Financial breakdown of central contracts to be offered to players

Slog

Senior Test Player
According to reports the PCB has drafted up the contracts and hopes to have them signed soon.

These negotiations of the contracts have taken a long time.

The finances of the proposed contracts are reported as follows according to sources

Retainer-ship amount for contracted Player:
Rs. 346,000 per month

Category A:

Test fees: Rs. 550,000 per match
ODI fees: Rs. 363,000 per match
T20I fees: Rs. 275,000 per match

Category B:
Test fees: Rs. 480,000 per match
ODI fees: Rs. 302,000 per match
T20I fees: Rs. 210,000 per match

Category C:
Test fees: Rs. 410,000 per match
ODI fees: Rs. 242,000 per match
T20I fees: Rs. 165,000 per match

Playing eleven members get full match fees whereas Team management and players on the bench get half of their stipulated fees for the match

Individuals who play all 3 formats will get a share from the sponsorship logo according to Board policy.

A win over a top 3 team would mean that the 11 players will get a bonus equivalent to 100% of their match fees. A win over team ranked 4 to 7 would result in bonus of 75% of match fees. Wins over rest would mean bonus of 50% of match fees.

Test Match Bonuses (per innings):

Century: Rs. 300,000
Double century runs: Rs.500,000
5 wickets or more: Rs.300,000
10 wickets: Rs1,000,000
4 catches: Rs.100,000
5 stumpings/catches for WK: Rs.200,000
Man of the Match: Rs. 150,000
Man of the Series: Rs.300,000

ODI Bonuses:

50 runs: Rs. 100,000
Century: Rs. 300,000
150 runs: Rs.500,000
5 wickets or more: Rs.200,000
5 catches: Rs.200,000
5 stumpings/catches for WK: Rs.300,000
Man of the Match: Rs. 150,000
Man of the Series: Rs.300,000

T20I Bonuses:

50 runs: Rs. 50,000
Century: Rs. 150,000
150 runs: Rs.250,000
5 catches: Rs.100,000

A contracted player really cant complain tbh

especially someone who may play all formats or even 2 formats

Good stuff PCB.

Especially the bonus incentives for better performances.

This is actually really good, especially the bonuses.

What was the rates before this?

Looks decent ... still not the kind foreign player get but good enough to have pretty decent living standard .. What about travel allowance and stuff

it would have been good if you would get this money into domestic cricket.

i hope now our players won't complain. and they will pay taxes. LOL

Dont worry, they will still try to avoid. After Rahat Fateh Ali caught by Customs in India for handling excessive money at the airport, he reached Pakistan, FBR called him to ask about Income Tax, he said he not aware that has to pay income Tax and dont have National Tax Number (NTN), The man who charge Lacs for one night program.

Still not what athletes in other sports make but if you factor in the daily allowances then this money is pretty good for living in Pakistan. I know many of the players also have other sources of income. Glad to see Tests given the most importance.

Looks decent ... still not the kind foreign player get but good enough to have pretty decent living standard .. What about travel allowance and stuff

dude this will allow them to live like Kings

also remember when they are on tour they are also given a sizable daily allowance on top of that.

They really don't have anything to complain at this point

Still not what athletes in other sports make but if you factor in the daily allowances then this money is pretty good for living in Pakistan. I know many of the players also have other sources of income. Glad to see Tests given the most importance.

don't agree with MOM and MOS amounts being same for both series

I feel the bonuses are more beneficial to batsman. While in modern cricket bonuses should be given to bowlers more

Its a joke that theres only a bonus if you get 5 wickets or more in ODIs whereas theres one for a 50 too. Ideally the bonus for 50 should be scrapped and a bonus for 3 wickets should be introduced

This is actually impressive for what I thought it would be. Huge upgrade for Azhar, going to Category A + ODI fees. Considering what good form he's in he should really be able to cash in. Also Wahab and Sarfaraz stand to do really well as the only players consistently selected in all 3 formats. Well, I guess Shehzad too, but Shezzy isn't playing ODIs much these days.

