Expect the real and original Pakistan to turn up in the final

saadsahabjee

Tape Ball Star
Yes , i think enough is enough , in the final we are going to witness something special by our team .

Lets hope so. We are down ATM need something special to lift the team it can change quick tho. Even 1 over can do wonders.

Still back the boys no matter what.

Pakistan zindabad.

Insha'Allah. We hit rock bottom today and can only rise from here on.

Will do more harm than good if you end up winning the final. All the issues will be water under the bridge and the same bunch of losers will stay in the team.

We have hit the rock-bottom so often that the shape of our bottoms have been imprinted on rocks now.

Even if we fluke the final, it should cover the obvious cracks in this team and won’t change the fact this team will lose against quality sides more often than not.

However, if we do win the final, expect everything to be forgotten and the bhangra to commence.

The narrative that would be peddled at that point is that this is a big match team and save their for the big games. India can win meaningless games but we handle pressure better in the finals etc. etc.

Not trying to ruffle feathers but how hard is it to accept that India outplayed Pakistan 2/2 times in this Asia cup? What is this notion of "real" Pakistan showing up?. You make it sound like Pakistan intentionally played bad and India deserves no credit to tie Fakhar down, neutralizing Amir etc. This is disrespectful and in poor spirit.

I think there’s nothing wrong with acknowledging we got thrashed and also point out that we are capable of better than this

Difficult to see thst happening and you need to get through Bangladesh first.

I think a few unnecessary changes were made to CT winning team. Imad Wasim was a good player and unnecesaarily dropped, anyday better than Nawaz. Junaid Khan was looking good but has now gone out of favor.
The last one, and I'm not entirely convinced about this but may be they coukd have persisted with Azhar Ali instead of Imam.

It still wont correct the rot in our selection system. I hope we win but I am not holding my breath.

BTW, getting ready for the final's on Fri. Regardless of who wins, we are going to have an awesome time with around 30-35 friends from Pakistan, India, Srilanka and UK.

Hmm so if PCT loses its farzi PCT ,if it wins its real PCT ok bhai!

Short-term gains will hinder the long-term process.

I rather us lose by 250 runs in the Final so we make drastic changes to our team than having us win and cover the cracks for another two years of dissapointment.

No better time. Fakhar Zaman finally scores big, pakistan win in final inshallah :D.

Man its going to be hilarious if Pakistan wins the finals again

Same thing happened in CT. India whopping our butts and then on finals we show up and take the trophy.

IF this happens again, after losing twice against them, and then winning the third game that matters, this would hurt the Indians alot

We have hit the rock-bottom so often that the shape of our bottoms have been imprinted on rocks now.

Even if we fluke the final, it should cover the obvious cracks in this team and won’t change the fact this team will lose against quality sides more often than not.

However, if we do win the final, expect everything to be forgotten and the bhangra to commence.

The narrative that would be peddled at that point is that this is a big match team and save their for the big games. India can win meaningless games but we handle pressure better in the finals etc. etc.

mamoon yar enjoy the moment

What better way to troll the indians, then coming out of no where to win the finals

Law of averages suggests that Pakistan should win at least 1 game out 3 against India everytime.

But the problem is, we look so awful, we will even take a good close fighting loss at the moment rather than the dross we have showed so far.

It's hard to see how the team can slump any lower. Maybe if we bowl first things could be different

You already having the excuses lined up in case PAK win the Asia cup. You really take things to the next level man.

Law of averages suggests that Pakistan should win at least 1 game out 3 against India everytime.

But the problem is, we look so awful, we will even take a good close fighting loss at the moment rather than the dross we have showed so far.

Bro things can change quick. Even 1 good over can make the dfference.

End of the day winning the trophy counts. Fact is we are still in it.

Short-term gains will hinder the long-term process.

I rather us lose by 250 runs in the Final so we make drastic changes to our team than having us win and cover the cracks for another two years of dissapointment.

What drastic changes? Bringing Hafeez and Azhar back on senior quota?

Believe it or not, this is Pakistan's best team to prepare for world cup. It's just that they are not getting enough time to rethink and regroup between the games in this tournament.

Why has everyone assumed that Pakistan will play the final?

Pakistan struggled to beat Afghanistan, do you think they can beat Bangladesh?

What drastic changes? Bringing Hafeez and Azhar back on senior quota?

Believe it or not, this is Pakistan's best team to prepare for world cup. It's just that they are not getting enough time to rethink and regroup between the games in this tournament.

Best team? Let’s see.

Imam: fine temperament but a poor LOI prospect who can’t rotate strike.

