Federal Areas [378/6] beat Balochistan [375/7] by four wickets in the Pakistan One Day Cup

Pakistan cricket is finally in the modern age in 50 over cricket.

Well, at least for one match.

what with pakistan pitches changing overnight,?
never saw such high scoring games before this tournament.

Actually this was how Pakistani pitches always have been. Remember our pitches used to be very similar to India's, some say they were even flatter. However, due to mismanagement and bad planning the matches were played during rainy season or winter months on underprepared pitches that led to max score of 170-200.

Pakistan cricket is finally in the modern age in 50 over cricket.

Well, at least for one match.

Actually all the matches have been 300+ with the chasing side also coming close to the target.

70 from last 10 should be a walk in the park with 6 wickets in the bag and Hussian Talat yet to come, but this is Pakistan cricket. Next thing you know, Federal end up losing by 40 runs lmao..

Actually all the matches have been 300+ with the chasing side also coming close to the target.

I know but this match has a 350+ score, which has become regular occurrence in ODI cricket whereas for us normally 300 is an achievement.

70 from last 10 should be a walk in the park with 6 wickets in the bag and Hussian Talat yet to come, but this is Pakistan cricket. Next thing you know, Federal end up losing by 40 runs lmao..

Pakistan vs new zealand t20 world cup :uakmal:shehzad

Good innings by Maddy too.. Came in at a tricky situation and got into the thick off it from the word go.

So, basically every one who is not part of the Ct squad has scored runs. Barring Hafeez and Malik cos they are gonna fail at CT anyhow

This is quite a funny situation, a guy(Sami), who management does not even rate for test(although he is best opener we have ATM), is now chasing the biggest LOI chase in Domestic history...He is looking better than Butler here, what you can make of this tournament, these conditions or bowler, it does not tell you anything :facepalm:

Dropping Sami from WI series was Inzi's biggest disappointment for me, because he was a batsmen, if he cannot judge who is better opener that we have no hope for bowlers... Everybody failed(except Azhar, Sami had one very good test match in NZ as well, where he almost pulled off a draw, got out thanks to blunder of management) in AUS, but he was axed. He was the main reason Pakistan drew the series against ENG back in summer, how management forget that so quickly?? This tells me there is lot of politics and corruption in the PCB, otherwise you have to be really clueless about Cricket to pick Shezad/Shaun/Hafeez over Sami in test :acp:

So, basically every one who is not part of the Ct squad has scored runs. Barring Hafeez and Malik cos they are gonna fail at CT anyhow

Pretty much.. Basically it seems the selection criteria was whoever failed at PC, pick em!

This is quite a funny situation, a guy(Sami), who management does not even rate for test(although he is best opener we have ATM), is now chasing the biggest LOI chase in Domestic history...He is looking better than Butler here, what you can make of this tournament, these conditions or bowler, it does not tell you anything :facepalm:

Dropping Sami from WI series was Inzi's biggest disappointment for me, because he was a batsmen, if he cannot judge who is better opener that we have no hope for bowlers... Everybody failed(except Azhar, Sami had one very good test match in NZ as well, where he almost pulled off a draw, got out thanks to blunder of management) in AUS, but he was axed. He was the main reason Pakistan drew the series against ENG back in summer, how management forget that so quickly?? This tells me there is lot of politics and corruption in the PCB, otherwise you have to be really clueless about Cricket to pick Shezad/Shaun/Hafeez over Sami in test :acp:

They dropped not for cricketing reasons, but because they found fatty eating chicken karahai within the confines of his room LMAO.

Don't know how much truth is that in those reports.

Dropping Sami from test squad in favor of Shehzad and Masood is one of the most pathetic decision in recent times.

Shaba Talat see Feds home and show another blunder that Inzi made.

Dropping Sami from test squad in favor of Shehzad and Masood is one of the most pathetic decision in recent times.

INZI is a revolution...After the the first 2 matches many ppers here said INZI was correct that Sami aslam is very bad and completely out of form... well they can talk now..

well lets see if imad can finish this match...test of character for him... he bats at the same position for pak and will be expected to finish matches...

They dropped not for cricketing reasons, but because they found fatty eating chicken karahai within the confines of his room LMAO.

Don't know how much truth is that in those reports.

What?? - Where did you heard that. Chicken Karachi is better than Biryani, but is that good enough reason??

