England defeat Pakistan by 7 wickets in the one-off T20I

Sarfraz made the same mistake as Fakhar in the PSL. Not giving Shaheen overs with the new ball.

Shaheen at this moment is only handy with the new ball.

It is such an inspiration to see your captain lead from the front. An inspiration Pakistani fans have been completely deprived of.

Exactly. Irrespective of Sarfraz’s captaincy skills, he doesnt inspire or motivate his team with his own performances which does play a role in the mindset of players playing under you.

The bowlers doesn't deserve most of the stick. Pakistan's total was below par (180-185) but against that bowling attack should be scoring 200 at least.

Congratulations to the best T20 team in the world and the best T20 captain in the world for losing to an English team without Roy, Bairstow, Buttler, Hales and Stokes.

what's embarrassing is you overrating an average bowler like he's the next shoaib akhtar.

and the reason he was selected was based on those 90mph deliveries yet we didn't see them until the last over.

Yea...when I say Hasnain is promising I am calling him the next Shoaib Akhtar. :afaq

Did you skip English class as well as maths class at school? :yk2

Faheem 3.2 overs 43 runs
Shaheen 4 overs 35 runs
Hasan Ali: 4 overs 42 runs
Hasnain: 4 overs 29 runs

And you are sitting here throwing your toys out the pram about Hasnain being crap.

Average run rate in the match: 8.7
Run rate off of Hasnains bowling: 7.25

And here you are whining about Hasnain.

Their really is no cure for stupid.

I've got no more time to waste on you mate. See you later mate.

Its all over. :dw

Good game guys, bowlers looked rusty. Hopefully a better performance in the ODI series and we do away with Faheem and Asif at least.

I did tell you months ago that this T20 bubble is about to burst. First South Africa and now this, the wheels have come off for the "best team in the world" and we needed this reality check.

Congratulations to the best T20 team in the world and the best T20 captain in the world for losing to an English team without Roy, Bairstow, Buttler, Hales and Stokes.

Horrible performance. No excuse for losing today.

Excellent knock from England’s captain, would do wonders for team’s confidence leading upto WC

We’re really missing Shadab Khan...

Also, Hafeez in the middle order.

You guys still fighting your own little fight, [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION]? :))

Trying desperately to raise the overall IQ among the Pakistani fan base, however, unfortunately there is no cure for stupid.

First game of the tour with some inexperienced players. We will only get better. Good luck Pakistan

I did tell you months ago that this T20 bubble is about to burst. First South Africa and now this, the wheels have come off for the "best team in the world" and we needed this reality check.

Salute bro you tells here many time about our useless no1 position

We’re really missing Shadab Khan...

Also, Hafeez in the middle order.

Definitely missing another spinner. Mickey Arther has really finished our spin bowling with likes of Bila Asif in tests and now Yasir in LOIs

You discount Pakistan's one-off win in T20 against same opposition but don't get to count this one. Can't have your cake and eat it too.

Exactly. Irrespective of Sarfraz’s captaincy skills, he doesnt inspire or motivate his team with his own performances which does play a role in the mindset of players playing under you.

Epitomised by the fact that once again he hides behind Hasan Ali down the order because he knows his true worth as a batsman - a mere tail ender!

Uncle inzi should select his son as well. Maybe even some other close relatives.

I hear there are more ul-haq's lining up to take their rightful spot in the side. All hail chachu Inzi

These Ducketts, Vinces and Denly's are going to be replaced by Bairstow Roy and Buttler.

We will be unchanged :))

As I said, i dont even blame Sarfraz for this defeat.

But the irony is, everyone was crediting HIM ONLY AS SOLE REASON Pakistan are number 1 in T20.

Common sense suggests and demands that a poor captain in Test Cricket and an average one in ODI CANNOT BE A HOUDINI in the 3rd format.

Captaincy is not magic.

You are born with some skills and there are things u learn along the way.

Sarfraz has not learned to be a great captain at 30 plus and unlikely ever will be.

There is no harm in that, if he earns a place as batsmen in side.

But that seems far away too.

Hope for the best in World Cup, but dont hope high.

