Fawad Alam's ODI Average Approaching 50 - Countdown Thread

Square Drive

Test Star
Well, after a long time, a Pakistani ODI batsmen is approaching an ODI batting average of 50! Fawad's average is currently 47.38, and it's climbing its way to 50.

Let's see when/if he reaches it! :fawad

Well, if he score 47 not out or at least 97 runs before getting out, he will get to 50.

It is still too early in the career to get excited about 50+ averages. So far so good though...

Pak fans getting carried away. He looks a good player for Pakistan but more likely will average from what I've seen around 35-40.

Umar Amin is a top order batsman (opener/number 3). Don't judge his stats in the middle order.

He can average 35+ in those positions at a very health strike rate. :fadi will probably end up with sub 40 average with a SR of 80-81.

The selectors will effectively be holding back talent by selecting players who cannot even perform at the domestic level. Only those averaging 40+ i n FC/List A should make it to the 2nd round.

I am big fan of Fawad even before he scored his first century on debut.
It is unfair to put such high expectation on him to have a 50 avg in ODI which is a monumental task.
Currently only 6 batsman in the world(with 25 minimum ODIs) have achieved that.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...ualval1=matches;template=results;type=batting

I will be very happy if he can end up with mid 40 avg in ODI with SR of 80+. That will put him statistically second to Zaheer Abbas from Pak.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=matches;team=7;template=results;type=batting

The selectors will effectively be holding back talent by selecting players who cannot even perform at the domestic level. Only those averaging 40+ i n FC/List A should make it to the 2nd round.

I think for a batsman for test/ODI that is a good minimum requirement.
I am not aware of any of the top 20 Pak batsman who has an average of lower than 40 in domestic. In fact the really good ones have average close to 50 or higher.

Well, if he score 47 not out or at least 97 runs before getting out, he will get to 50.

It is still too early in the career to get excited about 50+ averages. So far so good though...

Almost has 1000 ODI runs now, so no, not too early.
Pak fans getting carried away. He looks a good player for Pakistan but more likely will average from what I've seen around 35-40.
Question is, what have you seen? He's scored 250 runs in his last 3 innings, and if you've seen any one of those 3 innings of his, you wouldn't make such a statement.
nice jinx thread...drive bro :baelish

Lol no, last thing I'd want is to jinx Fadi. :fadi

Almost has 1000 ODI runs now, so no, not too early.

Question is, what have you seen? He's scored 250 runs in his last 3 innings, and if you've seen any one of those 3 innings of his, you wouldn't make such a statement.

Lol no, last thing I'd want is to jinx Fadi. :fadi

His runs came against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on flat tracks.

Fawad is averaging almost 50 despite playing MOST if not ALL(?) games away from home. In ODI's I firmly believe had we played cricket in PAK our batsman would average AT LEAST 10 more. In tests I'd say 5 more.

Trust me, huge difference between UAE and home.

Also Fawad is perfect for PAK and now that he is here, its time to get rid of Misbah.

We all know why Misbah kept Fawad out the team for so long.

Fawad is averaging almost 50 despite playing MOST if not ALL(?) games away from home. In ODI's I firmly believe had we played cricket in PAK our batsman would average AT LEAST 10 more. In tests I'd say 5 more.

Also Fawad is perfect for PAK and now that he is here, its time to get rid of Misbah.

Agree once again with another fantastic post from my Drive bro.

Umar Amin is a top order batsman (opener/number 3). Don't judge his stats in the middle order.

He can average 35+ in those positions at a very health strike rate. :fadi will probably end up with sub 40 average with a SR of 80-81.

U amin is a 45+ averaging test batsman,

Bowlers, I can understand UAE is too one dimensional ENV, with flat, slow dry wickets. What is excuse for batsmen in UAE?

I love Fawad as much as the next guy, but I don't think he'll maintain a 50 average for very long.
40+ is very possible though.

Would be great if he can manage a 50+ average. So Pakistan now has three batsmen averaging >40 and one batsman averaging >40 for more than a year (Shehzad) and he should get his career average to 40 pretty fast. One batsman touching 40 average and the two allrounders. Only if we could slot Haris in there and we would def have seen him average >40.

Fawad may have told you this? isn't it? :yk2

Hate these threads.

I can tell you now, his average will be nowhere near 50 once he retires :kohli :amla

He has like 10 not outs so it's a misleading average really and really to early to tell what he'll end up with, imo the Aus and NZ series will give us a better picture also if he makes the WC squad then the picture will be clear.

I was always wondering why he was being ignored. Fawad is working really hard. He is hard working player. However, there is a difference in 30 and 300 matches. Hopefully, inshAllah Fawad will keep 50+ average for a long time. Its not an easy job to have 40+ average

His test average will be around 45 and ODI will be around 40. He is a busy player and has a good cricketing mind.

Umar amin is a worst batsman
bhuvi bats better than him

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] must love Ashwin, better looking batsmen than Amin.

Not really but yeah I love Ashwin as a cricketer, particularly his batting.

And rightly so, but runs should outweigh technique so it will be highly unfair to keep Fawad out of the team in Tests/ODIs based on his performances since returning to the team.

He is one big score away from making it to the test team.

Moving forward selectors/management could do well by not attributing his failures with the bat to poor technique but just a lean patch that every batsman has to go through in his career.

And rightly so, but runs should outweigh technique so it will be highly unfair to keep Fawad out of the team in Tests/ODIs based on his performances since returning to the team.

technique is over rated. its all about what works for u

Pakistani selectors are still stuck in 20th century mindset and don't understand actual performance in the field only depends on runs scored.

