Faheem Ashraf becomes the first Pakistani to take a hat-trick in T20Is

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Faheem Ashraf becomes the first Pakistani to take a hat-trick in T20Is <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvSL</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/923963861874741250?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 27, 2017</a></blockquote>

I love Imad but this guy keeps him out of the XI for now. Maybe not the squad. But the XI for sure.

Thinking back about the warm up game against BD. This guy has done some amazing stuff every opportunity he got. He must be a special guy.

When will we finally give him a proper chance?

I love Imad but this guy keeps him out of the XI for now. Maybe not the squad. But the XI for sure.

I think its more to do with Shahzad, Hafeez and even Sarfaraz upto an extent.

Making a straight swap between Shahzad and Fahim would not hurt anyone! but these guys I dont understand why persist with some of the useless players

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bowlers with hat-tricks in T20Is: <br>Brett Lee 2007<br>J Oram 2009<br>T Southee 2010<br>T Perera 2016<br>L Malinga April 2017<br>Faheem Ashraf today <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/923966314103832576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 27, 2017</a></blockquote>

Legend. ATG. Cemented his name in history. This guy needs backing he will go big.

I think its more to do with Shahzad, Hafeez and even Sarfaraz upto an extent.

Making a straight swap between Shahzad and Fahim would not hurt anyone! but these guys I dont understand why persist with some of the useless players

Absolutely. I was of the opinion that Imad/Fahim should open but the management obviously is not going to think that deep.

I think this bowling lineup is perfect for T20Is in Asia. Ofc Amir/Rumman in for Usman. And outside Asia drop Shadab.

Nope. Shadab is undroppable he is the X factor we have.

Amir
Hasan
Rumman
Shadab
Imad
Faheem

can all play

Can't drop Shadab man. He's the MVP. I would keep Imad in the side for when Fahim has a bad game and Shadab has a poor couple of games. Imad is really important against non-Asian sides given they can't pick his bowling. Fahim's batting should be the real indicator of whether he can really push Imad out of the XI.

He is a better than Pandya against pace for sure.. Bowling is at par too. Funny that some wrote him off before his debut.

You have got to be kidding. Pandya is almost as good as Stokes these days. We have not even seen Faheem bat much. It's too early to compare him with Pandya or Stokes. But Pakistan desperately needs a fast bowling all rounder.

When have we seen Faheem bat?

I was at cardiff when he played his forgotten, yet crucial cameo. Faheem's biggest strength is his bat speed when trying to clear the boundary. Im quite sure he will flick anything down the leg side out of the ground

When have we seen Faheem bat?

I saw him in domestic cricket. Have ever since rated him as the best lower order hitter in Pakistan.. Pandya although is exceptional against spin but struggles hitting pacers.

I rate Faheem as a special talent when it comes to lower order hitting. Looking forward to see his development.

You have got to be kidding. Pandya is almost as good as Stokes these days. We have not even seen Faheem bat much. It's too early to compare him with Pandya or Stokes. But Pakistan desperately needs a fast bowling all rounder.

He is better than Pandya hitting pacers.. Pandya is nowhere near Stokes when it comes to hitting pacers.. Good fast bowlers will work him out soon.. Faheem on the other side is naturally talented hitting pacers. See you in 3 years when this will be proved with data.

I saw him in domestic cricket. Have ever since rated him as the best lower order hitter in Pakistan.. Pandya although is exceptional against spin but struggles hitting pacers.

I rate Faheem as a special talent when it comes to lower order hitting. Looking forward to see his development.

Yeah, I was disappointed to see Pandya look like a total hack vs pace last match vs NZ. But nah man, I'm gonna wait to see Fahim bat. His averages don't really look great especially considering the likes of Awais Zia and Ahmed Shehzad bully domestic pacers.

I was at cardiff when he played his forgotten, yet crucial cameo. Faheem's biggest strength is his bat speed when trying to clear the boundary. Im quite sure he will flick anything down the leg side out of the ground

Well, that seems like positive news. Hopefully this is true.

