Faheem Ashraf can be a real pace-bowling all-rounder for Pakistan

He opened the bowling.He bowled with nice lines on the 5 th and 6 th stump.His highest speed was 139kph and lowest 127kph and average speed was 132.5 kph. He outswings the ball to left handers.He conceded no extra s.He conceded only 1 four.
total4 overs,12 runs.
He was sent on one down.He only faced 11 balls.But I feel he could really be a good lower middle order batsman.
I think he could be real pace bowling all-rounder for Pakistan.He needs to be given confidence and proper chance.He can play a greater role in foreign conditions such as Australian,new Zealand, englaand,South Africa even in Ireland.In these conditions fourth seamer is very essential.
I also feel his line and length is very good.So batsmen will find it tough to get him away.

Your thoughts please.

He's not a new ball bowler but that was understandable given all the other guys were injured or rested for a dead rubber. He should be ideally sent at #6 to belt pacers to the boundary. However, in a batting collapse, he may find himself against spinners so he needs to develop his sweeps, running down the track, rotation of strike,etc, against them. As for as his bowling is concerned, just needs to add 10kph ( I understand that's a lot for a bowler ). He has superb control of his line and length and has improved his seam position from the CT. He can control the flow of runs which is his primary job bowling in the middle overs and if picks up a wicket, that is an added bonus. Ideally, he should be doing 36* ( 22) and 1-45 from 10 overs.

Believe me
iam very much impressed by his bowling
he seems to be focussing on bowling
but while batting he has not shown any sign of aggression in international matches apart from that practice game with shorter boundaries vs bangladesh
I know he havent played that many innings but still he needs to improve his batting

Looks to be a real prospect. Bowled well and clearly has the ability to hit pacers a long distance. Not too sure how he is against spin but he is young and should definitely improve.

Like everyone else has mentioned, we need to see more of him against spin to make up our minds.

Would be a good option at 7 nevertheless.

Like everyone else has mentioned, we need to see more of him against spin to make up our minds.

Would be a good option at 7 nevertheless.

Even if he isn’t the best against spin he could still be useful. If he can hit the pacers he will be vital in the death overs.

Bowled really well today.

Was made to do the opening spell alongwith Shinwari. Was given a role to keep it tight, and let Shinwari attack from the other end.

Bowled 140 ks pretty less but got the job done. Could'nt get a wicket, Still a player to look forward to.

Way ahead of passenger like Imad Wasim.

The inexperienced, first timer opening bowling attack [Shinwari/F.Ashraf] defeated Sri Lanka in first 8 overs, whatever followed was a formality.

He could be our Razaq if we plan ahead and manage him correctly. Pakistan needs a seaming allrounder to beat top teams. His batting is what will decide his future both in test and ODI. In test we need fifth bowler and ODI a seaming allrounder, there is no way to get around that problem.

I havent seen him bowl before and he looked like a 3rd /4th seamer in a county team. He is what i call an 82MPH Seamer, although the speed gun says he is quicker. Needs to work on seam position and run up. Lots of work ahead but as we saw with Hasan Ali, a year in international cricket could improve him by leaps.

Should do hitting practice 4-6 hours a day. With Fakhar, Bobby, Harry, Malik, Saifi and Shadab we have competent batsman to lay platforms and bring targets within reach, but we need someone like a Fahim to regularly come in and play a 30(18) type of innings.

Totally agree, a good all rounder is worth his weight in gold in limited overs cricket. On todays showing the lad has much work to do but as we have seen with Hasan, hard work pays off.

i just hope he is persisted with and given a long run and fair chance and not just be used to carry water and be dumped

Should play all 5 games versus NZ. Time to test him out. He has the talent. All rounders improve from playing regularly of a long period of time. Ideally he'll bat at 7 or 8, him and Shadab can rotate positions depending on the match situation. Bowling wise he should look to bowl between 5-10 overs each game.

Some really Serious words for Fahim Ashraf by our Bowling Coach Azhar Mehmood:

"Fahim Ashraf is a very Good Talent. After him people will forget me & Abdul Razzaq. He will get his Chance in New Zealand"

That is a big compliment for Fahim let's see how he goes in New Zealand. When is that series starting??

Some really Serious words for Fahim Ashraf by our Bowling Coach Azhar Mehmood:

"Fahim Ashraf is a very Good Talent. After him people will forget me & Abdul Razzaq. He will get his Chance in New Zealand"

I think Fahim can be a better batsman than both of them. Not sure if he will be as lethal as Razzaq used to be with the ball before 2004.