You also need to develop players. If a player is not scoring, it doesn't mean that he is not good enough. There could be more than one reason for his low return.

It could be technical or mental problem, something to do with batting position/role etc or he simply might not be good enough. Its not as simple as your domestic averages because otherwise you won't need selectors and coaches - just stack the highest averaging players and be done with it.

Take Dilshan for example, an ordinary middle order batsman for more than a decade who suddenly transformed into a world class opener. At times you have to be innovative and think out of the box. It may not always work, but there's a possibility.

[MENTION=134474]Moe[/MENTION]s avatar looks cool.

Can't go wrong with a Amin avatar if you want cheap and uncool.

A man with such an outstanding facial hair deserves an average of 50+!

You also need to develop players. If a player is not scoring, it doesn't mean that he is not good enough. There could be more than one reason for his low return.

It could be technical or mental problem, something to do with batting position/role etc or he simply might not be good enough. Its not as simple as your domestic averages because otherwise you won't need selectors and coaches - just stack the highest averaging players and be done with it.

Take Dilshan for example, an ordinary middle order batsman for more than a decade who suddenly transformed into a world class opener. At times you have to be innovative and think out of the box. It may not always work, but there's a possibility.

What does player development got to do with my comment? Yes coaches are needed to help batsmen sort out their technical deficiencies but they should have no business holding back a player from making the national team who is a run scoring machine just because they do not have enough imagination to understand his unorthodox technique and the overall value he brings to the team.

Player development is important but ultimately improvement has to be measured based on runs scored and not on some coach's subjective opinion that the deficiencies have been removed making him eligible to be included in the national team. That is just plain old school thinking.

^ My point is that you cannot discard players just because they have low averages. The key is to identify the reason for his low average.

You are writing Amin off after just 4 tests, 14 ODIs and 9 T20s.

You don't get it do you? It's really very simple. At the end of the day you have got to translate your talent into runs. Moreover, any technical deficiencies have to be identified by the coach at the national/district level. International arena is not a place for experimentation.

Any YES you can discard batsmen because of poor performance especially those who have yet to measurable demonstrate, neither at the national nor at the international level they have or will make tangible difference to the team's total score.

We need modern coaches who judge player performance using objective metrics not their gut feeling.

The only thing you don't seem to get is that lack of runs != lack of ability.

You need to work on the deficiencies of a player for a period of time and if it doesn't work, drop him because he is not good enough.

No one is claiming that Amin is the next Amla, but he's clearly looking out of his depth in the middle order. Why not give him a chance at the top when he himself has stressed that he likes to play at 3/open?

We are not exactly spoiled for choice in terms of openers.

Tell you what. Why don't you work on his deficiencies and then let him score a few 100s in F/C cricket and then we can go from there ...

The only thing you don't seem to get is that lack of runs != lack of ability.

You need to work on the deficiencies of a player for a period of time and if it doesn't work, drop him because he is not good enough.

No one is claiming that Amin is the next Amla, but he's clearly looking out of his depth in the middle order. Why not give him a chance at the top when he himself has stressed that he likes to play at 3/open?

We are not exactly spoiled for choice in terms of openers.

I agree to certain extent. He clearly prefers opening and that is why i am baffled whenever i see him batting in the middle order in domestic cricket. He needs to start opening in the domestic circuit, hopefully get some runs under his belt and then be brought in to open for Pakistan.

His average drops down to 46.47 after the 2nd ODI. :fadi

i think thats about right to be honest, he lacks that extra bit of dynamism to average 50.

Still i reckon he will go down as one of our best ever odi batsman if he manages to play at least a 150 games

Has a degree of mental fortitude that trumps anything that Umar Amin has shown till now or for that matter any batsman in the current ODI lineup although I do believe Maqsood will become a better batsman. Just a gut feeling!

i think thats about right to be honest, he lacks that extra bit of dynamism to average 50.

Still i reckon he will go down as one of our best ever odi batsman if he manages to play at least a 150 games

Nah, I think it'll rise to 50 if he's given a proper chance in the top 4. :don

Typical Pakistani Fans getting carried away just by a few innings, Fawad's tough test is yet to come against Aus and NZ and in the WorldCup, Wait for a few months then we can decide where he's at, 50 average on flat tracks and against trundlers is hardly anything to be counted on. Fawad has so many technical flaws in his batting which he needs to sort out before the big challenge, But I would still pick Umar Amin ahead of him any day of the week.

you would pick a guy who averages 19 in odis an 12 in tests over fawad :facepalm:
fawad averages 39 vs aussies in australia :fawad

Averages 39 in Australia and 38 in England

The Account No.2 For Mr. Mamoon :13:???

Why the facepalm?He is the Darklord. He wants to feed upon the misery of Pak fans.

lol i just like that :facepalm: a lot :D

but fawad is a great prospect man, we have already wasted 4 years of his career. let him carry on and he will surely avg 45+

paaa jee yeh bhi ghaneemat hai, ke flat track pe koi 50 ki average se khele, kyunke is waqt to flat track bully type batsmen bhi nahi.

baatein croron ki dukaan pakoron ki

fawad can really do a superb job in the middle order for a volatile batting order like pakistan. i'm still not really sure why he was dropped from the test team in the first place.

i think he's just taking the mickey with the batting stance these days. anyway he's in a pretty conventional position when the ball leaves the bowlers hand anyway. any good judge of talent would be able to look past his slightly weird stance.