"Ehsan Mani should work himself like I did, there's no need for these other people" : Najam Sethi
Najam Sethi speaking on his TV show on 24News:
"I am saddened about what happened at the PCB BOG meeting, I think it's a very costly thing which has happened and the PCB is fully to blame"
"They have tried to make changes in an authoritarian manner"
"5 people had one view, and PM IK's two appointed members had another view. The 5 are elected while the 2 are appointed. In a democracy, the majority has the advantage"
"The Board elects the Chairman and makes him Chief Executive, there is no position for a MD"
"The day to day decisions are taken by the Chairman but for important decisions, he has to go to the Board. They made the decision to take the powers from the Board and do what they want and that is the point of contention"
"If I come to you and tell you to give me your gun so I can kill you, what will you say? This is not how things are done"
"You have to change the constitution to make the position of a MD. You have to do things according to the law"
"Our cricket system is 50:50 for departments and regions. Now departments spend 1 billion rupees a year on cricket. If you abolish them then what will happen to that money?"
"All of Pakistan's big cricketers with only a couple of exceptions like IK played for depts. and depts. took care of them. They give jobs to the players"
"When I went to PCB, the highest ranking director was paid 2.5 to 4.5 lakhs. There were some people who had been in a position for 20 years and there salaries were 5-6 lakhs as there is a 5% increase annually"
"The Chairman has no salary, he gets money for expenses and for accommodation when overseas"
"There are four new people, MD who is getting 25-30 lakhs. I haven't seen the contract but I'm sure there must be permission to go to London 6-8 times annually in Business Class and PCB will pay his expenses"
"I don't think the new people were required. We didn't hire any such people and we started PSL, we won the CT, we brought international cricket back to Pakistan, we built stadiums. We didn't bring in new people, we motivated the existing the staff"
"These people don't know about Pakistan's cricket structure. The MD is a nice person and he was effective in England but there it's the private sector, here this is the public sector. There's a big difference in rules and regulations"
"In England, cricket is run as a company. Here we have elected people and a law and things work with consultation. A system has been in place for 70 years and you want to change it overnight"
"The costs for these new 4 people are coming to 20 crore over a 3 year period. What is the need for that? Ehsan Mani should work himself like I did, and like others did. There is no need for these people, they have no special expertise which they can bring in to PCB"
"Mani sahab has no humility, he was very arrogant in the manner he spoke yesterday. The BoG members are elected people, they have risen from the bottom to the top and there is a whole structure here"
"If Mani sahab doesn't change his attitude and if IK doesn't give him the right advice, this will go out of hand and things will go to the courts and everything will come to a halt"
"I know that people are angry with how PCB is trying to function. Mani sahab needs to change his attitude and should listen to others and respect others and take the board forward in a democratic way"
"The vision has some weight. Cricket should be based on a regional basis. But how to implement that, I don't think PCB has worked it out and they haven't discussed it which is why there are problems now"
"Mani sahab needs to get off his high horse and he needs to smell what's happening on the ground. You can't behave like this with elected people"
"If confusion persists then eventually the Supreme Court of High Court may step in and remove the Patron and the other leadership and appoint a committee to run PCB"
Najam Sethi speaking on his TV show on 24News:
"I am saddened about what happened at the PCB BOG meeting, I think it's a very costly thing which has happened and the PCB is fully to blame"
"They have tried to make changes in an authoritarian manner"
"5 people had one view, and PM IK's two appointed members had another view. The 5 are elected while the 2 are appointed. In a democracy, the majority has the advantage"
"The Board elects the Chairman and makes him Chief Executive, there is no position for a MD"
"The day to day decisions are taken by the Chairman but for important decisions, he has to go to the Board. They made the decision to take the powers from the Board and do what they want and that is the point of contention"
"If I come to you and tell you to give me your gun so I can kill you, what will you say? This is not how things are done"
"You have to change the constitution to make the position of a MD. You have to do things according to the law"
"Our cricket system is 50:50 for departments and regions. Now departments spend 1 billion rupees a year on cricket. If you abolish them then what will happen to that money?"
"All of Pakistan's big cricketers with only a couple of exceptions like IK played for depts. and depts. took care of them. They give jobs to the players"
"When I went to PCB, the highest ranking director was paid 2.5 to 4.5 lakhs. There were some people who had been in a position for 20 years and there salaries were 5-6 lakhs as there is a 5% increase annually"
"The Chairman has no salary, he gets money for expenses and for accommodation when overseas"
"There are four new people, MD who is getting 25-30 lakhs. I haven't seen the contract but I'm sure there must be permission to go to London 6-8 times annually in Business Class and PCB will pay his expenses"
"I don't think the new people were required. We didn't hire any such people and we started PSL, we won the CT, we brought international cricket back to Pakistan, we built stadiums. We didn't bring in new people, we motivated the existing the staff"
"These people don't know about Pakistan's cricket structure. The MD is a nice person and he was effective in England but there it's the private sector, here this is the public sector. There's a big difference in rules and regulations"
"In England, cricket is run as a company. Here we have elected people and a law and things work with consultation. A system has been in place for 70 years and you want to change it overnight"
"The costs for these new 4 people are coming to 20 crore over a 3 year period. What is the need for that? Ehsan Mani should work himself like I did, and like others did. There is no need for these people, they have no special expertise which they can bring in to PCB"
"Mani sahab has no humility, he was very arrogant in the manner he spoke yesterday. The BoG members are elected people, they have risen from the bottom to the top and there is a whole structure here"
"If Mani sahab doesn't change his attitude and if IK doesn't give him the right advice, this will go out of hand and things will go to the courts and everything will come to a halt"
"I know that people are angry with how PCB is trying to function. Mani sahab needs to change his attitude and should listen to others and respect others and take the board forward in a democratic way"
"The vision has some weight. Cricket should be based on a regional basis. But how to implement that, I don't think PCB has worked it out and they haven't discussed it which is why there are problems now"
"Mani sahab needs to get off his high horse and he needs to smell what's happening on the ground. You can't behave like this with elected people"
"If confusion persists then eventually the Supreme Court of High Court may step in and remove the Patron and the other leadership and appoint a committee to run PCB"