"Evidence suggests we are doing something right": Saqlain Mushtaq after loss to Sri Lanka

Mohammad Rizwan’s 49-ball 55 in the Asia Cup final against Sri Lanka was heavily criticised by the former cricketers.

Gautam Gambhir, while doing commentary, has questioned Rizwan’s batting approach and said the batter should be criticised for his slow knock. Former Pakistan speedster Shoaib Akhter, too, made a stern comment on Rizwan’s battling knock.

“Rizwan, 50 off 50 is not going to work anymore. Doesn’t benefit Pakistan,” Akhtar wrote on Twitter.

Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmed (32) added 71 runs for the third wicket in almost 10 overs as Sri Lanka kept mounting the pressure by bowling tidily in the middle overs. Rizwan was dismissed in the 17th over, and by then, the game had slipped through Pakistan’s hand. They needed 61 runs in the last four wickets with six wickets in hand.

However, Pakistan head coach Saqlain Mushtaq defended Mohammad Rizwan’s batting approach in the Asia Cup final against Sri Lanka.

“Unki soch hai. Jo bahir log baithe hote hai na, wo bahir se cheezon ko dekhte hai aur uske upar baat kar dete hai (Easy to comment from outside, one gets to know only when they are part of the team), said Saqlain, when he was asked about Rizwan’s criticim from the former cricketers.

Rizwan has been the highest run-getter for Pakistan in the Asia Cup with 281 runs in six innings, including three half-centuries. RIzwan is also the No 1 batter in the T20Is.

“It’s not their mistake. They saw the result, and scorecard and made their comments. They have no idea about what is happening inside the dressing room, what the players feel about their confidence and the injuries they are carrying.

“I have worked as an expert for three years. So, I know how things worked. Once they work closely with the cricketers from inside only then they will get to know about the team bonding, the environment,” he added.

Saqlain also heaped praise on Asif Ali and Shadab Khan, who got injured during the match but still went out to bat.

“Asif ke haath mey chaar taanke lage hue hai. Shadab ke kaan me se khoon nikal raha, usko concussion ka tha fir bhi batting karne ke liye gaya (Asia played with four stitches in his hand. Shadab’s ear was bleeding, he was concussed after the Collison and despite all of this he went to bat),” said Saqlain.

Earlier, Bhanuka Rajapaksa hit an unbeaten 71 off 45 balls in Dubai and led Sri Lanka as it recovered from 58-5 to reach 170-6 in the final after Pakistan won the toss and elected to field.

“I’ll credit the Sri Lankans. We’d broken their backbone in the first nine overs, but the way Rajapaksa played, and the others rallied around him, no praise is enough. I’m sure it should be the best innings of his life. The way he lifted them, hats off,” said Saqlain on the Asia Cup winners.

Pakistan crashed to 147 all out off the last balls as its top order continued to struggle against the pace with fast bowler Pramod Madushan claiming 4-34 in only his second T20 international.

“As a batting unit, we didn’t perform according to our potential,” Babar said. “We didn’t finish the way we would have wanted to and gave away 15-20 extra runs … the more you learn from these ups-and-downs is good, but you need to reduce your mistakes.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...oaib-akhtar-gambhir-criticism-rizwan-8145657/

First of all, why is saqlain giving anpresser. Tournament ended, it should he the captain coming out. Or is it that our captain comes out when we only win? That shows how meek he is. Atleast misbah as captain would face the press after losing a series.

If asif had stitches, than why was he playing? What is the purpose of sending in a squad. You lot had no issue dropping dhani aftwr one game.
If there were doubts about haider ali than why didnt you play him in the dead rubber match? If you dont trust haider ali than why take him with you. Why is there a communication gap between waseem, babar and saqlain?

Select those players who you comefortable playing.

Rizwan is not to be blamed for this loss, he was the one trying. Fakhar, ifti, khushdil and asif did nothing eith the bat

Team's are not judged on environments, they are judged on results.

