"Felt proud that other captains were wearing suits but I was wearing national dress": Sarfaraz Ahmed

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed "The shalwar kameez is our national dress and I got instructions from the board to do all these things so I tried to promote our national dress. I felt very proud that the other captains were wearing suits but I was wearing national dress" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a> <a href="https://t.co/mCa1u12dN4">pic.twitter.com/mCa1u12dN4</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1134117760676634624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 30, 2019</a></blockquote>

Abdus Salam wore Sherwani when receiving the Nobel Prize. The clowns criticizing Sarfraz's attire cannot even match 0.1% of his achievements in a thousand lifetimes.

..and he was wearing Pak attire not Arab long robes. Why did Kohli not wear a kurtha lungi to show his Indian pride?:ishant

Gimmicks like shalwar qameez shouldn't distract us from the fact that this man here is leading our cricket team towards destruction.

Lot of people still colonised here it seems

I am surprised and embarrassed seeing fellow Pakistanis having no sense of pride in our national dress. I have never seen Sarfraz look smarter., albeit his jacket fitting could have been better. Those who think it is not an office or special function dress, let me remind you of Imran Khan, country's prime minister.

Unprofessional and disrespectful. Put a tie and suit on, you are not in your pind.

Queen didnt invite Sarfaraz Ahmed the person, she invited the captain of Pakistani national team along with other captains. Sarfaraz wearing the attire to represent his nation is not at all wrong.

If it would have been a personal invitation for Sarfaraz for tea or something then he should have followed the British traditions but in this case the invitation was for the captain of a Pakistan's national team and there shouldnt be any problem on him representing his own national dress or culture.

There's no such condition here, you're like the Indian dude on FB who was happy that Kohli was sitting while other Asian captains were standing, 'house negroes' as Malcolm X once said

plz do bother to read my other posts.

Read all my posts in this thread before coming with stupid conclusions

i never said that sarfraz did anything wrong. But wearing a suit has nothing to do with colonized mind set, this is something that North Americans practise in school sports.

The board asked him to do so because they know that Sarfraz is a Yes-man who will comply. PCB would not have dared this with a stronger captain.

What has this got to do with being a Yes man.

Bro, if the board asked him to go in shorts, he would have to follow it. He is an employee of the PCB.

THis is nothing to do with being a Yes man, you have to follow the orders of your organizations in such cases

He didn't break any dress-code rules to meet the queen :)

Good on him for wearing traditional clothes.

Did not need to say that bit about other captains. Should have said he felt proud in his country's national dress.

I see a lot of defenders making a false equivalence of people having issues with Shalwar Kameez.

Lets be clear, its not the shalwar kameez on issue here, its the fact that Sarfraz probably did the worst representation of the national dress of Pakistan by wearing clothes that didnt fit him well.

He actually did a disservice by not wearing the traditional clothing properly.

Did not need to say that bit about other captains. Should have said he felt proud in his country's national dress.

He thinks scoring brownie points will win him hearts. He will be out of the team by the end of this WC alongwith the acting coach and the trundler coach if he fails in this WC.

Why are people getting all worked about this? It's just the queen.... I personally can't stand the royal family and wouldn't put my best outfit on to meet any of them!

I see a lot of defenders making a false equivalence of people having issues with Shalwar Kameez.

Lets be clear, its not the shalwar kameez on issue here, its the fact that Sarfraz probably did the worst representation of the national dress of Pakistan by wearing clothes that didnt fit him well.

He actually did a disservice by not wearing the traditional clothing properly.

But you're the only one making that point... there's a certain brigade in this thread who have a problem with Shalwar Kameez altogether.

Since when this is national dress, any reference ? Others were nicely dressed , you looked wearing sleeping suite.

Can understand why certain Akmal fans take potshots at Sarfaraz whenever they can on useless stuff.

If there was even 50% of constructive criticism on that monster Inzamam instead of enlightened discussions Sarfraz wearing, talking, shouting, etc...

We would've had a better team and batsmen of merit.

Little kids fighting over a dress. Some people have a lot time to discuss moronic things. Get a life.

Sarfaraz looked classic.

Nailed the real issue Khawaja if it was anyone else it would not have been a problem.

You have to respect the local customs and culture wherever you are in the world. Just like how it is offensive for Pakistani locals to find westerners wearing revealing clothing (whether it be male or female). Another example for instance, imagine a guy wearing skinny ripped jeans in Saudi Arabia to meet MBS, there would be outrage from the Saudis, and they would certainly have every right to be, because it's disrespectful to their culture.

The west also has the right to be offended if a foreigner from Asia goes to not just any meeting, but to the one hosted by the Queen wearing something unfamiliar to local customs! It is quite frankly disrespectful and a disgrace, especially to come out wearing something that looks so cheap and poorly-fitted. I don't blame Sarfraz because he's an uneducated guy, with little social awareness, so what would he know. Whether it be worn by Sarfraz, Wasim Akram or Imran Khan, my opinion on this matter doesn't change.

If the World Cup was being held in Asia, I would be fully supportive of wearing Salwar Kameez (of better quality and fitting of course!).

