Farooq Sattar back as MQM chief after brief resignation stint

KARACHI: Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan's Chief Farooq Sattar announced to quit the party and politics, hours after Rabita Committee had expressed its confidence in his leadership after high-level huddle on Thursday.

The decision also comes a day after MQM-Pakistan and Pak Sarzameen Party had announced to contest for general elections 2018 under ‘one name, one election symbol’.

Addressing a press conference on Thursday, Sattar said: “I was saddened and hurt by the response I got [after the press conference]” he said. “I was disappointed with the response I got from PSP leaders and my own workers.”

“The decision was made after discussions with Khawaja Izhar-ul-Hassan, Wasim Akhtar, Kamran Tessori, Nasrin Jalil and then Rabita Committee members,” he shared, adding “we had to take everyone together.”

Sattar remarked that he doesn’t like being a leader. “People should know what you have done for them, you do not need to put up your pictures everywhere.”

"Engineered politics can never work," he remarked, adding "politics will take its natural course." The rule of democracy is simple, the leader who wins the hearts of the people is the one who will eventually rule, he said.

Referring to his joint-press conference with Pak Sarzameen Party Founder Mustafa Kamal, Sattar remarked: "we were left disappointed."

Kamal agreed to unite with me and in front of me he said that MQM belongs to its founder, said Sattar. MQM belonged to its founder till August 22, 2016. “Even then, MQM was the party of muhajirs and the oppressed.”

Sattar also spoke against the tone Kamal used in the press conference. “Your purpose was to highlight the point of the alliance but you went on speaking against MQM. You said that you can’t hold talks with MQM. Then, I want to ask you, who else have you been talking to then?”

"In the press conference, PSP leaders only spoke against MQM," he remarked, adding "I was the only one speaking about pursuing non-violent politics and ensuring security of the country."

He remarked: "You can make PSP, you can make Haqiqi, you can keep any name for the party, but how can you forget your martyrs and their sacrifices?"

Taking a jibe at PSP, he said "those who claim to engage in national politics. I challenge them to win a single seat in Lahore or Larkana. We will dissolve the party if they succeed."

“How can we be expected to merge with a party which never speaks about the injustice against Muhajirs,” remarked Sattar. "Muhajirs have been heart broken since yesterday."

Reacting to PSP's earlier claims of "burying MQM", Sattar said: "How can you bury a party with a mandate?"

Explaining the reason for the alliance, he said that MQM made the decision because we longer wanted the blood of Muhajirs to shed.

There was misunderstanding regarding the press conference, we never said that MQM and its election symbol will cease to exist. “Kite is not just our symbol but an important part of our life and our manifesto.”

On MQM’s high-level meeting, he explained “I didn’t attend because I was discontent with party members. I appreciate the fact that they have shown confidence in my leadership.”

"My words are very important, as I am the head of Pakistan's fourth largest party according to the National Assembly, third largest party in the Senate, second biggest party in Sindh and the biggest party for the people of Karachi."

"I started my political career with All Pakistan Muttahidda Students Organization, which was created on June 11, 1978. I joined APMSO in 1979," he said.

"We are in politics to save Pakistan," he said, adding "Muhajirs and their mandate was insulted yesterday."

He also remarked, "I have never abused my power for personal gains."

Sattar requested the media organisations to probe into the wealth of all the major political leaders from different parties. "Politicians and heads of all parties should be held accountable regarding their assets and funds. Nation needs to know who is leading them."

"I never ran away from the country [unlike other political leaders], I have always stayed with my workers and supporters," he said. "I willing to be held accountable in front of the entire nation."

"I welcome all party members, supporters and workers. Also, thank all media organisations for coming to cover across this press conference on such a short notice," he said in his opening note.

Earlier in the day, Sattar had skipped the MQM-P's high-level meeting, which was then was chaired by Rabita Committee Deputy Convener Kanwar Naveed Jamil.

After the meeting, MQM-P members including Kamran Tessori, Nasreen Jalil, Wasim Akhtar had reached Sattar's residence to "pacify him".

"Sattar bhai is upset," Tessori told the media, adding" we have come here to pacify him".

However, sources suggested that Sattar refused to meet the party leaders.

In the meeting, MQM-P members decided that the party’s name, symbol and manifesto will remain intact, adding that all members have expressed full confidence in Farooq Sattar’s leadership.

The sentiments were expressed by Rabita Committee Deputy Convener Kanwar Naveed Jamil. Addressing the media, Jamil shared that the developments pertaining to joining hands of PSP and MQM-Pakistan were discussed in-depth.

He said that three important decisions were made during the meeting. First is that MQM’s name, flag, election symbol and manifesto will remain intact, he said.

“MQM would stay the same as it was, political alliances are formed quite often and there is nothing extra ordinary regarding it,” he claimed, adding it has nothing to do with MQM’s integrity.

The members also decided that MQM will contest the elections on the seats they have won earlier. Moreover, the party leadership has shown trust in the leadership of Sattar.

