Faheem Ashraf : Is Inzamam-ul-Haq trying to groom him for the tours of New Zealand and Australia?

fazleefridi

Tape Ball Captain
I was wondering as to why did inzi select Fahim for the A squad leaving Yamin

I was going through his stats and found it interesting especially in FC.

Batting avg of about 34, bowling avg of 27 with eco of 2.89

These stats are decent for a " Number 7" in tests.

I haven't seen him personally. Is he tat good enough(bowling and batting) or is it just stats?

Recently inzi said they don't have any test level AR.

I guess inzi has seen him and wants to get him ready for tests in NZ and AUS .

He's young as well to make his case stronger, 22 years and days

I want to know how's his technique and temperament in batting?

What's his pace, is he a swing or a seam bowler and what's his height?

One more important question

Can he be a successful no.7 in Aus and NZ(tests), especially as a 5th bowler?

Decent 4th bowler, hovers between 130-135. Personally haven't seen him bat.

If he is really that good with bat as his stats suggests, then he shud be drafted ASAP

He's young as well 22, right guidance, with proper workout and diet, he might increase his pace and hitting ability

Might be much useful than yamin and amad...

But I certainly can't understand as to what NCA is doing without helping these raw ARs especially Ashraf,Yamin and Amad...Hammad is already wasted....(I don't care about tanvir, bhatti and Anwar)

Maybe, but stupid when you already have a guy doing well. Watch, yamin will debut when he's 34 and all the haters are gonna be like what was all this hype for, he'll be passed his peak.

Don't think Inzi is that perceptive or visionary going by his recent selections. Reading too much into this.

Chalo at least he is tall, that will keep the height lovers at bay who were writing off Hassan Ali because of his height.

I hope Fahim performs in the A tour and earns his selection, we desperately need a fast bowling alrounder

Have seen him in loi games,a bowling allrounders but he is pretty average and not as good as his stats suggest,amad and yamin are far better.

He is in Pakistan A squad. Let's see Inzi has any good intention about him

Yes, let's hope for the best...We need an AR in tests atleas wen we tour ENG,AUS,NZ and SA

Don't think Inzi is that perceptive or visionary going by his recent selections. Reading too much into this.

Its not a one man show. Wasim Haider, Waja Wasti and Tauseef Ahmed are also on the selection panel.

They are honestly only there to give feedback on prospective young cricketers from their regions.

Inzi makes all the selection decisions.

But as has been seen before, you will go to any length to defend Inzi

I like him, good choice, He seems very composed at the crease, batting wise not better than Yamin, but has the potential to overtake him in the batting department, while bowling wise he is clearly better, looks more pacy than Yamin.

They are honestly only there to give feedback on prospective young cricketers from their regions.

i It was inzi who selected hasan ali in pak a squad.

Just saying

If stating the facts is "defending Inzi" then so be it. Selection committee is not a one man show.

I dont know why finding trying to find a test allrounder is a reason to bash the selectors. People letting their love of favorite players getting in the way of objectivity.

he is pretty stylish with the bat. more of a test AR like woakes. doesnt have much hitting ability

Hope he can bat better than Hasan Ali (the al rounder)

We don't need a hitter in tests..
As his stats suggest if he can avg 35 wit bat and 30 wit ball its decent choice for no .7 batsman and 4th seamer

Inzi's vision vs PP members' vision.

Inzi selects other allrounders while here on the forum we are all rooting for Ammad Butt and Amir Yamin.

Lets see how this ends.

As a Batsman He is not Better than Aamer.

As a Bowler He is not Better than Amad.

Overall He is not better than Both.

Overall He is better than Anwar, Tanvir & Bhatti.

Stats are Something but Not Everything.

Inzamam ul Haq is Watching Lots of Tv Shows and getting misguided.

After Amad's Selection the Committee was harshly criticised on Tv and Ex Pak Captain pointed Out the 2 Fc hundreds of Fahim Ashraf & what He should do ? Two Days latter He gets announced in Pakistan A Team.

Anyhow [MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION] will be very happy for Fahim's Selection.

And how do you know that. Have you attended any committees in the past?

Who is he?

Batsman, bowler, AR?

Never heard of him before.

Last time everyone bashed Inzi for Jahid Ali's selection, then people bashed him for Sami Aslam's selection for the test matches, then he was bashed for Khalid Latif and Wahab's selection for the T20's, the message is clear, we should let the guy play and then come to a conclusion.
Who knows, just like Jahid in A tour, Sami in test and Khalid in T20 may be Fahim could also perform well or maybe he wouldnt perform but to be judgemental even before the tour starts isn't a good thing.