Let me be clear this has nothing to do with appeasing westerners or having a so-called "colonial mindset". We need to stop being so sensitive, but rather reflect on how we carry ourselves, especially in social gatherings. I can bet my house most of you wouldn't even think about wearing Salwar Kameez, if they had a meeting with the Queen in the UK and I find some of the praise on here to be quite fake, because you want to prove how well "cultured" you are.

I couldn't be any more proud of my Salwar Kameez collection and it fills me with joy, when I get the chance to wear it for mosque prayers and on special occasions, such as on Eid and for weddings. I hope everyone will enjoy wearing their piece as much as I will be, with mine next week.

Bhai aisi baat thi toh you should’ve worn Pathani chappal to complete the tradition instead of English shoes...

As a Pakistani it is offensive for me some body calling this ridiculous dress our national dress.
Can someone show me any supporting documents to prove that.

And? Representing one's nation is at an international stage, not domestic.

It’s a bit ‘irish’ to me

He goes to meetings with Pakistan pms in suits and ties
And the minute he’s in England suddenly wearing shalwar kameez
And ur excusing this based on the fact he’s now in front of international audiences

It reminds me of Asian people who Have never cooked curries in their life’s suddenly making one for their work colleagues

Does this look shalwar kameez to you ? which is also not our national dress.

If the same attire would have been put on by afridi or inzi's of 25-34 years old, the case would have been much difference. Unfortunately Sarfraz dont have a sportsman body or model face (no offence). And yes this is shalwar kamiz atleast in Pakistan.

We need to stop being so sensitive, but rather reflect on how we carry ourselves, especially in social gatherings. I can bet my house most of you wouldn't even think about wearing Salwar Kameez, if they had a meeting with the Queen in the UK and I find some of the praise on here to be quite fake, because you want to prove how well "cultured" you are.

You need to let PCB know as they asked him to wear it. He's often worn suits before.

It’s a bit ‘irish’ to me

And ur excusing this based on the fact he’s now in front of international audiences

It reminds me of Asian people who Have never cooked curries in their life’s suddenly making one for their work colleagues
The whole team met with the PM in white shalwaar kameez before departing for wc.

It’s a bit ‘irish’ to me

To add more: the 92 winning team also met with the PM in shalwaar kameez.

Its just a freaking dress :yk

Modi.jpg

Even leader from neighboring country starts wearing Pakistan's national dress, thanks to Sarfraz.

Sarfaraz did nothing wrong, but neither did others. So he should be getting any brownie points for wearing native dress.

Agree.

He shouldn’t have said that but him saying has to do with people wrongly criticizing because “yessa massa” mentality is still prevalent as evident on this thread.

For some effed up reason, if you aren’t dressing like “ massa” and if you dare to represent your culture on any platform then you are called paindu, jahil, not educated enough. The irony.

Man, the suit jacket looks so ill fitting and bland. Also the shows look a bit off. He went for Shalwar Kameez but at least should have worn a non transparent under shirt and have gone for a slim fit shalwar kameez.

Wearing a dress just for the sake of it is not the way to go. At least wear it with proper style.

This, for westerners it may look exotic, but desis know he didnt wear it right. If i was him and i decided to do ethnic then i would have don a better one made for such occasions instead of desi street clothes.
This is desi version of jeans and t-shirt with odd shoes topped with a official jacket.

This, for westerners it may look exotic, but desis know he didnt wear it right. If i was him and i decided to do ethnic then i would have don a better one made for such occasions instead of desi street clothes.
This is desi version of jeans and t-shirt with odd shoes topped with a official jacket.

Thankyou for getting me. Thankyou!

Honestly, the amount of stupidity is next level. People are not getting the fact that Sarfraz has no fashion sense irrespective of choice of dress style.

Search Pakistani national dress for men, and tell me what shows up please
Sarfaraz great job.

Really is this topic should be discussing?? Whatever he want to wear it's his choice why should people have problem ??

His clothing doesn't fit and looks cheap. Its a tie event,they are meeting royalty of the host. Atleast wear a shirwani or something a bit more up market. Humiliating.

When its a tie event you are "allowed" to wear formal national dress. This is actually encouraged by public organisations like the palace.

And if your feeling humiliated by your national captain wearing his national dress then that says more about you than the national captain.

Firstly, good on him for dressing traditional..

Secondly, he could have done it with a bit more style, my dad dresses sharper.

It’s a bit ‘irish’ to me

eh?

We are only good for dramay-baazi these days. Wearing shalwar kameez, meeting PM in Bani Gala before going to the World Cup, wearing “Championship mentality” bracelets etc.

You focus on these things when you cannot play cricket.

Hes wearing it with style unlike Sarfraz who made the mockery of our national dress by dressing it the worse way possible.

He picked the cheapest ugliest thing to put on and goes in front of the queen of the host. Only a Pakistani can think like this, born to humiliate themselves.

You need to let PCB know as they asked him to wear it. He's often worn suits before.

Sarfraz should have been his own man and worn a suit, regardless of what PCB goes out and tells him. But as I said, I don't blame the guy because after all what does he know about how he carries himself?