Earlier, party members had shared that party head Farooq Sattar won't be attending the party's high-level huddle.

The session is being held a day after MQM-Pakistan and Pak Sarzameen Party announced to regroup under "one name, one election symbol." Interestingly, it is being said that Kanwar Naveed also has his reservations against MQM-Pakistan joining hands with PSP.

An official statement from the party stated that Sattar was not in attendance due to "personal commitments."

According to sources, Sattar decided to skip the session due to internal pressure from some of the party members, who threatened to leave the party if Sattar headed it.

Many other members tried to convince Sattar to not succumb to the pressure as it would create a negative image in the media, said sources, but Sattar still chose to skip it.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/166869

Lagta hai raat mein bhai ki call ayi hai :altaf

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">کراچی:فاروق ستار نے سیاست سےدستبرداری کا فیصلہ واپس لے لیا</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/928705145264799746?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

4e6da28748b4f3026cfa840d38b168c1d8afa03b72fb10606238c2ac2591a147.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">والدہ فاروق ستار نے ایم کیو ایم سے جانے والوں کو واپس آنے کی دعوت دے دی<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BOLNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BOLNews</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FarooqSattar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FarooqSattar</a> <a href="https://t.co/OuDCgePlpt">pic.twitter.com/OuDCgePlpt</a></p>— BOL NETWORK (@BOLNETWORK) <a href="https://twitter.com/BOLNETWORK/status/928714112846192642?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

Iss ke andar Altaf bhai ki rooh aagaye hai.He’ll be back soon on a new supposedly different platform.

I generally like this guy,much better than our other politicians.I’ve met him a few times so that doesn’t hurt :p

Iss ke andar Altaf bhai ki rooh aagaye hai.He’ll be back soon on a new supposedly different platform.

I generally like this guy,much better than our other politicians.I’ve met him a few times so that doesn’t hurt :p

He already took the resignation back. :afridi

The real party is back. No fake establishment Drama like Imran Khan and Mustafa Kamal! True LEADER!

QADAM BARHAO, FAROOQ, HUM TUMHARE SATH HAI!

Sad state of affairs wonder who take these guys seriously anymore. As a Karachi wala I used to support these guys but not anymore. This is a complete joke.

They are the only ones who are standing for Muhajirs. We say Imran Ismail from PTI today come before Farooq Sattar changed his decision and say that he will end Muhajirs and that Karachi will become Punjabi majority. This person is against us and wants to end Urdu Speaking people, just like Imran Khan.

Still living in 80s?

Dont act like you are spokesperson of urdu speaking people... take your Altafi mentality somewhere else

Trust me MQM could care less about muhajirs. I know plenty of family members who were amongst the founders of MQM and they are now fed up with their shenanigans (bhatta and ect..). Hope Karachi finds competent leadership that can solve it's ever growing list of problems, I don't care if it's PTI, Noon or MQM. We need action.

Yaar i really can't believe people can be fooled this much in this day & age. Forget Imran Khan, i don't think Nawaz Sharif or even Zardari want Urdu speaking people to end (whatever "end" means).

Just saw a tweet from an MQM supporter that "Ethnic cleansing of Urdu speaking must end". REALLY?? ETHNIC CLEANSING? Do people even know what that means?

Yes there are issues that need to be addressed but only a national leader can effectively resolve such issues. Don't you think MQM in their decades of complete control of Karachi would have fixed everything if they really stood for RIGHTS? MQM has damaged image of Urdu speaking people more than any other conspiracy in history.

Yaar i really can't believe people can be fooled this much in this day & age. Forget Imran Khan, i don't think Nawaz Sharif or even Zardari want Urdu speaking people to end (whatever "end" means).

Just saw a tweet from an MQM supporter that "Ethnic cleansing of Urdu speaking must end". REALLY?? ETHNIC CLEANSING? Do people even know what that means?

Yes there are issues that need to be addressed but only a national leader can effectively resolve such issues. Don't you think MQM in their decades of complete control of Karachi would have fixed everything if they really stood for RIGHTS? MQM has damaged image of Urdu speaking people more than any other conspiracy in history.

Imran Ismail came on TV and said this, that he'd end Urdu Speaking people, and that Karachi should have less electricity than it does now

Isn't he Urdu speaking person himself lol. I very much doubt he said that and I also want you to post a video as evidence.

I don't have time to find links. Why would I lie?

MQM is the only party I will ever support.

Why don't PTI speak against quota? Because they benefit from it.

So "PTI created by ISI" is worse than MQM funded by RAW?

Bring me proof of RAW funding. RAW may have funded Altaf, but Farooq Sattar is an honourable man. I have had the honour of knowing the man from afar, and he is ethical and a great man

Who turned MQM and PMLN into a political force? Our very own General Zia. IK struggle was 17 years long before getting any success in 2013 so you are telling me ISI wasn't able to turn results in Imran's favor after creating his party

It's not that you don't have time; it seems that you are talking bubbles.