He has the best temperament for a young opener, not just in Pakistan, probably in the entire world... Its one thing to score at home, completely different for an Asian, facing Broad,Anderson, Woaks(with Duke ball) in Edgbaston and deny them wicket for 400 balls at the age of 20(even if he is 4 years older, than so what)...I don't get why eating a Karachi is such a big crime, there got to be something else...There is nothing wrong with him in terms of discipline and attitude, plus his technique of playing and specially leaving new ball is so good, I have not seen that from a Pakistani in last 30 year. He knows his off stump better than everybody in the team... Pakistani think tank are ruining him...I would blame everybody Coach, selector and Captain, how could you do that to him :facepalm:

What?? - Where did you heard that. Chicken Karachi is better than Biryani, but is that good enough reason??

He has the best temperament for a young opener, not just in Pakistan, probably in the entire world... Its one thing to score at home, completely different for an Asian, facing Broad,Anderson, Woaks(with Duke ball) in Edgbaston and deny them wicket for 400 balls at the age of 20(even if he is 4 years older, than so what)...I don't get why eating a Karachi is such a big crime, there got to be something else...There is nothing wrong with him in terms of discipline and attitude, plus his technique of playing and specially leaving new ball is so good, I have not seen that from a Pakistani in last 30 year. He knows his off stump better than everybody in the team... Pakistani think tank are ruining him...I would blame everybody Coach, selector and Captain, how could you do that to him :facepalm:

There isn't a more authentic source than Saj bhai

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A TV report says Sami Aslam has been dropped from the Test squad after team management raided his room & caught him eating chicken karahi 🍗</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849696247330091008">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

In the hindsight, his inclusion for tough tours was perhaps to protect TTFs and Friends Brigaide from criticism for potential Would-Have-Been Failures across tough tours.

Job Done. Thank You Mr Sami. We will be in touch for similar jobs in future.

Incompetency is the most lethal form of corruption and Selectors are proving it.

Well done Sami and Feds... hope this tournament is the beginning of us playing more modern brand of cricket.

I mean in terms of free flow shots.

He is pretty solid obviously.

he played for 42 overs chasing a humungous target of 375.. wondering if UA or AS played such inns pp server must have crashed becasue of the fans jumping in every thread and creating so many threads...

i didnt see his inns from the start actually but he has managed to build rock solid knock chasing 376...while going thru the stats of the inns he played today.. 7 4s out of 17 comes from pacers and that is because he played less balls against them than spinners.. he has played only 40 dots across his inns of 169 which is ok and normal atleast for pak standards,,

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A TV report says Sami Aslam has been dropped from the Test squad after team management raided his room & caught him eating chicken karahi &#55356;&#57175;</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849696247330091008">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

Oh My God&#55357;&#56896;, this is terrible management, such a lame reason....Now I wonder if Sharjeel really did something or Sethi went after him because "Jee Huzarri nahieen Key, Alam Phana ko" :acp:

Cricket cannot be run by such clowns

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A TV report says Sami Aslam has been dropped from the Test squad after team management raided his room & caught him eating chicken karahi &#55356;&#57175;</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849696247330091008">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

would like to know whether UA, KA and SK were vegans

There was this poster who was saying the tuk tuk top 4 has no chance of chasing this and was advocating Khurram Manzoor in Pak ODI Side.

MATCH NINE : April 26, 2017

***PINDI STADIUM, RAWALPINDI

Balochistan 375-7 in 50 overs: (Fakhar Zaman 104, 15x4s, 2x6s, 82 balls, Sahibzada Farhan 54, 6x4s, 1x6, 49 balls, Salman Ali Agha 52, 4x4s, 1x6, 44 balls, Taimur Khan 42, 1x4, 3x6s, 45 balls, Sohaib Maqsood 42, 2x4s, 1x6 43 balls, Ramiz Aziz 39, 3x4s, 2x6, 20 balls, , Bismillah Khan 20, 4x4s, 9 balls, Muhammad Irfan 2-58, Ehsan Adil 2-80, Sohail Khan 2-83)

Federal Areas 378-6 in 47.2 overs: (Sami Aslam 169, 15x4s, 5x6s, 126 balls, Imad Wasim 69*, 5x4s, 3x6s, 49 balls, Muhammad Hafeez 68, 8x4s, 2x6, 54 balls, Zohaib Ahmed 34, 3x4s, 1x6, 31 balls, Sohail Khan 22*, 2x4s, 1x6, 11 balls, Ramiz Aziz 2-38, Aamir Yamin 1-50, Sohail Tanvir 1-50, Azizullah 1-70)