Did they settle on who is Category A vs. B though? I read somewhere something ridiculous that Younis is still Cat A?

I thin that will be finalized at end of test series. Right now their previous contracts are extended till the end of Jun if I am not mistaken. And yeah YK was A contract after the tantrum he threw when they were given out last time. Lets see what PCB does now

Ah so they're all playing under previous contracts? This is set up for the season going forward?

PCB absolutely needs to be firm now. There's definitely a big money difference, so it makes NO sense to pay someone like Younis Khan so much more than he rightfully earns.

Frankly, none of our captains even play all 3 formats, so I don't understand paying Afridi the maximum for a few hours of cricket every 2 months, but that will never change. Azhar and Misbah at least play the longest format.

Does someone like Shehzad get a category A, given that now he's been brought back for all formats, even though T20s it's basically by Afridi and he doesn't play in ODIs? These are the tough choices that PCB should make, and they should be firm and fair about it.

So letts assume a top player who plays all 3 formats and see what he may likely earn

Pakistan usually play 7 est matches and about 20 ODI matches and then 5 T20Is in a normal year. These are low ball park estimates of no. of matches played

Lets say a player plays in all these matches and is on Contract A category:

So his annual compensation would be:

Retaiiner: Rs. 4,152,000
Test fees: Rs. 3,850,000
ODI fees: Rs. 7,260,000
T20I fees: Rs. Rs. 1,375,000

So such a player earns US$163,500 considering todays exchange rate

And I think its safe to say that with bonuses of performances as well as some sponsorships and ads a player such as this should be able to stretch his compensation through the cricket board to atleast US$250,000

I think this is a great amount for Pakistan and apart from the industrialist and big zamindaars and waderas this will put them in the top echeleons in terms of pay. But its still safe to assume and is factually correct that they still lag behind the rest of the top players of the world in terms of income

(assuming my math in right and the assumptions are in the right ball park)

Ah so they're all playing under previous contracts? This is set up for the season going forward?

PCB absolutely needs to be firm now. There's definitely a big money difference, so it makes NO sense to pay someone like Younis Khan so much more than he rightfully earns.

Frankly, none of our captains even play all 3 formats, so I don't understand paying Afridi the maximum for a few hours of cricket every 2 months, but that will never change. Azhar and Misbah at least play the longest format.

Does someone like Shehzad get a category A, given that now he's been brought back for all formats, even though T20s it's basically by Afridi and he doesn't play in ODIs? These are the tough choices that PCB should make, and they should be firm and fair about it.

Highly doubt PCB will give Shehzad or Akmal A contracts and frankly it would be ridiculous if they do considering they are being disciplined

These contract negotiations took a long long time and ideally should have been wrapped up a few months ago but the players (led by Misbah and I think in recent weeks Azhar) negotiated a lot. This is why in the intervening period previous terms were just being extended on ad hoc basis/

I think all players barring 2 or 3 have given a verbal confirmation that they will sign it acc to the article atleast

So letts assume a top player who plays all 3 formats and see what he may likely earn

Pakistan usually play 7 est matches and about 20 ODI matches and then 5 T20Is in a normal year. These are low ball park estimates of no. of matches played

And I think its safe to say that with bonuses of performances as well as some sponsorships and ads a player such as this should be able to stretch his compensation through the cricket board to atleast US$250,000

I think this is a great amount for Pakistan and apart from the industrialist and big zamindaars and waderas this will put them in the top echeleons in terms of pay. But its still safe to assume and is factually correct that they still lag behind the rest of the top players of the world in terms of income

Your math makes sense to me.

We should also remember that they will be earning money to play in the BBL, T20 leagues in England, Caribbean, etc.

Your math makes sense to me.

We should also remember that they will be earning money to play in the BBL, T20 leagues in England, Caribbean, etc.

Yup, I mean really they don't have much to complain.