FZ: carrying the team on his shoulders.

Babar: Fine player but needs to quicken his tempo early on.

Malik: On the wrong side of 30 and non-existstent as a spinner.

Sarfraz: No captaincy and no performance.

Asif Ali: Can hit big but has no brains.

Shadab: Not fully developed as a spinner and lacks the muscle to hit big in LOI.

Nawaz: Can’t bat, can’t bowl, and can’t field.

Amir: Hasn’t picked up a five-fer’ in ODI’s despite playing for ten years.

Hasan: Playing through an injury and looks burnt out.

Shaheen: Enormous potential but too raw although looks the most threatening out of all out Left-Arm-Pacers.

We can replace Imam, Malik, Sarfraz, Asif, Shadab, Nawaz, and Amir with players who might not win matches straight away hit at least are able to perform their priority tasks (batting and or bowling).

If you win,
- Message - You can keep this meaningless cup. We won this ODI series 2-1

If we win,
- Message - Who gives a s--t about the cup? We won this ODI series 3-0

This was the real Pakistan, defeating India is the once in a blue moon achievement.

Well done to India, as hard as it is to say this but we were completely outclassed in every department batting, bowling, fielding, running and review taking!!!!

From squad selection to performance everything that could have gone wrong has, the only positive is that it has happened now and not during the World Cup.

The bigger picture is the WC and these players have needed grounding since the CT Final and maybe getting demolished by our arch rival will do just that. I hope they use this to improve there skills instead of staying static.

I am still not happy with guys like Rayudu, Karthik and Jadhav. Rohit and Dhawan has covered them for too long. They need to be exposed. If this happens in the final we can say goodbye to the trophy.

Best team? Let’s see.

Imam: fine temperament but a poor LOI prospect who can’t rotate strike.
Outplayed Fakhar in this tournament and have a brilliant record. Not going anywhere till world cup.

FZ: carrying the team on his shoulders.
Our only dynamic opener. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Babar: Fine player but needs to quicken his tempo early on.
Our best No.3 in a long long time. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Malik: On the wrong side of 30 and non-existstent as a spinner.
Our best middle order bat currently. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Sarfraz: No captaincy and no performance.
No.4 is his right position. And there is no better wicket keeper batsman in the wings. Rizwan is not the answer and the others are not ready yet. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Asif Ali: Can hit big but has no brains.
Best hitter in Pakistan and he has done well in his limited opportunities. Should be backed by management.

Shadab: Not fully developed as a spinner and lacks the muscle to hit big in LOI.
Agree about muscle part. He should bat above Asif in middle order. He is good enough to bat at 6 and build an innings. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Nawaz: Can’t bat, can’t bowl, and can’t field.
Faheem is the main contender for No.7 spot going into the world cup. Nawaz is good enough as a spinner to be in the team in UAE.

Amir: Hasn’t picked up a five-fer’ in ODI’s despite playing for ten years.
Agree that his performance is not up to the mark recently. But we all know that he has that ex factor that he will not be dropped especially for world cup. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Hasan: Playing through an injury and looks burnt out.
No need of explanation. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Shaheen: Enormous potential but too raw although looks the most threatening out of all out Left-Arm-Pacers.
Management should persist with him.

We can replace Imam, Malik, Sarfraz, Asif, Shadab, Nawaz, and Amir with players who might not win matches straight away hit at least are able to perform their priority tasks (batting and or bowling).

This part is so easy to say. But the important part is who will you replace them with?

We need to back this team. This is a very good team especially for England conditions. Chopping and changing is not the solution. These are the same players who won you the champions trophy. The important thing is our next big tournament is also at the same venue. So, keeping the same players around who have already won a big tournament there would definitely help. Have some believe in them.

I am still not happy with guys like Rayudu, Karthik and Jadhav. Rohit and Dhawan has covered them for too long. They need to be exposed. If this happens in the final we can say goodbye to the trophy.

Agree with you on Rayudu and Jadhav but not on Karthik who delivered us the Nidahas trophy. Would like to see Pant and Rahul back in the 11.

Why cant Shastri retire and hand over the reins to Dhoni? We need Dhoni in the team setup for sure but not Ravi

Outplayed Fakhar in this tournament and have a brilliant record. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Our only dynamic opener. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Our best No.3 in a long long time. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Our best middle order bat currently. Not going anywhere till world cup.

No.4 is his right position. And there is no better wicket keeper batsman in the wings. Rizwan is not the answer and the others are not ready yet. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Best hitter in Pakistan and he has done well in his limited opportunities. Should be backed by management.