Salute bro you tells here many time about our useless no1 position

We are lucky we didn't play India since the 2016 World T20. This artificial streak and ranking would have been history ages ago.

You discount Pakistan's one-off win in T20 against same opposition but don't get to count this one. Can't have your cake and eat it too.

England are better than us. When they beat us is it is the norm but when we do, it is one-off.

The teams recent performances are in front of everyone. We have been an extremely poor bowling unit for a long time. The bowlers don't pick up early wickets and neither keep the runs down, pacers do jack with the new ball and our non turning spinners are ineffective in the middle overs.

Barring a miracle this is going to be a depressing world cup

It’s a good thing we have a World Cup coming. Will be the end of a few careers, including that of our specialist captain, whether we win or lose. Rest assured, replacements wouldn’t be any better and the future looks really bleak. We played Imam in T20s. Let that sink in.

The teams recent performances are in front of everyone. We have been an extremely poor bowling unit for a long time. The bowlers don't pick up early wickets and neither keep the runs down, pacers do jack with the new ball and our non turning spinners are ineffective in the middle overs.

Barring a miracle this is going to be a depressing world cup

It's baffling to see bowlers like Hasnain and Faheem when we have Usman on the sidelines.

Good defeat just before the WC. That misfield by Haris and the missed chance at the boundary really did make a difference at the end. Some of the fielders like Asif Ali, Haris and Hasnain really need to improve. With both the spinners being allrounders Faheem can be replaced by a specialist bowler either Hasnain or Amir who can bat a little.
Missed Amir at the death as well so that could go in his favour when it comes to selection. Perfect opportunity for him to win a place in the next few matches

This shows you important the following players have been since 2016:

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Mohammad Amir
Shadab Khan

Time to realize and appreciate most of these guys.

We didnt have a decent LOIs captain since Wasim Akram. Not a hater of any player but just want to see a captain who can inspire players by leading from the front.

Salman Butt’s loyalty and Younis Khan’s and then Hafeez’s emotions ruined our LOIs captaincy progression.

This shows you important the following players have been since 2016:

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Mohammad Amir
Shadab Khan

Time to realize and appreciate most of these guys.

Indeed, but we need to move on from Hafeez and Malik now.

Please explain to me what on earth malik would of done? That too in English conditions where his average is a joke. Let’s not even factor in his performances over the past year or two

Malik is a Pakistani fantasy. Malik is the worst cricketer to ever play as many ODI’s as he has. He a nothing cricketer. A club level cricketer who punched above his weight.

Pakistan's batting has always been weak. On a really good day they will score way above par and on average at par.

Our bowling attack as Shane Warne will point out has been resulting in the opposition putting big first innings scores or failing to defend par or even above par totals. I wish [MENTION=2344]W63L35[/MENTION] can pinpoint the bowling statistics of our bowling attack against the top 6 opposition batsmen for a while to guage the effectiveness of our bowling attack

SSA , HASNAIN AND HASAN are there and they give the new ball to Imad and faheem in England.

What an idea sir ji (sarfraz , Azhar, Mickey)

We didnt have a decent LOIs captain since Wasim Akram. Not a hater of any player but just want to see a captain who can inspire players by leading from the front.

Salman Butt’s loyalty and Younis Khan’s and then Hafeez’s emotions ruined our LOIs captaincy progression.

Inzamam was pretty good. He wasn't much of a tactician but he batted superbly during his tenure and we became quite a good chasing team. We won quite a few big series under him but unfortunately it ended in tears in the 2007 World Cup.

Not concerned at all as it was a T20 match. Hasnain did not impress me much in this match. Junaid Khan and Amir shoud be given a go in some of the one dayers. We should have got about 20 runs more to win the match.

Inzamam was pretty good. He wasn't much of a tactician but he batted superbly during his tenure and we became quite a good chasing team. We won quite a few big series under him but unfortunately it ended in tears in the 2007 World Cup.

Not really, he was a great batsman but we only managed to win 1 series vs India, New Zealand and England.

The only difference now is all those teams have improved and we've regressed.

Play some proper goddamn spinners. Our team management still stuck in pace is pace yaar mentality.