I have been a fan of how Saqlain is handling the team actually. He is a motivator and a relaxer - which is his job.

But they have unraveled in two key games - T20WC and Asia Cup final so I am a little concerned.

Still think he is OK. He and Hayden will help.

I think Shoaib Akhtar will transform this team in to fearless warriors , can't guarantee results because of the lack of quality but it will definitely bring back our entertaining brand of win some lose some cricket.

First of all, why is saqlain giving anpresser. Tournament ended, it should he the captain coming out. Or is it that our captain comes out when we only win? That shows how meek he is. Atleast misbah as captain would face the press after losing a series.

If asif had stitches, than why was he playing? What is the purpose of sending in a squad. You lot had no issue dropping dhani aftwr one game.
If there were doubts about haider ali than why didnt you play him in the dead rubber match? If you dont trust haider ali than why take him with you. Why is there a communication gap between waseem, babar and saqlain?

Select those players who you comefortable playing.

Rizwan is not to be blamed for this loss, he was the one trying. Fakhar, ifti, khushdil and asif did nothing eith the bat

What was he trying to do?

Take singles?

I'll even buy on most days his approach is perfect because we are chasing 130 to 140.

Your top 2 are gone and by the time you depart the Required Run Rate is 15 RPO and you are 55 of 49 balls chasing a target of 170 plus and you are keeping a straight face and telling me he is trying?

You are not fooling anyone here.

Today he was just trying to get to his 50 and let others do what they want.

He was not EVEN TRYING to win the match.

Agree with Saqi bhai. Easy for the likes of Akhtar to talk. Pakistan have selected a squad based on ability and have meticulously planned and have had much success based on their new analytics based approach .

They need to trust the process and continue. Akhtar is either not competent enough to understand what's going on or just indulging in criticism for the heck of it

Easy to always respond to criticism with:

“It’s easy to talk from the outside”

What is Saqlain Mushtaq’s contribution to this team? He is still carrying on with the top 3 devised by Misbah and Waqar last year. So what exactly has he done to improve this side?

People may not have any idea, but if we don’t, then tell us.

The Asif and Shadab explanations were not required because that is not what the criticism is about. By the time these two came out to bat, the match was done and dusted.

I want the following explanations:

1. Why did you let SL off the hook when they were 58-5.
2. Iftikhar exploratory over was ok, but why did he bowl 3 overs. And if you felt spin was going well, why did Nawaz not get more than one over.
3. If you thought you got some good overs out of Ifti as the 6th bowler, why did you allow your worst bowler (hasnain for the day), to bowl out his overs? Nawaz should have bowled the remaining overs.
4. Why are you fools always concerned about who will bowl at the death when you have the opposition 5 down within 10 overs?
5. Why after SL’s terrible bowling start (10 runs off the 1st ball) did you not hammer home the advantage to really put them on the back foot?
6. What is the purpose of anchor innings in a damn t20? And if you really want an anchor, why were there 2 anchors.
7. Was this Iftikhar’s benefit match?

One other thing……why are players continuing to collide with each other when going for a catch? This is schoolboy stuff

And your point Mr.Saqlain, Sympathy? Bring some guys from Edhi homes in the next series , they will be in more sorry looking conditions ,Professional players if injured/out of form gets replaced until they recover/regain form , they don't get to hog a valuable spot in the XI in the name of confidence.

Absolutely dumb incapable of any serious analysis or introspection. Same goes for Babar.
Only good for inshallahs and mashallahs

Saqlian lacked method analogy and purpose as a coach, they've made grave mistakes they missed not one but a lot of chances to seize the opportunity and what unity it looked like players were not playing for team before his 50 Rizwan not once tried to accelerate it was looking as they are not concerned with winning the game the less said about babar the skipper the better

The whole management is incapable, just dependent on individual brilliance otherwise this team has no style or pattern of playing.