This is much worse. We were discussing one man having not any vision but you included three more names. More the merrier in this case. LOL.

Well that's the point and why I get annoyed at Syed1 for pinning on everything on Inzy - are the other three drinking dhood patti ?

TBH I don't know why Wasti is on the panel given he had a whole host of technical flaws himself as a batsman.

Well that's the point and why I get annoyed at Syed1 for pinning on everything on Inzy - are the other three drinking dhood patti ?

TBH I don't know why Wasti is on the panel given he had a whole host of technical flaws himself as a batsman.

Usually I Agree woth 99 % of Your Posts and have same POV but here i have to Agree with [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

Actually Inzamam has Experience of playing 95 % more Int Cricket than Wasti & Wasim and Inzamam is the One who has hand picked them as Selectors for the Panel. Also in Pakistan Senior Junior Concept is Huge and while Inzimam is a Cricketing University the Others are one Each Classroom of a School wrt Professional Achievements and Experiences.

Inzamam does not need this Job while the Other two quite possibly need this Job.

So though they Assist Inzamam but Mainly Inzamam is calling the Shots via his Eye plus E.Media and NCA director feedback.

Uptil now some great Selections by Inzamam which no other C.Selector would have done for atleast next 2 years and along the line Some Worst Selections aswell Sadly. But Overall He is doing Fine and is acceptable.

For that you have would have to ask Inzi because he selected his minions himself.

After Amad's Selection the Committee was harshly criticised on Tv and Ex Pak Captain pointed Out the 2 Fc hundreds of Fahim Ashraf & what He should do ? Two Days latter He gets announced in Pakistan A Team.

Anyhow [MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION] will be very happy for Fahim's Selection.

Which ex-Pak captain?

The One who is a Frequent member of a Tv's Sports Show Panel and is Head Coach and Sports Head of a Departmental Fc team aswell.

Can't Name otherwise I have to search Last Many Days Program's Video See 2 hours Show 1 by 1 and than Post the Video.

If Hasan Can Bat, Then He Must Be An Obvious Choice On Behalf Of His Current Display Mere In Bowling, Otherwise Amad Butt OR Fahim Ashraf Won't Be Bad To Deploy.

And how do you know that. Have you attended any committees in the past?

That is just my speculation, which may or may not be on solid ground.

But in any case, in the corporate world when an institution is not performing the blame solely rests with its head, who is promptly fired and a new CEO is brought in to rectify the situation.

Pakistan cricket is interesting which i could never understood.

Everybody there from fans to ex cricketers , from administrator to coach and captain are shouting and demanding for a bowling all rounder. And they discovered quality all rounder in someone like firstly Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, and then in Amer Yamin, Amad Butt, now in Fahim. But what amazes me is that neither PCB nor selectors, team management nurtured or had any intention to nurture any one of them. Aamer Yamin got only 3 ODI matches to prove himself, batted in 2 innings and scored a fifty in one of them and averaging 63 got one wicket with an economy of 5.23 and then selectors just vanished him. A mad Butt got into the squad and didn't get a chance to play and then dropped.

Perhaps Pakistani selectors, administrators are still in an era of either Imran, Wasim, Razzaq or Mehmood who came and won hearts of everybody with their performance from the word go. They don't want to give time to those newbies.

He doesn't have much first class experience.
Why u gotta induct new inexperienced crickiters ?
Aamir yamin, hamad azam should be given a long run first.
And i believe bilawal bhatti has got enough to be good batsman too.

Amin, Anwar and Hammad are not the answer of AR question; may be this guy is

I havent seen him in the longer format, but both his bowling and batting look suitable for test format

What an insightful person you are :-)

Thank you, should have probably mentioned that I haven't seen him bat live. My bad.

From the videos, I have seen of his batting, it's nothing to write home about.

He isnt better than Yameen or Ammad, but his inclusion is a good move. Hope he can improve.

Fahim Ashraf is batting really well Pakistan A was on one point spot of bother with 311/8 but fahim have batted

very well and reduced the lead Pakistan A are Now 358/9 in 123 overs

So far Fahim is batting on

60 runs Notout with 5 fours and 2 sixes

Not bad against international bowling line up of ZIM

Mopfu

Creamer

Raza

DT Tiripano

Masha Allah..good from him...may he develop into a good pace all rounder for tests.