Hopefully he improves his batting more, can be a real asset for Pakistan.

Intensive training and nets can make him a real asset for Pakistan and he can be replacement of Abdul Razzaq.

What a monster hitter .
Incredible ability to hit the full length balls over the sightscreen . That first six was well over 100 metres.
This guy is a rare talent.

What a monster hitter .
Incredible ability to hit the full length balls over the sightscreen . That first six was well over 100 metres.
This guy is a rare talent.

The standard of fielding and energy levels have been pretty low from majority of the guys. Yes he can hit big, but will he be able to do that consistently with the cut throat atmosphere of international cricket? We have to wait to see. Hopefully he will come along just fine.

Its not about the opposition .
I was just talking about his ability to get under the full length deliveries . Its a rare talent and it does not change with the opposition.

We have seen he is capable of such a hitting even at Int. level but we haven't seen him enough to make any judgment but talent and ability is there and I strongly believe Pakistan need to persist with a player like him because we really need a fast bowling all rounder. Right now we have plenty of players acting as an all rounders but their batting is as good as Gul's batting.

We will need a player like Faheem against Asian teams who are good against spin.

Faheem is a special talent and he proves it with the kind of shots he ppalyed in this game, hope he does better than what Abdul Razzaq did for Pakistan. He deserves to bat up at no. 5. Pakistan XI should'nt waste this great talent for that pindi boy Imad Wasim.

Unless he improves dramatically in the next 1-2 years before the 2019 WC, he won't get to the level Razzaq was on when he was bowling 90mph and batting up at No.3 or even opening at times.

Razzaq's good days were very short though especially with bowling.

Faheem should have accepted the trip to BPL. Would have been good for his experience.

He told us Faisalabad have helped him so such in his development as a player, how come he would have left them during the tournament and play in BPL.

Thats really nice of him.

Razzaq's good days were very short though especially with bowling.

Yeah, People have selective memories with Razaq and Afridi as a bowler, I remember 2003WC, first match against AUS, Pakistani top pacers (Wasim/Shoiab) make AUS bleeding at 85/5 in 15 overs, then came Razaq, first over he was hit for three 4s in a row, toothless bowling from Razaq and Afridi, let them score 311, I don't remember Razaq was consistent with his bowling after 2003, he was too slow, one off performance as a bowler...Aftridi was also terrible bowler till 2006ish time :sanga:

We have seen he is capable of such a hitting even at Int. level but we haven't seen him enough to make any judgment but talent and ability is there and I strongly believe Pakistan need to persist with a player like him because we really need a fast bowling all rounder. Right now we have plenty of players acting as an all rounders but their batting is as good as Gul's batting.

We will need a player like Faheem against Asian teams who are good against spin.

Ohh bas kr dai yar
You were laughing in that Pandya vs Faheem thread when we called him as the best hitter in Pakistan and better at hitting against pace than Pandya. Can Pandya hit those monstrous hits on close to yorker deliveries against pace?

Hain aur bhi dunya mai players Akmal k siwa!

Don't know when some Pakistanis will stop self hating.

Once you guys start appreciating and valuing 'team players', you will know that its not all dark and we are on the right path. Soon we will become a top team under Sarfraz (the biggest team player of them all). Needs patience and backing from 'fans'.

Ohh bas kr dai yar
You were laughing in that Pandya vs Faheem thread when we called him as the best hitter in Pakistan and better at hitting against pace than Pandya. Can Pandya hit those monstrous hits on close to yorker deliveries against pace?

Once you guys start appreciating and valuing 'team players', you will know that its not all dark and we are on the right path. Soon we will become a top team under Sarfraz (the biggest team player of them all). Needs patience and backing from 'fans'.

Exactly. Mujhe samajh nahi aata ke in logo ko apnay players se kya chahiye :facepalm:

When they perform = it’s a fluke
When they don’t perform = they are mediocre

Watch out for an interview with Faheem on PakPassion.
Coming soon......

Ohh bas kr dai yar

Sir there are some fans who will much rather lose match after match as long as their favourites are still there. Akmal and Misbah fans are the worst in this regard.