I understood it when they played Sajid Khan at 7 in the 3rd test match against Australia. ZERO BRAIN, after all Babar is a cousin of Akmal brothers.

Saqlian lacked method analogy and purpose as a coach, they've made grave mistakes they missed not one but a lot of chances to seize the opportunity and what unity it looked like players were not playing for team before his 50 Rizwan not once tried to accelerate it was looking as they are not concerned with winning the game the less said about babar the skipper the better

Hit the nail on the head. Rizwan has been doing this for nearly 2 years. 1 year under Misbah and 1 year under Saqlain. Not once has any coach or PCB senior management member pushed him or questioned him on his selfish batting approach

Defeatist mindset when you say it's easy to say from outside. Misbah used to do the same: respond back by saying why don't you do it etc.

Secondly, pointing to player injuries and making them look like heroes is again a soft mindset. I'm sure he's got his team bonding skills wrong- he's making the atmosphere look very cuddly.

Embarrassing. And idiotic.

Let’s also put blame on Andy Flower now before this gets swept under the carpet too.

Andy Flower has also enjoyed the Rizwan tuk tuk bus ride and fuelled it by allowing him to open the batting with Shan Masood of all people who both don’t show any intent whatsoever to hit boundaries in the powerplay! They already had it in their mind that Tim David and the MS lower order will do all the work to get MS to 200+ once Shan and Rizwan get them to 100 off 13 overs (100 of 78 balls) on some of the flattest tracks with 65 meter boundaries all around.

Essentially, Tim David would have to help score 100 off 42 balls and he did so time and time again. This is why players like Tim David are the true number 1s of this format.

Former Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Akhtar has tore into the opening duo of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan for their respective performances in the Asia Cup final, after the team were thoroughly beaten by Sri Lanka. Pakistan gave up their toss advantage in the final match and failed to chase down a target of 171 runs despite having big hitters in their line-up.

Akhtar took to YouTube to vent his frustrations and said that dropping anchor on both ends in a T20I game made little sense for Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

"I hope that we are not playing the wrong team every time we are out on the field. The question mark gets put on Rizwan because he has been unable to finish matches. He needs support around him. He can't take 45 balls to score 45 runs, and that is going to be a problem," Akhtar said on his YouTube video.

Pakistan were rocked throughout their batting line up, first by pacer Pramod Madushan and then by Wanindu Hasarnga. The duo picked up seven wickets between them crippling the Babar Azam-led side. Akhtar praised Sri Lanka for their cricket and called them a great nation.

"But I'll tell you right now what a great nation Sri Lanka are. Look what they have been through over the last 6 months, but they managed to come out here and show the world that they are the best team of the world in the tournament," he said.

"Pakistan bowling are leaking too many runs. Babar Azam has not scored runs throughout the tournament," he further vented in the video.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...rizwan-after-asia-cup-loss-1999127-2022-09-12

Pakistan coach Saqlain Mushtaq defended the team’s Twenty20 playing style after losing Sunday’s Asia Cup final, dismissed concerns about captain Babar Azam’s form and found nothing wrong with opener Mohammad Rizwan’s batting approach.

The Green Shirts failed to chase 171 to beat Sri Lanka, their 23-run defeat bucking the trend of teams winning while batting second in Dubai.

Rizwan made 55 in 49 balls for Pakistan and finished as the tournament’s leading scorer with 281 runs in six innings.

But Saqlain was not worried about Rizwan’s sluggish strike rate of 117.57 runs per hundred balls in the high-octane format. By comparison, Virat Kohli scored 276 runs for India at a more rapid 147.59 across his five innings.

“Everyone has their own style of playing cricket,” Saqlain said.

“We made the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup (last year) and now the final of the Asia Cup, so evidence suggests we are doing something right.

“We did so with our style of play, and the things that are left to be done will be worked upon, rather than following the style of the rest of the cricket-playing nations.”