He is better than Pandya hitting pacers.. Pandya is nowhere near Stokes when it comes to hitting pacers.. Good fast bowlers will work him out soon.. Faheem on the other side is naturally talented hitting pacers. See you in 3 years when this will be proved with data.

Bhai do you think Faheem could be good in test cricket?

Pandya has established himself as a very good all rounder . Faheem although is a good talent but we should let the boy to find a permanent place in squad for himself.

Bhai do you think Faheem could be good in test cricket?

Could be yes, but right now tbh I think Yamin deserve a chance more than him at no 6 in tests as fast bowling allrounder... at 8 I think we should always play a genuine bowler...

Well done

Rana Faheem Ashraf

showing the world how much he deserves to be in the Pakistan XI. Imad Wasim is not required

Azhar mehmood said yesterday.

When people see the batting of fahim then they will forget me and razzaq.

Thats a big statement.

Even though Faheem failed today with the bat, he will come good. Backing him.. Wont be surprised if some plastic fans ridicule him after 1 match .

So I guess you weren't there on the match thread. Some experts were already ridiculing him and mockingly calling him Pandya or Kapil Dev.

With fans like these....

So I guess you weren't there on the match thread. Some experts were already ridiculing him and mockingly calling him Pandya or Kapil Dev.

With fans like these....

No i just came. Pakistan will never develop players with this attitude.. I remember fans calling Shadab can't bat after few failures.

I think we need to wait for the PSL and give him a consistent chance in the middle order. Sharjeel set the tournament alight in the semi final after failing to produce anything throughtout the group stages.
Think the platform of PSL can really launch him if he has what it takes.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bowlers with hat-tricks in T20Is: <br>Brett Lee 2007<br>J Oram 2009<br>T Southee 2010<br>T Perera 2016<br>L Malinga April 2017<br>Faheem Ashraf today <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/923966314103832576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 27, 2017</a></blockquote>

That Tim Southee one was a disgrace

Umar Akmal was the third wicket, out lbw, the only problem was that it hit the bat first so hard you could hear it, but the umpire was feeling patriotic

Even southee seemed embarresed

That Tim Southee one was a disgrace

Umar Akmal was the third wicket, out lbw, the only problem was that it hit the bat first so hard you could hear it, but the umpire was feeling patriotic

Even southee seemed embarresed

Reminded of the last time we toured New Zealand... Billy bhai was feeling particularly generous on that day and did not give Corey Anderson out caught behind when he had absolutely smashed one. He then went onto win the match for the Kiwis.

I think billy had lost it in the head by that stage, had been giving bowlers for a couple years against all sides including NZ

Faheem Ashraf speaking to the media today

"I am happy with the hat-trick and its all due to prayers of my parents"

"Azhar Bhai, our bowling coach, has given all of us bowlers a lot of confidence"

"Azhar Mahmood always says to us that you are only at this stage because of your own ability so never doubt your own abilities"

"We have played at GSL against the World XI so we have a pretty good idea how much our crowd backs us on the field"

"The enjoyment of playing in Lahore cannot be matched in any other venue"

Faheem Ashraf has had one good innings against Bangladesh in a champions trophy warm up game with small boundaries so it is a bit early to judge his batting, bowling really well at the moment however good achievement to become the first Pakistani to take a t20i hat trick.

Good confidence booster but it was a pretty flukey hat-trick. It is his poor hitting that worries me, because that’s why he’s in the team. It’s not about his bowling.

:facepalm: Bhai fikr karni ki zaroorat nahi hai. He’s hardly batted.

There was a poster here who said Fahim bowling the death over is above his pay roll...he bowled a hat trick MashaAllah

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank you Pakistan for giving me this identity. This hat-trick is dedicated to the brave & beautiful people of Pakistan. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a> <a href="https://t.co/SXBW8dCJQx">pic.twitter.com/SXBW8dCJQx</a></p>— Faheem Ashraf (@iFaheemAshraf) <a href="https://twitter.com/iFaheemAshraf/status/924005401120604161?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 27, 2017</a></blockquote>

Everything is a fluke:

1992 WC was a fluke.
Champions trophy win was a fluke.
Hat trick was a fluke.

Bowling even without the hat trick was solid but he looked lost when he batted. This was in stark contrast to Shadabs batting, who looked up for it.