We do need one for the tours of NZ and AUSTRALIA

InshAllah this chap keeps impresssing as we are in need of a fast bowling A/R. For those saying he's performing against a weak team, Zimbabwe or not he can only perform against those he is put in front of! Plus with Zimbabwe being an international team with most its first team playing, he can't be doing too bad with this performance!

Lose-lose situation for him. Perform and 'oh but such weak opposition' (btw most of the Zim A players have played Test cricket for Zimbabwe). And if he doesn't perform, 'can't even do well against weak teams'.

We need to be a little fairer.

Today batted really well, especially against asif and irfan

Has solid defence and can hit as well

Leaves the ball well

He should have been groomed..

Alas...

In tests, he can be a good 4th/3rd seamer depending on the conditions.

Perfect no. 7

There is no concept of grooming in Pakistan. Selectors hope for the best and pray someone rises to the occasion. Countless examples there throughout our history.

I thought he batted okay, but it's instantly obvious that he could never be a Test all-rounder because his bowling is not just mediocre, he hasn't got the raw materials to improve it.

For a start, he is not 6 foot, he's about 5 foot 9. He is medium-fast in pace, and he has no sort of wrist action for getting any lift so he is just skiddy.

In the absence of any ability to obtain swing or to seam it he just angled it across the left-handers, so Salman Butt, whose record in Australia was based upon a very good offside game for a Pakistani, just cut him when he dropped short and cover drove him when he didn't.

He is incapable of being a Ben Stokes or even an Abdul Razzaq. At best he could be a Mudassar Nazar with the ball, or a Colin de Grandhomme.

I thought he batted okay, but it's instantly obvious that he could never be a Test all-rounder because his bowling is not just mediocre, he hasn't got the raw materials to improve it.

For a start, he is not 6 foot, he's about 5 foot 9. He is medium-fast in pace, and he has no sort of wrist action for getting any lift so he is just skiddy.

In the absence of any ability to obtain swing or to seam it he just angled it across the left-handers, so Salman Butt, whose record in Australia was based upon a very good offside game for a Pakistani, just cut him when he dropped short and cover drove him when he didn't.

He is incapable of being a Ben Stokes or even an Abdul Razzaq. At best he could be a Mudassar Nazar with the ball, or a Colin de Grandhomme.

Amad Butt is the Best Potential.

This season his confidence was low plus bad form.

Fahim isn't Int Class I have mentioned it many times.

Yes you have!

I have never been to Pakistan, so today was a rare window into your domestic game. And I have to say, you're a pretty exceptional judge of a young prospect!

First time I have seen him and he doesn't have the height or pace to trouble anyone in the Test game.

Maybe an option for Pakistan in LOI but unless he drastically improves not Test Material

as a batsman i have been noticing faheem ashraf, raising his game in crunch situations

dont yu think he is someone who is mentally strong?

Thank You.

Did you guys even see Amad bat?

He looked like a headless chicken under lights . Even M. Irfan seems like a better bat than what he showed yesterday.

Was running out of the pitch on EVERY freaking ball and blindly trying to make contact with the bat. He was a definite goner with such horrible so called batting and got bowled trying to do the same.

Lowest quality of domestics.

Did you guys even see Amad bat?

He looked like a headless chicken under lights . Even M. Irfan seems like a better bat than what he showed yesterday.

Was running out of the pitch on EVERY freaking ball and blindly trying to make contact with the bat. He was a definite goner with such horrible so called batting and got bowled trying to do the same.

Lowest quality of domestics.

His Confidence and form are low since getting dropped from Pakistan team. He is having a very poor season unlike last season.

Fahim ashraf is in the 20 men probable list for ODI squad.. Hope he gets selected in the squad... If not in the playing 11

He is not good enough.

I ll be glad if we pick Aamer Yamin for number 6 batting Spot and ask him to bowl 3-6 overs depending on situation with his primary role being batting.

His fifty against ZIM was a good innings.

He is not good enough.

I ll be glad if we pick Aamer Yamin for number 6 batting Spot and ask him to bowl 3-6 overs depending on situation with his primary role being batting.

His fifty against ZIM was a good innings.

Yamin should have never been dropped. Didn't even get a chance again after that innings

Yes you are right.

After getting dropped he should have played all Pakistan A list A matches but Fahim was picked.

Anyhow reports say that he could be the surprise pick for Odi's.

Yes you are right.

After getting dropped he should have played all Pakistan A list A matches but Fahim was picked.

Anyhow reports say that he could be the surprise pick for Odi's.

u mean reports say that yamin might be picked ? wht abt amad butt ?