Babar, a prolific scorer for the team before the tournament, managed just 68 runs in six matches with a highest of 30, but Saqlain played down the opener’s loss of form.

“As I said before, anybody with a deep eye of cricket will realise that he is unlucky with the way he is getting out,” said Saqlain.

“The way he plays and his work ethic needs no further discussion. He is a world-class player and God save him from the evil eye.”

“It’s just a patch. If you look at the rankings, he’s (among the) top in T20 International and in ODIs. It’s just been bad luck. The way he’s training and playing it’s amazing. His work ethic is top notch,” he said.

The 27-year-old Babar, who has scored 2,754 runs in 80 Twenty20 internationals at an average of over 42, recently lost his number one T20 world ranking to fellow opener Rizwan.

Babar’s final dismissal in the tournament came with a loose flick down the leg side to be caught at short-fine leg off fast bowler Pramod Madushan, who claimed four wickets.

Saqlain also dismissed suggestions of a left-right opening combination of Fakhar Zaman with either Babar or Rizwan.

“If you keep shuffling, it sends a message that you don’t trust them,” he said. “You need to give them time. It’s not good to shuffle a lot. It sends a wrong message.”

Saqlain praised champions Sri Lanka, who previously beat Pakistan, India and Afghanistan in the Super Four stage, for their complete showing in the final.

“Sri Lanka batted second and then batted first against us and became champions. Well-deserved,” said Saqlain.

“We just played first nine overs of really good cricket and after that they played almost 31 overs and dominated us in all aspects — in batting, bowling and fielding.”

DAWN

Let’s also put blame on Andy Flower now before this gets swept under the carpet too.

Andy Flower has also enjoyed the Rizwan tuk tuk bus ride and fuelled it by allowing him to open the batting with Shan Masood of all people who both don’t show any intent whatsoever to hit boundaries in the powerplay! They already had it in their mind that Tim David and the MS lower order will do all the work to get MS to 200+ once Shan and Rizwan get them to 100 off 13 overs (100 of 78 balls) on some of the flattest tracks with 65 meter boundaries all around.

Essentially, Tim David would have to help score 100 off 42 balls and he did so time and time again. This is why players like Tim David are the true number 1s of this format.

Wonderfully said

Honestly too much blame on Rizwan and Ifti Chacha. It is Babar that has created such a culture in the team where such type of tactics is accepted. Saqqi is just a dummy coach like Ramiz Raja said in his press conference.

Pakistan coach Saqlain Mushtaq defended the team’s Twenty20 playing style after losing Sunday’s Asia Cup final, dismissed concerns about captain Babar Azam’s form and found nothing wrong with opener Mohammad Rizwan’s batting approach.

The Green Shirts failed to chase 171 to beat Sri Lanka, their 23-run defeat bucking the trend of teams winning while batting second in Dubai.

Rizwan made 55 in 49 balls for Pakistan and finished as the tournament’s leading scorer with 281 runs in six innings.

But Saqlain was not worried about Rizwan’s sluggish strike rate of 117.57 runs per hundred balls in the high-octane format. By comparison, Virat Kohli scored 276 runs for India at a more rapid 147.59 across his five innings.

“We made the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup (last year) and now the final of the Asia Cup, so evidence suggests we are doing something right.

“We did so with our style of play, and the things that are left to be done will be worked upon, rather than following the style of the rest of the cricket-playing nations.”

Babar, a prolific scorer for the team before the tournament, managed just 68 runs in six matches with a highest of 30, but Saqlain played down the opener’s loss of form.

“As I said before, anybody with a deep eye of cricket will realise that he is unlucky with the way he is getting out,” said Saqlain.

“The way he plays and his work ethic needs no further discussion. He is a world-class player and God save him from the evil eye.”

“It’s just a patch. If you look at the rankings, he’s (among the) top in T20 International and in ODIs. It’s just been bad luck. The way he’s training and playing it’s amazing. His work ethic is top notch,” he said.