Agree about muscle part. He should bat above Asif in middle order. He is good enough to bat at 6 and build an innings. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Faheem is the main contender for No.7 spot going into the world cup. Nawaz is good enough as a spinner to be in the team in UAE.

Agree that his performance is not up to the mark recently. But we all know that he has that ex factor that he will not be dropped especially for world cup. Not going anywhere till world cup.

No need of explanation. Not going anywhere till world cup.

Management should persist with him.

This part is so easy to say. But the important part is who will you replace them with?

We need to back this team. This is a very good team especially for England conditions. Chopping and changing is not the solution. These are the same players who won you the champions trophy. The important thing is our next big tournament is also at the same venue. So, keeping the same players around who have already won a big tournament there would definitely help. Have some believe in them.

I know they are not going anywhere til the next World Cup.

But I can make believe on an online forum that they there might actually come about a system which prioritizes performance over potential even though it is more wishful thinking than anything else.

Nawaz, Shadab, Malik, and Imam definitely need to be replaced.

Darters, weak batters, tried-and-tested failures outside Asia, and players who cannot score fast upfront need to be replaced for England.

No two ways about it.

Agree with you on Rayudu and Jadhav but not on Karthik who delivered us the Nidahas trophy. Would like to see Pant and Rahul back in the 11.

Why cant Shastri retire and hand over the reins to Dhoni? We need Dhoni in the team setup for sure but not Ravi
Dhoni has his set of fav players, should not be coaching at least for the next 5 years imo. Don't know for how long this incompetent Shastri will warm up the coaching couch, doesn't bring anything to the table except sucking up to Kohli.

Pak to win final with 8-9 wkts or 80-100 rund, opposition does not matter. Pak have strong bowling and experienced intelligent captain. I do not see any other result really.

But I can make believe on an online forum that they there might actually come about a system which prioritizes performance over potential even though it is more wishful thinking than anything else.

Darters, weak batters, tried-and-tested failures outside Asia, and players who cannot score fast upfront need to be replaced for England.

No two ways about it.

A player should not be dumped after 1 or 2 bad performances. Our system is not producing the world class batsmen like Kohli or Rohit. You have to believe that the players in this squad are the best we have got. Shan Masood has been rewarded for his performances but people here do not consider this selection good. If you select a squad just on the basis of domestic performances then you will have a squad of Akmals and Iftikhars. So, selectors cannot just look at a spreadsheet and pick a player. They have to look at other aspects too. And in my opinion, they have done good in doing so. We just need to back this team. We cannot expect this young team to win every game. They are not there yet. But I believe that they will reach there very soon looking at their potential.

I did say Pakistan would probably lose this match today but feel like they might just sneak a win in the final I know the results aren't convincing at all , but I think 3rd time is the charm lol also I feel like we might get a little bit of luck in our favor as well

For that you need better opposition.I though Pakistani bowlers could do that today but their fielders were not in agreement.

Good luck my friends. I understand you have a small matter of a game against Bangladesh before that.

Just FYI ... these are the results of the last 3 ODIs you folks played against Bangladesh

Bangladesh 329/6 (50 Overs)
Pakistan 250 all out (45.2 Overs)
lost by 79 runs

Pakistan 239/6 (50 Overs)
Bangladesh 240/3 (38.1 Overs)
lost by 7 wickets

Pakistan 250 all out (49 Overs)
Bangladesh 251/2 (39.3 Overs)
lost by 8 wickets

All the best. ;)

Pakistan has to aim to beat Bangladesh and get to the final and take another crack at India
If I were Pakistan I would want to go all the way to the final. The more we play higher ranked teams the more we learn about them and about ourselves.
Indeed results are bad but I would take a 3-0 drubbing from India vs clean sweeping Zimbabwe

Good luck my friends. I understand you have a small matter of a game against Bangladesh before that.

Just FYI ... these are the results of the last 3 ODIs you folks played against Bangladesh

lost by 79 runs

lost by 7 wickets

lost by 8 wickets

All the best. ;)

This is surprising. I didn't expect BD to beat Pak three times in a row. The upcoming match is going to be a challenge for Pak, especially if BD bat first and put up 260.

lost by 79 runs

lost by 7 wickets

lost by 8 wickets

All the best. ;)

In Dhaka.

With Azhar Ali as captain.

And only 3 players from that squad- Sarfraz, Junaid and Haris are part of this squad.

Get your perspective right man.