Result: Federal won by 4 wickets
Toss: Balochistan
Man of the Match: Sami Aslam (Federal Areas)
Umpires: Shozeb Raza & Khalid Mahmood Sr.
TV Umpires: Asif Yaqoob
Referee: Aziz-ur-Rehman
Scorer: Shakeel Ahmed
Press Scorer: Adnan Farooq

Balochistan Team: Baluchistan Team: Fakhar Zaman*, Sohaib Maqsood, Bismillah Khan+, Taimur Khan, Aziz Ullah, Aamir Yamin, Hamal Wahab, Sohail Tanvir, Agha Salman, Sahibzada Farhan, Rameez Aziz

Federal Areas Team: Imad Wasim*, Muhammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Sami Aslam, Abid Ali+, Hussain Talat, Zohaib Ahmed, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan, Hassan Khan, Muhammad Irfan

Chairman Selection Committee Mr. Inzimam-ul-Haq giving away man of the match award to Sami Aslam.JPGFakhar Zaman celebrate his first hundred in Pakistan Cup 2017.jpgFakhar Zaman pulled to Hafeez for four runs.JPGHafeez.jpgSahibzada Farhan celebrate his fifty.JPGSami Aslam celebrate his 150 innings against Balochistan.jpgSami Aslam played of the midel of the bat.jpg

Inzi's face though, made funnier by the expressions of the guy behind him LMAO :)))

I feel, the gentleman behind Inzi is thinking exactly what I am thinking also ....

he is also part of the selection committee headed by INZI.. all three who were at the presentation party represent the selection committee headed by inzi himself

Yes, member of selection committee... Wasim Haider, I believe.

Then, he is taking a pun behind his boss - "Kaisa lag raha hai ........................."

Inzi will squeeze him after Fazar prayer (I mean, embrace)

Where can I see highlights of the full match? I wanna see Sami Aslam's innings, streamed the period when he was in his 80s to when he got his century but then I had other stuff to do.

azhar, shehzad, hafeez all are undroppable for mickey, dont be surprised if fakhar dont get a game

Azhar and Shehzad will not open together.

Check my post in the other thread, where I explain why.

Hafeez is almost certain to open IMO.

What a chase.

Sami is a must for the next Test squad and hopefully he starts showing more intent. Wouldn't mind him in the ODI squad either, if he can play like this.

After such great chase, FA might miss the final, if Sindh beats Punjab, that too for a wash out. This tournament should have been double league.

What a chase.

Sami is a must for the next Test squad and hopefully he starts showing more intent. Wouldn't mind him in the ODI squad either, if he can play like this.

In Test Matches also , needs to play natural game instead of getting bogged down.

I didn't watch the match but saw the scorecard. Seems like it was just a game of boundaries and boundaries only. Baluchistan played 120 dot balls, and Federal played 101 dot balls.

That's just way too much and this is exactly the kind of batting which our domestic players then bring into international cricket, where the quality of bowling is much higher and boundary balls aren't that easily available.

I didn't watch the match but saw the scorecard. Seems like it was just a game of boundaries and boundaries only. Baluchistan played 120 dot balls, and Federal played 101 dot balls.

That's just way too much and this is exactly the kind of batting which our domestic players then bring into international cricket, where the quality of bowling is much higher and boundary balls aren't that easily available.

That is a pretty good number.

England in their 444 faced 117 dots.
South Africa in their 439 faced 103 dots. In their 438, 111.

Generally, a figure around 40% (120 out of 300) is a very good number in a high total.

Pakistan's number of dots is normally 140+ even in large totals which makes a big difference.

This is just for a base example. Depending on conditions, etc., more or less can be acceptable.

That is a pretty good number.

England in their 444 faced 117 dots.
South Africa in their 439 faced 103 dots. In their 438, 111.

Generally, a figure around 40% (120 out of 300) is a very good number in a high total.

Pakistan's number of dots is normally 140+ even in large totals which makes a big difference.

This is just for a base example. Depending on conditions, etc., more or less can be acceptable.