The 27-year-old Babar, who has scored 2,754 runs in 80 Twenty20 internationals at an average of over 42, recently lost his number one T20 world ranking to fellow opener Rizwan.

Babar’s final dismissal in the tournament came with a loose flick down the leg side to be caught at short-fine leg off fast bowler Pramod Madushan, who claimed four wickets.

Saqlain also dismissed suggestions of a left-right opening combination of Fakhar Zaman with either Babar or Rizwan.

“If you keep shuffling, it sends a message that you don’t trust them,” he said. “You need to give them time. It’s not good to shuffle a lot. It sends a wrong message.”

Saqlain praised champions Sri Lanka, who previously beat Pakistan, India and Afghanistan in the Super Four stage, for their complete showing in the final.

“Sri Lanka batted second and then batted first against us and became champions. Well-deserved,” said Saqlain.

“We just played first nine overs of really good cricket and after that they played almost 31 overs and dominated us in all aspects — in batting, bowling and fielding.”

DAWN

I really don't mind losing, end of the day its a game but Saqlain really needs to go. Pak should have won both the WC and Asia cup as this was in the UAE, a place which we own!

Its his low standards that he is happy with a SF and final. Seriously poor attitude. There are champion players in the team but with such pathetic mindset you wont reach a lot!

Shadab has more maturity and sense than this evangelist when he said we are not a champion side

Its amazing how this fraud keep bluffing PCB to get big jobs without any performance. First took $$$ from PCB to fix Ajmal's action and didn't do anything, work in NCA and now head coach.

And your point Mr.Saqlain, Sympathy? Bring some guys from Edhi homes in the next series , they will be in more sorry looking conditions ,Professional players if injured/out of form gets replaced until they recover/regain form , they don't get to hog a valuable spot in the XI in the name of confidence.

Exactly. This idiot did same thing in T20 World Cup. Backing Hasan Ali all the way and ignored Nawaz even in dead rubber.
Ramiz should go as well if he can't see this things. Bring Sethi, although he is a shrewd character but better brain and will select better coaches.

Amazed at the mentality of Saqlain effectively two tournaments at your home and you failed to win even knowing the history of Pakistan in t20 format that we are very good side he still accepts something good should be booted out sounds like a midtable English manager
T20WC and Asia Cup both were in UAE where Pakistan should have won those tourneys

DAWN

It is annoying how no one is admitting that they failed badly against Srilanka (not once but twice) & they also had a lucky break against Afghanistan. Ramiz, Saqlain & Babar etc are all acting like there is nothing wrong with the Paksitan side. I guess we will keep seeing more of that God-awful middle order.

The concern is the 1990s mindset.

Save wickets, score at 6 or 7 an over in the first 10 overs then hope for the best in the last few overs when your so-called finishers are expected to score at 15 an over.

Ridiculous tactics.

One of the most absurd justifications I have ever read.
This idiot should be fired. And allowed no future coaching roles for Pakistan, if that is his mentality.
Here we were, cricket analysts and enthusiasts, trying to give their ridiculous approach in the final some benefit of the doubt, but no, he CONFIRMS every single insanity that goes against the modern way of playing cricket as actually what they had in mind all along and says he has no intention of changing any of it.
Fire this *****. There's no more doubt remaining about his capability. And Babar should go as the captain too because he fully believes in this crap.

Out of everything that happened in the Asia Cup I find Saqlain’s press conference the most troubling. That was a disaster of a press conference. Seems like he is living in denial.

I really don't mind losing, end of the day its a game but Saqlain really needs to go. Pak should have won both the WC and Asia cup as this was in the UAE, a place which we own!

Its his low standards that he is happy with a SF and final. Seriously poor attitude. There are champion players in the team but with such pathetic mindset you wont reach a lot!

Which “low standards” are you talking about?