Will will will
Test position No 8 with 86 points
ODI position No 6 with 96
T20 Position No 1 but unable to beat SA and Eng B teams

Here's the thing, whenever Pakistan wins a T20 some fans come up and say that winning in T20's doesn't count but whenever we lose same fans come out and start the blame game and forget that it's the same format which they didn't take seriously earlier.
It was a decent match in which Babar,Haris,Imad and Hasnain had a good game.Beating England won't be easy in ODI'S but if Pakistan manages to win two matches out of five then I would be satisfied.

Not really, he was a great batsman but we only managed to win 1 series vs India, New Zealand and England.

We also beat Sri Lanka in SL with all their greats still playing in 2006.

In this decade, we've only won three ODI series against top five sides with the last time being in South Africa under Misbah in 2013.

Those were big series wins and he batted really well. We chased 300+ multiple times which we haven't been able to do since his retirement.

Yes I agree he was a Pak great and everybody in the team had respect for him and used to listen to what he had to say. Tactically wasnt that sharp but ticked most of the other boxes to be a captain of a national team.

To sum up this thread:

Pakistan are out of the World Cup.

We need Hafeez and Malik back.

Our bowlers are crap.

Our batsmen are crap.

We should quit cricket.

Regards.

To sum up this thread:

Our bowlers are crap.

Our batsmen are crap.

We should quit cricket.

Regards.

If we somehow win the first odi (which seems a bit unlikely to be played coz of the weather), All of these complaints will go away. It happens way too often

To sum up this thread:

Our bowlers are crap.

Our batsmen are crap.

We should quit cricket.

Regards.

Lol this post had me in stitches...

I think we all know that Imam would not have played had Hafeez been fit...
Shadab is also an extremely good one day and ODI bowler plus a brilliant ffielder.

So best not to lose any sleep over this loss...
I’ll be worried if Shadab is unfit for the World Cup.

Here's the thing, whenever Pakistan wins a T20 some fans come up and say that winning in T20's doesn't count but whenever we lose same fans come out and start the blame game and forget that it's the same format which they didn't take seriously earlier.
It was a decent match in which Babar,Haris,Imad and Hasnain had a good game.Beating England won't be easy in ODI'S but if Pakistan manages to win two matches out of five then I would be satisfied.

Even if we would have won I wouldnt have been really satisfied considering our poor team management, strategies show that and uninspiring captain.

I want to see Pak playing inspiring, thoughtful and tactically proficient cricket on consistent basis which I havent see in the last 7-8 years.

Couple of good or bad matches dont define a team. Top teams have put in place consistent performances across the formats in last 3-4 years, I want to see Pak team progress upto that level if its ever possible.

Lol this post had me in stitches...

I think we all know that Imam would not have played had Hafeez been fit...
Shadab is also an extremely good one day and ODI bowler plus a brilliant ffielder.

So best not to lose any sleep over this loss...
I’ll be worried if Shadab is unfit for the World Cup.

Especially when Shadab’s replacement is Yasir

Even if we would have won I wouldnt have been really satisfied considering our poor team management, strategies show that and uninspiring captain.

I want to see Pak playing inspiring, thoughtful and tactically proficient cricket on consistent basis which I havent see in the last 7-8 years.

Couple of good or bad matches dont define a team. Top teams have put in place consistent performances across the formats in last 3-4 years, I want to see Pak team progress upto that level if its ever possible.

Couldn't agree with you more.Consistency is definitely missing.Pakistan is badly missing Shadab here.If the ball doesn't swing in the WC then we will have a problem.Let's hope for the best ,well actually we(Pak fans) have been hoping against the hope for some time now!

As a Pakistani fan, it is very hard to be on the losing side mostly and I also feel bad on Pakistan defeat but I think you seem to be very angry on this reality check.

Not angry but agitated that you never praise when appraisal is due.

I think most people consider Shadab the savior but shadab is just a good fielder and a mediocre leg spinner ( he regressed a lot recently )

Not angry but agitated that you never praise when appraisal is due.
We are a cricket loving nation and most people play and watch cricket.
With our 20 crore population we are unable to be in top 5 in real cricket (ODI or test)

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/q8d8r/bjtdxb" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>.