35-38% (105 - 114) is absolutely brilliant - which was always the case. Even, best teams in 80s also operated in that range. Difference was, that time bats were different, boundaries were longer & out fields were slower, hence % of boundary contribution was much lower (& PP didn't exist before 1992; inner circle didn't exist before 1980) - hence today's 325 was around 225 then. For that, shot productivity (opposite to % of dot) for top players like Jones or Javed or Gower were very much similar to Kohli, AB or Smith, but their contribution of non boundary runs were much, much lower. Viv & to a certain extent Zaheer was way ahead of their time, hence their SR was over 86, in an era, when average RR was 4.2 (average SR around 66, someone Gordon Grineedge around 60).

I think, even 135 dots is excellent in today's game, if batsmen can covert 2s & 3s more - which is beyond PAK's capacity, barring Mian.

0 X 135 = 0
1 X 100 = 100
2 X 25 = 50
3 X 10 = 30
4 X 25 = 100
6 X 5 = 30
Extra = 15
-----------------------
300 balls = 325 runs

If this is AUS, SAF, IND or NZ chart, on identical condition, PAK's chart will be

0 X 140 = 0
1 X 110 = 110
2 X 15 = 30
3 X 5 = 15
4 X 25 = 100
6 X 5 = 30
Extra = 15
-----------------------
300 balls = 300 runs

That 25 runs gap isn't because of hitting power or dot %, simply because of sponsoring players like Kamran Akmal, whose bread basket leads them while running & players like MoHa, who'll shoot his partner on slightest of risks (hence, none is confident to push him for that extra run - almost every innings that he has batted over 125 balls, he has killed someone through run-out). Make 11 Malik clone in terms of running, it's 20-25 straight addition on board.

I see the ODI game as the most tactical & physical fitness game - it's almost like a time bound strategic war game, hence PAK is no. 8/9. On fundamental playing skills - that's only batting & bowling, even in this bankrupt days, easily could have been among top 5.

Oh My God��, this is terrible management, such a lame reason....Now I wonder if Sharjeel really did something or Sethi went after him because "Jee Huzarri nahieen Key, Alam Phana ko" :acp:

Cricket cannot be run by such clowns

This is not about his eating but about discipline. If you were giving instructions to do something and then you do something that is opposite the team management is likely to loose trust in you.

As opposed to gaining weight while drinking water and failing fitness tests, which will get you to the Champions Trophy squad... :yk2

What a chase.

Sami is a must for the next Test squad and hopefully he starts showing more intent.
Wouldn't mind him in the ODI squad either, if he can play like this

wouldnt mind lol... he is a must,if he can play like this.. The inns Sami played was equal to wat Gibbs did 175 while chasing 434 ... Gibbs did it in (111 balls). Sami did it in (126 balls)

first need to check the credibility of the info of that TV report... everybody knows how this TV news reports are made and for what...

All crimes are not equal, its not like steeling a candy and jewelry are same thing, since its all steeling??

You are not going to drop one of the brightest opener we have seen in decade on eating Karachi...He has not gain weight or failed fitness test, those are more objective criteria...There is nothing other than blatant corruption behind, Pakistan has been struggling to find an opener who can see off quality seamers on difficult conditions forever, and we dropped him on Karachi and people are defending that decision :facepalm:

Did you saw how he denied Anderson, Broad, Woakes wicket at Edgbaston for whole day, only got out when Azhar sold him down the river, it was Azhar's fault that denied Sami is first Century, he did not decent or show any reaction, he was very gentle. I did not see sign of indiscipline or spoiled kid, rather completely opposite...Similarly we were thrown one of the greenest wickets in NZ, and he sees off the new ball pretty well, playing their for the first time. In second test, he played superbly in second innings for two session, he only got out when management push him to go for impossible task, 200+ runs in last session of day 5...He could have drawn that test...

Real intent shown by sami in last 2 matches.
Must be angry seeing bakwas players in test squad over him.

Yeah he's sending a message. 'Look no further if you want a proper opener who can also score @ SR 130+...'
Noted when he made a debut that his domestic performances suggested he was a stronger candidate for the
LOI game, relatively speaking.

All crimes are not equal, its not like steeling a candy and jewelry are same thing, since its all steeling??