This is surprising. I didn't expect BD to beat Pak three times in a row. The upcoming match is going to be a challenge for Pak, especially if BD bat first and put up 260.

With all due respect, I would categorise those results as thrashings.

Just hope pak make a game of it & don’t embarrass the nation as per usual when they see a blue kit in front of them.

POTW and you forgot uncle dhoni in that list... Plus if we win the final no action will be taken against coach bakwastri....

Are you serious? After losing by 9 wickets you will think they will win???

Sure, new day, playing for the trophy in the final, this time holding on to catches (Fingers crossed), fakhar firing and using DRS appropriately, why not ;)

I think 🤔 you forgot there is a virtual knockout match against Bangladesh 🇧🇩 before you worry about 🇮🇳... 😂

True, but I'm hopeful and expectant that we make the final. Usually we beat teams before we play India, and if we lose to India then we bounce back and beat the team put in front of us. I'm just hoping if we get to the final, it's one of those days where everything goes right for pakistan.

I know some people think it would be better if Pakistan makes it to final only to get smashed by India again so that some changes come about in the team. That sounds great and all but honestly, whoever we bring on will not be any better so might as well hope for a CT repeat with the current team.

No two ways about it.

With who? No point saying X, Y and Z needs to be replaced when there is no alternatives. We have to face up to the truth, there is no Virat Kohli level players in domestic and that this squad is pretty much the best we can put together.

where is that "naya" Pakistan.
Mani to nahoosat le ker aya hai :)

We won't reach it
Even if we do will lose by 7-8 wickets or 140 runs
Not watching it
Pakistan Cricket is done

Let's say we reach the finals and let us say we some how win doesn't mean anything. Do not get me wrong I would still be happy but the fact that we lost to India twice in this type of manner is a huge cause of concern

😊 Hopeful is a right word to be used and pakistan has to peak otherwise Bangladesh will steamroll them

Pakistan hopefully learnt some valuable lessons. Battingwise it can click anytime. Its not like they havent scored big runs against the same bowling. They have and under more difficult conditions. Counter the spin and hold the catches. Its all about putting score on the board.

Any team will stutter when you have score on the board. Win convincingly against BD and you never know which Pakistan show up in the final.

Unless the tigers actually plays like tigers in the "Semi-final".

Will do more harm than good if you end up winning the final. All the issues will be water under the bridge and the same bunch of losers will stay in the team.
This is said every time Pakistan loses, but things don’t change.

Don't care actually. India have exceeded expectations for me. Pakistan if they reach the final can win it all but it wouldn't change that they aren't the team their fans think they are. The fact that India are playing in the UAE after 12 years (excluding the IPL they played few years ago) and have still played better than Pakistan who play there all the time says how good this Indian ODI outfit is and is definitely the best team in Asia at the moment.

Lets not jump the gun.. he got a chance.. overall yes Pakistan has been outclasses in two games but we will all be fooling ourselves if we believe they played to their potential. They didnt. Their problems are more with strategy and somewhat psychological. Nothing we havrnt seen before. They can turn things around at the flip of a dime. It may not even happen in this tournament quite honestly.

But it will .... :) sooner or later it will..

Man its going to be hilarious if Pakistan wins the finals again

Same thing happened in CT. India whopping our butts and then on finals we show up and take the trophy.

IF this happens again, after losing twice against them, and then winning the third game that matters, this would hurt the Indians alot

I think that going to hurt Pakistan team in the long run not India

Yeah we all like to believe in the law of averages especially when it gives us hope.

Personally I wanted India to lose yesterday because I'm not confident this team is good enough to be a consistent juggernaut through a tournament.

As far as Pak making it to the final is concerned one good thing is that Malik has done well twice against us and I don't expect him to be able to do the same come the final, which is pretty much half the battle won.

Personally I wanted India to lose yesterday because I'm not confident this team is good enough to be a consistent juggernaut through a tournament.

Why not? India went through CT13 undefeated. Also reached the SF in CWC15 undefeated after 7 games. And we have much better bowlers now than we did back then.

I understand the law of averages and all. But there's no reason to think that India can't finish a tournament undefeated when they have already done it before.

Its simple, our openers gonna fail to preserve law of averages. Middle order of kartik, rayadu and dhoni can't handle pressure. I hope i am proven wrong but i have gut feeling that CT final gonna happen all over again:broad

Why has everyone assumed that Pakistan will play the final?

Pakistan struggled to beat Afghanistan, do you think they can beat Bangladesh?

You can easily assume that we'll beat those teams 9.5/10 times.

So yes, can and will beat BD.

Now talk about the final.