Pakistan's batting has always been weak. On a really good day they will score way above par and on average at par.

Our bowling attack as Shane Warne will point out has been resulting in the opposition putting big first innings scores or failing to defend par or even above par totals. I wish [MENTION=2344]W63L35[/MENTION] can pinpoint the bowling statistics of our bowling attack against the top 6 opposition batsmen for a while to guage the effectiveness of our bowling attack

I will post the stats later..

But the key difference is, we are missing bowlers like Ajmal, Hafeez (pre-ban days) and Afridi. When these bowlers choked the Opposition batsmen for 30 overs in ODIs and 12 overs in T20s..... and then fast bowlers took the wickets. Today's bowling attack was missing that.

Plus this is an extremely inexperienced attack.

Pakistan running between wickets is ridiculous.The two run outs slowed down the run rate.The fielding was also not up to scratch.In one ODIs and WC Amir should replace Faheem.Our attack should be Shaheen,Hasan,Amir,Hasnain and Shadab.

An unbeaten half-century from England captain Eoin Morgan and a brilliant T20I debut for Jofra Archer ensured England overcame Pakistan by seven wickets in Cardiff.

Archer took 2/29 as England restricted their opponents to 173/6, the newly qualified Englishman dismissing both of Pakistan's set batsmen in the same over. Morgan's 29-ball 57* then shepherded his side to victory over the MRF Tyres No.1 ranked side in the format, with a crunching straight six securing the match in the final over.

Having won the toss and elected to bat, Pakistan lost Fakhar Zaman (7) early to a stunning Morgan catch, and No.3 Imam Ul-Haq (7) became Archer's first victim in T20Is in the fifth over, edging a wicked bouncer behind to Archer's fellow debutant Ben Foakes.

MRF Tyres No.1 ranked T20I batsman Babar Azam then began to find a lovely rhythm alongside new batter Haris Sohail, the pair adding 101 for the fourth wicket. Babar brought up his half-century by hitting consecutive sixes off Joe Denly (0/15), who was hauled off after his over and not brought back into the attack.

Haris (50) notched his maiden T20I fifty before departing shortly afterwards, just as Pakistan's accumulation of runs was beginning to put England under real pressure. Archer's return catalysed an impressive middle-over comeback from the home side, having Haris caught on the midwicket boundary before running out Babar (65) with a sharp effort at the non-strikers end two balls later.

Azam and Sohail both brought up stylish half-centuries Azam and Sohail both brought up stylish half-centuries
Faheem Ashraf (17) and Imad Wasim (18*) helped push the tourists to 173/6, but England would have been delighted with the effort of their bowlers in keeping the total below 190.

England lost T20I debutant Ben Duckett (9) to Shaheen Shah Afridi (1/35) in the third over as he looked to clear cover with an ambitious drive, and James Vince fell for a well-made 27-ball 36 in the ninth, both batsmen effectively auditioning for a potential spot in the England side in this summer's home Men's Cricket World Cup.

Joe Root and Eoin Morgan then took responsibility in the middle, the latter taking a more aggressive approach while Root rotated strike in typically efficient style before clipping one to the keeper as he attempted to scoop, gifting Hasan Ali (1/42) his only scalp.

Morgan hit Faheem for six to win the game for England Morgan hit Faheem for six to win the game for England
A crucial 44-run stand for the fifth wicket then ensued, as Denly provided Morgan with solid company for the chase, quelling any threat of a late Pakistan insurgence.

Morgan carried on his assault, clubbing three sixes and five fours in his excellent unbeaten knock of 57 not out, and some late hitting from Denly (20*) helped England reach their target with four balls remaining.

England and Pakistan now face off in a five-match ODI series commencing on 8 May.

https://www.cricketworldcup.com/news/1209979

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Disappointing effort from Pakistan's pace-bowlers today:<br><br>Overs 15.2<br>Runs conceded 149<br>Wickets 2<br>Run-rate 9.72<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1125085206858350594?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 5, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan last 18 matches in all formats:<br><br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Won<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Won<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Won<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<br>Lost<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1125107224819507207?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 5, 2019</a></blockquote>