Look at our record in the 2014 and 2016 WorldT20 and the 2016 and 2018 Asia Cups before saying we “own” UAE

Amazed at the mentality of Saqlain effectively two tournaments at your home and you failed to win even knowing the history of Pakistan in t20 format that we are very good side he still accepts something good should be booted out sounds like a midtable English manager
T20WC and Asia Cup both were in UAE where Pakistan should have won those tourneys

Look at our T20 record in UAE from 2012 to 2018 before calling us favorites. The reality is we are over achieving with Saqlain and long May it continue..

From the sounds of it, he will very much will go with the bulk of this squad for the upcoming T20WC, which could ideally get him sacked.

Wow, Saqlain still thinks this is the 90's and again the same crap of "lets look at the bright side" and "what have we learnt" blah blah for more than a decade now. Seriously, someone needs to get this deadwood out if there is to be any progress.

Expect no changes with this fool as the coach.

DAWN

He looks so happy and satisfied with the performance!!!! Just look at his face

Despite reaching the finals, Pakistan had a very average tournament. They had 2 great wins. One against India and one against HK but their win against Afghanistan could have gone either way and they lost 2 games against Sri Lanka badly. The batting is a big issue and I think we have seen how bad they can struggle if Babar gets out early.

There was no planning that went in to the match. That is the only thing that went right.

Our team is full of accumulators and bits and pieces players. Not a single Rajapakse, Khusal, Sanaka category players. Deserve to loose 9 out 10 times.

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] Bro, Can you change the smiling picture of Saqlain? His satisfied smile making me boiling inside after wasted a night sleep watching last night match. Its like a principle is smiling in front camera after all the students fail. How parents will feel?

This idiot talks like as if they run through the opposition and jus had a bad day in the final

They crawled their way to finals. Fluked two wins in super 4s and outplayed by SRL twice in 2 days

This idiot talks like as if they run through the opposition and jus had a bad day in the final

They crawled their way to finals. Fluked two wins in super 4s and outplayed by SRL twice in 2 days

I bet you were satisfied when we were getting hammered home and away under Waqar, Mickey and Misbah.

Remind yourself how we did in 2016 and 2018 Asia Cup?

One bad final and suddenly everything is Saqlain’s fault :smh:

Our team is full of accumulators and bits and pieces players. Not a single Rajapakse, Khusal, Sanaka category players. Deserve to loose 9 out 10 times.

Blame the selectors not Babar nor the coach

Chasing 162 in asia cup final (remember 9 runs were scored without a legal ball bowled in first over) the game could have been won in the first over itself.
After 9 runs were scored before the first ball, if the next 6 legal balls had been taken for atleast 10 to 12 runs the SL team would have been deflated and asking rate would have dropped by 1 run per over and pressure reduced considerably

Chasing 162 in asia cup final (remember 9 runs were scored without a legal ball bowled in first over) the game could have been won in the first over itself.
After 9 runs were scored before the first ball, if the next 6 legal balls had been taken for atleast 10 to 12 runs the SL team would have been deflated and asking rate would have dropped by 1 run per over and pressure reduced considerably

For Babar and Rizwan, getting 10 without a ball bowled means “runs aa gaye hain iss over main, araam se khelte hain”

Exactly!!! I am 100% sure they thought that. I hope some journalists with brain ask Babar when they return home.

I can concur, criminal how they never took advantage as especially when Madushanka was struggling and clearly under pressure but not from other batsmen I might add.

They just smiled acknowledged the gifts and got back to playing safely for their milestones. Utterly pathetic.

That's what happen when there is no proper goal from PCB in terms of winning matches or trophy. So there is no pressure on players or coaches to perform. They are just happy to be in final or even beat India. Winning hearts, kidneys...... are their goal. We can never be world beater with this type of mentality. Apart from Zimbabwe none of the top 8 teams thinks like that except Pakistan.