I feel bad for the domestic players but the top intl cricketers are earning prolly more in a year than their wildest dreams when they were teenagers

Highly doubt PCB will give Shehzad or Akmal A contracts and frankly it would be ridiculous if they do considering they are being disciplined

These contract negotiations took a long long time and ideally should have been wrapped up a few months ago but the players (led by Misbah and I think in recent weeks Azhar) negotiated a lot. This is why in the intervening period previous terms were just being extended on ad hoc basis/

I think all players barring 2 or 3 have given a verbal confirmation that they will sign it acc to the article atleast

I agree. I think the A contracts should only go to players who guaranteed play (actually be in the playing 11) in all 3 formats. Right now that's Wahab and Sarfaraz? Junaid is too in and out right now to be given A. Looking at your numbers, that's a pretty substantial amount and good motivation for these players.

Plus the 3 captains in category A, that's it.

I agree. I think the A contracts should only go to players who guaranteed play (actually be in the playing 11) in all 3 formats. Right now that's Wahab and Sarfaraz? Junaid is too in and out right now to be given A. Looking at your numbers, that's a pretty substantial amount and good motivation for these players.

Plus the 3 captains in category A, that's it.

Azhar deserves an A contract.

Misbah too I guess but Afridi no. Why should he get paid that much for 5-6 days of cricket a year.

Azhar deserves an A contract.

Misbah too I guess but Afridi no. Why should he get paid that much for 5-6 days of cricket a year.

I agree Azhar does completely. I guess Misbah too because he plays the longer version. But there is NO way that they both get A and Afridi doesn't. PCB doesn't have guts to do that to Afridi, even though he absolutely does not deserve to be a category A player anymore.

Not bad at all from PCB, but I have reservation regarding bonus money.

Cricket is a team game and individual performances doesn't matter that much unless the whole team performs. Why not PCB devides the Bonus money between the players also in a ratio 3:1. 75% should go to player performing & remaining 25% should go to the whole team on the tour.

Another thing regarding Sponsorship money, it should be give to every player not the players playing in all 3 formats. Azhar Ali is our main player at the moment, he doesn't play T20, so why PCB is not giving him share from Sponsorship money.

im not so interested in how much the players get as i am interested in how much the board and officials get. is there any way of knowing how well they pay themselves?

That's a very good package to be honest, can enjoy a high standard of living in Pakistan + they have sponsorship earnings as well.

Not bad at all from PCB, but I have reservation regarding bonus money.

Cricket is a team game and individual performances doesn't matter that much unless the whole team performs. Why not PCB devides the Bonus money between the players also in a ratio 3:1. 75% should go to player performing & remaining 25% should go to the whole team on the tour.

Another thing regarding Sponsorship money, it should be give to every player not the players playing in all 3 formats. Azhar Ali is our main player at the moment, he doesn't play T20, so why PCB is not giving him share from Sponsorship money.

Good package for the players. I am a little concerned about the Bonus money though. I personally feel that there should be a bigger incentive for being man of the match and maybe the PCB can increase the win bonus for the team but having a bonus for scoring a 50 or 100 can lead to conflict of interest. What if the last few overs of the innings are in progress and a batsman is playing on 45 or in the 90's. He will be driven by the binuys and try to play safe cricket to get to his landmark rather than being selfless and playing quickly for the team. Similarly, towards the end of the innings a bowler who already has a few wickets will be tempted to target the stumps in order to get a wicket rather than trying to bowl a dot ball. No wonder some of our young batsmen get so excited after scoring a fifty. But overall a sound financial package for the players.

I do agree that we shouldn't reward 50s really... not when our biggest issue is that set batsmen throw away wickets.

im not so interested in how much the players get as i am interested in how much the board and officials get. is there any way of knowing how well they pay themselves?

what do you think?

It's the median job to ask the right questions I suppose. Paying the players well is good and bad when you have weak, incompetent and corrupt administrators. Yes, it's an incentive to do well and for young players to aspire to reach the heights of the sport, but it will also make layers do anything to keep their spots, which history would suggest will mean a continuation of oaths, and groupings and media campaigns and will work against team ethic.

will the new contracts get afridi to reconsider his odi retirement? he still has much to offer the game

Need to double their pay within 5 years.

The domestic players should be earning 20% of these figures as a standard.