You are not going to drop one of the brightest opener we have seen in decade on eating Karachi...He has not gain weight or failed fitness test, those are more objective criteria...There is nothing other than blatant corruption behind, Pakistan has been struggling to find an opener who can see off quality seamers on difficult conditions forever, and we dropped him on Karachi and people are defending that decision :facepalm:

Did you saw how he denied Anderson, Broad, Woakes wicket at Edgbaston for whole day, only got out when Azhar sold him down the river, it was Azhar's fault that denied Sami is first Century, he did not decent or show any reaction, he was very gentle. I did not see sign of indiscipline or spoiled kid, rather completely opposite...Similarly we were thrown one of the greenest wickets in NZ, and he sees off the new ball pretty well, playing their for the first time. In second test, he played superbly in second innings for two session, he only got out when management push him to go for impossible task, 200+ runs in last session of day 5...He could have drawn that test...

couldn't agree more.

wouldnt mind lol... he is a must,if he can play like this.. The inns Sami played was equal to wat Gibbs did 175 while chasing 434 ... Gibbs did it in (111 balls). Sami did it in (126 balls)

Yes but don't forget this is still domestic cricket.

We've seen Sami bat with absolutely zero intent in Tests, and he has at times given the impression that he's too slow even for Tests, let alone ODIs.

Hence the "wouldn't mind".

Yes but don't forget this is still domestic cricket.

We've seen Sami bat with absolutely zero intent in Tests, and he has at times given the impression that he's too slow even for Tests, let alone ODIs.

Hence the "wouldn't mind".

I think a lot of Sami's issues are mental. At under 19 level, he was a stroke maker. In domestic cricket, even in first class, he was a stroke maker. In his international debut against Bangladesh he was playing his shots. Now obivously he played to need and put that away against England, but then he never managed to break that hold. I dont think knows what to do, seems to petrifed at getting out playing a bad shot.

Fully agreed.

I too believe that if he can sort his mental game out, he can be a solid opener for Pakistan in both Tests as well as ODIs for years to come.

Do you remember the things U Akmal did when he started. Because he was so good his discipline was let go to the determinant of U Akmal and Pakistan cricket. But anyway my point was that he was dropped because of discipline not because of his eating. Instead of dropping him I would have fined him heavily though. Inzi captaincy led to a lot of nepotism and cronyism in the team if not for woolmer the situation would have been a lot worse. Now they have made him a selector why were people expecting anything different. Once Misbah and Yk leave Inzi will probably get more power the things could get worse.

I am not sure what that means in context of Sami? - Crown Jewel in Misbah era is/was drawing test series against ENG last summer, nobody has won or draw full test series against ENG in last decade or so. Pakistan is the only team ENG has not beaten home or away in decade or so. This also led helped us to be world no1...This happens in large part, Sami showing guts in Edgbaston, Pakistan was done and dusted after heavy loss in OT(both Hafeez and Shaun were walking wickets for ENG), batsmen were struggling, nobody was able to play new ball(main weapon of ENG)...Misbah, Coach said very loudly, that we have found a long term opener for Pakistan, something we are struggling to find since Saeed Anwar...That guy was dropped within six month, not because of performance, but out of all things, eating Chicken Karachi, which is Lunch or dinner for every Pakistani(who can afford it) pretty much everyday, is that such a Crime?? - Its hard for me to get over look this corruption :acp:

Chicken Karachi is better than Biryani

I don't get why eating a Karachi is such a big crime

You are not going to drop one of the brightest opener we have seen in decade on eating Karachi

Pakistan has been struggling to find an opener who can see off quality seamers on difficult conditions forever, and we dropped him on Karachi and people are defending that decision :facepalm:

That guy was dropped within six month, not because of performance, but out of all things, eating Chicken Karachi, which is Lunch or dinner for every Pakistani(who can afford it) pretty much everyday, is that such a Crime??

What is this dish... :13:

Sorry but it was really bugging me. :usman

What is this dish... :13:

Sorry but it was really bugging me. :usman

Have you never eaten Chicken Karachi?? - My spelling maybe off, but you get the idea. I am not really good at Roman Urdu, Whatever word my browser picks up, I get along with it ;-)

BTW: Roman urdu does not bother me, half the time I don't read it, other time I guess it, I assume others do the same... In some social media stream, where there is too much roman urdu, I stop contributing or bail out, its not my cup of tea!!

Have you never eaten Chicken Karachi?? - My spelling maybe off, but you get the idea. I am not really good at Roman Urdu, Whatever word my browser picks up, I get along with it ;-)

BTW: Roman urdu does not bother me, half the time I don't read it, other time I guess it, I assume others do the same... In some social media stream, where there is too much roman urdu, I stop contributing or bail out, its not my cup of tea!!

Its written as Chicken Karahi bro.

Same teams in the final today. :) Looking forward to watch Sami and Sahibzada bat.