The minute they replace Misbah-Waqar with Saqlain its more obvious PCB is trying to save money on on quality coaches. But Saqlain is shrewd enough to bargain more $$$ and make the most of it knowing that he is neither a spin bowling coach (Did nothing to Ajmal, Sajid, Nauman.....instead of relying GOD and leave it up to luck). Off course you have to rely on GOD but you have to work hard to make it happen where Saqlain is such a lazy dude to lift a finger except pose/short videos for PCB. Ramiz may be fooled with that but a professional admin can easily find his shrewdness.

"Evidence suggests we are doing something right": Spoken like a true minnow.

Probably not the right to make this statement.

Pakistani bowling was good but batting was a bit under-par.

Having said that, Sri Lanka played out of their skins. They beat both Pakistan and India. Very impressive.

We were bowled out 3 times in 6 matches. I'm all for positivity but it also conveys a false sense of assurance and confidence in the team when all evidence points to the contrary. Folding under pressure in knockouts isn't evidence that the team is doing something right. Way to set your ambitions low.

Probably not the right to make this statement.

Pakistani bowling was good but batting was a bit under-par.

Having said that, Sri Lanka played out of their skins. They beat both Pakistan and India. Very impressive.

Just looks at his satisfies smile and satisfied talk shows he is way too happy with the performance and expected no win in super 4. A professional coach would not happy with these slack performance where some players fail matches after matches but don't try any other player. He doesn't have any hunger to success so as Babar. You cannot be a good team thinking like that and always be around 6-8 in ranking based on winning some matches of B or C teams of other oppositions but will be fail 100% when comes to winning trophy.

We were bowled out 3 times in 6 matches. I'm all for positivity but it also conveys a false sense of assurance and confidence in the team when all evidence points to the contrary. Folding under pressure in knockouts isn't evidence that the team is doing something right. Way to set your ambitions low.

Exactly!!! If a coach is happy with few wins here and there there is no point to hire a coach. Better save money and invest on domestic cricket.

Blame the selectors not Babar nor the coach

All are at fault , Babar cries for certain players not given , Can’t say whose team is this.

Haider Ali was in the team but he was never given the chance whose fault is that. It looks like Babar and coach Saqlain are also to blame for this right.

The middle order is formed knowingly that the top order is full of accumulators so they go with flamboyant six hitters who were not batters in the first place

So when Babar didn’t score any runs at the top and exposed the middle order and we can see the results.

Just looks at his satisfies smile and satisfied talk shows he is way too happy with the performance and expected no win in super 4. A professional coach would not happy with these slack performance where some players fail matches after matches but don't try any other player. He doesn't have any hunger to success so as Babar. You cannot be a good team thinking like that and always be around 6-8 in ranking based on winning some matches of B or C teams of other oppositions but will be fail 100% when comes to winning trophy.

These local coaches either have low levels of thinking and expectations that is why they are not good enough to show results

You have to remember that Saqlain is a novice when it comes to being a head coach.

Mostly he's been a bowling coach, mentor type for other teams.

It's same old story of Pakistan cricket, outstanding mixurte of talent but zero man management skills and ability take tough calls, this guy is just another yes man. An embarrasing interview

All are at fault , Babar cries for certain players not given , Can’t say whose team is this.

Haider Ali was in the team but he was never given the chance whose fault is that. It looks like Babar and coach Saqlain are also to blame for this right.

The middle order is formed knowingly that the top order is full of accumulators so they go with flamboyant six hitters who were not batters in the first place

So when Babar didn’t score any runs at the top and exposed the middle order and we can see the results.

It's Babar team not Saqlains team.

You have to remember that Saqlain is a novice when it comes to being a head coach.

Mostly he's been a bowling coach, mentor type for other teams.

He is not even average spin bowling coach. So far failed 100% just like Waqar as a fast bowling coach. He has a long list of failing start with Ajmal.......Nauman, Sajid...But only in Pakistan anyone can be a head coach if he knows how to boast and bit of connection.