We need to make sure cricket is an attractive profession. They are doing a duty for the country.

Was thinking about this.

It would be interesting to see how these compar to the cntral contracts offered by the boards in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and West Indis.

I think these are the only 3 boards we should be comparing ourselves to at the moment.

Eng, Aus are far too ahead of us economically (as well as in terms of cost of living) for there to be a fair comparison. India has IPL so it takes thm on a totally differnt playing field.

These other 2 are on a more similar fittiing

anyone willing to do th requird research :P

To be honest, the Test Match fees are not incentivized enough.

So for 5 days of grueling Test Match cricket, I would get paid 550,000, but then for a 6 hour T20 hit and giggle, I get 273,000?

This is not going to incentivize the youngsters to aim for the Test squad.

This is actually really good, especially the bonuses.

What was the rates before this?

I want to know this also. Is it a big improvement? [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION]? [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]?

Would have liked to see 5 wicket haul having more incentive as compared to century. Its a bigger achievement than a century.

Also the double century bonus should have been greater than double of the century bonus. Would encourage players to carry on once they reach 100. Players have a habit of getting out soon after scoring a ton. Hafeez and Azhar just scored their first doubles against Bangladesh series after scoring so many tons.

Would have liked to see 5 wicket haul having more incentive as compared to century. Its a bigger achievement than a century.

Also the double century bonus should have been greater than double of the century bonus. Would encourage players to carry on once they reach 100. Players have a habit of getting out soon after scoring a ton. Hafeez and Azhar just scored their first doubles against Bangladesh series after scoring so many tons.

What is 5 Wicket Hall?: Pakistani Fast Bowler

I want to know this also. Is it a big improvement? [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION]? [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION]?

I think base (retainer and match fees) is higher but bonuses are more or less same

what about domestic cricket?
Can players support their families playing domestic?

This is actually pretty good earning for a good player who plays 2 of the 3 formats.

Say Azhar Ali who plays test and ODIs
I would think he will be in A category.
Assuming we play 5 test and 12 ODIs in a year he will earn

5x550k = 2750k
12x363k = 4356k

Assume he makes 2 centuries in tests and 1 century and 2 50s in ODI which is on the low side.
300k+300k+ 200k = 800k.

Win bonus is hard to calculate but say we win 2 of 5 tests and 4 of 12 ODIs depending on the team ranking so I have just multiplied by 75%. Tests = 2x550x0.75 = 825k, ODI = 4x363x0.75= 1089k

So Azhar Ali stands to make 2750k+4356k+800k+825k+1089k = 98 lakh Rs in match fees and bonuses.
This does not include retainer which will be additional 346x12 = 41 lakh

Total of 98+41 = 139 lakh Rs is not bad for 1 year earning especially living in Pakistan. Comes out to be ~US$139k and could be higher with sponsorship bonuses though PCB.

This is actually pretty good earning for a good player who plays 2 of the 3 formats.

5x550k = 2750k
12x363k = 4356k

Assume he makes 2 centuries in tests and 1 century and 2 50s in ODI which is on the low side.
300k+300k+ 200k = 800k.

Win bonus is hard to calculate but say we win 2 of 5 tests and 4 of 12 ODIs depending on the team ranking so I have just multiplied by 75%. Tests = 2x550x0.75 = 825k, ODI = 4x363x0.75= 1089k

So Azhar Ali stands to make 2750k+4356k+800k+825k+1089k = 98 lakh Rs in match fees and bonuses.

Total of 98+41 = 139 lakh Rs is not bad for 1 year earning especially living in Pakistan. Comes out to be ~US$139k and could be higher with sponsorship bonuses though PCB.
we normally play 8-10 test matches and 20-25 odis in a year

5x550k = 2750k
12x363k = 4356k

300k+300k+ 200k = 800k.

Actually, lot, lot, lot more............

