is a special type of a misery.

Apnay University friends ko jawab day day kay tang agaya hu idher. The rhetoric of “Pakistan is safe” is getting annoying when our army and IK are in beds with the Taliban.

Being a fan of ANYTHING to do with Pakistan is masochistic behaviour. Unfortunately, aur kuch ata bhi nahi.

If ECB refuses to tour, the Pakistani media and the fans will run the following narrative:

“We helped England out last year when we toured them in the pandemic. They did not return the favor and betrayed Pakistan”

They will conveniently ignore the fact that PCB was looking after its own interests. It couldn’t care less shout the financial loss that ECB would incur.

The reason Pakistan toured England was because if Pakistan would have opted out, it would have completed killed the possibility of England touring Pakistan any time soon.

We have zero credibility and zero leverage and yet, we thump our chests and “show eyes” to others.

We are currently laboring under the delusion that New Zealand will apologize to us and pay compensation.

Well no, they won’t apologize (they didn’t do anything wrong) and they won’t pay a cent.

If they invite us over for a short LOI series today and opt to play their reserve squad, we will go running to New Zealand with our main squad hoping that this would lead to New Zealand touring Pakistan in the future.

That is how desperate and helpless we are, and it is all self-inflicted. You reap what you sow - we cannot feel sorry for ourselves.

@saj, MenING, Nearly 48 hours. Did ECB decide whether they tour Pakistan or not?

Silence yet from the ECB.

Bro im telling you

Even if they do decide to tour, we shouldn’t be happy and celebrate like its Independence Day 1947

They can cancel the tour 15 minutes before departure from Heathrow to Dubai.

Bro im telling you

Even if they do decide to tour, we shouldn’t be happy and celebrate like its Independence Day 1947

They can cancel the tour 15 minutes before departure from Heathrow to Dubai.

Exactly!!! Or may be 1 ball after the match starts.

ECB saying the Board haven't met yet to discuss this.

Exactly!!! Or may be 1 ball after the match starts.

I don’t know if you remember. In the 2006 series, the match between Pakistan and England at Pindi was stopped because of gas cylinder explosion.

The poms would be running to for safety at the sound of a Motorbike revving up in Pakistan

They are taking longer than expected.

I hope they send a security delegation to Pakistan to review what happened.

There is a lot more at Stake here

ECB depends on £££ from the overseas Pakistani diaspora who love cricket and help fund the ECB by participating in cricket and buying Sky Sports subscription. They will decline to tour, but will do it in a way that will not lose them the good faith of the Pakistan fans in England

I hate to be cynical but they are really just taking this time to work out a public relations spin on cancelling the tour?

There is a lot more at Stake here

ECB depends on £££ from the overseas Pakistani diaspora who love cricket and help fund the ECB by participating in cricket and buying Sky Sports subscription. They will decline to tour, but will do it in a way that will not lose them the good faith of the Pakistan fans in England

Yes, there is more at stake.

I would not mind if ECB declines to tour, so long as they do so respectfully and with accordance with the PCB.

New Zealand could have declined the tour in a similar fashion and avoided all the hate that they are receiving.

If I were the New Zealand Cricket Board, and received a security threat, this is how I would approach the situation:

In accordance with the PCB, we have decided to postpone New Zealand's tour to Pakistan. We deeply apologize for what inconvenience this may cause, but both boards have mutually agreed that this is not the right time to conduct a series. New Zealand's visit to Pakistan after 18 years should be held without any issues, and we believe that this is not the right time to do so. New Zealand Cricket Board authorities will be working with the PCB to find an alternate window to conduct this historic tour. To the supporters of both teams, we implore you to show patience and resilience and hope for the best. We thank the PCB for their great hospitality and help, and hope that this tour can be conducted properly under the best circumstances possible.

Once you include the PCB in the statement, you would know that both administrations understood that there were logistical challenges. That would be a much easier pill to swallow, and would do much less harm to Pakistan.