I like this guy's attitude.

I sent him a congrats message a short while ago - he replied by saying he wasn't happy as he should have took the team home wihen batting.

Great attitude to have. Some may have basked in glory after a great hatrick ignoring any negative aspects of their game today.

^ good to hear he's taking his batting seriously and being responsible... otherwise amir, wahab were labelled possible all rounders but never took their batting seriously

Thinking back about the warm up game against BD. This guy has done some amazing stuff every opportunity he got. He must be a special guy.

When will we finally give him a proper chance?

I was there. He is special. HE HAS to play consistently and is a key in 2019 WC.

What's the point watching cricket (to the person who had initially called it a fluke) if going to be so negative.

It's awful!

He can hit a big ball. Our people are so impatient; watch and wait!! 😊😊

He can hit a big ball. Our people are so impatient; watch and wait!! &#55357;&#56842;&#55357;&#56842;

Many a young player has wilted under pressure but he showed a lot of promise when bowling and his batting can only improve. It will take around 6-9 months to fairly judge the lad, Lets hope he comes through.

Great info and that's the attitude he should have.

Really like faheem. Has way more abojt him than Yamin or hamad azam.

Of all bating stats, most impressive one for him is FC stats - 32/66, on these atrocious wickets. This actually tells that he takes a little time to get into groove, but once set can blast. Also, considering the domestic wickets for FC and other formats, I feel he is better player of pace. This tells me that guy should bat at 6 or at worst 7 - IND brought Pandeya at 5 to get the best of his good form; PAK plays MoHa at 4/5 to justify his spot.

Perfect player for 2019 WC, as 4th pacer and No. 6/7 hitter; but not sure he'll get the opportunity.

That's a bit harsh.

He's been bowling well for a while and this was the culmination of his hard work.

Of all bating stats, most impressive one for him is FC stats - 32/66, on these atrocious wickets. This actually tells that he takes a little time to get into groove, but once set can blast. Also, considering the domestic wickets for FC and other formats, I feel he is better player of pace. This tells me that guy should bat at 6 or at worst 7 - IND brought Pandeya at 5 to get the best of his good form; PAK plays MoHa at 4/5 to justify his spot.

Perfect player for 2019 WC, as 4th pacer and No. 6/7 hitter; but not sure he'll get the opportunity.

What do you think of his batting? Though he hasn't had much of a chance .

Saw in some domestic match sometimes back - good prospect, but needs proper chance. Babar must be a bit lagging confidence - may be it's a good option to rest him in the dear rubber and send Fahim at 3 (And Amin opener, Sarfraz at 4), but I guess that's too much to ask for.

What I have seen is that after Wasim, PAK been extremely rigid in selecting XI and their role - openers can be selected only among openers, bowlers to bowl, batters to bat, batting order is almost like 11th commandant ..... these are matches to do a bit experiment, like playing Fahim & Shadab up, Sarfraz at 4, giving few overs to Zaman (if he plays) & Malik.

I hope Sarfraz/Micky doesn't drop Fahim for Nawaz, while Amir replaces injured Shinwari - and those are only 2 changes in a dead rubber, before NZ tour, 2 months later.

You are asking too much of our think tank . I Actually like your idea but would play Babar so he gets some confidence. Specially with the new Zealand tour coming up. I would play him at 4 instead of malik and give malik some rest so he figures out how new Zealand are gonna play 3 spinners.

And I hope they play yamin at 5 instead of the cheater and amin opens . But highly unlikely [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION].

You seem to have different standards set for Pakistan players. He is declared as a poor hitter by looking at the 6 balls he faced on the most sluggish pitch in the world.