PAK 'll play almost double the number of matches in both versions, so it's about 13/14 mn only from match fee. At his form, he is likely to score 5, 100+ & 10, 50+ innings, which is about 3 mn. If I take 40% Test & 40% ODI win, that's about another 3mn + 4mn from retainer. That's about 23/24mn (25mn including MoM/MoS - already has 1 each against ZIM). Besides, there is team & individual sponsorship money, his salary from his Corporate side (he must be at least at the rank of an AVP for KRL, which is another 5 mn/year), match fee in domestics, endorsements (talk show, media presence......). Without any club cricket outside PAK, I see an annual payment of RS 50mn/year. Besides, his medical, accommodation, training kits, diet, travelling, transportation - everything is at PCB's expense & on tour, players get handsome amount of daily allowance. On top of that - there are personal gifts (which is often out of taxation)..........

Another point is, from professionals like us, earning starts in later career, with age; often in inflated economy, unless you change job (or get promotion), your annual increment doesn't cover the inflation. These players earn in their early years - think about someone like Azhar starting to earn big at 23 & by 38, his gross earning could be around RS 500mn. If one invests that money properly (& intelligently), by 40 he should be a billionaire.

The current package is obnoxiously good for a team 7th & 9th ranked in Test & ODI. And the beauty of this payment structure is that, it's actually worthless Senior killer - Afridi, YK, even Malik can get a Grade A retainer, but that's very little on overall payment as Shahebzada 'll get RS 550,000 for the 2 T20 he 'll play this year (?); while someone like Wahab or Haris 'll earn lot, lot more, even from Grade B or even C (& regardless of Grade, retainer fee is same for all - it's basically you play & earn). Couple of years back, I had a similar post, which roughly estimated US $300K for a PAK Grade A, player without County or T20 League earnings. Even then, there was absolutely no reason for PAK players to earn illegally, unless you are corrupt inside.

You'd hope against hope though that the batsmen we have selected make all their batting decisions on the back of these bonuses. Whatever happened to the mere hunger for runs. This is what our batsmen should be focusing on and be hungry for. Time at the crease and runs.

Putting a price on your wicket, not a monetary value on your runs.

So the average player in Pakistans playing eleven makes around 200K, I think that is great money considering that they live in Pakistan. That is a huge sum in Pakistan, honestly with that you can live comfortably in any first world country but in Pakistan they can live extremely well.

I think average player is making more like 150k but perhaps with sponsorships etc it bumps up. That is a very nice income in Pakistan. This is great for Pakistan cricket as money talks and young athletes who may have turned away from cricket due to lack of financial incentive may now consider it more strongly as a career.

Especially if Pakistan T20 league takes off or Pakistani players are allowed in IPL, they can end up making some serious money.

I think average player is making more like 150k but perhaps with sponsorships etc it bumps up. That is a very nice income in Pakistan. This is great for Pakistan cricket as money talks and young athletes who may have turned away from cricket due to lack of financial incentive may now consider it more strongly as a career.

Especially if Pakistan T20 league takes off or Pakistani players are allowed in IPL, they can end up making some serious money.

Problem is only the top 10-15 can earn this

rest are going to live on peanuts so risk is still very high and a person might not be willing to take the risk. Because you are frankly screwed if you dont represent the national team

For anyone interested OP has the rough breakdown of the Central Contracts that were offered to the players in June. There has been some further negotiation to arrive to this newly soffer contracts but the rough figures I think are in same ball park.

Not sure what the situation is with the the D category though

Also as far as my understanding is that the monthly retainer in the new contracts is different according to Category of Central Contract so that part above is wrong

This is a very good pay packet, hope no one complains about their salaries after this. I do think that maybe some of this money could have been distributed among the domestic players that are paid peanuts.

Yeah I got 163,000 USD per annum also, except I figured 10 Tests, 20 ODIs, 10 T20s.

How much does a Category A player make from all domestic first class/list A tournies in Pakistan? And how much are they expected to get in 1 PSL season?