You are also quite the Sarfi fan and you defend him a lot :yk2

Ohh bas kr dai yar

comparison with Pandya is silly but if I say Pandya is ahead of Faheem at this stage does that mean I don't rate Faheem? That's absurd. Faheem at the moment seems to be the best all rounder available for Pakistan but you cannot compare him with other Int. player until he proves himself on Int. stage. At the moment it is all about ability and talent..application remains to be seen.

Think Azhar spot on about Faheem Ashraf

We must try him out as an opener.
Against Southee and Boult? What has happened to people on here all of a sudden?

Fahim Ashraf is not an established batsman who can stand up to Southee and Boult, in these conditions specifically.

Against Southee and Boult? What has happened to people on here all of a sudden?

Fahim Ashraf is not an established batsman who can stand up to Southee and Boult, in these conditions specifically.

When all other options fail.

His bowling is improving by the day .
Line and length and seam position has improved . Can hit 140 kph.
Has a fair bit of potential there.

What a PSL debut for Faheem.
54* (30) and took two important wickets.
Very good all-round performance.

I am impressed by Talat too bowls mid 130s and is a genuine attacking batsmen

Best Pakistani all rounder hands down. I think waqar has helped him immensely especially with his speed. I feel he needs promoting in batting like Abdur Razzaq was in 99 world cup. Try him at 3 in t20's and 5 or 6 in Odi's then watch him be our best ever all rounder as the others under acheived

I am impressed by Talat too bowls mid 130s and is a genuine attacking batsmen

Talat should be analyzed as a batsman, he doesn't have international bowling chomps, just an ability to add a few overs like Azhar Ali.

He hit 140+ kph a few times last week. So he has the ability but yea it might be a bit too much for him which could influence his batting.

No he can defo give 5 overs every match. PArt timers dont bowl 135 kph

He hit 140+ kph a few times last week. So he has the ability but yea it might be a bit too much for him which could influence his batting.

Well he doesnt need to bowl too much, 4-5 overs per match would be enough.

Fakhar
Sarfraz (Yes he is the best one to open alongside fakhar)
Babar
Harris (2-3 overs)
Malik (2 overs)
Talat (4-5 overs)
Faheem (10 overs)
Imad Wasim (8-10 overs)
Shadab (10 overs)
Amir (10 overs)
Hasan (10 overs)

For me this side has all the basis covered, Decent pace attack, good spin attack and batting till No. 9

Well he doesnt need to bowl too much, 4-5 overs per match would be enough.

Fakhar
Sarfraz (Yes he is the best one to open alongside fakhar)
Babar
Harris (2-3 overs)
Malik (2 overs)
Talat (4-5 overs)
Faheem (10 overs)
Imad Wasim (8-10 overs)
Shadab (10 overs)
Amir (10 overs)
Hasan (10 overs)

For me this side has all the basis covered, Decent pace attack, good spin attack and batting till No. 9

I would trust Shadab, Faheem and add another genuince pacer instead of Imad Wasim unless it's a really spin track like SL, Bangla.

Like Jacques Kallis, can bowl a good heavy ball, looks quite deceivingly slow which is his strength.

Faheem ashraf ? cant understand what kind of all rounder he is. i havent seen any good bowling or even batting display from him. (except few matches in PSL)
is he equivalent of Azhar mahmood or abdur razzaq as an all rounder ?

Faheem ashraf ? cant understand what kind of all rounder he is. i havent seen any good bowling or even batting display from him. (except few matches in PSL)
is he equivalent of Azhar mahmood or abdur razzaq as an all rounder ?
More of a James Faulkner

Not sure about bowling yet but is holding his own with the bat so far.

Fahim needs to tighten the off-stump defense, he has some very good shots, patients also will come as well. Its important to invest in both Faheem and Shadab. This will help not only in test but in all formats...Give them 7/10 test, we have to take that chance, no need for knee jerk reactions and change on couple of failures.

Do you think Fahim is a test option in Asia?

In these conditions if anyone even gets a score over 30 as an alrounder, is worth keeping. If he gets some wickets, he will solidify his position in the upcoming series.
It is such a good test for him. He has already crossed 50 now. I am glad to see him scoring and hopefully will be a consistent performer.

Imo in Asia:
6. Sarfraz
7. Faheem
8. Hasan
9. Amir
10. Yasir
11. Spinner

But I think going with 4 bowlers in Asia could be the better option.

Doubt we need another spinner with Yasir, Shadab and Haris/Asad/Azhar.

Amir is not gonna play in Asia.