This is seriously one of most bizarre things i have heard recently. Urdu speaking Imran Ismail saying he will finish Urdu speaking people :))

What would he gain politically by announcing to finish Urdu speaking people and if he really said this, there would be a storm on social media by now.

No issues if you want to keep voting for MQM after all the violence and criminals activities but please don't spread this is sort of lies and use them as an excuse.

This is seriously one of most bizarre things i have heard recently. Urdu speaking Imran Ismail saying he will finish Urdu speaking people :))

What would he gain politically by announcing to finish Urdu speaking people and if he really said this, there would be a storm on social media by now.

No issues if you want to keep voting for MQM after all the violence and criminals activities but please don't spread this is sort of lies and use them as an excuse.

And interestingly majority of PTI Karachi leadership is Muhjar/Urdu speaking :yk

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This may be the end of Farooq Sattar as MQM head. He has been under severe pressure from the agencies to court PSP & opportunists like Kamran Tessori but most of the old & prominent MQM leaders have now clearly revolted against him.</p>— Yousuf Nazar (@YousufNazar) <a href="https://twitter.com/YousufNazar/status/961370035833974787?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 7, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BreakingNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BreakingNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ARYNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ARYNews</a><br><br>Watch Live: <a href="https://t.co/i11T1A6BsH">https://t.co/i11T1A6BsH</a> <br><br>Audio: <a href="https://t.co/JDXC4RLHbW">https://t.co/JDXC4RLHbW</a> <a href="https://t.co/fvdXHMVrVY">pic.twitter.com/fvdXHMVrVY</a></p>— ARY News (@ARYNEWSOFFICIAL) <a href="https://twitter.com/ARYNEWSOFFICIAL/status/961364782107561984?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 7, 2018</a></blockquote>

Why are these guys holding a presser at 3 AM?

Blame Sarfaraz for stray dogs, dengue as well: Farooq Sattar

Former Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Farooq Sattar has made a tongue-in-cheek comment over the removal of Sarfaraz Ahmed from the captaincy of the national cricket team in all formats.

Sarfaraz was removed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) after citing his degrading individual and leadership performances in all formats.

The PCB then appointed right-handed batsman Azhar Ali as the new Test captain, while world’s number one batsman in T20Is Babar Azam was given the captaincy in the shortest format.

The announcement of the ODI captain, as per PCB, will be made in due course since Pakistan don’t play any ODIs until July 2020.

When asked what Sattar felt about the removal of Sarfaraz, he said: “It is wrong to remove Sarfaraz on the basis of bad performances in just two to three matches.”

He continued by saying that if Sarfaraz is being blamed for everything that happened wrong with the Pakistan team, then the blame of the “increased number of stray dogs and the ongoing epidemic of dengue in Karachi” should also be put on the former captain.

Earlier, Pakistan hosted Sri Lanka in Karachi and Lahore in a landmark series, but the return of international cricket was marred by the 3-0 whitewash in T20Is at the hands of a second-string Sri Lanka side.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2083086/7-blame-sarfaraz-stray-dogs-dengue-well-farooq-sattar/

KARACHI: Adviser to Chief Minister of Sindh on Law, Anti-Corruption Establishment, and information Murtaza Wahab said on Monday that the PTI and the MQM-P had both turned a blind eye to the unjust treatment meted out to former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Wahab said in a statement that both the MQM-P and the PTI had lost their chance to raise Sarfaraz’s issue with the prime minister today (Monday).

Prime Minister Khan arrived in Karachi for a one-day visit to the metropolis to inaugurate a power plant at Hub. Lawmakers from the PTI and the MQM-P both met the prime minister and discussed issues relating to Karachi with him.

Wahab said that both MQM-P and the PTI were champions only when it came to talking. He said that Sarfaraz had been unjustly treated by the PCB and instead of raising this issue, both parties had neglected it completely.

Murtaza announced that he would protest by writing a letter to the prime minister about the issue.

Sarfaraz was not only sacked as Pakistan cricket team’s captain from all formats of the game but was also dropped from the ODI, Test and T20 squads.

A section of the Pakistan cricket team’s fans claimed that Sarfaraz had been unjustly treated and raised their voices against his sacking.
Hundreds of people gathered outside the residence of the former captain in Karachi and protested against the PCB’s decision.

Former fast bowler Aaqib Javed said that ever since the PCB appointed Misbah for the dual roles of chief selector and head coach, strange decisions were being taken by the board. Former Pakistan cricket team captain Moin Khan said that Misbah and Waqar never liked Sarfaraz from the beginning hence this decision was taken.

Former fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar was also criticized by Pakistan cricket fans for saying that players from Punjab were not responsible for the downfall of cricketers from Karachi.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/252119-mqm-p-pti-ignored-injustice-against-sarfaraz-murtaza-wahab