So last about 4-5 months ago I did a rough calculation of how much a top Pakistan player earns through his contract

Without bonuses (but including estimated match fees) a top Pakistan Cat A player earns about US$163500

Now India released theirs. Cat A retainer is INR 1 Crore which translates to US$150580. Mind you this does not include match fees or bonuses. (With out retainer we barely make US$40,000 per year). I am sure with bonuses and match fees Indian Cat A players atleast triple the worth of their contracts (no data to arrive to a rough figure)

Now the sad thing is that this does not include the earnings from IPL (lets leave aside endorsements), and for top Indian players it is IPL which is the big money spinner.

Our players really earn peanuts :(

The common misconception is that it is because of IPL contracts that Indian players make much more than ours but these numbers prove that even on just central contracts they make a multiple on our players.

But our players are still among the top earners in Pakistan so relatively spekaing they dont have too much to complain

Can the cost of living be compared between both countries?

So last about 4-5 months ago I did a rough calculation of how much a top Pakistan player earns through his contract

Without bonuses (but including estimated match fees) a top Pakistan Cat A player earns about US$163500

Now India released theirs. Cat A retainer is INR 1 Crore which translates to US$150580. Mind you this does not include match fees or bonuses. (With out retainer we barely make US$40,000 per year). I am sure with bonuses and match fees Indian Cat A players atleast triple the worth of their contracts (no data to arrive to a rough figure)

Now the sad thing is that this does not include the earnings from IPL (lets leave aside endorsements), and for top Indian players it is IPL which is the big money spinner.

Our players really earn peanuts :(

BCCI doesn't pay its players any bonuses for wins.

Do they still get fixed annual contract on top of these or just this ?

Can someone round it in dollars ? Thanks lol

160k is a lot of money for sub continent players. Doesn't the lowest Indian player gets something like 800 k ?

Indian players make a lot and close to or more than $1MM if you include IPL earnings

More than just decent- this will give you a living standard right up there with the richest people in Pakistan, top 1% or so

foreign player comparison is tough- currencies, prices, popularity of the game around the world are different...

I would argue that Pak players are better payed than English / New Zealend players when compared to other Local Professions

You cant really compare Pakistan players with Indians in terms of pay. Even though the living standards of the two countries are quite similar India have a market of 1 billion+ people that tune into watch their games. Their population is the biggest reason why they are able to make so much money.

More than just decent- this will give you a living standard right up there with the richest people in Pakistan, top 1% or so

foreign player comparison is tough- currencies, prices, popularity of the game around the world are different...

I would argue that Pak players are better payed than English / New Zealend players when compared to other Local Professions

LOl nope not top 1% a mid level managerial engineer with a multinational can make between 160-200k ... living standards in pakistan are not that low

Highest paid Pakistan team in history but apart from test regulars, also the most beghairat

Problem is getting a 50 is more beneficial for the players then a team win. There should only be a Match winning bonus or these bonuses should apply only if the team wins. PCB would save a lot of money.

Yeah it encourages the kind of selfish play that we see Waqar upset about.

Glad Hafeez didn't make his 50 last match. Would NOT have deserved the bonus because he played completely selfishly. On the other hand, do think Babar deserved the bonus.

So apparently the new Central Contracts have a 10% increase on the retainers

However we do not know about the other items such as match fees, bonuses etc

The new contracts are significantly higher in PKR terms

the issue has PKR has fallen by a lot to USD in recent years and hence it seems there hasnt been much increase

If you compare it is a big jump over four years. Mind you the match fees is not yet available for the latest contracts so just using last years' match fees. Besides theres bonuses for performances too.

central contract comparison.jpg

If you compare it is a big jump over four years. Mind you the match fees is not yet available for the latest contracts so just using last years' match fees. Besides theres bonuses for performances too.

View attachment 101011

Any idea about the non-contracted players who might get to play the matches, how much they get per match?

no idea. im guessing similar to people on a C contract? but tbh i dont know about that

the amounts look much better in PKR terms. Within Pakistan they can enjoy good living.
Indian cricketers like Virat, Rohit though can invest overseas as they are USD Millionaires. And thats the
benchmark for youngsters to follow. To be successful, really work hard.

If my calculations are correct, a category A player will make minimum $1 million USD in a fiscal year if he plays 10 games each in 3 formats. Plus the performance bonuses. If correct, how's that low compared to others?