I hate to be cynical but they are really just taking this time to work out a public relations spin on cancelling the tour?

ECB and PCB have enjoyed a very fruitful relationship. They are a board that treats us well and has treated us well over the course of many years.

They graciously invite us for a tour every year, and we create no unnecessary problems for them when we tour.

They have enjoyed a lot of revenue from Pakistan's tours, because the cricket played between the two sides has always been entertaining.

They have more at stake than NZC did when making the decision. Though the ECB would also be inclined to decline this tour, they will understand the importance of their relationship with the PCB, and provide the necessary reasons for doing so. So yes, they will need to appease the PCB with their decision regardless of what they choose.

Tough to interpret their silence. I hope something positive comes for Pak cricket.

Nothing tough to interpret

£££ and the large presence of the Pakistani cricket playing community in England needs to be considered.

Tough to interpret their silence. I hope something positive comes for Pak cricket.

Agreed.

They are usually very punctual.

One must also understand that ECB and BCCI had a big issue amongst themselves regarding the postponement of the final test match.

Their relations are not in the best place possible, and neither are ECB's relations with CA (due to the talk of postponing the Ashes).

ECB knows that Pakistan is a team they can invite at any time of the year, and we will not be reluctant to tour.

We offer more competitive cricket than teams like Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and West Indies. South Africa hasn't toured England in a while, which is why I didn't include them in that list.

They know that they will have a lot to lose in terms of their international standing if they are to create problems with the PCB.

Assume that the Ashes is postponed and CA starts issues with England.

Now you have practically nobody to conduct competitive cricket with. Worst of all, they're all away tours so you don't make any revenue from that.

The big picture is what I have mentioned.

Agreed.

They are usually very punctual.

One must also understand that ECB and BCCI had a big issue amongst themselves regarding the postponement of the final test match.

Their relations are not in the best place possible, and neither are ECB's relations with CA (due to the talk of postponing the Ashes).

ECB knows that Pakistan is a team they can invite at any time of the year, and we will not be reluctant to tour.

We offer more competitive cricket than teams like Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and West Indies. South Africa hasn't toured England in a while, which is why I didn't include them in that list.

They know that they will have a lot to lose in terms of their international standing if they are to create problems with the PCB.

Assume that the Ashes is postponed and CA starts issues with England.

Now you have practically nobody to conduct competitive cricket with. Worst of all, they're all away tours so you don't make any revenue from that.

The big picture is what I have mentioned.

I reckon the ECB have made their decision already, their probably speaking with the PCB to reschedule the tour and instead of 2 T20’s, maybe they’ll offer us a couple of test matches and a few ODI’s along with the 2 T20’s.

Their source says they are yet to even meet on the subject. Putting it off means that they are going to have a detailed discussion about it, perhaps when the evidence is in their hands.

My thoughts are that ECB will approach the PCB to reconsider the tour; I think they'll offer the PCB to play the series in England, and if so, they'll probably increase it to 3 or 4 T20s.

I would not mind that.

Their source says they are yet to even meet on the subject. Putting it off means that they are going to have a detailed discussion about it, perhaps when the evidence is in their hands.

My thoughts are that ECB will approach the PCB to reconsider the tour; I think they'll offer the PCB to play the series in England, and if so, they'll probably increase it to 3 or 4 T20s.

I would not mind that.

Playing in England will only make things worse. It’ll mean that the PCB have accepted the fact that international cricket is too dangerous to play in Pakistan.

Pakistan should try to get Scotland, Ireland and Afghanistan (three teams that’ll be competing in WT20) and play as many T20i’s at home until the WT20.

They are taking longer than expected.

I hope they send a security delegation to Pakistan to review what happened.

Dont be naive.

They going to pull a NZ here

They will come to Pakistan and leave without playing by sighting security concerns

Dont be naive.

They going to pull a NZ here

They will come to Pakistan and leave without playing by sighting security concerns

Depends.

They have more to lose.