How overrated is Fahim Ashraf

Ever since he has joined the team everybody has been hyping himup, yesterday Ramiz and Waqar were talking that how good a Allrounder he can be for pakistan. He has been considered as a powerhitter but uptill now he hasent showed that he is capable of smacking the ball hard ,apart from the fact that he balls decent he seems completely useless ,i would rather go with another bowler instead of him,other than that performance in the practice match at the start of the champions trophy against Bangladesh which hold no importance he hasent performed with the bat at all ,i agree that he hasent got too many opportunities but then only one ball is enough to figure of a lad is a good smacker also his domestic numbers are poor as well ,to me shadab is a better option than fahim if i were sarfraz i would bring in another pacer and use shadab as a powerhitter

He had a good in swing, in last match he bowled on in swing and this time got LBW. A bit shape of A Razzaq but he needs to show case his batting.

O bhai how many times has he batted after CT 2017?
He has been provided with enough opportunities to show his skill,He was even given a opportunity yesterday of which he scored 4 runs of 6 balls.Him inclusion in the team was made on the basis of his So called power hitting capabilities If he was to make an impact he would have made it uptill now i havent seen him bat well even once

For WC19 we need pacer all rounder and with bowling in limited time he showcase his talent. Lets give him some time to showcase his batting talent. He registered his name in record book.

You seem to have different standards set for Pakistan players. He is declared as a poor hitter by looking at the 6 balls he faced on the most sluggish pitch in the world.

The problem is that he is being hyped up due to desperation.

Fahim's pace has been decent too in these humid conditions. Expecting him to increase his pace a wee bit in New Zealand. Good luxury to have at this point.

He is a better than Pandya against pace for sure. Bowling is at par too. Funny that some wrote him off before his debut.

Fans who actually watch domestic already knew this, but unfortunately too many on this thread were ready to write him off after one innings.

He gave them a big slap today. :))

It is his poor hitting that worries me, because that’s why he’s in the team. It’s not about his bowling.

Ever since he has joined the team everybody has been hyping himup, yesterday Ramiz and Waqar were talking that how good a Allrounder he can be for pakistan. He has been considered as a powerhitter but uptill now he hasent showed that he is capable of smacking the ball hard ,apart from the fact that he balls decent he seems completely useless ,i would rather go with another bowler instead of him,other than that performance in the practice match at the start of the champions trophy against Bangladesh which hold no importance he hasent performed with the bat at all ,i agree that he hasent got too many opportunities but then only one ball is enough to figure of a lad is a good smacker also his domestic numbers are poor as well ,to me shadab is a better option than fahim if i were sarfraz i would bring in another pacer and use shadab as a powerhitter

He has been provided with enough opportunities to show his skill,He was even given a opportunity yesterday of which he scored 4 runs of 6 balls.Him inclusion in the team was made on the basis of his So called power hitting capabilities If he was to make an impact he would have made it uptill now i havent seen him bat well even once

The problem is that he is being hyped up due to desperation.

You were saying? :)))
[MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION]

You were saying? :)))
[MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION]

Get ready for the following responses.....

So now we're gonna hype him after 1 innings

He was bowled full tosses

It was against Sri Lanka

Let him do this overseas

Pandya is better because....reasons :)) :))

I cannot ever be happy at a Pakistani getting success, so yeah!! I hate this :sanga

You can thank me later bro :)

Get ready for the following responses.....

You can thank me later bro :)

So true, can't wait. Although he is damned by his own words:

"Only one ball is enough to figure of a lad is a good smacker."

Can't drop Shadab man. He's the MVP. I would keep Imad in the side for when Fahim has a bad game and Shadab has a poor couple of games. Imad is really important against non-Asian sides given they can't pick his bowling. Fahim's batting should be the real indicator of whether he can really push Imad out of the XI.

Remind me, how did he do in Australia?

Teams are working him out and his response is to bowl medium pace.

Those two shots weren't really that impressive if people are using that to highlight his potential. They barely crossed the shortened boundaries.

At least let him play a 50 ball innings to see his full capabilities. From what I've seen so far, he's got a very fluid bat swing and has timing but lacking power behind the shots. Let's see if that changes on true pitches where he can use the pace of the wicket.