I hope they send a delegation, but I think they are going to try and plan how to abandon the tour but keep their relationship with PCB intact.

Which is why I mentioned elsewhere that they would probably offer the PCB to play the series in England.

Playing in England will only make things worse. It’ll mean that the PCB have accepted the fact that international cricket is too dangerous to play in Pakistan.

Pakistan should try to get Scotland, Ireland and Afghanistan (three teams that’ll be competing in WT20) and play as many T20i’s at home until the WT20.

No, I think PCB will have the obligation to make a statement addressing the political climate, and saying that they will continue to facilitate international cricket at home if teams are willing to do so.

Another series abandoned will not show our flexibility. It is important to remain flexible.

My gut feel now is that England will not tour, but I really hope that they still do.

If England don't tour then its unlikely Scotland or Ireland will. They will rely on UK govt clearance before going.

Depends.

They have more to lose.

I hope they send a delegation, but I think they are going to try and plan how to abandon the tour but keep their relationship with PCB intact.

Which is why I mentioned elsewhere that they would probably offer the PCB to play the series in England.

This will be no consolation for pcb or pakistan cricket if England offer to play the series in England. It will set the obvious statement the pakistan is not safe to tour, it's a very tricky situation. Like I said before Ecb will try to postpone the series till next year .

Unlike NZL, England has more to lose in case they cancel the tour , even then I will be surprised if they decide to come . I agree with the other poster, they are just trying to figure our how to deal with public relation issue after they announce to cancel the tour.

IK has more connections in England than with NZL.

I hope the English come. The cricketing bond we share them is far stronger than the one with Kiwis.

Pakistan/England equation is totally different to Pakistan/NZ. With all due respect to NZ it is the most irrelevant first world country in world politics. It would have been eaten alive if it had a border anywhere near the middle east.

There is a history of intelligence sharing and cooperation between Pakistan & England and hence I wont be shocked if England does tour. The odds are against it at the moment though.

ECB’s decision is anyone’s guess at this point. However, it appears that if ECB were going to carry on with the tour, they would have confirmed it by now.

They are taking so long because they are thinking of coming with a proposition that would somehow soften the blow.

Pakistan has embarrassed itself over the last 3 days. We have collectively lost our marbles and the verbal diarrhea has no end in sight.

PCB, players, fans, media etc. - everyone has gone bonkers.

ECB is wise enough not to kick this hornet’s nest. They don’t need to put with the abuse that will be direct at them or respond to more idiotic statements by the likes of Ramiz and Wasim.

So unless they decide to carry on with the tour and make the whole Pakistan England cricket fans and legitimize their World Cup win in their eyes, they will need to come up with some clever catch to soften the blow.

Pakistan/England equation is totally different to Pakistan/NZ. With all due respect to NZ it is the most irrelevant first world country in world politics. It would have been eaten alive if it had a border anywhere near the middle east.

There is a history of intelligence sharing and cooperation between Pakistan & England and hence I wont be shocked if England does tour. The odds are against it at the moment though.

Then why all the hoo haa about them going home.

Why is Pakistan upset that the most irrelevant first world country pulled out of a series, should have just told them not to let the door hit them on the way out.

Then why all the hoo haa about them going home.

Why is Pakistan upset that the most irrelevant first world country pulled out of a series, should have just told them not to let the door hit them on the way out.

Because even such a country can damage your reputation by pulling a stunt like this. Pick the most irrelevant country in the world - e.g. Djibouti. If they pulled the same stunt, the reputational losses would be similar.

Mostly likely they won't come or even if they decide, they might offer players to decide who is willing to go to Pakistan. Most of the current players have already come to Pakistan for PSL. Very tricky situation because if they won't come then they won't come for PSL as well.

Because even such a country can damage your reputation by pulling a stunt like this. Pick the most irrelevant country in the world - e.g. Djibouti. If they pulled the same stunt, the reputational losses would be similar.

You are damaging your own reputation by calling it a stunt when they acted in the interests of their players safety.